Here she comes…. Benazir Bhuto
![]()
The year 2007 seems to bring all the politicians back to the country that were in exile. (Whether or not they are deported is another case.) With Benazir Bhutto announcing to land on Karachi on October 18, we see billboards welcoming her in advance. This billboard is installed at a prominent location near Baloch Colony flyover and was used by some MQM supporters in favor of Altaf bhai some time back. (Lets keep our finger crossed and expect “Altaf Bhai” to announce his date of coming back as well.)
“Lay ker rahey ga har insaan, Roti kapra makan” (Wow! How much luggage is she allowed to carry?)

her request for bullet proof car have been approved by sindh highcourt… bullet proof car won’t help her much, she would need those bomb proof mercs which Mush uses if she needs to survive here after she has been giving those statements to please her american masters.. *(statements about A Q Khan and another one about allowing americans to attack inside pakistani teritory if she iz in power)
Let us have a POLL –
BB will come – to Pakistan
BB will not come – to Pakistan
Benazir will definitely come to Pakistan and she is going to be PM again..of a country that she maligns at every forum. As far as I think, the deal between the two was done and the recent events like ” deal nahin hoyee……resignations..Fahim for President…etc” are an orchestrated drama proposed by the people who negotiated the deal, just to support her image in the eyes of our naive countrymen.
I have doubts whether she will be PM, firstly becuase she as stated by someone she has given too many stupid statements which Mushy prob didnt like either. And second tht law for 3rd time PM hasnt been accepted yet and I dont think it will accepted.
Ye jo wardi hai , Asal dehshat gardi hai
Years back BB was labeled by MUSH and co as corrupt thieves and now he is hugging her like anything.
Hypocrite champion = PERVAIZ MUSH
http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100272825&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20071002
The best
http://express.com.pk/epaper/PoPupwindow.aspx?newsID=1100271654&Issue=NP_LHE&Date=20070930
MB: so does BB and Nawaz… hugging each other BHAYA and BEHNA… and to some extent Imran Khan too.. remember who brouth the case of Sita White against him!!!
I guess let us all Welcome our Marry Antoinette.. I hope she meets the same fate and we get our Revolution finally
@ MB – The Wardi issue is now CLOSED. So lets move on plz…
Sadly, I have to admit, being a progressive at heart I am more disappointed by the acts of the parties on the left than on the right.
As far as Jamaat and JUI are concerned, you know where they stand, but I am not able to make any sense out of BB’s dance and her statements from foreign lands.
She has already conquered the hardest part i.e. running a campaign and winning an election, albeit her imagination, and is just expecting to come and sit directly into the comfy PM chair.
Like it or not as things are progressing, it is my gut feeling that Ch. Shujaat will remain the single most influential power broker of the country and BB will be lucky to get even Chief ministership of Sindh.
Time to exit from any positions on KSE and move liquid assets to safer locations. What a bitch.
She should be hung upside down.
Ashfaq Parvez Kayani appointed new Army chief once Mush steps down.. Tariq majeed new joint chief..
chances of Altaf bai ever comming back are quite slim.. he might run to some african country to avoid arrest in Britain(if his arrest warrants are issued) but comming back to pakistan is simply out of question for him.. maybe india?
* comming back to pakistan is simply out of question for him.. maybe india
Nothing wrong with that, buddy. PM Navaz NoSharif wanted Pakistan’s military chief to land in India too. Must be a great place!
Altaf bhai can come to Karachi, after it is sperated from the rest of Pakistan, huh? good idea?
hey, what is a $1.2 billion corruption between friends..let her come…khoob guzray gee jo mil bethain gay dewanay…
Lets hope the 3 choors, Nawaja, budnazir and altafa dakoo stay out and as far away from pakistan as possible.
They cause enough harn from that far away, imagine the lootairey they will let loose once they are back on the kursi!!
I think Benazir would prove to be a good partner to Mushraff and this time would prove to be a better prime minister (as compared to her other two stunts). Her stance on curbing religious extremism is commendable – as it’s the religious forces which needs beating ( some say it’s a American agenda – to me it’s very much in Pakistan’s interest).
Before all of this, I wish Bibi sends a apology letter to MQM for extra-judicial killings during her government.
Mushraff’s opposition is very much based on ‘ethnic prejudice’ where a certain community is targeting him because of him ( Mushraff ) being a Urdu Speaking Man. Mushraff is being treated as ‘Mikail Gorbachov’ who installed real democracy in Russia and gave average Russian to speak out on national issues but leader’s like Boris Yesin ridiculed him in public for there own inconsequential purposes.
(P.S: I’m believe in racialism and not wishes)
Barrister Ali K.Chishti
@Ali K.Chishti Before all of this, I wish Bibi sends a apology letter to MQM for extra-judicial killings during her government.
Benazir says she is proud of the operation conducted by her government in karachi..
her stance is that she was just flushing out the terrorists who were running amok killing innocent karachiites..
a high level cabinet meeting at Prime minister house in principle decides to withdraw case against Benazir..
Lets just hope we don’t have another 12th May!! :S
am just wondering how would this equation work out… PPP considers MQM as bunch of terrorist, what will be role of Q league and future of Shortcut Aziz and Arbab Raheem (who openly curses BB) or maybe these confidence building measures are just to get BB to facilitate Mush in getting reelected as president and once reelected Q league and Mush will ditch BB ?
* Q league and Mush will ditch BB
Just ditch, bhayya?
I hope they put her in jail for 20 years qaid-e-baamushaqat for corruption and umar-qaid of course w/ mushaqqat for her brother’s murder. Ab kay baar yeh badmaash bhaag kar jaanay nah paayae!
I wish Balma’s wish comes true.
ShortCut and his cabinet (chaudry, sherpao,faisal saleh, jatoi, babar tajori ) are all mega corrupts so infact they are giving themseleves and their brethren a free gift.
Paisa kaho awaam ka aur maafi lo apnay corrupt bhaiyon sae..wo bhee bilkul aeeen k mutabiq. only in pakistan
dua hae k CJ az khud is dhandli ka notice laen..
new CAOS designate Gen kayani reportedly has soft spot of Benazir..
bb will play the role of a strong opposition leader or similar to sonia gandhi this is the actual deal …….
*soft spot for Benazir*
Salam,
I am currently in UK for my studies. After reaching here, I realized what a human is. What rights are. No matter from where you are, unless and until you are living fare, you wont be harm. You and British have equal rights. But in our country, only Army and Politician have powers. Masses are just for receiving taxes and for making larger bank balances from them.
Mush seriously wanted new leadership to emerge and provided the opportunity, but no one was able to step forward and take advantage.
The current crop of politicians just wants to stay behind the scenes and take personal advantage. Imran Khan was a hope but he is lost in no mans land and petty squabbles.
Now country has to move forward there are not many options. Sadly, we have to endure all this and hope for the best.The good thing is that major banks and other financial institutions have been privatized and are safe from direct interference. State Bank and CBR are in the hands of competent people, city funds are in the hands of the city govt away from the Chief Minister, it will be very difficult for any body to roll back the clock.
What? No honour among thieves?
BB is replacing Mullahs/MMA in the role of Musharaf approved official opposition. BB is doing exactly what MMA did five years ago via 17th amendment. For MMA or any of its supports to condemn BB is like one rundee calling another rundee bad names.
bhai molvio, tum nay paanch saal mazay kar leeay ub BB ko bhee kar lenay do.
Dictator, welcome to UK. At least now you know what we guys keep yapping about. :)
after reading comments of reality and self, it could be concluded that lefts always act like copycats(Bander) and always were used by rights. Whether they are rights of US(Bush Administration who’s milking to both Mush and Bibi[member of leftist cult] or MMA(desi rights).
History tells that lefts were always puppet of right, whether its war between US and USSR[Afghan], US vs Iraq or US[Israel]vs Iran[Hezbollah], right cleverly took advantage of lefts stupidity and used them for their own purpose.
Just look at Pakistani lefts, the liberals and seculars, how foolishly they have become victim of US’s right agenda, promoting enlightenment or so called Sufism by labeling it as “Soft Islam”- They are so inclined towards west that if today west start preaching to follow Islam in its orignal shape, they would star doing same. This is the reason that Karen Armstrong is more worthy for them about ISLAM than some Muslim authority because that Dadi Amma has gori Chamri and speaks English. One just read RAND Report of year 2004 and it exposes how US right wingers made plans to use leftist of Pakisan for their own purpose. The current statements of BiBI is just another example of dumbness of Pakisani lefts.
Pakistani lefts or lefts in general can just whine on different public forums otherwise they have no independent Identity. Just looks entries on bloggers.pk, you will find such clowns available in the form of different blog owners who have been demonstrating ignorance with proud.
For MMA or any of its supports to condemn BB is like one rundee calling another rundee bad names.
ADNAN in the present day world left is more right than right and right is more left than left. Hence the march;
left, left, left right left, left right left.
I hope things would be more clear now.
BTW what is the original shape of Islam and what is the duplicate? Also I find quite a few anomalies in your presentation of history, but that would require another lengthy retort and I am sleepy…..zzzzzzzzzz
Whoever keeps Mullahas (who use religion for their benefit) away from us is good for me. Like it or not but PPP still is the largest party. BB is nothing and still she can bank on Bhutto’s name just shows what a great leader ZAB was. I know he made some grave mistakes including hiring no brianer Zia as a Army Chief but still he is the only Real leader Pakistan produced.
BTW that billboard means MQM is OK with BB. In a long run it will be good for Karachi.
reality, yo are not supposed to grasp everything. better take your nap.
Why punjab has so much obsession with Red Light Area elements that they have to refer it most of the time to put some *weight* in their statement? I have seen it various time on different forums that unless they don’t bring elements of red area during conversation, they don’t feel contented :/
In a long run it will be good for Karachi.
Yep- I agree with you. B.B should resume the Operation which was left incomplete and remove elements of MQM from Karachi and make it pure and clean like it was in past.
@PORK-NAAN
The real “left” doesn’t believe in modifying any religion including Islam. They believe in ditching it.
@Reality is right, ur sense of history is as distored as ur heard. Calling BB as from cult of left is so stupid. Even she would be pissed off, after spawning off Talibans and defending them, in 90s.
And lefts have no independent identity, because creative and intelligent ppl have different opinions, and they all accept the diversity of opinions, unlike u fanatics.
well, whoever shamelessly sell themselevss we call them rundees, you may call them ulema e karaam. Just a question of one’s standard.
NEENA I know where you are coming from, I have myself flirted with that thought, but it stills carries a big ? In the present day Pakistan politics its very difficult to take sides or develop alliances. Though all of us here profess our support and allegiance to one group or another but deep inside we are not so sure, every body is confused and just hoping that things would get better.
The only way forward that I see is privatization + reducing the size of the government + delegating more and more at the provincial / local level. That way, whosoever is in power in the centre will have minimal effect on the lives of the ordinary individual. Just like in Japan or Korea. Empower people at the local level and let the politicians fight it out at the centre.
*Neena wrote
In a long run it will be good for Karachi.
So what! in the long run we will all be dead!
Any thing that has any thing to do with BudNazir is bad for Pakistan, hence, bad for Karachi.
Don’t be fooled by her, please!
You can sing her taraanahs when she has returned 1 billion dollars, accounted for houses and villas in London, tells us how she pays for staying at most expenisive hotels, why didn’t she investigate her brother’s murder (kuchh toe hae jiss kee pardahdaari hae), and who pays her bills in dubai and London (Remember, her father being a son of Hindu mother, didn’t inherit most of the family’s land which is tragic but besides the point here)…. I mean where is all this money coming from…. and then, may be then…. one can think of saying anything good about her. She is a bad news…. from her head to her toe.
alam, if you are equating yourself with “creative and intelligent left” then thanks for entertaining me. :-).
Even she would be pissed off, after spawning off Talibans and defending them, in 90s
This is what I said but your lit thing in upper chamber failed to understand. Lefts are always puppet in the hand of rights element. The example you gave of BiBI is the classic example of lame policies of lefts. As I advised to reality, you’re also not supposed to grasp everything discussed anywhere.
@self: thanks! you kept yourself restricted to “ulema karam” only otherwise you people don’t hesitate to use that term for parents too. :-). Atleast you were comparatively civilized than other people of your community.
What I actually see that Punjab govt(The Chadhuries) sold themselves in the hand of Musharraf 7 years back and kept entertaining him. Go figure :-)
This lamer kid assumes that those who opposes Musharraf or MQM or BB are supporter of MMA. Typical yanks mentality who always believe that those who oppose them are friends of OBL
* Reality_Check
The good thing is that major banks and other financial institutions have been privatized and are safe from direct interference. State Bank and CBR are in the hands of competent people, city funds are in the hands of the city govt away from the Chief Minister, it will be very difficult for any body to roll back the clock.
**** Wake up from your suhaanay sapnays please. Central government’s kitty is still big enough for Budnazir and her hubby to salivate over it. These bayghairats can still cause a terrible financial damage to Pakistan.
MB u r absolutly apot on “bas yeah wardi ka kamal he”
if some high profile criminal join hand with Dictator he will become clean ,pure those who against the dictator will be crimnal…now BB is in Mushy crooks team after chaudrey’s and MQM.
Salam All,
The political environment of pakistan is vibrant and the worst is yet to come as soon as the SO CALLED free fair and transparent elections comes more nearer and nearer….and nearer
I think nothing has ever been good for pakistani’s nor it’ll be good until and unless we get a revolution…just like Iran was lucky to have it few decades back. It is not at the advantage of the citizens, whomsoever comes into power. BB Nawaz Mush Altaf MMA even Imran khan, they all are same, ppl of pakistan will continue to suffer (with special suffering to sindh and balouchistan).
They dont love this country, they love power authority and obviously the CHAIR.
@PORK-NAAN
***** This is what I said but your lit thing in upper chamber failed to understand. Lefts are always puppet in the hand of rights element. The example you gave of BiBI is the classic example of lame policies of lefts.
Your stupidity is including BB in the leftist block. This is what I pointed. Khan Abuld Wali Khan and his father were true leftist elements…did they support Afghan Jihad? Did they support Talibans?
@Reality_Check
Include in ur check list the one major point below:
1. A very small and light armed forces, even if it means record unemployment in Panjab
(this obviouslt meeans no nukes, and no belligeratnt foreign policies, no support for muhajadeens, etc)
BALMA first lets not assume that she will come to power. Even if she does, this time around it wont be that easy to loot the treasury, however, commissions and kick backs will be a viable option, with limited impact on the overall economy.
Last time around these folks (Nawaz + BiBi) directly looted the banks, that wont happen again, unless they nationalize them.
Well ALAM I agree, when we discuss reducing the reliance on foriegn aid there is a very simple formula;
Cutdown the army to 50% + Tax the agri income.
However, both of these options or not so simple to implement. Mushi is prepared to reduce the army as soon as relations with Inda are normalized, but the indian politicians are dragging their feet. The second option is out of the questions till the waderas hold the reigns of Pak Politics. So we are back to square one.
Again the approach, local empowerment, privatize, increase the size of the middle class particularly in Punjab, get more say in politics, tax agri income, reduce army and be free….its that simple. :)
“thanks! you kept yourself restricted to “ulema karam” only otherwise you people don’t hesitate to use that term for parents too.”
Really? I did not know that. Which community is that, whose ways you are so “well versed” in?
Balma,
This is the best choice under the circumstances (Majority Party + Army) otherwise half of Pakistan will fall into extremists hands and in notime we’ll end up like Afghanistan. With a Nuclear capabilities it’s not good for anyone. We don’t live in a perfect world otherwise Jatoi is leading PPP instead of BB.
@NEENA
*** This is the best choice under the circumstances (Majority Party + Army) otherwise half of Pakistan will fall into extremists hands
This is the BS propagated by GHQ and WH.
*** We don’t live in a perfect world otherwise Jatoi is leading PPP instead of BB.
Jatoi, another feudal is just another a–hole. It also makes it clear where u have come from…..the Jatoi clan !
Damn, do we have any educated ppl left in Pak, who can see beyond Allah, Army and America?
My two cents worth,
Benazir is a security disaster waiting to happen. Those who know her -detest her. Those who vote for her are the poor, downtrodden villagers who’s lives are owned by the feudal lords.They have no access to web, news papers and sheer common sense to understand the facade of Benazir.
She is a going to impose Uncle Sam’s puppet regime over Pakistan and she is not even making any secrets about that.
Shame on us.
The people with conscience and resources must learn to disagree amicably.We must ideally pool our sources to protest in some ways about Benazir, otherwise she will undoubtedly bring Pakistan to her knees like her previous regimes.
N.B..Whatexactly is grown on mytghical fields – that sustains several Bhutto Families not to mention Bhutto’s homes in world’s most expensive cities .Her son starts college in UK this October, how does she get this money out of Pakistan. Its all looted wealth!!!!!!
http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/oct2007-daily/03-10-2007/main.htm
I have never been so depressed and hopeless about the situation back home.
I support most of the decisions taken by Musharraf but the decision of taking back all those corruption cases against these corrupt politicians is just not right; it sends out signals to others that “hey, its ok to fuck the country; we will get your name cleared in couple of years”!
Anyone up for targeted killing of these politicians?
well if Moin Qureshi, Shaukat Aziz can come and f@ck the country why not BB? She has more vote bank than any of those….
Me, I keep praying for the honor of DR A Q Khan, and I pray that Allah dishonor those who have sold our hero…
the deal is done other wise the B!tch wouldn’t come back.
This is Pakistan. Where ordinary people who have to pay 60,000 RS to HBFC, loose their homes and people who write-off millions become the Ministers and ‘leaders.
Biggest success Mush has achieved…he has changed the whole focus, before 1999 thugs (politicians) were the cause of our problems and now mullahs are declared our problem….wow what a change and I didn’t realize.
One thing I am noticing here that you guys get emotional very quickly.
I can only recomend that try to control your emotions and rationalize situations with a cool mind, if you want to be successful in your daily affairs. I am not an expert on behavioural science, this is just a suggestion.
You guys make a good argument then ruin it by using hurtful words like “shame on us” or “looted wealth”. Sorry Nouman I am just using you as an example.
Personally I have always been skeptical about Benazir but unfortunately she is the only few good faces ( no pun intended) we have for the outside world.
I say if she has nothing to hide then she should come and if she is worried about false accusations then why didnt she fixed the system when she had the opportunity?(no excuses)
you shouldn’t be surprised.. dictator’s lust to remain in power is making him do all that.. he wouldn’t shy away from taking even more damaging steps if they ensure that he would definitely stay at the helm of affair.. all these years he was licking his american masters boots and now he’ll be licking both Uncle Sam’s and BB’s boots.. just to stay in power..
Here comes the BITCHnazir to loot us all.
With his uniform removed, I doubt Musharraf will have much steel left in him to pursue normalization with India and carry out reduction of armed forces. Even if not a lame duck president, he will be required to devolve his control on many important issues to Gen Kiyani and the new PM. We will be back to the power troika of 1990s, plus a resurgent and strong Supreme Court and a strengthening media – a situation which may help keep the bastards honest (forget anyone getting away with corruption this time). The future government will have to concede to much more accountability and openness in their decision-making than has been a practice in past.
Now the question is who is going to be the PM? I can bet my bottom dollar it will not be BB no matter how many compromises she makes. Her previous track-record in the office and the personal animosity towards her by the House of Gujrat will be biggest hurdles in her dream of ruling the masses for the lucky third-time. With all top pollies discredited or sidelined, this is the nation’s chance to promote a young leadership. I am pretty sure the future PM will be the one with no baggage – I can’t guess who that might be – a moderate, young (not tried and tested) and not ideologically driven. Someone who can not only bring back people’s trust in the ruling set-up but, more significantly, is committed to Pakistan’s efforts to wrest the country out of the influence of the Taliban and Islamo-fanatics (Gen Kiyani’s appointment is a clear signal of the Establishment’s commitment to check religion-motivated terrorism).
Another positive which is going to come out of the future set-up is that the MMA’s (mis)rule of the NWFP will be over, thanks to peoples’ realization of their folly of 2002 and the resurgence of ANP and PPP in the province. It will help in stopping the transformation of the province into an extension of the Tribal Agencies. Mullahs overall will be marginalized in the National Assembly.
Everybody is wrong we are right, that is why we fight in every topic like cats and dogs.
I gotta believe that alam,balma and reality are “3 in 1″. One alias is getting agreed with another alias eheh!
Altaf Bai and his militants are whining to take their cases back as well because Awam mey Shadid Ghussa paya jata hay
tinyurl.com/2gtutn
Altaf Bai and his militants are whining to take their cases back as well because Awam mey Shadid Ghussa paya jata hay
tinyurl.com/2gtutn
Musharraf is now the leading supporter and benefactor of corrupt politicians and thugs. From chor Shujaat to the terrorist Altaf Hussain to BB, all thugs and criminals have gathered under his wing.
So, as a nation where do we stand now? nowhere. No dignity and pride, heads down, shoulders dropped and most if us are probably thinking (I know that I am) what did we do to deserve this. There will be no fair elections conducted and the same peple will be elected again.
God bless Pakistan especially Karachi.
@ABLAI
” The Wardi issue is now CLOSED. ”
howcome ??
We are eagerly waiting to welcome BB back to her rightful place.
where are pro-Musharraf like ASH,Turab and others who used to bitch about Benazir? it’s time for hibernation?
I have serious doubts for BB as PM., keep fingers crossed.
Besides :) aamir khan MQM is bailed out from detention, this morning.
“Lay ker rahey ga har insaan, Roti kapra makan”
well that surrey palace (makan) was liquidated at a shockingly low price of 3.5 million pound whereas its current market value stood at around 80~100 million pounds.. Mush’s NAB officials perusing the case and BB/Asif should be placed in front of firing squad if they fail to account for the remaining 96.5 million pound (100-3.5)
@alam, @jayjay, @balma, @reality
u ppl are group of bastards who have nothign to do. why dont u ppl do a suicide? that will be very generous for the planet earth
U are kinda cancer , which can never be cured.
فرحت اللہ بابر کا کہنا تھا کہ تیسری بار وزیراعظم بننے پر جو پابندی عائد ہے اس پر حکومت ان سے بات کرنے کو تیار نہیں ہے۔
- Now again how many of US think she can be a PM, she MIGHT contest to be a HighProfile Cabinet Minister, that is all my political Blindness tells me
@Unknowing— Need you be reminded time and again that your language not only epitomizes your pathetic state of mind but it confirms that you have run out of arguments.
I have not been this depressed in a long while; Benazir is the worst possible thing that could happen to Pakistan. Apparently in an interview MuSH has said that USA did infact pressurized for Benazir; mere acceptance cannot acquit anything. This is pathetic. If she and her killer ( remember Justic Nazim and his son) husband can get away with a 90 billion robbery, we might as well free all the thieves and robbers in each and every Pakistani jails.
The irony is that the educated, tax paying urban dwellers dont even vote for her, she is voted by the villagers who’s lives are ruled by the bloodsucking feudals.
How can you keep quiet; this is the same woman who sold Pakistani secrets to Rajeev Gandhi. she is same woman who gloated and called Muhajirs as rats when they were massacred in Hyderabad and Karachi. She is the same woman who cannot even speak a single sentence of Urdu let alone write it and she is going to be our leaderFUCK HER.
She is the same woman who wants to hand Dr. Qadeer Khan to USA and would be allowing USA to enter and ‘bring democracy’ to Pakistan just like USA has brought democracy to the streets of Iraq.
I wish I could do something…
IUNKNOWN If wishes were horses, even then you couldnt ride them.
JAYJAY your analysis is catching and gives hope. I agree Benazir will not be the next PM, lets see what happens.
Mush in the past eight years gave every opportunity for new leadership to come forward, but such is the political decay that every one held on to their old rusty posts. Courts were not able to convict them, simply because their crimes are by proxy and a conviction by a millitary court would never have been accepted.
So, chill out let them come back, this time they will have to face the public and answere very tough questions, even the villagers are not dumb, they watch KTN.
* Nouman wrote:
She is the same woman who cannot even speak a single sentence of Urdu let alone write it and she is going to be our leader
********** This is probably the last problem I have with her. Her Urdu is pretty bad, but have you heard Chaudhry Shujjaat Hussain speak? That is probably a bigger torture.
The main question is how can we make sure this time around Budnazir can’t run away after stealing 15 Billion dollars from Pakistan’s foreign reserves?
KTN?
What is that?
BALMA KTN is a Sindhi language News Channel, which sometimes reports better than its Urdu Counter parts.
NAUMAN I being a Urdu speaker am vehemently against the presumption that every body in Pakistan is bound to be well versed in it. You have to understand that Urdu is not the mother tongue of majority of Pakistanis, although its the language that loosely binds us together. So please dont make language an issue, we have passed that stumbling block. The purpose of any language is to communicate and languages never remain the same. Baat Samajh mein Aanee Chaheay Bhai.
That said, if somebody is able to achieve proficiency in any language then he/she will have an advantage over others i.e. if Bibi is able to improve her language skills, then its good for her, she can reach a wider audience and that’s that.
BALMA the problem with these princely politicians is that they cannot survive living outside the country.
They desperately miss the pomp, show and protocol that they enjoy in Pakistan. “Salaam Karne waaley chaheay hotey hein”.
Besides even if they live in Central London or the Swiss Alps they cannot even speak rudely to their maids or butlers, they will sue their ass off. So exile in Swiss Apls is like Kala Pani.
Its like saying,
“Khuda key leay mujhey wapis aaney dou, mein ub chori nahein karoongaa, lekin mera teaka mujhey lotaa dou., mujhey salaam karney waaley chaaheay, mein aisey zindaa nahein reh saktaa./ saktee”
Power is like opium, they can never live without it. Rest assured she will not run away.
@IUnknown
**** u ppl are group of bastards who have nothign to do. why dont u ppl do a suicide? that will be very generous for the planet earth
Ever since we left Islam, we don’t belive in suicides …hahahaha….specially the one which results in killing others.
Ever since we left Islam
you all jointly left islam? :S
*Ever since we left Islam
you all jointly left islam? :S
*** I think he meant baa-jamaat :-)
**** Ever since we left Islam, we don’t belive in suicides …
And now do one more huge favor and leave Muslims alone :P
being muslim, beliveing in Islam – it is individuals state of mind and faith.
and why is that we DRAG Islam into everything, – least on this blog we shall not politicise Islam like the Moulvis did in the country.
Moulvis are pimping Islam, making fun of innocent public polticising poor Islam….. Kab zinda ho ga, Karbla yahan nahi Iraq mai hai…
@Alam who spewed forth..
[b]Ever since we left Islam, we don’t belive in suicides …hahahaha….specially the one which results in killing others.[/b]
Great!. Another fake poser who seeks attention by insulting islam!
You have no hesitation insulting someones belief system (islam) while at the same time claiming the moral high ground??? Hahahahhaha. what a piece of work you are!
you have neither the logic nor the intelligence to even be worthy a muslim-hater. You will end up lowering the IQ of any grouping you join. So “we” are all glad “you” have left islam. “Our” gain really . Think about it if u have any grey matter left between your ears.
Anyway so we were talking about Ms Benazir Bhutto :)
I dont want to judge her by one of her statement in which she said “If the farmer`s son would nt be the farmer what would he be?”
To which I say
Farmer`s son has his own hopes and dreams, he does nt have to be a farmer Your majesty Ms. Landlady.
I understand agriculture is a big part of Pakistan`s economy but still farmers deserves the same good education as everybody else if they choose to.
Just for kicks , visit the website of PPP; you might confuse it with the directory of blood sucking feudal landlords instead. There aint a single person who is decent , tax paying soul with a proper day job on the entire website. The only urbanites on it are ‘ Professor’ ND Khan whose professorial title is as dubious as Professor Aamil Zaidi or Professor Najoomi of the mardana kamzoori fame….:-))
The problem is that the youngsters on this forum who are in their twenties have not even witnessed what it was like in her first two reigns. I distinctly remember all the Sindhi dacoits from interior who had invaded Karachi when she got people cos ‘our’ sister is in power now and henceforth anything and everything in Karachi is fare game. If anyone thinks this is sheer rumour mongering, I kid you not.
For Shahidnusa, based on Benazir’s argument about farmer’s son being farmerby that token , Benazir should be part of a cabaret dancer, have an affair with a foreign minister , leave her husband after an affair and then gladly become the nth wife of a wadera……cos thats exactly what Nusrat Bhutto did in 1950′s. Just to refresh memory, Nusrat was a married iranian cabaret dancer who met Zulfiqar in the swinging 60′s and then ditched her husband after having an extra marital affair. If Sindhis are proud to be part of this sort of family—I wish all the best.
SHAHIDNUSA & NAUMAN since you guys have brought it up, here is my (lengthy) take on this;
This country was primarily created to protect the interests of the landed class. Be that the Nawabs of UP, Tiwana’s/Hayats of Punjab and Maliks / Sardaars of Balochistan and NWFP. While Nehru immediately initiated land reforms and brought about a green revolution within 10 years emancipating the farmers of India, giving them the fruits of their endeavours, the Pakistan side is a different story.
Our feudals have managed to hold on to their Jaagirs gifted to them by the Gora Sahib, they have kept their Haris Jaahil and under their clutches. They were running helter skelter when ppl like Mehboob-ul-Haque and Moin Qureshi advocated imposition of Income Tax on agriculture, there was a state of panic.
So whether they be Bhutto’s of Larkana, Khans of Kalat / Mianwali, Hussain’s of Jhang, Jatoi’s of Nawabshah, Choudhri’s of Gujraat , Khars of Muzaffar Garh and Maliks of FATA they might compete with each other on the political front because that’s the essence of their power but will join hands and shout with one voice against any attempt to Tax them or take even a tiny portion of their un-used land to give to the poor farmer.
On the other hand the middle classes whether they be in MQM, PPP, Muslim League,JI or Lawyers are slugging it out with each other in the name ideology, race, religion and now the constitution. The scene outside the election Commission is a fine example, where middlle class lawyers and journalists were being beaten by lower middle class police constables, being carried to the hospital by the middle class ministers who were yet again beaten by middle class lawyers. There was no blue blooded individual on site.
So what to do ? Use the media, email every anchor of every channel to make Agricultural Tax and land reforms an Election issue, ask this question on every forum on every discussion whether you are Sindhi, punjabi, blloachi, Mohajir or whatever, we simply cannot survive when 80% of our economy is in the hands of few families who dont contribute a dime to the treasury
@ NOUMAN
Could not agree more. These land-lords blood sucking animals are part of PPP, PML, ANP and other parties. These bastards consider themselves God on this earth and are free to do whatever they wanted! Look @ what one of the PPP minister did: http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/6949068.stm
This sucker is no where to be found and I bet he will be back in the assembly once BB arrives and becomes the PM.
MQM is the only party who brought middle-class in the main stream; I wish MQM had stayed on the path to service common men. I guess its not too late and they should re-think their policies after being-used-and-then-ditched by PPP, PML and now Musharraf.
@ REALITY_CHECK
You just nailed it dude; right on! Looks like you have deep knowledge and can think out-side-the-box. Join us @ http://groups.yahoo.com/group/pakeditor/ and do share your thoughts there …
Thanks.
Thanks Nouman that was great!
@ REALITY_CHECK
In my book you have earned your name :)
Thanks for educating me but I have to learn some more.
Keep going!
SHAHIDNUSA you have also read my MNA resignation, I am the same guy.
MS thanks for the invite I gladly accept.
Guzishtaa sey paywasta…..
These landed individuals not only dont contribute a dime of their income to the exchequer but also take away all the priviliges and demand VIP treatment/protocol. They have enough influence in the army to survive during millitary rule but reap real bounty during democratic breaks. Thats the main reason why democracy has failed to deliver in Pakistan.
But lately, there has been an interesting twist. The Mullah was always at the bottom of the feudal / millitary nexus and his job was to provide religous legitimacy for their actions plus provide appropriate diversions to the public. However, thanks to the Saudi money the Mullah has become less reliant on nazrana’s and consequently more independent. The Malik writ has been taken over by Ulema in FATA / SWAT and even in places like Jacobabad the Mullah is becoming more and more vocal. Obviously, the feudals have to do something about it. On the other hand, the poor victims of Karo Kari and Jirga system are fighting back, they are not accepting their decisions and approaching the courts. There is a statistic somewhere of petitioned filed in high courts against Jirgaa judgements. The Sindhi media is playing a major role in this fight.
So my friends its a good time to have a go at these folks. Dont let them make non-issues as election issues. Make Agri Tax and Land Reform an issue along with whatever you consider dear to your cause. The two points I mentioned are their Achilles heal, just ask any feudal this question and note his/her response. Thats when they project themselves as poor farmers who have nothing in their kitty.
There r two things that need to be done in Pakistan, priority wise:
1. A secular constitution (no Objective resolution and other crap, no Islamic republic, etc type of BS)
2. Disbandment of Pakistan Armed forces
Every other desirable change (land reforms, true democracy, rationalist foreign policies, justice, etc) will automatically follow.
How would tax on agriculture would have an effect on landlords? It be passed on to consumer as it always happens when a product is taxed. Public will have to pay this tax indirectly through higher food costs.
Thank you `SELF’ that exactly what I was thinking
Any takers?
Manny Siddiqui: seems you slept on other side of bed. Do keep this thing in mind that MQM is supporting PPP(Benazir)’s return. so better decide that you want to sing priases of MQM or condemening Benazir or other corrupt politicians. do also keep this thing in mind that Babar Ghauri is begging for same amnesty for MQM’s militants as well.
I smell hypocrisy among MQM supporters, disappointment but not surprising. Bring courage to condemn MQM first then try to raise fingers on others.
@Alam
Pakistan will gladly disband its armed forces once your fascit indian army does agree to do likewise. And until it does, you can keep peeing in your pants and wish that pakistan disappears off the map as much as you like but no, we are not going to trust the indians with our lives.
@kaduna2003
Roza lag raha hai bhai? Or Salman Rushdie said something? Or you saw some Swedish cartoons again? :)
Manner, muslims, manners !
Look who is talking
@jajay: u are more pathetic than any thing else in this world.
u can argue wid a mad person but not wid a fool
@alam: keep taunting on islam and muslims
when u spit on moon , it always comes over u again.
The agriculture tax and the land reforms – that is what the Nominee President – Justice (R) Wajih was discussing on AAJ TV wednesday night – Live With Talat Hussain.
I picked the prog from middle where he was quiet apologetic in response to caller for why is that Supreme court is not taking suo motto notice of rising cost of daily consumables and high rate of sucides in urban localities. Further we explained what his top agenda would be if he wins and thereby lead the country with able technocrates.
Smartly enough – :)
Justice (R) Wajeeh uddin is a Karachitie who is pinching the pulse of every one, and some how he surfaced for presendtial candidate nomitaned by lawyers.
if any one can grab the show and post on YOU TUBE – program name is: Live with Talat Hussain 2200 hrs – Wednesday 03 10 2007 edition, that would be a great post on this blog.
@ Adnan Siddiqui
Any references to support your claim that “MQM is supporting PPP(Benazir)’s return”?
In my opinion, they must not! that would not be fair to innocent young people who were brutally murdered in extra-judicial killings by her regime and way too naive for MQM to forget how BB’s regime ditched them in the past.
I was in Karachi during the 1990′s operation clean up and have witnessed the full-scale massacare of young activits of MQM; to be honest I don’t see any reason for the 1990′s operation cleanup except that Wadairas were afraid of MQM’s rising power and they needed a way to “take care” of it, hence the operation cleanup.
By the way, re-read my previous comment one more time; I do recognize the need for MQM to change their current path :) I would not stop supporting MQM until I see any other party who is able to bring forward the middle-class to our assemblies.
On a side note (again, just a request, feel free to disregard), stop humping everything that sounds/smells/feels like MQM :)
Slightly off topic but very relevant to current debate. Souds like Karachi University has developed lal masjid brigade of its own;
⁄©ÿ±ÿß⁄Ü€å €åŸàŸÜ€åŸàÿ±ÿ≥Ÿπ€å ÿߟàÿ± ÿßÿ≥ ⁄©ÿß ‘ÿ¨ÿ±€åÿ؀Œ
ŸÖÿ≥ŸÑŸÖ ÿß⁄©ÿ´ÿ±€åÿ™€å ŸÖŸÖÿߟÑ⁄© ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ÿ∫€åÿ±ŸÖÿ≥ŸÑŸÖ ÿߟǟрåÿ™Ÿà⁄∫ ⁄©Ÿàÿå ÿ®ÿߟÑÿÆÿµŸàÿµ ÿ¢ÿ∫ÿßÿÆÿߟ܀åŸà⁄∫ÿå ÿπ€åÿ≥ÿßÿ¶€åŸà⁄∫ÿå ŸÇÿ®ÿ∑€åŸà⁄∫ ÿߟàÿ± €ÅŸÜÿØŸàÿ§⁄∫ ⁄©Ÿà (ÿߟÜ⁄àŸàŸÜ€åÿ¥€åÿß ŸÖ€å⁄∫) ŸÖÿπÿßÿ¥ÿ±Ÿà⁄∫ ⁄©Ÿà ÿ≥€å⁄©ŸàŸÑÿ±ÿßÿ¶ÿ≤ ⁄©ÿ±ŸÜ€í ⁄©€å ÿ∞ŸÖ€Å ÿØÿßÿ±€å ÿßÿ≥ÿ™ÿπŸÖÿßÿ± ÿߟàÿ± ÿßÿ≥ ⁄©€í ŸÖŸÇÿߟրå ÿ߀åÿ¨ŸÜŸπŸà⁄∫ ŸÜ€í ÿ≥ŸàŸÜŸæ ÿØ€å €Å€í€î… ÿ¨ŸÜ ÿߟǟàÿßŸÖ ŸÜ€í ÿßÿ≥ ÿ¨ÿ߀şÑÿߟ܀ŠÿπŸÑŸÖ€åÿ™ ⁄©Ÿà ŸÇÿ®ŸàŸÑ ⁄©€åÿß Ÿà€Å ÿ¢ÿ¨ ÿßÿ¨ÿ™ŸÖÿßÿπ€å ÿÆŸàÿØ⁄©ÿ¥€å ⁄©ÿ± ÿ±€Å€å €Å€å⁄∫€î…ÿ¢ÿ®ÿßÿØ€å ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ÿßÿ∂ÿߟŀí ⁄©€å ÿ±ŸÅÿ™ÿßÿ± ÿ™€åÿ≤€å ÿ≥€í ⁄Øÿ± ÿ±€Å€å €Å€í€î ÿπŸàÿ±ÿ™€å⁄∫ ÿ®⁄܀ŠŸæ€åÿØÿß ⁄©ÿ±ŸÜ€í ÿߟàÿ± Ÿæÿ±Ÿàÿ±ÿ¥ ⁄©ÿß ÿ®Ÿàÿ¨⁄æ ÿߟπ⁄æÿߟ܀í ⁄©Ÿà ÿ™€åÿßÿ± ŸÜ€Å€å⁄∫€î ŸÜÿ≥Ÿàÿߟ܀åÿ™ ÿߟàÿ± ŸÖÿ±ÿØÿߟÜ⁄Ø€å ÿ™ÿ®ÿ߀Š€ÅŸà ÿ±€Å€å €Å€å⁄∫ ÿߟàÿ± ÿߟÜÿ≥ÿߟ܀åÿ™ €Å€åŸàŸÖŸÜ ÿ±ÿßÿ¶Ÿπÿ≥ ⁄©€í ŸÇÿߟÑÿ® ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ⁄à⁄æŸÑ ⁄©ÿ± ÿ≥ÿ≥⁄© ⁄©ÿ± ÿØŸÖ ÿ™Ÿà⁄ë ÿ±€Å€å €Å€í’€î
ŸÖŸÜÿØÿ±ÿ¨€Å ÿ®ÿߟÑÿß ÿߟÇÿ™ÿ®ÿßÿ≥ ⁄©ÿ±ÿß⁄Ü€å €åŸàŸÜ€åŸàÿ±ÿ≥Ÿπ€å ⁄©€í ÿ¥ÿπÿ®€Ç ÿ™ÿµŸÜ€åŸÅ Ÿà ÿ™ÿߟрåŸÅ Ÿà ÿ™ÿ±ÿ¨ŸÖ€Å ⁄©€í ÿ≤€åÿ±ÿ߀Åÿ™ŸÖÿßŸÖ ÿ¥ÿßÿ¶ÿπ €ÅŸàŸÜ€í ŸàÿßŸÑ€í ‘ÿπ€ÅÿØ ÿ≥ÿßÿ≤ ÿ™ÿ≠ŸÇ€åŸÇ€å Ÿà ÿ™ÿ¨ÿ≤€åÿßÿ™€å ŸÖÿ∑ÿߟÑÿπÿßÿ™ Ÿæÿ± ŸÖÿ¥ÿ™ŸÖŸÑ’ÿ¨ÿ±€åÿØ€í ⁄©€í ÿ¥ŸÖÿßÿ±€Å 37 ⁄©€í ÿµŸÅÿ≠€Å 815 ÿ≥€í ŸÑ€åÿß ⁄Ø€åÿß €Å€í€î
…
‘ÿ¨ÿ±€åÿ؀Œ ⁄©€í ÿµŸÅÿ≠ÿßÿ™ Ÿæÿ± ÿ߀å⁄© Ÿæÿ±ÿ≤Ÿàÿ± ÿߟàÿ± €ÅŸÖ€Å ⁄Ø€åÿ± ÿ¨€ÅÿßÿØ ⁄©ÿß ÿ¢ÿ∫ÿßÿ≤ €ÅŸàÿß €Å€í ÿ¨ÿ≥ ⁄©ÿ߀ÅÿØŸÅ ŸÜ€Å ÿµÿ±ŸÅ ÿ¨ŸÖ€ÅŸàÿ±€åÿ™ÿå ÿ≥ŸÖÿßÿ¨€å ÿߟÜÿµÿߟÅÿå ŸÅŸÑÿßÿ≠€å ÿ±€åÿßÿ≥ÿ™ÿå ÿߟÜÿ≥ÿߟ܀å ÿ≠ŸÇŸàŸÇ ÿߟàÿ± ÿπŸàÿ±ÿ™Ÿà⁄∫ ⁄©€å Ÿæÿ®ŸÑ⁄© ŸÑÿßÿ¶ŸÅ ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ÿ¥ÿ±⁄©ÿ™ ÿ¨€åÿ≥€í ÿ¥ÿ±ÿߟÜ⁄Ø€åÿ≤ ÿ™ÿµŸàÿ±ÿßÿ™ €Å€å⁄∫ ÿ®ŸÑ⁄©€Å ÿ≥ÿßÿ¶ŸÜÿ≥€å ÿߟàÿ± ÿ≥ŸÖÿßÿ¨€å ÿπŸÑŸàŸÖ Ÿæÿ± ŸÖÿ¥ÿ™ŸÖŸÑ ŸæŸàÿ±€å ‘ÿ¨ÿ߀şÑÿߟ܀ŠÿπŸÑŸÖ€åÿ™ ‘ ÿßÿ≥ Ÿàÿ≥€åÿπ Ÿà ÿπÿ±€åÿ∂ ÿ¨ÿ±€åÿØ€å Ÿà ÿ¨€ÅÿßÿØ€å ÿ≥ÿ±⁄Øÿ±ŸÖ€å ⁄©€í ŸÜÿ¥ÿßŸÜ€í Ÿæÿ± €Å€í€î
ÿß⁄Øÿ± ÿßÿ≥ ÿ®ÿßÿ™ ⁄©Ÿà Ÿæ€åÿ¥ ŸÜÿ∏ÿ± ÿ±⁄©⁄æÿß ÿ¨ÿßÿ¶€í ⁄©€Å ÿ¨ÿߟÖÿπ€Å ⁄©ÿ±ÿß⁄Ü€å ÿÆŸàÿØ ŸÜ€Å ÿµÿ±ŸÅ ÿߟæŸÜ€í ÿØ€å⁄Øÿ± ÿ¥ÿπÿ®Ÿà⁄∫ ⁄©€í ÿ∞ÿ±€åÿπ€í’ÿ¨ÿ߀şÑÿߟ܀ŠÿπŸÑŸÖ€åÿ™’⁄©Ÿà ŸÅÿ±Ÿàÿ∫ ÿØ€åŸÜ€í ⁄©€í ŸÖÿ∞ŸÖŸàŸÖ ⁄©ÿßÿ±Ÿàÿ®ÿßÿ± ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ŸÖÿµÿ±ŸàŸÅ €Å€í ÿ®ŸÑ⁄©€Å ÿßÿ≥ÿßÿ™ÿ∞€Å ÿߟàÿ± ÿ∑ÿߟÑÿ®ÿßÿ™ ⁄©€í ÿ∑Ÿàÿ± Ÿæÿ± ÿπŸàÿ±ÿ™Ÿà⁄∫ (ÿߟàÿ± ŸÑ⁄ë⁄©€åŸà⁄∫) ⁄©€å Ÿæÿ®ŸÑ⁄© ŸÑÿßÿ¶ŸÅ ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ÿ¥ÿ±⁄©ÿ™ ⁄©€í ÿ≠€åÿß ÿ≥Ÿàÿ≤ ÿπŸÖŸÑ ⁄©€å ÿπÿ±ÿµ€Å ÿØÿ±ÿßÿ≤ÿ≥€í ÿ≠ŸàÿµŸÑ€Å ÿߟÅÿ≤ÿßÿ¶€å ⁄©ÿ±ÿ™€å ÿ¢ ÿ±€Å€å €Å€íÿå ÿ™Ÿà ÿ߀å⁄© ÿ≥ÿ∑ÿ≠ Ÿæÿ± ÿßÿ≥ ÿ¨€ÅÿßÿØ ⁄©Ÿà ‘ÿ¨ÿߟÖÿπ€å ÿ®ŸÖŸÇÿßÿ®ŸÑ€Å ÿ¨ÿߟÖÿπ€Å’ ⁄©ÿß ÿπŸÜŸàÿßŸÜ ÿØ€åÿß ÿ¨ÿß ÿ≥⁄©ÿ™ÿß €Å€í €î
…
ÿ߀åŸÖ ÿ߀åŸÖ ÿ߀í ⁄©Ÿà ⁄Üÿ߀ŀå€í ⁄©€Å ÿߟæŸÜ€í ÿ≠ÿߟրåŸà⁄∫ ⁄©Ÿà ÿ߀åÿ≥€å ‘ÿßÿ¨ÿ™ŸÖÿßÿπ€åÿ™Ÿà⁄∫’ ⁄©€å ÿµŸàÿ±ÿ™ ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ŸÖŸÜÿ∏ŸÖ ⁄©ÿ±€í ÿ¨ŸÜ ŸÖ€å⁄∫ ‘€å€Å ÿµŸÑÿßÿ≠€åÿ™ ÿ®⁄æ€å €ÅŸà ⁄©€Å Ÿà€Å ŸÖŸÜ⁄©ÿ± ÿߟàÿ± ŸÅŸàÿßÿ≠ÿ¥ ⁄©€í ŸàŸÇŸàÿπ ⁄©Ÿà ŸÖÿ≠ŸÑ€Å ÿߟàÿ± ÿ®ÿßÿ≤ÿßÿ± ⁄©€å ÿ≥ÿ∑ÿ≠ Ÿæÿ± ŸÜÿߟ֟Ö⁄©ŸÜ ÿ®ŸÜÿß ÿØ€å⁄∫’
…
ÿ¥€åÿÆ ÿߟÑÿ¨ÿߟÖÿπ€Å ÿ≥€í ÿ™Ÿà ÿßÿ® ÿ™⁄© ÿßÿ™ŸÜÿß ÿ®⁄æ€å ŸÜ€Å €ÅŸàÿß ⁄©€Å ‘ÿ∫€åÿ±ŸÖÿ≥ŸÑŸÖ ÿߟǟрåÿ™Ÿà⁄∫’ ⁄©€å ÿ®ÿßÿ®ÿ™ ⁄àÿß⁄©Ÿπÿ± ÿߟÜÿµÿßÿ±€å ⁄©€í ŸÑÿ±ÿ≤€Å ÿÆ€åÿ≤ÿߟÜ⁄©ÿ¥ÿߟŠÿ≥€í €ÅÿØÿ߀åÿ™ ÿ≠ÿßÿµŸÑ ⁄©ÿ±ÿ™€í €ÅŸàÿ¶€í €åŸàŸÜ€åŸàÿ±ÿ≥Ÿπ€å ⁄©€å ÿ≥ŸÜŸπÿ±ŸÑ ŸÑÿßÿ¶ÿ®ÿ±€åÿ±€å €Å€å ⁄©ÿß ÿ≥ÿØÿ®ÿßÿ® ⁄©ÿ±ÿß ÿØ€åÿ™€í ÿ¨ÿ≥ ⁄©ÿß ÿ≥ŸÜ⁄Ø ÿ®ŸÜ€åÿßÿØ €å⁄©ŸÖ ÿß⁄©ÿ™Ÿàÿ®ÿ± 1960⁄©Ÿà Ÿæÿ±ŸÜÿ≥ ⁄©ÿ±€åŸÖ ÿ¢ÿ∫ÿßÿÆÿßŸÜ ŸÜ€í ÿ±⁄©⁄æÿß ÿ™⁄æÿßÿå €åÿß ⁄©ÿ±ÿß⁄Ü€å €åŸàŸÜ€åŸàÿ±ÿ≥Ÿπ€å ⁄©€å ÿ¨ÿßÿ±€å ⁄©€å €ÅŸàÿ¶€å Ÿæ€ÅŸÑ€å ÿßÿπÿ≤ÿßÿ≤€å ⁄àÿß⁄©Ÿπÿ±€åŸπ €Å€å ⁄©Ÿà ŸÖŸÜÿ≥ŸàÿÆ ŸÇÿ±ÿßÿ± ÿØ€í ÿØ€åÿ™€í ÿ¨Ÿà ÿ≥ÿ±ÿ¢ÿ∫ÿßÿÆÿßŸÜ ⁄©Ÿà Ÿæ€åÿ¥ ⁄©€å ⁄Øÿ¶€å ÿ™⁄æ€å€î
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/miscellaneous/story/2007/10/071002_ajmal_jarida_sen.shtml
When are we going to start dispatching these criminals (aasteen kay saanp) back to pethankot?
I think effect of Wajihuddin’s campaign would be more pressure on both Musharaf and Benazir to do a deal in order to keep Wajihuddin out. No one wants another person to share the pie with.
@Manny: yes I read in news paper,I don’t remember the date but the statement given by Farooq Sattar, Not once but twice or thrice that MQM will not mind to team up with PPP. You made a statement and I disagree. it doesn’t mean you are being labeled for something. You re free to follow whoever you want. Maybe I would have experienced MQM more than you. Frankly speaking it doesn’t make sense u have to support “anyway”, seems like a foreceful decision to me. I supported MQM till it deserved to be supported. When they tracked changed and start following terrorism then I simply left. Not a difficult task. it’s everyone’s right.
I have also witnessed 90 in karachi and since you are old reader of this blog, you would have read my posts regarding 90s experience.
SELF & SHAHIDNUSA Income Tax is not like Sales Tax or excise duty. Its not a Tax on a product, its on your income. So how come when your income is such that you can afford multiple SUV’s / multiple palaces and not pay Tax just because your income is from Agriculture, whereas a guy who barely affords a bike pays Tax on his income. Thats something unique to Pakistan, remind you it has no bearing on prices, its just a blackmailing stunt.
Furthermore, I am not sure if these folks pay any Tax on Agricultural property, if they do then how much?
To add to the above the prices of agri products will only come down if the current outdated system is thrown out of the window. This in-efficient system is failing to deliver, and is tailored to serve the feudals with large land holdings. It neither suits the farmer or the consumer.
Reality_Check, because you don’t know what you are talking about so here is an example;
Say a landlord earns 1,000,000 without tax. Now say 20% tax is enforced by government. The landlord will raise the cost of his produce such that his income is now 1,250,000 and even after giving 20% tax on it his net income is still 1,000,000. So who won? The government who got the tax (and we all know where it goes…not to public). Who lost? The public who will have to pay increased food prices. Who was unaffected? The landlord.
Businessmen (of any sort) are generally unaffected by taxes as they can generally set their own prices, within reason, and can pass any additional costs to consumers. The losers generally are the end consumers as they have no one else to pass the cost to, in the economic chain.
@Alam
Yes. Just as i thought. Raised a red heering to dilute the issue.
Do try and stand on your own 2 feet next time instead of relying on rushdie or sweedish cartoons or indian army and see if you can carry on a discussion on your own.
@Alam
Yes. Just as i thought. Raised a red herring to dilute the issue.
Do try and stand on your own 2 feet next time instead of relying on rushdie or sweedish cartoons or indian army and see if you can carry on a discussion on your own.
SELF so where is free market and competition to check the prices, all around the world prices of agricultural produce are going down, does that mean that the govermants are not collecting the income tax?
No, it means that farmers are producing more, paying their taxes and keeping the prices competitive. Look at India or Bangladesh, dont their farmers pay Tax, then how come their prices are much lower than ours.
The fact is, in our country a landlord cultivates only a fraction of available land, lets say if he has 30,000 acres out of which only 5-10000 will be cultivated, the poor farmer will get enough to get by, the land lord will get the lions share, will get the support prices from the govt of which he is part and parcel). The system stinks. It does not encourage competition, it does not motivate the ordinary farmer as there is no need to produce more. Look at the livestock sector, we are still sheperding the herds the old fashioned way, there is a severe protien shortage and prices are jumping like anything.
Comparing with other businesses, currently, the inflation in agri products is already much much higher than industrial produce. The system stinks, it has failed, Now its the time to run it like any other business or industry – no exception. Give the land to those who can cultivate it, pay Tax to get infrastructure, education and health, its not a rocket science or is it?
@Reality_Check:
bhai, you sound so well-informed and up-to-date, you know everything about the history and the feudal system sh** of the great Islamic Republic of Pakistan. Why don’t you go ahead and tell us the names of these sucker land lords and feudals who have been screwing the country for 60 years?
Who are they basically? Mahajir or Punjabis?
What are their names?
How much would their net worth be?
Did they bribe Jinnah to give them a separate state?
How much they initially invest and the whats their growth rate?
Time to reveal some more truth so please enlighten us if you can.
KASHIF I dont know are you being sarcastic or inquisitive, any case here are some links, you may not agree with all that is posted, but will give you interesting insights on the questions being raised;
http://www.pakistaneconomist.com/database1/cover/c96-28.asp
http://www.sacw.net/2002/HamzaAlaviNov02.html
http://www.countryrisk.com/editorials/archives/cat_pakistan.html
http://indianmavericks.blogspot.com/2007/08/lal-masjid-feudalism-vs-democracy.html
Here I am borrowing a post from another blog and quoting as is;
“Feudalism is almost like an organization. It doesn`t matter which party they belong to. PPP and PML MNAs regularly change loyalties. They usually reprsent the two most powerful feudals in a constituency – one on one party, and one in the other. They are part of one clan, with similar views.
If you look at the statistics of Pakistan`s National Assembly, you will notice that generally balances around 60-66% feudal members. That range has been constant for a long time. This indicates that it is quite stable. Bhuttos are the unofficial leaders and interface for feudals. They hold the feudal flag. Jatoi maybe a bigger landonwer, but he does not have the charisma of a Zulfiqar or Benazir Bhutto. So the feudals have wisely kept the Bhuttos in front. Jatoi cannot talk to Hillary Clinton, in her language, but Benazir can. “
Oh!! One point I forgot i.e. five percent of agricultural households – between them own 64 percent of Pakistan’s farmland.
Sorry guys, for the lenghty posts, but it is very hard to stop….
Reality_Check,
Don’t forget the Army’s role but we found Altaf and he betrayed us, that alone tells us he was Army’s puppet. I think some leader will come within us and change everything otherwise common men being weak always crushed by Feudal + Army Combo. Until then we need to be content what’s best for the country.
Thank you, Rality_Check. There was no sarcasm or anything like that when I asked you that question. The links that you pointed me to are quite informative too, however, I still would like to know the names of some of the feudals like who are they, what do they look like, do the come on TV etc. etc? You know what I mean.
I am just being curious since this political drama that has been going on in the country has caught my attention.
Guys n Gals this site needs your two cents Um I mean paisas. Some dude there is twisting the facts in his favor.
More than 20 years ago, I met a professor type who was a grand nephew of the famous Wright brothers. I was fascinated by his name and started talking to him. I found out that he taught history and had done some research on Pakistan’s political families. When I asked him who funded his reserach, I guess he mentioned state dept (if you catch the drift) but it is so long ago now and my memory is blurred.
One topic we discussed was inbreeding among Pakistan’s political families (read criminal families). I will admit that even as a young college kid, I purchaared against inbreeding within a family ( cousin marriages).
Any way, I requested him to send me a copy of his paper, and he did. I still have that paper somewhere in my kabaaR but it tells you how these mofu’s are all related. For example, Pir Pagara has a wife, one from each province. I am exaggarating here, but you get my point. Jatoi’s sister is married to this family’s badmash politician from Panjab whose sister is married to this harami politician of Baluchistan.
These fucking moronic jahils are all related. And, the educated young people are just fighting on KMB.
the paper also described how these politicans are married to military families and sarkari babus. Eg. Ayub Khan’s criminal son Gauhar Ayub is married to Vali Swat’s daughter or something like this.
Based on my knowledge, another group in Pakistan that is bit inbred is military.
For example, Zia’s criminal son, Ejaz-ul_haq I believe is married to Gen Rahim’s daugther.
Gen Rahim’s wife was daughter of ex Karachi University VC, Mahmood Hussain who was a brother of Dr. Zakir Hussain (An Indian President in 60′s). So apparently, if this dumb ass Ejaz-ul-Haq (what is this idiot’s source of income?) has any kids, these kids are related to two presidents of the sub continent. My comment: if they are any intelligent, that must be from their nanihyaal, because father side is pretty retarded.
Anyway, Budnazir also married a small time political family’s cheap ass, non-matriculated, Bambino cinema operator Zardari and made him a billionire (meray may kaantay thay?) , and Karachi kay daadaa Altaf Hussain married daughter of some sindhi balochi politcal family. But, ho sakta hae yeh sachaa pyaar thaa?
Only God knows better!
“SELF so where is free market and competition to check the prices, all around the world prices of agricultural produce are going down”
Yeah, like how market forces keep the food prices down now. (not)
“does that mean that the govermants are not collecting the income tax?”
Quiet possibly. Many countries including Europe and US give huge subsidies to their farmers. In fact farmers in the eastern European countries joining EU, who previously had to work hard for living under communism, can’t believe their luck when they get paid by EU to NOT produce the crop to avoid over supply and causing lower prices. US government buys huge quantities of crop at high prices from some farmers and then either burns it over sends oversees (sometimes as aid to poor countries) to avoid market flooding and price drop again for the benefit of farmers.
No sane country messes up with its food supply.
“Oh!! One point I forgot i.e. five percent of agricultural households – between them own 64 percent of Pakistan’s farmland. ”
I would like to see some credible evidence for this…
Also you forgot to mention some other monopolies…
80% of bhata business in Karachi is controlled by MQM. When can others have a share?
MQM considers Karachi its Jageer and shoots/kills anyone who it does not like. I can’t imagine any other Jageer worst than this anywhere in Pakistan except may be Wazirastan. When can we have this Jageer eliminated? Or is it s case of chore machaay shore?
It is true that the feudals have controlled pakistan for way too long. But it is also true that there is no credible alternative available. What choices are there? lets see:
- Benazir and Nawaz are corrupt to the core and will bankrupt pakistan once again.
- Altaf hussain leads a linguistic and race based organization that proudly uses terrorism as a political tool. Its ethnic base by definition renders it a racist organization so it is going to always be limited to its linguistic roots no matter how right its political message may be. NO one outside karachi is going to vote for it. That will remain a fact until Altafa and his terror buddies leaves the scene.
Thus you are left with no choice and so the same 3 discredited looters ie nawaja, budnazir and altafa keep getting elected. What we need is real choice and real leaders from the middle class. Until then, the same picture will keep repeating itself.
cos thats exactly what Nusrat Bhutto did in 1950′s. Just to refresh memory, Nusrat was a married iranian cabaret dancer who met Zulfiqar in the swinging 60′s and then ditched her husband after having an extra marital affair. If Sindhis are proud to be part of this sort of family—I wish all the best.
What does it have to do with Sindhis?
Secondly, Nusrat Bhutto is not (or is she ‘was’) even sindhi. According to sindhi definition and even MQM defintion, she is a Muhajir. So Budnazir bitch is half Sindhi, half Muhajir.
Nusrat Bhutto was born in Bombay to parents who did not speak any language native to Pakistan.
This fits the profile of a Muhajir according to MQM. And works well with how everybody else thinks in Pakistan.
If we started educating every villager of Pakistan fourty years ago, we would have some decent leadership and a good competition by now.
The past is past we can learn from it,but it cannot be improved.
But the future can!
Budnazir bitch
Language please, you don’t need to use foul language if your comments are valid.
According to Historians if there were no landowners and Army faction involved then there wouldn’t be any Pakistan. I guess Altaf Hussain (Champion of common Men) attested it too.
SELF there is no such thing as quiet possibly …., the countries you mentioned do give subsidies, because they are producing much more than they can eat or even throw away. Its the same when some industries are subsidized or given protection from foreign competition, but still the TAX is there, they might get a temporary waiver. Nobody distinguishes b/w income types. Income Tax is Income Tax plane and simple.
Also, it was sad for me to see you drag MQM into this discussion, my intent was only to point out some real issues plagueing this country since its creation, whatever MQM does or does not is in-consequential in the broader spectrum of Pakistani Politics. The above postings are not about Sindhi, Mohajir, Punjabi or Pakhtoon, however, the feudals will love it if its seen that way.
BTW Karachi is nobody’s jaagir, ppl can throw out MQM whenever they choose too, its upto others to prove themselve worthy of their vote.
My dear you have disputed the statistics. These facts have been documented by not only Pakistani but also major international development related orgs, who have been pleading with Pakistan to reform.
Finally, yes I do advocate that there should be some sort of working relationship b/w PPP & MQM otherwise if hot heads on both sides get their way then this province will quickly descend into chaos. Furthermore, I believe that the most immediate threat facing this country is suicidal extremism, to counter it we require all hands on deck.
NEENA Altaf Hussain may or may not be the champion of the common man, Here, I am not going to argue on his behalf. This land has produced many who fought for this cause. The irony is that even socialist parties like PPP and ANP were infilterated by the landed gentry. They stopped Zulfiquar Bhutto from innitiating land reforms and later dumped him.
I strongly recommend that you go through the links that I have posted earlier.
I personally consider MQM, JI, lawyers, journalist and politicians like Sheikh Rasheed, Iqbal Haider, Aitzaz Ahsan all from the middle classes fighting it out with each other in the name of democracy, religion, constitution and other in-consequential issues, while the ruling elite watches the Tamasha, walks in and sits on the high chair…..We may not be able to stop this, but the least we can do is keep the real issues alive!
“Also, it was sad for me to see you drag MQM into this discussion”
Not at all…when we talk of jageerdaary we must not miss out the biggest Jageerdaar of all; Altaf Hussain. Which other Jageerdaar can prohibit the country’s CJ to enter his Jageer? to name just one of numerous incidents of Jageerdaaree.
“BTW Karachi is nobody’s jaagir, ppl can throw out MQM whenever they choose too, its upto others to prove themselve worthy of their vote.”
That may be bit difficult for others..as most wouldn’t stoop so low as MQM and their supporters would. Who would get his people to write ‘Imran Kutta’ and spoil the walls of one’s own city (sorry Jageer) for one’s ego? Only the biggest Jageerdaar Altaf Bhai. Why would he not instead get his supporters to spend their time teaching young children for instance and do some good? instead of demonstrating how big a Jageerdaar he is?
btw when is there going to be income tax on MQM bhatta?
* Reality_check wrote
personally consider MQM, JI, lawyers, journalist and politicians like Sheikh Rasheed, Iqbal Haider, Aitzaz Ahsan all from the middle classes fighting it out with each other in the name of democracy, religion, constitution and other in-consequential issues, while the ruling elite watches the Tamasha, walks in and sits on the high chair.
I am totally fascinated by this statement. How True.
Actually, I recently read an interview of Budnazir B* recently (I guess on BBC or CNN website) where the idiot Bitch (oh, I couldn’t control it the second time) admits that she wins in Pakistan because the majority of people in Pakistan are uneducated. She is publically admiting it. Can anyone believe this? How bad it has to get that baighairat does not even mind saying this in open. Dill may toe khush hotee ho gee, laikn kambakht Budnazir is so brave and in-your-face now that she does not mind giving illiteracy the credit even in public.
Ahhh….
SELF I will not travel on the beaten track with on this one. You have come here too late to enjoy the earlier battles .The arguments that you are presenting are not new. In fact there are commentators on this blog that do even better job, please go through such exchanges in the archives of this blog posted below for your convenience. This will save space, as well as time.
BTW Karachi is doing just fine and is rapidly moving forward.
http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/2007/09/terror_rules_ka.phtml
http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/2007/08/scared_of_karac_1.phtml
http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/2007/09/terror_rules_ka.phtml
http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/2007/09/proposals_for_a.phtml
I am sorry guys but I have to type this :)
@ BALMA
Do you ever get serious?
Ab is kadar bi na hasao ke dum nikal jaey LOL!
*Ab is kadar bi na hasao ke dum nikal jaey LOL!
what was so funny?
Reality_Check, I really appreciate your tireless effort to present the ground realities on this forum even when some ppl try to distract you by bringing in unrelated issues.
That’s right…keep screwing people of Karachi in the name of MQM and when someone complains, scream “jageerdaaree” and call it ground reality.
chore machaay shore..
SELF Dont Pass judgements sitting in Islamabad or whereever you are. The elections are near, that would be the day when people will have their say.
As for you keep on cherishing your feudals, nobody is stopping you. But I have many friends who’s thinking is not as miniscule as yours.
Rest assured nobody is complaining, we are all moving forward. Finally, for good or for worse people of this city control their own destiny and no feudal can change that.
If we started educating every villager of Pakistan fourty years ago, we would have some decent leadership and a good competition by now.
yeah,after experiencing few commentors here, seems we made a blunder forty years ago. *shakes head*
I am intrigued at MQM supporters complaining about feudalism. What is the biggest complaint about feudals they have; that feudals don’t pay taxes. How much tax does MQM pay? Instead they forcefully collect bhatta. At least traditional fuedals provide cheap food from their farms for everyone…MQM instead takes lives. I can’t see how traditional feudals are any worst than MQM, the new urban feudals.