Democracy or not?

A student bashing President Musharraf in his face. The President listens to it patiently like a cool & calm person. I tell you this is more democratic than Pakistan has ever been. Unfortunately, the Presidents reply is not included, but still worth a watch for all those who care about the Socio-Political situation of Pakistan. The student raises a lot of valid points, and you can see the President jotting them down so he would reply but unfortunately no footage for that. We need more of such dialouges.

Pakistan Zindabad!

If anyone has the additional footage, it would be great if they share it with the rest of us.

65 Comments so far

1. KhiTorPit (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 8:04 am

Please add President’s reply if someone has.

2. Kashif (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 9:35 am

The poor guy may be roasted afterwards. A ‘commando’ never forgets his enemy.

3. Captain's Log (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 9:48 am

The most funniest moment was when student says “janab-e-sadar note karnay ki bat yah hay” and at next instant, Mush opened copy to take note. You could just see the shallowness inside him by that moment:-)

Any how, if I need to rule then who cares for these speeches? Say what ever you want to say, I don’t care. Yah what a brave president …

Could some one tell this Mush not to wear his commando dress in assembly.

This vdu just shows that dictatar nevers listens to any one.

4. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 10:01 am

Alright guys, i am happy you put it here IllusionFS. I got this in email few months back as WMV probably.

Anyways, the student is Adnan Kakakhel & as for Kashif’s roasting question : We dont know what he got after he left that place but we sure know he got second prize for his speech.

And as for what musharraf replied. Musharraf, infact asked him if this was all possible in his so called democratic governments. Obviously we all know the answer.

5. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 10:05 am

Khadija Yaqoob of Government College University, Lahore bagged first prize, Adnan Kakakhel of Jamiat-ul Uloom-il Islamiya Banori Town,Karachi got second prize while Osama Ashraf of University of Central Punjab, Lahore got third prize. All received cash prizes of R s . 2 5 , 0 0 0 e a c h a l o n g w i t h certificate. The remaining participating students were awarded Rs.5,000 each. Topics of the three day bilingual Convention in which 95 students spoke were, Jinnah’s vision of a
    Moderate Pakistan, National Integration-Opportunities & Challenges and Living Together in a Global Community.

6. Yahya (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 10:15 am

Bullshit!!!

These Mullahs were the biggest opponents of Pakistan and came up with terms like Kafir e Azam and Na-Pakistan. These Mullahs caused sectarian hatred and violence in the name of religion in the society and called fro Jihad against fellow Mulsims both in the country and outside. The same Mullahs ruined the environment in our educational institutions. This Mullah has very conveniently ignored these facts.

7. UnholySaint (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 10:44 am

I have never been this proud of being a Pakistani and a Muslim. Wish that guy was my brother. We are getting it. We are finally getting it.

8. Yahya (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 10:46 am

These Mullahs are the biggest hypocrites!!!

One day these Mullahs stab the Pakistan Movement in the back and the next day they come and take over Pakistan. How do they know what is the meaning of Pakistan? They never supported its creation.

9. Teeth Maestro (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 10:55 am

I honestly dont care if people accuse the mullahs here. This guy actually asked the exact questions that the entire nation wants to ask Pervaiz Musharraf.

Its a brilliant speech, and I wish we can here the BS response from the president.

Thanks for sharing this, should be translated in English and shown to the world.

10. Kamran (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 11:07 am

These questions has been asked by every nation, yet we fail to realize that its not the problem of just one person who is sitting on the presidential seat.. but the problem of ‘us’ … how can he expect corruption to eradicate by itself. Its the people who has brought a bad name and hatred among each other, its not the President.

the questions from the mullah were totally baseless and only a form to instigate clapping from the crowd and nothing else. These are popular questions to get popular opinion from the crowd. Even if the mullah will be made to answer his own questions he won’t have a solution.

Stop making the President the scapegoat for pet’s sake, look inside yourself first.

11. turab (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 11:26 am

wht is this??

Karachi blogs or MUSHARRAF BASHING BLOG??

Mullahs even called Quaid e Azam Kafir ….

Binori Town….. Wow what a great school of thought!

12. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 11:26 am

TM is very right , “This guy actually asked the exact questions that the entire nation wants to ask Pervaiz Musharraf. ” He being mullah or not is not our concern. Had he even be an infidel we would appreciate for what he asked. You just cannot put in him “the typical mullah” category without knowing him. Thats nonsense. You guys even dont know him. And he is not doing it on mullah’s part & he is not even saying any such thing. All his questions were what we all wanted to ask.

And i completley agree with Kamran. The problem is with us. Just want to repeat what he said “Its the people who has brought a bad name and hatred among each other, its not the President.”

We in our ranks, as students, professionals, doodh wala’s taxi wala’s, business men, lawyers, police wala’s & all need to look into own collars. Its as simple as you can get it if you make corrections in youself & as difficult as you look at it like 160 million humans.

13. Mo (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 12:05 pm

@Yahya, Turab & Kamran U guys were all spot on. Esp Turab LOL..Binori Town what a great school of thought I couldnt stop laughing when I read that. Kamran is right though, I mean its very easy to criticize, look what people say about EDHI and now Muhammad Yunus the 2006 Nobel Peach Prize winner, but what have “WE” done. We complain about how dirty our cities are yet “WE” the educated class, conviniently roll our windows down and throw garbage on the streets. Question the president because that is what every citizen should do, because that is what would make our government never resort to take advantage of the system.
    Really speaking this guy just kept on complaining, but I would like to ask what about what the President did do, call a spade a spade but also give credit where its due. I mean 5 yrs ago Karachi was like the unwanted child of Pakistan, today they govt local and federal is actually spending money, by trying to improve the infrastructure(I know ppl will bring up the underpass issue..fair enough but the problem was also the fact that our electricity failed and if that goes how is the water pump suppossed to work; but atleast they are trying).
    Its disgusting how in a cheeky manner he sneaks the whole balochistan issue with bugti in. Well what he did was right, we dont need this feudal system in Pakistan, times have changed. We should not be paying off tribal lords to use resources which is our right.

14. NY (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 12:24 pm

Aint a regular on this forum but simply cud not resist adding my two pennies worth in here by saying that i completely agree with MO and MB. i believe we have proved to everyone that we are a lazy nation…lazy in actions but not in words. Critical we are of everthing and we feel we are right in doing that in our own ways. But then there are few like “Sir” Edhi and the new nobel prize winner from bangladesh that stand up and make the difference.

15. Imran Zahid (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 12:44 pm

Hold onto your horses, and I will upload the entire clip WITH mushi’s answer as well… in which he polietly answered all the questions raised, and was actually thanked by the asker as well …

16. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 1:22 pm

Wow sure IMRAN. That would be great. I had an email but its also not complete i guess. So i let it go.

17. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 1:22 pm

Wow sure IMRAN. That would be great. I had an email but its also not complete i guess. So i let it go.

18. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 1:24 pm

19. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 1:25 pm

20. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 1:27 pm

21. MB (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 1:36 pm

22. Imran (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 2:00 pm

MB: you really need to see the video i see :) so many comments … :) …

any how i have uploaded the video on google, because youtube wasnt allowing me… it cant confirm my email, no matter how many times i try … whereas google was a smooth a..

http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=5546807296660038256&hl=en

the quality would be less because the file i had was a .rm (Real Media) one, and google blew the file up that is why … i do have the .rm file uploaded on my server as well, but bandwidth issues might arise, so will post the link if you need it.

23. yo yo (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 2:38 pm

Good to see Mullah party comming out of hibernation and talking about problems of Pakistanis. Great work Pakistan…Pakistan ka matlab kiya

24. yo yo (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 2:48 pm

Man this is what is called SAYING KALIMA E HAQ…This is what Prophet Muhammad (PBUH) stood for…Stand on the side of the oppressed. Although the guy critisized Musharraf for all the right reasons. But I must give Musharraf credit for giveing so much freedom to his people.

25. Kashif (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 3:15 pm

Imran I can put it on my server if you don’t mind. I have got ample bandwidth so there won’t be any downloading issue.

26. PatExpat (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 4:19 pm

I am surprised at the biased attitude of the people on this blog. Just because a so called Mullah raised the questions, we are against him tooth and nail.

If the Mullahs are known for Musharraf bashing, after reading the comments, i will identify the visitors as Mullah bashers.

Just a question. From the inception of Pakistan to date, Pakistan was ruled by the army or elite class educated in Grammar School, Aitchison, Oxford, Cambridge, Berkley etc., why do we blame the Mullah for the ills effecting the society. If anyone is to blame, its the educated class or army.

The real reason we are in such a mess is because of the educated class which are themselves educated but when handed the reins of government believe that they are above the population and havent made any efforts for the enlightment of the population.

Mullah is filling the gap. If a kid can’t be taught by government ghost schools or if people in Kashmir are left to fend for themselves after the Quake, the islamic charities would come in to help them and support them and in return they will be forever obliged to support the Mullah from the heart whether the educated bloggers like it or not.

By the way, the Mullah raised very valid question about democracy in India etc.

27. Imran (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 4:20 pm

@Kashif: sure why not, email me your id and i will give you the link: imranzahid(at the rate of)gmail.com

28. Yahya (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 4:47 pm

Anyone (Mullahs/Military General) comes, uses the right words in the right tone and we are fooled for the umpteenth time. They know we are a nation of fools from the very first British who came to India to Mullahs and Military of present day.

First Mullahs used “Pakistan ka Matlab kia…”, it was hot then, then they used “Nizam e Mustafa” we all know how that went and now since everyone is upset on corruption and cost of living, this is Mullah’s slogan of the day.

“Fool me once shame on you, fool me twice shame on me”. But no, we will never learn. So here is another guy to fool us yet again. And what do you know we all responded how he expected. These Mullahs can’t believer their luck…”Khuda day band lay”, so many fools to manipulate at once!

29. Aussie_Paki (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 4:57 pm

what a convincing speaker!

30. suhail (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 5:06 pm

Hey folks…chill out..
    Mush is a dictator …thank God for it..what a lovely thing it is.
    he is in uniform, however i dont see how his uniform effects me..i can still do all the things, which i could have done even no wardi was there.so anyone please tell me, how his wardi has personally effected you? i dont care about the criticism of so called western democracies. BS!!!. one size does not fits all. Democracy or no democracy, its the good governess which matters. no democracy in china, still fastest growing economy. so the UK citizen or US citizen are living in great democracies? do u know the life style of UAE nationals, for example?? they are citizens of a non-democratic country, yet they have highest social benfits, and that too without taxes.
    even a thailey wala in saddar will tell you, We need “danda”.
    Musharaf dictatorship zinda baad, Danda payenda baad!!

31. Kashif (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 6:41 pm

Actually Suhail, I do agree with you that we need ‘danda’ but then why all this facade of democracy? Why both civilans and wardi walas rape us? If Musharraf is the solution to all problems and his dictatorship is better than any other government, then dissolve assemblies. Atleast the poor taxpayers should not pay to all those dogs who go to assemblies just to walk out or enjoy in the cafeteria.

32. IllusionFS (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 6:43 pm

Suhail bhai, I hear you man.

Stereotyping Mullahs is stupid. Why cant we think of this guy as just a ’student’. What a bloody racist place man. I dont know how any of you can judge this poor fellow without even knowing a thing about him?
    And all those who think that the guy should answer his own questions, my reply to them is:
    It is not the job of a critic to give solutions, there objective is only to point out the wrongs.

All the Musharraf bashers on this site, tell me if you have ever seen such a speech it times of another ruler of Pakistan? Stop talking about democracy. Democracy is just a western influence imposed on us to confuse our poor people even further.

33. Faisal (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 7:09 pm

@Suhail,

“Democracy or no democracy, its the good
    governess which matters.”

Just wanted to point out that a “governess” is a nanny or a woman hired to take care of a child. What you meant to write was “governance”.

34. Haseeb A (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 7:27 pm

Guys, you are forgetting. HE IS A DICTATOR. HE IS A KILLER and He is a lier (kargil, Dr Qadeer etc etc), an established actor (hijacking?) etc etc.
    Just coming here and listening to this doesnt make him GOOD. Remember Nawaz Sharif had open kutcheris and listened to phone calls every saturday? Bush listens to critism everyday. But is he good? NO WAY

Our standards are so low these days that just a person listening to his criticsm makes him an angel. WOW. And all mulla bashers, what have you done? Let go of half of Pakistan while you were drunk? (yahya, bhutto etc?). Imposed martial law after martial law (Gen Iskandar Mirza, Gen Ayub Khan etc etc)? Even many non mullahs were against pakistan (look at indias muslim pop.)

Every mullah isnt the same.. oops, bu you cant notice, cause you have your jack danials besides you, your 1600cc car standing outside and some relative in the corrupt army perhaps…

35. Faisal (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 7:47 pm

@Haseeb A

“Every mullah isnt the same.. oops, bu you cant notice, cause you have your jack danials besides you, your 1600cc car standing outside and some relative in the corrupt army perhaps…”

Quite the cynic, are’nt you?

And by the way, only Johnnie Walker Blue Label will do thank you. Moreover, a 1600cc corolla or the like? Tsk, tsk, how plebian! At the very least, a late model Landcruiser Prado.

And besides the relative (even an in-law) in the upper ranks of the armed forces, just to keep all bases covered, how about a family member being part of the bureaucracy, preferably grade 20 or above and having a cousin or an uncle or an aunt as part of the top leadership of the two main national political parties?

Hey, what can i say? It’s a great country!

36. Ramla A. (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 8:20 pm

What’s the URL of this video on YouTube?

37. Original-Anon (unregistered) on October 14th, 2006 @ 9:52 pm

Democracy? No, never had it in Pakistan. What we have and always have had is Kakistocracy.

38. SWA (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 12:01 am

I hope Musharraf can remind this guy about the fact that the very fact he can sit in front of him and air his greivances is more democracy and openness than the previous governments ever even allowed!

Also, this guy should be reminded of the role the so called “Islamic parties” have played in disrupting peace in our society and then talk about peace from the government. All these people indoctrinating, women supressing, freedom hating Islamic parties that are within us, are responsible for the most amount of disruption in civil life. Be it beating people at the Lahore marathon, wrangling shamelessly for politican power, sectarian strife, trying to impose their own morality on other people, demonstrating on busy roads every single stupid thing America does while ignoring proper justice in our own societies, we need to reming these mullahs of all this first.

39. turab (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 12:13 am

lets admit it, binori town masjid has been a primary source of spreading sectarian hatred and violence!

State and Mosque/Church have to be seperate PERIOD.

How many Mullas have condemned Suicide bombings and declared them as unISLAMIC??…. Suicide bombing even in Israel are everything against Islam. You cannot even break a leaf off a tree in a self defence war let alone kill innocent children, women and human beings…. that just shows your/our weakness……

40. suhail (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 1:23 am

Ok , since our president accepts criticism, I will also thank Faisal, and change my statement as : “DEMOCRACY OR NO DEMOCRACY, ITS THE GOOD GOVERNANCE WHICH MATTERS.”
    Just made the spelling mistake in the heat of the moment.
    I would like to add that both the president and the student who asked the questions are needed to keep things on track. Our religious scholars, even the khateebs of the mosques, are an essential building block of our nation. They will try to ensure that if the Gen (with the help of Shoukat Aziz, the great) modernizes our country, it does not become westernized. The frustration of the religious people on a few things is very understandable, and they are right in it, I am also with the Mullah’s in rejecting westernization, in fact we shall invite them (The West) to learn from us in the areas in which we hold higher moral grounds, for example family values, love between common people, our hospitality to foreigners, generally a good behavior towards minorities, to mention a few. Some of the key good points of the present government are, introduction of local govt. system, I know that at present its only successful in Karachi, but its is the right thing to do, and indeed there shall be local governments. I hope local body system will make a difference in other cities too. Both Naimatullah Khan and Mustafa Kamal did and are doing good things. The other thing I like is the introduction of Shoukat Aziz, had it not been for the strong president, a man like him would never have taken a part in our dirty politics. I wish that our politicians can learn how to talk from the Prime Minister. The only truly presentable parliamentarian, in my knowledge. I have never seen him making an indecent comment or behave cheaply in assembly or on media. The establishment of NADRA is also a very good move and will result in better management in future.

41. Ramla A. (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 1:36 am

Ok, I had missed this one amongst during my long boycott/ shutting out of news and Musharraf and everyone else on TV.

Kakakhel asked exactly the questions that we should all ask, as Teeth said. And he is using his mind, and talking about issues at hand. Each citizen of Pakistan must keep the government in check by being as, or more, vocal as this man.

Speaking of Mullahs, I think some of the liberals are just as “mullah.” Here I use the word “mullah” to mean what it currently means: “a dogmatic person who narrowly defines the reality of the world, and applies it on others with absolute, uninvited authority while s/he her/himself may not be correct.”

Kakakhel is indeed open-minded, because he has correctly identified the cause of the problems of Pakistan’s youth. Indeed, it was the premise of a documentary at KaraFilm Festival in 2003 I believe - a man gone extremist/(I don’t want to use the popular terms) - because of poverty and personal problems. This is the truth. What is shoved down our throats by Ivy Tower professors and obscurist theorists is nonsense.

Why don’t we kill & burn? Because we have food in our stomach, and jobs at hand. I have never even sat in a protest. Our mommies and daddies cushion our lives, and we have no idea how it feels to be utterly in despair.

…. Teeth, not sure what reply Mush gave then, but his scheme to create youth employment from the funds generated by his book may answer part of many of Kakakhel’s questions. I have privately reached the same conclusion: give people peace and food and security. Give the young persons vocational education (not the practically useless nonsense that the education system is) and give them jobs.

Then watch.

Bravo, Kaka!

42. Ramla A. (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 1:44 am

OK Imran, just found your video…. loading… JazakAllah.

Further rant:
    You know if one was to go to Quetta from Karachi, and they find themselves in Hyderabad, they can’t wish themselves in Quetta the next minute. From the moment of realization to the destination will be the period that we are NOT at the destination BUT TRAVELLING TOWARDS IT. When Mush took charge of Pakistan, he found us in Hyderabad while we should have been in Quetta. Convincing the lost passengers what is the destination, and that we have to turn about, and that we can’t find ourselves there in a snap - it’s a task. And while we are travelling towards Quetta or whatever destination we want ot decide, we are TAKING THE JOURNEY.

Point is: Assuming Mush has the best of intentions, he can’t suddenly transport Pak into a Utopia. We have to see what are we travelling towards and what are, meanwhile, the external distrations?

Above all, if we wish to go in a certain direction, we have to get up and move ourselves and help whoever is guiding us there. If they seem to err, it is our job and right to question them and hold them accountable. But to not see the reality of the situation and make petulant, unrealistic demands serves no purpose.

43. Ramla A. (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 1:58 am

The fact that such dialogs started are a sign of change, as IllusionFS points out. Now that the President has decided to open an institute for poor students - and give jobs to the poorest through Rozgar scheme - we can see that part of Kakakhel’s question was answered: not with a glowing speech,but with action.

There are things I do not agree with, and Musharraf was beginning to frighten me with his tendency to be over-confident. But I also feel that he should not alone be held responsible for the condition and improvement of Pakistan.

It is conscientious objectors like Kakakhel and people who are actually doing something to make Pakistan’s situation better who are sharing the burden of change in Pakistan. Logicall,y if we have given over the entire burden of responsibility to someone, why fault them for wrong while completely absolving ourselves? It’s only when as a nation we SHARE the burden with the government that we have a right to take them into account.

This may not apply to the poor of Pakistan who are over-burdened with daily stresses. But we the privileged are part of what’s wrong with Pakistan through our inaction and loads of “enlightened” talk. Musharraf rightly said he is as troubled by “mullahs” as by “liberals.”

44. PAKI POWER (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 5:28 am

bhai sabh mullah ko bura bolay say phalay yeh sochay keh agur yeh log na hotay tu hamaray ghar ki aurat bazar ka show piece hoti aur hamay yahan woh woh masharti buraya hoti jesa ka west may hai 12 saal ki buchi ka rape etc ajj yeh hamaray yahan bhi ho raha hai aur is ki wajha yeh mullah or Islam nahi bulkay hum khud hai jo hukumat keh aur USA ki maan bethay hai keh Islam gareebon aur backward logon ka mazhab hai aur hum iman say duur ho chukay hai

Allah hum sub ko hidayat day Ameen

45. Concerned (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 6:09 am

Very good post. I really dont want democracy, if a person like Mushi is incharge.

46. Captain's Log (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 8:09 am

First of all , dictatorship is an era , it’s not about a person so I have nothing personal against dictator or his personality.

I watched the video and what dictator did was stupid, he started his answer by pointing out Business recorder incident. This is an old way of defending one self, try pulling other’s shirt when you know you do not have sound grounds. Then about Baluchistan scene , Kaka clearly said that he had issues with the way the dictator spoke about hitting them from where there would not know but dictator took all time telling about tribal history and wasted all the time. The reason he gave for over taking civil govt. was the pathetic reason I have ever heard. He said that his previous generals did that so he also did that but now he is building system which would not encourage generals to take oever :-) . How more lame you could get.

He said that it was democracy that he was listening to those students, Can he tell where is the democracy when you arrest people and send them to guantanamo bay w/o any trials and later after three years , those people get release by US govt. and are called innocent. Can he tell that where are those so many people who are disappeared and no one tells where are they? Last month even high courts asked govt. to tell where are those people. BBC published whole feature on those unlucky disappeared people. What a democracy.

Regarding that fact Karachi has more roads , no blasts , foreign money is coming in , KSE is booming , real state mafia is making fortunes. Do you know what is the reason ??? Peace in Karachi. I like the Khaka quote about Abraham’s prayer. Ordinary men could also understand that when there is peace , there is prosperity. Now it sounds
    that in Mush’s era , there is all peace , no bomb blasts etc but for that you have to know the cause of that. India has clearly said in past that for any bomb blast in India, they would take revenge in Karachi. Now there is Army govt. ISI is
    under them directly so all those support ISI have been doing in Kashmir or Nagaland or Tamil Nado have been stopped so there is no reason India is going to do blasts in Karachi. Could any one remember like 10-12 years ago, it was a normal scene in Karachi that some one has died in Kashmir so people were gathering for his “janaza”. Could any body recall 10 years ago , Kashmir was always the 3rd news of PTV 9 o’ clock news, could some body recall that Kashmir news were always on first pages of newspaper but it is no more. ISI has stopped or decrease its support in Kashmir so we do not see any reaction in Karachi. But if there was a govt of politicians then these army and ISI
    would do what they did in kargil. You live in barracks and you do not have any thing to do then you always start such adventures but these days all army officers are busy in making money so they do not care for any thing but as soon as
    politicians would come in govt, the army would start operations in Kashmir (we would see reaction in karachi and would blame civil govt), after all they have to defend the money they take from each civil govt. 40% of budget goes to forces every year. We yell that we have reserve of 12 B dollars
    but could some one tell that how much we are paying for those F 16s. If my memory is serving me then that number is 5 B $ meaning out of every 2.5 Rs in reserves , we are spending one Rupee on just F 16s. What is the use of those F 16s
    which you dare not to use. It’s pathetic. With those 5 b $, we can give people energy for free for 2-3 years. We could build hundreds of Agha Khan hospitals, we could make hundreds of LUMS.

http://www.hvk.org/articles/0803/125.html see this page for army corruption.

Please open your eyes and see the real causes. If people like you can’t reason then how could we blame the one who has never got a chance to read.

And for people who think that “ALL” madarsas and their people are stupid then there is a hadith for them. “The best person among you is the one who learns Koran and then teaches it”. Jamia Binori town has given us so amny religious scholars you even can’t count. Yousof Ludhyanvi and Taqi usmani belong to same university. Turab do you know by the way where is unievsrity of binori town ?? I guess kaka is much better than most people here. Bravo kaka. I pray that Allah shows me the right path if I am wrong or keep me on right path I already am.

Sorry for typos in advance Faisal :-)

47. akif (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 8:46 am

i’m not saying mush is great, but i do have a simple question. In the current political landscape do we have a better alternative?

48. Captain's Log (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 8:59 am

Akif , let’s assume we do not have today but by having dictatarship, we would never have. You have to train people , you have to educate people so that they can make right choices and for that you have to give them chance to make choice. I agree they would go wrong few times but eventually they will come good believe me.

By the way , I am all up for Imran Khan , the guy is honest, the guy has courage and importantly the guy does not have any inferiority complex as compared to most of us Pakistanis.

49. Faisal (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 9:07 am

@captain’s Log

No problem regarding typos….
    You make some valid points……

50. Dee (unregistered) on October 15th, 2006 @ 9:40 pm

@ Captain’s Log…..> Well said.We may not have someone as a Mush alternative today but if we keep questioning oursleves or our leaders one day we will. Good work kaka.
    Its good to see some of us actaully hanging on to the hope of better days for our dear motherland.Its way better than static hopelessness.
    Dee

51. Captain's Log (unregistered) on October 16th, 2006 @ 7:06 am

Where are pro Mush ???

52. IllusionFS (unregistered) on October 16th, 2006 @ 7:09 am

Right here. We let others speak :P and think whatever they want to. Thats what democracy is about.

53. Captain's Log (unregistered) on October 16th, 2006 @ 7:47 am

Dictator fans telling us about democracy :-) Wow , that is some news.

54. akif (unregistered) on October 16th, 2006 @ 8:10 am

i agree with Captain’s Log unfortunately the democratic process has always been held hostage by the army and the zamindars, as such i have no expectations from this system. Because to educate and train would be suicide for the people who currently control our society.

55. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 16th, 2006 @ 9:23 am

Would somebody mind to these mullah bashers retards that who screwed Pakistan more in last 59 years?

was Ayub a mullah? Were Yahya, ZABhutto mullah who screwed Pakistan?

Was gen NIazi a mullah who made us a shameful nation? What about nawaz, bibi and Altaf and NOW musharraf, were they mullahs?come out of ignorance. You guys are infinite times more jahil,blind and ignorantt that those ‘mullahs’. Unlike you, they are not IN office.

Praising mush that his democractic govt allowed him to speak, I ask did anyone in past try to speak against Nawaz ,bibi or anyone else? I am sure this guy adnan kakahel had guts to speak against those guys as well. ITs all about courage which you retards don’t have.

If Adnan kakahel is a product of a mullah school then I would definately love to promote such insititutes.

Burn Mullah bashers burn, your ignorance is not lesser than those westerners who offend muslims all the time. Keep promoting your ‘religion’ ,may you lead to somewhere.

56. Hassan (unregistered) on October 16th, 2006 @ 6:14 pm

Found this link on Google Video with the President’s reply

http://video.google.ca/videoplay?docid=5546807296660038256&q=musharraf

My 2 cents worth……….

in the last 30 odd years this is the most democratic and progressive Pakistan has been.

57. Newb3e (unregistered) on October 17th, 2006 @ 5:59 am

bhai kisi kay pass sirf mushi ka reply hai?
    only his reply not the whole 22 min video
    thanks

58. Haq (unregistered) on October 17th, 2006 @ 8:09 am

Mush Zindabad.

The bearded fellow is all talk, no solutions. All attitiude, no substance. How about actually addressing how to fix the country’s issues as opposed to issuing religious platitudes and cute phraseology. What a bastard.

If we could all just give up our day jobs and instead head to the madrassahs and live like the fire breathing sectarian jokers who claim to speak for the religion and amazingly, for the country. How about learning a skill (and i dont mean arabic) and contributing to the country.

Grow up beard boy.

59. Captain's Log (unregistered) on October 17th, 2006 @ 9:30 am

Awesome Haq, you are born genious. Calling names is always wrong but in Ramadan ? Great. Ibless is really happy for you I can bet.

60. Hass Khan (unregistered) on October 17th, 2006 @ 11:56 am

Yes show it the world and then when the people all around Pak will laugh on u then u gunaa be happy .This is all crap nuffin else .U say Pakistan zindabad and look at u guys …He said what he wanted to say …Sir Musharraf heard wat he didnt wanted to hear and look at u guys …u are fighting like cat and dogs….U say u are muslims and Pakistani and u are proud to be 1 then do u think that by saying these bs things to each other will solve ur problem.And for those who say that the public wants to ask the same question to Sir Musharaf then sorry u are wrong . We are with him not cuz he is an army officer but cuz he is a open person .He speaks wateva he wants too ..he doesnt care whether any1 likes it or not …And btw if he leaves his seat who gunaa come …Nawaz sharif …Benazir or Altaf hussain …U just tell me 1 person who deserves that seat …..And if you wanna give examples of India then understand that they are more clever and more understanding then us .There people use there brains …They just dont start to burn building …Well neways nomatter wat Sir Musharaf is like …I do respect him and thus he is the best president ..Pakistan ever has got .I Salute u sir :)
    Btw there is no diff btw mullas and us ..We are all Muslims and pakistanis.And Mullas are better muslims than us .But the prob is that gud and bad people are evrywhere in every sect so u just cant say they are bad .Lets help each other and make Pak a better place :) so plzz calm down and dont fight btw urselves

61. Zaid (unregistered) on October 17th, 2006 @ 3:16 pm

Dear All, first of all keep in mind that the speaker had not given time to answer his own questions It was just to mention what could not be mentioned in last 59 yrs. Nobody deared to talk about these issues that he has done. Well Mr. Mush. was supposed to be calm if he couldnt then he was not supposed to be on dice. Remember it as a national convention not his army drill…..
    Oh somebody said about Underpass !! Well my dear who planned it (Govt.) Who built it (Govt.) Who was supposed to provide drainage (Govt.) who was supposed to provide electricity for pumps ( Govt.) Can anyone tell me where are “MULLAS” in this.
    The persons who are critising Mr. Kakakheil, how many times you pray each day ? How mucgh of your personal money you spent on poor each day ?

Dear president is the one who is supposed to be a role model for whole nation. Well Mr. Mush is the one who according to a foreign newspaper of the country who are his allies, was shown dancing on National Television, who was deep drunk while making a press conference in a foreign country Is he supposed to be our role model.
    Secondly if Mullas are so bad then why you guys pray behind them ( If you do ) I think you better hire a clean shaved 3 piece suited booted tied, person and try to pray behind him.

62. akif (unregistered) on October 19th, 2006 @ 1:51 pm

this has been the tragedy of our nation neither the generals, nor the mullahs or landlords or for that matter anyone else has had a positive impact on our society.

63. suhail (unregistered) on October 19th, 2006 @ 3:08 pm

@ZAID
    I never heard about anything. like mush drunk and dancing in a foreign country…sorry but seems like a fairy tale to me.

64. Maqsood Ahmed (unregistered) on October 20th, 2006 @ 10:24 am

Full conversation between Musharraf and Adnan Kakakhel.
    http://video.google.com/videoplay?docid=7271756746274927764

65. MB (unregistered) on October 21st, 2006 @ 5:58 pm

IllusionFS : Can you remove the repeated remarks on this page dear, thanks.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.