New US Consulate Location
From Business Recorder [thanks to Ambreen for sending it :)]
20 acres KPT land leased out for US Consulate
Karachi: Karachi Port Trust (KPT) has leased out 20 acres land on MT Khan Road in Karachi for building of US Consulate Complex for 99 years @ Rs. 15,000 per square yard. The deal was signed here on Wednesday in the KPT head office by a Trustee of KPT and a US Consulate official. The said land is located between MT Khan Road and Mai Kolachi Road. Till recently, the plot was in occupation of Central Cotton Research Institute and Karachi Cotton Association. The KPT has leased out the land for 99 years to US Consulate on instructions from federal government, against its normal policy of leasing land for 25 years.
Well, at least now Marriott Hotel and the Sind Club road won’t have to bear the brunt of its ‘unfortunate location’. Or so I’d like to believe. Till then, we shall collectively suffer.
Related posts:

Finally!
Yeah, finally
We ( Pakistanis ) had been American ‘tat-ooo(es)’ since partition & I am shocked why ‘Amerikan(s)’ ever wanted to move consulate at all ? ain’t every federal and government building in Pakistan a American consulate? ain’t faujis genrals working on imperialist(s) agenda? i wish one day we as a nation learn to respect outselves these yankess can never be trusted.
here we are giving everything what we have to these yankees while our poeple our citizens are disgraced , deported and rounded up in the land of oppurtunaties ; where is our self respect?
Brazilians are one nation which has some sense of respect for themselves ; everyone American is checked and his or her boots are taken off at any Brazilian Airport ( which is obviously a reaction since US does this to any Brazialian and Intl’ flight landing in US ) - so Brazil is the only country where American get what they deserve .. I wish someone has the guts to standup against this ‘WHITE ELEPHENT’ - if we think General Sahab would ? no chance…
Thanks God! when are they gonna shift?pls ask them to shift asap and mercy on us,why dont they get shifted in some goth or out of karachi
Brazil rocks then man!!!
Not quite!
i have some very fond childhood memories of the center/building i must oppose……………
@ Adnan: It’s “Thank God”, not “Thanks God” — sorry, but when ppl add that ’s’ it really irritates me –the expression is not referring to that fact that you’re conversing with God and saying “Thanks” directly to him — You are proclaiming to the person you’re talking with to thank God. Makes sense? If not, I’d be happy to explain further. But yes, we should definitely thank God (not ‘thanks’ him) that the Consulate is moving.
NitPicker, Could you help me please with my grammar. I post quite often , just point out my mistakes to me and you may use your real name. I would not mind that. I am never afraid of learning new things and not ashamed of my accepting my mistakes. I am Poo Poo Head and I have no ego. Besides that some people here think I am sick.
Huma my one comment in this post has gone under moderation, could you please let it go. Please , Please !! I am begging you
English nitpicker - welcome to this blog. I am glad that I am not the only one correcting grammar.
Poo: I am hurt. Why would you ask someone else for help? Don’t you have faith in me? I will be more than glad to point out corrections :)
So, to begin, when you ask a question, please end with a ‘?’
(I would correct you more often but you make me laugh and for that, I forgive many sins.)
And Ali, I am really curious. What have we (Pakistanis) given to the USA?
Also, why do you refer to the US as a ‘white elephant’?
Anon, your wish is granted :-). I am serious, do point out my mistakes, by the way do you know any one who is looking for job in US and is good in java sdk even we dont care if he is a fresh graduate or graduating soon in spring. Great package here with H-1 and GC application within 3 months !!! Let me know !!!
Original-anon, what have we given to US? well although its a funny question anyways , weak doesn’t give anything or anything because strong snatch(es) it away these Yankes took our national pride , we gave our bases ( remember Peshawer Incident in Mid-50’s when Russian(s) warned Pakistanis that they will blow up Peshawer if US airplanes takes off from Peshawer airport ) to resuming china(s) diplomatic with US to giving away everything to fight Soviets to giving away our bases to yankess to kill innocents in Afghanistan ( although not that innocent )
and lets see what Americans given us ,
a) stoped Ayub Khan from attacking Indian Armed Forces in Kashmir when Indians lost a war with China ( Pakistan gave a safe transit to Indians )
b) yankees diverted arms supplies of Pakistan to Indians when yankees got information that Pakistanis are in a better position in 1965 war ; also Yankees imposed a arms sanction on Pakistan during the war
c) we waited for yankee ( US ) armour and ships to end 1971 war with India in Bay of Bengal - result because of American (covert backing to Indians - a delibrate delay ) we lot both diplomatic war in UN and were unable to stop civil dis-obidiance in then East Pakistan ( result : Bangladesh )
d) yankees was a direct party which backed Zia to dismiss a elected government and hang Bhutto
e) Yankees never wanted us to even start nuclear programme for peaceful use forget developing a bomb
f) Yankees used and abused us during the Zia era’ in permoting the concept of jehad
g) Yankees killed Zia
h) Yankees imposed sanctions on Pakistan ( Plesler ones )
i) Yankees came and took away Amal Kasi
and the stroy goes on to (z) …
white elephant is used as a symbolic animal to show enemy or friend as powerful one - Bhutto used the term for US in 70’s
its pity that our dictators and politicians were part of this mess - assisting these yankes all the way through to stay in power -
Ali Chishti - no offence but is there a point to this verbal masturbation ??
I myself say stupid shit all the time but I thought I was the only one .
peace ,love and chicken karahi
faqat
Darthvader
@nitpicker
Thank God for little mercies like yourself and anon. I thought that I, being an Enlish lit major from Loyola Marymount, was one of the odd ones on this site for whom English, written or spoken poorly, is a pet peeve.
Welcome!
wow
so, we have english grammar classes going on here
good, very good
i am a compelet disaster to english grammar so don’t even think about making correction in my comments……it would take you for ever!!!!!!!
the wanabe(s) know more english then a englishmen would do , somehow we believe in pointing minor mistakes in order to take one(s) attention off from a important subject
Chishti my friend cool down, if you would press hard against any thing then it won’t bring down any thing. I understand where you are coming from but stay cool and don’t give too much dose at once.
First of all introduce yourself, I am in Northern Calif, where are you these days ??
LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL
Oh please, oh please ‘White elephant is used as a symbolic animal’
I can’t , I just can’t take it anymore. My stomach hurts from laughing so hard.
@Poo: ‘We don’t even care’ not ‘we even don’t care’.
The only Java I know is the kind I get at Starbucks :)
@Faisal: I feel your pain. English Lit major? That is great.
I am from Tatooine , if anyone cares.
‘You refer to the prophecy of the one who will bring balance to the force. You believe it’s this…boy?’ :-)
POO POO HEAD next time i m coming to US i m coming to meet u….man…
Darthvader u rock man…..ur comments are quite ‘Hut K’;)
Chill Karachiites
TB, you sound me like a gay , in other thread you said that you are a lover of MB and here you want to meet me then you tried to hit darthvader , tell me who are you ?
i m in chicago illinois
but who cares
aey bhai log abhi tum sala kis bat much mcuh
kar raila hai
abhi cool donw hooney ka kya
gasti shan patti nahi bhai log kay sath
i added an S by mistake and you wrote several lines to *correct* me?
you guys don’t miss chance to came out as an A ss,its not S mind you.
Striker, I was in Chicago Down Town for two years on Taylor Street , where are you in Chicago ??? Man I miss Chicago’s Ghareeb Nawaz, I also miss Taylor street at Halsted, what a great street it is !!!
hey
poo poo i m staying at devon and hermitage
just few min walk from gareb nawaz they still
have paratha for 50 cents and you can two kabab and one paratha for only $ 2.50 i love devon
its totaly desi
@ali,
tsk tsk tsk, the typical jazbati pakistani/muslim.
lets work with brains and not emotions.
@ Adnan — if you say it was a mistake, I’ll take your word for it — I assumed it wasn’t — sorry to have made an example out of you but it’s a very common thing I hear people say and I just wanted to point out that its incorrect — that’s all :)
Glad to see I have company when it comes to writing good English (I’m a little enthu. lately — just completed a “Communications” training class through work where we did pages and pages of grammar review exercises)
Too many chicagoans hey guys i am a karachite from chicago too yae :)
Well…better late than never. I was hearing rumours for ages that one site after another had been selected but nothing was for sure..first it was supposed to be some place around Boat Basin, then it was thought that the compounded enclosure right after S&P Village is the place…(I was afraid of that coz its very very close to my house). Finally its over and the darned embassy is going out of the way for good. God Bless Karachi.
Chisti sahib, with reference to your last post, allow me to correct a couple of errors in it as well.
“the wanabe(s) know more english then a englishmen would do , somehow we believe in pointing minor mistakes in order to take one(s) attention off from a important subject”
“wanabes”, though not a proper word in the English language, is nevertheless spelled “wannabes”. Another common mistake, made by many native English speakers as well, is the differentiation between “then” and “than”. In your sentence, the word “than” should be used. As an example, the correct usage of each word follows: “I finished writing this comment and then I went to bed.” “I would rather be in bed than writing this comment.”
Next, the general rule of thumb is that before any vowel (a e i o u), you should use “an” not “a”. Furthermore, it should be “an Englishman” and not “a englishmen”.
Hope you did not mind this mini tutorial because as common as these mistakes may be, they are not any less infuriating.
On a personal note, I’m rather infuriated at myself that, insomnia having got the best of me tonight, here I am at bloody four in the morning correcting someone’s English.
By the way poo poo, what part of northern california are you in? My brother and sister both graduated from UC Berkley so I used to go up there quite often many moons ago. I live in the Los Angeles area myself.
Well …. I am glad its over. There had been speculations and gossip over the new site for ages but there was nothing concrete. First it was some place around Boat Basin, then it was the compounded enclosure after the (Late) S&P Village ( I was worried about that location coz its tooo close to my home ). Anyhow finally its settled and that darned embassy is going out of the way forever. God Bless Karachi.
I am some where between San Jose and San Francisco ,much closer to San Jose. Any guess ???
San Mateo?
Come on Anon, I guess you knew where I am ?? By the way how do you know San Mateo, Its a small town , have you ever lived here ?? By the way where are you ??
I am on the East coast. I have visited San Mateo once. No I did not know where you are, how should I?
But, was I wrong or right?
hey HeartofAries i think i know what you are doing : it’s like how a Ustad singer presents the same khayal in 2 different “Raags’..the content is same but the delivery is different and its the most subtle and beautiful thing in the world of music. Randy Rhodes did that too , a lot I might say , but he just played the same notes twice and ..youknow ..who cares..when you are Randy Rhodes you can do anything. My personal favourite Ozzy guitarist is Jake E Lee though. i mean cmon the 2nd solo on Bark At the Moon is something else . dont you think ???
- join me and we will rule the galaxy together.
I am in Palo Alto but moving to Santa Clara by the end of this month. My room mate wants me to leave an apartment :-( and believe me I even don’t know the reasons behind it nor did I ask. I guess her bf might be moving in. Where is east coast, don’t you worry, I wont ever visit you :-D
TURAB Bibi,
Bibi ( or baba or whatever ) I want to thank you for counting me in your list of
‘typical Pakistan(is)’ . If your brains tell you to accept US supremacy and let
Yankees interfere in a soverign country(s) affair and that your brain tell you to
Give Dr.Qadir away to Yankees -immediately contact your nearest physiatrist.
These wanabe(s) upper middle and lower middle classes are so much busy in
Converting themselves (into the concept of enlighten moderates) and copying
Yankee and Indian Cultures that they are thinking about about bowing to the commands
Of Yankkes for a simple McDonalds …
Byron aka Faisal Lord aka Duke …
Pls stop your grammer teachings ( English is not our first language ) - these kalay
Farangee are everywhere now adays …
Mr. Chisti,
It’s “grammar” and not “grammer”.
On a lighter note (no pun intended), I’m really not all that “kala” but rather quite fair skinned. And did you say farangee? Pray tell what that is. Were’nt the farangee a race of aliens on like Star Trek: Deep Space Nine or some other tv show?
Faisal , please be aware of TB now :-) Fair skinned , I dunno what he would be doing now in front of screen
@Original Anon, where on the East Coast are you? I’m in the DC area
I am in Virginia. This is funny that all of us regular visitors to the blog are in the US.
Wow , great place, my company was about to send me there at Asuburn but I switched the job, Greedy me :-( , Could you identify the company ?? Easy guess I believe.
I meant Ashburn :(
Original-anon - wasay hows Fairfex county ? hegal square - had fond memories of growing up there ( yes i had fond memories! ) —
Chisthi, I am not the one who picks grammar and spellings mistakes but you do a lot of spelling mistakes. You even screwed fairfax county spelling :-( . You hurt some one.
Original-anon: Yes you are right! looks like most of the visitor are abroad; I guess the only reason they visit this forum is that they get to know different things about the city they love and miss.
Since people back @ home live there and see/experience all of the events first hand, thats why they don’t visit this forum.
By the way, I am also a lover ;) Remember, Virginia is for lovers?
hey guys, haven’t been to devon st. yet, though here in nyc, Haandi on lex and 28th, is not too bad. kebab king in jackson heights is quite good too and not too pricey at that! try those out if in the area!
Hey Darthvader
Well your theory is right I am sure that’s how it appears to be but I posted the first one and it never acknowledged the post instead I got some stupid error message on the site.. I refreshed and my post was not there.. so I posted again and this time …lo and behold..both were there….
@Poo Poo: You are either referring to MCI (now Verizon) or AOL — I actually live Ashburn
@Original Anon: I’m in NoVA too — Did you go the qawwali at the pak embassy earlier this evening? was pretty good.
meant to say *near* Ashburn — you been to Fairfax County?
@Nitpicker and Ali: I am not in NOVA but in central Virginia.
@Darth: I have never been a Black Sabbath/Ozzy fan, but I noticed that Ozzy is to be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of fame soon. Anyway, I am always looking to broaden my music horizons so if I were to start listening to Ozzy, what albums would you recommend?
@Ali: I am sorry you are so angry about life, but please, don’t assume that the rest of us don’t do anything to help others. I think ‘Manny’ mentioned that he is involved in an organization that would help set up small businesses but they cannot find any takers. Maybe you could get in touch with him. It is good that you feel the pain of others around you, but that does not mean you should get so angry and talk about burning things. Even if you think we are not doing enough or have the wrong priorities, then be a little kind about it. Remember that ‘you catch more flies with honey than with vinegar’.
HEY STRIKER ANOTHER CHICAGOAN HERE FROM YOUR HOOD . I AM @ DEVON & FRANCISCO.
Well first of all i am Ali II, and not Ali Chisti(what ever).
Secondly, is there anyone one from England???
So what will happen of hte 24 km southern bypass from Jinnah Bridge Native Jetty to Quaidabad??? its intended route was Jinnah Bridge, MT Khan Road, CLub Road, SF and so on, also termed as a signal free corridor. How the US Consulate security will be ensured???
i live in london and all i can say in regards to the hilarious comments above is - these pakis are crazy! (but keep it up, it gives me some private laughtime while at work)