Pakistani vision?

Pakistan Ka matlab kya?

Bum dhamaka aur aghwa

Tera Pakistan hai na mera Pakistan hai, yeh uss ka Pakistan hai jo sad-re Pakistan hai,

Pakistan say zinda bhaag….

I received this sms a few days back. After the initial laugh, venomous sarcasm kind of left me wondering. Is there anything that can be done, or will we just get immune to this?

34 Comments so far

1. SELF (unregistered) on May 20th, 2007 @ 5:34 pm

Pakistan Ka matlab kya? Laillah ha illalah..

Haven’t we rubbed this slogan long enough…?

Isn’t it time to redefine ‘Pakistan Ka matlab kya?’ according to how we want our country in the early part of 21st century and beyond?

Molvis need not apply however. If it were for you we would still be part of united India. Only those whose forefathers were pro-Pakistan please.

2. Petarian_88 (unregistered) on May 20th, 2007 @ 5:46 pm

it’s quite interesting that the JI, and other maulvis….all opposed the creation of pakistan.

in hindsight, i have great regard for their stand i.e it would devided muslims of india into 3 parts and it did. muslims were one third of a united india. now we are in three parts!

but the funny part is that as soon as pakistan was created they jumped on the bandwagon pretty late i.e after pakistan was created & started scheming to take it over for themselves!

it’s pretty ironic:))

3. Arsalaan Haleem (unregistered) on May 20th, 2007 @ 7:23 pm

This is just pathetic. Instead of highlighting all the good this country has to offer, we just highlight all the negativity, all the time.

And the irony is that it is US, the young generation, who is spreading all this negativity.

4. A for [pine]apple (unregistered) on May 20th, 2007 @ 8:01 pm

Keeping the wit and reality aside …. this makes me pretty sad, the reality and us getting immune to all of it.

But then there’s a positivity to all this too; we are a nation who REACTS – we dont act usually. Maybe after seeing such a thing – we act react positively and do good for Pakistan :->

5. BitterTruth (unregistered) on May 20th, 2007 @ 9:35 pm

funny sms but why the post on metroblog?

6. Raza (unregistered) on May 20th, 2007 @ 9:40 pm

Yeah, lately all kinds of crap has been making it to KMB! What’s going on editors ?! You taking the piss or what?

7. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on May 20th, 2007 @ 9:55 pm

A country where educated and “non-molvis” people who appear to be PRO-Pakistan creation don’t hesitate to call M.A.Jinnah a “Gay”[you know the urdu term used for _gay_] in song “Ao Bacho Sair Karain tumko Pakistan ki”, these slogans appear quite innocent to me which are relevent and true.

However, I do agree that this post is pretty useless.

8. Tamed~. (unregistered) on May 20th, 2007 @ 10:49 pm

Jaisi awam waisay hukam-raan.

Indeed it is a vicious circle.

9. Henna (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 1:23 am

Raza why don’t you suggest a good story, since all that is being posted is crap. Sounds good?

10. Cyrum (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 1:57 am

posting an sms on blog ??? whats the catch ? is it topic or what ? – sheesh i wasted time too commenting on it {:o)

11. Zeeshan Syed (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 2:33 am

I believe the SARCASTIC version are much more closer to the reality. Sad but oh-so-true!

12. Zeeshan Syed (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 2:35 am

Question: Is there anything that can be done?
    Answer: Get out! get out! get out!

13. Zeeshan Syed (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 2:36 am

I also agree that there is no purpose of this post. Has nothing to do with KARACHI itself. Sorry Henna!

14. Salman A. (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 8:35 am

running low or ideas? ask me.. main hoon na.. LOL

write up on social issues like marriage and divorce. 3 types of marriages are common in our society:
    1- love marriage
    2- cousin marriage
    3- through third party/common friends/marriage bureau

– what are the pro’s and con’s of each? may be people can share their experiences here.
    – why is divorce rate creeping high? i think ‘cos of too much materialisim in the society.
    – rising dowry cost in uncontrollable inflation. i feel sorry for my in-laws to be :)

Thats all for now. Hope the author(s) can extract some topics out of it.

15. M SaeedUr Rahman (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 8:36 am

The example of us Pakistani is very well put in my favorite phrase”everyone wants to go to heaven but nobone wants to die there ain,t any direct flight”.
    I see all of us want other to change and behave but why cant we do something that we are capable of doing.
    Specially the damn “kalay angraez”the least you idiots can do is to go to some poor areas and volunteer some work and help few kids go to school and buy uniform.Do something positive you damn solution peddlers.
    If you need any ideas go to
    http://www.oneummah.com
    Our little foundation take care of over 50,000 kids in six poor countries.The Pakistanis are professional behkaaris with low self esteem all the rich bastards are creating is a membranes in the names of high address societies like Defence and what not.All these membranes are going to be broken and the French revolution is going to start.
    Take care of poor first and then pray that you can be saved.
    Future isn,t looking good otherwise.Are you all waiting for a big one like the Kashmir earthquake to come so that you will change.
    Do it now for Godsake.

Saeed
    A true Karachite living in USA/Singapore/Dubai and serving OneUmmah for the sake of Allah.

16. M SaeedUr Rahman (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 8:36 am

The example of us Pakistani is very well put in my favorite phrase”everyone wants to go to heaven but nobone wants to die there ain,t any direct flight”.
    I see all of us want other to change and behave but why cant we do something that we are capable of doing.
    Specially the damn “kalay angraez”the least you idiots can do is to go to some poor areas and volunteer some work and help few kids go to school and buy uniform.Do something positive you damn solution peddlers.
    Our little foundation take care of over 50,000 kids in six poor countries.The Pakistanis are professional behkaaris with low self esteem all the rich bastards are creating is a membranes in the names of high address societies like Defence and what not.All these membranes are going to be broken and the French revolution is going to start.
    Future isn,t looking good otherwise.Are you all waiting for a big one like the Kashmir earthquake to come so that you will change.
    Do it now for Godsake.

Saeed
    A true Karachite living in USA/Singapore/Dubai and serving OneUmmah for the sake of Allah.

17. M SaeedUr Rahman (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 8:37 am

Do it now for Godsake.

Saeed

18. Petarian_88 (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 11:30 am

we pakistanis are an expert when it comes to a “Mob Mentality”.

more then half the topics posted on KMB are crap and thrid rate, no doubt about it.

the funny part is, one person calls this post a crap and then the whole KMB readers jumps on the bandwagon and start calling this topic useless.

just take the events of 12th of may. it was being discussed on a few threads then every one started posting a topic for the very same event. we have a dozen or more threads on that same single tpoic. everybody wanted to outshine the other!

If i can recall correectly most of these people write whole commenteries on other crapier topics all the time:))

just an observation:)

19. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 11:38 am

You said you have no topic? why no one writes about Big Qasba Colony project to build road(s) between Qasba COlony and Orangi?

20. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 11:52 am

Waise Afridi ne ek match me kia acha perform kia, woh tu EK DIN GEO K SAATH mey hee agayaa!! Ab tu PCB har RUN OUT per Ek Lakh Rupiya Inaam deyga. Mujhe Acer Ferari Notebook ka naya model chahye. Sirf ek match me chance mil jaye tu run out kar k “do khokay” pakkay karloun ga!

21. TURAB (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 2:28 pm
  22. SELF (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 5:04 pm

So Turab what did you expect them to do in response to MQM’s government sponsored attack on them, just roll over and die? Everyone has the right to self defence. If MQM government blocks police and rangers from protecting citizen’s lives then citizens will have to protect themselves. Ulta chor (MQM) kotwaal ko daantay.

23. axiomatic (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 5:49 pm

Although it is a useless post as it does not reflect any depth or serious thinking. However, there is this thing about molvis that forced me to comment.
    I think it is extremely unfair to blame the Molvi for all our folloies. Tell me, how many times have Molvis been in power since Pakistan came into being? In fact, it’s the secular (or faithless) rulers who are responsible for the wrethed state of all sections of society, including Molvis.
    Unless we have totally washed our hands of Islam, tell me how many out of us know how to say namaz-e-janaza, or how to lead a prayer? What if one of our near ones (God forbid) dies? Shall we not go to the same Molvi we are abusing here? We have ourselves become totally ignorant of our faith, and are depending on Molvi for some of the very basic things concerning Islam, which in fact each one of us should know. Each one of us is responsible for knowing and learning about the religion. Tell me, who do we call to teach scripture to our kids? I think we are indebted to Molvis big time, they are whatever weak link remains between Islam and us.
    I remember seeing a picture of sri lankan cricketer Jaysuria prior to 2007 cricket world cup. He was taking Asheerbad from his buddhist monk (their version of Molvi) for good luck during Worl Cup. Every nation in the world gives utmost respect to their religious symbols and people. Just try and find out what authority does the clergy enjoy in Israel. Unfortunately, we are so fed up of our religion that we dont even want to see the last of its bearers.
    I am not suggesting that the Molvis are right in everything. In fact, they are wrong at many places. But rather than discarding or isolating them, we should be willing for a dialogue to understand their versions (if there are any) or their point of view or their problems.

24. Petarian_88 (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 6:09 pm

axiomatic:

just to point one thing out; some of the buddhist monk in sri lanka/ Korea…etc are very militant and sometimes kill their opponents. i saw some ugly seens on TV a few times:))

so some of buddhist “Maulvis” also have deadly side like “some” of our Maulvis. al of them are not that peacefull:))

25. Pkhan (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 6:44 pm

@ Henna
    Bad intentions need not to be publicize or propagate. Always look for the positive side of the country, we must all KILL the negativity for the country.
    PAK SAR ZAMEEN SHAAD BAAD

26. Pkhan (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 6:54 pm

@ AXIOMATIC
    Atleast I have respect for moulvi but when we talk about Moulvi they are the POLITICAL MOULVI who are playing politics with the Religion.Who change there statement every day and want to grab the POWER. These MOULVI DOES NOT KNOW ANY thing but Politics and WE must REJECT those people for there politicizing the religion of Islam.

27. axiomatic (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 8:23 pm

@pkhan
    You are right, these people have misguided many and alienated even more people from religion because of their (religious leaders) hypocricy or vested interests.
    If you and me are aware of our religion, we shall never let these hypocrites step in anyway. It is our ignorance and/or disinterest in religion that gives power to such people.
    On the other hand, a common Molvi is not only ignorant, he belongs to the most downtrodden class and depends upon our morsels for survival. So they cannot be expected to guide us rightly, or can they??

28. Hasan Zuberi (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 8:56 pm

Brothers … Politicians come from all walks of life and the all are alike … have common goals dream & agenda … Rule the powerless.

The so called Civil-Servants are far from civilisation and serving the nation …. instead they take this term as Civilians-to-Serve-them

Moulvi or Armymen or lawyers or doctors they are all together in divide & rule … and spreading nifaq among common men.

All we need to do is self-correction … once we will be following the book of Allah and teachings of Prophet (SAW) we can distinguish between the good, the bad & the ugly.

May Allah save us from the democratic hypocrates.

29. Pkhan (unregistered) on May 21st, 2007 @ 9:32 pm

@ Hasan Zuberi
    Thats very true ‘Allah Save Us’ thats why we are still on the MAP.But as people what we have DONE for the Nation? Difference of Oppinion leads to killing?Lieing in Our day to day work? Honesty is no where to be found?Every one is trying to be rich by taking bribe or giving Bribe? We are close to bankrupt in our Values.No Patients in day to day life? But InshAllah we will overcome this when we will have a True Leader to Govern the Nation?

30. baaei (unregistered) on May 22nd, 2007 @ 2:34 am

@ PKHAN

that leader must be free of western shakles.otherwise there will be no change.

will YOU allow such a man become your leader?

31. Tamed~. (unregistered) on May 22nd, 2007 @ 5:24 am

@Saeed Sahab aka A true Karachite living in USA/Singapore/Dubai and serving OneUmmah for the sake of Allah.

Bus karain saeed sahab we got your point, no need to post a message three times (even for the sake of Ummah!!).

There were few students in USA who always used to talk about islam & jihad in the days of Nawaz/benazir. When somebody asked them why don’t they go to Afghanistan for Jihad, their reply used to be that they were ‘serving the ummah & preaching the religion on the web’.

Was just thinking; were you one of them?

32. ash (unregistered) on May 22nd, 2007 @ 6:07 am

what is considered ruin? as yet there isnt a famine or war in pakistan so lets be realistic. Are things good? no. How can they get better? nothing will change overnight, education comes first and with a 30% literacy rate we are exactly where we should be.

33. Pkhan (unregistered) on May 22nd, 2007 @ 6:50 pm

@Baaei
    Who has put the Shakles?WE as a nation have to behave like a nation , we, our media and people wants western ATTENTION for any thing and every thing on there day to day life.We invite Western Govt to come and say come and do some thing.Benazir is looking for western media, Our Chief justice and there CRONY are looking for Western People/Govt. We as a nation have also given preference to WESTERN WORLD?

34. baaei (unregistered) on May 22nd, 2007 @ 10:35 pm

In other words our journey from slavery to independence is going back to slavery. Is it ok with you?

and only some but influential ones give preference to western world and drag the rest with them.