President’s case
The Supreme Court has rendered invalid all the applications against Musharraf’s dual positions. Following the decision, Musharraf is eligible to be a candidate for presidential elections on 6th October, which comes as a shock & disappointment for a large number of people. On the other hand, Musharraf has announced that he will surrender his uniform on 7th October, immediately after the elections. Musharraf’s supporters are overjoyed on the Supreme Court’s decision. What do u think will be the impact of this decision on the common man?

One of the reasons ppl seek refuge in religion is the lack of any sense of control over their destination. No wonder, everyone has become a religous nut (even educated ones) in dictatorships, starting from Zia.
well we have to respect SC’s judgement even though it allowed dictator to be a presidential candidate..
review petition might be filed as well.. plus ppp is separately filing a petition against Mush
p.s. what does this have to do with Karachi?
If we consider ourselves as a democratic country then it was a poor decision.
If we are a dictatorship, then its all good and fine.
Does mush actually care about the country or he is doing this for power and his own pait pooja?
what do u think?
P>S. Not only this has to do with Karachi but it has to do with the whole country.
Lets get some thinking juices flowing ppl!
what do we want to be, a democracy or a dictatorship? Awaam is the one who is going to suffer in either case.
when musharraf came to power, market cap of kse was around $5bn. today market cap is $65bn. bottomline, business has boomed under musharraf and karachi, being the business hub of pakistan, has been the prime bneficiary of musharraf’s rule. sectors which hardly existed in 1999 such as telecom, or sectors that were under distress such as banking, have been completely transformed and have generated large scale employment opportunities for the citizens of karachi.
downside of growth however is that due to past neglect, infrastructure of karachi is wholly inadequate to deal with any sort of growth. crime rate has also shot up as growth attracts rural migrants who lack the skills for employment and thus turn to crime for survival. going forward, i hope the politicians of karachi have the sense to demand from musharraf, the resources needed to turn karachi into modern first-class city which wont happen until crime is tackled on a priority basis. citizens of karachites have stood with musharraf during his darkest hour. i hope politicans of karachi have the sense to demand our payoff.
this recent twist in the ongoing soap opera is kind of interesting. however, this poses no impact on a common man as he will keep suffering as usual.
by looking at the bigger picture and the recent series of events, i would say, this is time for lawyers to get rich and make some bucks. the establishment has no choice but to do some wealth sharing with the lawyers now since i hear loads of talks about judiciary and constitution in the newspapers which i think is just the beginning.
Question, is Pakistan’s constitution available online? If so, I would like to download that and with the help of some online degree, i want to jump start my Attorney/barrister business. Any help in this regard would be appreciated.
when musharraf came to power, market cap of kse was around $5bn. today market cap is $65bn. bottomline, business has boomed under musharraf and karachi, being the business hub of pakistan, has been the prime bneficiary of musharraf’s rule. sectors which hardly existed in 1999 such as telecom, or sectors that were under distress such as banking, have been completely transformed and have generated large scale employment opportunities for the citizens of karachi.
downside of growth however is that due to past neglect, infrastructure of karachi is wholly inadequate to deal with any sort of growth. crime rate has also shot up as growth attracts rural migrants who lack the skills for employment and thus turn to crime for survival. going forward, i hope the politicians of karachi have the sense to demand from musharraf, the resources needed to turn karachi into modern first-class city which wont happen until crime is tackled on a priority basis. citizens of karachites have stood with musharraf during his darkest hour. i hope politicans of karachi have the sense to demand our payoff.
this recent twist in the ongoing soap opera is kind of interesting. however, this poses no impact on a common man as he will keep suffering as usual.
by looking at the bigger picture and the recent series of events, i would say that this is time for lawyers to get rich and make some big bucks. the establishment has no choice but to do some wealth sharing with the lawyers now since i hear loads of talks about judiciary and constitution in the newspapers which i think is just the beginning.
Question, is Pakistan’s constitution available online? becuase I would like to download that and with the help of some online degree, i want to jump start my Attorney/barrister business. Any help in this regard would be appreciated.
Whenever Wardee is in trouble, Dharee comes along and gets it out of it. 17th amendment is just one such occasion. Court’s hands are tied by parliament and parliament is representative of people. People need to elect their representatives for their credibility and not according to the length of their beard.
Exactly what does this have to do with the Karachi city itself? I think it’ll be better to start another blog PakistanPolitics.metblogs.com and post such stories over there. ADMIN WAKE UP!!!
There is no further debate, accept the Supreme courts decision.
You can’t have your cake and eat it too!
Good decision by the supreme court. Under the law, they made the correct decision. It is up to the law makers to make the law, while the courts interpret it.
So well done and a brave decision. May not be a popular one, but good that the court decided what was right and correct under the law.
Its good to see SC is finally making decisions according to law. If they wanted to play politics, there was an open option for them. But guess what…..they didn’t
So, basically everybody in favor of the decision hmm?? Or everybody that likes to read this blogs and comment on topics. To be honest with you, I am surprised!
@cheekoo
u are not alone my friend
@KING_FAISAL & Tariq Khanani
*** when musharraf came to power, market cap of kse was around $5bn. today market cap is $65bn. bottomline, business has boomed under musharraf
Its like saying when my wife was not prostitute, our home income was 100,000. Now that she works 4 days a week in local massage parlour, my income is 180000
what happened to the ghairat of ppl who want to live free and independent?
Its a supreme court decision,
PUTT LOW JO PUTT NA Hai -
I believe - BB will cancel her return.
let us have a POLL on that now
SALIM A wise man once said;
IZZAT TOU AANEE JAANEE CHEEZ HEY BANDAY KO DHEET HONA CHAHIEAY.
Chill out man, this is Pakistan not Finland, at least we are moving forward instead of getting jammed in the legal quagmire. Now the onus is on the parties to present their programs for the future instead of relying on one point anti Mush agenda. They will now have to do some real political work and come up with new ideas. Boy that’s a tough call.
Good decision in my opinion. I don’t know what terms of law they considered before taking this decision but Musharraf is far better than thugs and corrupt politicians like Nawaz Sharif and Benazir Bhutto. In fact Pakistan is better off if these two stay out of Pakistan.
@ KING_FAISAL: right on buddy; well said. 100% agree with you. None of the governments paid any attention to Karachi and did not provide enough funds for infrastructure and other projects; all they wanted was revenue from Karachi and that’s all. I would like to add to your observation about law-and-order in Karachi; not only the people who come from Ghots/Pinds are involved in these crimes, but also the youngsters who were born/raised in Karachi. Think about a young man who does not have enough money in his pockets and he sees the culture and environment around him (Commercialization, materialistic world, shinny new cards, new cell phones, couples hanging out @ Area 51, etc); he goes to college and sees his peers who have the things that he does not have. What would he do? I hope most of them don’t do anything but others take the shortcut and start robbing others just to match what their peers and other people around them have.
@ ATTORNEY TO BE: here you go. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Constitution_of_Pakistan
@ Salim Ansari: Hello! ding, ding! What does ghairat has to do with it? If you are referring to Musharraf’s support for America then please name at least one politician (except Zulfiqar Bhutto) who would not have supported US. You can’t b/c there is no one!
@ JAMAL SHAMSI: It depends on the deal; we don’t know for sure if Musharraf and BB has a deal. If they do, she will come for sure; if they don’t, she would not!
@ attorney to be: Here’s the pakistani constitution: http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/. knock yourself out!
@ attorney to be: you should be look at article 184(3). There’s where the SC’s reasoning lies.
What a disgrace and what a shame….but who cares. The majority of judges are as shameless as the majority of our politicians…But on the other hand i m also diappointed by our public they r sitting in their homes and doing nothing.this laid back attitude has done alot of damage to our homeland.I wish MAY ALLAH SEND ABBABIL to destroy these ruthless rulers of pakistan.Other wise nothing is going to change in pakistan as we r doing nothing.May ALLAH save this nation by some MIRACLE.
referring KSE and not mentioning different scandals in past few years? Interesting. Not everyone has short memory like you. KSE’s “boom” is child’s play for Shoky and His Pals. Jab chaha index giradia jab chaha barhadia. Interesting thing is share holders of Askari bank didn’t suffer severely. Does anybody know the reason? *grin*- *
Askari* mey jo bat hay wo kisi aur mey kahan
By the way, what’s relation of this post with Karachi? or it’s just you posted personal post here instead of your own blog?
@MS & @TEYMOUR,
Thank you both.
Here is the recap:
This is what 184 (3) says:
184(3) Without prejudice to the provisions of Article 199, the Supreme Court shall, if it considers that a question of public importance with reference to the enforcement of any of the Fundamental Rights conferred by Chapter I of Part II is involved have the power to make an order of the nature mentioned in the said Article.
And this is what the 6 judges did in favor of Mush:
Per Dawn http://dawn.com/2007/09/28/welcome.htm
Six other members of the bench — Justice Javed Iqbal, Justice Abdul Hameed Dogar, Justice Muhammad Nawaz Abbasi, Justice Faqir Muhammad Khokhar, Justice Falak Sher and Justice M.Javed Buttar — held the petitions to be “not maintainable” under Article 184 (3) of the Constitution. The petitions were filed by Jamaat-i-Islami, its Ameer Qazi Hussain Ahmed, Imran Khan and Pakistan Lawyers Forum. “For reasons to be recorded later, as per majority view of 6:3, these petitions are held to be not maintainable within contemplation of Article 184(3) of the Constitution,” the order said.
Morale of the Story:
Mush survives and 6 new billioniares are in the making. Hilarious!!!
After ASA’s post;
The whole country has been put under ABABEEL ALERT!
Venture out at your own risk, use of helmets is prudent, but its not a guaranteed protection against heavenly bodies.
Presidential candidates;
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/interactivity/specials/101_pre_candidate_zs/
Someone wise said, ‘ don’t argue with a fool , he will first bring you down to his level and beat you with his experience’
So if a court gives a verdict in opposition’s favor it’s alright - if the decision is against them (opposition), hell breaks loose. The mullah’s seems to lost the plot here and are against the President just because of there respect constituency’s (which opts to vote for anyone against Mushraff’s policy of going into tribal areas) , the Sharif’s are fighting against Mushraff because of personal reasons ( Mushraff didn’t allow Sharif’s to make Itefaq Group Pakistan’s No. 1 Business Dynasty) , Qazi Hussain has been against anyone and everyone , Imran Khan is now ethinically motivated against Urdu Speaking Community and the Nationalists ( ANP , POONAM ) have a one-point agenda of re-establishing there feudal agenda in there areas. People like Mustafa Khar now a devoted Sharif is hypocritical enough to be part of PML (N) while his daughter is a state minister!
What kind of people are we? Acts like this makes me a firm believer in President Mushraff and a bit more anti-opposition which is only interested in getting rid of one-man (Gen.Mushraff) and does not have a clear and defined agenda post-Mushraff.
Here I would like to add that with all the flaws in Mushraff and his allies - in practical this army man is more democratic then anyone else at least way more then Nawaz & Bibi Clan. Although I personally do not agree with a lot of the decisions - but hey, why blame everything on Mushraff?
Unfortunately in today’s world, it’s the ‘lesser evil’ which is a safer option to be relied upon instead of those who are obstinate and are devils themselves.
Barrister Ali K.Chishti
The problem is not only mush but the whole lot of miserable sycophants who surround him. it is revolting to see the millions being spent on ad campaigns. What about the recent wheat crisis? this was supposed to be a bumper crop year!!! We are now importing wheat!!!! For Gods’ sake, people if there is no accountability amongst our politicians, then hum aam awan kya karen?
army man is more democratic then anyone else
Chishti Sahab, Agar Chor Insaaf karnay lagay tab bhe wo Chor kahlata hay. Suna nahi? “Chor chori se jaye hera pheri se na jaye”- Same is with dictatorship but shayed aap ko ye samjhne mey abhi arsa darkaar hay. :-)
Well, in any civilized society, supreme courts make sure the constitution remain intact in its basic shape and spirit.
It was a good time albeit belated one, to strike down 17th amendment, but the Supreme court chose the other way. They virtually blamed politicians for palatial politics, as if Supreme Court has no role when the constitution is changed or the way it is enforced.
All said and done, Pakistan Army is huge, and its stakes r so high, that it is virtually impossible to dislodge it with Supreme court or few marches. Musharraf or not, Pak Army is here to stay in its blood-sucking role.
king_faisal: well said!
Good or BAD we have to accept the decision. Justice wajeeh has told GEO that 3 of the Judges were related to gov. 2 of them being law secretaries earlier and one being the culprit who was involved in elections earlier.
But even then the lawyers should go by law and be ready for a long struggle. In any case, here was my prediction that came true.
http://www.teeth.com.pk/blog/2007/09/27/inside-the-mind-of-a-supreme-court-judge/
this was posted one day prior to the judgment.
@MB
nice plug for ur blog….who reads it btw?
MB it is not fitting for Justice Wajihuddin to give such remarks, he should be the first one to accept it, I think his comments are more political than legal, afterall he is a candidate.
On the other hand Justice Mamoon Kazi another very respected name who did not take oath under LFO, has severely criticised the behaviour of some lawyers and said, “If a layman behaves likes that, then it is understandable but when lawyers behave like this then it is deplorable.” He further said judgement is valid on technical grounds.
Cheer up we are going back to civilian rule from a millitary one, dont try to rush things, the voices of reason are saying take a deep breath slow down, country is moving forward not backward.
“Recommended Comments” on the following page say it all. Specially read the comments of non-Pakistanis! Musharraf or no Musharraf, what they have got to loose? even they recognize the need to keep Musharraf.
http://newsforums.bbc.co.uk/nol/thread.jspa?sortBy=2&threadID=7525&edition=2&ttl=20070929061355&#paginator
So people who are against Musharraf, please wake up, face the reality; Pakistan needs Musharraf; BB, Nawaz and others are ghundaas and would take us back to 1999 era!
By the way guys, will there be eVoting? or do they have plans for allowing non-resident Pakistanis to vote in Pakistani embassies/consulates abroad? I really want to vote this time around …
Baghwan Das doesn’t like the decision;
http://jang.com.pk/jang/sep2007-daily/29-09-2007/up58.gif
We should hand over administration of this country to non-Muslims. There is no hope left from Muslims especially from Mullahs.
This is a new one a sitting Supreme Court Judge commenting on the judgement which he himself is part of. Now everyone wants to be a politician, and they say there was pressure on the judges. I have never seen sitting judges giving press statements on judgements. Such is the pressure from the goon lawyer community.
*Jamal Shamsi
I believe - BB will cancel her return.
Aap kay moonh may ghee shakkar.
Though, I hope she shows up, gets arrested at Karachi airport, and then spends 20 years qaid-e-baa’mushagat for loot khasooT, and perhaps life for her brother’s murder. Iss dafaa saalee lafangan bhaag kar naa jaanay paa-ae. Aa badmash!
tu nay bees saal say Pakistan kee museebat karee huee hae!
The stupid woman can then write books in jail while on breaks from rigorous punishment. Bitch!
I fully agree with those who support Musharraf. He is the only hope left for Pakistan. The Mullahs like Qazi said NO to each and every thing in life except in his Nikkah. Can’t you remember that Qazi had the same agitational politics against the governments of Nawaz and BB. No matter what the government do. These Mullas can never be pleased. We don’t want to see the ira of 90s comming back to us. We don’t want Mr. 10% nor yellow cab scandle.
This government and Musharaff is not going any where no matter what the opposition or lawyers (liers) do.
Shame to hypocrate lawayer and opposition parties.
I fully agree with those who support Musharraf. He is the only hope left for Pakistan. The Mullahs like Qazi said NO to each and every thing in life except in his Nikkah. Can’t you remember that Qazi had the same agitational politics against the governments of Nawaz and BB. No matter what the government do. These Mullas can never be pleased. We don’t want to see the ira of 90s comming back to us. We don’t want Mr. 10% nor yellow cab scandle.
This government and Musharaff is not going any where no matter what the opposition or lawyers (liers) do.
fully agree with those who support Musharraf. He is the only hope left for Pakistan. The Mullahs like Qazi said NO to each and every thing in life except in his Nikkah. Can’t you remember that Qazi had the same agitational politics against the governments of Nawaz and BB. No matter what the government do. These Mullas can never be pleased. We don’t want to see the era of 90s coming back to us. We don’t want Mr. 10% nor yellow cab scandal.
This government and Musharaff is not going any where no matter what the opposition or lawyers (liars) do.
Shame to hypocrite lawyer and opposition parties.
fully agree with those who support Musharraf. He is the only hope left for Pakistan. The Mullahs like Qazi said NO to each and every thing in life except in his Nikkah. Can’t you remember that Qazi had the same agitational politics against the governments of Nawaz and BB. No matter what the government do. These Mullas can never be pleased. We don’t want to see the era of 90s coming back to us. We don’t want Mr. 10% nor yellow cab scandal.
This government and Musharaff is not going any where no matter what the opposition or lawyers (liars) do.
Shame to hypocrite lawyer and opposition parties.
FAS bas karein aap tu jazbati ho gaye
after the use of brute force by government against lawyers and press on saturday outside election commission, the foreign media noted that they faced such state sponsored terrorism and suppression of opposition/press in just 3~4 other places worldwide.. they compared it with situation in mayanmar,nepal, and indian occupied kashmir…. so much for freedom of speech … heh!
People who are supporting Musharaf should know that we DID NOT pay any of our loans after 9/11 instead of taking more out. There was a rapid boost to this privatization and we kinda sold everything (Thanks to SC which stopped Steel Mill’s privatization!
We have lost our sovereignty, Law and are more than destabilised!
In our beloved country our own soldiers are being “kidnapped” and killed because of idiotic policies!
If you have a heart then reads reports on “Gumshuda Afrad” and try to feel what their loved ones are going through when their kids/husbands/brothers just disappear under NO Law and never brought up in front of a court of law!
oh yeah
just a reminder for people who are singing and dancing for the reserves in Pakistan watch this
http://uk.youtube.com/watch?v=JJyx5KboG5A
LONG LIVE MUSSHI!
Very well said King Faisal.
As for Salim, how is your freedom being affected by Mushy, I personally think we have more freedom under mushy then you have ever had in the past 20 years. Media is just one example of it.
As for beating up the media is concerned these things happen when crowds go out of control and the police dont know how to stop them.
ID and this privatization was the most transparent in our history. Govt has no business running Mills, telephone companies and airlines etc.
If these institutions have to survive then they need to be privatized, the SC has done no favour by stopping Steel Mills privatization, it is already very hard to sell our degenerated institutions, there are simply not many buyers.
As for the loans, we were practically bankrupt remember. Our IMF instalments were paid by China and Saudia was giving us free oil, that’s how we were surviving, thanks for the great economic brain of Nawaz Sharif. The whole nation would have been driving yellow cabs that too without passengers.
Yes, it’s a mess created by our military’s inference in Afghanistan and Tribal Areas over the past three decades. Now when they are trying to roll back and correct the past follies, they are finding the going very tough, for this special thanks to our Nadaan US friends. The need of the hour is to steady the boat and proceed. In any case we cannot allow jirgaa’s to dictate terms on how to live our lives.
As for showing Heart, my dear this country is drenched with blood of not hundreds or thousands but millions of innocent souls. From Jinnah to present day every leader and every party has had blood on its hands. Since Zia’s era we have been fed with the opium of religious zealousness and are finding it very hard to give up the habit. These are all severe withdrawal symptoms; to get through this phase it is essential that we endure and don’t lit the pipe again.
* Reality_Check
thanks for the great economic brain of Nawaz Sharif
*** Please don’t discount the enormous boost that was given to our economy by Budnazir and her hubby, Mr. 10%
You have to be fair.
*Reality_check
Yes, it’s a mess created by our military’s inference in Afghanistan and Tribal Areas over the past three decades
*** Again, I would like to add that Budnazir was the PM while our best general Nasrullah Babar lead the taliban all the way to Kabul.
I am beginning to suspect you are a secret admirer of Budnazir! and you khvah-makhvah bad mouth our other genious Navaz NoSharif.
Pakistani dictatorships are not guilty of any massive oppression or crimes to cause people to become religious nuts. Rather I would say it is the mental weakness of Pakistanis, their inability to face harsh truths and cold facts, which causes them to go crazy.
What huge injustices did the Lal Masjid mullahs suffer at the hands of the govt for them to go insane, and brainwash children into becoming gangsters? None.
* AAMIR ALI write
Rather I would say it is the mental weakness of Pakistanis
**** Bhai Sahib, would you support my call for an immediate ban on first cousin marriages in Pakistan for the next 20 years at least. Next generation of Pakistanis should be engineered scientifically.
BALMA how can I skip Benazir, well because what she did was deliberate and his husband knew what he was doing, whereas, poor Nawaz was simply at a
loss, the high office of PM was simply beyond his competace level. The fact is PPP started the economic decline of this country when it Nationalized Industry & Commerce and set aside merit.
I hope this is enough compensation for my earlier oversight, however, army cannot escape its portion of the blame, there is no one like Zia-ul-Haque.
MQM looking forward to an other General Naseerullah Babar.
Next generation of Pakistanis should be engineered scientifically.
eh,Like you? a test tube baby?
* Adnan Siddiqi bhai wrote:
a test tube baby?
***** I hate to admit that I am bit older for that:-)
I was a school kid when one day my shcool bus broke down on Lawrence Road around Ramaswami and so us boys and girls jumped out of the bus to have some fun. I remember reading some Urdu newpaper (probably Hurriyat) at some halvaai’s shop that a new technology had been developed to help people have children. They were talking about IVF aka test-tube technology.
Having said that, people who are married to their cousins can take advantage of this wonderful technology too…. just in case you were confused!
BaiTay yeh science kay kamaalaat hai’n, but people like Farhat Auntie and Asrar–o-Ramooz rather let yahood-o-nasaaraa invent these things while they tell people like you to focus on Akhirat. Shame on Muslims!