Dictatorship showing its true colors : GEO attacked by police

( Related : 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8)
Watch GEO Live
(Thanks S. Shahid for link)
Never one could imagine that this man who gives lectures on enlightenment has the same thinking that all the dictators have.

As per Jamal, there was a big public hustle bustle with police in Saddar and press club area. But so far protests in Karachi has been peaceful & we pray it remains same. In an another development, i heard few saying that Altaf Hussain has finally commented from his side

Today is indeed a sad day in the history of Pakistani media. GEO has now been officially attacked. This breaking news link has just been sent by TM. IG police once commented that without the approval of upper police the sipahi cannot take one paisa from awaam. Does it mean, this is the real Mush, as without his approval no one should dare attack media?.

116 Comments so far

1. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:06 pm

rubber bullets,tear gas shells were fired by punjab police… they were on the phone getting orders from some one on the top…

2. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:09 pm

Ansar Abbasi says that “it seems this act has the blessing of President and Prime minister.. without doubt”

3. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:13 pm

PM kicked out of country… Top Scientist under house arrest… Cheif Justice of Supereme Court under house arrest… Top Media house ,New Channel and top Newspaper offices ransacked by police , rubber bullets fired on staff, tear gas fired on GEO’s lady reporter Asma Chaudry who was reporting live from the building…

dictator is really getting desprate… the police was specifically looking for Ansar Abassi….

4. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:34 pm

this dictator is accused of killing his own people in Wana,Waziristan and Baluchistan…

I am just thinking where would this dictator apply for asylum…. which country would this dictator run to?

5. Saad (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:39 pm

I don’t want him to run, I want the people of Pakistan to cut him to pieces and feed him to the dogs.

6. True Pakistani (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:52 pm

its your kind of people who the world calls extremists please refrain from using such statements; President Musharraf had all the rights to do wat he did; so calm down let the Supreme Court do his job !!!

and to Hell with Altaf thats A** H*** can’t to any thing better than that living on our Bhagta money and having F**ing British Citizenship.

7. Saad (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:58 pm

He has the right to do everything that he has done? According to which constitution of which land? Mars?

8. ana (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 6:59 pm

This is the freedom of speech ,,govt frequesntly talked abt……..??,,,,,
    very sad,,,

9. Mez (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:00 pm

this bastard is now crossing a limit..

–AQ khan scandal
    –selling ppl to America
    –Massacre in wana,waziristan & Balochistan
    –8 year illegal goverment
    –select all corrupt leader in cabinet
    –Army involment & corruption in every publc institution, too much that they are virtually useless to do anything
    –destroy all institution including judicary
    –Economy is not doing good as well
    –Blindly supporting America that pakistan is insecure from east & west borders.
    –withdraw from kashmir position
    –Scandals of Army generals in Earthquake

Now Geo…

Time has come to get rid of ths bloody,killer,bastard Army general

10. Teeth Maestro (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:12 pm

I think these are the tell tale signs of a failing dynasty. It started off with Musharraf taking a decison which he thought would be celebrated throughout the country, afterall he was acting to support the public opinion, was he mistaken as this lead him down the path of destruction. It has now become a war game of survival.

We are seeing signs of stupid moves just to survive.

Im counting down the days. But what worries me is who will step up to take over the torch – my gutt feeling is PPP, they were quite for the first few days then once they realized its a free for all, are now rock solid in the battle.

But strangely Karachi is all too quite – WHY?

11. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:13 pm

a call just received that bomb has been placed in Jang Building….

12. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:16 pm

Geo is being punished for its reporting of this issue and that retarded wasi zafar must be involved in all this mess…

13. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:17 pm

Jang Building in karachi being evacuated after bomb threat

14. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:28 pm

dictator just called in Hamid Mir’s Capital Talk and said “Hamid tumharay sath jo kuch hoa us kay liye appologize kerta houn,and i am looking into it all as to who is responsible for it all”…

obviously Punjab police was in contact with some senior official on mobile… and they were specifically looking for Ansar Abassi…

15. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:35 pm

Durani is being taunted by Hamid Mir even after this
    embarassing event he hasn’t given his resignation as info minister whereas in the civilized world minister would have given his resignation on spot…

durani is still talking all crap on tv..

16. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:38 pm

Benazir also called in live condemning the attack…

17. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:41 pm

Bomb threat in Geo building was a hoax…

18. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:42 pm

That “Live Geo News” seems to be bbc/sky or some other british channel… its not Geo Live…

19. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:44 pm

Ahtizaz Ahsan since yesterday has been calling info Minister durani as Mohammed Ali “Ghalat Bayani”

20. MB (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:44 pm

It is GEO live my dear

Want me to send a PRINT SCREEN SHOT ??

21. saad (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:46 pm

Geo, has taken the colors out of it’s logo. Another sign of protest.

22. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:56 pm

@MB well on my pc its some english channel…

23. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:57 pm

@mB well now it seems 2 be working fine.. Geo Live

24. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

Mush has said that Geo’s damage will be compensated(from public money) … he was in lahore with CM punjab where he had inaugurated largest dairy plant of a leading multinational company…

25. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 8:02 pm

hamid mir was pulling Info Minister Durani’s leg saying that in civilized world minister concerned would have resigned by now.. but the stubborn ministers here don’t take any such action…

26. MB (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 8:11 pm

Hamid Mir ended the program in an excellent manner , he said :

Lets see if the gov. will come up with the names of those responsible tomorrow. Lets see those who made a mockery of WOMEN PROTECTION bill by attacking GEO women , if they are taken to task.

27. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 8:52 pm

Iam really surpised to Find Nawaz / BB on Geo defending freedom of press…..

therefore was no such thing in their tenure….

the biggest joke was Nawaz shedding crocodile tears for this attack on the judicial system by mush….

we haven’t forgotten his goons physicially attacking the Supreme court!! as for his belief in freedon of press….

everybody know what nawaz did to the Jung group during his tenure!

28. Saad (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 9:10 pm

The reason you saw Hamid Mir smiling all the way, and the reason Ganja dropped the call after just saying a couple of sentences :D

29. BitterTruth (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 10:06 pm

I think Geo ppl arent holy cows, there are definitely many tax frauds and abusing acts in the name of freedom of speech. They were supporting Mushi, and general perception of Geo Tv is pro govt. It has suddenly change its direction after the incident of Wasi Duffer.
    Ultimately Geo will get some hefty amount as compensation and everything will be ok.

30. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 10:29 pm

compared to other channels i think Geo and Ajj are better…

31. UZi (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 10:36 pm

I said this on some other thread. I’ll repeat it here as well:

Attack on the media, my A$S! After being the government’s tuttoos for, like, forever, Geo waaley are now trying to portray themselves as flagbearers of the freedom of speech or something.

The Nation published pictures of the CJP being dragged by the hair and pushed into a car — nothing happened to THEM. Cheapa$s publicity stunt @ Geo. Blegh!

32. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 10:39 pm

i don’t think it was a publicity stunt… its more of a blunder from Mush’s goons namely wasi zafar/Sherpao who might have sent Punjab police to take Geo off air…

33. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 10:41 pm

coz they must have been irritated by Geo’s Asma Chaudry who was constantly reporting live from rooftop even when her cameraman was hit by a teargas shell, later on she was also hit by a tear gas shell
    when Punjab police ransacked Jang’s offices …

34. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 10:55 pm

All day today Kamran khan has been on air on show called “taza tareen” instead of his flagship programme “ajj kamran khan kay sath” and seemed to have bypassed the ban imposed by govt ….

35. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 10:59 pm

I would like to mention one thing!

i feel the opposition politicians are trying to hijack the protests and trying to get political milage out of this trajedy….

just look at Qazi sahab and party… they deserve an Oscar as the best “artists” as have mastered the ‘art of getting arrested, in every pose concievable, in front of cameras”….

i think this time mush should put these “Artists” behind bars for a few months and hopefully we can be spared the sight of seeing them getting arrested!

36. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:07 pm

….not to mention, they might chose another way of protesting! or at least try this lesser then they do now…. which is, i think,around once a month:)

37. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:07 pm

well its not poor opposition politicians fault… even when all this is happening our public simply don’t give a damn and is giving a free hand to dictator…

38. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:12 pm

i think it’s because the public has seen all these politicians (even MMA is in power in 2 provences) and what they do when they are in power….so i guess we can hardly blame them:))

once bitten twice shy!

39. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:15 pm

the case of Justice Bhagwandas’s disappearance is really getting complex… His wife is saying that he is suppose to be in lukhnow India … where as BBC india investigation team in lukhnow says that Justice Bhagwandas is nowhere in lukhnow …
    WHERE IS JUSTICE BHAGWANDAS?

40. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:18 pm

i think Mr.Bhagwandas is in an ISI safe house!

41. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:20 pm

and being threatened and blackmailed into switching sides……i don’t think mush would let him out before that!

42. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:27 pm

@BitterTruth: I agree with you 100%. If Jang Group is against Mush now then it’s a clear indication tht someone is going to take power because jang group have always worshipped the ruling govt. Whatever happened with GEO is shocking and unbeliveable. Specially the incidet of misbehaving,attackig on lady Producer Asima Sherazi[or chudhary?] and ISI General Hamid’s Gul daughter who was alsi misbehaved by police infront of her father.

This is all being done by a person who was “advertised” himself as a person with Moderate,liberal,secular and person who never missed chance to associate extreemism,terrorism with mullahs. He proposed Women Protection Bill. Today women are being abused,attacked by same moron and anti-Mullah fraternity is silent. WAF is silent. What a shame for such a hypocrite cabal. Even altaf is being an anti of Mush and talking about freedom and equal rights. Kia badqismat country hey yeh:/

43. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 16th, 2007 @ 11:28 pm

it could well be that Chaudhries were behind the attack on Geo through Punjab police( The police also have their families in punjab and have to follow the orders of punjab govt)……

they are extremely nervous that Mush seems to be getting close in making a deal with BB/PPP and they would be the biggest losers.

in this way Mush would be cornered and they would come to his rescue and an eternelly greatfull mush would install them again after the nest election!!

plausible, i think:)))

44. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 12:03 am

or maybe Mush himself want to create such a atmosphere so that emergency could be imposed and elections could be delayed indefinitely.. coz whenever the elections are held USA wants them to be free and fair(meaning they want PPP to win)….

45. SELF (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 12:30 am

The attack on Geo could be to take the attention off CJ. If you think about it we are now thinking less of CJ as hero and more of GEO guys as heroes. Once the CJ is back as a normal guy in public’s eye the verdicts will be announced. That will be the end of CJ. In the end all parties General, Politicians, GEO will all be there but Justice Sahib would be gone.

On the other hand today a major UK channel showed detailed report of events including all violence, arrests and also Hamid Mir crying his heart out. Have the west finally decided to take notice?

46. redsnapper (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 1:20 am

@TM Karachi’s quiet could be a lull before the storm. Or that this time the playing field has to be center stage – Islamabad – since the big changes are supposed to take place there.

Karachi’s turn may not come for another reason. MQM is too entrenched with the military – for decades now. There may be issues in the interior though, where PPP wants to regain its lost glory.

My two cents.

47. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 2:16 am

Never one could imagine that this man who gives lectures on enlightenment has the same thinking that all the dictators have

Eh, tumhe he expectations hongi. I knew that one day this man wil show his true face this is why I always spoke against his so called “good” policies. As “Doctor” said, dictator is a dictator and there is no such thing like good or bad dictator.

48. omar r quraishi (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 2:32 am

urooj — that was one hell of a disappointing and immature post from you — you need to grow up — and also remember that in times like this journalists should try and stick together because what happened with geo today could happen with another news organisation tomorrow

49. ash (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 2:45 am

this is actually a very interesting event…. rememeber for a sec that all sides are full of bull $hit o.k? that being said we actually had journalists pretend to stand for the truth and we saw a dictator pretend to apologize …some of that stuff on both sides was genuine…i am impressed.
    Karachi doesnt give a rats a$$ because that biatch bhutto is going to come back and reverse all the progress made in this city…its no big secret…

50. MB (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 3:00 am

@ORQ & @UZI
    I agree to OMAR here. The media, journalist they should all try to stick together and concentrate on their duty rather being a party (unless the gov. officially turns against them).

We all know JANG has tilted towards every gov. but is it that JANG has realised it can make the 160 million their power instead of hoping anything from gov. coz a gov changes but its the image that will continue.

If JANG/GEO could make history by sacrificing and putting their heart out for their duty, people will sure remember them for it. And in the end it will be GEO itself + media overall + nation who will be at the winning side. Isn’t it ?

Also, i was pleased to see AAJ TV’s Talat going to GEO office and being friendly & sympathetic to GEO.

Overall as i conclude my day, the media for now has shwon unity & i hope it continues.

So well done you guys, OMAR & his people as well as UZI you & your brave newspapers.

51. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 3:07 am

@UZI: the time Jang employees suffered was not a gimmick. I second doctor that it was the blunder by Mush or anyone who is responsible to do all this

Cheapa$s publicity stunt @ Geo.

yes but after that incident. THat incident is not a public stunt but yes it’s lame that GEO now potraying themselves the ONLY channel who talks about freedom of speech as if people have forgot their past.

BTW, I didn’t know hamidmir has his personal website. Check this out.

hamidmir.com

52. PatExpat (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 4:01 am

What I fail to comprehend is where does Altaf Hussain and his MQM (Musharraf Qaumi Movement) cronies stand in this issue. Its all because government wanted to rig the elections and Babar Ghori (MQM) had already suggested the postponement of elections.

I am waiting to here his philosophical speeches over the telephone obviously financed by extortion money.

53. Concerned (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 9:07 am

I am not here to argue because there is no point in doing so. You ppl have made up ur mind.

But I still trust Musharraf. He is the most sincere leader I have seen in a long time. And truth and sincereity always wins in the end.

Also I just spent some time with good educated friends of mine from Karachi. All of them still support Mushi. Long live Mushi.

54. JAY (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 9:32 am

Stop bullshiting about dictatorship for god sake. Dont forget that he is the one who has given you this freedom of speech. Imagine this kind of behavior from the press in any other political regime and u would have been jailed or even killed. I pity you people who talk againt him and cannot see the far end. Long live Musharraf. May Allah always protect him againt all evil’s.

55. ash (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 9:40 am

not just freedom of speech but infact freedom of life too in most cases. Most karachi’s are members of a particular ethnicity which was essentially targetted in a small scale genocide under every both feudal democratically elected govts we have had since zia …how soon we forget…well looks like we will remember all that pretty soon. Either you can learn from history or repeat it …hope that explains the mystery of why most karachiites support mush for the most part and why we arent running on the streets like the honorable protesters in lahore. Whens the last time someone tried to kill all politically active punjabi’s in lahore ?

56. JAY (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 10:29 am

GEO asked for this. Everybody was told not to cover this story and not to report anything untill the court hearing is finished. It was told in advance but GEO tried to act smart and got what it deserved. I dont understand why GEO never reported against those people who were stoning and acting like animals against the policemen who were trying to block there way. GEO never said a word against them but at the same time they were giving live pictures of those maniacs. You think any police in the world can take that ? Airing live pictures of police being beaten by the stupid, illiterate Kirai kay tattoo ? GEO should be ashamed of what they have done and i am glad that they got solid danda on their butt after that. That was the only reason why GEO office got knocked off. Why it did not happen to ARY or any other channels who were reporting the same thing but in a civilized manner ? GEO tried to gain popularity out of it but i am sure they lost their dignity (if their was).
    And to those who wants to color this incident in any other fashion, this confrontation occured because GEO stepped into where they were not suppose to. Its simple, when your mama tells you something not to do, you stay away from it but if you act smart she slaps you on the face. We all saw that frame face yesterday crying live on air.

57. TURAB (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:08 am

long live Mushi….

let us pray for Mushi during these trying times.

God willing he will come out stronger and more popular out of this mess…..

58. MB (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:15 am

@JAY

Just to inform you, so you don’t waste energy next time

The law prohibits you to comment or say anything on proceedings inside the court as per, not me, but Fakhruddin G Ibrahim & as per All the retired judges or top laywers who came on TV on GEO ARY and AAJ and CNBC. As i have seen all of those programs, i have excluded the politicians here because they are by-default against gov.

Hope you got it…GEO did what it should , which is to report the events as it is, outside the court, regarding what ever.

GEO and ARY had especially called experts one day prior and all of them said they can do what ever they want to regarding proceedings outside the court. A to Z, they can report and show anything.

Get your info right but if you know more than the likes of Fakhruddin G Ibrahim or Justice Wajeeh or others…..go ahead…….. be another WASI ZAFAR or DURRANI

59. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:19 am

pateXpat: I think you are in middle east. How come you missed yet another entertaining SPEECH by Altaf bhai on TV in Raj Kumar Style?

60. Sajid (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:20 am

i see this from another perspective. May be those who wish to undermine the government might have paid some huge under the table amount to those attached with the government to carry out this operation againt geo.

So if the government even sack this official he will say to hell with? because he has already pocketed the money and might even have a ticket to dubai in hand while this operation was completed.

This is something similar which happened in movie spygame when a blackout was ordered after bribing a chineese official to rescue the GF of bradpitt…haha

See sometimes movie scenario matches real world cases as well…and we pakis are good copycats!

61. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:34 am

As GEO – on behalf of Ansar Abbasi

I would have nominated WASI ZAFAR in the FIR -

The VOA interview is enough for his indictment.

When & Who SHALL be investigating with the police inspector about the person to whom the Police Inspector reported SIR Operation completed on cell phone.????????

Kamal Shah, be a MAN, say something, Aftab Sherpao – U Both are supposedly Ghayrat Man – PATHANS, Stand up., or accept that Power Greed makes you all BAY GHAYRAT, no matter what genre you come from.

Obviously – Ansar Abbasi was target (locate, apprehend and terminate) had he been located in the GEO building something worst could have happened, to that Soft spoken BAKRI LIKE Journalist (tone & looks can be deceiving) but again PEN is mightier Then Sword.

Allah Be Praised – I saw controlled tears in Hamid Mir eyes last night, he wanted to go extra mile but seems that HIS LIMITED SHARAFAT Stopped him for being low like WASI ZAFAR. – with Durrani present and Musshy on phone –

Allah be praised.

In nutshell – The WAY ARMY Chief cum President (my FORMER HERO) handled the situation he proved that ONCE A FAUJI Always A FAUJI – YES SIR, NO SIR, SORRY SIR are the Favorite music to his ears. Else “Bloody Civilians what do they know about governance” is there favorite Line to tone down their self conciousness, and let FAUJI EGO move on.

Whatever the facts ARE – WERE -

MUSHY, made following few mistakes., and crippled the whole country.

1. Called CJ at Army House, based on letter from PIMP Naeem Bokhari, and had an audiance with CJ, in Soldier Uniform. The uniform which makes a Human – FEE~ROUN and totally inhuman.

2. The reference or acccccussssissssations could have been discussed and options allowed to CJ, deferred, till return of Justice Bhagwan Das.

3. Musshy abondoned a soft spoke SHAREEF INSAN (not insane) like Durrani (i think he is human, as i saw his expressions of bewilderment on the ransacking of Geo office in his presence) to handle media and international press, and he talk lies lies lie for nothing.,

4. Musshy let a scum bag like wasi zafar to speak about constitution and law. What a shame, a person who can not even read correctly is LAW minister. Musshy your very own carporals can speak better english then wasi zafar.

5. The punjab police deployed to capital territory under command & control of ????? USE WILDEST of Imagination ????

- The Kamal Shah, Aftab Sherpao and the IG Capitol Territory reported that they have no Idea who was managing Punjab police –

Shame on you 3, what is holding you back in the office, have some heart and Resign immediately.

MUSSHYY — Even a toxicated person can make a difference between light and dark, ACT and start correcting things or you will end up nowhere and gather baad-duas which would not let you have a space in heaven,

- Pity YOU – Damn YOU –

Musshy tou hai bara hee xxxxxhod hai, !

62. JAY (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 12:14 pm

Energy wasted for you. Yes. U are among one of those dumb heads who do not understand the core and just mumble about what your eyes see. You have more responsibility being an author here to project the real image of the events taken in place. And what law you are talking about ?
    The first law of this blog is that you report events happening in the city for which you are blogging for not to copy paste links which shows videos about Islamabad. Go to ISB and post this blog.
    And i dont have to follow Wasi, Durrani etc. I understand this issue fairly enough by my own as other participants of this post do. Half of your posts are based on either your FRIENDS view or what you have heard. What research you have done before posting it ?
    What can you expect from GEO. They even showed a dying woman’s last moments under the rubble in 2005 earthquake. You can justify that ?
    GEO is doing a good job all over but they should have some sense of resposibility towards there viewers. As they say
    Television has a real problem. They have no page two. Consequently every big story gets the same play and comes across to the viewer as a really big, scary one. ~Art Buchwald, 1969
    I can go on but realy i dont want to waste my energy!! And no hard feelings :) respect to all

63. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 12:30 pm

@JAY geo just showed the protests taking place outside its offices in islambad.. you simply can’t negate things that are on camera… SJC only told the media to stop reporting about the procedding that take place INSIDE the SJC..(that notification was issued coz govt’s incompetent ministers were unable to answer the tough and bitter questions from media)…

64. Haseeb A (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 12:37 pm

He.is.the.one.man.who.has.given.freedom.of.speech??..Lols
    Its.only.an.illusion…its.selective.freedom.of.speech…b4.GEO
    offices.of.various.newspapers.hav.been.raided.and.FM.103.was.raided.too
    all.during.mushhy’s.era!!

yeah,my.space.bar.not.working.:)

65. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 12:41 pm

dictator just want his version of story to be projected.. you’ll face his wrath …

66. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 12:42 pm

police is using abusive language against Lawyers and
    Media at lahore highcourt and coz of police shelling
    2 cars belonging to lawyers have burnt…

67. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 12:44 pm

these pro Mush MQM supporter will continue to support him until their Pir Sahib(London walay) tell them that dictator’s boat is sinking and now its time to abandon ship…..

68. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 2:52 pm

protest underway on M.A Jinnah Rd karachi… kindly avoid that road coz of traffic jam…

69. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 4:13 pm

dictator busy supressing innocent protestors …..

the sin of this poor guy was that he was protesting against the disappearance of his Father….
    unannounced Marshall law and emergency is very much imposed

(pic) tinyurl.com/258znw

70. UZi (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 6:01 pm

@ ORQ: I am a huge advocate of the freedom of the press and all that jazz. I’ve also got a brain of my own, however, and I refuse to be a part of “the herd.” I don’t believe in the “sticking together” mentality if I don’t believe in what I’m supposed to be standing up for.

Moreover, please refrain from personal comments. And yes, calling someone immature IS a personal comment, no matter which way you may wish to paint it. You have a point of view, as do I. And we’re all welcome to our own judgement. End of story.

71. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 6:02 pm

just can’t believe whats happening in pakistan now a days!:))

it’s almost unbearable to see all this on TV.

i think it’s more painfull to c all this when iam siting outside pakisan.

i just don’t know how to express it in words :)))

72. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 8:34 pm

at 5.30 i posted some comments – seems like it landed in trash ??

The duffer was on Business Plus channel fighting with Locman

73. SELF (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 8:56 pm

Someone please upload videos.

74. MB (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:36 pm

@JAY

“The first law of this blog is that you report events happening in the city “

Yeah, thats what been done. I just put whats going on this city’s TV screen.

@Jamal

I don’t see any of ya comment in BOX. Didn’t reach at all i guess.

75. Concerned (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:47 pm

@MB

Good explanation, so when are we discussin “Saas Bhi Kabhi Bahu thi”, thts on Khi tv too rght?

76. MB (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:50 pm

@JAY
    I hope anyone with any interest in it may do that too. But i was talking about TV events that have iimpact on Karachi’s future especially when the whole setup in KHI is supported by present gov.

77. Concerned (unregistered) on March 17th, 2007 @ 11:53 pm

@Doctor

I might be pro MQM and Pro Mushi but I will continue to be pro Mushi no matter wht Altaf Huss says. I personally dont like the guy (altaf), I just like the idea of a party made up of middle classed ppl.

Some of you are getting really condesending, will you guys please start acting civil and if any body wants to support Mushi they have the rght to without getting bullshit abt herd mentality.

I am part of tht herd. Long live Mushi . Mooooooooooooooooo.

78. ash (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:00 am

i feel the same way…i am all for the mqm despite my diffrences with altaf and i too would continue to support Mush till the day he stops supporting the majority of the herd …given the nature of our herd you can never please everyone lets understand that.

79. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:02 am

U CAN HAVE MUSH .HE’S IS ALL YOURS:))

80. ash (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:05 am

lol…just like you cant claim the sky or the sun you cant claim the prez. either :)he is mine and yours and evreyone elses :)

81. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:06 am

this is hilarious… Mush is now putting all the blame on govt… he says he haven’t got anything personal against the CJ and he only sent the reference to SJC which govt sent him…. dictator seems to have finally guessed that he has made a blunder and is trying to do some damage control when his incompetent minister miserably failed to control situation

82. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:09 am

on the other hand Najam Sethi says that Mush’s team merely used Prime Ministers name in all this mess so that if any thing may go wrong they could be blamed later on… like we all remember at the start of it all we were told…
    “Mush sacked CJ on the advice of PM at army house “

83. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:14 am

@ash @Concerned
    at the moment
    MQM = altaf

MQM minus altaf = a resonable party…

when ever altaf is gone my perception about MQM would change drastically.. but as the thing stand at the moment… i just consider Altaf & CO as bunch of
    bathakhor and terrorists…

84. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:19 am

The PM and his ministers can’t even pee without MUSH’s permission and he would be insane to think the public would believe him on this one:))

85. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:20 am

poor cabinet and Prime Minister simply is clueless and this whole CJ issue was engineered by close advisers of Mush … now Mush is looking for a scapegoat….

86. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:32 am

and as for freedom of press and dictator well today
    Dr Shahid Masood disclosed the reasons behind his shifting from ARY to GEO… he told that ARY use to constant get threats from Govt and MQM and his prog was often discontinued for one reason or another and
    bosses at ARY were unable to sustain the pressure .. he said that he was offered hilal-e-imtiaz (bribe) which he turned down coz he didn’t deserved it…

87. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:33 am

During the time of the “Ottoman Emiprie” when the Sultan thought that his people were very angry with his govt and there might be some rebellion, he used to chop of the heads of his PM or ministers or governor of a provence in public and in this way the people’s anger was somewhat contained/soothed!

i think Mush would do the same…we all know he loves Turkey/turkish history!

88. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:44 am

to be fair with MUSH i gues i would do the same if i was in his palce:)))….

this is what people have been doing since the begining of time, to retain power! u can’t change human nature!

89. MB (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:49 am

@F. AHMED
    Calling this as human nature doesn’t allow it to be allowed.

Following your logic, we should allow corruption because thats what is going on everywhere.

Hope you will agree that its not human nature but sure you can say its the nature of dictators. They will remove any one coming their way.

90. ash (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 12:51 am

ahmed and doctor that is reasonable…the same excuses are made for mistakes made by both altaf and mush,- that there is no better man. Inshaallah one day there will be and the argument will be moot. Till then the argument is moot.

91. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 1:01 am

@MB:

won’t u remove anything in ur way if u have powers he has??……u would be a saint if u won’t!

the “Hawuus” in humans can never be fulfilled but i guess can be contained.

by the way i was not supporting Mush….i was just being human:)

@ASH:

as i already said above…iam not defending Mush…currently he is undefendable:)

i don’t think right now even his children can defend him!

InshaAllah there will be a better choice in the future..but here we r not predicting the future but discussing the current situation and i was just writing about human nature!

92. MB (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 1:31 am

@F. AHMED
    just to make you happy if i say yes i would do what he did, does it mean it becomes right too ?

In anycase, whoever does it, it would be wrong. Whom am i (or Mush for that matter) that even if i do a particular wrong thing it would/should be accepted.

93. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 2:08 am

Dictator at the moment needs public support to survive this blunder… he knows that US is’nt happy with him and congress just has passed an ammendment which is more stern and stringent then the notorious Presler Amendment… to survive this mess he needs public support otherwise his american masters can pull the rug from under his feet just like they did with General Zia

94. BoZz (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 3:16 am
  95. Concerned (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 4:19 am

@MB

Jay and I are two different ppl. just wanted to make tht clear.

96. Pkhan (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 11:01 am

Geo’s Hamid Mir and Kamran both have cooked up the story,showing empty tear gas/rubber bullets were shame full,none of the tear gas shell was fired inside the office otherwise every body there would be wiping their tears,eyes looked very clean and fresh?on the othere side when there was a bomb threat in karachi the way Kamran Khan and his team was Evacuating the building does not look like that there were some kind of threat,they took there time announce the phone#which was not a working phone # because I tried the #.The way Kamran Khan was reporting looked like that there is a bigger Karbala was happening.

97. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 11:21 am

i think Mush should make pakistan a kingdom and be it’s first king!

he is not going any where so in that way he would not have to find political allies like he currently has!

just a suggestion! :)

98. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 11:22 am

i sometimes pitty Mush….he has to rely on people like the Duffer law minister:) how mush lower can he fall!

99. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 3:10 pm

now PM is on the defensive… he says govt received complains against the CJ which it forwarded to President… earlier President tried to put all the blame on PM that on his advice he took action and he didn’t had anything personal against the CJ

100. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 6:31 pm

have people stopped writing their comments fo the last 2 -3 hours or has this site been bloked by Mush??

i have seen almost 0 comments on many of the pages, for the last few hours!

101. d0ct0r (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 7:56 pm

people must be busy with other things.. today iz sunday :P

102. Dr. Peter Odili (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 8:18 pm

Good Day,

I am Dr. Peter Odili, the executive governor of River State, Nigeria. I read about your company profile. And I am interested, investing in your company. And I will like you to please get back to me immediately as soon as you get this mail.
    I will like to know the procedures please.

Regards,

Governor Peter Odili.
    Tell: +234-802-285-7084

103. omar r. quraishi (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 10:05 pm

err — uzi — it was NOT a personal comment because i made it a point to base it on what you said here — in case you forgot i do not know you personally so it cant be a personal comment — and this is not about having a ‘herd’ mentality or ‘sticking together’ — i am hardly the kind of person who lives at the press club but i know that if the govt attacks today even a newspaper i hate the next day it could be mine — clearly that’s something you cannot comprehend for now — like i said what you wrote on this post shows that you still got a lot of growing up to do — as a journalist of course — that actually is my judgment and of course you are free to disagree with it

104. omar r. quraishi (unregistered) on March 18th, 2007 @ 10:32 pm

http://www.thenews.com.pk/daily_detail.asp?id=47304

Editorial, The News, March 18, 2007

Dealing with dissent

One would have thought that going by the tumultuous events of Friday and the general response of the nation to them, on Saturday the police would have been ordered to be a little more circumspect in their dealing with those protesting the ‘suspension’ of the chief justice. On Saturday, the ‘action’, so to speak, seems to have shifted to Lahore, with dozens of lawyers arrested, manhandled and lathi-charged by the trigger-happy Punjab police. And while the chief justice’s lawyers are now claiming that the tight security cordon around him has been relaxed, it should be remembered that this has happened (pending independent corroboration) only after the Supreme Judicial Council made it clear on Friday that there were no restrictions on the movement of Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry. As for Saturday’s actions by the police, they were mostly unprovoked again, this time beginning when lawyers were prevented by the police from going inside the premises of the LHC to attend an all-Pakistan convention organised by the Lahore High Court Bar Association. The police lathi-charged the lawyers and fired tear gas shells and this rash action eventually snow-balled into a full-fledged street battle between the unarmed lawyers and the Punjab police constabulary.

The question that one would like to ask is why cannot the government let the lawyers meet if they want, why cannot it be okay with people protesting whatever it is they wish to protest against, provided it is peaceful and does not disturb public order. Surely by now, it should have realised that an all-out confrontation with either the lawyers’ community or the media is going to be a futile if not downright negative exercise in that it will only serve to further exacerbate an already tense situation and that this heightening of tension will only damage the government’s own credibility and lower its image in the eyes of Pakistanis in general as well as the outside world. As for the attack on the office of The News and Geo TV on Friday, the government has reportedly suspended 14 policemen who allegedly took part in the raid. A judicial inquiry has been promised as well one can only hope that it succeeds in unearthing the real perpetrators of this naked assault on press and media freedom. Again, it is worth reiterating that it defies common sense and logic to believe that junior-level policemen on their own would attack and ransack the offices of a national newspaper and a news channel in the heart of Islamabad, a stone’s throw from the Parliament House, the Prime Minister’s Secretariat and the Presidency.

The best way forward for the government would be to allow peaceful forms of protest. As it has already said, the matter is now before the SJC and the directives of this body should be followed. One of them relates to the coverage of the SJC’s proceedings and of the hearing of the reference. Here, as directed by the SJC print and electronic media have reported only the press release detailing Friday’s proceedings. The government, and especially the electronic media regulator PEMRA, should not seek to unnecessarily extend this directive, as has been done so far, to order newspapers and TV channels not to cover the events and incidents arising out of Justice Iftikhar’s suspension and to desist from giving him any coverage.

Such a blanket prohibition impedes the people’s right to be informed on all matters related to the chief justice’s ‘suspension’ except of course those that are sub-judice, i.e. the contents of the reference against Justice Iftikhar and the proceedings of the SJC to examine it. Also, by prohibiting any coverage of the issue, a situation may well arise in which, because of absence of any information, rumours begin to gain currency and that only serves to destabilise things further. As a first step, the government should call off the police on the lawyers and permit them to exercise their democratic right to register a peaceful protest and this should be applicable for civil society in general. As has already been pointed out by some commentators, those at the helm of affairs should realise that the rise of the information age, characterised particularly by the coming of age of the country’s electronic media (and to some extent of the Internet, especially blogs and so on), has changed everything. Clamping down on the flow of information and on dissent is next to impossible and only counter-productive. Ban a TV channel and one will find the information on the Internet or on a blog, blackout a newspaper and get the story on a web forum. The dictum that the Internet is perhaps the biggest encourager of a democratic mindset (and certainly a facilitator of a level-playing field in terms of who controls and provides information) has never been as true as now in Pakistan’s case. Now only if the country’s polity was as democratic, with its head of state and head of government, both accountable solely to the people.

105. UZi (unregistered) on March 19th, 2007 @ 1:20 am

You know what, Qureshi saheb, stuff your BS. You have no right to classify my abilities as a journalist. Good riddance.

106. MB (unregistered) on March 19th, 2007 @ 8:57 am

Me becoming a sand witch between UZI & OMAR

Help !!!!!!

107. MB (unregistered) on March 19th, 2007 @ 8:58 am

@OMAR
    By the way that “Dealing with dissent” was well written, especially the last para.

Need more of that…

108. Pkhan (unregistered) on March 19th, 2007 @ 4:34 pm

“Dealing with Dissent”,No one will object for peaceful demonstration but looks like Lawyers community and Politicians are trying to make it a circus?For example Omar Qureshi’s Boss suspends him Pending investigation. Are you going to bring out your family and start protesting?or you are going to wait and see the result of the inquiry and then protest?This chief Justice might have taken some bold steps but he is also not above the law.

109. omar r. quraishi (unregistered) on March 19th, 2007 @ 6:19 pm

thanks mb

uzi — u should learn to take some criticism without getting into verbal abuse

110. UZi (unregistered) on March 19th, 2007 @ 7:43 pm

Qureshi saheb, you should learn to realize that you have no right to label people as immature or whatever (professionally or otherwise). I’m generally not abusive towards people I’m discussing stuff with. Rest assured, therefore, that any “verbal abuse” (and I’m using the term very vaguely here) directed at anyone from my side is well warranted. Cheers.

111. BoZz (unregistered) on March 21st, 2007 @ 2:30 am

The charges against the CJ.

http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticleNew.asp?xfile=data/subcontinent/2007/March/subcontinent_March391.xml&section=subcontinent&col=

ISLAMABAD — Following is the list of charges levelled in the ‘open letter’ written by a noted pro-government lawyer and leading TV anchor, Naeem Bokhari, listing the charges against the deposed Chief Justice Iftikhar Mohammad Chaudhry which forms basis of the reference filed by Gen. Pervez Musharraf against him:

My Lord,

(On your appointment) I believed that you were vigorous, capable of lifting up the Supreme Court, creating an espirit-de-corps among your brother judges, restoring the dignity and grandeur of the apex court, particularly considering the long tenure before you. Alas this has not come about.

I am not perturbed by your insistence on protocol (despite my belief that the Chief Justice would rise in the eyes of everybody if he walked from his residence to the court and hooters, police escort, flags is just fluff not the substance of an office). I am mildly amused at your desire to be presented a guard of honour in Peshawar. I am titillated by the appropriation of Mercedes-Benz car or is it cars, the use of the Punjab Government’s plane to offer Fateha in Multan, to Sheikhupura for Fateha on a Punjab Government helicopter, to Hyderabad on a Sindh Government’s plane for attending a High Court function, the huge amount spent in refurbishing the chamber and residence of the Chief Justice, the reservation for yourself of a wing in Supreme Court Judges guest house in Lahore, the permanent occupation by the Supreme Court of the official residence of the Chief Justice of Sindh, who per force lives in the basement of his father’s house.

I am not perturbed that Dr Arsalaan (your son) secured 16/100 in the English paper for the Civil Services Examination, that there is some case against him in some court in Balochistan, that from the Health Department in Balochistan he has shifted to FIA, that he has obtained training in the Police Academy, that he reportedly drives a BMW 7-Series car, that there is a complaint against him with the National Accountability Bureau.

My grievances and protests are different. I am perturbed that the Supreme Court should issue a clarificatory statement on his behalf.

I am perturbed that Justice (retd) Wajihuddin Ahmed should be constrained to advise you on television that “people who live in glass houses should not throw stones at others”.

I am appalled that you announce decisions in court, while in the written judgment an opposite conclusion is recorded.

My grievances also concern the manner in which the last and highest court of appeal is dispensing justice, under your leadership. My Lord, the dignity of lawyers is consistently being violated by you. We are treated harshly, rudely, brusquely and nastily. We are not heard. We are not allowed to present our case. There is little scope for advocacy. The words used in the Bar Room for Court No. 1 are “the slaughter house”.

We are cowed down by aggression from the Bench, led by you. All we receive from you is arrogance, aggression and belligerence. You also throw away the file, while contemptuously announcing ‘This is dismissed’.

Yet this aggression is not for everyone. When Sharifuddin Pirzada appears, your Lordship’s demeanour and appearance is not just sugar and honey. You are obsequious to the point of meekness.

So apart from violating our dignity, which the constitution commands to be inviolable, we suffer discrimination in your court. I am not raising the issue of verbal onslaughts and threats to police officers and other civil servants, who have the misfortune to be summoned, degraded and reminded that ‘This is the Supreme Court’.

The way in which My Lord conducts proceedings is not conducive to the process of justice. In fact, it obstructs due process and constitutes contempt of the Supreme Court itself.

My Lord, this communication may anger you and you are in any case prone to get angry in a flash, but do reflect upon it. Perhaps you are not cognizant of what your brother judges feel and say about you.

My Lord, before a rebellion arises among your brother judges (as in the case of Mr Justice Sajjad Ali Shah), before the Bar stands up collectively and before the entire matter is placed before the Supreme Judicial Council, there may be time to change and make amends.
    I hope you have the wisdom and courage to make these amends and restore serenity, calm, compassion, patience and justice tempered with mercy to my Supreme Court. Yours faithfully, Naeem Bokhari, Advocate Supreme Court of Pakistan.

112. bt (unregistered) on March 21st, 2007 @ 12:32 pm

@Bozz:

don’t u sleep at night??

113. F. AHMED (unregistered) on March 21st, 2007 @ 4:03 pm

Just check out this article and c how the democrats are trying to bribe the Republicans into voting for legislation sponsored by them, using the war in Iraq as a cover:

http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/17696092/

all politicans are the same!

114. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) on March 22nd, 2007 @ 2:48 am

I read the charges today & call me Naive, buh WHA!!?

11 of the 17 pages against the CJ are accusations against his SON. Who to my understanding is 21+. Proper Adult.
    + Bokhari has a problem with CJ doing a “Sifarish” for his son—WTF!? where did this dude land from?. Is that not a norm in this society?. I cannot belive that Mr.Bokhari never succumbed to Nepotism.–This being a Lota who’s sucking up to whoever’s in power!.
    The CJ using Gov vehicles or making use of the Protocols that he is Entitled to as the CHEIF JUSTICE OF THE SUPREME COURT OF ISLAMIC REPUBLIC OF PAKISTAN (In case anyone has forgotten the mans official designation). Since the Gov (Ill leave Mush out of it since he is so high and mighty!), is so pious & does not abuse any sort of power, could Mr. Bokhari or better yet Prime Minister Shortcut, explain to the Awam & especially the people of Karachi as to why every other month we have to suffer in traffic for HOURS because of an officials arrival.
    I remember last year, some relative of the PM’s wife was getting married @ Khy-e-Hafiz and the whole of Phase 5/Zamzama/Clifton roads used to get vacumed for 5-6 hours every day for 4-5 days constantly leaving hundreds of people dreading to leave their houses or risk getting blocked at one of the traffic sigs.

Accusing the CJ of Bullying/Nepotism? How old are you Mr.Bukhari? Or did you misplace your ovaries? (wait dont answer that).
    And since you say “We are treated harshly, rudely, brusquely and nastily. We are not heard. We are not allowed to present our case. There is little scope for advocacy. The words used in the Bar Room for Court No. 1 are “the slaughter house”.

Since you keep mentioning “We”, where are all your brother judges who have been abused by this ‘Jallad’ ?
    Wait, dint they call ure letter a load of bull & suspend your bar licence?

The issue of one of the CJ’s family members having a 7 series BMW with the # plate “Razia 1″, since you are getting that petty and personal Mr.Bokhari, Care to esplain how you got the two BMW’s & a Red Merecedes that you used to flaunt around Lahore? (Note: Im too young too know this personally, all hear-say).
    & If you are attacking the man’s charecter, could you explain your regular visit to Lhr Gym, getting drunk & posessing a reputation of being a womanizer (Oh and dint u go through a messy divorce?).

But please dont answer anything in the above para. You sir are the upholder of justice in this country.
    So could you please write another Open Letter to the Honurable President of Pakistan and request him, Why was his Father-in-Law given the contract to build a Circular railway in Karachi(4 areas/boroughs (sp?) & Not city-wide), with an initial payment of over over $50 Mill. Please inquire as to – (& im not being foolish enough to know where the money went) – Why hasnt any plan been laid out, let alone work being started.

Since you fight for upholding of our National Institutions, Could you please inquire about the State of PIA (Kirmani making a Fortune in 777 deal while PIA ki halat to sab ko pata hai),

State of Pak Railways (I ferget the General’s name, the one who bought Engines from China and within 90 days of delivery only one of the trains is working. Accidents ko to bhool hi jao).

Privitaisation of PTCL, why is it that Brazil Telecom gets sold for 12 Billion in the year 1997, while PTCL , catering to a populus of 160 Mill(and growing), gets sold for peanuts along with LAND and other assets.

Attempted Privitization of Pak Steel to a group of Arif Habeeb & Tawarki Group. Dono taraf Shortcut ki ungliyan ghee mein.

Just a handfull of questions that might make a better body for your next great Public service.

115. MB (unregistered) on March 22nd, 2007 @ 12:31 pm

@RED MUNK
    If you allow me i can put your comment as open letter to concerned as a full new POST ?

also check this out
    http://thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=6658

116. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) on March 22nd, 2007 @ 5:10 pm

Sure ga. & with reference to your article, There you go. Im not saying that since everyone is doing it, its right. But if MPA’s and low level ministers are involved in such gross abuse, no open minded person can hold a grudge against the CJ. Can they?
    + as per Mr.Bokhari’s suggestion “my belief that the Chief Justice would rise in the eyes of everybody if he walked from his residence to the court “, he DID try that. Apart from Hair loss, Trauma & bruising, kya milla? Ulta Mis-Information said that he was trying to be political and anti-gov when he walked.
    (The CJ’s lawyers said that the GOV had taken away his cars and he did not have a choice but to walk).