GEO TV website hacked - Pakistan’s political battle enters cyberspace
(Credits : Jawwad Hussain , Canada)
Update 2 : Website is functional now.
Update 1 : GEO webmasters are working hard to remove hack-text & put their “Under maintenance”. Many pages are continuously changing on refresh till last report 10:50 local time
Breaking News: Pakistan’s political battle entered cyberspace this morning. GEO TV website has been taken over by some Anti-Musharraf hackers.
How do you see the Cyber battle in Pakistan ?
It was reported to me an hour ago so I don’t know the exact hack time but when i checked it, GEO had put up a Website Under Maintenance text.
Any one related to GEO tell us when the website will be back ?

Welcome to the 21st century graffiti wars :D
That’s a deductive reasoning, how do you know that that the website was hacked by “anti musharaf” elements or even hacked at all? We can’t just jump to conclusions. Let’s wait till more details come in.
1967 - take a look at the picture that he has posted :D
Great catch KMB :-)
Poor Geo again !
It is down “UNDER Maintenance”
9.55 AM PST
- where i can post these to appear in blog -
http://img329.imageshack.us/img329/9812/karachi2007016wh8.th.jpg
http://img91.imageshack.us/my.php?image=karachi2007015xg5.jpg
http://img167.imageshack.us/my.php?image=karachi2007013cx2.jpg
http://img526.imageshack.us/my.php?image=karachi2007011dx3.jpg
http://img247.imageshack.us/my.php?image=karachi2007018wl1.jpg
@1967
If it wasn’t taken over, the only other way possible was that GEO did it self. Right ?. Lets see if GEO admits it or it has any other version of the story.
Let’s just wait and see till more details and concrete evidence comes in. I see this similar to the MQM press conference in which pictures were shown of people carrying ARD flags, supposedly substantiating that opposition was solely responsible for the shoot outs.
MB, you are using this forum to spread HATE. I do not care for Mush nor for CJP but your posts are really annoying. THERE SHOULD BE A CHECK ON THE QUALITY OF POSTS HERE. How about you take a break for a week please.
MB please chk moderation / Trash bin please… few pic linx are in it
** ( LINK REMOVED BY AUTHOR) **
( sorry Aisha , i had to remove this direct link)
its still here
LOL, Aisha - thank you so very much for sharing the link.
Aisha, — refresh –
it is not there . 10.41 AM PST
Its BACK .. :>
Jamal-at the time she posted the link - it was still up, I took a screen shot :D. Geo! has now taken it down. Where were the above pics taken, Jamal?
gone now..
they work fast..
BTW everyone’s doing a “bandar ka tamasha” here …!
** ( link REMOVE BY AUTHOR) **
( Please do not post direct link here)
lol… cud not resist
check before they fix it
Geo has restricted WEB ARCHIVE in their robots.txt (a standard file which can let or restrict user-agents from viewing and indexing your websites). http://web.archive.org/web/*/http://geo.tv
We could have known when did it happen and which pages were affected…
Hmmm the attack hasn’t yet been reported on Zone-H. It might…just might as well be an insider’s job.
IT IS BACK ONLINE - 10.56 AM PST
it was back at 10:41 too :> I wonder if google cached the ** version
People, I think for purposes of self-censorship we should not put up exact links to the de-faced website. We’ve already quite some proof of the defacement on our hands. That should be enough, no?
The website is back. Unhacked version and all.
I think that was simply an attention seeking stunt by GEO after all AAJ is the center of the buzz following the firinf incident outside the office
@jamal: NO, the GEOnews and the GEOtv web pages still read ‘under maintenance’.
well Jang website was vulnerable as well. A month back my friend was able to get into their archieve of news and other stuff. Interesting thing is that that they didn’t disable ‘Directory Listing’. Anyway I can’t claim as well that it was done by anti-g0vt or pro-Govt. Don’t jump into conclusion.
I am just seeing the images uploaded by Jamal. I can’t believe it’s real! Looks like it’s like Tamasha for others. See how the guys taking snaps from Mobile. They re happy and laughing. This is a very sad situation and alarming too. If this is our youth then it’s friggin easy to defeat them. Jahalat Zindabad!
JIHADI KARNAMA
I am not surprised as the network of pro-taliban, blood hound, extremist is deep within our communities and even abroad, who think that they are doing sumthing good and inreturn will get 70 virgins and high ranks in heaven….hahaha….at the hight of Jamia Hafsa situation they were condeming jama, but now Mr.QAZI said that the people(MQM) who rallied against JAMA are uncovered…y did’nt u said at that time that Jamat is with JAMA HAFSA haahahah…LIERS LIERS……. lets be clear these MULLAS dont care abt any thing they want BLOOD and they want RULE… THE CONTRACTORS OF ISLAM idealize Taliban and USAMA BIN LADEN, and they knew that MQM is sumthing they must get rid of if they want to sustain their strength………………. HATE USAMA, HATE MULLA, HATE JIHADism
hey the new feeds of geo are still not updated.
http://www.flickr.com/photos/awahid/497582572/
Screen shot of news feed
@ Mohajir
I can bet you are born much later then 1945, you are born in divided Sub-continent in a republic of Pakistan somewhere in SINDH
How long do you all plan to carry the Notion of MOHAJIR - Everyone in Karachi is Mohajir either way
A$$ H O L E S - :) 100 % of Karachi speaks URDU, 98% Pakistan speaks and understands URDU.
Karachi is City of people who migrate in search of better aspects of life in terms of economics, lifestyle, education, competition among themselves and to LIVE and LET LIVE, be it from any part of economy hit neighborhood, let alone be Pakistan
we can find gilgiti, kashmiri, burmese, bengalis, punjabis, pakhtoons, migrants from bharat, iranis, balochis, etc etc etc everyone in Karachi.
What we cannot find / Identify is - PAKISTANIs., within Pakistan and outside Pakistan, Awesome isn’t it
Altaf Hussain is now proud British, I suggest he shall STOP acting like miserable founder of MOHAJIR Qaumi movement, Please
http://www.geo.tv/geonews/archive.asp
click on the “go” button.
check the video of father of MQM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=h0L9MPFodUg
HAha, just woke up, even though it hurts, couldnt stop laughing.
Wonder who did it.
Great coverage MB - I think this is the true meaning of blogging to report and discuss issues as they happen.
Newspaper journalist are usually involved in a ONE-SIDED exchange while we the bloggers get to take the steam immediately as we publish the report.
Well done
http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?image=6103717k16rp5.jpg
http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?image=6103629k15aa4.jpg
http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?image=6111328k17fm3.jpg
http://img227.imageshack.us/my.php?image=6103629k15fe1.jpg
- without biasing the outfit of the people visible in the pics is itself telling another story -
BE IT MQM - PPP - ANP - etc etc
perhaps teeth maestro — but i wonder how you allow yourselves to make unsusbtantiated and scurrilous allegations like MB made that GEO did this itself — does he have any proof to back what he said — if not, it would be better for you to delete that particular remark — ironic that most of you here accuse the print and electronic media of sensationalism but think nothing about doing the same yourselves
seems like my pic links are again gone to trash / moderation bin
yes its pretty childish that geo would have done itself unless proves are provided.
awab, well yes it happens tht papers do favor a particular party,usually a ruling party but in current scnerio, I can figure out that Newspapers are under heavy pressure by govt. Pls dont forget that we are under living under a dictatorship regime so don;t expect 100% freedom by papers.
Interestingly, while GEO web team did manage to change the single details.asp which contains most of the news content, they overlooked the area and still they are showing up on the Page Title (window title).
The website is back.
The english news section of the site is still suspended. The website now displays the following msg:
Our website was hacked and it was suspended temporarily.
We apologize for the inconvenience.
Webmaster Geo TV
@Jamal: Your images are posted here, with due credits.
I don’t think we are ever going to find out if the web was really hacked or was it an insiders job… as far as their security is concerned its.. really lame.. no one think about security… in Pakistan .. absoloutly no one… I have been able to penetrate many of the websites lately and I do know the standard of security they have even a script kiddie can get into their webserver… as far as anti or pro musharaf is concerned the people of karachi have seen enough proof to make up their mind about right or wrong.. so this seemed to be the perfect reaction of AN AVERAGE PAKISTANI…. and belive me I was in favour of the government before 12th May… We should also look at the other side.. where Afghni’s have attacked our boders taking into account our internal issues.. and who knows we might get our so called (brothers) neighbouring country attacking us too.. GOD Help Pakistan.
Registrar Supreme Court Murdered at his HOME in Islamabad
نامعلوم مسلح افراد نے پیر کو علی الصبح سپریم کورٹ کے ایڈیشنل رجسٹرار کو اسلام آباد میں ان کے گھر پرگولی مار کر ہلاک کر دیا ہے۔
ŸæŸàŸÑ€åÿ≥ ⁄©€í ŸÖÿ∑ÿßÿ®ŸÇ ÿ≥€åÿØ ÿ≠ŸÖÿßÿØ ÿ±ÿ∂ÿß ⁄©Ÿà ÿ≥ÿ± ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ⁄ØŸàŸÑ€å ŸÖÿßÿ± ⁄©ÿ± €ÅŸÑÿß⁄© ⁄©€åÿß ⁄Ø€åÿ߀î ÿ߀í ÿ߀åŸÅ Ÿæ€å ŸÜ€í ÿßÿ≥ŸÑÿßŸÖ ÿ¢ÿ®ÿßÿØ ŸæŸàŸÑ€åÿ≥ ⁄©€í ÿߟÅÿ≥ÿ± ŸÖÿ≠ŸÖÿØ ÿßÿ≥ŸÑŸÖ ⁄©€í ÿ≠Ÿàÿߟрí ÿ≥€í ÿ®ÿ™ÿ߀åÿß €Å€í ⁄©€Å’ŸÜÿߟÖÿπŸÑŸàŸÖ ŸÖÿ≥ŸÑÿ≠ ÿߟÅÿ±ÿßÿØ ÿ≠ŸÖÿßÿØ ÿ±ÿ∂ÿß ⁄©€í ⁄Ø⁄æÿ± ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ÿØÿßÿÆŸÑ €ÅŸàÿ¶€í ÿߟàÿ± ÿߟ܀ŀå⁄∫ ⁄ØŸàŸÑ€å ŸÖÿßÿ± ⁄©ÿ± ŸÇÿ™ŸÑ ⁄©ÿ± ÿØ€åÿß’ €î
Kashif am not talking about these - am talking about 4 of Sunday - with people having gun in hands and bleeding guy dragged by 2 people, 4 links i pasted in here and does not appeared it -
-
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/05/070514_sc_registral_rza.shtml
-
@JAMAL & all others
MIND your language mate it shows the values your parents taught u
hahahah there u go..thts where the hatred is hidden deep inside u…….
Mohajir is sumthing which was given to us by the ppl like u..u called us hindustanis, u called us Ghaddar, u call us …..well yes PAKISTANI thts wht the struggle is all about….it us who build this city we Mohajirs and now u r claiming it …we werent the ones who start ethnic wars..we are still open but its u ppl who are seeing this chaos an oppertunity to grab Govt. Musharraf is the one who effetively control the hatred…..and we will be with him till he is against the ETHNIC AND RELIGIOUS EXTREMISTS……MIND your language mate it shows the values your parents tought u..
@JAMAL & all others
MIND your language mate it shows the values your parents taught u
hahahah there u go..thts where the hatred is hidden deep inside u…….
Mohajir is sumthing which was given to us by the ppl like u..u called us hindustanis, u called us Ghaddar, u call us …..well yes PAKISTANI thts wht the struggle is all about….it us who build this city we Mohajirs and now u r claiming it …we werent the ones who start ethnic wars..we are still open but its u ppl who are seeing this chaos an oppertunity to grab Govt. Musharraf is the one who effetively control the hatred…..and we will be with him till he is against the ETHNIC AND RELIGIOUS EXTREMISTS……MIND your language mate it shows the values your parents tought u..
@ Mohajir
unless all like you choose to live in that self cast shell, nothing would look right to you.
why ppl adopt and speak french when in france, or rather why would you speak english when in london.
why the Altaf Hussain took oath of obediency to church of england and to queen in english language when he was getting the passport???
Then why the hell your “ancestors” choose not to speak native language of the areas where they settled and did not blended themselves,.
Benagli, Burmese, Gilgiti, Pathan, Saraiki all comes to Karachi and learn URDU, but majority of urdu speaking who came in from bharat in 1947 till 1953 they choose not to adopt the native language of areas of settlement, instead they choose to stand alone like Bamboo in rose garden.
A friend’s cousin born 1972 still says he is mohajir from muradabad, where as he is in Federal Service DMG group on the quota of khairpur courtesy Qaim ali shah., but he is thankless stupid still considering himself a mohajir.
problem is with thought process, which have pencil beam and can blind out surroundings even in day light
Allah help you !
“Bamboo in rose garden” Jamal Shamsi: Yaar iss situation meiN there’s another problem. My grandparents were immigrants in Pakistan, as well — THEY were Muhajirs. I, however, am a Pakistani — a Karachi’ite, right? That’s what I refer to myself as.
What happens, however, is that people from other ethnic groups in Pakistan ask me where I’m from.
Me: Karachi. : )
Them: Urdu-speaking?
Me: Jee?!
Them: Peechhey kahaaN sey haiN?
Me: O_o I beg your pardon? O_o
Them: HaaN yaani Karachi sey pehley kahaaN sey haiN?
Me: Jee I was born in Karachi, brought up elsewhere outside Pakistan. Now I’m settled in Karachi — that’s my hometown.
Them: Nahi nahi aap k ancestors kahaaN sey aaey thhey?
Me: wtf?!
So you see, even though I don’t refer to myself as a Muhajir, most other people that I meet forcibly categorize me as one. A PPP leader I was talking to yesterday tried to do the same thing. What does one do in a situation of this sort?
Oh, and the Bamboo in a rose garden waala comment was hilariously awesome! :D
Uzi - Thats very truely explained, and understandbly valid.
So far with 3 qtrs of my life done, I never faced such a dialogue,
However, i can understand the irony of situation, though saying Urban Sindhi is what i heard from many, in Islamabad., shutting up those who wanted to know “peechay sai kahan kai”
Its close to 60 FQIN years and even if NOW we cannot let go and elevate ourselves from the “Peechay sai kahan kai”, then yeah “peecha kabhi peecha nahi chohray ga”
and our next generations will question “who are we” a Pakistani or a 4th generation of battered migrants from nowhere.
Uzi,
‘wtf’ is the right answer in the above case. When people ask me such questions, I insult them but that’s just me…. God forgive me, i need to behave.. hehehehe…
So how many arrests have been made so far? anybody know?
Geo website found working at 18.22 hrs (13.22 GMT)May 14.There’s a note that it was hacked.
Geo needs to hire some good internet security experts to avoid this from happening again.
@ UZi, sad—but true :{.
We all play are part in fueling the ratial fire at one time or another.
Bash me all you want, but alignment to mqm does not help either.
Whatever one says about their “good deeds”, you tend to belive what you see.
Ppl see a bunch of gun-totting thugs who bully everyone when they have the slightest of power.
As soon as someone puts them in their place, they start crying about “hum bechare mazloom”.
Leaders like the present bunch & ppl like Mohajir dont help either.
No matter what ure background, we all need to call black as black.
Even if someone migrated in 1975, uve been here 30+ years.
How long does it take to stop calling ureselves MOHAJIR?
The same ppl just fly over the US and prefer to be called Americans!.
Pathetic.
Until & unless ppl like u & me open our minds, we will continue to be played against each other.
Muhajir I think is not used is the sense of a person coming to Pakistan for temporary reason now. Muhajir refers to somebody whose ancestors are Urdu Speaking and came from India at partition. This is merely identification of people who can not be classified anywhere else. And there is no harm in it as long as it is used for identification only. The objection on using Mohajir is useless..some people why you call mohajir after all the usual question listed by UZI..my reply is ok tell me what should they call themselves?
and this doesn’t mean that they are denying being Pakistani.. its on the same pattern a punjabi is punjabi but also Pakistani (Pakistani first)
what mohajir means in english? immigrant or migrant?
Migrant is a person who moves regularly in order to find work…
Immigrant is person who comes to a country to take up permanent residence…
In our case, none of the above, Mohajir is a person who belongs to MQM.
aren’t these people pakistani??
If so, then i think that is there only crime , that they are mahajirs and not punjabis ……
http://youtube.com/watch?v=yekWLAIThqI
mahajir means whatever but instead of literary meaning what should be assumed when one say I am muhajir is that it belongs to certain class (group )of people and thats it..
People like Turab and MQMers use this as a racist factor to spread hatred..which is totally different and extremely condemnable.
Turab would you be ready to follow Altaf Hussain on the day of judgement?
For people like Turab nothing works, religion, moral reasoning nothing..they just want to create mess.
i think interracial marriage is one way to counter this issue. urdu speaking folks need to marry only non-urdu’s and vice versa. in my case, i come from an urdu speaking family but I never date a mohajir girl and thats my contribution to the society :)
Peace!
If somebody migrates to Canada within just 3 years they get the citizenship and then they are no more immigrant and called as citizens so then how come if somebody is born and raised in Khi would be Immigrant still now ??? No way.
We should get rid of this word. This word was introduce to make ppl fool.
The RSS feed still remains hacked and has yet to be restored at 8:00pm PST check out a screen capture here and I was literally ROTFL reading the message posted by the hackers. It was short, simple yet powerful
Heo RSS feed Screen capture
Talk of Muhajir/Pathan /Punjabi/Baluchi after 60years of getting a country is still talk of the town?We had hatred against BEngali and were mistreated them so they decided to part away from US. NowAfter 36 years same kind of talk has started, Please keep in mind this is an international Conspiracy against our HOMELAND we should not be talking like that, We all are Pakistani First then come any thing.
ARE WE ASHAMED OF CALLING OUR SELF PAKISTANI? If yes then time is not far away when we will be subdivided in to more smaller COUNTRIES.MQM might be holding more seats but what percentage of KARACHI VOted?29% right.SILENT MAJORITY OF ALL PART OF PAKISTAN NEEDS TO WAKE UP? Needs to participate in the election . ALL THESE POLITICAL PARTIES NEEDS TO BE KICKED OUT OF POWER AND NEW GENERATION LEADERSHIP MUST COME OUT SO THEY CAN IMPROVE THE SITUATION in the country.
@Khitropit
how would you answer when somebody ask you similar question as written above?
where are you from ?
either you say Urdu-Speaking or Mohajir ..what matters that this should be used and accepted as a classification for identification and nothing more…so objections on mohajir because it means immigrant are illogical because its not used by mahajirs for this meaning.
Are you guys new to Pakistan or something. Why are we discussing Muhajir all of a sudden. We already know wht it means.
@ Mr. Shamsi, As far as intigrating ourselves into Sindh and becoming sindhi is concerned, why should we do tht, we have a distinct culture, why should we lose tht. I am a Muhajir and will always be one because tht is wht I am.
@BitterTruth
If somebody asks me who are you ? My answer is muslim, Alhamdo-lillah.
If somebody asks me where are you from ? I answer them I belong to Pakistan and I am proud to be Pakistani :).
Although I have two nationality and will have the third one in the future.
@Pkhan,
Thts a very nobel thought, but who is this new generation tht we should be voting for, please dont say Imran Khan, he is no politician.
It easy to say it dude, but no one wants to get their hands dirty in politics, If you go for elections, let me know, I will vote for u? I will vote for any one who is sincere to khi.
i hope defacers didn’t deleted the original pages.. coz normally they do backup stuff before defacing.. they just want to protest and don’t want to harm anyone..
@ Concerned
Imran Khan is not a leader, this new leader ship needs to come out of young generation who know how to communicate and how to disagree or agree based on the issue, if we can not bring the young generation in next election then OUR ARMY IS READY TO TAKE OVER, WITH FINE YOUNG OFFICERS who ARE AS LOYAL TO THE COUNTRY AS ANY OF THE EXISTING POLITICIAN. Those DAYS are not far away and you and I will see that together.
We as citizen must REJECT all the OLD FACES IN POLITICS>
I think Benazir is next. the stage is being set for her. All she needs is an OK from Washington. Our idiots who had accused and arrested Zardari for corruption could not prove him guilty. His release was a big win for PPP in the eyes of the international community.
uff GEO is such a drama queen honestly.. who would wanna hack their website? the tv channel is so shyt!
“i think interracial marriage is one way to counter this issue. urdu speaking folks need to marry only non-urdu’s and vice versa. in my case, i come from an urdu speaking family but I never date a mohajir girl and thats my contribution to the society :)”
HAAAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!. :D.
My response was specific to writer - MOHAJIR
not the whole of native urdu speaking people.
With all due respect to everyone,
by blending I did not mean cultural abondonment, neither distancing from value of ancestors, blending in my humble opinion is flexibility to adopt and be part of the neighborhood and be part & parcel of their grievences, joys, festivities and respect for each others’ values and inviting them to be with us in our occassions. Call it cultral reciprocity.
My Dada was a Doctor educated from AMU, my Nana was an accountant educated from AMU, both were setteled in two distinct business centres of the undivided Indian north west
My father was born in Karachi of undivided India (even at that time Karachi was there - My mom was born in Layllpur of undivided India) they both were educated at Aligarh Muslim University now what would many of you call them.
I was born raised & educated in Karachi & away from Pakistan
so who am I ???
I speak & write urdu, speak saraiki, punjabi, I speak & write fluent persian as well so - where would people like Concerned & Mohajir place me - in Punjab, or in waziristan calling me a foreigner terrorist, wajib-ul qatal.
Am born Pakistani, n would love to die as Pakistani,
So stop the non-sense ! :) be Pakistani
It easy to say it dude, but no one wants to get their hands dirty in politics, If you go for elections, let me know, I will vote for u? I will vote for any one who is sincere to khi.
maybe this way of thinking has been deliberately put in our brains? to reserve politics for luchay lafangay?
Jamal…………thats a very good post
QUOTE “We as citizen must REJECT all the OLD FACES IN POLITICS”UNQUOTE
Totally agree with you except, if you will
allow me, may I change one single solitary
letter in your sentence?
FACES …. FECES
So you see, even though I don’t refer to myself as a Muhajir, most other people that I meet forcibly categorize me as one. A PPP leader I was talking to yesterday tried to do the same thing. What does one do in a situation of this sort?
Why didnt you answer him back saying your and our ancestors used to hang around trees together?
BOOZI wah wah wah wah,
10-Q you made my day (evening)
am laughing,
at last I saw some sensible arguments and a little hope –@ UZI thnx for mentioning one point..
Ok people.let me tell u wht my points are
first of all who ever thinks what ever about MQM it will be fair that they should also respect millions of people who support them, freedom of speach does’nt mean that you abuse some one..
what I learned from the recent events that how easy it is to spread the Hate, how easy it is to create an ethnic, racial, sectarian violence inferno in Pakistan, I beleive that in recent 6-7 years karachits had room to bridge the gaps but the last three days shattered it all…but still I strongly belive there is hope
as far as my position on Mohajir is concerned my point is that the word Mohajir is something we have been given, RIGHT or WRONG but the people who migrated from India had sacrificed alot, when they came here Karachi was merely a small city under administration of BOMBAY…..our parents build it, unfortunately we did’nt realize at that time that pakistan is not pakistan but NWFP, SIND, PUNJAB and Balochistan and to be a Pakistani we have to be one of them- unfortunately we lost one part because of ethnicity and after that when we were in search of identity we unite at the platform of MQM…one have the right to think freely and act freely but Its the TRUTH that MQM was RE-ACTION not ACTION, obviously we have come a long way from those Dark Eras but whts next…..
I belive that responsibility is on every one of us , for that yes there should be strong Judiciary, strong laws, strong law enforcement in place, No one should be allowed to discouraged, insulted and rejected because his dada was from INDIA, there should be fair and equal rights for each and every citizen, a country where the ethnic, racial, sectarian back grounds are so important and violent, there must be strong laws to takle the issues………
Lets be fair…..there are always two or more aspects of issues, the chap who floated the idea of inter-racial marriages actually rite to some extent but that has to start from metropolices and will surely play important part…
I also think that the there should be atleast 7-8 more big metropolices in pakistan so that the pressure on karachi should be diverted and new civil cultures will grow………
I would also like to clear that I dont belive in Racism, but one can not ignore the ground facts and realities.its there its right there on the streets and we have to work to think and go beyond it…
POLITICALY I support MUSHARRAF and MQM and Its my right….
Mohajir, you are either joking or living in self denial. you sound so out of touch man……
well, the term ‘urdu speaking’ is like alias of “Mohajir” who moved from India to Pakistan after partititon. I remember that sindhi leaders like Mumtaz Bhutto etc used to hate MQM and so many times asked urdu speaking people to get back to India otherwise live like a Sindhi in Sind. It would be useless and lame debate that every Pakistani can speak urdu so he’s urdu speaking. we all know what Urdu speaking means.
We were mohajir before labelling as MOhajir and we will be mohajir forever. What I personally believe that highliting immigrants as “Mohajir” was not a good experience and Zia delibrately tried to produce a generation which could deal with his oponents. The initial Manifesto of MQM was to raise voice against violence faced by “Mohajirs”. Karachi which is/was highly populated by immigrants welcomed MQM for this slogan. Plus MQM unlike other parties had educated and middle class people.
If I read today their new manifesto, you will find not terms like Urdu speaking , now they talk about “98% underprivileged” now. The other thing they now talk is REALISM and PRACTICALISM. I don’t understand what do they mean by that. Do they define REALISM as “We rule in Karachi so don’t take panga with us otherwise…” and PRACTICALISM as they demonstrated on 12th May 07? I don’t know but these terms are pretty vague.
A decade back, they used to whine about Quota system and Mehsoorin of Bangladesh but they don’t talk about it anymore. They still talk about Fudalism and still have a seprate section. I think it’s just formality because if they omit this section as well, then nothing will be left in their hands to whine about.
Anyways, I am going thru their NEW manifesto, however I wish one could send me the old and orginal Manifesto before splitting of MQM (Haqiqi) when they used to talk about MOHAJIRS only.
whats Altaf’s source of income? how does he feed his family and pays salary to his bodyguards? can any of his loyals answer that? we know that zardari’s & sharif’s come from a wealthy background but yeh saala to apne jaisa ghareeb thaa.. :)
@ Jamal
I am a Pakistani first, then anything else. I support MQM becuase they have shown more loyalty to Khi then most previous leaders (May 12 aside, will not comment on tht). Also they are against feudalism the root cause of all tht is wrong in pakistan.
If any one can find me a party more loyal to Khi, other then a fuedal, I will vote for them. But there isnt any. My statement does not mean tht BB has ever shown loyalty to khi.
Pkhan, dude thts wishful thinking, no one is going to come into politics, especially not the younger generation. You need money for this, I am willing to run, but who is going to pay for it.
Also nothing in this country happens without the backing of fuedals or the army. you know tht, stop being so naive.
I light of my previous comment, MQM is the only option we have, It just needs the younger educated generation. Its not a party for just Muhajirs, its against feudalism. It just needs a bit of cleaning.
I dont say support Altaf Bhai (i dont), support the cause. support the idea. support khi. This is the only way we can.
the website; http://www.flickr.com is blocked in UAE!
Whats on it?
Concerned:
“I light of my previous comment, MQM is the only option we have, It just needs the younger educated generation. Its not a party for just Muhajirs, its against feudalism. It just needs a bit of cleaning”
habibee u are aginst feudalism, right!
what about the Urban feudals of MQM…..if u do not agree with them u are dead meat even if u are a Muhajir!!
Petarian - whats ur e-mail, am landing Tuesday night let us meet. jamal.shamsi@gmail.com is mine
Flickr worx in airport freezone, knowledge village, media city, marina, jumeriah, greens, lake and jabel ali. try that from any of those locations even orkut work outta those places. be it dsl or dial-up firewall ports are compromised.
- Concerned - consider why not be PAKISTANI and PAKISTAN, the TOP priority
Why only Karachi ?? -
G O aur G NAY 2 - u forgot - there is another off- shot of Jews, living in Pennsylvania Called Amish community -
no body mess with them not even President of USA
do some google search on AMISH
@concerned:
you said:
“dont say support Altaf Bhai (i dont), support the cause. support the idea. support khi. This is the only way we can.”
I say this to MQM:
bhaar mein gaya cause. cut this BS and get straight to the point.. KARACHIITES ARE PISSED OFF ON YOU, ALTAF…
we gave you 20 years… what’s the result? just blood shed, lawlessness and insecurity… first give us PEACE and then talk about changing the system and other feudalism shit……
@Petarian
Like I said, it needs cleaning. Not everyone is tht bad. There are some really nice ppl in MQM, who truly believe in the cause.
@ Jamal
The reason I say only khi, bec like every Mohajir (you prob have heard this alot), I dont like the way khi has been treated in the past by the Bara bhai. We generated 70% of the revenue for the country at one point but it didnt show in our infrastructure, it was never improved. I agree the revenue generation should be evenly distributed and everyone should get a share but not at the expense of Khi. Bec if an industry moves out of the city (like it has happened in the past) it has knockon effect all over the city, leading to more social unrest and high crime rates.
And hey I love my city and it aint second best to any place.
Any one can see the proof my point just cee Mr. GEO AUR GENEY DO……well for people like them are the true faces of Barbarianism in Pakistan…. ppl like u are the messengers of Hatred..
@Salman,
Sahi hai, lets live under the feudals for another 50 years and have a few more military takeover and around 2050, we can call it quits and join india or maybe Afghanistan.
During the past 7 years when MQM has had some proper power, havent you seen a change in khi, I know i have, alright we had some law and order problems but other then tht. the economy has boomed, dont ask me for statistics but you know it has. the infrastructure has improved. More jobs are planned, about half a dozen major projects are about to come up. Call centres is a big thing for an area with a big middle class, it provides alot of jobs, there are more coming up everyday.
As for the big change, its not easy getting rid of feudals, u know tht, u have to have a national party for tht and MQM has been trying for tht, but its hard to penetrate the bigger market with the most seat (punjab). MQM is only a regional party it will take time to make it national. and once national Feudalism can be slowly removed. Please point out one country where feudalism has actaully helped in growth. It doesnt. Feudalism will always keep us backward and fighting it is the cause.
thanks for the drama geo, urdu speakers are only like jews in the sense that they are well educated and as for being satan worshippers please tell all Jamiaat’s urdu speakers as much I am sure they’d like to show you what your colon looks like from the inside :)
Concerned, do you have any prove of this 70% revenue?
Even now that Pakistan has become somewhat industrialised, according to CIA factbook here are Pakistan’s major exports;
Exports - commodities:
textiles (garments, bed linen, cotton cloth, yarn), rice, leather goods, sports goods, chemicals, manufactures, carpets and rugs
How much cotton, rice or leather is produced in Karachi?
Isn’t it a case of ‘ulta chore kotual ko daantay’?
I know exactly what uzi means, i always say from karachi and many people just wont stop asking till you say something else so i say my grandparents were from UP but i am from karachi.
We Lahoris pay tribute to you people (karachi’ites), you are really strong and may Allah give you more strength and solve all your problems. (Aameen!) and Save you from Barbaric, Inhumane THUGS….. DISGRACE
this alot), I dont like the way khi has been treated in the past by the Bara bhai. We generated 70% of the revenue for the country at one point but it didnt show in our infrastructure, it was never improved
well, because local party MQM didn’t show any reistance when punjab was enjoying our revenue? MQM kept bulshitting about lame thnigs like they are doing today. the simple thing is that punjabi govts were LOYAL to PUNJAB while Karachi govts were loyal to seat only. This is why whether there is govt of Shahbaz shareef or Khaliq Maqbool they preferred development of Punjab first then they did their traditional dirty politics.
I know such things would hurt you but nothing wrong to appreciate the good qualities of oponents. I do second you that role of Punjab is not good for Pakistan but our own people also didn’t do much either. jab apna bura tu dosra ko gaali kion?
@smarty pants (Self)
Revenues means taxes (and other duties). Exports have very little to do with it. Just go back and have a look at the records of the 80s and you will see how much taxes Khi paid. Also dude do u really think people growing cotton (or any agricultural item) actualy pay correct taxes? lol. which world do u live in dude.
@Adnan
I actually agree with you. Punjab prospered because ppl were loyal to it. and tht is commendable, I am not giving them gaali, I am just cautious. Just one question, who has been more loyal to khi in the past 20 yrs? dont talk to me abt law and order, talk to me abt basic economics.
@adnan
Just to ans the part I dont agree with MQM had started showing resistence in the past few years when they got some stability and they will continue to show resistence, I am sure of it.
“Revenues means taxes (and other duties).”
Exactly how do people have this money to pay taxes? Care to elaborate what commodity or service Karachi has that earns it 70% of country’s revenue?
PS: Growing cotton does earn country valuable foreign exchange to pay for public services.
Concerned, I hope you have a better explanation to support your 70% revenue BS than Farooq Satar’s cock and bull story as to how MQM is totally innocent in 5/12’s fiasco.
Government is now after media web sites; http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2007-daily/15-05-2007/topst/main21.gif
(third news from top)
@Omar R. Quraishi
Dear Omar bhai. I wish you could have bothered to read the previous comments before commenting. For newbies i can understand but a person as senior as you not reading previous comments and saying this is not fair.
I didn’t say GEO did it, itself. I said if the person above me accusses that its not done by GEO then logiclaly does it mean its been done by GEO. That was a question and a i guess you didn’t get it right.
When did i say GEO did it. Its bad people commenting without reading previous comments.
ust one question, who has been more loyal to khi in the past 20 yrs? dont talk to me abt law and order, talk to me abt basic economics.
Noone and this include MQM as well. You would have to face tough time to say anything in favor of MQM to prosper this city. MQM made Naimutallah’s life difficult when he was Nazim and tried its best to create hurdle in his projects while on other hand this thing didn’t happen in Punjab because they kept personal differences and development seprate.
BTW, that 70% factor is not valid anymore. It was valid before 90s operation. Lots of industries got shifted after 90s clash. Just read today’s Jang and don’t curse Punjab for this just because these guys are willing to go Lahore now. Don’t blame them for this.
tinyurl.com/2mahho
Check your facts before you say anything.
Calm down people … The Karachi and the ethnic divide you all speak of is new. Some of you were probably not even born in the 70’s when no such thing existed. Heck, even the early 80’s were ok.
I was there and I still, perhaps mistakenly, live in the dream of Karachi of that time. And damn proud of it.
Whatever each of you says here is unfortunately right. Influx of people from upcountry, labeling of ethnic communities, everything is fine. But it is all a product of mistrust, misinformation and manipulation that has seeped into our psyche in the past 20 or so years.
Many of you hate Zia but still do the things he wanted you do. It was a simple case of a military dictator against the people of Pakistan. The people of Karachi were manipulated by the ISI then, we are again being used as a pawn now. I don’t blame MQM, JI, PPP or anyone else. Each of these parties has unfortunately not grown in maturity to stand up against the dictates of ISI.
As for the people, the worst of civilian rulers are better than the best of military dictators. Why ? Simply because you can reach them, stop them or not elect them next time.
My anguish this time is that anarchy prevailed on May 12. The Army, to protect itself, has unleashed terror on the people. And we stand here blaming MQM or other parties. They are helpless. Simply pawns in the game and we, the people, are fodder.
The military calls us the “bloody civilians”. Very smartly, they have convinced “bloodier civilians” to stand as a shield between it and the people. In speeches Musharraf stands behind a bullet proof screen to address his supporters. Elsewhere, the “bloodier civilians” are his shield.
Things can only change if all these bloodier civilians: MQM, JI, PPP (who each has enjoyed a ride in the lap of military) realize they are the pawns and for once have SOME RECONCILIATION and do the right thing.
According to CBR (http://www.cbr.gov.pk) statistics - as of September 2006 The 2 ports located in SINDH Bin Qasim and Karachi are generating 87% of revenue on the import of raw material and capital good.
Karachi alone generate - 37% of GST of total GST revenue of Pakistan.
Now here I would stand firm and solid that Karachi is backbone of economy of Pakistan.
Punjab, NWFP & Balochistan does not have legitimate businesses - simple any industrial unit be it cottage or commercial - not paying GST and or Income tax is NOT Legitimate - 90% of Punjab & NWFP industry is run on Kunda, Income tax and sales tax inspectors are having monthly and Total Govt revenue is based on what is dedcuted at source and in utility BILLS.
Giant Conglomerates does not have choice so they pay.
This is a fact sheet published by International Monetary fund Quarterly report of April 2006, on their recommendation the tax net has to be boradened in the Punjab towns with cottage industry in the areas spread across the northern punjab and sourthern NWFP.
Simple, it is about Pakistan and we need to be Pakistani 1st
This morning at 5 AM an associate who is stationed in Madras - India (silicon valley of india) on deputation from USA called asking whats going on in Karachi is it gunbattle on streets what are you doing there pack up take away family go away why putting everyone at risk. - and I was in quiet AWE - said nothing told him to pray for harmony and peace in my city.
“Karachi are generating 87% of revenue on the import of raw material and capital good.
Karachi alone generate - 37% of GST of total GST revenue of Pakistan.”
How much of ‘70% revenue of the countryy’ does the above make? 5%?
Give facts, figures and proof of rest of the 70% revenue supposedly generated by Karachi. Don’t try to play a quick one….like Farooq Sattar.
“Now here I would stand firm and solid that Karachi is backbone of economy of Pakistan.”
Does it generate 70% of country’s revenue? That is the question.
@Self
Dude first off I said it generated (past tense) 70%, tht was in the 80s. And Jamash’s points are correct,
“Punjab, NWFP & Balochistan does not have legitimate businesses - simple any industrial unit be it cottage or commercial - not paying GST and or Income tax is NOT Legitimate - 90% of Punjab & NWFP industry is run on Kunda, Income tax and sales tax inspectors are having monthly and Total Govt revenue is based on what is dedcuted at source and in utility BILLS.”
That is the revenue for the govt not exports and please tell me how foregin exchange pays for public services, taxes pay for public services, if the industry for example the cotton industry is not taxed properly the only contribution it makes is to the black money of the growers. Dude I can bet you are not a business student.
@Mr Shamsi
As usual I agree with you, Pakistan first. that is important, but KHi should not be neglected either, like it has been in the past.
@Adnan
Dude I do have my facts straight, I know wht happened, the question was has the economy improved during the last MQM rule, they had political issues and werent able to do more tht is another issue. but they have still done more all the terms of BB combined.
A seperate question for everyone. Who do we vote for in the next elections? Who do we want?
@CONCERN
IMRAN KHAN just because he isn’t tested.
@MB
are you serious? he barely has one seat, Its going to take another 20 years just to get him majority in provincial elections (best chance is sindh), you can forget abt getting him to the centre.
Chacha our country is run by feudals. Majority of our population is in villages and they vote for their chaudary or wadera and no chaudary or wadera is going to side with him. you know all this but u still say imran khan. why MB why?
ONLY AFSOS
Plez can u give a link of geo when website hacked
“I support MQM becuase they have shown more loyalty to Khi then most previous leaders”
hahahaa…….. cannot get a better joke than this.
@CONCERN
you didn’t read my whole sentence properly. It was a hypothetical answer.
Good one! go go!
http://www.essaytown.com
“http://www.essaytown.com”
Concerned, you are giving BS just like Jamash did before. Give me some facts and figures with references how much of Country’s economy depends on revenue from Karachi. As for your claim as not legitimate is just your claim just like the baseless claims MQM makes to gain certain votes. Do you have any proof?
You, like Jamash, obviously have not been any place outside Karachi or you would have known how much industry there is in the rest of the country. Just an example of financial strength in Sialkot the new airport was built by industrialists from the city themselves. You just have no idea about anything and like Jamash sit at home and make up whatever fairy tales you want.
Sir my name is Sanaullah and my residing at Chishtian ,District Bahawalnagar our here now hepn fresh news our city Chishtiain a big Landloard Zamindar Muhammad Azeem Killed 7 Fires, he go to Courts of hearing and some un-knonw person comet 125 Motorcycle and he fire Landoard Muhammad Azeem and he died at the time and killed is successful for running this circum is hepn 11:30 AM and if you want verified so called Police Station City Chishtian and asked more detailed, Sir i oftenly trying that you include me as a reporter but unfortune i ignored howerver please given me chance and i am assure i give you true adn unbelievable stories and certainly your appriciate me.
My Mobil No: 0333-6342330
@Sanaullah
I shall send you a personal email in a day or two. Please read it & follow.
Thanks