Carnage in Karachi & SHC Suo Motu Action
A few days back Human Rights Commission of Pakistan has published a fact finding report on the events of May 12th 2007 which is without doubt a tragic day in the history of Karachi (DOWNLOAD). It was a day when goons were deliberately let loose on the streets to enforce their concept of law and order, and the world is a testament that it was without doubt a horrendous massacre. We did not need an HRCP report to come to the conclusion as to who was at fault but this independent report definitely helps place the blame in a more credible manner.
Yesterday while the entire country was watching Gangster General Pervaiz Musharraf ridicule a Pakistani national, deporting him out of the country by blatantly disobeying the standing orders from the Supreme Court, we seemed to have missed an all important item here in Karachi.
Sindh High Court finally decided to take a suo motu inquiry into May 12 events, but that too was delayed because MQM goons a.k.a BhaiLog hijacked the SHC and there have been reports that several unidentified armed men were found in and around of SHC while police as usual acted like a silent spectator and did nothing. It just seems that the ruling coalition seems to consider itself above the law and with leaders like Gangster General Musharraf blatantly ransacking through the judicial system smaller parities follow the lead and do like-wise
To make matters worse a lawyer Mr. Raja Riaz was also killed yesterday by MQM after a strong warning issued by MQM following a heated exchange he had with an MQM lawyer-cum-TV-drama personality Mr. Khwaja Naveed a few days earlier, the Asian Human Rights Commission issued a statement in this regards
During the last hearing which took place on September 6, at the Sindh High Court full bench, Mr Riaz was threatened by the workers of MQM that he would be killed if he raised the slogan ‘go Musharraf go’ in the court. The vice president of Supreme Court Bar Association, Mr. Khawja Naveed, who has taking sides with government after the restoration of the Chief Justice Mr. Iftekhar Choudhry, also had angry words with Mr. Riaz in the high court bar room in the presence of many lawyers. Mr. Riaz was threatened to ‘behave’ otherwise he would face dire consequences. Under these circumstances there is reason to believe that Mr. Riaz’ assassination was planned.
Mr. Riaz was killed a hundred or so meters away from the Sindh High Court and very close to Governor House, where there are generally large numbers of police guarding the place. Mr. Riaz was in a taxi and was stopped by staunch workers raising slogans in favour of Musharraf and their party leader Mr. Altaf Hussain. A shot was fired which struck him in the chest. The workers then continued to chant pro-Musharraf slogans and watched him die. There was no intervention by the security officials.
I plead to all Pakistanis, PLEASE stand up and resist these so-called rulers who continue to disgrace our country time and time again

Please Keep this site a non-political forum - Thanks
@Noman Ali Ansari
“Please Keep this site a non-political forum - Thanks”
do you wanna say keep your eyes closed and ignore whatever happens in Karachi?
I am only saying that dont become the party to it…. there could be second opinions on the post and i personally dont want to see this forum becoming a fighting zone b/w two school of thoughts ….
Noman - sad to burst your bubble but this is the truth this is what is actually happening in Karachi - and if we as responsible & educated citizens refuse to address these issues of our city (by turning away from teh topic only because its MQM Ghunda politics) we have actually then become a party to it. Please wake up, that is all Pakistan asks you to do, wake up as concerned citizens of Karachi and say in-your-face what is wrong. The truth does hurt but it is for the greater good. I assure you that will be enough to control the goons.
A Prime example - was seen after May 12 when the media and literally every citizens cried foul of the massacre orchestrated by MQM this sent the MQM on a back foot and practically into a cocoon, but over the few months when no one instigated an inquiry - they just got bolder and have started yet again to stretch their muscle - quite literally thinking, heck we got away with murder, if we stay in power we can get away with anything.
Pakistanis need to wake up - enough is enough
all these mqm ghundas shud be killed. immediately.
and altaf shud be made to walk in the streets of khi, with his face turned black .
Injustice thrives when good people do nothing. I think all of us, the young, educated, tech-savvy people need to stand up together and get rid of this tyranny, whether it be from MQM or the Pukhtoons or Military or PML or PPP or whomsoever it is, whether it be a party, person etc. We need to create a forum to make a change otherwise our city will continue to be hijacked by murderers, as our religion already has.
i heard number of people surrounded high court in karachi during the hearing of this case and high court had to postpone the hearing as the people were seemed as a threat to judges.
What about KARZ UTARO MULK SAWARO? why do people ignore it?
Dont you think he deserves more than an exile?
@ TEETH MAESTRO …. Offcourse you can always take the leverage of being a writer and a “i could do a post .. huh” but i am pretty sure you dont even know what you are writing, the way you have mentioned the killing of Raja Riaz .. it seems you were present on the spot.
Come out of UMMAT( news paper ) kind of stories -
@ IUnknown ….. i can see the level of matureness in your post … i dont exactly know the number of mqm members/supporters but yes to wipe them out you atleast need to kill hundreds n thousends of people .. right ? Thanks GOD that people like you can only write and do nothing else otherwise we would have been in a very very difficult situation :)
Noman - come to think of it, at least I am voicing my opinion to say what is wrong, contrary to your earlier suggestion where you would rather see non-political issues hence turning a blind eye to the actual reality engulfing out city. Even as a KMB Blogger I can say “I could do a post..” at least I have chosen to speak up.
Please do check out the Asian Human Rights Commission press release for your Raja Riaz reference.
@ Teeth Maestro - You’re one of the better writers on this blog, sadly this post is not indicative of the same. Though I agree with teh crux of your proposition, there are certain glaring errors in your post, not ot mention your source, the hack job of an article by the AHRC. Reservations are as follows:
1. There was no mob aroung the Arts Council at the time Mr. Riaz was killed, I can vouch for this as I was travelling from the District Court to the High Court around the same time. I therefore tend to believe teh news reports by DAWN, Daily TImes and The News that cite Mr. Riaz being shot by two men on motorcycles; and he was shot once in the head and not in the chest.
2. The causal linkage that the AHRC report is trying to create between the death of Mr. Riaz and the altercation with Mr. Khwaja Maneed is in bad taste. Firstly if anyone was in the wrong in that altercation it was Mr. Riaz, and I was there. Every citizen of this nation has a right to legal representation, if Mr. Babar Ghory of the MQM wants to register the services of Mr. Naveed then thats fine; the question to ask hear is how can a federal employee afford a senior lawyer like Mr. Khwaja Naveed.
3. A lawyers duty is to fight cases for his clients, and, thats it really. If they enter politics, then they are politicians; the holier than thou attitude adopted by the lawyers with regards to their politics is retarded. The Government has a right to legal representation, and the lawyers appearing on its behalf are simply doing their jobs; the abuse meted out to them is completely unwarranted. Dissention is the hallmark of a democratic society. If these activist lawyers are unable to swallow any opposing view then perhaps their intentions are not chaste.
4. The SHC has not ‘finally decided to take action’ on the May 12th Massacre. The proceedings have been going on for a while now, and teh government and MQM are, rightly, getting f*$&ed.
5. Lastly I’ll disagree with your assertion that somehow Musharraf is responsible for the disregard bu the ruling parties for the rule of law; it paints you as an ignoramus unaware of Paksitani history. Every ruling party has showna complete disregard for the law; Jinnah an the early leaguers didnt pay any attention to teh constitution; Zia then created his own laws; and Nawaz ravaged the Supreme Court. All teh while the legal fraternity just sat their, invitingly, like a cheap whore, waiting to be used and abused.
@noman, jin logon jkay ghar waley marey hain, ask them
those ghundas are out of control now. had mqm not been there, karachi would have been like dubai for sure. they have turned the karachi intso crap in 15 yrs. And also, kudal has done the same thing again.
every other road has been dug. digging speed is wayyyy faster than rebuilding speed. there is no proportion between them.
Doesnt matter if ghundas are 1 or 10000, if they are not willing to behave well, the only solution is to kill them or either deport them. but which country will going to accept them ? :D
not even Bangladesh.
Those illeterate ppl.. duh!!
Just read the report, waste of time, dont even bother!
More like a compilation of newspaper excerpts, no independent review, totally biased,a sheer one sided anti mqm rhetoric.
And TeehMaestro you though of this report good enough to be posted here? Spellbounding!!!!
This is not a politics website. I read the report, its CRAP!
@teeth maestro
when will see any report coming out on the massacres of ORANGI TOWN and PAKKA QILA hyderabad???
were they human or what who were brutally murdered by the rogues of ethinic parties.
should we revisit our history just to get an idea of what our national history is???
every life is precious, how many of us like to write something about past mass killings in this very city of karachi.
For all of you who are supporting GANJA(not anymore) and critisizing Mush, please read this article:
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/sep2007-daily/11-09-2007/col1.htm
hi Teeth Maestro,
I would like to join your “pakistan bachao tehreek” please let me know how can we contact you..
Thanks
@IMRAN
Who is supporting GUNJA ?
All leaders are thieves here proven from history, facts, figures that include all i.e Mush,Benazir,Nawaz,Altaf and everyone is a chor.
The only one not tested yet is IMRAN. But i hardly see him appearing in a big way in scene as long as the GHQ (Ghundas Headquarter) is not pleased with him.
BBC has all the details of what the MQM ghundas did in court
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/09/070910_mqm_sindhhighcourt_uk.shtml
@MB,
Please talk senseable and stop labeling people with names And dont try to make all these RIshwat Khoor Lawyers(liers)and judges innocent. We all know how honest they are. You can get anything done in our courts as long as you can fill their pockets with picture of Quaida-Azam.
where the hell they were when people were getting killed in karachi in 90s???where the hell they were when pml(n) others srrounded supreme court in islamabad???where the hell they were when benazir put a ban on cell phone use in karachi???where the hell they were when every other month govt. imposed double sawari ban???
DO you really believe that these lawyers(liers)are honest with people and struggling for the justice???DO YOU??
Please do read the following article:
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/aug2007-daily/31-08-2007/col2.htm
@ Teeth Maestro - so you see that’s why I said that I don’t like to see this as a non-political forum.
Noman - I hear ya, and fully understand your point of view. But can we live forever with one eye closed?
I tend to look beyond all the bickering that goes on here in the comments - every one has the right to say it. I have a point of view and they have theirs.
Teeth kindly don’t expose the terrorism of MQM …supporters of this terrorist organization are getting emotional and can’t really tolerate any one exposing them .. they might resort to name calling and painting abusive graffiti against you on every wall in karachi…
MQM is quite certain that it’ll loose 12may massacre case .. that the only reason that they’ve resorted to such terror tactics..and besieged sindh highcourt forcing the judges to suspend the proceedings until next week..(every one must be aware how on 12th may judges from Sindh highcourt had to jump over a cargo container blocking the entrance to reach the court premises while MQM’s terrorists were busy besieging karachi …)
Here he come again, THE DOGTOR is back with all hate comments. BEWARE:DOGTOR is on the premises..DONTWORRY: Barking one’s dont bite :)
Here he comes again, THE DOGTOR is back with all hate comments. BEWARE:DOGTOR is on the premises..DONTWORRY: Barking one’s dont bite :)
while Mush was blatantly defying Supreme court’s ruling in Islamabad his terrorists allies in karachi were busy besieging the sindh highcourt… it just reminded me of 12th may’s massacre when MQM was brutally butchering karachiites while in Islamabad dictator raised both his fists in the air and told a gathered rent-a-crowd in Islamabad ‘Karachi nay aaj hummai’n apnee takat dikhaee’ (obviously referring to MQM’s cold blooded murder of almost 50 people)
DOGTOR IN Action watch live on KMB.
Anti govt lawyer Raja Riaz was murdered while in a separate incident another lawyer Mohammad Ali Abbasi was severely beaten by armed men near Ranchore Line…beside these cases ,attempt was made to kidnap karachi bar’s general secretary Naeem Qureshi on last friday when he left Khizra masjid after offering juma namaz ,Qureshi in his statement said that at least nine people chased him in govt vehicles while he was on his way to the bar room.
all these lawyers were critical of MQM terrorism.. so its no surprise that they were facing the wrath of edgware’s grand terrorist Altaf bai…
it was quite natural reaction from MQM and its terrorist leadership after saturday’s proceedings in which of venomous Waseem Akhtar(MQM’s interior adviser) was grilled by otherside’s lawyer during cross questioning …(he must have realised that now they’ve nailed me so on next hearing i.e. on monday he must have made arrangements that thugs and goons from MQM should besiege the court and show the judges that if dare to expose our terrorism then we’ve got these terrorist on hand to deal with you there n then…)
http://tinyurl.com/2bsw4h (picture)
MQM’s supporters in sindh highcourt … maybe they all must have mistakenly converged there thinking that Pir Sahib edgware sharif(Altaf bai) might bless them with his demonic voice and address them over telephone…
they were careful not to carry any MQM flags or other mark of identification , coz they didn’t wanted to be caught with their pants down like they were caught on 12th may by Ajj tv when it showed terrorists from MQM in action during live transmission…
any one exposing them .. they might resort to name calling and painting abusive graffiti against you on every wall in karachi…
doctor, you provked them. See they are so jazbati that I am afraid that they would start “Screen chalking” and would mess their own screens since they believe that you or awab would be able to read it. :D
Its seems useless to attempt to convince these MQM supporters who can’t open their eyes even after brutal killings of 12 May..but I still hope some of them will realize like me, an ardent MQM supporter, that we should not contribute to the massacre by any means vote, speech or whatever..we all have to die!
WAO - we got much of angry goons of MQM here on KMB too. Not sure in which stupid world these people live. What i can guess, Karachi is never going to be a good living city untill all racist & gang parties like MQM are destroyed and finished from ground to top.
MQM supporters should strive for making positive changes in their party.. but it can’t be done unless they kick out and disown the terrorist leadership thats holding the rein of the party.. bunch of selfish thugs and known terrorists…
I haven’t been in touch with this blog or local politics all summer, but the point of this message, after reading through all the above replies is something like this.
A Sane Person: Hey MQM, You’re wrong.
MQM Apologists: Hey! Don’t say anything. You’re wrong & ppl do not agree with you.
10 other sane ppl: Umm…We agree with him.
MQM Apologists: Oh Yeah! Well you’re all wrong too! You __ (
Sane ppl: Pretty childish response. How about you check your facts??
MQM Apologists: Oh yeah? Well why doesn’t anyone present the facts of that time when we were (brought to justice) persecuted!
Sane ppl: You mean when the authorities took actions against the terrorists running amuck in the city, killing ppl left, right and center??
MQM Apologists:
Exactly!…Err… Hum Mazloomoun par zulm ho raha hain. Tum __
Sane ppl: Yup! Another normal conversation with an MQM Apologist.
MQM:¬† …WHAAA!!! MUMMIEEE!!! :’(

¬†Btw, anyone check their ip’s?? Pobably the same person using different alas’—-As usual!.
Btw, I cant seem to strike-out the words, so put “brought to justice in bracket”. Hope there is’nt any confusion ;)
:) Thank you.
@IMRAN
Listen man, i dont know which holy declaration has told you that Iftikhar Chaoudhry is my cousin or Munir Malik is my uncle or i have a lawyers affiliation but i dont know why you are trying to attribute me with them an bash about for nothing.
I dont need to defend lawyers and judges. Yes a good deal of em is corrupt. We know it for 60 years. So whats the point?
Are you okay ?
Just Sharing What other side has to say on this …. Pasting from todays THE NEWS
By our correspondent
KARACHI: The Quaid of the Muttahida Qaumi Movement, Altaf Hussain, on Tuesday said that certain mischievous and unruly lawyers from Karachi’s legal fraternity should stop harassing and terrorising senior members of the legal profession and other lawyers representing the government in the courts in various cases. He said that people would be compelled to carry out accountability of unruly lawyers if they continued with their roguish acts against senior members of the legal fraternity.
He said the Karachi Bar Association, in utter show of disrespect to senior lawyers, including Khawja Naveed, Iqtadar Ali Hashmi, and Raja Qureshi, had annulled their membership of the association.
Addressing a gathering of writers and intellectuals here at the Kashmir Complex on Tuesday night, the Muttahida chief said in categorical terms that Muttahida workers were not involved in besieging the premises of the Sindh High Court.
He accused the media of false reporting of the event. In fact, he said, the bereaved family members of the MQM activists who had sacrificed their lives in the Karachi mayhem of May 12 had gone to the premises of the superior court on Monday to record their statements about the violent events of the day.
The MQM leader accused the ANP of being tasked with provoking Mohajir-Pakhtun riots. He warned ANP chief Asfandyar Wali that the people of Karchi would not allow anyone to practice the politics of the gun.
He urged the learned and education sections of the society to play their due role in eliminating the major social evil of feudalism in the country for larger good of the nation. Altaf Hussain said that for the last 16 years he had been living in exile, and had suffered the tragedy of the murder of his brother and nephew only in the greater interest of Pakistanis.
He said that newspapers should report events and happenings carefully and objectively without unduly tarnishing and politicising factual matters. He asked that if those who write fake stories get their limbs broken who would be at fault. Among other eminent speakers, the Minister of State for Religious Affairs Dr Abdul Qadir Khanzada also spoke on the occasion. The Graduate Forum had organised the gathering.
Nuke this whole country and start over….thats the only solution.
well said tee emm.
the thing is, how one is supposed to do that?
The reason for inaction is not, I think, that no one wants to do anything, it is that no one knows what should be done! In times like these, a leader is almost always born. Karachites & Pakis in specific, and us Pakis & Muslims in general, seem to just wait. Wait. Wait. Wait.
Waiting, as always, sucks and is of practically no good use. People confuse it with patience. Patience as a rule, I think, must have some action associated with it. Action ‘then’ Waiting (for results) so a better action can be taken = Patience.
So much potential that we have here, all laid to rot and decay and perish.
Where is our patience? Where is our leaders? Where are we? Is that leader you? Do I have that patience? you? him? her? who?
Wait. Wait. Wait.
Waiting sucks. Big time.
i just can noot belive how Altaf Bai can threaten the lawyers and the courts so openly!!
MQM was supposed to be a Middle class for th eordinary people and a huge majority of lawyers/judges come from his class.
it was a perfect match!!!! alas!! MQM chose the politically dying dictator instead of the comman man!!
How can the great Urdu speaking people tolerate a party such as MQM and worship the idiot taxi driver Altaf!??
i just can not understand that!!! when i look at seemingly nice, literate people sitting in perfect line in their thousand and listening to the speaches of Altaf as if they are listening to the talawat-e-quran i just can not digest it!!
it seems as if the urdu speaking people are under some kind of n evil spell / nahusat!!
how can they blame anyone else but themselves???? jagirdari/waderaism ki ratt laga laga key kaan pak gayee hain!
who is the jagirdar/wadera in karachi???
they could have at least made karachi, which is under their thumb, a bastion of peace and prosperity.
@Petarian_88,
“i just can not understand that” because to understand something you need to have something called BRAIN which you are missing my friend. Your need to eat some BADAM early in the morning everyday which may make you able to understand this………..
ALTAF IS THE ONLY CHOICE OF KARACHI….
Keep scratching your head
let me rephrase
KARACHI IS THE ONLY CHOICE OF ALTAF (to run his business)
Yesterday while the entire country was watching Gangster General Pervaiz Musharraf ridicule a Pakistani national, deporting him out of the country by blatantly disobeying the standing orders from the Supreme Court, we seemed to have missed an all important item here in Karachi.
Is this a political forum or what? KMB is becoming such a biased place! You guys are blogging, it’s not too far away from reporting stuff to the world. You should only provide the story and NOT provide us with your stupid god damn views. IF you want to do that, you should do that in the comments section and NOT in the main post… GOD DAMN!
Hahaha lol.. DOGtor lol!
Hey doctor, tell me something. Do they pay you to keep thrashing MQM or do you have an MQM phobia? I mean I think u shud go see a real doc before you brain finally starts to melt out of your years!
I mean ok I hate the thugs too but every little thing you say involes around MQM. Get a life man!
Terrorist org. and banned by Canadian Govt. and Courts Ruling.
ohmisterdoc@yahoo.co.uk 0092 322 24726 70
Teeth: I can’t help but appreciate this blog post. It is very traumatic for me to see such things happening in Karachi. It is very important to highlight that unfortunate day. We have seen it live on TV and now this detailed report highlights specific incidents. But what is more painful is the fact that the citizens of Karachi take all this as a joke and blame game.
This blame game is endless. As can be seen by the comments made on this blog, the situation is quite pathetic. Instead of being concerned about the ruthless killings and total lack of law and order in one of the major cities of Pakistan, most of the people here have resorted to either criticizing you or insulting you in one way or the other.
Let us take a step back and analyze this objectively. The situation in Karachi is hopeless. Forgive me for being so pessimistic, but that is how it is - HOPELESS. I must clarify one thing here: it is useless to blame political parties for this. It is our fate. We have to accept this. We live in a third world country. Our general public reeks of poverty, lack of education, inhuman living standards, radical elements, extremism etc. Even Musharraf, with all the international support that he could get, could not bring this in control in the Northern Areas. The only difference between the situation in Waziristan and the one in Karachi (on 12 May) is that the Waziristan resistance is sponsored by the tribal leaders, whereas in Karachi, it was most evidently ‘allowed’ by elements of the government. But ultimately we must ask ourselves… who made it all possible? It was the people of Pakistan. They can be used and abused in any way because they are so venerable, poor, naive, uncivilized, uncultured, intolerant and short-sighted.
Everyone has a part to play in the prevalent situation. Everyone is accountable for this. Not just the leaders, but the people as well - who follow in their leaders’ footsteps to the impending doom that awaits them.
Don’t take me wrong. I am not criticizing any particular political party here and any specific profession in our society. I am just lamenting on the unsolvable issues in our society. As my economics professor once said: “We are stuck in a vicious cycle of poverty”. Nothing can change that. This is what defines our psyche as a nation. Even the actions of a handful of highly educated intellectual, political leaders (etc.) are driven by this situation.
We move on, but we will never progress. Events like 12th May, Waziristan conflict, fly-over collapses will keep on happening… the blame game will continue… and nothing will come out of it. The suffering will go on and on…
Clickety
lets see how these goons show ghunda gardi outside of Karachi.
@Adnan
es link mai kia hai ??
I didn’t see anything
@PODRACER
The people of karachi deserve the suffering unfortunately, for choosing a militant outfit as their rulers. Chill !!
@ IUnknown
I just had to comment on wht you said abt khi becoming Dubai. where do you live yar. its sure as hell not khi.
Khi can only become dubai if you remove all the politicans from the city, which includes MQM and PPP, and especially JI. It should just have a local govt and Mayor from the ppl (which is MQM but you ppl will never accept tht so any body from the general public will do)
then turn it into a completely sovereign state in itself. This mean, no tax collected in KHi goes outside the city. The rest of the country can have customs, Octroi and toll collected for goods going upcountry or going out from upcountry, but nothing else.
If Khi had all that money (which it desrves) then it would know no bounds. but sadly tht is never going to happen.
So dream on dude, dream on.
Hrr Fir-oon ka waqt aata hai,
Karachi kai fir-aon kaa waqt bhee aey ga,
raaat lambeee ho gaee hai to kiaa,
harr raat kai baad sooraj aata hai.
jang website got updated. It was that 12th may case will not be proceeded out of Karachi so that goons can’t create mess again. Since goons can only pollute Karachi rather entire country.
jang website got updated. It was that 12th may case will be proceeded out of Karachi so that goons can’t create mess again. Since goons can only pollute Karachi rather entire country.