Security?

Rangers are here and there, everywhere. The city’s on high alert. Two bombs were found at the Park Towers Mall. Two bombs, five kilograms each. It’s weekend and everyone must have made a beeline for the solitary mall near the beach. I’m aghast, it just feels like being violated. Karachi has always been critical when it comes to security but bombs in the mall? Honestly, it feels like I’m loosing this city once again to the hate and violence.
Things have just begun piling here. A man was shot in the leg at Gulistan-e-Jauhar, two political parties were celebrating CJ’s victory. The happiness got the guns blasting. We shoot when we are happy. We shoot when we want to fight. Another man was killed near Sabzi Mandi a few days back for two lakh rupees. The took the money and shot the father of two. My own car’s window has been smashed to pieces for the stereo.
I try to find humour in this situation, there is none. I honestly try to find some hope, any shred of optimism but the city’s sinking into despair all over again.

12 Comments so far

1. TEE BEE (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 12:25 am

Sad…….truly!!

God Bless Karachi..and
    God Bless Pakistan….

2. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 2:12 am

acha tu “WOH” sarkoun par agayee. Lekin “Bhai” ney kaha tha ka faisla qabool hay?han magar ye nai batya k konsa faisla.

3. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 2:14 am

acha tu “WOH” sarkoun par agayee. Lekin “Bhai” ney kaha tha ka faisla qabool hay?han magar ye nai batya k konsa faisla.

4. d0ct0r (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 3:35 am

Altaf bai nay kaha hai kay, to celebrate honorable chief justice’s reinstatement we can stage another 12th may massacre,this time at a grand scale..

5. Faruk Lania (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 4:27 am

Sad thats where ppl are waisting there energy

6. zee (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 7:12 am

Heena, I see how frustrated and annoyed you are. One can clearly see the love that you have for this city and the pain that it must cause you and people like us because of what is happening in our country.

I hate to say this but I think our Pakistan is falling. I don’t see a future of Pakistan beyond 10-12 years. We can have a huge debate on who is responsible but I guess the roots of this menace have become too strong and the only way we can fight such a monster is by teaming up and also by at least TRYING to spread education around the country.

I will not at all blame ANYONE who leaves this country for good. Everyone wants a better and brighter future and all of us need a safer place to live in. No matter how much you love this city but if you are too scared to take your calls while you are on the roads then I guess that tells that you are in deep shit.

This SHOULD have been seen and this SHOULD have been dealt with YEARS AGO. I guess today, this part of our history is the beginning of the ultimate downfall of the only country in the world that was made in the name of Islam.

Allah hum par reham karay, Allah hum sub ko mehfooz rakhay. Yeh meri duwa hai apnay liyey aur app subb logon kay liyey…AMEEN

7. zee (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 7:15 am

Oh can ANYONE please tell me what happened here in Johar? I live here and I heard HEAVY gunfire nearby. Can anyone PLLLEEASSEE tell me what happened? Or where to find the info. I turned on the TV but couldn’t find anything, maybe I had a bad timing?

8. Athar (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 9:12 am

It’s just sad. I was about to go and get my playstation from Park Towers, its a good thing I changed my mind. And you know what…this is how this whole episode began:

http://www.vidpk.com/view_video.php?viewkey=2143146194

9. zee (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 11:33 am

ATHAR: Do you know what a playstation 2 costs here in Karachi?

10. Henna (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 1:27 pm

I agree, I will now not blame anyone who searches for greener pastures. It has all begun to make more sense now.

11. ANon (unregistered) on July 21st, 2007 @ 2:01 pm

All military’s fault. Military has been running us for 50+ years. go and complain to them. We need a revolution now

12. Ahmed (unregistered) on July 22nd, 2007 @ 4:13 pm

Things were fine not too long ago. You guys need to think positive and be cautious. That is all you can really do.