20 year aged Whiskey anyone?

Well not anyone, only those supposedly with licenses cards can purchase alcohol from specialized stores, unless of course you have a bootlegger on speed dial.

Muree Breweries has recently announced that it has begun producing a 20 year old single malt whiskey, for non-Muslims to enjoy. Amid prohibition since 1977, alcohol has become a taboo commodity in Pakistan. For those small minorities of foreigners, ex-pats and non-Muslims this means a richer whiskey will be available from July, made from a local producer.

I’m not sure about the rest of Pakistan, but getting alcohol is just more of an inconvenience rather than difficult to obtain in Karachi. License card or not.

39 Comments so far

1. Ramla A. (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 1:31 pm

Proliferation since 1977?
    Prohibition since 1977?

Either way, you may be right.

2. Mohammed Riaz (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 2:08 pm

selling of alcohol in an islamic state is forbidden. Yes i am an extremely devoted to islam that doesn,nt mean i,m a terrorist. What i,m sayin is that u could be extremely in love with something it comes under that terms.

3. SK (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 2:31 pm

@MOHAMMAD RIAZ: I could not agree with you more. Islam has prohibited the use as well as trade of alcohol and its related beverages in a Muslim state, because the disadvantages of alcohol are more than the advantages.

4. BoZz (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 2:34 pm

Neoka, as you well put it, obtaining liqour is more of an inconvenience than difficult. And like all else in our society we choose not to know the facts. Liquor is quite commonly used both in the rich and poor segments of our society. Being technically not legal just makes it more expensive for the common man to buy. Drink he does all the same.

And for those that see not – hear not – know not-, liquor is also quite enjoyed by our army men.

So bottoms up.

5. Concerned (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 2:52 pm

I am sorry but i didnt know it was that much an inconvienience to get booze.

I havent tried it in a long time but till a couple of years back all you needed to have was enough cash and you could get anything you wanted from one of the “WINE SHOPS”.

Incase you are looking, there is one near Boat basin, one behind Arizona Grill and one near Cafe Clifton.

6. Cy (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 2:58 pm

I’m decidedly on the fence on this one – hopefully will get an early bottle to sample and find out for myself if it’s the real deal or not.

7. Teeth Maestro (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 4:15 pm

An interesting fact that I would like to share, I have been told that the underground business on alcohol is a very lucrative market to the extent that three major players run the underground alcohol market in Karachi, if i’m not mistaken and they do a turn over of 20,000 bottles of hard liquor A DAY. while New Years and other events it shoots up drastically.

The source also quoted that the Pakistanis only like to drink hard liquor as the cheap less toxic ones like beers are considered riff-raffs. (below their standards)

8. JayJay (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 4:46 pm

@Mohammed Riaz and SK: Even in Hijaz (Saudi Arabia) the amrit aka alcohol was banned only in 1954 (source F.E. Peters, The Tale of Two Cities: Mecca and Median)that too under the pressure of Wahabbies. The trigger was a shahzada who went on a shooting spree in a souk in the liberal (comparatively) city of Jeddah after having a few drinks — he killed one and injured four others. King Faisal’s predecessor was renowned for finishing a new bottle of whisky before going to the bed, when the country was not so rich. In short, get a grip. Reality can’t be changed by mere wishes.

The ill-thought prohibition means the government is losing billions of rupees every year in revenues which it would have collected otherwise. It is not a government’s role to impose morality in individuals. Private morality is, well, private. A government’s primary responsibility is to control crime and provide safet to it citizens but the misplaced zeal on “sins” has turned the whole society into hypocrites.

M.P.Bhandara ki jay:)May his business thrive

9. MB (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 6:32 pm

@BOZZ
    I agree with you completely that “Liquor is quite commonly used both in the rich and poor segments of our society. Being technically not legal just makes it more expensive for the common man to buy.”

And its “hidden/secret” that our army men specially at the top love it. Someone told me Mushy loves it too. Anyone , any idea on it ?

10. KhiTorPit (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 10:52 pm

Oh my God, liqour is available in Islamic Rebulic of Pak … unbeleiveable, and its legal too ?? thats bull shit … shame on us.

11. WHACKED (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 10:54 pm

Muslims are not allowed to marry more than one women in non muslim countries.

12. Noori (unregistered) on February 1st, 2007 @ 11:51 pm

Somalian Muslim taxi drivers at Minneapolis airport are continuing to refuse to carry passengers with alcoholic beverages in their baggage on the ground that “this is America and we have freedom of religion.”

13. Noori (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 12:00 am

Alcohol is not sold in supermarkets in the UAE. Even products containing any kind of alcohol (i.e. chocolates) are sold in designated liquor stores (MMI or A&E are the 2 licensed suppliers of alcohol). They are often adjacent to a supermarket, but with a separate entrance and no windows. To purchase alcohol you must hold a liquor license. Any non-Muslim UAE resident who wishes to drink alcoholic beverages, buy alcohol from an officially approved retailer, transport the legally purchased alcoholic beverages or store them at their residence for their family and guests can apply for a license. Based on your income, the Dubai Police-CID decides the appropriate monthly budget you are allowed to spend on your license. Tourists can only buy alcohol in the airport’s Duty Free upon arrival. Pork is sold in the more “Western-oriented” supermarket chains, such as Spinney’s, Choithram’s, Carrefour Hypermarket, Park ‘n’ Shop. There is a separate section in the butchery reserved for pork and any food items containing pork (i.e. bacon flavored potato chips, canned soup, pork gelatin, etc.)

14. Original-Faisal (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 1:29 am

I knew this post was going to stir up a hornets nest.

15. d0ct0r (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 1:30 am

wat do these guys want? they must be wishing that every corner milk shop should sell liquor for them…. well their wish would have definitely been granted by the our over enlightened and moderate general…. but honestly there isn’t that much demand for it… anyways if you’re a determined drinker then
    inconvenience won’t matter much… drinkers should be treated like narcotics addicts… just imagine how much those addicts struggle to get heroin , why should it be any different for drinkers?…

16. yo yo (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 1:38 am

DOCTOR SAAB TUSSI CHA GAYEE HO

17. Jeff (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 2:48 am

Haaaaiii Zalim tu nay pee hee nahiiiiiiiiiiiiii ………….

18. wasiq (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 3:32 am

Maikadey bandh karein lakh zamaney waley
    shehr main kam nahein ankhoun sey pilaney waley

translation for gora sab only…

http://www.bollywoodlyrics.com/Forum/topic.asp?TOPIC_ID=7083

GOD BLESS AMERICA.

19. nocturnal (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 10:56 am

@ Neoka – Could you let us know where could we get 20YEARS old chicks in town as well ;)

As with SHARAB, KABAB(Flesh)is essential.

I love new cars NEOKA! do u know what i mean?

Hope like Alcohol, selling flesh for money is not an awkward act for ENLIGHTENED person like you. Its just an occupation , isnt??

any clue in your next post??

20. saima Nasir (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 11:15 am

As with SHARAB, KABAB(Flesh)is essential

@nocturnal
    Sorry to dissapoint you but the word KEBAB literally means KEBAB and not “flesh” as you suggest in your post….for a simple reason people don’t eat aloo gosht ka saalan or biryani with sharab…..as for the flesh part…in urdu the word is SHABAB….so it goes SHARAB,KEBAB AND SHABAB……says a lot about our culture….we really respect women!

21. nocturnal (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2007 @ 8:40 pm

shabab means beauty not woman SAIMA!

correct english clich’e is,

WINE, WOMAN AND SONG.

not sharab,kabab and shabab.

In urdu this cliche’is used to define alcohol, kabab (loof of bread or simply meal)and beauty/nature.

now this english clich’e has changed a bit,

DRUG, SEX AND ROCK AND ROLL.

MIND YOU IT HAS NOTHING TO DO WITH OUR CULTURE.

22. Faraz (unregistered) on February 3rd, 2007 @ 7:54 am

I know this is off topic but I have a favor to ask: I will be coming to Pakistan for the summer and was looking for NGOs (preferably Canadian) that are working in Karachi.

I didn’t know where else to turn so any help would be greatly appreciated.

23. Pak_Stallion (unregistered) on February 3rd, 2007 @ 9:50 am

Pakistan should go back to its original pre-1977 way. In 1977 a lot of stupid things were imposed in order to Mullafy Pakistan backed by CIA & ISI to fight Russians in Afghanistan. So it was banned for political reasons only. Mr. Bhutto himself has been known to have few shots here n there not a big deal.

Turkey is famous for its traditional Ruke drink, I had it just few days back, amazing. It looks like water and you need to add real water into it (otherwise its too strong) and as soon as you add little water it changes color to a milky white, aahh amazing… and a little sheesha/hooka and some dry fruits with some nice smooth music….. mmm perfect (all this is our culture if we wont use it and enjoy it then who will). Our Murree needs to come out with something like that… we should all drink it and promote it in media…

24. nocturnal (unregistered) on February 3rd, 2007 @ 10:21 am

@ NA-PAK stallion

Ya nag stallion! cow boys gonna castrate you.

25. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on February 3rd, 2007 @ 11:22 am

Nasha Sharab me hota tu nachti botal

drinkers should be treated like narcotics addicts… just imagine how much those addicts struggle to get heroin , why should it be any different for drinkers?

Boht tight doctor saab and very true. No difference between heroinchis and sharabis and they should be treated equally.

26. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on February 3rd, 2007 @ 11:28 am

sequel of last post:

by treated equally means both should be sympathisized rather cursed because both kind of people are ill rather a normal human being.

27. Kamran (unregistered) on February 3rd, 2007 @ 6:12 pm

More enlightenment
    IIU pro-homosexuality female professor sparks protests
    http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=41144

28. BoZz (unregistered) on February 3rd, 2007 @ 8:57 pm

Between “botal ka nasha” and “din ka nasha” I rather side with botal. At least with the former no destruction is caused while we have ample examples of death and destruction with the later.

Open mindness and tolerance bloggers!

29. wasiq (unregistered) on February 4th, 2007 @ 3:36 am

for your kind info customs,cia and isi are all separate institutions working under entirely different ministries…..lol

Sneha Ullal(Aryan) is a 20 years old …..

30. JayJay (unregistered) on February 4th, 2007 @ 7:19 am

Instant of imposing vigilante-ism on the society in the guise of religion, we should trust individuals to make decisions about themselves; about their belief, their decision to drink alcohol, etc. Nosey Islamists should mind their own business — No body makes an issue if somebody prays 50 times as day and fasts 365 days. It is an individual act, just like someone drinking.

@Pak_Stallion: Yes, the Turkish Raki (soonf- aniseed-flavoured) is out of this world.

31. Saad Durrani (unregistered) on February 4th, 2007 @ 11:38 pm

First, drinking is a personal choice. Smoking is hazardous as well as Ecstasy but is it prohibited? No. For some, maybe.

Drinking has been a social thing. Hafeez Jalendari, the creator of our national anthem writes these words in legendary “Abhi tu mein Jawan Hoon”:

kahaaN chalaa hai saaqiyaa, idhar to lauT idhar to aa
    arey, yeh dekhtaa hai kyaa? uThaa subuu, subuu uThaa
    subuu uThaa, piyaalaa bhar, piyaalaa bhar ke de idhar
    chaman ki simt kar nazar, samaaN to dekh bekHabar

Translantion:
    Where is that Bartender? Return back, come here
    What are you pondering upon? Pick that wine-pitcher
    Pick the wine-pitcher, fill the cup, let the cup be sent here
    Have a look, the scene can’t be better.

Moreover, he says:
    na may me.n kuchh kamii rahe, kadaa se hamadamii rahe
    nishast ye jamii rahe, yahii hamaa.n hamii.n rahe

The wine shouldn’t be incomplete, let me be friends with winery,
    Let the party continue, let there be (this kind of) festivity

har ik lab pe ho sadaa, na haath rok saaqiyaa
    pilaae jaa pilaae jaa, pilaae jaa pilaae jaa
    abhii to mai.n javaan huu.N
    Let there be one message, don’t stop my Bartender,
    Pour on, Pour on, Pour on,
    For still I am young

Ghalib use to drink, Iqbal use to drink, they all use to drink mostly. If our ancestors drank, their children will also drink. Initially, it is responsibility of the seller to see the license and sell. If we all know our responsibility, life can be easier. I know I was random but I hope I made a point.

BTW, there is one shop at Bottle Gali, we all forgot the Bottle Gali.

32. Ahmad (unregistered) on February 5th, 2007 @ 3:53 am

if you are muslim isn’t it enough for you to know it is clearly mentioned haram by Quran and Prophet (SAW)?

“Al-Tirmidhi Hadith 2776 Narrated by Anas ibn Malik

Allah’s Messenger (saws) invoked the curse of Allah on ten people in connection with wine: the wine-presser, the one who has it pressed, the one who drinks it, the one who conveys it, the one to whom it is conveyed, the one who serves it, the one who sells it, the one who benefits from the price paid for it, the one who buys it, and the one for whom it is bought.”

33. JayJay (unregistered) on February 5th, 2007 @ 1:33 pm

@Ahmad: Religion as the Last Refuge of the Scoundrel. Let us leave the religion out of this debate. We are not examining the merits of religious injunctions here. Do present if you have any rational point.

34. Kamran (unregistered) on February 5th, 2007 @ 7:15 pm

JAYJAY What hypocrisy! You want to say whatevers on your mind but you don’t want others to speak their mind-be it religion or else.

35. Ahmad (unregistered) on February 6th, 2007 @ 12:05 am

For a muslim nothing can be more rational than a solid reference from Koran or Hadith. Religion is the only reason it is not allowed to be sold in Pakistan. If you want to leave religion aside, what is the point of discussion? Non muslims are already allowed to buy alcohol.
    Recently France even banned public smoking. In Germany at most public places its already banned. Alcohol isnt sold to person aged below 18. Every country has its laws to ban whatever it consider harmful so whats a problem with laws in Pakistan.

36. wasiq (unregistered) on February 6th, 2007 @ 4:44 am

yaar yeah pani(water) wali gup toh pucki hai naa…you never know when they hire me believing that i don’t…lol

PS: yeah toh bahut kam hai hasb-ay muratib mein toh bahut mushkil ho jai gi…aisa karlo barroun ko aik aik chotoun ko doh doh…how is that..?

37. ash (unregistered) on February 6th, 2007 @ 6:53 am

i agree that everyone should say what they believe in.
    Its worth noting that noone ever banned smoking when smoking was thought to only hurt the smoker. All those smoking bans came into effect exclusively to protect people in the service industry from second hand smoke.

38. BoZz (unregistered) on February 10th, 2007 @ 9:32 pm

Where in the Koran is Haram used for Wine? Pray tell me Ahmad?

39. kq (unregistered) on February 11th, 2007 @ 12:40 pm

u guys are judgemental kids with no exposure to comment on how there shouldnt be any alcohol here.