Karachi Diversity…

I have been living in Karachi for years but still many areas are Unknown to me, I often make discoveries. Yesterday I came across another discovery while going to Jum’a Prayers. I was in my office and a bit late for the Jama’t in nearby mosques, I had no options to fulfill the obligation because there wasn’t any vehicle available and it was difficult to reach other mosques on foot due to time constraint. I didn’t give up and suggest to go a mosque not too far from my facilities but across a “Broad Sewage Naala” (Sewage Stream) actually our factory is situated at Gabol Town, Federal B Area (further from Suhraab Goth) and the “Naala” behind our facilities is quite wide. Anyway I crossed it and eventually I was in a new world… although Naala Facing areas were fetid but the smell disappeared as I entered the streets. The locality looks like a small Afghan town beard men, veiled women and cute but dirty kids playing some kids were looking after their goats like a trained shepherd; not to forget mentioning a beautiful adolescent girl peeping out behind a door.
I reached the mosque in time, it was full with people wearing huge “Pagris” and I was looking an odd man there. A white beard Imam was delivering sermon in a language I cannot understand I think it was “Pashto”.
While returning I found an Afghan who is working in my department he guided me with some shortcuts and within five minutes I was at the factory’s gate.

Related posts:

1. Gender Difference
  2. Sut-Taiess-Ween Ramadan
  3. Shab-e-meraj
  4. Giving due attention to the complete city
  5. Karachi- A place/ not a place to live?

52 Comments so far

1. Noman (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 10:34 am

“cute but dirty kids”. Shame on you using such words.

2. ASAD (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 10:40 am

Great blog. I wish you can go to one of their small restuarants and write abt their foods as well. Karachi has a great potential only if adequate amnt of money is spent on its infrastructure. Also an imp thing will be to goal for Cent % literacy in karachi. This will set up an example for rest of pakistan. And education should be free and include meals and every thing so that it encourages poor to send their kids. I know it will require lot of money but its worth it. Within next 10 years you will a sea change. Anything is possible and we might see in our life time a pakistan those poor kids you mentioned will be all polished pakistanis helping our country in every field.

3. Asad (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 10:59 am

As I mentioned food I could recall a visit to Asif plaza outside karachi 6 or 7 years ago. My uncle had know that place and took us all out there one night. We had our some female cousins too. That place was an experience in itself. Not a single woman was around. It looked so odd to have cousins around. The whole ambience was of some small village in Afghan. Not only pushto/afg music being played but a flag too was hoisted. The food was dirt cheap and included rice with more nuts that rice. All kinds of meat were being grilled and cooked. I had never tasted such meat before. My cousins noted that dogs around looked real scared of human existence. I wont recommend taking a female company there.

4. Asad (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 11:31 am

Well this is for Noman. You seem to be obviuosly upset with the use of the words “dirty”. Could you tell me better a better word for dirty?

Just came across this qoute.”You are an educated person if you have the guts to listen to anyone and anything with out losing your temper of self esteem”.
    No offence intended.

5. Asad (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 11:33 am

A little typo in above quote.. “with out losing your temper or self esteem”

Cheers!!

6. Syed Muhammad Nabeel (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 11:36 am

Noman: Yes dude I feel a bit odd using the word but I thought there are many meanings of a single word… and I used it to portray the cute kids who were thick with clay and playing near sewage naala…

Asad: I’ll try to have the Afghani food and blog about…

7. Noman (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 11:42 am

Asad, Yah I am upset , just could not digest word “dirty” for kids. Its just I could see more beyond obvious I guess. Go left,feel right friend.

8. Noman (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 11:49 am

Better Word for Dirty:

One of our professor told us not to use negative words in cultural word. Per his definition “not vey clean of the worlds” would be a good replacemnet.

9. asad (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 12:42 pm

Yaar we should accept the fact that we are not as clean as we should be. We claim to be muslims and for us our half faith is cleanliness but still we are a “dirty” nation. Isnt it obvious from everything around us. I am in no way trying to degrade my own self but its just self realization.Dirty man is a dirty man. Self realization is the first step before you could do to mend that problem.

10. Noman (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 1:47 pm

First of all , I know atleast one person who visits this blog and does not like words like “yaar” on public forums. I bet many more would be like him.

Dirty is a relative word so we should be very cautious in using it. Might be defence(khi) is a dirty for person living in New England(the most tidy place I have ever seen).

I would not ever say us a dirty nation, I would give the name of “developing nation” in diplomatic terms or a poor nation for common man. Kids were not very clean because they were poor,instead of saying them dirty, think of their environment not very clean. When I was in Chicago, I could show you the areas just like Karachi in south of Chicago. People who have been in Chicago would agree with me. What was the reason because those were the people who were not blessed. Curse poverty and please try to make a difference.

Self realization is a very interesting term; it changes definition when we apply it to ourselves or when we give advice to others :-) .Lets assume if you were not a very good student(which I am sure yiu are) and some one ask you how are you in studies, you would never say that “I am a bad student and I hardly pass exams” you would always say “I am not a very good student but I pass exams with lil efforts”

I hope you are having a nice monday and nice week ahead !!

Noman

11. azhar (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 2:25 pm

much ado about nothing.
    Umer: nice blog.

12. zain (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 2:42 pm

Ghalib…

Har ek baat pey kehtey ho tum, key TU kya hai
    Tum hee kaho key yeh andaaz-e-guftagu kya hai???

13. Teeth Maestro (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 4:16 pm

This post is a testment to the fact that Karachi is a massive city which grows faster then our expectactions.

14. Original-anon (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 6:00 pm

Interesting to be introduced to such different worlds.
    Noman, kids get dirty, nothing wrong with saying that. I have been reading your comments and you come across as a confused and bitter person who has to find fault with everything. I saw on another thread that you want to write for this blog, after you have derided and shown such disdain for this blog, its writers and the readers. Come on man, you don’t seem to know if you are coming or going.You don’t even live in Karachi, what makes you think you can write about it?

15. Asad (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 6:20 pm

original-anon ” What makes noman think he can write about karachi”…He is a stanford kid babe!
    By the way I dont live in karachi either…but love it as much you love karachi

16. misha (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 6:51 pm

Get over it, Noman. Dirty = not clean. No shame in it, anyone can get dirty doing just about any number of common tasks, you’re just being hypersensitive about a word.

17. Original-anon (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 8:08 pm

‘He is a stanford kid babe!’ - LOL:)
    In that case, let’s now amend “dirty” to “cleanliness-challenged”.

18. SkeTcheR (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 8:19 pm

I had a similar experience when I was in karachi. I was in a area behind Army public school on rashid minhas and near the Karsaz golf course.

The area was barren with few KEKAR bushes and I saw a small rolling hill. I decided to climb it and to my surprise I saw the most green patch in karachi. It was a small village there with banana , palm trees and qiute a few green farm fields. I saw that these people used the water of a near by nala for their fields. The nala was not the typical sewage but it was covered with tall bamboo like plants.

I felt like I was visiting a place like Kerala. I also remember a children playing and a hen with cute chicks in the field.

19. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 11:15 pm

so Noman are you gonna shoot him because he used the word *dirty*?

i think noman is an official Khala khairan of KMB

20. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) February 6th, 2006 11:21 pm

original-anon ” What makes noman think he can write about karachi”…He is a stanford kid babe!

Google owners vs Noman,what a contrast

21. riaz (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 12:50 am

it must have been pathan colony

22. Noman (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 1:05 am

After just 3 hours of sleep last night ,I was at desk at 8 am in morning and finally got a chance to visit this blog.

Anon,Adnan,Misha I have really enjoyed your comments , no hard feelings. Think what you like , would not make a difference to me. I am a communist and they are very hard.

After going via this blog, I am sure I could write here. You don’t need to be in Karachi for writing most of the entries posted here.

For the sake of records, I don’t go to Stanford. I live in Stanford city(or say Stanford Campus) with my gf who goes to stanford (doing PhD in Anthropology and she has helped me alot in seeing beyond the limits). I work FT in Palo Alto. I started my MBA at berkeley last Fall but not going this term. Can’t afford FT job, FT gf and part time MBA at same time. Once she graduate (which I hope, she would soon in 2008) then I would join again.

I am going to write some thing and would email to authors here to post or would write in comments.

I guess there should be a person with stupid/nasty ideology, it would help us to widen our horizon and would help us in listening to things which we don’t want to. I could be an officially moron of this site if it soothes someone :-)

23. Ramla A. (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 2:43 am

@Noman:

Communists are hard indeed. I only wish they were hard on themselves to be productive and effective.

Having said that, stay here. You will learn from us, and we from you.

P.S. As for writing on any city of Metblogs, you have to live/be in that city. This site is more like a tourists’ guide with facts and some opinion. Not exactly a news site or one dealing with socio-political issues, except a commentary here and there.

If, however, you feel that it SHOULD deal with political affairs, it’s your opinion.

24. Ramla A. (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 2:47 am

Re: Noman:

You luuuuhhhv Karaaaachi Metbloooooggg!!!

And now just admit it. You don’t really think the world in general and KHI Metblgo in particular are that bad. you just talk too much and don’t know how to take it back.

Secretly, you love us, and it’s showing. Checking out the blog at 8 AM, eh? First thing in thr work mornin’?

Now come out of the corner, and be a part of the group.

25. Noman (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 3:11 am

Come on Ramla , I never said that I don’t like this blog, I was born in Karachi and those who know me in Karachi(and there are plenty) would admit that I was a typical Karachi guy.

If I talk too much then you assume too much :-) I was at work at 8 am but I never said that I was here at 8 am. I posted that at 1:05 am and that was 12:05 pm here.

I miss Karachi and yeah I am a part of your group. No doubt about that. I won’t ever abondon my identity.Not my type. Would be back at 35 I promise :-).

I could easily get a metblog id to post it here but I don’t want to do it till I feel welcome which I guess I won’t ever because of my ideology.

Regarding my post which I send to you was more than a social issue than any thing else but problem is that we do not want to be a good citizens, we just avoid hard decisions unless we get affected ourselves.

Only thing which I want to do here is to put some new dimensions in Karachites ideology. Some thing which is really absurd in beginning but most needed.

26. Original-anon (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 3:40 am

Noman, thanks for all your personal data - as if :)
    Anyway, I’d suggest that you get your own blog and start posting there and tell us all the address here so we can all read it.

27. xia (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 4:44 am

blaah blaah blaaah….

the heck with the “dirty” argument. I wana know why Nabeel was looking at the adolescent girl peeping from behind her window? common YAAR you were on your way to Jum’a.. :->. Plus you really do not want to do such things while in the middle of Afghan Goth..

28. Noman (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 5:31 am

Anon:

I have a blog but I have not made it public, I am not a very pious man per Pakistani standards. If I post my blog then people would identify me very easily and thats not I want. Not because I am afraid of any thing , just because I don’t want my mom to get hurt. I wish I could be more reasonable man just like you people :-).

Go left , feel right.

29. Striker (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 8:18 am

@noman
    hey sick fagooooo!!!!!
    just F……… Offfffffffff
    your polluting this blog
    with your meaning less comments

30. Darthvader (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 9:55 am

GODDAMN — now this is turning out to be one interesting discourse . Nabeel started the whole thing off with a nice little recount of the juma prayers’ experience that took him to a neighbourhood he had not been before and made a point about the diversity and ever expanding limits of our own beloved , aopocalyptic city called karachi. so far , we have heard a etymology of the word Dirty , the word communism has been thrown around , someone jokingly questioned Nabeel’s wisdom in checking out the “Adolescent Girl” behind the door in the middle of a pathan/afghan village ( well no problems if you can run fast ..very very fast i mean )….and hopefully much much more to come.

ASAD - i know the place you are talking about -
    my cousin took me there a couple of years ago and the whole experience was surreal, very very intimidating too.
    i would not remommend anyone go there though .a pathan friend of mine later explained to me why the food , which mostly consists of meat , is so dirt cheap and ..let’s just say its not very Healthy ..for lack of a better word :)
    last but not the least:i dont know what’s more fucked up ,being a Commie in the middle of a Capitalistic society or believing that blogging here or on any other site is a privilege. LOL
    its only a digital smorgasbord all , nothing to stick your head up your own arse . so to speak .
    i better start my rickshaw now ..desinty awaits you all .

31. Asad (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 10:44 am

Darthvader- Thanks for addressing me!!

32. AmericanJoe (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 3:02 pm

I sorry to say this, but this blog has the weiredest set of visitors I’ve ever come across. And I’ve been to a lot of blogs.

33. Aslam (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 3:35 pm

Noman mate, was that dirty kid YOU ? !

34. Noman is Stupid (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 6:32 pm

We have to alert the FBI or something! There’s a communist amongst them! And a Muslim one!!! Double-trouble! Noman, you’ll be deported soon! HAHAHAHAHAHA!

35. Noman is Stupid (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 6:41 pm

And when you come back, you’re unpious soul will be roasted by the Mullahs! HAHAHAHAHAHA!

36. Syed Muhammad Nabeel (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 8:26 pm

Peace!!!

I think it is better to comment on the topic either you like or dislike or if you have your own views to share rather than commenting on COMMENTS.

Xia & Darthvader : The street was too narrow and a little up the hill; she was standing at her door and there were 2 options…. Close the eyes or have a glimpse, I opted the second…

It is almost impossible to escape even if you are Olympic Champion Athletic :)

37. zain (unregistered) February 7th, 2006 9:13 pm

WTF I swear! Get over it guys.. there are good things out there to discuss

38. Noman (unregistered) February 8th, 2006 12:32 am

Funny comments indeed :-) . Reminded me of Scarface’s Tony “I kill a Communist for fun, but for a greencard I’m gonna carve’m up real nice” :-)

39. Sarwar (unregistered) February 8th, 2006 12:48 am

Cmon guys, stop picking on Noman. The blog was about the diversity of Karachi.

40. Adnan (unregistered) February 8th, 2006 1:17 am

why don’t you moderate comments nabeel??

41. Noman (unregistered) February 8th, 2006 1:37 am

No moderation please , I hate moderation, let people do mistakes and they would learn eventually but moderation never allows them to learn. Say no to Musharraf, Say yes to democracy.

42. altaf (unregistered) February 8th, 2006 3:01 am

DEMOCRACY?…..dont even go there!

43. Noman (unregistered) February 8th, 2006 4:58 am

“Worst democracy is better than any dictatorship” by Noman

Would prove it once I am back. Last post I guess before I leave my desk for a week.

44. Ajnabi (unregistered) February 8th, 2006 6:06 am

Wow Man, That was Fun!!!
    Thumbs up to Karachiites, for such nice Entertainment!

45. karachi4eva (unregistered) February 8th, 2006 6:35 am

mann wha da heck? i thought the post was about diversity of karachi not about the word “dirty”… n yeah i do agree with other guys that “noman” is an as**ole

46. Syed (unregistered) February 9th, 2006 7:44 am

Great post Nabeel !

For Noman ,All I want to say is that you are a looser and a W*n*k*r too , I am glad that DIRTY people like you stay away from Karachi .

U Scumbag , keep screwing your GF , eat shit and die !!!!

47. altaf (unregistered) February 9th, 2006 8:32 pm

Hey SYED - calm down man, take it easy!

Is anyone eargerly waiting for nomans post on the ‘virtues of democracy’….?

48. Noman is Stupid (unregistered) February 9th, 2006 8:49 pm

Nope, but we’re all waiting for him to die, though…

49. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) February 9th, 2006 11:54 pm

@Noman:I think dictatorship works when people like you tries to take advantage of it and use it for their own sake?

50. altaf (unregistered) February 11th, 2006 4:15 pm

Democracy does not work.

The End.

51. Syed (unregistered) February 12th, 2006 1:39 am

We should accept reality , So called Kacchi Abadis does not have acces to running water , no sewage sytem etc ! , extreme poverty !, poor kids must be wearing dirty clothes or perhaps didn’t have a wash in days , looking dirty .

That’s the reality you idiot Noman !!! , accept it, otherwise go and hide under your imaginary GF’s saggy titties !!!!!!!

52. Poo Poo Head (unregistered) February 12th, 2006 6:13 am

“In Italy, for 30 years under the Borgias, they had warfare, terror, murder, & bloodshed, but they produced Michaelangelo, Leonardo Da Vinci, & the Renaissance. And in Switzerland they had brotherly love & 500 years of democracy & peace, and what did that produce? The cuckoo clock!”

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.