Why???

As I drove past the backside of the National Stadium on the eve of the final of ABN Amro Twenty20 cup, ninety minutes before the start of the match, I saw four guys in the late teens, climbing the gates to get in the stadium to watch a match which was free for everyone to begin with. Hardly twenty steps ahead, there was another gate which was wide open and people were calmly walking in without any hindrance.

A chaotic week ended on a night that saw all the work of the last couple of years by the authorities projecting Karachi as a safe city for international cricket matches go down the drain. After the bomb blast and the mismanagement of the final, it will be hard to imagine any international team agreeing to play here. More so, PCB will have a hard time convincing ABN Amro to hold the tournament in Karachi next year especially after the smooth sailing of previous year’s tournament in which a record crowd watched the final in a festive atmosphere.

It was sad to watch a few miscreants spoil the fun for thousands who came to watch what promised to be the most entertaining match of the tournament.

18 Comments so far

1. TEE BEE (unregistered) on March 6th, 2006 @ 3:54 pm

this is what dissappoint me as well….what is missing from our masses is CIVIC SENSE…they have no sense for these things whatsoever…watching a match, driving on the road, walking in a public place and several other occassions/festivals where people are gathered..there comes in a lack of sensibility towards the society….EDUCATION (not the degree itself BUT ALSO the ability to differentiate between the Right and the Wrong)is the only way our society can come over problems/issues like these….

2. Illusionfs (unregistered) on March 6th, 2006 @ 5:07 pm

It was hard for me to understand why they did that, entry was free, gates were wide open and there was no obstruction at all, still the guys were risking their lives and climbing the gates..
    Inside, I saw many stupid things happening, which were ridiculous to watch, and hard to understand.

1. some kids beating up the pepsi board for no reason at all, it was like they invaded Pepsi Co. and were no destroying everything with its logo, they took the wooden frame out, tore the pepsi sign in half and beat the board *tin* with the sticks they got from the frame, they wanted a dhol *drum* LOL

2. Even when there was ample seating arrangment available, some people chose to sit on the barriers *the net even had birewire running parallel to it*

3. People were running here & there without a reason, without a cause, from one enclosure to another..

4. one guy who was wearing a motorbike helmet, came dancing *luddi, bhangra to be exact* down the stairs when the match was one halt, :D

there was a lot lot more happening there, I took a lot of pictures as well, which can be seen at:

http://www.flickr.com/photos/96596853@N00/sets/72057594074877319/

3. Zainub (unregistered) on March 6th, 2006 @ 5:39 pm

My recent trips to the NSK have testified that they are potential trouble makers and idiots in every game. The reason why you didn’t get such scenes in recent international matches in becuase of the high security presence, my understanding is that hardly enough police officers were around until rangers were called in when the situation got really out of control. The PCB is to take some of the blame.

I’ve been trying to blog on this for 12+ hours now, but seems like there is some problem either with my internet connectin or my broser, or my blog host, or all three that’s is preventing me from doing so. Very annoyed.

4. Illusionfs (unregistered) on March 6th, 2006 @ 5:56 pm

Guys check this pic out. http://www.flickr.com/photos/96596853@N00/108689528/

its a sure laugh for y’all..! do read the notes, ROLLOVERS!

5. Kaash (unregistered) on March 6th, 2006 @ 11:16 pm

I was gonna say “Jahil Awaam” but that could’nt be true either ‘coz they look like from school/college. I’m not sure what to do with these brats pur en loggon ko zara tushreef pur chithur lugana chahiye tu phir araam say seat pur beth kur insanoon ki turha game dekhaen gay nakay bundaroon ki turha.
    Btw Illusion : What kinda camera was used here for the pictures taken? Make, Model and Mega Pixel??thanks
    peace
    Kaash

6. Illusionfs (unregistered) on March 6th, 2006 @ 11:41 pm

Kaash: Its a 4 mp Canon Powershot G3, and no tripod was used. It was too risky to take my dslr, otherwise the pictures wud have been really artistic.

7. Saadie (unregistered) on March 7th, 2006 @ 1:31 am

Pathetic behaviour…

8. Kaash (unregistered) on March 7th, 2006 @ 2:41 am

Thankx Illusion….these pictures are still impressive…the reason y I asked ‘coz my 5MP would’nt even take it this sharp.

9. Illusionfs (unregistered) on March 7th, 2006 @ 9:34 am

Thanks Kaash. Oh is it so? What camera do u use? I might help u with this.

10. Kashif Aziz (unregistered) on March 7th, 2006 @ 12:27 pm

Actually the reason for this unfortunate disturbance is two-fold. The miscreants and the management. I wonder why the miscreants weren’t stopped by the police in the first place? The statement from police is that they were expecting 8-10,000 spectators but the number was 25,000, for which they weren’t prepared. While PCB says that they have clearly informed the police to be prepared of large number of audience in the final.

There were management issues throughout the tournament, charged parking while it was declared earlier by PCB that parking would be free, food vendors were allowed inside (after charging fee) which caused lots of mess and garbage around, ground issues including flood-lights problem.

I also agree that people here lack civic sense, which is evident from our every day life, from traffic jams to queues at banks, but it is the responsibility of the administration to restore some common sense in the masses. But unfortunately they are busy in making money from everything.

11. Zag (unregistered) on March 7th, 2006 @ 12:44 pm

Um Kashif, there was no charged parking.

12. Illusionfs (unregistered) on March 7th, 2006 @ 1:18 pm

I heard there were around 35,000 people.
    There was barely any police or other law enforement agency around.. I saw a total of around 15 policemen.

I dont blame PCB, nor the police – its the people. Why do we always need a ‘dundaa’ man? Will we not behave as normal human beings if there is not a man standing on our head with an AK-47 or a ‘Laathi’ in his hands? Kher.

kya ho sakta hai bhai? our nation is hopelessly ‘Jahil’ and Kaash I think there were some “Parhay Likhay Jahil”

13. Kaash (unregistered) on March 7th, 2006 @ 8:37 pm

“Purhay likhay Jahil”–>I cud’nt agree more…I almost forgot this term :)
    Illusion: I use Koday Easy Share CX 7430 5MP…it does an inpressive job during daylight but night shots are usually pretty average…or you have to use a tripod w/night settings, in order to capture a perfect shot w/ no falsh. I’m thinking about upgrading soon to 7-8 MP ..n I believe Cannon would be the way to go..ne advice??
    peace
    Kaash

14. Illusionfs (unregistered) on March 7th, 2006 @ 11:39 pm

Yeah canon all the way!

http://www.dpreview.com for all the help u need.

15. Kashif Aziz (unregistered) on March 8th, 2006 @ 2:34 am
  16. Zag (unregistered) on March 8th, 2006 @ 10:51 am

Kashif: i don’t know, i guess i was one of the lucky ones who got to park without paying anything…..

17. Saadie (unregistered) on March 8th, 2006 @ 11:02 am

Just to add on “camera discussion” http://www.dpreview.com is an excellent site for anyone who wants to buy a digicam and Kaash one thing going for more megapixels wont give you better image at night. go for something which has better optical zoom and shutter priority and tripod helps :).

18. Kaash (unregistered) on March 8th, 2006 @ 8:34 pm

Thankx Saadie & Illusions for the photography tips. DP review is indeed a great help.