My City Burns….
It is without doubt that each and every Pakistani, living in Pakistan and abroad feels frustrated watching what is happening to Karachi and Pakistan. It is with utter disgust we stand to see terrorists, yet again destroy our city for their own political agenda, leaving behind another series of body bags this time it inches closer to 110, all killed for no fault of their own.
TV channels are abuzz with the horrific scenes and undoubtedly the morning newspapers will be transformed from the images of a large welcome served up by Karachi for Mohtarma Bhutto, now into touching images of devastation and carnage splashed across, overshadowing everything else. I would like to share with you these touching images I found on the NY Times website, which have really touched me to the core.
I wish I can confidently say, lets join hands and make things better, sadly I said that barely five months back - nothing happened then and the killers went scott free most probably setting a bad example for others to try and test the system again, and test they sure did, leaving 100 dead and over 200 injured
May Allah have mercy on the souls of each and every person who perished today, May Allah give the city of Karachi an opportunity to recover from all this hatred and devastation and become a peaceful city to live in.

I was saying on KMB:
What I’d like to see is BB, Farooq Sattar, Imran Khan, and any other politician that cares to spend the time between now and January 15th going from home to home visiting the families of the people who died today.
Democracy or Demo-Crazy ?
I thought an Oxford Grad should be sensible enough not to risk lives of thousands innocent people, hard working labor class, security personal. The display of homecoming, throwing millions of ruppes, and now loss of so many lives is totally unwarranted; I believe there is no need to such a Crazy Leader. My beautiful city is already going thru enough, we dont need her demo-crazy at all. City of Light is now has a image of City of Fire, PLEASE STOP this non-sense.
This is very sad news, 100s of innocent people died for no reason.
The bitch is back with more violence in Karachi than ever before within HOURS of coming back!!
I hope the people who are responsible find some solace and stop spilling innocents blood.
NEENA: All you gota do is to first head to Bilawal House and catch (and remove) bitchnazir!
@Sohail
>>> This is very sad news, 100s of innocent people died for no reason.
No reason? r u sure?
Was not the reason to greet a corrupt leader who accepted the miliatary disctatorship to get herself rscued from foreign and domestic courts?
NEENA: All you gota do is to first head to Bilawal House and catch (and remove) bitchnazir!
If your points are valid then no need to use profanity.
We know who is behind this; the one that cannot come to power via votes and has to use guns to rule over innocents.
RE: “May Allah have mercy on the souls of each and every person who perished today, May Allah give the city of Karachi an opportunity to recover from all this hatred and devastation and become a peaceful city to live in.”
If there was an allah, and one who could have shown mercy, the blast would have not occurred. Wishing for mercy post-facto is pointless.
@Zee
Please leave politics out of this forum, we are talking about innocent people not a politicians, no mqm no ppp no pml, just think about innocent people.
So you know Neena? Mind sharing some names?
You’ll be a fool to NOT talk about the cause if you don’t talk about politics here in this post. I am always in favor of staying on topic but this IS an on topic comment! The root cause is simple, it’s BITCHnazir!
Indeed, Murtad. Indeed.
And here come the non-believer assholes!
Zee and Others LIke Zee,
Thankyou for using same language you use to greet your loved ones.
“And here come the non-believer assholes!
Posted by: Zee at October 19, 2007 07:39 AM”
You sure sound like a believer.
Right, Zee, because when comparing the “non-believer”’s against yourself, you come off as such a fine example . . .
Whole Northern Pakistan Area and Afghanistan is under control of Millitants and they are spreading thier venom in other cities too including Islamabad. Bnazir vowed to root out Bin Laden and his likes that’s why they targetted her procession. Now whoever tries to hurt them is their enemy. This time it happened to be PPP, next time maybe you and I.
@NEENA
>>> Bnazir vowed to root out Bin Laden and his likes that’s why they targetted her
Hmm….and who created Talibans? She is called the umm-e-Taliban (mother of Talibans).
She can do anything to stay in power, including friendship with Molana Fazlur rehman.
BB shouldnt have been allowed to come back.Musharraf has become such a baigharat he will do anything to stay in Power.He is showing us that he is a delhiwala bastard with no class even if he has to eat shit and drink urine he will do that.HE IS A DISGRACE FOR THIS COUNTRY.He is a low IQ chowkidar that took over the power from another idiot.Poor people of Pakistan I feel sorry for all of you.What choices you folks have.FAT DONKEY,MONKEYS AND owl is all we have to choose from.NAWAZ SHARIF,BENAZIR BEIGHARAT BITCH AND MUNOOS MUSHARAF.LOSERS IN CHIEF.
lashon(corpses), jalsoN(rallies) aur syaasi samjhoton(clandestine dealings) ki syasat kab tak???
I think ppl deserve this for their support to corrupt politicians.
When an individual supports any killer/fraudsters/money grabber ppl condemn him/her but WHAT WOULD YOU SAY ALL THOSE BUGGERS WHO WENT THEIR TO WELCOME HER????
does any one has any doubt that she is corrupt and dubious politician then WHY SHE IS GETTING THAT MUCH SUPPORT???
you guys are hypocrite if you dont condemn his supporters openly.
ZALIM/CHOR KA SAATH denay walay bhi jurm main baraber ke shareek hotay hain,
no matter if they are in the form of GROUP (party workers)
@MB
Hey who is this NEW MB
The original MB was me
1O minutes before blast
http://www.flickr.com/photos/rajaislam/1621443105/
IMRAN needs a chance
http://youtube.com/watch?v=bar7pr-fuY4
I heared some one saying that Benazir and her colleagues went inside the armed-vehicle only 10 minutes before the blast (previously they were on Top of it whole time). Suggestive haan…….
I think this blast was needed to put the corruption charges on the back side of whole drama. Zardari may be behind it. Why are we all forgetting him. He has always been the master puppeteer. Our polititions have a long history of ruling over dead-bodies. And we are crazy enough to welcome these killers/robbers/back stabers/selfish some-things (i wont call them humans).
She should have got board on Helicopter in first place and just adressed his supporters at Mizaar-e-Qaid.
Another thing: At CNN Shereen Mizari was giving interview at around 5:00 A.M and newscaster asked her “For a person who was near blast you sound very relaxed….” And she simply changed the subject!!!!!!!!! This i heared my self. Suggestive haan!!!!!!!!!
just wen i thought that atlast KARACHI WILL regain its deserving respect and apprecition from the world . this happens.. a carnage .. covered by the intl media like a 9/11 … will south africa be playing their match in karachi.. i think this will create very very bad impact for the foriegn tourists. i convinced my american friend to also visit karachi, as he is visiting india. and he did infact planned and reserved bookings and tickets for the city, but i think , he would have cancelled it by now :( …… CONFUSED !!!
umair h mirza, could not agree more with you
what is happening in pakistan is horrible this blast is caused by mqm they control the whole of karachi the pakistan government is corrupt. if nothing going be done this country is going downhill
its high time that we are allowing these self appointed jihadis to make our lives their ticket to heaven(fools heaven). we all know that 90% of madrasas teaches secterian and other kind of hatred against the normal people.
Pakistan’s forign policy might be new(post 9/11) but their violence is old. Their teachings tell em violence n hatred, and if any sane soul revolt agaisnt their madeup form of ISLAM, that peson is not only a KAFIR, MURTID but his death can also be the ticket to their heaven (doggys hell).
Thanks for the update TM - I feel like I am writing on MB after aaages… well it has been. I find MB such a useful site for events like these, when the media only shows you a limited number of soundbites / mpegs - the images you have shown are indeed touching, but if you look closely you will notice that three of them are of the same truck taken from different angles. I am aware that the scale of the attack is of course large, but the hype surrounding it is unfortunately just that - hype. This is exactly what the government wants, to show what unrest has been caused as a result of Bhutto’s return.
Don’t believe everything you see.
Umair H Mirza, XYZ: If the ignorant/arrogant non-asians can visit and play in Colombo and Bali then why not Karachi.
12 may …50 innconent ppl died no action taken
lal masjid massacre…800 ppl died no action taken
BB arrival massacre …200 ppl died no action taken
how long as a nation we see our own ppl died and we are sleeping so tight ..wat are we waiting for Azab elahi..stop this non-sense we should join hands condem every citizen of pakistan killed regardless of either he is enlighten,modern,extremist,BB jiyala,bahi log,mullah,sindhi,punjabi,pathan
teeth maestro i’m sorry but i take exception to your comment: “It is with utter disgust we stand to see terrorists, yet again destroy our city for their own political agenda, leaving behind another series of body bags this time it inches closer to 110, all killed for no fault of their own.”
how can you say that!!!! these ppl were complete fools anf of course it was heir fault for being there! they were not innocent bystanders, they were just ignorant and bribed into attending or else foolish to beleive in another string of ppp promises. they came with the lure of glory and money. and clearly this lot hadnt learnt anything from the last time BB was in power because they’re dying (literally) for more. i feel sorry for their ignorance and their poverty. but anyone who values their life should have stayed put, no matter who was coming after 8 years. party loyalty, my foot!
I am sorry for the policemen that got killed but I have no sympathy for anyone else. What did they think would happen. The stupid should die like this.
@LLAMA
i cud’nt agree with u more…infact if u wud’nt have condemned the supporters i wud’ve stated exactly the same facts…
I’m surpirsed howcum EVERYONE missed a clip on Geo tv that so clearly revealed that half of the people in the crowd didnt even know what were they there for!in the clip the reporter appraoches a guy, a jatt rather, n asks him wat r u celebrating n the guy blankly says “pata nahi” the reporter repeats aap mohtarma benazir bhutto ko receive karne aye hain, the jat stares blankly into the camera meanwhile someone materialzes from the back, obviously for the jat’s rescue, n goes on with we’re here to welcome our leader n bla
i dont feel sorry for the people as well, except for the police men n the media personnel who got injured or died, but the rest,i only feel sorry for their ignorance…
although,its extremely distressing to see my city (yet again)a victim of terrorist attack and a spectacle in the international media…
i can only pray that Karachi gets its due respect and its people get their right to a peaceful life soon…
here’s something. for someone whose job is all about timing, suicide bombers sure have a lousy sense of timing.
they’re always blowing up “innocent(?)” bystanders as the real targets get wisked away to safety.
oye. suicide bombers. get it right. benazir, musharraf, nawaz, altaf, and the idiots who made that stupid lifebouy commercial - those are your real targets. get them and let the public live.
but seriously. i’m disappointed. why do these effing polititians (the root of all our problems) keep getting away alive. someone do us all a favor and start killing them all, one-by-one.
It was all planed. I don’t feel sorry for the dead ones except the policemen and the cameraman dude who died doing their jobs but the rest were there for NOTHING… NNUUUTTHHIINNNGG!
A news flashed in the middle of the crisis last night…
A man from Gulshan-e-iqbal died because he had gone to see the PPP Gehma Gehmi. Such idiots! SUCHHH IDIOTS!
@MB - sorry about that. Rarely come across someone else using the same initials. I’ll figure out something else.
MB said IMRAN needs a chance
and what are you planning to do with the Mullahs he is leaning on?
@NEENA,
that anti-Mullah rehtoric is favrt pst time for B!tch and her followers.
You guys used to do if for pleasure b4 and now that B!tch Bhutton has found that it can also get you in power too.
I pity the people who follow their blind leaders blindly and are happy to go to the lowest levels of sensibility.
What ever happened yesterday is the direct consequence of our religious leadership not condemning the first suicide attack carried out by extremist-Palestinians and by not clearly speaking against Osama and his terror network. Instead there has been a concerted effort to justify the un-justifiable acts by these folks. So, here is the consequence, suicide bombing is becoming a part of the pop culture. Yes, US is at fault and Bush is all screwed up, but this is not the way to struggle against tyranny, Muslims are not the only ones who are fighting for a cause. The fact remains that if you justify a wrong, it will come back to haunt you.
AS FOR IMRAN KHAN:
Nobody needs a chance, they have to earn it and surely you cannot earn it by repeatedly fleeing like a chicken and leading from the back. If someone thinks that he can become a leader by appearing on Capital Talk and saying all the right things, then he is mistaken. Its very easy to say what is popular, but it is very difficult to do what is right.
Imran Khan now looks & talks more and more like a tribal leader who incidentally, has no influence in the tribal areas. He is simply being used by Jamaat / Hameed Gul as a front man, and that’s all he is. He is no more than a stooge.
Despite all this PPP, Muslim League and MQM can have their shortcoming and differences but they are not chasing some screwed up goals and ideals which could justify self destruction. This city has managed to keep a check on such suicidal’s for quite a while now, unfortunately this event presented a tempting opportunity to the Taliban’s and their sympathisers, and they took it.
But rest assured, and this is to all the Jamaatee folks here, YOU ARE NOT GETTING THIS CITY BACK.
Wakeup,
This is the best you can come up? Foul language and Guns are usually used by those who Do Not Have any public support. Don’t tell me you are one of them.
OTHER than writing blogs and cursing to these murders, What have you all done to resolve this or to prevent? Have you called your congressmen? Have you written a letter to the UN? Have you organined a protest infront of the Pakistani embassy. DO SOMETHING ABOUT IT, or SHUT UP and keep counting the dead that are being piled up.
@NEENA,
If public support justifies someone of being RIGHT, then Hitler would have to be right and same goes for Stalin and others like them.
and same can be true for Altaf Hussain too.
Keep twisting the facts and keep trying to justify the plunderers and murderers. People from Shikarpur and Liyari might buy it but not me.SORRY.
Lets Focus - Sick Minds knew Their Bomb will kill Innocents and I condemn them. They knew they couldn’t harm Benazir as she was in Armored car.
Wakeup,
There is a stark difference between Killing others and working for improvement of one’s country. BTW noone has a right not even a whole nation to Kill other nation, it’s called genocide and International laws needed to be followed in such cases.
@NEENA
Yes under those UN rules Benazir should be tried of Genocide of Muhajirs at Pakka Qila, when the drunk police and prisoners from jails were taken out to murder Muhajirs.
Why should there be different rules for Benazir and others?
The problem is within your heart, your heart wants you to follow your emotions and not your senses.
BTW, you know what Hitler kept saying to his people? “He was doing it better for the nation”…
We all go through tests and the results lead us to the different directions in life, if we keep failing and still keep insisting that we are right then the direction would offcourse be not-what-we-want.
“Nobody needs a chance, they have to earn it and surely you cannot earn it by repeatedly fleeing like a chicken and leading from the back.”
Now thats so sweet of you REALITY bro.
He was banned to ENTER SINDH because the DADAGEERs here dont like. He has the local MILITANT QAUMMI MOVEMENT guys after him and you want him to act stupidly like BB did?
You BRAVE chiken flee to settle in LONDON 15 years back. That was such a brave move, isn’t it ?. Now i know MQMs typical establishment lectures but i would suggest IMRAN to stay at home and relax. No need to risk life with a MAFIA or go into rallies with PML-N,PPP,MMA.
You are a true brain-washed MQM guy, seriously. Equally dangerous along with those religious extremists.
Yes under those UN rules Benazir should be tried of Genocide of Muhajirs at Pakka Qila, when the drunk police and prisoners from jails were taken out to murder Muhajirs.
C’mon it’s not genocide otherwise these all considered genocide
1. Killing Pathans by Mohajirs in 1985 under Altaf.
2. Killing MQM Haqqiqi factions by MQM Central.
There are more but I only mentioned which directly related to your comment.
Stop calling yourself Mohajir we are here to stay. It was the mentality of Altaf since he was planning to leave but we are not.
the comments seem to be turning into what i see on most forums… heck even on youtube. ridiculous.
just for the record, Benazir Bhutto isn’t an Oxford grad. She did go there tho.
Perhaps this crime will convince the cowardly people of pakistan that terrorism exists and has to be fought. Most Pakistanis seem to have great difficulty in accepting that.
@Neena,
Calm down girl no need to get angry.get your facts straight before saying something on this blog. Mohajir did not kill pathans it was other way around. Remember Aligarh and Qasba incident?? who killed who? remember Pakka qila incident?? Remember the killings on Sohrab goth? or you were too little to keep those things in your tiny mind??Remember all the extra judicial killing in 90s??
you may not call yourself mohajir (you can be whatever you want) but I am a mohajir and feel proud about that. If you feel ashamed calling yourself mohajir(if you really are) then feel free to call yourself punjabi, pathan, makrani whatever you like. Plz let us know so we will use that name in the future.
@NEENA
>>> Stop calling yourself Mohajir we are here to stay. It was the mentality of Altaf since he was planning to leave but we are not
Haha…i like that.
BTW, there can’t be genocide of pathans in KHI. FOr that MQM has to go to Peshawer. I guess they have just one MQM office in KHI….not enough.
But Pak Army is doing some good job for MQM, there
Couple of things I would like to comment on…
1) As much as this act of incomprehensible carnage is deplorable - Only in Pakistan the blood of the innocent and poor people is so cheap - 135+ died and will only be condoled by their relatives - they will be soon forgotten by even the PPP high-ups. I also consider BB indirectly responsible for this carnage - as she mentioned now and it was doing the rounds of news media that there are threats of suicide bombers attempting to kill her - if thats the case why the isistence on and willingness to be welcomed by millions of people (esp. when the exile was self imposed) - when a reporter asked her to compare her ‘86 welcome to the one yesterday - all she had to say was that then it was 10 lacs and now its 20 lacs - infact in today’s news conference that figure has gone up to 30 lacs!
He audacity to greet the people who had come to welcome her and have thousands of people around her while there were credible threats of suicide bombings borders on stupidity and sheer political showboating. If the street lights were not working and the security arrangements were not adequate then why risk the lives of innocent people - why taking so long to cover a short distance - why not just giving up this fanfare and using common sense and abandoning the procession and take a safer route????
2) To all those people who are arguing with each other as to what mqm did to others and what others did to mqm….i would just say that all the groups - parties - etc. are pawns in the bigger game controlled by the establishment and the foreign powers - in Pakistan - money speaks - see how even after being victimized all the big leaders live lavishly overseas without a concern for where they will get the money from - some maintain 3-5 posh residences - exorbitant travel expenses - no one asks where all this money is coming from…..mqm, ppi(pakhtoon, punja…), pmlq, pmlf, iji, mma, ppppatriots, mqmh…all these groups are not started cuz they are the need of the common man or its their desire - but rather at the directions of the establishment and with their finances…..pakistan will not get on the right track until a true across the board accountability and abolishing the culture of money worshippings….
Couple of things I would like to comment on…
1) As much as this act of incomprehensible carnage is deplorable - Only in Pakistan the blood of the innocent and poor people is so cheap - 135+ died and will only be condoled by their relatives - they will be soon forgotten by even the PPP high-ups. I also consider BB indirectly responsible for this carnage - as she mentioned now and it was doing the rounds of news media that there are threats of suicide bombers attempting to kill her - if thats the case why the isistence on and willingness to be welcomed by millions of people (esp. when the exile was self imposed) - when a reporter asked her to compare her ‘86 welcome to the one yesterday - all she had to say was that then it was 10 lacs and now its 20 lacs - infact in today’s news conference that figure has gone up to 30 lacs!
He audacity to greet the people who had come to welcome her and have thousands of people around her while there were credible threats of suicide bombings borders on stupidity and sheer political showboating. If the street lights were not working and the security arrangements were not adequate then why risk the lives of innocent people - why taking so long to cover a short distance - why not just giving up this fanfare and using common sense and abandoning the procession and take a safer route????
2) To all those people who are arguing with each other as to what mqm did to others and what others did to mqm….i would just say that all the groups - parties - etc. are pawns in the bigger game controlled by the establishment and the foreign powers - in Pakistan - money speaks - see how even after being victimized all the big leaders live lavishly overseas without a concern for where they will get the money from - some maintain 3-5 posh residences - exorbitant travel expenses - no one asks where all this money is coming from…..mqm, ppi(pakhtoon, punja…), pmlq, pmlf, iji, mma, ppppatriots, mqmh…all these groups are not started cuz they are the need of the common man or its their desire - but rather at the directions of the establishment and with their finances…..pakistan will not get on the right track until a true across the board accountability and abolishing the culture of money worshippings….
An eye for an eye leaves everybody blind.
so what’re everyones comments after watching the press conference?
my mouth was agape as i heard some warbled words coming out of her mouth stating that if the street lights had been turned on then her guards would’ve caught the suicide bomber before he attacked! if anyone had any doubts as to the sanity of this woman, i hope they are now abolished. she is mentally and emotionally unstable. she needs to be in a hospital under psychiatric evaluation. her husband should be in jail. her kids should be sent to the strictest boarding school. the bhutto legacy, such as it, needs to die a natural death.
My comment is that she is trying to ensure that she is considered a very important and central figure in Pakistan politics as the western powers
and media want her to be. Another question is where were the NAB and other agency sleuths if she has outstanding cases against her - why were they not there to arrest her???? I think that we are cursed to be ruled by idiotic military generals who only think about saving themselves.
yes and that’s because of one very simple fact… JIHALAT! You can find all the jahils you want in all the provices of Pakistan. Muhajirs who have always concenterated on education are a minority and they can’t fix everything. This country needs education! Desperately!
LLAMA: I agree. Bhutto’s legacy must come to an end.
Zee, you say that karachi people are educated - what would you say then about educated people of karachi led astray by altaf? The problem is that it has nothing to do with education but rather a mental state - that mental state is the same all across Pakistan no matter what the education level is - look at the mess we are in - you think that educated leaders of Pakistan are any better than the comman man who is not well educated.
http://atifshaikh.blogspot.com/2007/10/bb-ride-of-re-animator-karachi-redux.html
WOW what a great blog MB, making such bold statemnent and at the same time blocking my posts. Tell me what Extremist Views I have posted on this blog?
This to me is becoming more & more PTI chicken blog. Instead of condemning such cowardly acts by religous zealots you guys dont let up on an opportunity to drag MQM or any other political entity that does not conforms to your views.What you guys are saying is in extremely bad taste.
As for IK he is chicken not because he was banned from Karachi, but because of his disappearing acts at the eve of critical events, there is no need to count them again.
This is the time to condemn and ask our political leaders where they stand on suicide bombings, Al-Qaeda and all such religous jihaadis.
A great read on Benazir’s Homecoming.
Common people its obvious Benazir herself planned all this!
1) For weeks she had been saying that her life was on danger ! and she would be attacked! If this was so then why did she plan such a big Rally! So that when an attack occurs casualties will be mamoth!
2) BEnazir was the supposed target of this attack! right? but why did the suicide bomber exploded ten feets away from the truck, when he could have got closer after the first blast !
3) If Benazir was target ! then why was the bomb trigered when Benazir herself was down in the truck for 5 minutes?? [an Armour Truck ] IF the target was benazir then the bomber should have bombed when benazir was on the top!!!
So think laterly people!
This piece from strings song just fits city’s current situtation
Bajaye pyaar ki shabnam meray ghulistan main
Baraste rehtay hain har simt maut ke saye
Siyahion se ulajh partee hain meri ankhain
Koi nahein, koi bhi nahein jo batae main kitni dair ujalon ki rah dekhon ga
Koi nahein, hay koi bhi nahein na paas na dur,
Ek yaar hay dil ki dhadhkan,
Apni chahat ka jo elaan kiay jaati hay,
Zindagi hay jo jiya jati hay,
Khoon ke ghoont piay jaati hay,
Khwaab kaanton se seay jaati hay.
WOULD PAKISTAN EVER CHANGE? 60 YEARS HAVE PAST SINCE 1947!!!!!!!!
ASK WHAT YOU CAN DO THE COUNTRY INSTEAD OF COMPLANING AND SUPPORT STUPID MULLAH’S.
LOOK AT OTHER MUSLIMS COUNTRIES
1.TURKEY, MALASIYA, INDONESIA, TUNIS ,MOROCCO, UAE, ECT
salaam
a true leader who travelled 9 kilometres in 12 hours before the blast, and 25 kilometres in 10 minutes after the blast!