Muharram
First it was Islamabad, then it was Peshawar, now will it be Karachi?
The state of security in our country is pathetic. Or maybe pathetic is just a euphemism that I could be using here. A hotel gets rocked, and an Imambargah explodes and there are so many security officals deployed nation wide. This shows nothing. We do NOT have the power. I am dejected. I can only write about how disgusted I am with the current state of affairs. Sadly, this is all I can do.
Question) Moharram is the beginning of Islamic new year, and how do we mark that?
Answer) By killing a bunch of Muslims.
What a wonderful, wonderful nation we are. To all those people who live here in this city, in this country, inspite of everything like this, I respect the courage. Yet sometimes, the word courage is interchangeable with insanity. Am I entirely wrong to have been doubting?
“now will it be Karachi?” Let’s stay hopeful and not say things like that.
You cannot stop someone who is not afraid of death, not in Karachi, not in London, Baghdad, Madrid, US..
I DONT get it. WHY do these violent acts happen around Moharram ????
SOMEONE MORE KNOWLEDGEABLE (PLZ) ENLIGHTEN ME!
because bombers think shia are not muslims and i dont get one thing if there are so many problems in mohram why dont shia’s do all those mujlis ghar may beth kur bhi mar p[eet kur suktay hai
Thanks NEW, for the explanation.
Well whether shia sect are muslims or not, (i know) i’m no one to judge another human being (for their personal beliefs).
ISN’T THAT THE WHOLE POINT OF RELIGION? That it’s supposed to be (personal) belief & not something to kill another being for. Isn’t every religion a (personal) guideline for whoever wants to find meaning in them?
PEACE to all mankind, sunni, shia or any other sect or system of belief.
The point here is, till when do we suffer at the hands of a few people who wish to disrupt everything?
Safety isn’t anything, at all?
“why dont shia’s do all those mujlis ghar may beth kur”
Because its their right to do so but not Sunnis’ right to kill them.
“ghar may beth kur bhi mar p[eet kur suktay hai” I am not surprised at how pathetically ignorant you are! This is the exact reason for the hatred and killings…ignorance. “Have faith” in what has been told to you and your life is good.
Muharram is not about shias beating themselves, it is about commemorating the struggle for a principle, objecting and standing up if you think something isn’t right. That is more than what most of us can say for ourselves.
@NEW
“ghar may beth kur bhi mar p[eet kur suktay hai”
duDe have some respect for other religons and sects !!!
u r no one (NO ONE) to judge anyone !!
new, tum bohat bad-tameez ho.
mu, please dont be too sure that it is in fact SUNNIS who are killing the shias. It can be anyone.
Every time someone was caught killing any Shia, it was a Sunni. Who else is so determined to go to heaven?
Pakistan was made for muslims… not for shias sunnis punjabis sindhis pathans etc so we have to be tolerant of each other …
“ghar may beth kur bhi mar p[eet kur suktay hai”
they could say that same thing for sunni, why do sunnis go for prayers to mosque five times a day why not just pray at home… its simply a stupid comment
we should learn to tolerate each other unless we want a complete chaos here..
@MU it could be any one both internal or external elements… internally it could be relegious fanatics who give fatwas of shia being kafirs and non muslims.. externally it could be any one from Indians(RAW) or Afghans(Northern Alliance) or Americans(CIA) none of `em can be trusted they all want chaos and anarchy here
@Doctor: Funny you haven’t mentioned little green men from mars in your list of suspects. Fact is every time anyone was caught killing any Shias it were our home grown Sunni fanatics. How come your mind goes to everyone else except the culprits we all know *for a fact* to have been involved in such incidents in the past? With these fanatics around we don’t need any external enemies.
@MU & The Rest
Lets not fight about who killed these shia muslims because we are playing right into the hands of psycho’s like NEW. Lets Stand united as a nation and reject ignorant intolerant ppl like NEW. And “NEW” i suggest you read up on Muharram you might learn a thing or two.
Long Live Pakistan
ok so for the next three or four day karachi will be having festival holidays…am i right..? most of you must have already made the plans….the cricket match was a test match of five days which nearly ended on the second day today…i want to propose to the icc that if a test match ends with two or more days to spare…we must get a bonus ODI on the fifth and final day…Howzatt???
Btw, can anybody tell me where and how i could get a coin operated pepsi vending machine…need two, one for the living room and one for bathroom asap…
The lure of 72 virgins (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-5OLfyV7nP8) as a reward can be too much for a stupid grown up in the secluded atmosphere of an all-male madrassa to blow himself up for whatever pretext.
Don’t blame outsiders for suicide bombings. This is the home-grown industry in which we thrive. The hatcheries, sorry madrassas, not only adequately fulfill internal ‘demand’ but we export the idiots to all over the world. No wonder a terrorist act anywhere in the world finds a Paki connection – training or financing or cannon-fodder or planning or a combination of all or all.
henna in peshawar the target was police and in iSB hotel was targetted? how one could relate these incidents with Moharram? just because they happened in month of Moharram doesn’t mean it has moharram conneciton. those who are making it shia sunni connection are born losers and such elements create haterd between sects. Curse of God upon them. There is no shia/sunni issue anymore. Enemies do try to create a rift but Alhamdolillah always ge failed.
I personally believe that it’s a reaction of Mush latest attack on Waziristan tribe while the tribe leader already warned few days back and it was published in papers as well.
Off the topic: this moharram of mine might not be so thrilled because my friends are not making HALEEM, :/
henna in peshawar the target was police and in iSB hotel was targetted? how one could relate these incidents with Moharram? just because they happened in month of Moharram doesn’t mean it has moharram conneciton. those who are making it shia sunni connection are born losers and such elements create haterd between sects. Curse of God upon them. There is no shia/sunni issue anymore. Enemies do try to create a rift but Alhamdolillah always ge failed.
I personally believe that it’s a reaction of Mush latest attack on Waziristan tribe while the tribe leader already warned few days back and it was published in papers as well.
Off the topic: this moharram of mine might not be so thrilled because my friends are not making HALEEM, :/
it was a Sunni. Who else is so determined to go to heaven?
u wana say that shias has no intrest go in heaven? watch your words else some shia would kick on your ass :-).
Thanks to everyone who objected to some ridiculous comments by NEW……
You hardly get such a blatant example of:
PARA-LIKHA JAHIL of our society……
NEW …you need to study and go through some good books to understand what ISLAM and SHIAISM is all about..then u might not embarass yourself before others like this.
now Geo is saying that an explosive laden car has left D I Khan and is heading toward Karachi to be detonated during muharram… thats scary…
please.. for gods sake.. remember we all are supposed to be first humans; then pakistanis; then mayb muslims..
and muharram is commorodated to in rememberence of martydom of grandson of the Prophet (pbuh)
u agree or not wth sum1s belief is something else is your personal view as much as their belief is..
shia or sunni
hindu or parsi
long live karachi
peace to all and
haterz can go to hell
regardless of their faith
NEW – I give you an answer. Come pls meet me anywhere and I will fully explain it to you.
new and mu come on guys what are you doing?
These people are crazy. and desperate. and they have very little in their lives. To die for some pie in the sky reward is all they care about. Once they have defined the enemy thats it – suicide time.
Lets be honest, look at iraq , neither shia terrorists nor sunni terrorists are blameless. We have too much hate in the muslim world thats the bottom line. And the more we hate anyone the more we hate everyone.
So please stop adding to the ugly problem.
bhai I am against those idiot blowing them self and killing inocent ppl .Lakin jub mohram may itnay problems hotay hai to they should do something .
they should be alloted 1000 acres land somewhere jahan in ko jo kurna hai karay with few entry points .
*smiles* …
@New you really think its that easy? :P
Assalaamualaekum – I hope everyone is well. Since we are all talking about Muharram, I thought I should share some traditions of our beloved prophet Mohammad Sallah-Alehe Wasallam and give some facts about Moharram.
– Mohrram is one of the 4 sacred months (Others are Dhul Al Qada, Dhu Al Hijja, Rajab) [1st, 7th, 11th and 12th]. Allah Subhana Watala says in Quran (At-Taubah 36)
“The number of months in the sight of Allah is twelve (in a year)- so ordained by Him the day He created the heavens and the earth; of them four are sacred: that is the straight usage. So wrong not yourselves therein, and fight the Pagans all together as they fight you all together. But know that Allah is with those who restrain themselves.” – Yousuf Ali Translation
Note:The specific mention of these four months does not mean that any other month has no sanctity, because the month of Ramadan is admittedly the most sanctified month in the year. But these four months were specifically termed as sanctified months for the simple reason that their sanctity was accepted even by the pagans of Makkah.
– Fasting on 9th and 10th of Ashura is the Sunnah of Prophet Mohammad Sallah Alehe Wasallam
Bukhari – Volume 2, Book 26, Number 662:
Narrated ‘Aisha:
The people used to fast on ‘Ashura (the tenth day of the month of Muharram) before the fasting of Ramadan was made obligatory. And on that day the Ka’ba used to be covered with a cover. When Allah made the fasting of the month of Ramadan compulsory, Allah’s Apostle said, “Whoever wishes to fast (on the day of ‘Ashura’) may do so; and whoever wishes to leave it can do so.”
Bukhari – Volume 4, Book 55, Number 609:
Narrated Ibn ‘Abbas:
When the Prophet came to Medina, he found (the Jews) fasting on the day of ‘Ashura’ (i.e. 10th of Muharram). They used to say: “This is a great day on which Allah saved Moses and drowned the folk of Pharaoh. Moses observed the fast on this day, as a sign of gratitude to Allah.” The Prophet said, “I am closer to Moses than they.” So, he observed the fast (on that day) and ordered the Muslims to fast on it.
Muslim- Book 006, Number 2528:
Ibn ‘Abbas reported that when the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) fasted on the day of ‘Ashura and commanded that it should he observed as a fast, they (his Companions) said to him: Messenger of Allah, it is a day which the Jews and Christians hold in high esteem. Thereupon the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) said: When the next year comes, God willing, we would observe fast on the 9th But the Messenger of Allah (may peace be upon him) died before the advent of the next year.
May Allah help us in following our religion the way Prophet Mohammad Sallah Alaehe Wasallam tought and the way Rasool Allah Sallah Alehe Wasalaam’s noble companions followed.
Someone said,
“they could say that same thing for sunni, why do sunnis go for prayers to mosque five times a day why not just pray at home… its simply a stupid comment”
Muslims go to masjid to pray 5 times a day because Rasool Allah Sallalh Alehe Wasallam ordered us to do so.
Bukhari – Volume 1, Book 11, Number 620:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
Allah’s Apostle said, “The reward of the prayer offered by a person in congregation is twenty five times greater than that of the prayer offered in one’s house or in the market (alone). And this is because if he performs ablution and does it perfectly and then proceeds to the mosque with the sole intention of praying, then for every step he takes towards the mosque, he is upgraded one degree in reward and his one sin is taken off (crossed out) from his accounts (of deeds). When he offers his prayer, the angels keep on asking Allah’s Blessings and Allah’s forgiveness for him as long as he is (staying) at his Musalla. They say, ‘O Allah! Bestow Your blessings upon him, be Merciful and kind to him.’ And one is regarded in prayer as long as one is waiting for the prayer.”
Bukhari – Volume 1, Book 11, Number 629:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
The Prophet said, “Allah will give shade, to seven, on the Day when there will be no shade but His. (These seven persons are) a just ruler, a youth who has been brought up in the worship of Allah (i.e. worships Allah sincerely from childhood), a man whose heart is attached to the mosques (i.e. to pray the compulsory prayers in the mosque in congregation), two persons who love each other only for Allah’s sake and they meet and part in Allah’s cause only, a man who refuses the call of a charming woman of noble birth for illicit intercourse with her and says: I am afraid of Allah, a man who gives charitable gifts so secretly that his left hand does not know what his right hand has given (i.e. nobody knows how much he has given in charity), and a person who remembers Allah in seclusion and his eyes are then flooded with tears.”
Bukhari – Volume 1, Book 11, Number 688:
Narrated Abu Huraira:
The Prophet said, “Martyrs are those who die because of drowning, plague, an abdominal disease, or of being buried alive by a falling building.” And then he added, “If the people knew the Reward for the Zuhr prayer in its early time, they would race for it. If they knew the reward for the ‘Isha’ and the Fajr prayers in congregation, they would join them even if they had to crawl. If they knew the reward for the first row, they would draw lots for it.”
Please use some common sense that Allah has provided you before venting your thoughts. This religion of ours is the best thing that has happened to man kind. And Allah knows best.
Ghanta match jeeta hai south africa….sub toh naked ho gaay hain…..when the english win a test series at lords the whole stand is wearing a muffler and a hat….seeing is believing…..
thanks for saving wy….i will always love you…
“watch your words else some shia would kick on your ass :-).”
You are speaking from experience?
Another one in Dera ISmail Khan; http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/01/070129_dikhan_blast_fz.shtml. Mullahs are on overdrive this year.
Only solution is to close all madrassas, arrest half the Mullahs and despatch the rest back to Deoband or Pithankot – they did not want creation of Pakistan in the first place so should not have any objection.
http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=20071\29\story_29-1-2007_pg12_1
Enjoy.
Yet another in Bannu; http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/regional/story/2007/01/070129_bannu_attack_rza.shtml
Yesterday around 7pm i got a call on my cell. The voice said, “Aja kafiron se galay mil le”. It was my best friend ofcourse. Before i knew it i dashed to the gate to be “baghal-geer” with my friend who was part of a Muharram procession. Before i knew it i walked barefoot for 2 miles, matam, the whole thing. In short, I CROSSED OVER! : )
There you have it. Now i’m a “kafir” too :)
@xia my comments were in response to NEW’s earlier comment(telling shias to practice their religion at home), am a practicing muslim but i can’t imagine telling followers of other religion/faith on how they should practice their religion… its totally not my business and our Prophet(may peace be upon him) never said that we should ridicule other’s religious beliefs
if caring for other people and respecting them has now become a “kafir” thing then we need more “kafirs”.
As it happens not doing the above is the really unforgivable “kafir” thing.
You did the “muslim” thing imran and more people should.
Now in Hungu; http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/01/070130_hangu_attack_uk.shtml
Not feeling very fond of Mullahs right now.
its not about mullahs or madrassas its about shia they shouldn’t be allowed to do those majalis or jalos .5 % minority keh liye pora shai sir pay uthana fazol hai ban them simple
@ NEW!
I see no point in addressing an issue over & over again bcz then the point is totally lost; but your last reply (“ban them”) does merit a response.
Dear New, religion is a matter of (personal) belief. And whatever is personal, is an issue of CONSCIENCE (not consensus). In matters of conscience, consensus (majority / minority) does not count. It’s about doing the right thing: if you cannot ACCEPT something that is different from your system of belief, then the LEAST you can do, is TOLERATE it.
@New: You don’t stop doing what you are legally and morally allowed to do because of terrorists. You defeat terrorists, not get defeated.
new bro – by the same token muslims just shouldnt get visa’s to travel internationally and should all be kicked out of the uk or be branded….why should the world take risks to try and protect the innocent people of any community? because its the right thing to do thats why.
[There you have it. Now i’m a “kafir” too :)]
you know what some people think that if they hug one and sleep with another they become the RAQEEB of the town….in reality its not like that at all not even the ….”What just one chickpea want to blowup the whole kiln”…..thing as well…..this hunger is way much bigger than the seven harvest could…..
as i always say you can’t do such a feat only being under pressure…you must have a motivation as well….
WELCOME TO THE CLUB(GANG) imran…
Wasiq, get off those funny pills.
ok if thats wat the irish wonts….but this i tells you it aint no shell its a sheild keeps me cool ol the time….