Clinton in Karachi?

Bill Clinton is to visit Karachi and set up an office of the Clinton Foundation here… according to the Nazim. Hmmm…

40 Comments so far

1. kar-ach-i (unregistered) on October 1st, 2007 @ 8:31 pm

@cyril the squirrel.

so what????

2. verysmart (unregistered) on October 1st, 2007 @ 10:36 pm

Negativity is the virtue of a CYnic

3. ALAM (unregistered) on October 1st, 2007 @ 10:48 pm

well, Bill Clinton is the nices face of USA, and his arrival should be welcome. I dont care if Qazi Hussain Ahmed sahib or city Nazim is shaking their hands (or booty) with him.

4. KhiTorPit (unregistered) on October 1st, 2007 @ 11:28 pm

I dont know much about the development being done in Khi recently, but I would like to ask you guys if we got rid of the problems like.
    Sewarage problem after rain, lack of electricity and clean water.

Beside constructing a couple of new flyovers which didnt help much the city, as the traffic rush is still their, a couple of new parks which is useless untill the law and order situation is solved so my question is what is really changed in the city ???

The law and order situation is worse, if a CJ is not secure then what can we say about a normal person? Just name one organization which is working properly ?

5. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on October 1st, 2007 @ 11:40 pm

KHIT – MQM Khidmat Khalq committe is working properly – This is answer to your question –
    leave it, forget it, that can wait

just confirm Quickly please if Monica is coming with clinton or not?

6. Omer (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 12:24 am

Time to shut down another road just like the Marriott Road :)

7. Ubed (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 1:12 am

hahaah lol@ monica…

i didn’t knew MQM was admiring monica..

8. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 1:15 am

The best way to torture Mr.Clinton to force him drive on bumpy roads of Karachi.

Jab pasli ka jaga gurda aur dil k jaga jigar aye ga tu monica ki sari yaad nikal jaye gi.

Infact I have a theory that mrs.senator clinton has not forgotten the past and now taken revenge by sending his hubby here. She made her fool by showing fake cuttings of developed Karachi.

Aurat ka Intiqam bara khaternak hota hay :D

9. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 1:21 am

i didn’t knew MQM was admiring monica

well recently Faiza Gabloo has made Mr.Hussain single again so there are chances that admirers(haqparast Karkun) would have been asked to cure “tanhai” of Altaf bai and seek new “Bhabi”. Kamal might have visited US for same purpose and ask Mr.Clinton to use his influence and ask Ms.Lewinsky to get married with Altaf bhai.

waise it shivers me, Altaf weds Monica, kaisa ajeeb sa sama hoga.

10. d0ct0r (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 1:35 am

maybe MQM leadership will arrange a similar welcome like they did on 12th may when CJ arrived.. they’ll stage another massacre outside the airport and clinton will run for his life and return without even stepping out of the airport..

p.s. MQM is blamming Imran of using some woman against Altaf bai.. if i am not mistaken are they really blaming imran for Altaf’s breakup with his wife or is it some other woman we’re talking about?

11. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 1:53 am

ADNAN You managed yet again to post a worthless piece of crap, with no relevance to the topic, and not worth commenting either.

BTW your leader Imran Khan yet again managed to avoid another crisis situation, he is no where to be found while his lawyers are braving the stick. He has scored hatrick of timely disappearences. Previous two: LaL Masjid and Nawaz Sharif. A great example of leading from the back.

As for CLINTON’s arrival, for now I will only say there is a lot more coming Karachi’s way, if all goes well this city is not gonna look back, and everybody will benefit. This sadly includes you too.

12. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 2:07 am

and not worth commenting either.

Yet you are responding me. *grin*

13. d0ct0r (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 2:08 am

@Reality imran is busy nailing Altaf in london.. Altaf bai these days is also occupied with divorce settlement case(in which his ex wife is claiming half of his property) and the case filed by imran..

14. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 2:12 am

So here is the DOCTOR we know, the same old wining self. Dear, CJ and his band of brothers are safe in the capital, which is the right place for the fight for constitutional righteousness. Meanwhile, this city has no time for such endeavours. Its inhabitants will continue to work hard and move forward. Rest assured it will not become hub of International Terrorists and Religious Zealots ever again. It will prosper!

15. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 2:43 am

ADNAN I guess its a love, hate relation ship. However, I didnt comment on what you said, just poured the topping.

True IK is in London trying what you have said; maybe he is also there to empathize with a fellow divorcee.

On a serious note this is the last viable option left for him to pursue after loosing out on Mush’s front. He desperately needs to deliver something to his supporters after being pushed into this IOI with MQM by the other clever politicians of this country. For a leader claiming to be fighting for Law & Constitution the real battles are taking place in the capital. To leave all that for a meeting with Faiza Gabol, I think it’s beneath his stature and upbringing.

Even if he manages to have his adversary arrested (a very very long shot), that will only show how much influence he has in Britain, and might help him win few more seats in Punjab and that’s all. Personally I believe he is wasting his energies on senseless pursuits.

16. ALAM (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 2:45 am

@REALITY

Imran disappeared just 3 times? did u forget the time when he was not there in protest outside Altaf bhai’s residence? Even ppl from his own party were confused.

Regarding Altaf bhai, I want this psycho arrested too. I think MQM is far better part minus him. Faiza harmed him more than Imran Khan could do in centuries.

17. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 3:06 am

Thanks ALAM, I’ll make it 4 and counting ……

I think being bitten by spouse, is an in-trend for Pakistan politicians. Benazir started it, her husband harmed her party more than Jaam Sadiq. Imran Khan fell from grace in the last elections when he married Jamima and now Khar’s Ex has the ear of Shabaz. On the other hand if Nawaz Sharif had allowed Kulsoom to run the show, she would have done a much better job than him.

18. Ali K.Chishti (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 3:08 am

@ Doctor aka Quack , When a man points a finger at someone else, he should remember that three of his fingers are pointing at himself – there is a deliberate attempt to drag MQM in everything ( which is not funny anymore ) .
    There is something wrong here – I sometimes smell ethinic bias in people who does not waste a oppurtunity to malign MQM.
    It’s such a shame!!!

Barrister Ali K.Chishti

19. Ali K.Chishti (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 3:20 am

@ I could not agree more ! especially the comment about MQM – Altaf Hussain .
    It’s intresting to watch on one of the shows on DAWN NEWS where Abida Hussain in a interview used words like ‘You Urdu(s)’ and ‘These Urdu Walas’ – if this would have been England – I would have sued her for ethinicial discrimination. There is a serious effort by some to target ‘Mohajirs’ ( Urdu , Gujrati Speakers and people who migrated from what is now India to Pakistan ) – Pres.Mushraff being – there number one target.

20. Balma (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 4:14 am

Iss bath tub may sub nangay hai’n. Everyone makes racist comments in Pakistan. For a glimpse, check out KMB.

21. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 6:12 am

if i am not mistaken are they really blaming imran for Altaf’s breakup with his wife

maybe, you can expect anything from them. Sita White nahi tu Faiza Brown he Sahee.

BTW, I do agree, discussing Altaf or MQM is nothing but piece of crap. Nobody will deny.

22. Neena (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 6:24 am

I think its good news that Clinton Foundation is opening in Karachi. Hope that foundation really able to help Karachiites, the one who works all day but never able to eat a decent meal. They don’t care what someone like Clinton does in personal life they only want food and shelter for their families and themselves. No one can deny Karachi is full of them.

It is ironic that for self confessed Moral Police someone’s personal behavior is unforgivable sin than the sin we as a people commit everyday by not taking care of one’s neighbor. But we are talking about a society where people got killed if someone sees them eating in Ramzan. I never saw anyone got crossed with anyone who is overfeeding themselves while others are starving.

23. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 6:50 am

CHISHTI SAHIB people like Abida Hussain are not racist, they are thorougly bred, blue blooded feudals, who find it very hard to cope with cities like Karachi where there princely credential dont take them very far. Hence they do hold a grudge. The good thing is that, time is against them, the way middle class is growing in Lahore, soon they will find solace in places like Jhang only.

On the other hand there are people like Sheikh Rasheed, Javed Hashmee and others whose Khameer is from middle classes, you will not hear a racist word nor you will feel any racist vibes emanating from them.

ADNAN please dont drink and write, its a very dangerous habit. My advice limit yourself to non-alcoholic stuff, you obviously cannot handle the real thing.

24. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 6:58 am

NEENA who better to echo your sentiments then Faiz;

JA BA JA biktey huay kucha-o-bazaar mein jism
    Khaak mein lithray huay,
    Khoon mein nehlaaey huay……….

http://www.pakistanimusic.com/playerf.php?str=773

25. Neena (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 7:07 am

Reality_Check,

Thanks for the link. I love Faiz too.

26. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 8:17 am

***MR PRESIDENT CLINTON***
    WELLCOME! to my city of birth.
    You are one of my favorite president

oh sorry for the mess its under construction :)

27. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 8:19 am

Well Faiz is gone and I dont see a man of his calibre emerging from this dhartee in the not so near future. Such is the decay and flight of intellect. Hopefully, I will be proven wrong, I can wish.

28. Adnan (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 9:13 am

If faiz was alive today, he would have said several Nazams against MQM’s fascism on 12th May and later.

Same faiz then was beaten up by Karkun of MQM or even banned to enter in Sind.

29. MENSHEVIK (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 9:51 am

@faiz lovers

I wasnt even born when Faiz was awarded Lenin award in USSR,

wrote this, long after the fall of russia, for all those PROGRESSIVE WRITERS who aligned themselves with communist russia in the cold war era,

wo na istehsaal-e-saleeb-o-qamar karaiN gae
    wo chalnee ab apnay hi sadr karaiN gae (sadr==chest)

istehsaali ruus ko qibla samajhtay thay jo
    ab kis simt khum apnay ser karaiN gae

laa-deen mazahab nay mot ka kalma parha
    ab mawahid pe wo kaisay jaber karaiN gae

30. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 10:25 am

MENSHEVIK thats why I am not an idealist like Faiz, ofcourse socialist model of Russia has failed because it was not flexible, whereas its counterpart China is taking giant strides in the march towards a capitalist society sans the exploitive feudal / mullah nexus.

Those were different times, people like Faiz were not wrong when they spoke out against the Feudal, Mullahs and the Millitary alliance. It was Zulfiquar Ali Bhutto who hijacked their cause and dealt it a death blow. Mullahs and feudals won, but look what a mess they have created.

ADNAN I tend to agree but before May 12, he would have also written Nazms on Qasbah, Ali Garh and Hyderabad massacres.

BTW saw your leader IK on Capital Talk today, drawing abstract analogies with Sweden, Algeria and Burma. At the same time unsuccessfully dodging questions about his where abouts. Hamid Mir had real fun! The funniest part was, “I came to the Airport 7:00 am to rcv Nawaz Sharif, saw such a large contention of police and then I ……” All the time official PTI position was that they decided in priciple not to recieve NS or something like that…

31. ALAM (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 10:36 am

@Adnan

**** Same faiz then was beaten up by Karkun of MQM or even banned to enter in Sind.

O jahil bhai,

Was Faiz alive and in Pakistan when MQM came to being? He died in 1984. MQM was formed in 1986. Before the big jalsa in 1986, there was no MQM, no Altaf bhai and no Muhajir strength in KHI. JI ruled the city, under the Army rule

what a duffer

32. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 10:52 am

Reality, How could he wrote nazams for 90s operation when he would have seen MQM licking toes of current dictatorship? Don’t you know how much faiz was against Military dictatorship? try to make sense once, pls?

33. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 11:34 am

from clinton to faiz :)

– any likli possibility that Faiza Gabool Tie wedlock Knot with Imran Khan ?

34. FAS (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 12:13 pm

any likli possibility that Faiza Gabool Tie wedlock Knot with Imran Khan ?

I think Imran mary Faiza and Altaf marry Jamima. Good for both.

35. FAS (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 12:15 pm

any likli possibility that Faiza Gabool Tie wedlock Knot with Imran Khan ?

I think Imran mary Faiza and Altaf marry Jamima. Good for both.

36. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 1:50 pm

from clinton to faiz :)

And you made it from Faiz to Faiza.

37. Reality_Check (unregistered) on October 2nd, 2007 @ 7:42 pm

JAMAL Mr. Adnan has that uncanny ability to drag MQM into every topic and I fell into that trap Ouuuch!!

Well if Faiz was alive today he would have been too old to say anything.

As for Imran Khan marrying Faiza, considerring his recent track record, he is not likely to show up at the wedding. :)

38. Syed Johny (unregistered) on October 3rd, 2007 @ 1:15 am

@KhiTorPit

The sewerage problem has almost been eliminated from the area CDGK ! also the rain water Issue !

the only problem that Karachi faces right now is the security and perhaps overload of Infrastructure development going on !

39. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 3rd, 2007 @ 1:31 am

area CDGK

if CDGK area consist of surroundings of 90 Azizabad then you might be right. :-)

40. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on October 3rd, 2007 @ 11:18 am

KhiTorPit KhiTorPit