Office timings in Ramazan
My office starts at 8:30 in Ramazan and every single day it’s a struggle for me to get there on time. It’s impossible for me to wake up in time for office. I am always late, by a large margin!
I think during Ramazan office hours should start at 7 in the morning, so that you don’t sleep after Sehri and go straight to work, or they should not start before 10 AM so that you get adequate sleep and stay alert during work.
What are your office timings and do you find it hard or easy to follow them?
Related posts:

official office hours during Ramadan are 7.30am to 2.30pm. however, considering the nature of my work, i have opted to reach at work between 9 and 10am, and leave between 3 and 5pm, depending on work load.
This obviously takes care of all the traffic hassles I would have to go through, had I followed the usual timing.
Mine are 8:30 - 3:00, it’s never been a problem for me to wake up on time but the main problem is the traffic which i have to face every day…
I allowed my staff to take liberty in ramzan, as they wish All are from days of my father and senior staff members even the PEON. - I open my place myself at 8.30 - close down at 3.30 - almost they all arrive by 9.15
7:00 AM to 1:00 PM. & I try religously to abide by specially the later one ;)
Umar, I feel you mate!! :)
my office times are from 7 to 2..
and apart from two days a week, haven’t been able to make that time :(
so then, i leave normally by 3 now too :(
trust me umar!! if there’s no provision to sleep after sehri, then you dont get any sleep during the day, PERIOD!
sleeping through the day is not as much fun as it sounds.. trust me
8:30 to 4:00 pm 6 days a week absolutely wicked man…
Ramadan timing are fun no late sitting just 8 to 3 and u r free to go home
I have the exact same problem Umar. Although my timings are 8-3 … I find it hard to get there on time in the morning and usually run an hour or two late. I also prefer to go late because of the traffic on sharah-e-faisal - it’s jam as hell around 7-8!
every one has same problem
my timings are from 9-4
but i reach there at abt 10
and leave at abt 6:00
12-7 — its a newspaper — though i am usually done by 5-6
I’m working in Montreal, Canada….and my office timings are 9-6……so im sure ur in a position to thank Allah for finishing up so early:P……
I am in NY, our timing is flexible, you just have to complete 8:30hrs in a day between 7AM to 6PM, and i choose 7AM to 3:30PM.
Looking at the comments above, i think it will be much better especially in ramazan to spend the time after sehri in ibaddat and recetation of Quran instead of going to sleep again. Then no one will have to worry about the time between sehri and office start.
12-6 and I bet no one can beat that…I wake up at 11-30 and go to to work, come back 10 minutes before Iftaar :)
0830 - 1430 but i get off from work by 1730.. its almost impossible to leave by 1430…
Wow, you guys are so lucky, I am feeling jealous here. I have no timings here, I work by date lines. I can work from home when ever I want which I never do because I would be sleeping all day at home. These days, I work from 9 to 630 and come home for Iftar(Maghrib prayers) and go back to work again at 730 pm and come back 10 pm. Yah life is busy here. No effect of Ramadan here and by the way , I wake at 430 every morning and sleep again b/w 7 to 9 am. Don’t be sorry for me :-), I will be on paid vacation for whole Nov/Dec that’s why I have to put so many hours these days.
You guys are lucky in Pak. to work less hours during Ramadan, we have to spend 9 hours in the office so I work like 7:30 to 4:30. Plus 20 20 mins. drive back and forth so its almost 10 hours.
Isn’t its strange that in developed countries the working hours are more i.e. 8 1/2 and 9 hours including 1 hour lunch and in Pak. its 8 hours including 1 hour lunch which would be 7 hours. I request the responsible authorities to increase the working hours specially in govt. org. where ppl leaves early in the afternoon.
I’m here in dubai, Muslim country, perfect timings, 9 - 3, still aint that fun…it takes me one hour to be at work in the morning n the commute back home is HELL!…roza, bumper to bumper traffic with everyone having a legitimate reason to lose it coz they’re fasting….i am stuck in the traffic for 2 hours!!!
well well well, atleast u guys dont suffer traffics jams for hours specially when u’re dying to get home, i am here in dubai, muslim country - perfect timings 9 - 3, takes me one hr to get to work in the mroning n the commute back home is HELL!..roza, bumper to bumper traffic, earsplitting horns, escalating tempers, and i am stuck in the traffic for 2 Goddamn hours everyday!
This is nice.
@Jamal Shamsi:
“I allowed my staff to take liberty in ramzan”
Seth sahib, aap bohat mahaan hain :D
my timings are 7am-2pm but since i have nothing else to do after sehri i leave for office at 6:30 and reach there at 6:40 and leave 1:45pm. lots of time to sleep after that.
Also in the morning roads are nearly empty, so its like a dream come true going non-stop on sh-faisal.
@Tariq Khanani
I leave at 6:00AM and getback at 5:00PM
And no, I dont fast. Whats the use of not eating and drinking anything, when this abstinence is compensated by haram-khori and kaam-chori
@obi
I must say I am sorry for you :) but I guess you love your job and the vacation hence the extra hrs.
I am putting in my 9hrs nothing changes for me but I only have 2 weeks of work after which I am calling it quits woo hoo and I already had my vacation so woo hoo again!!!
I work whenever I feel like :) One of the perks of working from home.
@Alam,
nobody ask you for your ramazan office timing. since you dont fast, dont bother commenting on this blog because this is something for ppl who fast.
@imran
And nobody asked ur parents to deliver u, but we have u here, opining
There r so many things that motivated ppl do, on their own
It doesn’t matter if i fast or not….I am affected by these ramzan and rozas, because it changes the psyche of ppl around me.
“Whats the use of not eating and drinking anything, when this abstinence is compensated by haram-khori and kaam-chori”
@alam
kindly speak for urself
other non-muslims don’t fast either you are not doing anything unique here, so what u mean is they don’t do kaam-chori. you don’t want me to prove it do you? you can notice people fasting around you and what u don’t see is people wasting time in lbdn (look busy do nothing) mode.
@alam
Secondly 7-2 is official timings we have to follow, its not kaam-chori, our management also follows it and yes they don’t fast either (most of them). and if u r such a hard-working dedicated sincere employee, u should be expected to go to office on eid also, as u don’t fast, eid is not for u.
well, jews also fast for straight 24 hrs. So again, u r not alone in tis deed. But kaam-chori and haram-khori is ur explicit domain. I have never heard of any person or community that just rarely work for striaght 1 month, and then take pride of this kaam-chori. No wonder we r stuck in the ahd-e-jahlia.
Also, I can take my days off on Eids (as religous days), but I don’t.
@Alam, I dont know why you come over here on KMB, as you have a totally different mind set, I would say that you are mentally retarted.
If you don’t like Khi and its ppl as I have always seeing you bad mouthing about them. I think you are the one who comes with the nick Balma also.
I think you are the one who comes with the nick Balma also.
you mean Balma is brain child of Alam? ;)
alam, balma and reality.
one disease, three symptoms, one solution, one destination.
i think we shud ignore these all 3 ppl every time
they want to take the discussion against islam ,. no matter wat topic it is
Half of IT workers sleep on Job :>
>>Half of IT workers sleep on Job :>
So this is ur excuse of kaam-chori?
>>one disease, three symptoms, one solution, one destination.
haha….and for you all: one disease, one symptom, millions carriers, destination unknown
And leave BALMA out, he is left of Ted kennedy. Compared with him, I am Molana Fazlur Rehman
“he is left of Ted kennedy”. LOL!!! thats a good one Alam, seems very true.
I guess Umar has struck a ‘dukhtee rug’ over here. Well, I’d say enjoy the Ramzan timings and the month with your families because for all of the unfortunate Pakis living in the West there is neither. We just go on living through our pathetic lives during Ramadan as usual, i.e. 9 to 5.
@alam abhi naya naya kafir hua hay na, is ko pata nahi hain trends abhi.
he is half teetar and half batair uptill now
I second Alam…..you guys personally might not do ‘kaam chori’ but most of the population here does. Everyone gets to office late, does practically nothing, spending the time discussing the jalebis and samosas they are going to have for iftar, and then heading off at 3 to sleep so they are refreshed for their binging session at 6:30.
I don’t claim to have extensive knowledge of Islam, but I always felt that the point of keeping a roza was so that one could feel how the poor feel when they work like dogs and stay hungry through the day. Surely the poor don’t do one hour of work a day and then sleep in an AC the rest of the time till they get up to eat. Seems extremely hypocritical to me.
Mon - Sat 7:30-1:30
Fri 7:30 - noon
Balma and Alam are the best jokers of KMB. Please don’t mess with them.
I start work at 6am and leave work at 4.30pm and at times after maghrib (6pm) or so, then go home and prepare a meal. So you can say I am on my toes from 3.45am (I prepare my own sehri) till 8pm or so. Yes I am not in Pakistan. But no complains :) You guys should feel very lucky!
I am Molana Fazlur Rehman
uh! You and Fazal? Fazal is a smart and clever man. He knows how to play his cards. The way he has kept the control of Mush,Bibi and Nawaz is just awesome. You are actually Pat Robertson of Atheists because your crazy and lunatic rants are not different than what Pat keeps saying all the time everywhere like you.
As others said, I also feel that Alam,Balma and Reality_Check are all same name of single person. When he’s drunk, he becomes Alam , when he goes Insane he behaves like Balma and when he tries to be a smart ass and intellectual, he becomes Reality Check. :D
Pachpan(55) mey bachpan ki harkatain. *shakes head*
@Adnan Siddiqi
LOL ..
adnan : u r the system analyst man ;)
wow adnan really, nice 2 meet u man