15 x 4

Vintage Media bring to you the [ 15 X 4 ] event that will juxtapose the country’s top four photographers in one exhibition. The photographers are Amean J, Arif Mahmood, Izdeyar Setna and Tapu Javeri.

They will each photograph a list of 15 subjects which include the following:

1. Hameed Haroon (CEO of Dawn Group of Newspapers)
2. Ardesher Cowasgee (columnist)
3. Adeeb Rizvi (founder of SUIT: Sindh Institute of Urology and Transplantation)
4. Abdul Sattar Edhi
5. Abida Parveen (sufi music artiste)
6. Shahid Sajjad (artist)
7. Begum Nawazish (media celebrity)
8. Meera (actress)
9. Ali Azmat (ex-Junooni musician)
10. Arif Hassan (architect and planner, teacher, social researcher, and writer amongst other things)
11. Maheen Khan (fashion designer)
12. Hamida Khuhro (Minister for Education and Literacy)
13. Naheed Siddique (classical dancer)
14. Jehangir Khan (squash player)
15. Iraj Manzoor (super model)

The event is very exciting owing to the popularity of both the photographers and the subjects. On the day of the launch not only will the photographers be there explaining their take on the subjects, but the subjects will also be present for any queries or discussions that invitees at the launch may initiate. Out of the subjects Abida Parween, Meera and Naheed Siddiquie might not be present owing to the fact that they are not based in Karachi. The exhibition is expected to be attended by individuals from the corporate sector, more specifically from the banking industry, advertising agencies and multinationals, and individuals from the music, television and fashion industry.

The photographers have also done extensive work within and for the corporate industry itself.

A list of approximately 50 individuals from the press has also been drawn up and most of them have confirmed their participation in covering the event. From amongst those who have confirmed are the following publications: The Metropolitan (Dawn), Gallery (Dawn), Images (Dawn), The Herald, Aurora, Instep (The News), The Daily Times, The Nation, Social Pages, She, Good Times magazine amongst others.

At Indus Valley School of Art and Architecture from 6 pm to 8 pm on Friday, April 13 and from Saturday to Thursday it will be from 5 pm to 8 pm

And on, in the word’s of Madeeha Syed the organizer of the event, “anyone can walk in”.

15 Comments so far

1. d0ct0r (unregistered) on April 12th, 2007 @ 7:20 pm

Begum Nawazish…. that controversial begum has reached the list of these distinguished people in such a short period as compared to others on the list…

2. Teeth Maestro (unregistered) on April 12th, 2007 @ 9:25 pm

sounds really intriguing – should be fun to see the exhibit

3. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on April 12th, 2007 @ 9:43 pm

Must be worth visiting. specially when Cowasjee and Ahmed Saleem (begum nawazish) are to be at venue.

4. Original-Faisal (unregistered) on April 13th, 2007 @ 12:47 am

Begum Nawazish is actually Ali Saleem, not Ahmed Saleem.

5. MB (unregistered) on April 13th, 2007 @ 1:57 am

I guess that COWASJEE & not COWASGEE ??

Love the idea by the way because of these great names :

Hameed Haroon, Ardesher Cowasgee, Adeeb Rizvi, Abdul Sattar Edhi , Abida Parveen , Arif Hassan , Jehangir Khan

They are such a great inspiration to all.

6. MB (unregistered) on April 13th, 2007 @ 1:59 am

Hey Bayl
    What is the schedule ?
    The day & time ?

7. mansoor (unregistered) on April 13th, 2007 @ 2:49 am

great! should be good to see it..

8. wasiq (unregistered) on April 13th, 2007 @ 3:09 am

@Bayl baji ….yeah aap ney kya kia….aisa link (http://www.vintagemedia.org/) diya jo darwazey pey choord kay bhaag giya….lol

P.s:lunch box battey toh merey lian bhi lana…i only like to play dart game on my own….

9. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 13th, 2007 @ 5:50 pm

A hijra/crossdresser and a famous Kidney Specialist Dr.adeeb Rizvi are in same slot. Qayamat ki Nishani hay but hum kia kahsakta hai,jaise Qaum waise he celebrities :-)

10. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 13th, 2007 @ 5:51 pm

Bayl beta why are you censoring comments?

11. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on April 13th, 2007 @ 5:53 pm

Begum Nawazish….[A heajra/crossdr3sser[ that controversial begum has reached the list of these distinguished people in such a short period as compared to others on the lis

jaise Qom waise hee uski pasand. :-)

12. shady (unregistered) on April 15th, 2007 @ 2:07 am

that begum is one brave man. err woman. whatever.

it takes a lot to be a cross dresser in a country like ours, and he does a great job of it, right under the publics eye, on tv.

they love him for it too and i think he deserves to be on the list, mostly for the fact that he’s brave, not only the fact that he’s controversial.

he has balls, for sure.

hahahahah.

13. Kazmi (unregistered) on April 15th, 2007 @ 10:42 am

If he has balls then why is he called a “Begum”?

14. Hasan Zuberi (unregistered) on April 16th, 2007 @ 7:40 pm

I was just wondering how’d they had invited this “thing” … Ali Saleem Nawazish ??

Mr OR Miss Ali Saleem :P

15. wasiq (unregistered) on April 17th, 2007 @ 3:19 am

the best thing about my comments is that they are mostly irrelevent to the thread so if some smart kid decides to pull the plug….right in the middle of my typing a comment before i am able to post it, it only truncates the temporary file…i can always post it at a convenient opportunity from the archive files….but your reaction subject to regulations and code of conduct may not survive that long…..see i have learned more computer on my own than i learned geography under you….

BTW, they have the rain in london and we have the ice….nobody can tell the difference….never have never will….

come on and let it SHOOOOO