Stop raping reality Mr. President

( Related : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/03/march/mb/IC2-thumb.jpg Karachi can’t ignore events on its TV screen for 4 days now. If Musharraf thinks he can fool others with fashion shows, i pity on his ostrich attitude. This is the reality 12 million Karachiites witnessed (& these videos) or discussions on their screens (yesterday) & papers (today). Its not just about a CJ removal. Its more than that. Its war between freedom & a tyranny, finally showing its colors. Its absolute madness & journey on road that leads to people like Hitler & Saddam. Karachiites may ask where is the enlightenment now, that was being preached to the whole world?.Do the men in uniform need enlightenment as badly as those with a beard. ?

(Listen VOA - Wasi Zafar using foul language against Ansar Abbasi,
Credits : Darwaish, ATP)

Click to play :

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/03/march/mb/IC4-thumb.jpg

The CJ has now officially given, in written what everyone was saying for 3 days, that he was held incommunicado, not allowing basics even. A man who upheld the human rights of thousands, himself being a victim of state terrorism. And yet Wasi Zafar & Durrani (rightly called as “muskharey” by Ansar Abbasi on GEO) say : sab theek or normal hai, constantly refusing the reality. Who are they fooling, which world they live in ?.
( Related All Things Pakistan link )
(Related reader comments on March 14,2007 in Sufi’s post)
(Image credit : BBC URDU)

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/03/march/mb/IC3-thumb.jpgI have been following GEO, ARY & AAJ TV & must confess i haven’t seen such dheet ministers, who lie to the extent of mockery. Another verbal fight between Aitzaz Ahsan & Durrani has shown to the world what competent people we have at top. While Aitizaz Ahsan fought LIVE on not being allowed to meet the CJ although he is officially his lawyer, Mr Durrani had swore not to admit. And for Wasi Zafar, Jamal Shamsi’s analysis is enough.

118 Comments so far

1. Saad (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 9:58 am

Complete coverage of yesterday’s events by Geo:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pc2FZdsjgr0

Dang, I can’t edit my post.

Anyways the correct link is here.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=K15CW2l07CA

2. TURAB (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 10:23 am

in MUSHI I TRUST!!

LONG LIVE MUSHI!

3. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 10:46 am

Turab ! Allah be praised, Please have some heart and wisdom !

4. SELF (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 10:48 am

Is Durr Fitte from MQM?

5. Sajid (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 10:52 am

When writing post don’t use “WE” because you are only expressing your opinion, not others.

Look at those lawyers, look at this mob, look at the chief justice ( feel sorry for him )? If those literate enough act like this then what you expect with the rest of the population?

The so called democratic and civilized society from top to bottom!

6. Aristocrat (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 11:24 am

Well i would say, look at that general president, he has now clamped his only last enemy the honest and honerable Chief Justice, what those lawyers are doing what a helpless person does in the face of tyranny, atleast these lawyers have what it takes to fight for something right… there is nothing more to say.. Pakistan is just like any other dictatorship… it makes me really sad that i am unable to do anything rather then expressing my opinion… very sad

7. lost_in_the_maze (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 11:59 am

Honest and honerable Chief Justice????? You have got to be kidding me. If you were to look up corrupt, arrogant and as**ole in the dictionary, you will see his pic.

Good riddance to bad rubbish.

8. Teeth Maestro (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 12:34 pm

I think all what is going on is just showing signs of a crumbling leadership. His (mushy) hired cronies are trying to defend an issue which everyone knows is wrong.

Its sad but the leader has gone over the top, this is definitely a dagger across his heart which I am sure he must be really angry with, as his good-spirited enlightened moderation has suddenly turned sour. No amount of rebuilding will enforce a successful election – so elections are definitely out the door. He might make a distraction to divert the people’s attention and must be praying ever do hardly that US attacks Iran.

Rest he has just shoved a mile long nail up his arse

9. SAM (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 12:35 pm

Thief of Army Staff = President Musharraf

“motives for the sacking emerged when it was disclosed that last month Justice Iftikhar said in a speech that General Musharraf could not continue as army chief beyond the expiry of his term as President later this year.”

10. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 12:36 pm

a tyrant trying to consolidate his grip…

jub zulm hud say bar jata hai tu mit jata hai

11. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 12:46 pm

elections definitely going to be delayed/postponed ,i can expect a full fledge Marshall law ,

Mush might attempt to increase taliban activity in
    Afghanistan and then taking actions against them and
    will try to show the US that it still needs him…

or a counter coup against Mush by any Crop Commander..(VCOAS is just a ceremonial powerless post i dun expect him to do much) …

12. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 12:50 pm

@Turab i feel sad for you and your MQM

13. Fauzan Sohail (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 12:57 pm

SC just issued Suo Moto notice of police misconduct with Justice Iftikhar.

http://wecite.wordpress.com/2007/03/14/suo-moto-notice-of-police-misconduct-with-justice-iftikhar/

14. BoZz (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 1:02 pm

Two pieces of news that I came across and thought, well maybe somebody would also like to read it. So I reproduce them here separately.

15. BoZz (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 1:06 pm

THE US has indicated for the first time that it might be willing to back plans by elite echelons of the military in Islamabad to oust Pervez Musharraf from power, as the Pakistani President was beset by major new difficulties over his attempts to sack the country’s chief justice.

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,21378237-2703,00.html

source Australian World

16. MB (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 1:10 pm

I ain’t for Mush to go. But i want him to act like HUMAN and considers others the same.

And get his good a** sit on where he it should. In his nasha of POWER he is acting like a GOD on earth.

Just read what people are saying….everywhere the opinion is bad….just read & you will get a summary of what people are thinking.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/03/14/letted.htm#1

” It is hilarious that the law minister, whose own family has more than once been publicly accused of gross misconduct, should be defending the government’s conduct of the legal crisis at hand. Even more hilarious is the PM’s statement that ‘every violator of the law of the land in any other field will face the same treatment’ (Dawn, March 11). ”

DR MERVYN HOSEIN

Karachi

17. BoZz (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 1:10 pm

I will try and save bandwidth and post the link here. This is from Gulf News.
    http://www.gulfnews.com/opinion/columns/world/10110883.html
    By Husain Haqqani

18. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 2:21 pm

i just can’t believe what CM Sind is saying now a days.

he is; “khawjay ka guwah dadooo”

he is accusing the CJ of misusing his power….etc who the hell he thinks he is. he has zero standing, credibility….zero everything infront of the CJ!

Some one should tell him to stop making a fool of himself!

the most idiotic charge against the CJ is he used official plane/helicopter, demanded protocol…

well, he is head of the 3rd pillar of the state and i guess the most important pillar so why can’t he use the official plane/helicopter when the good for nothing President/PM/CM’s do??

when the president goes on 3 week world tour with around a hundred of his goons shamelessly promoting his 3rd rate book on govt time and expence…..

remember the president only offered to give the hundred of thousands of US$ to charity, or something like that, when the whole world was in uproar.

when even the junior most ministers…receive protocol why can’t the CJ?

I JUST HAD HAVE ENOUGH OF THIS SETUP! IT HAS TO GO NOW!COME WHATEVER MAY. IT CANT BE WORSE THEN IT IS!

as for the CM sind, i think he is just upset that the CJ disallowed the sale of the steel mills in which , iam sure, he was getting a big kickback.

remember the steel mills was SOLD for arouund 21 Billion PKR when it’s cash in bank was more then 7 billion or so. and when the value of the land it held was morethen 200 billion rupees. just imagine what the kickbak amounts would have been at least a couple of billion for eac the president/pm/cm…etc.

as for the minister of infomtion: the way he shamelessly defends the undefendable!

i am afraid he may add mush’s name in his kalima as well.

i don’t think any one can be proven wrong, point blank, on so many TV channels and still have no shame and repeat like a parrot the same thing.

yesterday When the info minister was saying on GEO that the tele connection to CJ house is working aitizaz ahsan was told him to make a call right there and prove that it is working…

Durrani just kept smiling shamelessly and kept on saying that he will just make a call but did not do it.

19. BoZz (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 2:21 pm

I see that the first link was posted by SELF I think in another blog. Sorry about that.

20. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 2:23 pm

@BOZZ: How r u doing? looong time no c?

21. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 2:37 pm

Bozz; like always u do not comment on what is written but always find faults with trivial things…..forget the semantics! comment on the point! for once pls, as it is a serious issue:))

22. SELF (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 2:46 pm

Bozz, I wanted to mention but then graciousness took hold of me. :P

23. MB (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 2:54 pm

“when even the junior most ministers…receive protocol why can’t the CJ? “

A friend counted the core Commander’s qaafla as having 51 vehicles, in total.

24. Adnan (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 4:42 pm

Mush must be regretting and cursing his ministers who are being pain in neck rather helping hands.

25. SELF (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 4:48 pm

I agree. They are not the best ministers money can buy.

26. mushi-fan (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 6:06 pm

Long live Mush…..and to hell with the CJ.

By the way, why is this site going to politics. The writers need to be less biased in thier opinions and lead discussions like educated mods rather then force their opionion. shame!!! Shame!!!

27. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 6:23 pm

as i said a few days back, the person who gave mushi the advice to commit this horrible act must be the same ass u gave them the advice to hold the referendum! iam 100% sure

28. Saad (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 6:49 pm

Yep, all of you who are trying to favor the CJ are playing politics. Don’t you know that our constitution just like our lives is supposed to be fair game for the Almighty Master of us all, the General? How dare did you mortals write against a saint like him?

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’ve to go build a temple for my God!

29. BitterTruth (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 7:11 pm

@Mushi-Fan
    The protest is not for any political party leader. I wonder such ignorants like you are still defending Mushy; fortunately we dont have many like you. Infact, the protest for this shameful act is unanimous. Its such a shameful action that even pro mushy people are criticizing. Open your eyes and see embrace the truth

30. Adnan (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 7:13 pm

Mushi fan is none other than Turab!

31. Turab (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 7:58 pm

The freedom of speech allows me to express my confidence in the Musharraf and it just so happens to be that my ideas, if represented by any jamaat is MQM… what a coincidence….

It seems to me that Mustafa kamal and Mushi have done nothing but worked for the greatness of my beloved Karachi and yet we tend to forget all of the good under trying times…. Charges levelled by naeem bukhari against ex CJ are true that the guy used to make decissions on his own… prime example being the steel mills case…

STEEL MILLS is a scrap project with the attraction of real estate it comes with. only one or two furnaces are fully functional out 6 or so… and when the privatization was the best and only solution … the CJ intervened … did not hire a consultant and made his own judgement…

and thus now other departments such as PIA and etc which are burning our nation’s money… cannot be privatised or atleast slowed down the growth…. moreover…. i really hate hate to say this but the CJ is from the land of five rivers and mushi from karachi…. very very obvious choice of support… based on my experiences….

32. TheNews (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

I totally support what Musharraf is doing. Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhri is making fun of himself. First I also thought that Chief Justice Iftikhar Chaudhri is innocent and also the charges against him are false.

But now I am sure he is not. The way he acted on 13th by trying to MARCH his way to the court showed what the sort of the character this person is.

Now about Mr.Ansar Abbas, he is a totally mad and never cared about Pakistan. He only cares about himself. He has very good relation with the owner of Jang Group that is the reason he is surviving with this group. I agree with Wasi Zafar that he Black Mails. This is very famous allegation put forward about him since long time.

Wasi Zafar did good thing by taking offense on him.. but he should get too far.. now he is in trouble… but to be aggressive with Ansar Abbas is great thing to do.

ANSAR ABBAS IS NOT A GOOD PERSON

33. Turab (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 8:00 pm

@adnan….

lissen up bro.. i m strong enough to defend myself.. no need to hide… don’t be jealous if mushi has fans and support… LONG LIVE MUSHI KARACHI n PAKISTAN!

34. Concerned (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 8:24 pm

@ Turab

DOnt worry ur not alone. Long live Mushi / Karachi / Pakistan.

And guys you would be surprised how many ppl still support musharraf, the reason I am not saying anything is because there is no point arguing. the way he did wht he did was wrong, but I am sure it was for the good of pakistan in the long run.

35. Concerned (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 8:28 pm

I am willing to bet anything that aleast 80% of the lawyers protesting are politically motivated (backed by or supporting either BB or NS). There are prob some who think wht they are doing is for justice and all tht crap, but tht percentage couldnt be more then 20%.

36. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 9:55 pm

MQM is the only party in pakistan which has been in power with BB as well as Nawaz Sharif and now with Mush.. and after being involved in all kind of corruption and heinous crimes and terrorist activities, at the end of the day it starts acting all innocent like no one on earth is more pure then MQM…

37. Zainub (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 9:59 pm

I thought Sheikh Rasheed was a pretty big donkey from amongst Mushie’s sympathetic side-kicks and tail-wagers, but this Law Minister guy and Durrani – my word, they’re even bigger buffoons then Rasheed!

How in all the world did we elect these guys?!

38. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 10:00 pm

@TheNews u r one sick person dude! u need some professional help.. I’ll recommend a good psychiatrist to help you if you want…

39. ME (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 10:12 pm

Doctor you don’t mean Wasi’s big arm treatment by any chance? :P

TheNews ansd Wasi probably deserve each other.

40. UZi (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 10:23 pm

Hum parwarash-e-loh-o-qalam karte rahenge
    Jo dil pe guzarti hai raqam karte rahenge

Asbaab-e-gham-e-ishq baham karte rahenge
    Viraani-e-dauraan pe karam karte rahenge

Haan talkhi-e-ayyaam abhi aur barhe gi
    Haan ahl-e-sitam mashq-e-sitam karte rahenge

Manzur yeh talkhi yeh sitam hum ko gawaara
    Dam hai to madaawa-e-alam karte rahenge

Maikhana salaamat hai to hum surkhi-e-mai se
    Tazzain-e-dar-o-baam-e-haram karte rahenge

Baqi hai lahu dil mein to har ashk se paida
    Rang-e-lab-o-rukhsar-e-sanam karte rahenge

Ek tarz-e-taghaaful hai so woh unko mubaarak
    Ek arz-e-tamanna hai so hum karte rahenge

*Viva la Revolucion*

41. PatExpat (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 11:13 pm

MQM is also the only party to have convicted murderers as Governor of province and also the only party to turn against its own members remember Azeem AhmedTariq, Khalid Bin Waleed. They got to Hakeem Saeed but Edhi saved himself by flying out.

Have been with in government with Benazir, NawazSharif and Musharraf. As the tide turned, they have been against Benazir and NS. Lets see how long the all wise altaf bhai decide to change his bedfellow this time.

42. darthvader (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 11:27 pm

Many mile away
    there is a shadow on the door
    of a cottage on the shore
    of a dark
    scottish lakeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee
    many miles awayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

gotdamn stewart copeland is a good drummer ..right up there with Dave Lombardo …may be..i don’t know .

so it seems like all the belly aching about the whole CJ affair is dying down a little bit…good.
    they are all the same ..all of ‘em. to think that some , no matter which side , are better than the others is probably the biggest blunder that we make ..and we make it all the time . I fault YOU ..my friends .

much love all
    Vader, the Dark Sith

43. Concerned (unregistered) on March 14th, 2007 @ 11:44 pm

Why are we anti MQM all of sudden. or havent I been reading the whole thing properly. None of political parties are saints. All of them have done similar things. And by the way the courts acquitted the governor (even if wrongly, but they still did) so he cannot be called convicted.

As long as MQM is working for my city I will vote for them. The fact of the matter is tht no govenrment can function in Khi if it doesnt have the support of MQM, reason being the population of Khi is primarily Mohajirs.

so why oh why are people throwing mud at MQM (not tht it wasnt already dirty). THEY ARE THE ONLY ONES WHO HAVE EVER DONE ANYTHING FOR KARACHI. ARE YOU GUYS BLIND.

And for the record they never really had good terms with BB, maybe for awhile but not long. PPP and MQM cannot coexist. Have people forgotten the early 90s, and the all famous operation.

NS and MQM coexisted bec NS cannot form a govt in sindh without them. he doesnt have enough support. Even then they had frequent disagreements.

44. ash (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 12:56 am

yes actually people are blind. Because they are angry and irrational. In case you guys dont remember our elected democrats have not only sacked CJ’s they have brutalised the press and any signs of freedom …compared to them mush is a tree hugger…yes he has done bad things but show me the angel who could do better with the sad political mess we have been in ever since the partition.

45. ash (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 12:57 am

And those of you cursing not indivdual members of the MQM but the whole MQM itself, you are out of reality MQM has had its dark side but they dont get elected by accident …its no coincidence that they have withstood all the terrorism directed at them for daring to bring socialism to feudal dominated ‘sind” …they are the best thing that happened to karachi…unless you are a feudal or a MMA supporter and if you are then pay attention – karachi doesnt buy your noise, sell it elsewhere

46. naveed (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 2:00 am

Gentleman, ladies!
    Before trying to save Pakistan (which is in no danger anyway) lets try to save this metro blog. This is not a site meant to discuss politics (as I have objected in the past). Its to discuss the social milieu of karachi. Just look at other metroblogs, none of them ever discusses their politics. Though we are the most active metro blog none of our posts have been in the best posts category of metroblogging.com. The reason is simple. Whether its development work, rain havoc, fire accidents, street crime or cultural festivals we inadvertently start political bashing like school children.
    If anyone (MB, Teeth Maestro, Doctor etc) wants to discuss these things they must form a separate forum. I respect everyones freedom of expression but discussing nanotechnology on a forum thats meant to discuss cooking recipes is not “freedom of expression” but is called spamming. We are in fact telling the world that we do not know the etiquettes to discuss any matter in a educated manner.
    Please please please stop spamming this site.

47. ash (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 8:10 am

save the blog save the blog save the blog save the blog save the blog …please listen to the people we need some good healthy diversity here does anyone have anything else to say or must we keep saying mqm is crap mush is crap army is crap …i am all for politics but not just politics …save the blog …listen to naveed and the twenty other such commenters

48. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:10 am

For pro mush peop;e, I can just quote the word coined by Aitazaz Ahsan which he used for Durrani- Ignocent. A person who is both ignorant and innocent. Even after seeing images in which lawyers were beaten by police, they are still favoring Musharraf. Ignorance is really at peak. In presence of such people, I don’t think it sounds good to curse our “illetrate villagers” who follow their MAKHDOOM or PEER blindly and ignorantly due to their Jahalat.

May God keep Pakistan safe from such “Parhay Likhay Jaahil”

Regarding Blog, I see People now talking about “Save the blog”-Where you morons hide your faces when same blog use by a lunatic author[Mansoor] to vomit out his anti-Mullah frustration? at that time people like Turab,Ash don’t whine about save the blog? Hypocrites.

I have also supported to discussing KARACHI related thing on this blog but I just wonder where is it written on Metroblog policy that You can’t discuss politics here ? Politics have been discussed here by Pro-Musharraf people as well. Mansoor’s posts aare witnessed to bring politics on this blog.

CJ case is exceptional and concerning THREADS are just reflecting how much karachiites are sensitive and CONCERNED for the issue. The reason people now whining about politicis issue coz they are furstrated after experincing the brutal display of dictatorship by Musharraf . The all posts regarding CJ are relevent to KMB since they are reflecting concerns of Karachiites about the issue.

49. Adnan (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:12 am

I just wonder you guys have not even a little courage to CONDEMN the brutal act of Musharraf,forget the CJ removal,you guys even SUPPORTED Musharaf’s action to beating up lawyers. what a prison mentality! can’t even call spade a spade.

50. Saad (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:20 am

A very small image of the CJP being shoved in to the black car by an Elite police officer who is holding him by his hair.

http://tinyurl.com/yqf8pd

51. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 12:11 pm

MQM loots/harms people more then any Jageerdar Industrialist or wadera and when ever they’re not in power they simply start crying and repeating the same mantra

52. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 1:17 pm

in the pic attached above..one policeman has the CJ’s by his hairs and pushing him in the car…really pathetic>>: made my blood boil!!

on the other hand y did’t he just get into the car…he knew the pak police are the worst! and would anything to make their masters happy and would try to one up each other in humuliating him!

he should have just baorded the car and saved himself the humiliation…i guess he would not have even dreamt about being treated by the police:))

53. PoorPublic (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 1:50 pm

AA
    Ash and naveed if you loose ur judiciary then u loose everything bec in any country the main thing is judiciary system as well as in our religion and if you loose (in ur opinion) this blog you can build thousnads of such blogs. So don’t behave like our govt whose banning the media and everything.

Please check this article also which i think showing the attitude of US Govt

http://www.theaustralian.news.com.au/story/0,20867,21378237-2703,00.html

please think first for country not for ur home(blog)

54. Saad (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 3:31 pm

LOL – Musharraf has accidentally given a clue as to what the SJC will be deciding in the case of CJ Pakistan.

He’s currently in a ‘Jalsa’ claiming that he’ll be show the reality of the politicians after the SJC has given it’s verdict in the case of the Chief Justice Pakistan. And that he’ll himself come on the television and declare the verdict once it has been delivered by the Supreme Judicial Council. Now will someone kindly tell me as to what will he be saying on National tv INCASE the SJC issues a verdict in favor of the CJ?? Yep according to the logic and timing of this statement by the President, the decision has already been made and the SJC will simply be used as a rubber stamp.

May Allah Almighty damn him, Amen!

55. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 3:44 pm

Yeah Mushy – Bara hee ____d hai.

Seems like he was on spree of filtering the bad eggs from the basket., and he assessed what and when can masses be mobilised.

If at all CJ comes out clean even then HIS days are counted. – US already showed looking for ‘BETTER’ options.

56. bt (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 3:50 pm

I just pray that some suicide bomber gets mushi and his goons…..all in one go. AMEEEEEEEN!

57. gET mUSH oUT (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 3:53 pm

Who can disagree with BT.

lets all pray for it!!

58. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 3:59 pm

i won’t go that far:))

59. Adnan (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 4:05 pm

There was a time when Leftists were ghairatmand and brave in Pakistan.

tinyurl.com/25l4f9

60. Adnan (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 4:10 pm

Is there any chance CJ join politics after this case?

After all he’s seeing his popularity among Pakistanis? Muhammad Younus of BD is getting ready for presidential campaign.

61. Adnan (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 4:16 pm

Saad, you are forgetting that SJC can just submit the case. It would be the president who will give the final verdict.

62. Saad (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 4:41 pm

Adnan, I thought he can only decide whether or not the CJ should stay IF the SJC delivers a guilty verdict for the CJ.

Take a look here:

Article 209:

6) If, after inquiring into the matter, the Council reports to the President that it is of the opinion,

(a) that the Judge is incapable of performing the duties of his office or has been guilty of misconduct, and

(b) that he should be removed from office, the President may remove the Judge from office.

(7) A Judge of the Supreme Court or of a High Court shall not be removed from office except as provided by this Article.

As I said before it’s an inadvertent mistake on part of the President but he’s just given away a BIG amount of information. Now the onus is on our media to exploit it and go for the kill.

63. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 7:10 pm

the council will give their decision to the President and then the president can either endorse it or reject it. he also has the right to pardon the CJ if found accused…..

at least thats what i understood after watching/reading abot the issue.

64. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 7:14 pm

i thing they have already decided to find him guilty….otherwise they would not have gone through all this trouble!

i think after convicting the CJ the president would come on national TV and tell the nation that he will pardon the convicted EX- CJ as he(Mush) is a kind hearted man!)

i think events will prove me right!!!!! remember my prophecy!!!!!!!!!!!

65. Saad (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 7:25 pm

You’ve no idea how much pressure the CJ is under as of now to resign on his own. Musharraf for sure would not have gone this far if he was unwilling to go all the way to get him removed from office.

And no, President can only pardon or incriminate the CJ, if the CJS has found him guilty. Otherwise the CJ gets restored on his seat, there and then. The reason I’m harping the importance of Musharraf’s latest outburst in Gujranwala.

66. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 7:44 pm

juat on lighter note…..

can anyone tell me what that lady is doing on the iron gate in the picture attached above!:))??

67. ME (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 8:28 pm

The lady is a reporter as I understand and was looking for a story like all reporters do.

68. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:15 pm

@saad: yes thanks for clarification. I learnt this today when one of the ex chief justice clarified the point that President would be helpless if SJC doesn’t find any thing wrong. Its quite obvious Musharraf will not like to see him again.

the most funny situation I watched tonight on GEO when Wasi Zafar claimed that Adv of Sind has been fired and on same program Durrani was called who said Adv is still in Office. Geo asusual played “Aapa Buwa” role and ran slide with text of statments of both ministers. Intresting, very intresting.

69. Concerned (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:16 pm

Seriously guys itni na shukri bhi achi nahi hoti, ur praying a suicide bomber gets the same guy who saved ur ass in 1999.

You guys are getting a bit worked up here, calm down.

70. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:25 pm

concerned he saved our asses so that he can screw them with his Buddy back in White house.

71. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:31 pm

I don’t understand why Anti Musharraf is equated pro Nawaz and Bibi :S

The fact is Mush’s ruling party is run by same morons who were partner in crimes in the govt of Nawaz and Bibi.

concerned, do you support the exercise of beating lawyers on road by Govt? Yes or No. don’t give any political and twisted statment. Be courageous. ISI will not pick you from your home.

72. Concerned (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:34 pm

@Adnan I am quite certain ur an MMA fan, personally I think all the Maulvis should be shot. and if tht is wht ur calling screwing our asses then, i dont mind. Maulvis are the worst kind of politicians they prey on the most basic need of man, his need for faith.

the US had nothing to do with the CJ prob. Please control ur tempers and think objectively before people go on abt discussing how Mushi should be killed.

One question who do u want instead?? Please answer this before you talk abt removing the president. and dont say the CJ he doesnt have enough credibility, just because he showed balls in two court cases does not make him a cadidate for prime ministership

73. Concerned (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:39 pm

@ adnan

I dont support beating up lawyers on the street but my question is how did things get so out of hand.

Now you answer me this do you feel BB and NS are taking advantage of the situation? Look at the pictures, how many of these people have close ties with both BB and NS?

Dont u think this issue has become too politicised?

And for ur info, i dont support mushy bec I am afraid of the ISI, I do it bec I think he is by far the most reasonable choice for a leader at present. we need fresh blood in politics.

74. Saad (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:47 pm

By fresh blood you mean fresh dictators?

75. Concerned (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 10:52 pm

I dont mean fresh dictators, I mean good leaders tht actually get off their fat asses and do something.

Imran Khan would be a good leader actually and if he makes some good alliances I am sure he can be a prime minister some day. the prob is, he is too young and does not have support from big political figures.

76. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 11:10 pm

Kamran Khan Show banned by Govt until further orders…

77. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 11:18 pm

@Concerned there is no such thing as good dictator… i hope u know the meaning of dictator…

dictator: ~A ruler who is unconstrained by law
    ~A person who behaves in a tyrannical manner

78. Turab (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 11:26 pm

imran khan the ex playboy… and the punjabis of all punjabis … sounds like a sound candidate indeed

79. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 11:27 pm

its simply hilarious to see the incompetent ministers and mush supporters are having hard time defending this unconstitutional act by the dictator… they must have complained to Mush that they’re facing tough questions from media so Mush must have ordered SJC to issue order restraining the media… so that general public don’t openly criticize this unconstitutional step by the dictator…

on one hand restrictions are being imposed on media to keep them quiet , the govt mouth piece like durani wasi zafar and CM sindh are openly cursing cussing and humiliating CJ as well as the press/media…

and Mush himself openly declaring his verdict against the CJ in Gujranwala election Campaign public meeting… i just hope a bloodless counter coup takes place and Mush is kicked out and next dictator takes the army back to barracks just like Aslam Baig did back in 1988

80. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 11:34 pm

@Turab don’t tell me you want British national wanted in pakistan on terrorism charges
    (Altaf Bai )as a candidate for top job.. do you?

81. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 11:38 pm

Attorney general of sindh was being sacked earlier in the day for his pro CJ statements that he gave condemning the way CJ was being treated…
    but he himself forwarded his resignation (which would have made him a hero resigning for his CJ)and
    would have caused further embarrassment for govt… so his resignation was rejected by governor…

82. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 15th, 2007 @ 11:41 pm

furthermore today Shareefudin Peerzada also has declined to appear before Supreme Judicial Council as Govt’s Lawyer… its really hilarious that govt is having hard time finding a reasonable lawyer to represent it in SJC …

83. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 12:06 am

first of all, the latest devlopments are that Kamran Khan’s show “Kamran Khan k saath” was not aired tonight. I don’t know the reason.

@concerned: read again. I clearly mentioned that anti dictator doesn’t mean pro nawaz and bibi. It’s pretty lame that people curse nawaz and bibi but not ppl like shujat,faisal saley hayat,sher pao etc who are not saints and are partner of Mush. as far as making things politicised, yes politicians making it political issue, this is why they re called politicians? But if you are saying anti-dictator politicians made it politicised then you are kidding or no idea of things going around.

I read arbab’s statment daily which come under contempt of court. Statments by durrani,wasi zafar,shujat etc are all political. Please do use your brain rather following someone blindly and ignorantly.

Govt should hire Altaf bhai. Boht tight batain[bakwas] karta hay.

84. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 12:15 am

@Adnan I am quite certain ur an MMA fan,

wht I see you have lost your senses. Nowhere on this blog ever said or expressed my favor for MMA. I know its quite unusual for you that Mush is being cursed nation wide but then what can we do darling?

personally I think all the Maulvis should be shot

Sign of extreemism,depression and frustration. I would treat you as a patient and would reply you accordingly. Pitty my friend. Useless to argue with you further.

85. A for [pine]apple (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 12:50 am

about Kamran Khan kay saath programme — aren’t the reasons obvious … they must’ve warned Him and Geo of Contempt of Court + wasi zafar was quite bokhlaya hua today in Capital talk …. haaaa…!

86. Saad (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 12:56 am

What I’m very much interested in knowing is that if come tomorrow our media will launch an onslaught on the President Gen. of this country or not? He’s made a mistake of his life, he’s already given his verdict on the case of the CJ. What is our media going to do about it?

87. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 1:23 am

CJ’s coat torn.. his hairs being pulled by elite police and being pushed into the car…
    if there is a counter coup against Mush then at least the junior military man would have an excuse to pull Mush’s hairs and drag him on Shara-e-dastoor in front of Baluchiston house…

btw Mush always carries a laser guided Glock pistol on his hip holster just in case his close associates try to kick him out…

88. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 1:28 am

media is very cautious at the moment Durani is doing press conferences threatening media to stay quiet and hush up the issue and don’t say anything against the govt or the SJC and don’t even comment on current condition and treatment being meted out to CJ

89. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 1:34 am

massive arrests are being carried out at the moment and many of the lawyers bodies leaders have been picked up by security agencies

90. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 1:35 am

The price of freedom is eternal vigilance : Thomas Jefferson

91. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 1:46 am

wasi zafar has used obscene and lewd language on French Radio (Dawn) show as well…

92. Concerned (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 1:56 am

@ Adnan

You havent answered, who do u want in govt if not Mushy?

u cant just say u dont want him if you dont have much of an option.

As for my frustration, I am not the one talking abt killing mushi. Also I agree alot of people are protesting against the removal of the CJ but they are not necessarily anti Musharaf. Even on this blog I can count at least 5 supporters, and roughly speaking only about 5-6 are strongly against musharraf. So u cant say tht people are anti musharaf country wide. Bec u dont know.

@Doctor

When did i say good dictator? why dont all anti Mushi ppl just answer me this. who do u want?

To truly have democracy u will have to get rid of the feudals, till then u cant have democracy. Also by ur definition of a dictator I am sure ur other two DEMOCRATICALLY elected leaders would also be called dictators. Think abt it before you ans, dont rush.

93. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 1:57 am

khuda nay aaj tak uss kaum kee halat nahee badlee

na ho jis koo khayal aap apnee halat kay badalnay kaaa.

i guess we deserve these jack ass rulers!

94. Saad (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 2:30 am

@ concerned

BB and NS are bound to return in Pakistani political scene and that too only due to PM’s insistence to stay in power as long as possible. If only President. Gen Pervaiz Musharraf would have cleansed Pakistani politics from the corrupt politicians, made the judiciary and election commission independent and had held a free and fair election within his first 2 to 4 years in power, just as he promised. We wouldn’t be discussing the issue of having politicians like BB or NS back in power.

It is obvious that Musharraf will not be staying in power till eternity. He will have to go sooner or later and once he does, we will simply fall back to 90s era scenario with either BB/NS at the helm of affairs or any other new face but with similar traits. That’s until the next General comes up with a plan to introduce ‘true democracy’ to Pakistan. We, Pakistani civilians, are therefore destined to remain slaves to our brethren in the Khaki.

As far as Ganja (Nawaz Sharif) is concerned, then do you really need me to remind you that it was Gen. Zia ul Haq in the first place who brought him in politics and not just that but actively supported him as well? Exactly what President Gen. has now done with the Chaudharies of Punjab? So mind you, the day he walks out and if the Chaudharies take over and re-start the loot and plunder of this country of ours, don’t forget to remind yourself who is actually responsible in the first place for bringing them in power.

The dynastical ways of politics of the Bhutto family are not just a problem for the Pakistanis but is a case repeated in the entire South-SouthEast Asia region in the post-colonial period. Where certain families are treated like royals. Be it the Gandhi family in India, Khalida Zia in Bangladesh or Megawati in Indonesia. What democracy does is that it brings state powers back to the national institutions instead of them being weaved around singular personalities, something which is just simply not possible under the rule of a dictator. Unless of course you can point me out a single modern day dictatorial rule by a Military general over his country that brought long term good for his country. No, democracy is not a silver bullet that’ll undo the evils of the past 50 years, but is a gradual process of working towards the better (I just can’t comprehend why some people find it so hard to understand).

The problem is that a dictatorial form of government ultimately weakens the institutions and sidelines genuine and principled political leaders. What you left with is a bunch of opportunistic politicians and yes-mans who in turn remove the person in charge (presently PM) from ground realities and genuine national interests for their own good.

If you look at it, most of the people in the ruling party are the same old corrupt ones without any integrity or loyalty but to themselves. How should any one expect a better future from them?

95. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 2:54 am

@saad:

well said…it sums it all up nicely!

96. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 2:59 am

i thing Robert Mujabe of Zimbabwe must be Mush’s mentor. he is clearily trying to ape him:))

the poor people of Zimbabwe have not seen any other head of state since their independence almost 3 decades back!

if mus has his ways the kids born in 1999 would be debating his rule when they are in university!

97. Concerned (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 3:35 am

@ Saad

Very well said, I totally agree with you. I still say we should be giving him some more time. You cannot change the entire country in 8 years.

I just luv the part where we expect the world of Mushi. You do realise he wouldnt have survived if he didnt have the support of the chaudaries.

Lets at least get an economy which has the basics right. We have never even have that. Lets at least get some major projects finished. I want gwader, I want those island (bandal something), I want freedom of speech (this is the first time you have had it in 50 yrs), I want Pakistan to be more then an breeding ground for terrorist.

Give him more time please. And lets hope he can introduce some good contenders for Pakistani politics before he leaves.

98. ash (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:35 am

very well said saad, people who cant be king always think spitting on the king makes them bigger ….the problem with pakistan is mush is it ? what was the excuse before mush came in power? and who is going to solve this problems ? lets hear one coherent answer to that question

99. MB (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 9:51 am

@concerned :
    While the elite economy is sure improved for obviously the two percent. Here is the real state of affairs for you.

REad why the economy (that too the elite eco.) is looking good to you.
    http://archive.gulfnews.com/articles/07/03/14/10110883.html

100. Adnan (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 10:56 am

Concerned: First of all fix yourself and don’t act like a kid and start attacking on me JUST because your god Mush is being abused everywhere.

It’s another lame assumption that without Mush,Pakistan is nothing.

Situation was true in 1999 but this is another sign of dictatorship that Mush didn’t introduce new faces in last seven years. You talk about fresh bloods. Where are they? I have been watching same Shujat,faisal saleh,Makhdooms,legharis for many years. Couldn’t Mush educate youth and bring new people in power? What kinda power he had that he couldn’t run without culprits of past govt?

Come on lady, do use your brain once and getrid of Ignorance. You don’t know you are ridiculing yourself by favoring Mush without any reason.

Was mush more powerful than altaf? To be honest Altaf had more influence in awam than Mush. I myself was one of his big supporter in past but then i had two choices, I act like you,demonstrate mental slavery and keep supporting altaf OR i reject him. I didn’t find him good for karachiites so I openly reject him and his parties. After all I have right to go against him.

I will see how you guys will react when Mush would be kicked out. Will you guys hide somewhere or what? Now MUsh even banned a TV program. Where is that “FREEDOM” which mush preached for last 8 years? Mush is losing ground, you admit or not. THere are thousands of better people in this nation who can lead this state. By trusting Mush only, you are actually 16 corore Pakistanis by declaring them inefficient and incompitent. You should feel ashamed of yourself.

101. Adnan (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:00 am

u cant just say u dont want him if you dont have much of an option.

You should follow my comments in different threads. How could you say that I DIDNOT give reasons why I don’t want him? Go thru KMB archieve and read my replies in last 5/6 threads.

102. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:03 am

hahaa!
    Govt in talks with CJ as way out of crisis

KARACHI, March 15: Shaken by spontaneous outpourings of public support for the chief justice, the government has nervously initiated talks with Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry for a mutually acceptable resolution of what has been described as the country’s most bitter judicial crisis, it emerged on Thursday

Source: dawn.com/2007/03/16/top1.htm

103. Adnan (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:04 am

CJ should show a Big THENGA to Mush now and SHOULD NOT compromise!! He should also demand President to take of his clothes sorry WARDI infront of him! otherwise he will not step back! :D

104. Adnan (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:09 am

I think because Uncle Sam is not happy.

tinyurl.com/3amrce

105. Adnan (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:12 am

CJ ko mush se kahna chahye k 5000 bar uthak bethak karo warna baat nahi manoun ga!

106. BoZz (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 12:57 pm

It is always about choosing the lesser of the two evils… Make your own choice

107. MB (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 1:31 pm

Guys, the thread has gone too long & users may face the cache issue. please shift to latest post.

THANKS

108. Adnan (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 2:42 pm

It is always about choosing the lesser of the two evils

Who gave you idea that we don’t have any other alternatives? Pakistan is not all about Feudals,MQM,Army dictatorship,MMA,Nawaz and Bibi. These people are in minority, even less than 1%. Majority of Pakistan is a lot better and beautiful. The tragedy is that majority is always ruled by minority elements of this country, hence we don’t find good alternatives for ourselves

109. riz (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 2:52 pm

Good Job Adnan

i really impressed.
    Concerned: yaar think first then speak.

110. Concerned (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 5:58 pm

@Adnan

dont take it personally dude.

As I have said before, the reason you see the same people in politics is because they are the major feudal lords. and I have said it before you will keep seeing them again and again untill we can get rid of this system. ur feudals are nothing less of dictators. so its better to be under a dictator from a middle class background then to be with a dictator who is part of the elite.

And I am happy to see you quoted every major party and said there are more. ofcourse these parties form only 1% of the population but how is a new politician from the middle class background going to come when the entire country votes for either PPP or PML (Q). Ur living in a dream world adnan, as soon as Mushi goes its going to be the same thing. Pakistan wont be finished but it will just linger on. And you will have someone new to complain about.

111. Concerned (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 5:59 pm

If you are not part of the solution, you are the problem.

112. Yousuf Khan (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 4:50 pm

I fully support our chief Musharaf ………. so far he has done brilliantly and i trust that he will continue to do the same……

i have no sympathy with the lawers ,,,,,, every one knows that what our judiciary system is ….. sab keee sab Hara khoooooooor hain.

i will request musharaf to do some thing on the pakistani cricket team as well…….. PCB needs overhauling …….

113. ash (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 10:11 pm

you didnt answer the question adnan who is a good replaement for Mush? out of the 99% of unknown and politicaklly naive pakistani’s who is going to be prez tomorrow? as you know very well it will be the feudals .

114. MB (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 10:26 pm

@ASH

Here is a humble reply to what you asked to Adnan:

Technically no one, otherwise Imran is new & clean (comparatively) but still lets suppose there is no replacement.

Does this mean, this guy should instead of trying to strengthen institutions & make sure there are 10 replacements when he leaves, instead try to make sure he stays there forever?

One of the problems with pro mush is their inability to see beyond Mush i.e. to understand the fact that:

THE VERY FACT MUSH WAS NOT ABLE TO BRING ANY INSTITUTIONAL CHANGE, or the FACT that he has made sure he stays in power & not concentrated instead about making sure they he can design a system (And 7 years was enough time to do that. ) where there could be 10 like him, is his biggest failure & that’s the only reason why many of us (who earlier supported him) have started to think if he is just another ZIA or AYUB.

115. MB (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 10:34 pm

@Yousuf Khan

sab keee sab Hara khoooooooor hain

If you have a fact or info on Chief Justice then fine else the way you put this CJ with all other corrupt CJ, following the same logic here is what MUSH should do:

Kick out all generals first, coz wo sab bhi haram khor hain. They are getting more than what they deserve. Infact i call it eating.

Kick out all/majority of his minsters against whom the cases are pending in courts & NAB.

i will request musharaf to do some thing on the pakistani cricket team as well…….. PCB needs overhauling …….

Don’t you already see what he did in 7 years ?

I pity the thinking of our educated lot, frankly. If this is the thinking of you guys, the 70 percent is innocent.

116. ash (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 11:49 pm

mb – Imran khan has a way to go..maybe in a few years .Yes Mush hasnt produced the change i would have wanted to see but that doesnt mean replacing him just for the heck of replacing him is going to get us anywhere better.

117. Faraz (unregistered) on March 19th, 2007 @ 1:04 pm

I am not a big fan of Mush. He has done a few things lately that don’t look too good. Although I think the verdict is still out on this CJ issue. Lets wait and get all the facts before praying to god to kill him.

And lets be practical, who would you rather want in charge? BB, NS? Or the pious Mullahs? Can you think of a single public official today who would make a good president or PM (except for may be Imran K).

And please stop bringing up the beating of the lawyers thing. Do you think it was a direct order from Mush to lathi charge the lawyers or something? Isn’t it more likely that the police just did what they are supposed to – act stupid and irresponsible.

118. Tihmur (unregistered) on March 19th, 2007 @ 7:35 pm

Musharraf Zindabad! Pakistan Zindabad! Let the haters hate. That’s what they do.