DIE, bank-scum!!!

Tell me, what is wrong with the people at Standard Chartered bank? Why can they not respect a customer’s privacy?! Do they have no ethics to follow?

My office-waalahs made me open up a salary account there recently, despite the fact that I have a perfectly useable account at UBL.

For the record, I’ve never applied for loans, or credit cards. I’d rather make do with whatever little money I get at the end of the month, than go into debt and end up paying through my nose in interest. Nevertheless, I got a call from the bank today — on my cellphone, no less. Here’s how it went:

Nervous Customer Services Representative (NCSR): ummm..Assalamualaikum?
Me: jee walaikumas salam?
NCSR: May I speak to Ms Urooj Zia, please?
Me: aap ki tareef?
NCSR: I’m calling from the Standard Chartered bank! *His tone of voice sounded more like he was announcing a lottery winning.*
Me: … and your point is?
NCSR: ummm … do you have an account here? *goes back to nervous hemming-and-hawing*
Me: Maybe I do, maybe I don’t. Why do you need to know?
NCSR: ummm … our records show that you have an account here.
Me: Tou phir why in hell’s name are you ASKING me if I have an account there?
NCSR: Woh … I was confirming…
Me: Why?
NCSR: *coughs* We … uh … have a promotion … a loan that you can get…
Me: *cutting him off* On the account-opening form, did I say you could call me on my cellphone about promotions and shit?
NCSR: … umm … yes..?
Me: Are you SURE?!
NCSR: uhh … no you didn’t… but we have a promotion!
Me: I know you’ve a job to do, so I’ll hear you out. Make it quick.
NCSR: Your salary is Rs so-and-so.
Me: WHY do you know that?!
NCSR: *ignores question* Are you on contract or are you a permanent employee?
Me: Permanent.
NCSR: Then you’re eligible for Rs whatnot as a loan!!!
Me: What’s the interest rate.
NCSR: Only 9.3%!!! And you can pay it back over five years!!! We’ll deduct the amount from your salary!!!
Me: NINE POINT THREE FRIKKIN’ PERCENT?!?!?!
NCSR: YES! ONLY 9.3%!!!
Me: YOU’RE calling ME up to tell ME that YOU’RE giving me a LOAN that I don’t WANT at NINE POINT THREE FRIKKIN PERCENT?! Are you out of your MIND?!?!?!
NCSR: ummm… payable over five years …
Me: Goodbye.
NCSR: butbutbut!
Me: *click*

To people from Standard Chartered: RESPECT YOUR CUSTOMERS’ PRIVACY, RETARDS! I do NOT — I repeat: I do NOT — feel comfortable with idiots at your call centre knowing how much I earn per month. I do NOT like getting unsolicited calls about your shitty “promotions.” I do NOT want your money. LEAVE … ME … ALONE!!! IDIOTS!!!

No, seriously, aren’t there ANY laws against this? What does the State Bank have to say about such practices?

Related posts:

1. Local bank comes under phishing attack!
  2. how (not) to open a bank account
  3. Bank robberies
  4. A trip to my bank.
  5. Bank Alfalah Cards SMS facility: Insecure Service, Incompetent Staff!

74 Comments so far

1. NED (unregistered) on August 7th, 2007 @ 11:30 pm

You could have responded in a nice calmly manner without shouting and screaming by saying that I am not interested in loans and please do not call me on my cell phone. Marketing and promotional calls are not so uncommon….they are still bad but no biggie…….BUT THEY SHOULD HAVE NEVER DISCUSSED YOUR SALARY INFORMATION…
    What can we do, we don’t have “DO NOT CALL LIST” like States to legally stop promotional calls on home or cell phones.

2. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 7th, 2007 @ 11:36 pm

I didn’t shout at the guy — I hung up on him.

3. SELF (unregistered) on August 7th, 2007 @ 11:42 pm

Just say I don’t need the loan but thanks and please don’t call again on my cell phone.

There, was it hard? :)

PS: Boss/husband ka gusssa becharay NCSR par kion nikal raheen hain? :P

4. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 7th, 2007 @ 11:50 pm

LOL yaar the point is, the call was unsolicited, and that is unethical, no? I agree with NED: We should have a DNC list here.

Plus, experience tells me that these CSRs don’t listen when you tell them you don’t want any services. I tried to be nice to him. In the end I got fed up, said goodbye and hung up. I’m not angry at him — I’m angry at the policy-makers at the bank.

5. NSCR (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:05 am

rudeyyyy!!!!!
    how about i throw a free(FREE) KitKat chunky(CHUNKY) in the deal…..

6. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:07 am

they are poor(becharay) people. They are asked to meet the target otherwise quit the job. It’s not an easy job, do try to experience it once.

7. br0ke (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:11 am

crap!!!! stupid typographical error….. i typed NCSR instead of NSCR…..
    on a serious note bolshe…for sum of us(me) these telemarketers’ calls = total social life……
    *gets back to playing WoW…

8. SCBian (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:18 am

Urooj…I think this was pretty mean. I completely agree with NED that you could have responded in a nice manner. I am not critizing you but these calls are made by all the banks in Pakistan. May be you don’t like being called up for promotions but yes there are thousands of people who in fact opt for these promotions. The guy was simply doing what he was hired for. You could have requested him not to call again. Why blame the bank for this? SCB is in fact one of the best banks in Pakistan. Customer service is one of the most important things which is very close to our heart. We always believe in Outserving our customers. However, I apologize for any inconvenience you have faced in this regard. But we are not retards or idiots. It does not looks nice when you read such comments about such a wonderful organization. Please don’t take out your anger or frustration by blaming the bank. Kindly do let me know if you face any issue so I can take care of it. I will make sure that as an esteemed customer you have a delightful experience! And just chill!!! :-)

9. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:20 am

@ Adnan: I know. I worked as a CSR for two months, and a trainer for a month. : ) I know how tough the targets are and all. I remember, however, that we were trained to be courteous without sounding overly-syrupy — and we were trained to not be leechar. I hated the job, though — all of that intrusion in other people ki privacy made me uncomfortable — wasn’t worth the money. Plus, most of the people I worked with were stupid charsi with single-digit IQs, and I couldn’t stand them, so I quit. :P

@ Br0ke: Make that Lindt (LINDT!!!) swiss thins (dark chocolate) and you just MAY have a sale(SALE!!!). ; ) :P

10. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:35 am

well!!
    heres an answer to the solution!

go to the branch where u opened up ur account !

and act as much furious as possible!
    even you aren’t ! cause this is a major breach of Privacy !!!

and slash out the first person u see at the bank !(offcourse the person should be bank employee )
    and dont get back until you get to see the manager of that branch !!!

best of luck !!

11. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:40 am

@ SCbian, NED , Adnan!

this is not a simple Issue!
    the call from the telemarketer confirmed that he knew her salary, her name , her sir name, and even her Cell number! This is a serious matter! cause the bank is not supposed to leak customer information outside!
    and as far I know (Since I have Worked for Citi Bank for a few month) Marketing People are not direct employees of the BAnk ! and so the Bank is leaking Private Informations of its customer to the people that arent their Employee at all!!

@ BolShevik!
    If you are not satisfied with the reply from the Bank !
    then sent a complain to the Statebank !! the process is simple! just send a letter!

12. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:43 am

@ SCBian: People who opt for them can receive all the calls they want. People who don’t opt for these services, however, should be left alone. A lot of my friends and acquaintances have complained about similar unwanted calls at all sorts of weird timings.

Rest assured, I wasn’t rude to the guy (apart from hanging up on him). :P

Also, I’m afraid I don’t agree with what you say about SCB and its customer service policies. I don’t like the fact that my account details were given to random people I don’t know — WITHOUT my permission.

Most importantly, SCB is the last place on earth that I’ll go to for a loan or a credit card.

13. Ash (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:44 am

Hi,
    This is an offence, no body has a right to call u unless u decide to, its like leaving my house door open all the time so any one can come in any time they want. Would u do that, you wont. Just because its a cell phone call, doesnot make a diffrence, same rules of societal socail conduct applies. There is a government body which takes care of these things just go to this website and register a complaint. These things should be punished or other simple people would be take over by this Credit circus.

http://www.bankingmohtasib.gov.pk/complaints.php

Thanks.

14. Sohail (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:44 am

Interesting topic, but i would say, nobody care about your privacy, who you are? no body!
    There is no such common sense exist in public services organization, even they dont want to think, they have bull-shit policies, lakeer kay faqeer hain sab!

15. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:44 am

Theses guys never understand language of sharafat, am a credit card user since 1994, thats my “mandatory travel requirement”.

Miracle is that they never heard my request for promo calls specially on cell phone and most specifically after working hours.

AND they Stopped only when I went to the bank branch in Shalwar Kurta and roughed up in mixed urdu & punjabi, senior manager like a pure street urchin, - and since then am at peace - ( i did went to the branch again after 2 months and apologised to the person who took sometime to believe that am the same A $$ hole who failed to understand his english and did not spoke one single english word when roughed him VERBALLY)

TO ABN AMRO it took me One simple visit to get myself flaged as undesireable customer, yet my credit cards are renewed and still active.

Yeah badmash sharafat ke zaban nahi samhajtay - they need to be handled their way :)

16. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:45 am

@ Syed Johny: This is exactly why I asked about the State Bank’s policies about this. Thanksies!

17. muhammed ansari (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:50 am

hy

CUSTOMER SERVICE has anyone ever heard of these words, too be honest we are moving towards being a service driven industry and customer service is a very essential thing if we need to progress,

calm down unaiza these people are under contract for data protection they arent really allowed to use the information for themselves, and this is the way u sell now

this is just the beginig trust me stuff over phone will grow if not sooner then later

18. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:53 am

O_o I’m not Unaiza — I’m Urooj. O_o

19. muhammed ansari (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:54 am

sorrrrrrrrrry

20. SCB sucks (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 1:28 am

Yea SCB does suck that way. I have gotten about 5 identical calls about smart wallet and credit cover plus. They just wont take no for an answer!

I am really annoyed with them. And they have the nerve to say “I believe you’ve been called about this before.”

I hate it! And no all banks don’t do this!

21. br0ke (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 1:32 am

thats why i keep my money under my mattress….
    :S
    i mean in a safe guarded by robots(ROBOTS)

22. MB (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 1:33 am

Good way to kick on his a** Urooj.
    I hate people disturbing and breaching privacy. I would love to hear you give him some desi punches in a ma-behen style. lolzz

23. Balma (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 1:50 am

One amusing solution to this sales call could be what Bhai Jan did in Traffic Signal.

Inn jobs say hazaaro’n desis kaa rozgaar lagaa hua hae! Pakistan may bohut say burgers bhee yeh jobs kar rahae hai’n….the only other jobs burgers can do is probably work at radio stations like 89. Abay, logo’n ko bataao naak mae unglee nahi’n Daalo, aur 89 vaalay hamaray jaahil avaam ko Valentine’s day kee paTTee paRhaa rahai’n hai’n. Need to talk to their chief. Enough of this bullshit on 89.

24. Balma (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 1:53 am

Also, the title of this post is bit offensive. Do you really know what scum means?

25. SCBian (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 2:04 am

I cannot believe some of the comments being posted here.

@Urooj: I dont know why dont u want to use a SCB credit card or a loan. Cant understand what has happened except being called by a CSR? SCB has some of the best products in the world. I am sure your experience will improve if u try banking with SCB. What if some day u really need a CSR to help u out if u run out of cash? Will u still do bashing?

@SYED JOHNY You are unfortunately completely wrong. These are in fact bank employees and they ue the information to offer new products to the customers. Urooj is not ready to listen to anything. I have assured her that if she hs any problem just refer me the query and I can assure that all issues are handled as per customer satisfaction. Hence, cant understand where does the State Bank part fits in?

@ASH What’s wrong with u? What do u want to complaint about? That u just received one call offering u some product? When this can be resolved simply by telling the CSR not to call again I cant comprehend the logic of writing to the mohtasib? We are here to simplify things…not complicate them further…

@SOHAIL Fortunately we are educated people who CARE about our customers.

@JAMAL SB: It is good to read that u r using a SCB card since 1994. You are one of our most prestigious and loyal customers. You dont have to rough anyone. We are here to ensure that get the best experience when u bank with us. Please do keep on continue to use the card and bother me if u encounter any issue. Thanks.

@SCB Sucks It is unfortunate to read that u have been caused inconvenience while selling these insurance products. If you are not interested in availing these products then u should not get any further calls. And believe me SCB does not suck! Just because u got 5 calls does not mean that the whole bank is bad. As earlier stated I will be more than willing to help u resolve any of ur issue and gurantee u outserving u with passion and excellent customer service.

26. Farrukh Ahmed (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 3:02 am

Ah! I’m so glad right now that I dont work for SCB anymore! :) but seriously, its a common thing for every bank to make calls to random ppl for products & the info they get is circulated thru internal database. u could goto Banking Mohtasib but they wont be able to help u out more than requesting the bank not to call u (I’m a member of Banking Mohtasib myself).
    anyway, the only effective way to deal with it is to politelly refuse the offer & tell them not to call u anymore. u may have to try this 2-3 times but u have to live with it!

27. Tania (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 4:15 am

You know what…these CSRs are given an equally hard time by customers who annoy the crap out of them. Check out these calls recorded at Mobilink, Warid and Telenor.

Mobilink
    http://www.vidpk.com/view_video.php?viewkey=455b3fa09a282e0d496f

Warid
    http://www.vidpk.com/view_video.php?viewkey=750899bb03d998e63186

Telenor
    http://www.vidpk.com/view_video.php?viewkey=41366a4bbe8a49b02a02

28. Saqib Naveed (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 5:03 am

Congratulations, you made someone’s job that much harder. A polite “no thank you” would’ve sufficed.

Having worked in a call center as an odd job during high school, I can tell you it isn’t the most enviable position. And the majority of CSRs have no intention of ticking you off so you can yell at them. If you are interested in the offer, say so, if not….tell them no and they will leave you alone. Only if they insist do I gradually change my tone until they get them message.

29. Kami (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 6:13 am

This is a serious breach of privacy. All Banks have a primary responsibility towards privacy of their customers. Banking laws and practices dictate this norm. Ofcourse, banks can offer products and services to their clients but what they cannot do is “disclosure” without consent.

First write to your Branch Manager, ask them;

1/ Why your personal info was passed on?
    2/ Who has access to your info, and how they pass on this info to other companies?
    3/ Who authorizes such activity ?

If you are not satisfied, write to state bank, they will take action.Don’t let this thing go…
    Banks are not some xyz institutions, they are the custodian of very sensitive personal info.

30. tif (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 6:48 am

man u all to relax a bit here, i mean its pretty easy to say things rather then bringing them into action. I used to work at a call centre on an american campaign, so trust me wen i say i kno all the colorful abuses the english language has stored in it; but even after all tht i still think we shudnt go ahead and invade peoples privacy or disturb them like that.
    Plus more than half our country’s population is illiterate and many of them are not even aware of the cunning ways a bank in pakistan can resort to wen it comes to “recoveries”, u wont be hearing there hesitant, or jolly voice for that matter wen it comes to them asking you to pay up!
    as for these bank reps are being called “becharay” or “poor” sales men who desperately need money, I seriously dont think the above mentioned qualifies you to work you way around and force som1 to go for a loan they dont need.
    And speaking of “poor” or “becharay”, this is the one excuse every or almost all of the pakistanis are born wid these days, everyone uses it, the policemen, the thailay walas, public transporters, hell even some govt officials use these word a lot, so yes PALEEEZZZZ stop using this very lame excuse for everything, and come up wid somthing more creative and sensible.

31. Neena (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 7:43 am

Bolshevik,

Until there are privacy laws you’ll be harass by such calls like your US counterparts ;). Recently here in US introduced “Do Not Call” List so one can block undesirable solicitor calls BUT Companies who has any business connection with you can still call you. Keep in mind in the US there are laws which make companies liable if their employees misuse any information and we all are pretty sure there are none in Pakistan. Be smart than sorry and try to find some way around to stop such calls so some grunted employee wouldn’t hurt you.

PS. If nothing works out you can always pass along Mohammad Akram R’s phone #.

32. SCBian (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 10:02 am

I agree with Saqib Naveed and Farrukh Ahmed that you should politely refuse the offer and request not to call again. Cheers!

33. Farhan (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 10:16 am

You enter your info anywhere and it will be traded , I think even banks sells the lists
    For these bank calls , I have one line ” Buddy you are doing your job , please let me do mine Allah Hafiz “

34. SCBian (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 10:34 am

@Farhan: Selling the lists is completely unethical and I dont think banks do that. This discussion is leading no where. Can we all pls agree on something mutually?

35. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 11:15 am

@ SCBian
    Well as far as I can remember these employees have third party contracts ! not direct from the Bank!

The State bank fits in only if SCB people are not able to satisfy the Customer!! and the customer thinks that his rights have been violated!

Giving such personal information even to your own Marketing Dept is breach of Privacy!!

Well Dont know about u , but I would not want someone to get a call my sister from her bank, from a person that has got nothin to do with her banking but still knows her account detail , transactions, Her Sir name, her cellfone number, and possibly her address too!!

36. Zainub (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 11:27 am

My family has been/is a customer with pretty much every back in the city at some point in time, and the calls were a common feature with all most all of them, with some more then others, Citibank, for my knowledge, calls us more for no-good-reason, then any other bank. I’ve very recently opened up at Meezan Bank and so far no unsolicited promotional calls.

37. mansoor (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:05 pm

as i was readin this, i got a call from citibank offering the exact same thing, only at over 16%

just tell them ur salary is Rs. 10,000 or less and they (or any other bank for that matter) wont bother u…

works out for me :p

38. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 12:38 pm

actually it worked for me as well and it’s the best option.

p.s: Since bank reps are reading this blog too. They know about trick now so now they would prefer to contact your boss *grin*.

39. SCBian (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 1:38 pm

@SYED JOHNY: You need to get updated. These are not on 3rd party contracts. We should stop critizing the banks. Banking is an extremely important institution in the economy and has contributed significantly in the FDI growth. One or two incidents should not make the whole banking industry bad. Accept it or not, we cant do without banks in today’s world.

40. BoZz (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 2:10 pm

When the banks do well, millions of people benefit

To put it more starkly, if the banks made zero profits and paid no dividends, there would be even bigger holes in the economy.

Now to be clear - I am not an apologist for the banks.

They can be arrogant.
    Their service/s can stink.
    And they can be negligent in lending too much to the wrong people or to inappropriate businesses.

But it is nonsensical to kick them just because they try to make some more money with new schemes.

It’s how they earn those billions that really matters.

41. Farah (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 3:14 pm

HAHAHAHAHAHA! LMAO!!! That was so funny! But man……any customer’s entitled to his/her own privacy. He didn’t have to call about promotions if he didn’t sign for it. If they’re gonna keep calling anyways then to hell with standard chartered man! UBL all the way!!!

42. Dubai Keh Bhia Log (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 3:15 pm

Bolveshit, you need to get a life.

You maybe busy person, or the CEO of a company offcourse which we all know you are not since you have alrdy told us you travel in a hi-roof van and live somehwere in gulzar - e - hijri, but you really have to get a life and learn some manners on how to speak to others. By your attitude here, we have a pretty clear idea you might be hanging to your job by a thread, so just think about the day you are going to be kicked out of your job and you have to sit in a small cramped office and make sales calls to people like yourself and listen to their b.s. just like you replied.

You just made a further fool of yourself by putting this post here and it gives people a further insight to your pea sized brain.

and yes, Unaiza and Urooj Zia and Bolevishit all are the same rats here

43. alam (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 4:08 pm

bolve-shit,

y the hell u gave ur cell# to the bank?

In 2000, i applied for a visa card in some bank here ( ANZ Grindlays, perhaps). My colleague at work also applied with me. They asked both of us to come and collect the cards. In the waiting room, where others were also present, the guy gave us reasons why the credit limits were different for both of us. While giving us reasons, he told both of us my salary and my friend’s salary. I was shocked to hear this. I immediately objected that how could he announce his client’s salary like this. He again reasoned that since you were colleagues and “look like” friends, so u must have already known each other salaries (we didn’t).

This was a such a BS behavior by an international bank

44. amin polani (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 4:36 pm

i live outside pakistan and i am a customer of HSBC these calls are also common here but the appropriate way is to say thank you and they donot bother you for the same,
    One trick i learned tell them i am outside pakistan and your roaming is on so they will be quite for atleast 1 month.

Point of concern.
    your information is passed with the employee when he leaves the job he takes the info and use it in other position in a new bank for his targets and my experiance these tele marketer exchange info also to help each other..i faced the same here.

45. SELF (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 7:14 pm

“actually it worked for me as well and it’s the best option.”

Posted by: Adnan Siddiqi at August 8, 2007 12:38 PM

What, no one told you lying is haram in Islam?

46. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 10:00 pm

@bhaiLog: no she told that she lived in North Nazimabad :-).

I think these banks hire some detectives who collect all Information about employee.

@Self: even replying to an ignorant is Haram but see I am replying you. My bad!

47. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 10:38 pm

@ Dubai kay bhai log !!

mind ur langugae !!!

@ SCBIAN
    hmm Well they might be direct employees ! but their dept is not concerned with the banking service !
    No doubt banks provide service that is very important ! but they should keep ethics in Mind!!
    I can say that for sure because the credit Card dept of almost every bank known in Pakistan is very very Corrupt!!!

They should try to improve their service in this dept !

48. NED (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 10:42 pm

@ Dubai Keh Bhia Log:
    lol…Man you are so damn funny….love reading your responses….

49. Haseeb A (unregistered) on August 8th, 2007 @ 11:37 pm

CITIBANK is the SAME!!!! Sir. 5 lakhs ka loan lay lain!!!!!
    Lets get togather and sue them

50. bika (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 12:27 am

it’s a tough spot. i don’t think anyone would actually enjoy making such calls but if u gotta earn that dough then u gotta slave off almost anyway u can..however if i were at the receiving end of such a call i’d too be as ticked off as bolshevik was.

in fact i’d have hung up without even getting that far into the conversation.

i think the call should only have been made if bolshevik checked a box saying she wanted to hear about promotions. though even then, the salary bit was definitely ‘uncalled’ for.

51. silver (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 12:45 am

WHAT!!! now we have an SCB apologist… so much for MQM here

Morons… give them an identity and they will die defending it.. asswipes

@SCBIAN try a new approach and stop whining … here is a hint support change

52. Dubai key Bhai Log (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 2:08 am

@ Ned, u rock bro !

53. not_so_anonymous (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 3:57 am

T H I S I S N O T B R E A K I N G N E W S

I was working in Karachi at a software firm and I personally dealt with 14 banks as clients, the nature of my software was related to ATM networks and I admit, I had access to individual transaction details of each and every person who used the 1Link network :P I also had their personal info which goes with their plastic cards. Some banks were conscious about it that their employees should not have access to other’s private data, but really didn’t do anything. whereas here I was, an outsider, a vendor who was always outspoken by bureaucracy that they dont need additional ‘overhead’ to ensure true customer privacy and that we vendors r just looking to make more money by creating an issue ourselves.

I dont know whether SOX compliance covers security, but even some banks who claim to be SOX compliant breach it all the times.

My better half also works in a local bank and she can access similar info from the finance department as well without any rights or grants. so its not just an IT department’s privilege anymore….

these things r to be dealt in consumer courts, do we hav any?????

54. not_so_anonymous (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 4:00 am

let me be clear, 1Link gives recommendations to banks what they should to ensure customer privacy, most of them dont give a damn about it.
    its all banking….

55. SCBian (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 10:04 am

@SYED JOHNY: You are once again wrong. Try updating your info before writing wrong stuff!!!
    @not_so_anonymous: Your better half must be working in a desi bank.

@SILVER: Try doing something better coz u know nothing as it looks from your stupid comment.

@Dubai Keh Bhia Log: Dude u rock!!!

56. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 12:02 pm

@SCBAIN - Give your valid cell number and you will understand what bother / P I A means, i will put your name on a list, and you will change ur number in 3 days, i promise,

57. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 12:13 pm

@Polani - “One trick i learned tell them i am outside pakistan and your roaming is on so they will be quite for atleast 1 month”

when a GSM phone is on roaming :) the receiver gets charged for incoming calls not the caller :) - :D

58. HITMAN (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 1:06 pm

Those who think that by checking the “Do Not Call” info, u wont b receiving calls, well think again. I have never banked with ABN AMRO but have received calls from them a number of times. Rs. 50,000 - 500,000 ka loan avail karlain on this & this markup. WTH.

59. HITMAN (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 1:08 pm

Those who think that by checking the “Do Not Call” info, u wont b receiving calls, well think again. I have never banked with ABN AMRO but have received calls from them a number of times. Rs. 50,000 - 500,000 ka loan avail karlain on this & this markup.

This also proves that banks or atleast the CSRs do exchange customers’ information.

60. SCBian (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 1:34 pm

@JAMAL SHAMSI: Why do u want me to change my cell number? I am already on a couple of lists. Just chill!!!

61. TPS (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 4:21 pm

@not_so_anonymous: Lemme call ya. How dare ya to reveal our secret???

62. Silver (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 5:28 pm

@SCBian

Dude get a life and stop scanning individual bank accounts… perhaps some day they will make you go through customers undergarments too … you would defend that wont you?

Perhaps they will ask you to scan some big hairy man’s underwear… your ultimate fantasy

63. Kar-Achi Battian (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 8:34 pm

I once got a credit card from SCB by mail, without even applying. I did not activate the card because I did not want it. Come next month, and I was handed the card statement with Rs.4000 charged on it for annual charge. I was lucky that I opened the statement before due date.

Called CS and asked them to cancel the card and the guy told me you have to clear the account first. I said I didn’t even activate the card. But he would not listen

So went to the branch -I am telling you it wasn’t the pretty scene. Took the manger to the task, didn’t have any mercy for such crooks. Eventually, he said I would have to give them an application in writing to cancel the card and reverse the charges. I said, when did I write the application to get the card. Why on earth should I write the application to cancel it now.

At the end the Manager asked his guy to write the application and I agreed to sign it (at least this I could do)

They were quite amazed why I am making so much fuss for a card with such a high credit limit. 4000 was supposed to reverse if I had spent 5000 in 3 months.

64. Concerned (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 8:36 pm

I am really surprised how many ppl have posted here, over a useless conversation that somebody had with their bank.

Get a life guys.

65. raza (unregistered) on August 9th, 2007 @ 9:23 pm

its ok for some companies to know how much you make.. like credit cards.. unless they know exactly how much you make.. they cant tell for sure what kind of a limit they can offer you.. that and the government.. for tax purposes

66. Dubai key Bhai Log (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 12:40 am

Next we will hear, when someones husband spanks her or she has a fight with her granny, shes gonna post the details here so we can “comment” on it.

67. SCBian (unregistered) on August 10th, 2007 @ 1:15 pm

@SILVER: Dont bother to write when you cannot differentiate between whats wrong & right. Grow up dude!

@CONCERNED: I agree. This is not coming to an end.

@Dubai key Bhai Log: Cool dude!!!

68. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 11:16 am

@concerned!!

I dont know why u think personal privacy is a useless topic to u !!
    In USA incidents like this is a crime and the customer can sue the bank for it !!!

@SCBIAN!
    whether u agree or not! My statement of the last post is true!! U can see by other people experiences!! simple! During my days at Citibank Credit card dept, I had encountered hundreds of such cases, There were cases in which people canceled their card ! but were repeatedly sent with a new replacement and were even charged for it ! and when the customer refuses to pay ! they report the person as defaulter to te statebank ! after which the person becomes un-eligible for any such services from any bank !!

@ Dubai kay bhai log !!!
    I can see! the type of environments u live in !!! I pity the Females of ur family !

69. Mehreen (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 6:57 pm

I FEEL YOUR PAIN!! you know whats even worse?! when you’re sleeping and they decide to wake you up at EIGHT THIRTY the ONE DAY YOU DON’T HAVE TO WAKE UP EARLY! And ask you if you want a loan to get a house or a car and you just want to SCREAM YOUR LUNGS OUT AT THE IDIOT!
    Plus, I don’t agree with everyone in the bank knowing exactly how much you earn just because you have an account there!!
    They manage to get in touch with you when ever they want, ironically enough however when my ATM/Debit card got stolen I had to wait for a full 45 minutes before I could get hold of a representative to cancel my card.

70. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 7:15 pm

misplaced priorities ! :)

71. Imran (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 9:31 pm

Judging by the number of responses i’d say u’ve struck a nerve among the kArachi MetrobLoggErs.
    Go girl! :-D

But do be patient, the salesman dude at SCB was just doin his job :) Kinda intrusive on his part, i know, but it’s still a job.

Maybe a “no thanks, over and out” would suffice? :)

72. Bolshevik (unregistered) on August 11th, 2007 @ 9:37 pm

NOS! Banks are corporate oinks. I have a *thing* against capitalism. :-P

73. SCBIAN (unregistered) on August 13th, 2007 @ 10:16 am

@SYED JOHNY: May be Citi does it as per your statement but this does not mean that all banks do this.

@MEHREEN: Why didn’t you simply ring the call centre to get it cancelled instead of finding someone for 45 mins?

74. Anonym (unregistered) on August 20th, 2007 @ 5:42 pm

Hello All,

This is not a small thing. Banks leak this information without any curtesy and to very low grade, leechar people working for some 3rd party marketing company.

I would like to tell you a similar BUT much serious case (of mine) in which the guy used to send me obscene sexual messages and similar sort of phone calls. I had to put up with this for a hell long one month until I (got) him tracked to SONERI BANK. Finally he had to loose his job and this was ended. But it was very stressful for me.

I think a threat of banking mohtasib will do the trick for you as it is of a very small scale.

However I still think that our personal details should be kept private and should not be leaked just like that even to very low level staff of banks and 3rd parties.

State bank should make proper rules regarding this.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.