Nihari Ki Kahani

Will update this post later, filhaal Nihari ki kahani enjoy karein ..

But if I could, I would make Burns Road one of the cleanest and best looking place in Karachi. All traffic banned.

21 Comments so far

1. Original-Faisal (unregistered) on January 30th, 2007 @ 8:19 pm

Sufi sahab,

Its most unfair. It is 6.30 am here in Los Angeles. I just woke up and came to my computer to check emails and KMB like I do every morning. And lo and behold, to be confronted with this titilating video of a gastronomical orgy.

I sat there throughout the entire seven plus minutes, mesmerized, mouth agape and tongue hanging out and salivating. The only consolation I have is that inshallah on Feb.8 next week, I’ll be on a flight to Karachi for a wonderful three month trip back home.

Thank you for posting this video.

2. Poo Poo head (unregistered) on January 30th, 2007 @ 8:26 pm

Sufi , you made this movie ?? Who is the guy with moustache ? Can’t be you :-).

Any how it is 730 am here and I did not have patience like Faisal to watch it whole. I stopped after 90 seconds. Looked like waste of time :-) honestly but I appreciate your enthusiasm for Nihari. People like you have keep this world alive.

3. Sufi (unregistered) on January 30th, 2007 @ 8:38 pm

Original-Faisal, I did felt the same way as you did. Enjoy your trip my man. I will soon be posting my To-Do-List for Karachi over the weekend.

Pph, I did not make this video. Why can’t the guy in moustache be me? :P

4. Original-Faisal (unregistered) on January 30th, 2007 @ 8:42 pm

Waste of time? It’s all relative my friend. Fortunately, I’ve got nothing but time on my hand so I watched the whole thing.

5. original-anon (unregistered) on January 30th, 2007 @ 9:11 pm

I didn’t watch this video or the last one. Anyway, if I did not dislike Nihari already, I would start to do so after seeing all the posts about it in this blog.
    Faisal, my apologies but all that meat and the oil floating on top just truly turns me off.

6. Adnan K (unregistered) on January 30th, 2007 @ 10:15 pm

I have to say that under normal circumstances i would start salivating as well, but fortunately for me i just got back from a quick trip to chicago where i indulged in brain nihari, keema fry, brain masala and halwa puri to my heart’s content. The Sabri Nihari franchise rocks!!! be it in Karachi or Chiago. Go BEARS!!

7. Paranoid (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 12:25 am

Mouth watering stuff
    Javaid ki nihari, bong ki boti, saath mai brain, garam garam naan. What else can a person want.

Adnan ur lucky that u got such good nihari in US.
    We dont get to eat such “Naimat” here in uk.

8. Tamed~. (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 1:34 am

UK is shit when it comes to PAKI food.

Most of the restaurants are owned by Meerpuris (no offence to them), who call there weird dishes as indian food. I was born & brought up In Karachi, spent few years in Lahore but never had tasted such bad cuisine like the one offered in these indian aka Pakistani resturants invariably owned by Meerpuris.

Even the best places like curry mile/wilmslow road in UK are total disaster. You will never find typical Karachi dishes like Haleem, Nihari,
    bombay biryani or Karachi style siri paaiye in these resturants.

I really like Nihari but this video is pretty crap. By the way who eats Nihari in breakfast?

9. Imran (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 1:58 am

” … All traffic banned.”

Wonderful idea. Though, a parking structure would have to be constructed first? :)

10. fazeel (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 3:50 am

awesome post.Now i am hungry for my nihaari:)…but here in US we can’t even found the same taste which we have in Karachi…

11. wasiq (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 4:37 am

hey you! don’t be so freaking nostalgic for god’s sake…all i had for dinner was a small desi shawarma beef sandwich with a can of soda(R) nothing ceremonial…..

12. MB (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 7:24 am

Which place is that ?

13. MB (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 7:38 am

@EVERY ONE

Okay enough everyone….
    Stop using words like “bong ki boti, saath mai brain, garam garam naan ….” and all that

Its early morning in Karachi & damn i have to wait….mmm…let me see….5 hours now for this damn “nihari”…..yeah its damned now……coz i wont be able to work now….

Nihari mmmmm……..

14. Poo Poo head (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 8:41 am

Faisal, I was in LA last month and I had Nihari at Al Watan in Hawthorne. It was the best I have eaten in US but then I do not care much for food. Try it that once if you have not already.

15. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 10:20 am

@MB: it’s famous WAHEED resturant at Burns Rd.

16. Zeeshan (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 11:09 am

Oh man, that’s just not fair…I have to watch this from CANADA!

*grumble*

17. Original-Faisal (unregistered) on January 31st, 2007 @ 11:39 am

poo poo head,

Yes, Al Watan is amazing food….not the best area around but its an authentic “Pakistani” restaurant amongst a sea of Indian restaurants.
    Whenever the mood strikes, I get food to go from there since I live in Palos Verdes which is not too far away but a world apart.

And Original-Anon, I agree with you about the oil and the huge chunks floating in it but it’s not something I indulge in on a regualr basis and being single, I usually don’t eat desi food that often. So, I do relish these sorts of things once in a while. Nothing like haleem, paya, nihari, aloo keema with hot buttery naans.

18. talal (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 4:41 am

nihari..
    mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…………

whoever said about UK not being a good place for paki food is absolutely correct!..

damn.. ill have to wait for eleven more months before i can enjoy that speciality..

sufi: no traffic idea with clean road is wonderful and practical as well but certainly requires alot of effort and time. people in charge of city development hardly bother i guess.. burns road can become a proper food market, where one could stroll and enjoy the time.

19. Asad Raza (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 9:13 pm

Just to clarify: the guy with the moustache is my cousin, Munib (the bearded guy is me).

20. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 1:17 am

asad sahab acha huwa batadia warna hum tu samjha k darhi wala hazrat sufi sahab hain jo apna dost k paisoun par mufta nehari enjoy karraha hain :-)

21. Parishan (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 7:41 am

Yes, but can you beat nihari from a packet of Shan masala?