KESC and Karachi-ites
DISCLAIMER!!!! At the risk of sounding preachy, I am putting forth my next entry. What I say here is a suggestion, (laced in sarcasm), it does not mean I have the answers, just a thought. Let the onslaught begin!
(For the folks who actually want to kill themselves after reading my posts, please, you are being warned, do not read any further, I am sure your mother loves you, live for her sake)
There is something one can do with regards to KESC. I believe it’s called waking up early and getting to bed at a decent hour. When a city like ours has power shortages (as is evident, and yes power shortages are a global problem, but we have it a little worse because we have people who are not willing to make sacrifices), we have to all buckle under and do something for the greater good.
We each have grown up with power issues. We can deal with them, if they were conducted like they are in the Punjab, that they are known ahead of time. People can plan their day and so not fume and dive into inefficiency.
If the shopkeepers would close their shops at mughrib time rather than at 10pm, with 200W – 400 W bulbs in their stores to attract night shoppers, we could all share that power.
I understand the factories need the power during the days and that is fine. 3 * 1 hour power cuts everyday rolling across the city are fine in residential areas. We can adjust to that if each locality knows when and where this power cut will come.
Shopkeepers do not need high wattage bulbs during the day (well not all shopkeepers), so we can use energy saver bulbs instead and also just cut the over all usage of power. ALSO by closing shops earlier, we can save tonnes of power right there. The main issue of course is that shopkeepers will not open the stores early, when there is actual daylight to work with. The shops open at 12pm in most localities. Noon? Are they serious about their business? If you simply use the morning light and open at 9 or 10am and instead close shop by 6pm, the amount of electricity we can conserve will be worth it. If we all pull together, the city can improve. Are people willing to use energy saver bulbs? Do shops really need to be open until 9/10pm on weekdays?
What is the point of these late night elaborate wedding functions burning electricity all night when there is an energy crisis? I gripe about KESC because it limits our efficiency as a nation but the real problem is our own people. KESC has limited resources but if we work together, our entire city may actually benefit.
Are the people here willing to make sacrifices? No. of course not, that would mean we will have to wake up earlier, we will have to actually DO something ourselves and then who will one blame? It’s always comforting to know that “it’s someone else’s fault”. “The fault (dear Brutus) is not in our stars but in ourselves that we are underlings”
I know we have issues with power due to
1. poor planning 2. bad maintenance 3. Power lines are so old that when transporting electricity from the hubs, we lose 50% of the power just there (in transportation), due to the poor state of the lines (for those of you who may be so inclined, please read up on Power transmission) but these are the constraints we have to live with and if we are serious about “loving Karachi” lets offer more than lip service. Talk is cheap.
i dont know why u r writting such kind of possts?
situation of “elektrik-city ” has been better now a days than last month or so.
Where u live? at liyari?
*yawn*
All of such Things have been discussed A LOT of times on same BLOG! – You didn’t say something *new*!
Can you please talk about something else or KESC phobia will continue further in future posts?
The post brings up an EXCELLENT and very valid point. Everyone knows about this but just like everyone else in Karachi, the people who commented love to stand and bitch about the situation. They will never take any steps to improve the situation, rather they will choose to complain and groan about how bad the system is, guess what YOU ARE THE SYSTEM!
Your comments arn’t helping either.
True, this blog has mentioned it several times. But this time they’re putting part of the blame on the public which makes sense in this case. Meaning we need to sacrifice a little at this point in order to get electricity 24/7 like Islamabad and places.
I hate to sound like a sexist but I get the feeling that the female writers (saba and Unaiza) dont know wht they are talking about.
Agreed they can write good english but thts abt it. the posts either have no point, lack proper evidence or just a well worded version of something that has been done to death.
some one needs to screen these post before other ppl see it. It will save alot of ppl alot of time.
Talk is cheap, thanks to Telenor Talkshawlk
power(electricity)that she consumed to keep her PC on to write all this bulls*** could have been saved.
we can save considerable amount of power if only all the crap writers give up writing stupid rants VOLUNTARILY.
JACKnJILL what a STUPID point. It’s like saying i’m going to stop eating to fight world hunger. What a dumbass!
The point still stands valid, businesses and consumers must understand and work to solve the problem as well. I’m surprized no one mentioned Kundas. That is a totally different story but those need to be addressed as well.
This is precisely why Daylight Savings Time is in use throughout North America and Europe – so that there is more daylight when people are awake. Instead of the sun rising at 5 am and setting at 7 pm, Daylight Savings Time makes the sun rise at 6 am and set at 8 pm – thereby providing everyone an extra hour of sunlight in the evening which saves power/electricity.
Maybe Pakistan should reconsider Daylight Savings Time (DST)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daylight_saving_time
As was mentioned earlier …. and in case you’ve forgotten, YOU ARE the system yourself – so I wonder how many of your own preachings do you live by ??
You could start by switching off your computer right now and taking an oath to never blog and surf again .. think of how much energy the nation would save then …..
Imran
Excellent post and great ideas. Eventually people will need to wake up and THEY are part of the problem and need to improve their habits before the situation can be improved.
@ahmed
It’s like saying i’m going to stop eating to fight world hunger.
good thought! its better than being big belly rascal who spent hours talking about world poverty, atleast no one would call you hypocrite.
think abt. it and stop eating eating shit you filthy PIG!
JACKnJILL – the village called, they’re missing an idiot! Its time you went back. Stop your moronic behavoir and wake up to reality.
Your arguments are simply jahil. Dont bother writing back, you’re wasting internet bandwidth.
Suppose she lives in liyari. Does that mean you are some special creature ?
What nonsense mentality you showed IUKNOWN ?
I guess its an excellent post once again and Saba please stop acting apologetic if in case readers don’t agree your style or what you say or want to share. You are not answerable to readers.
This is a blog, you share and people will share their views. The problems you have pointed out are not only valid but quite recent and important. I have always been saying this now for years, stop complaining to KESC always. Yes its corrupt , yes the gov is least interested in it, yes what we all say about KESC is true (me myself being once hitting KESC many times here) but BUT and a bigger BUT than this one is actually related to the people.
I wont be exaggerating if i declare that 40-50% blame lies on us, the KARACHIites due the very reasons the author mentioned.
aray loug problem ham khod hain, ham khod, raat ko dayr taak jagna, subah dayr sai uthna, kam par dayr sai jana, aur time zaay karna, yeah ham hain,
koyee time par nahi kartay, jo karta hai uss ko bura bhala kehtay hain
MB ap bhi memon ho ? mayra bhaie ho aap? MB = memon bacha sahi bola mai nai bhaie narazgi nahi acha, ghusa nayee karnay ka
Great post, Saba.
MB is right … stop being so apologetic.
And Ahmed, absolutely loved reading your
response … it was hilarious.
“JACKnJILL – the village called, they’re missing
an idiot.”
Javaid sahab, how easy to say for someone to say, “We should do this or that”, while majority of them go against their own “political” statements.
I have always been saying this now for years, stop complaining to KESC always
MB, can you stop being a funny? Everyone knows you are a big whiner on this metroblog and never misses a chance to blame others for any shit happens in this city. Allow others to visit your Mohalla so that others could witness what kinda “CHANGE” you have brought which you also discussed in your rants.
You are not answerable to readers.
see, the demo of hypocrisy. at one side he abuses Musharraf and Altaf for their dictatorship, prolly his next post would be about Arbab Rahim who made some silly and ignorant statements in last few days or about Sher afgan and curses them while he wouldn’t like to see himself in mirror that he’s not different than them. Awesome dude!
Infact authors of KMB should do something to fix their ego problem and should getrid of this kush fehmi that they are above than God. We read you that’s why you write more. This is not your personal blog. If you think that presence of readers is worthless then someone should teach you the difference between barking and discussing because when in discussion,you are bound to listen others and exchange your ideas which sometimes produce things which are better for masses.
I agree with Adnan Siddiqi. This is a poor post.
First of all, why is there loadshedding at 5 in the morning then? There are no weddings, no shops, and nothing at that time except residential customers.
Yes, we can all do with better power management. Energy savers, power conservation, etc. But the problem with persist.
ps: 50% line loss is mostly due to kundas and electricity stealing. Transmission losses are actually much lower. :-D
@ original-faisal
you are really ORIGINAL,An ORIGINAL balls licker.
@Ahmed
they are missing their PIGGY as well. Get off the net and go back to your filth laden farmhouse.
talk about folks wanting to kill themselves after reading this piece of cow manure!! ….it’s hard to believe that you didn’t want to kill yourself after writing this garabge .
… have some self respect sweetheart,
don’t write..at all.
and o yeah…peace , love and rus-malai
Vader , the Dark Sith
This is precisely why Daylight Savings Time is in use throughout North America and Europe – so that there is more daylight when people are awake. Instead of the sun rising at 5 am and setting at 7 pm, Daylight Savings Time makes the sun rise at 6 am and set at 8 pm – thereby providing everyone an extra hour of sunlight in the evening which saves power/electricity.
Maybe Pakistan should reconsider Daylight Savings Time (DST)
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Daylight_saving_time
I’m all for daylight savings. I’ve read about a couple of power plants that are being built but it does not seem like they will fix the real problem. The public and the business sector both need to step up!
Useless discussions going on. Nothing will happen.. Don’t waste your ideas
AADAB !!
Let me go in recent past. Government had developed strategy to close shops at 8.00 P.M to 9.00 P.M around , which was implemented for limited period. The result and problems were as follows :
-Many shops were closed ( according to my observations at that time )but load shedding was constant.
-Police get benefit by having one more reason to charge bhatta from shopkeepers.
-Traffic was over jammed ( unlike normal one ) .
-Shopkeeper have suffered in their business earnings. Coz all business/shops are not made for 9-6.timings.They start their earning after 6.00. Their buyers get free after 6.0 to 7.0 p.m
I feel the government should be very fair with us. They should communicate long term strategy with us.Like they have to inform us when and how we can get rid of this problem.During this period , what could be the alternatives to pass this transit period.If they want us to bear load shedding for some period then it should be scheduled for each areas . They should develop t.v. software based on that issue which should be on air on each channel by government. If the direction will be clear by government than we could support them.We can’t support in the darkness.Thats ALL .
*Aplogies for spell/grammer mistake but i hope it will communicate the message.
AADAB !!
Let me go in recent past. Government had developed strategy to close shops at 8.00 P.M to 9.00 P.M around , which was implemented for limited period. The result and problems were as follows :
-Many shops were closed ( according to my observations at that time )but load shedding was constant.
-Police get benefit by having one more reason to charge bhatta from shopkeepers.
-Traffic was over jammed ( unlike normal one ) .
-Shopkeeper have suffered in their business earnings. Coz all business/shops are not made for 9-6.timings.They start their earning after 6.00. Their buyers get free after 6.0 to 7.0 p.m
I feel the government should be very fair with us. They should communicate long term strategy with us.Like they have to inform us when and how we can get rid of this problem.During this period , what could be the alternatives to pass this transit period.If they want us to bear load shedding for some period then it should be scheduled for each areas . They should develop t.v. software based on that issue which should be on air on each channel by government. If the direction will be clear by government than we could support them.We can’t support in the darkness.Thats ALL .
*Aplogies for spell/grammer mistake but i hope it will communicate the message.
well – as my father say – if you can’t face this – go abroad – these problems will persists if not forever but for A WHILE
@RONIN1770: Going Abroad is not always an option for everyone.
@FMCG-GUY: Do remember that the lifestyle and worklife in Pakistan is different from around the world. Everywhere we have a 2 day weekend, and quite a few weekends were 3 day weekends. This gave people a day to rest as well as go about shopping and frolicking. Sadly, Pakistan is a six-day week, and most people can only go shopping when their husbands/family come back at 6 or 7 o’clock. Which is why changing the timings is a seriously twisted idea.
Though yes, I do support Daylight Savings Time, though I remember when Musharraf tried that it ended up being Musharraf Standard Time and most people kept the same old timings, or kept two different watches.