he does have a point..

Did you know, 13 agencies control different areas of karachi?

I can only think of Clifton Cantonment, DHA, Faisal Cantonment, and CDGK. What other agencies do we have here anyway?

Back to the point, Mustafa Kamal has, very rightly if i might say so, finally clarified that not every problem in Karachi is because of the CDGK, when most of the city does not fall under its limits.

He clarified that the CDGK was not doing any work on M. A. Jinnah Road or Shahra-e-Faisal nor have any of these roads been dug up, but despite this they have regular traffic jams. Also, half of Gulistan-e-Jauhar does not fall in CDGK limits but despite this, it is held responsible for every problem in the area. The same goes for Saddar where storm or sewerage water pipes are not controlled by the city government.

And while we’re very strong on condemning how agencies work in our fair city, has anyone ever given thought to how ‘inter-agency cooperation’ works here?

Kamal said that the city government has to get permission to work in the jurisdiction of other stakeholders. “The residents of DHA complained that water had accumulated and although we wanted to help them, it took four days to get the permission to do so,” he said.

75 Comments so far

1. Atif Abdul-Rahman (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 6:06 pm

ya rite!
    when it comes to praising, MQM claims to have renovated Karachi but when it comes to taking some bashing, Mustafa Kamal plays ‘oh we r not alone in this..’
    crap!

2. Concerned (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 6:25 pm

Its easy to blame ppl, but hard to get anything done. Everyone knows how much red tape is involved in govt work.

The govt actually did something for khi and tht is enough for me.

3. Ahmed (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 6:33 pm

Watch the Anwer Maqsood and Mustafa Kamal interview on youtube.com. This should be public knowledge that there is too much red tape around the city when it comes to authority to fix stuff. Last I heard there were 13 juridistions! That is crazy, I dont know of any other city that has this.

Have one mayor that is responsible for the city. It is not an issue of MQM. People find it so easy to blame others without reason. SMK has done more than ANYONE else in this history of Karachi. You need to judge individuals by what they have done and what they stand for.

4. Riz (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 6:42 pm

Don’t agree to this a bit! For heavens sake, if he is MAYOR or NAZIM Karachi or whatever, the whole city becomes his responsibility! No questions asked!! Embrace it!

5. mansoor (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 6:43 pm

i’m with concerned, just because they’re called the city government doesn’t mean that they are. Until this is changed, we cant really blame them for EVERYTHING.

6. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 6:54 pm

SPot on Atif!

how could AM say anything agaisnt Kudaal or MQM when his sister Bajiya is advisor for Govenor of Sind?

I watched an episode of news,views and confused about similar “excuse” by MQM. Fasi sarcastically said that on 12th May, MQM had complete control over entire Karachi unlike 33% they say all the time.

7. Tee Emm (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 6:57 pm

I think the other agencies include:

- Civil Aviation Authority
    - Pakistan Air Force
    - National Highway Authority

8. Kashif (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 7:01 pm

If he is not doing work on M. A. Jinnah Road or SF then why he takes credit?

9. Ahmed (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 7:06 pm

Atif & Adnan. You obviously do not know your facts and don’t have the guts to accept that for once someone has worked for the good of the city.

You would be blind, deaf and dumb to deny that there has been zero progress for the city since SMK came aboard. Read the 2020 Masterplans as well as the Final report of the Mass transit project. These are projects already under way! The CNG buses, the Rickshaws, the bridges and etc.

You obviously don’t live in Karachi.

10. Reality_Check (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 7:07 pm

@MANSOOR I can’t believe that this topic is posted by one of metroblog authors. I was almost resigned to the fact that this was a haunt for whiners, sofa critics and non issue hunter. Yes, this is a key issue for a city like Karachi and was also raised by another admirable Administrator of this city Mr. Naimatullah. The key on commenting on this topic is to rise above our political preferences and prejudices and ask ourselves, is there a city anywhere this size in the world who has such a Hodge potch of civic agencies answerable to God knows how many different authorities? In the case of Karachi it was done to share the bounty this city offers among different un-elected interest groups including army, navy, airforce, railways, KPT, Steel Mills of course the Chief Ministers got their share via KDA. Its about time all these boards and authorities are brought under an elected body i.e. CDGK and the Mayor. This is not politics, its common sense, and is good for the future of the city.

You have also talked about SMK, to second your opinion I want to list what I like about him:

1/ He knows what he is talking about (that’s a rare trait in Pakistan)
    2/ He accepts responsibility and owns mistakes.
    3/ He presents his case strongly supported by logic and evidence. None of the so-called sharp journalists have managed to corner him. Even the not so friendly Supreme Court had to pat him on the back.
    4/ He is there on the ground with sleeves up and gets things done. Not sitting in an AC office receiving applications.
    5/ He has shown vision and leadership and an ability to plan ahead.
    6/ As the City Nazim whenever he speaks, he projects his office not his party.
    7/ His dynamism has given a new spirit to the city and despite enormous hurdles (weather not helping either) managed to do a lot in a very short time.

Ooops!! now I have said too much, I can see the name callers twitching and pouring it out

11. Concerned (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 7:16 pm

@Adnan,

I dont think you are aware that AMs brother Ahmed Maqsood is a PML (N) supporter and has remained a minister during their time.

So think before you speak

12. Concerned (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 7:20 pm

and yeah Bajiya is no longer an active advisor due to health issues.

13. Ahmed (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 7:39 pm

WTF!!!

This is not about politics!! We are talking about KARACHI! Why are you even mentioning party names??!!?!?

14. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 8:56 pm

Concerned, AM’s family always supported MQM. THe interview mentioned by Ahmed is also a genuine example of Chamcha geeri by AM.

Infact AM broke all records of Chamcha geeri when he made the foolish statment that he crossed all corridors from Karsaz to Shershah in 18 mins. I was just surprised. Infact I am not wrong, he said he reached shershah in 18 mins from His home now where is his home and at what time did he go, he didn’t tell at all;)

15. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 9:08 pm

Those MQM’s apologetics who are asking me to talk facts, I would like to show them some facts. According to this news.

City District Government Karachi (CDGK) has denied that any crack was developed in the Nazimabad Underpass in Liaquatabad town.

He said that minor craters on road on top of the underpass too was a minor matter, caused due to accumulated rainwater, adding the damaged portion had already been re-carpeted.

It may be recalled that news photo published in some newspapers on 27 August 2007 showed a crack on roof of the underpass and warned that the cracked portion of roof might fall down.

But, Jhoot k Paoun nahi hotay:

tinyurl.com/2drz7b

According to goons at CDGK, this is not a crack. Yes, this is not a crack, City govt hired GulJee and he made abstract art on the roof of Nazd Underpass.

MQM’s Ramadan gift for District central’s residents. They dug up one side of Patel Para road afternoon.

Remember in 2005 when Naimatullah govt dug up the road from Guru mandir to Teen hati, all MQM goons in Sind govt made his life hell by coming up statements like “City govt ramzan me shahrion ko takeef deti hay,etc etc”. now same goons made the life hell after digging up entire route from guru mandir to patel para. it took me 20 mins to cross that route.

So, pro MQM whiners, lets talk about the fact? Mustafa Kudaal don’t even have excuse here of cantonment or other stuff.

16. Concerned (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 9:10 pm

Munne

I know for a fact that Ahmed Maqsood the older brother of Anwar Maqsood is part of PML N and also quite a few of them dont even vote, like you. I know this becuase I know them personally.

Get your facts straight before you point fingers at ppl. This counts for me as well as I just luv to insult your inteligence.

And as a matter of fact, I can make it from Defence to Civic centre in just under 20 minutes around 4pm on a weekday. is that specific enough for you.

17. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 9:11 pm

Those MQM’s apologetics who are asking me to talk facts, I would like to show them some facts. According to AAJ news:

tinyurl.com/25b5z5

City District Government Karachi (CDGK) has denied that any crack was developed in the Nazimabad Underpass in Liaquatabad town.

He said that minor craters on road on top of the underpass too was a minor matter, caused due to accumulated rainwater, adding the damaged portion had already been re-carpeted.

It may be recalled that news photo published in some newspapers on 27 August 2007 showed a crack on roof of the underpass and warned that the cracked portion of roof might fall down.

But, Jhoot k Paoun nahi hotay:

tinyurl.com/2drz7b

According to goons at CDGK, this is not a crack. Yes, this is not a crack, City govt hired GulJee and he made abstract art on the roof of Nazd Underpass.

MQM’s Ramadan gift for District central’s residents. They dug up one side of Patel Para road afternoon.

Remember in 2005 when Naimatullah govt dug up the road from Guru mandir to Teen hati, all MQM goons in Sind govt made his life hell by coming up statements like “City govt ramzan me shahrion ko takeef deti hay,etc etc”. now same goons made the life hell after digging up entire route from guru mandir to patel para. it took me 20 mins to cross that route.

So, pro MQM whiners, lets talk about the fact? Mustafa Kudaal don’t even have excuse here of cantonment or other stuff.

18. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 9:16 pm

COncerned it means AM’s is yet another exmaple of LOTA party. That is changing loyalty after seeing Nawaz left the country?;)

I can make it from Defence to Civic centre in just under 20 minutes around 4pm on a weekday.

on 12th May?;)

Ignorance shouldn;t be an excuse, AM claimed that he could go from All corridors to SherShah in 18 mins. Stop being a blind follower of MQM. One can’t even pass the road from Nazd Patrol Pump to Habib Bank CHorangi in 115 mins and he claimed to crossed entire route in 18 mins. Toba toba is omar me itna bara jhoot!

19. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 9:19 pm

s/115/15. :-)

20. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 9:26 pm

None of the so-called sharp journalists have managed to corner him. Even the not so friendly Supreme Court had to pat him on the back

yeah, because gali k londay like Azfar and Mani in their late night could easily made him speechless when he couldn’t reply their simple question,”MQM se log itna darta kion hain?”. The guy morphed into Altaf bhai and started his lafazi.

21. Reality_Check (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 9:27 pm

Guys this topic is not about AM or your stop watches. However, I remember Mr. Imran Khan had Anwer Maqsood’s program plugged from the air when an actor made his carricature. I guess the program was studio something. Then again this is not about IK or AM. Sorry!!

22. Reality_Check (unregistered) on August 30th, 2007 @ 9:53 pm

@ADNAN out of all the points I made you have to pick the one you could spin and drag MQM and Altaf into this.

Thats why I made the remark that guys like you offer no alternatives or solutions they are just empty vessels.

23. Adnan (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 12:27 am

Reality Check, as I told you once, sitting thousands of miles away and making comments about pakistani soil doesn’t make sense. I made a post which got held due to URLs and Mansoor might not be willing to approve it because it’s exposing all claims of Mustafa Kudaal?

24. Adnan (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 12:42 am

Nazimabad Underpass-USe at your own risk.

tinyurl.com/2yg7f5

I hope this _fact_ is enough to keep the mouth shut of MQM’s supporters?

Concerned, ab tum apne apne Uncle Anwar Maqoos k godi me beth kar is underpass se guzar kar dekhao. Facts ka maza ajaye ga. You love to insult my intelligence while I love to expose your Ignorance on various matters including this one. Hibernate yourself somewhere rather continue your babbling here.

25. Adnan (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 12:58 am

26. MB (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 1:46 am

Damn it Adnan
    You ROCK man!!!

But alas aap bhains ke aagey kion been bajatey ho meray dost. There is a mentality and it wont just change. Altaf bhai is like a peer fakeer for em.

Gimme a break

27. asa (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 2:31 am

great Adnan bahi..good work

we karchities all know the real face of MQM.i personally knw the reality of Kudal …kya haqeeqat he us ke…wat the hell they are talking abt we control only 33% of karachi they forget their days when they forcefully shutdown whole karachi by giving strike calls days,block all road in 12th when massacre was going on at karachi,i also dont forget incodent of chidhood in 96 when these MQM londas killed my mohla’s Bankabab wala only crime the poor soul did was opening his shop on MQM strike call.

28. Imran (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 2:42 am

Jaltai rahoo jalnai walooooooou :)
    The truth is MQM is the reality and will always be the only party representing Karachi…..GA ALTAF>>GA MQM..
    I feel so bad for Adnan, Doctor, MB, Unaiza,,,and others because they will have to keep scratching Khubmba for rest of thier lives…chuu chuu..MQM is gaining power in Punjab and soon you will see the results..Hey Adnan what happend to your be loved leader Imran Khan??? what does he say now about the arrest of Altaf hussain???I think last time he claimed that Altaf Hussain will be arrested by first week of September, is it still the same date or it has been changed??? pz do find out from him…….:))) hahah HAHAH

29. d0ct0r (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 2:45 am

other day grand terrorist pir sahib london shareef was praying that rains in Karachi should stop soon, otherwise all the cosmetic development will wear off..

30. asa (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 2:45 am

@Reality_check
    u talked abt alternative ,its our collective responsibility to bring out another party or group which genuinely address Karachi problems ..not like MQM which deal with from all chaudrey,s ,waderas and all dictator …tell me any party in which MQM never share a power?plz plz dnt make us fool anymore that MQM is the party which is Saviour of our future.MQM is not the solution infact MQM is biggest threat to mohajir ppl collectively we should get rid from this,sooner is better.

31. Imran (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 2:53 am

Let me repeat:::
    Jaltai rahooo Jalnai Walooooooooooun

32. Syed Johny (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 2:58 am

Subhan Allah !!

Now when MQM people say that their critics are suffering from MQM phobia, I wouldn’t deny it !
    cuase I have got the proof here !
    the above discussion !

I feel ashamed ! really ! that these kind of people are in Karachi !!

The mayor is doing good for the city ! and instead of appreciating it ! really I am feeling disgust while reading the comment above!!

33. Reality_Check (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 7:36 am

@ADNAN and others, whatever you say, the fact remains that Mustafa Kamal is the best Administrator this city has had in decades and Musharraf has given this city more resources and funds than any other ruler, he even gave them to Naimatullah despite MQM.

You talk about Kabab Wala and other incidents I am all for disarming Pakistani society, but this means EVERYONE says farewell to arms and badmaashee. You dont give any alternative but I tell you what is the alternative staring at your face. It is re-infilteration of this city by religous zealots and international jihaadi’s who have lost a major base in their screwed up war. The alternative is suicide bombings outside consulates and hotels. The alternative is recruitment of youth for fights on foreign lands, alternative is target killings of other maslaq and the alternative is imposition of what they think its right. Now there are even video beheadings of soldiers by the kids.

I am not saying that MQM is a picture perfect model of nobel democratic values, but it has committed individuals who have put their lives online to bring about change, they have made mistakes but they have also shown that they have learned from them. They will stay because they are from the people, they live among them, their ministers , councillors, mayors work day and night and are accessible…….

You now have not only under passes or over passes but also a vibrant Arts Council, Arts Academy, new universities coming up, boom in IT, business and financial sectors. The youth of Karachi have more opportunities than 10 years back. Throw it all away, (what goes of my father), in your words, “I am thousands of miles away.”

In the end you win because you managed to drag the discussion away from the topic

34. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 11:11 am

For MQM apologetics:

Ignorance is Bliss but too Much ignorance is curse. Keep entertaining.

35. mansoor (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 12:17 pm

what part of my post mentioned MQM? why cant we see the office instead of the person or the party?

seriously adnan, we know you have a problem and would like to take MQM down, please by all means do it, but stop blasting the Nazim’s OFFICE for that!!!

serously, you do make me sick at times, always talking about ignorance and yet seeing everything on from the perspective of hating MQM.

36. asa (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 12:39 pm

Bai log is saying “Why are people attacking us,we are representing 98% middle class ppl(im sick of this statement)”

Because bai you are doing the same things like other previous parties did.

How innocent these bai are…

37. d0ct0r (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 12:43 pm

its just amusing to see MQM’s supporter blinded by their love for a know terrorist whose involvement in terrorism is hidden from none.. recently human rights commission of pakistan have issued a report about 12th may’s massacre staged by MQM…

38. MB (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 2:10 pm

Congratulations everyone
    http://dawn.com/2007/08/31/local4.htm

The 300 million fawwarah became reality in no time but decade old requirement will never materialize. After all its an IMAGE world. You see the fawwarah PEE from Governor house so that they never get bored showing foreign visitors how much progress has been made but wont show Bhains colony and liyari and dhobi ghaat from these stupid foreign idiots.

@ASA
    As for educated people and all that crap, i have already replied it here
    http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/2007/08/spread_out_the_1.phtml

39. Concerned (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 4:01 pm

Let me make something very clear MQM supporters support MQM, becuase MQM is the only party who has ever done anything in khi.

I also admit some Jamiatis have also helped khi but I donot support their party point of view, so I dont support them. Other then that no one has ever done everything for khi. If you ppl say we shouldnt vote then you are part of the problem. you need to vote for whoever seems better at the time for your city.

So think abt why ppl support them before you blame ppl for blindly following them.

As for MQM being a terrorist organisation, see below for a list of the other parties;

1. MMA, known to openly support religious fanatics

2. PML N, the only party who sents goons to attack the supreme court in broad daylight, also very well known for extra-judicial killings,

3. PPP, the only party where the leaders brother was killed in fron of his own home, on a main road. also very well known for extra-judicial killings

Now I think the above activities are covered in terrorism. Just because they havent YET affected you directly doesnt mean they werent wrong.

40. bluemax (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 4:47 pm

Concerned, agreed 100%. Exactly what I had in mind.

I think MQM has terrorist elements but so does PP, JI, N, ANP, etc. Why I hate other parties more is that they choose to unleash their terror in my city (although based elsewhere). They should spare my city first and then I’ll stand by MB and party against MQM. I know MB and gang does not need my support or may be they don’t like to have my support but just wanted to express my feelings. :)

41. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 6:09 pm

Mansoor, Kudaal and MQM are not different things. Stop being a clown by coming up with your own theory. Even if you want me to discuss Kudaal only, the [mis]management and corruption of his office is publicly visible for Nazimabad residents.

Go and whine there where everyone is ignorant.

42. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 6:11 pm

@doctor, I am not Asima’s fan but it made me laugh when militants made a funny statement that Asima informed them about 12th May massacre by MQM.

43. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 6:28 pm

1. MMA, known to openly support religious fanatics

MQM openly support secular and lefts fanatics.

2. PML N, the only party who sents goons to attack the supreme court in broad daylight, also very well known for extra-judicial killings,

MQM terrorist sieged the Sind High Court on 12th May and didn’t allow them to go Airport.

3. PPP, the only party where the leaders brother was killed in fron of his own home, on a main road. also very well known for extra-judicial killings

MQM the only party which killed his own loyalists like Azeem Tariq and Khaled Bin Waleed just because they were against Black CObra and removed their own Minister just because He was being a pro-Muhammad(Saw).

MQM’s apologetics are perfect example of (Quran 2:18)

Deaf, dumb and blind - so they will not return [to the right path].

And I don’t understand why Mansoor is making this post??? The agencies he mentioned are mostly runed under Armed forces. So instead of convincing us, he should curse his fraternity that they invaded this city heavily and made it like hell.

44. bluemax (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 6:49 pm

List of controlling bodies:
    1. Karachi Cantonment Board
    2. Clifton Cantonment Board
    3. Faisal Cantonment Board
    4. Defence Housing Authority
    5. Station Headquarters/Army
    6. Civil Aviation Authority
    7. Pakistan Railway
    8. Karachi Port Trust
    9. Pakistan Steel
    10. Port Qasim Authority
    11 and 12 are either SITE, PIA, EPZ (I am not sure)

CDGK controls around 34% of the whole city. When ppl claim that “the whole city becomes his responsibility! No questions asked!!” they should be educated enough to know that responsibility and authority go hand in hand. You can’t hold someone responsible unless you give him/her authority. “Embrace it!”

45. Imran (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 7:04 pm

Adnan Dhakkan :::)))Jalta rahai mera bhaiiiiii…hahaha hahaha..mqm will be around you forever..will haunt you day and night with the development of the city and winning the hearts of the senseable citizens of karachi….you will be seeing its flags everywhere for rest of your life…you will be hearing GA ALTAF in your dreams…OOOHH boy waht a tough life you have to spend…Same for Doctor and others…

46. bluemax (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 7:32 pm

“wat the hell they are talking abt we control only 33% of karachi they forget their days when they forcefully shutdown whole karachi by giving strike calls days,block all road in 12th when massacre was going on at karachi”. To this naive comment, I would just say this … to spread terror in any part of Karachi you dont need any control, you just need a group of goons and guns. Ppl who dont own sh!t can block main Super Highway, SF and other place and this is not ancient history.

47. bluemax (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 7:53 pm

Well … ppl who think that they are on the “right path” have shown perfect example of intolerance by ridiculing and insulting those who have different views. Some examples below:

“Concerned, ab tum apne apne Uncle Anwar Maqoos k godi me beth kar is underpass se guzar kar dekhao.”

“Hibernate yourself somewhere rather continue your babbling here.”

“There is a mentality and it wont just change. Altaf bhai is like a peer fakeer for em.”

Good job guys … continue to close your minds to opposing opinions and keep on trying to shun their voices by ridiculing them.

48. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 9:12 pm

hahaha hahaha..mqm will be around you forever

Imran as if MQM is Ibless’ army? then you are right. ;)

BTW, let me teach you something which you were not taught by elders. Nothing last forever. Iraq’s Baath party was as fascist as MQM in Pakistan but today Baathists either don’t exist or they have been hiding like rats. MQM did taste something in 90s but they didn’t learn lesson. Maybe they would be eliminated like baathist were done in Iraq. :-)

@bluemax: your rant is not credible while you are ignoring comments by Militant’s supporters. It was not me who said “I love to insult intelligence”. Better teach your pals moral ethics before you preach to outsiders(anti Militant Movement).

you just need a group of goons and guns.

yes you mean MQM,right?

stop being funny? those who run 67% of this states are also SUPPORTED by MQM’s fascist party. So don’t cry for something which is supported by MQM’s militants.

49. IMran (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 9:26 pm

@Adnan,
    Keep dreaming they are free..:)The reason I am not counter arguing with you or talking about facts because no matter what i say you always going to come up with negative argument. So I have decided to laugh at your comments rather wasting my time to argue with some braineless person..so you keep NOOOCHING KHUMBA and I will keep laughing at your frustration…

50. Ahmed (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 9:28 pm

29 Aug 2007:
    Aug 29: Nazim Karachi Syed Mustafa Kamal has said that the problems faced by Karachiites would be solved only after having a thorough understanding of these problems. Karachi as a unique city of world have more than 13 stakeholders who were supposed to provide municipal services to citizens and for that every one of them collects municipal tax within its jurisdiction. In all big cities like Karachi traffic police works under the Mayor of City but we did not have any control over traffic police here.
    This he was stated while addressing the price distribution ceremony of “Third Annual Consumer Choice Awards” held by Consumer Association of Pakistan in a local hotel on Wednesday.
    Prominent industrialists including S.M Munir, Mian Zahid Hussain, Masood Naqi, diplomats from Poland, Srilanka and large number of businessmen, traders and representatives of manufacturers were also present on this occasion.
    Nazim Karachi in his address said that often City Government or City Nazim were held responsible for every problem without seeing that the problem was linked or not with City Nazim or City Government while the citizens would have to go into the roots of the problem and in order to solve such problems the same method or system will have to be adopted that exists in other international and developed mega cities of the world.
    He said that the city government was not carrying out any uplift project at M.A Jinnah Road or Sharea Faisal nor any of these roads have been dug up and despite of that these important roads suffered a regular traffic jam.
    The Nazim said that half of Gulistan-e-Jauhar area did not falls into city government limits and despite of that city government used to held responsible for every problem. Also those areas of Saddar where storm or sewerage water stayed were not controlled by city government.
    He said that if the city government has to get the permission from other stakeholders to carry out any rehabilitation work in their area. The residents of DHA complained for accumulation of rain water and although we wanted to help them but it took four days to get the permission.
    Nazim Karachi said that the city government was making all efforts to provide water to every area of the city however the same could not be done without lying of water lines.

51. Concerned (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 10:05 pm

Adnan is absolutely right, I did say I luv insult his intelligence. and I honestly enjoy it. You dont meet ppl like him everyday that like to go on and on.

Munne wht do u know abt the Baath party? there is a world of difference between the two. For once in your life think before you type.

And I suggest you not make statements which sound like you are supporting the 90s operation, tht was a sad time for MQM and most of khi. I am sure most ppl would agree with me. and hey I guess tht wasnt terrorism bec the then PM authorised it, rght?

If you can support the operation, then I am sure you have nothing to do with khi which means you shouldnt be speaking abt something you know nothing abt.

52. Concerned (unregistered) on August 31st, 2007 @ 10:06 pm

Adnan is absolutely right, I did say I luv insult his intelligence. and I honestly enjoy it. You dont meet ppl like him everyday that like to go on and on.

Munne wht do u know abt the Baath party? there is a world of difference between the two. For once in your life think before you type.

And I suggest you not make statements which sound like you are supporting the 90s operation, tht was a sad time for MQM and most of khi. I am sure most ppl would agree with me. and hey I guess tht wasnt terrorism bec the then PM authorised it, rght?

If you can support the operation, then I am sure you have nothing to do with khi which means you shouldnt be speaking abt something you know nothing abt.

53. d0ct0r (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 1:05 am

MQM is a terrorist organization.. period… canadian courts have already declared its as an international terrorist organisation.. British court will shortly do the same.. while 12th may massacre staged by MQM is also a subjudice matter in sindh high court.. so in pakistan as well they’ll be publicly humiliated..like they were humiliated on 12th may

54. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 1:24 am

Concerned, i must appreciate your dheet pan :-)

I knew you wouldn’t have anything sensible and tehzeen yafa in response and you would start typical MQM’s language which they use in their sectors. I see MQM’s supporters in my area who foolishly demonstrate their support for Altaf while they don’t even know why are they supporting him.

Keep entertain us here. That’s all I have to say in your lame rant. :-)

55. imran (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 1:24 am

@Dogtor,,”canadian courts have already declared its as an international terrorist organisation”(I wonder how come MQM still operating in canada?? and has offices in Canada??Does canadian govt. not take the court declaration seriously??/)
    HAAHHAAHAHAH..What a joke :))) jaltai rahoo..HAHAHA..
    Let me ask again,What happend to Imran Khan’s claim about Altaf Hussain getting arrested in the first week of September??is it still true or the date has changed???:) can you find out from him plz..
    Jaltai Rahooo..hahahaha :)

56. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 1:35 am

Concerned’s double post just show how much I have stirred his mind that he’s just throwing up his frustration here and there. :-)

speaking abt something you know nothing abt

Allah ka karam hay, bhai logo se ab bhe itni salam dua hay k kisi k peche lagwa don tu bori me band kar k London export kardey gey. :-)

@doctor: right now MQM’s so called Higherups are feeling like chughad as they can’t force Mush NOT to deal with Bibi. Sattar memon bhai recently gave statement that his party could talk with PPP, yes same party which screwed up MQM big time that all their big names escaped from Karachi. Atleast Arbab Rahim is still consistent, despite of his all stupidity, he’s not saying anything in favor of BiBi. Sooner or later , Altaf bai would be licking toes of either Nawaz or Bibi and all of their ignorant supporters who have been cussing PPP or Nawaz all the time would start doing Chamcha geeri of them. Kia life hay yaar. Jis ne paise dekhaya wahin moo karlia.

57. d0ct0r (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 1:41 am

true.. only when MQM’s terrorism is exposed by sitting government only then they choose to sit on opposition benches otherwise the lust for power makes them do every thing including sitting with BB and nawaz

58. d0ct0r (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 1:53 am

@imran once it would be certain that Altaf bai would be arrested, then where would he run to? pakistan , india or some 3rd country?

59. imran (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 2:01 am

@Dogtor,
    Why you always make me repeat my questions??? I guess you dont have answers like you could not answer my questions about Shoaib Khan…I will answer your questions once you have answered mine…..untill then I am having a good time in my life and you can keep doing what you do( JALTAI RAHOOOOOOOOOO>>>you may wanna invite Badnan sidiqui so you can both togather JALTAII RAHOOO>>>hahaha

60. d0ct0r (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 2:11 am

@Imran name calling and hurling abuse against any one trying to expose MQM’s terrorism is another trait of die hard MQM supporter.. every one remembers the abusive graffiti painted all accross karachi by MQM’s terrorists(aka awam ki awaz) and then later on trying to white wash it once they realised that its only making Imran more popular and
    MQM ran his publicity campaign for free.. and painting abusive slogans against him created negative image of MQM..

61. imran (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 2:30 am

@Dogtor,,haha man you did fall into my trap.. I was waiting for you to say this because this exactly shows waht type of person you are…Name calling is not my trait it is yours..I dont think I have to quote here that how many times you have used Mustafa Khudaal and other names for city nazim??/What a hypocrate you are…same goes for Adnan..
    I just wanted you to realize that its not a good thing to lable somebody with bad names..I hope you got the point..so until you stop doing it for others I will keep calling you with your nice name DOGtor and your partner Badnan siddiqui or may be tandooriNan siddiqui :))hahah
    Still waiting for your replies on my questions..plz do tell us HOw come mqm still active in Canada???PLZZZ

62. d0ct0r (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 2:38 am

and once MQM’s supporters get desperate then end up tagging every one who is critical of them as Jamati.

63. imran (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 2:43 am

@Dogtor,
    Do you hava an answer for my question???

64. d0ct0r (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 2:47 am

just try some thing out.. if you apply for a canadian visa next time, do mention in your form that you’re a staunch supporter of MQM, they’ll give you royal treatment..

in past MQM’s supporter immigrating and seeking asylum to canada use to mention that they’re from MQM and they use to get their asylum application approved on fasttrack , now the immigration authorities their have released that they’re just terrorists on the run and any applicant declaring his connection with MQM is given a royal treatment..

65. d0ct0r (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 2:58 am
  66. ALI (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 3:57 am

@ Dogtor and other MQM haters.

MQM is still active in Canada and that is a proof that canadian gov never branded MQM as terrorist.
    Secondly British courts will examine all the evidence against MQM and counter evidence of Massacre extra judicials killings of Urdu Speak and when they will decide that in Pakistan Urdu Speaks are treated as 3rd class citizens then the whole MQM haters will become Chughads.
    Now to Adnan Siddiqui.
    The deal is not going on between Mush and BB, its b/w MQM and BB as BB said in her book Daughter of East that she didn’t made MUSH her Chief of Staff because he had links with MQM.
    What do you think chuggads when there was an Army operation going on all the borders of karachi were sealed how come MQM people getting weapons and fleeing out like Imran Farooq ?

The Answer is real simple you idiots.
    The seed of Mohajir Nationalism is giving fruit now and ALtaf Hussain is responsible for making Mohajirs that mush powerful and now there is a strong urdu speak lobby in Pakistan Army as well so forget about any operation against MQM though there are strong chances of using Mullahs(Talebans) against Urdu speaking people in karachi and when they come they will kill Urdu speaking people with out asking their political affiliation.

Sooo keep barking as no one is listening nor Altaf Hussain will be arrested in London nor MQM will be branded as terrorist organization by any country.

67. bluemax (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 4:35 am

Doctor, you wrote about “name calling and hurling abuse”. How conveniently you forgot about the comments made by Adnan. In the words of one “intelligent” person, Better teach your pals moral ethics before you preach to outsiders.

What a hypocrite!!!

68. Reality_Check (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 7:12 am

@Mansoor you should now realize that whether you play flute in front of a single buffalo or a whole herd the result would be the same. You are trying to stimulate discussion, whereas, the herd can only shake its head and say MOW …

To the herd, grab a tasbih, I recommend daily wird of MQM terrorist 1000 times, My life sucks because of MQM 1000 times, It rains because of MQM, It shines because of MQM 1000 times. I wont think, I wont listen and I wont reason 1000 times.

Inshallah Sawab bhee melay gaa aur afaqa bhi hoga.

69. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 10:53 am

*grin*

If exposing the lies of MQM’s supporters is name calling then One should continue this.

If refuting concerned’s asusual hollow clams about _I_know_MQM_MORE_THan_Anyone_else and showing him the mirror about MQM or CDGK’s corruption in the form of cracked roof of Underpass then everyone should publicly do it all the time.

Imran name calling and hurling abuse against any one trying to expose MQM’s terrorism is another trait of die hard MQM supporter

doctor you are right. MQM’s supporters always get personal if someone show the real face of Altaf bai. If people like Imran,concerned and others exist in web world who go childish and saying “Jalte Raho” like a 10 years old kid and name calling then in real world, MQM supporters show their class by wall chalking walls of Karachi by writing galians like HARAMI, IMRAN ka BAAP Kon just because Imran decided to go against Altaf. Even MQM members start using filthy language against their opponents. See that rascal Waseem Zehrilla, how does he start using bad language on TV when others cornered him. MQM is language of potty mouth members and this got inherited in their supporters as well.

So called father of morals and ethics like Reality Check and BlueMax should remove the filth around them first before they point fingres on others because when you point your fingers on others, other three fingers point on you. I just exposed those three fingers.

Imran et all. If you expect someone would answer your tone like “Munnay”, “Jalte Raho” etc then you are living on other side of the world. Babblers are never paid attention. I hope you guys would learn it once you join the civilized and democratic world which seems impossible unless you don’t leave the world of Musharraf and Altaf and quit your toe licking habit.

Jitna conistency tum altaf k himayat me lagate ho agar uska 10% Allah k liye kardo tu jannat mil jaye. But.. tum logo ka Qibla 90 aur Jannat London hay tu tumhe kia zaroorat. ;)

70. Syed Johny (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 10:22 pm

Adnan Sahab !

Jitna consistency say aap MQM ko critisize kertay hoo ! Allah ko utni consistency say yaad kertay to aap hum say pehlay jannat main jatay !

71. mansoor (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 10:32 pm

syed johny: lol!! well said!

72. bluemax (unregistered) on September 1st, 2007 @ 11:48 pm

Adnan mind your language. How do you know (or claim) that I dont worship Allah and my Qibla is 90. I seriously hope you dont want me to hold you responsible for this allegation on the day of Judgement (you are prepared for this).

Regarding my opinions … those are based on facts and what see around me. I have never said that you should change your opinions but I just challenge some of your comments which I think are misleading.

73. MB (unregistered) on September 2nd, 2007 @ 11:56 am

Adnan meray bhai aap kin logun ke saamney been baja rahay ho.

Aap ki himmat ko daad deta hun. Dear blindness has no limits. Why you want to show em a picture which they don’t posses the capability to see.

Do one thing instead. Back in 90’s we use to give bhatta to MQM. Can you negotiate with these fellows to see if they can return some of it, May be they have some sort of MQM link in the background, lol

Adnan , quit banging head to an emotions-less wall dude.

74. MS (unregistered) on September 4th, 2007 @ 6:42 pm

Its kind of related to the post. Do we want people like her to rule on us again? I would very much prefer to live in Karachi these days as compared to the days when Benazir and Nawaz ruled the country …

http://www.guardian.co.uk/commentisfree/story/0,,2160288,00.html

http://www.amnesty.org/ailib/aireport/ar97/ASA33.htm

Source: http://eteraz.wordpress.com/

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/09/070903_wani_bijrani_scp_ns.shtml

75. Imran (unregistered) on September 4th, 2007 @ 7:53 pm

@Badnan Siddiqui,
    Just go back and read all your comments in this post and others and analyze them and then it would become clear to you who has been babbling about who..(you dont want me to copy/paste your childish/name calling comments here do you??)
    As I said, I will keep giving you names until you and DOGTOR stop doing the same..
    MQM is the reality of Pakistan and the only hope for the middle/lower class people of pakistan.if you still having some issues in your stomach digesting this then go seek some help somewhere else and dont vomit in this blog.
    and if somewhere in your mind(if it exists)you are thinking that your baseless arguments would change somebody’s mind, then WAKE UP and seek some medical advice and stop visiting “AAMIL SYED DILBAR ZAIDI”"””

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.