Where In Karachi?

pic1.jpg
This isn’t a particularly straightforward one, but I trust that some one will be able to guess it either way.

Image copyright: to be disclosed later (as soon as some one’s guessed correctly)

Post suggestion: aaXz (I take it that you’ll withhold your own answer and let others take a few guesses first, but thanks nevertheless for the link and for everyone else who would like us to cover a specific issue or share an interesting anecdote, please take aaXz’s lead and use the ’suggest a story’ link on the right of this page)

Update: ‘br0ke‘ has been the first to guess correctly! Congratulations! Indeed the photo is that from Karachi University and hence copyright is with them too, for more such interesting photos from inside the campus click here .

Related posts:

1. Where in Karachi #66
  2. Alarm Bells, Escaped enough
  3. Where in Karachi #44 B.C.
  4. Post your views on the current situation?
  5. Lets make a collaborative effort to describe Karachi

52 Comments so far

1. br0ke (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 3:52 am

haha comment # 1

oh and this is karachi university(arts lobby) pathway right onfront of admin block…
    tee hee:)

2. Zainub (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 3:59 am

Well done ‘Broke‘! That’s the correct answer. You mention this the area of ‘arts lobby’, that’s interesting, I guess that probably explains the interesting graffiti of the American flag on the pathway as well. Very fascinating. I should go check out the arts section sometime.

3. Imran (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 4:57 am

IS THAT A FLAG (DRAWN) ON THE FLOOR!!?

I’m disgusted to see a country’s flag (drawn) on the ground, for eveyone to walk over! A flag symbolizes a country’s honour.

Would we (as Pakistanis) feel comfortable if our flag or for that matter our Holy book is drawn on the ground, for eberyone to walk over? I think not!

So if you have a modicum of morals, plz condemn such a fanataic and fundamentalist ach which is a gross violation of dignity.

4. Faisal Siddiqui (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 5:08 am

I second Imran on that.
    Its disgusting and very immature to draw a country’s flag on the floor so everyone can walk on it. I know ppl have reasons to hate US but this a JAHIL’s way of showing ur anger. its a shame that this is inside a university.

5. ALAM (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 5:16 am

Yeah, let the yankees do the same thing to Saudi Arab flag. I am sute it would be more explosive than the cartoon tamasha

6. Faisal Siddiqui (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 5:31 am

Here is the name and email address of the VC of Karachi University.

please send him an email and ask him to put some civic sense into his students.

Prof. Dr. Pirzada Qasim,
    vc@uok.edu.pk

7. Adnan (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 6:24 am

alam, fanatics like you have already done this. Not only that, they have also painted quranic verses on human body and on shoes.

come out of shell of ignorance, the real world is different than your imaginary world.

8. Neena (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 6:33 am

I agree this insults us as a nation.

Faisal,

VP is powerless in such issues. KU is literally ruled by Jamiat since Zia era. They have arms in all KSU mosques and noone dare to touch them not even APMSO.

9. Neena (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 6:37 am

Thanks Zainub for the link. Hope the greenery in KU spreads its wings to all over Karachi. It will help to reduce pollution and dust allergy problems which Karachiites are too prone to have now a days.

10. Zainub (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 6:37 am

Some people my argue that the flag of US should not be painted in Pakistani Universities at all. Others, like some of you here, may take offense to the US flag (or a flag of any country) being drawn on a public walking space, but what is interesting nevertheless, to me at least, is that the students (or who knows, authorities) have chosen to be as openly provocative as this would reflect them to be. Or perhaps their intention was not to provoke but instead pay some kind of tribute, in some way that we’re not seeing.

So I’m still not exactly sure why this may have been done, and part of the reason why I posted it (and why it was suggested as a story by the referrer too) was to find out if anyone else did know. Perhaps a KU student can tell us more.

Oh and yes, I thought I’d also mention another thing. Most American universities campuses (at least the ones I’ve been too) tend to be very opinionated (and their opinions of course may be offensive to others), in their publications and such, they’re not unafraid to ridicule national and international political figures. Also, anyone who has seen images from anti-America rallies on TV in any part of the world will be familiar with images of US flags being burned down in a show of political dissent. Such images, as a matter of fact, are routinely displayed on American news channels as well, and I’m sure the American public are by now familiar with them too. However, I’m yet to come across Americans who view this as a insult to their “country’s honor”! Tolerance as such is one thing we could learn from them. Such dissent isn’t uncommon to US, and protesters often burn flags, books, and other symbolic itemrs from various parts of the world to express dissent/opposition. Most countries have laws regarding the protection of the ‘honor’ of such ’sacred’ items, but these laws only apply within the limits of that country, and do not apply internationally. Again, I’m not endorsing any of these actions, but it would help if people didn’t jump to conclusions out of thin air, like some regular readers of this blog most love to.

11. Neena (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 6:53 am

Zainub,

Visit KU sometime and you’ll find out who actually draw that flag not some student union like US University but “Armed” student wing who ruled the campus. There is a difference in elected student unions where students polish their politics than some outside forces supplying arms to these gundas who make teachers hostage if their desired grades aren’t awarded.

12. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 7:08 am

People here pay thousands to have their names embosed on public pathways. eg., Hollywood blvd.
    I see a well maintained flag whats the big deal?

not enough stars?
    They might ran out of paint :)

13. nuzhat (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 7:10 am

If the same was done to the Pakistan flag in the US, the Mullahs would be in a frenzy. I am sick of all this. When we as a nation will learn tolerance?!

14. Zainub (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 7:13 am

I’m well aware of the ugly nature of student politics in Karachi University Neena, and yes, its most disturbing and disappointing that student political wings have so few constructive things to offer aside of violence and general unruliness. But ‘drawing’ a flag to show dissent almost seems too intelligent a thing for the people you describe (”gundas”), that is why the sarcasm in my first comment in this thread as well. Its surprising to be the gundas can have the intellectual capacity to think up something like this, and yes, you’re right, I should certainly go up to KU some day and check these things out. May be even interview some of these ‘infamous’ gunda types and get their side of the picture too.

15. zee (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 7:52 am

yoo! SHAHIDinUSA… where the heck have you been? WELCOME BACK BRO!!!

What’s the big deal with the flag? I totally agree with Shahid!

16. Tariq Khanani (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 8:30 am

“If the same was done to the Pakistan flag in the US”

Whats the need of doing it in US if its already and very proudly done in Pakistan, take a look at any street after 14 August, u will find lots of flags scattered, in every color.

17. binary-zero (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 8:50 am

No way a flag should be a thing to walk on. I hope we stop doing these stupid things; it shows that those creepy guys and extermists have every thing in common.

Jamati thing in universities is the worse thing, i remmember 7 years ago - FC College Lahore and many other colleges were in same situation in Lahore. And when we were in second year, there was a police operation conducted by Shehbaz Sharif in all colleges to kick out these guys and what i remmember; it was a massive operation. From that time onwards, i havne’t yet seen any of these things atleast in FC College and education quality has greatly improved.

18. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 9:10 am

VP is powerless in such issues. KU is literally ruled by Jamiat since Zia era.

Ironically the current VP of KU is a pro-MQM person who was installed by MQM not Jamatis.

Ignorance of few people here is really beyond limits.

19. ALAM (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 10:17 am

@Zainab & Adnan,

In USA, ppl can still burn flags and trample on it. But if someone really thinks that they can piss off Americans by doing this, then they might be very pissed off.

I have no sympathy with this flag. Given an opportunity I might burn 1 or 2 of these flags myslef (against Iraq war, for instance). But do u give this ‘privelege’ of freedom to Americans to do the same thing in public display, to your Pakistani flag (or Saudi flag with first kalma on it)???

If yes, thats fine with me. If no, start looking again at the the blashphemous cartoons, and accept freedom of expression. If u continue to do this, maybe you will handle it with grace, when American B-52 bombers start dropping these cartoons over ur heads

LoL :)

20. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 10:28 am

alam, age factor of yours is becoming biggest hurdle to comprehend what others say therefore you are asking explanation again and again. *sigh*

21. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 10:47 am

They have arms in all KSU mosques and no one dare to touch them not even APMSO.

First of all I am curious how did you enter in a Mosque even if you were a KU student? some raid in late nights? sounds a victim of propaganda.

Urdu College of Gulshan-e-Iqbal is the hub of APMSO activities where they store all kinds of arms and emos. Sirsyed University and other institutes of the region are also controlled from Urdu college.

Almost one and half year back there was a big clash in SSUET when Jamati terrorists tried to enter in SSUET premises. What APMSO militants did that they literally threw a pro-Jamat guy from 1st floor even there were Police mobiles in the area. So making statements that even APMSO becomes impotent infront of Jamatis doesn’t hold any water. Maybe it was true in 80s when APMSO was not present due to ban on student unions but not anymore.

Also, what Jamatis do/did in KU was done by MQM in SSUET that is they also become moral brigade. Several times APMSO students found couples on different locations busy in *unexplainable activities* within premises. I don’t say it was bad but when Jamat is blamed to close down famous Prem Gali of KU and other stuff then one shouldn’t forget that MQM(non-Mullah party) does same.

Ishratul Ibad forcefully appointed PirZada Qasim in place of Dr.Saify who was acting KU after death of Zafar Zaidi, later Saify was regularised for four years tenure but Militant governor had his own plans and wanted his own “man”, he kicked out saify and installed PirZada Qasim.

Whether its Jamat or MQM, both literally screwed up education standard of Karachiites and push university standards in ancient times. Forget about World, the quality of education in Karachi is even less than other cities of Pakistan.

22. ALAM (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 10:48 am

@PORK-NAAN

Is that Adnan you? Sometimes u appear with single name, so that we dont confuse u with Pork and Naan?

:)

23. br0ke (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 12:02 pm

mockery of us flag???? you can buy boxers with american flag in usa cus they dont give a rats a**
    this reminds of how the people of india behaved over amir khan burning a flag IN A MOVIE….
    im frm karachi university myself and believ me if it hasnt been for apmso the jamiat fellows had made lives of students hell…..

24. sumaiyya (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 1:19 pm

oh my KU!

25. SSUETAIN (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 1:25 pm

I am SSUETIAN and unfortunately i witnessed that incident Adnan is talking abt, these APMSO guyz are crazy, they were severly beating jamati guyz in front of everyone and they literally tried to kill them when some senior teachers interfered and locked jamatis in reception room so that they stay safe.

Head of APMSO computer dept was in my class along with his 7-8 people gang. They used to collect money for their picnics even if we didn;t wanted to go ot one. also in mid-terms all class have to cancel their paper agar bhai ko paper nahein aata tu. No need to mention day2day clashes with other students to demonstrate their powers.

Kabhi kabhar tu hamara lunch bhi hamaray haath se jata tha agar bhai log ka chapa par jaey tu. I dont knw abt the jamatis lekin AP guyz are terrorists no doubt

26. kk (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 1:57 pm

if u look closely ull see Israels flag next to the American flag .whenever i happen to go to the arts lobby i dont walk on the flags coz i think its unethical .

27. Abdullah (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 2:35 pm

I want to clear some thing here.

1) In the latest PEW report just 15% of Pakistanies are in the favor of US
    2) US is the symbol of hatred amongst Pakistanies which also reflects in KU arts lauby as US supports Israel, they killed children in Bajor, they support MQM in Khi, they favor Bush & PPP allience, it is the face of US, to which students hate
    3)Neena ! U don’t know the history, in KU last three elected students union belongs to Jamiat. Every body knows Jamiat have grass rule level work in KU amongst students.
    4)Who started the tradition of Book Fair, student courts,Female student’s mela. cricket cup, rubaroo (stage shows),dramas like taleem-e-balghan,etc. etc.
    5)who stand for student rights & who solved the problems when u r in trouble
    6)All 3 students killed in KU belongs to IJT
    7) Its very easy to say “Arm groups” in KU, Rangers are sitting in KU since more than 10 years.
    8) Being a muslim & pakistani, universities are not the placefor any dating & it should not be allowed in any educational institutes, other wise it will be happen like in Preston University, where at least 2 students has killed in different time frame over the issue of Girl

28. d0ct0r (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 3:20 pm

Armed terrorists ransacked Karachi Bar’s office

MQM’s armed terrorists ransacked Karachi Bar’s building at city court..stole CCTV cameras ,destroyed monument which was built during CJ movement and smashed windowpanes.. all this happened right under the nose of city court police which is stationed some feets away from the KBA office in the same city court complex…(karachi police have clear instruction from MQM controlled interior ministry not to touch MQM’s terrorist and with complete impunity they can terrorize karachiites,police have no powers to touch these ruling MQM’s terrorists.. poor police can be merely a silent spectator just like they were on 12th may when almost 50 people were brutally murdered ) … during last few days they’ve also murdered two senior lawyers from karachi bar who were pleading cases against MQM…

http://dawn.com/2007/10/02/local1.htm

http://tinyurl.com/3dwm4n (pic)

29. shani (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 3:21 pm

hey guys check this out
    i could not stop lauging for hours

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0T_JXCIHVzw

30. aaXz (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 4:02 pm

They got the number of strips wrong.

“7) Its very easy to say “Arm groups” in KU, Rangers are sitting in KU since more than 10 years.”

Not that I’m taking any side but as a unbiased opinion, the rangers are there for security, and they have a mandate to have arms. Students on the other hand, and most definately Mosques shouldnt have arms. I doubt you can give a defence statement for that.

That said, rangers shouldnt be posted inside either, the police should be enough.

31. king_faisal (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 4:08 pm

i was studying at a university in the u.s. when 9/11 happened. for the next few days after that, the chancellor of my university went around campus dressed as an arab to prevent backlash against arabs and muslims.

the response of the chancellor to 9/11 vs the disrespect shown by ku students to u.s. flag pretty much tells you why america controls the world while most ku students would gladly work as chaprasees and busboys in the u.s. if they were lucky enough to get a u.s. visa. sadly at one point in time, it was the muslims who were beacon of tolerance and our universities were the centre of knowledge and as result it was the muslims who controlled the world . now the best we can do is to kill our own peole through suicide bombings. and the more impotent muslims feel big by walking over a u.s. flag as if its great act of bravery which will damage america for all time to come.

the flag on the floor of ku is an apt statement on the impotence of muslims. if people want to see what pakistanis really think of america, they can go outside u.s. embassy in islamabad at 600 am.

32. Imran (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 5:16 pm

Zainab,

i think you’ve lost ur marbles!

1. “what is interesting … is that the students …have chosen to be as openly provocative.”

Drawing a flag on the floor is not provocative, IT IS INDECENT. That is why you will NEVER hear or see any CIVILIZED country induging is such low/ fanatic behavior.

2. “Perhaps (their) intention was not to provoke but instead pay some kind of (tribute), in some way (that we’re not seeing!!!)”

Let’s paint the Quran on the floor, so people can walk on it! O, and (believe me) it would all be done to pay a TRIBUTE to Islam. Plz DON’T take it as an insult!

3. “Most countries have laws regarding the protection of the ‘honor’ of such ’sacred’ items (but these laws only apply within the limits of that country).”

SO WHY all this BIG fuss over cartoons of Muhammad???

Zainab sis, are u just plain STUPID!? OR, are you a HYPROCRITE like the most of us in Pakistan … we ONLY get upset when (WE) are at the receiving end of the INSULTS. Who cares when WE insult other people’s sentiments!
    THINK before you INK.

33. Zainub (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 6:48 pm

Imran,

Can you please not use bold/all caps in your comments, it gives the reader the impression that you’re shouting. And of course, refrain from personally attacking me or others.

Don’t jump up to conclusions, I never said said I supported the violent reactions Muslims routinely dish up at the pettiest of so-called ‘objectionable’ things, as recently as last week I wrote an article at Desicritics criticising the Bangladeshi govt. after they arrested a cartoonist who made fun over the Prophet’s name. Go check it out if you will.

But of course, its more convenient for people like you to generalize and judge everyone in the same way, and on top of that label others “hypocrites” others with minimal knowledge.

Also, please go and enlighten your self. Do a search for graffiti+universities or just graffiti and you’ll get a pretty good idea of just how many in your words “civilised’ countries also show dissent in such ways, all the way from the US, to Europe and Australia. The reason they are civilized is because in these countries people respect the right of others to disagree, and express opinions that might been seen “offensive”. Pakistan and the Muslim world at large do not. Their intolerance is something that brought much harm to Islam’s reputation, and is not something I endorse or support, as I believe it goes against the very essence of the Prophet’s teaching. Don’t just presume that I’m like everyone else.

34. original-anon (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 7:00 pm

Desecration of the US flag is protected under the first amendment as freedom of speech.

35. Imran (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 7:44 pm

Zainab,

you wrote: “The reason they are civilized is because in these countries people respect the (right of others to disagree)…

I agree with ‘the right to disagree’ part. However I think posting this disgraceful picture with a country’s flag on the floor for people to trample under their feet … AND the gall to suggest “Perhaps (their) intention was not to provoke but instead pay some kind of (tribute), in some way (that we’re not seeing!!!)” …. is an outright insult to intelligence and decency.

Again that’s just my opinion and certainly anyone has the right to disagree. Everyone can decide for themselves. ‘Right’ and ‘wrong’ may be relative but disregard for other people’s sentiment is not! Not in my eyes.

36. ALAM (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 8:36 pm

@Imran

I agree with u 100%.

Zainab bibi type ‘opinionated’ ppl may advocate their rights to be provocative and insult others flags and religion (Ahmedis, for instance), but don’t give others that right to insult their flags and religion. I wonder if they would appreciate the provokation and creativity, if the first kalma is being trampled on, in the University of Florida? Would they show around the pictures like the above in an appreciative manner?

37. Neena (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 8:50 pm

Glad there are still some sane Karachiites and Pakistanis who found this offensive.

I’m a big supporter of free speech but that right should belong to everyone including students from other provinces. If other student tried to do something against that graffiti like drawing something of his/her choice to practice their right, s/he would be khalas.

38. Balma (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 8:51 pm

*Desecration of the US flag is protected under the first amendment as freedom of speech.

*** Are we now governed by the U.S. constitution?
    Won’t be a bad idea, if you ask Balma.

39. ORIGINAL-ANON (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 9:07 pm

Balma - well for starters, that would mean KMB would have to change :) As much as the author of this post likes to delete comments, it would be a toal shock for her to have to give others the right to say what they wish!

40. Balma (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 9:17 pm

Zainub Auntie has never deleted any of my comments!

41. kaduna2003 (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 9:38 pm

Well said Zainub.
    Half the joys of being a student is the God given right to express ones opinion and register protest in a peacefull manner. So let the students express themselves as they may. As long as they are not brandishing guns, im all for venting some steam.

42. HITMAN (unregistered) October 2nd, 2007 9:55 pm

Man, the weather looks nice.

43. Syed Johny (unregistered) October 3rd, 2007 1:21 am

These Jamat students have no regards for other people ! I have seen this situation on various places!

Various Govt College have these grafitiys on the gateway!

MAybe someday !someone should question Qazi sahab ! what is his opinion on the doing of Jamats Students wing!

Islam tells us to even respect other people religions and sentiments! here the so called thaikedars of Islam , are disrespecting Flag of a country ! which is home to thousands of Muslims, and millions of “People of book” (remember Jamat’s reason of supporting USA in 80s ) and also the place which has highest number of people converting to ISlam !

44. PAKISTANI (unregistered) October 3rd, 2007 8:38 am

US people themselves don’t respect their flags, i’ve seen in many movies people wearing underwears with their flags on it. This is height of it!

45. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) October 3rd, 2007 9:46 am

I must tell Imran that Not everyone has short memory like him.

A month back someone brought Salman rushdie in discussion, the same Imran at that time endorsed Rushdie’s point of view and said “one should listen the other point of view”. Now same guy preaching others for respect a flag but was not willing to give respect to a Prophet because he might not follow Him. Imran, why don’t you give same freedom to others and get agreed to listen “other point of view”. This is very immature and biased approach. Learn to preach yourself first than others.

46. Abdullah (unregistered) October 3rd, 2007 1:18 pm

I second Imran,

There is no corelation of painting of flags of US in streets & painting of Quran or cartoons of PBUH.

It reflects the liberal extremism approach.

47. Karim (unregistered) October 3rd, 2007 3:15 pm

Actually they like theses things very much as i have seen UK and US Flag on underwears and socks

48. aaXz (unregistered) October 3rd, 2007 6:31 pm

The argument that it doesn’t matter considering the americans dont respect their own flag is outright stupid.

How ever someone may like to treat their own property is their own business, and should give us no excuse to disrespect or vandalise what isnt ours. Just like you wouldn’t like someone else coming into your house and setting up the furniture the way they like it because they dont like the way YOU set it up, nothing gives you the right to deface anything that doesnt belong to you no matter what they do to it.

Its common courtesy.

49. Imran (unregistered) October 4th, 2007 5:43 am

It’s disturbing to see the picture in this thread depicting a flag drawn on the floor of a University, where so called educated adults would walk over it! I’m more flabbergasted by the (suggestion) that ‘the intent behind such an act was not to provoke but instead pay some kind of (tribute), in some way that we’re not seeing.’
    Superb!

It’s all about learning to tolerate (and maybe even respect) an individual or an opinion different than your own. Yes, dissent is always healthy, but there is a very thin line between dissent and disrespect, and part of being an individual is understanding that difference. Dissent is an acceptable choice, disrespect is not. This picture of a flag drawn on the floor clearly cross that line, where dissent crosses over to disrespect. Anyhow, irregardless of who makes such a mistake, we can change and LEARN NOT TO DISRESPECT.

As for those people who tried to take my words and make a trap for silly fools who will believe them, i say i am not responsible for your ignorance so go and make someone else the target of your ignorance.

50. Darthvader (unregistered) October 4th, 2007 9:31 am

@pakistani : dear pakistani , i don’t know if you meant it to be funny when you wrote it or not , but by golly i cant stop laughing . i am getting stomach cramps . LOLLLLLLLLLLLLLL

some really interesting deductive resoning ..WOW

happy ramazan all , or whatever is left of the holy month.
    cheers
    DV

51. PAKISTANI (unregistered) October 4th, 2007 1:19 pm

@DV

Is that a tease or a compliment?

52. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) October 4th, 2007 1:48 pm

Imran,

did You read what I posted above??

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.