Road situation: The morning after

I am writing this from my office. Just want to inform people that the roads are clear at this time. However, there are a lot of people gathered near the blast sites, mostly just looking at the aftermath. The bulletproof vehicle is parked just under the Karsaz flyover on Shara-e-Faisal. The roads are clear right now, but no one knows what today holds. Let’s pray things come back to normal.

42 Comments so far

1. mehr (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 9:04 am

Who cares whether the roads are clear or not. The clear roads helped you get to work on time. Great. What about the deplorable position our country is in now?

Its bullshit that Benazir supports democracy. She really doesnt. She plotted this “deal” game with mushy, and has compromised any little hope there ever was…

2. ALAM (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 9:05 am

Damn, just another day of kaam chori and haram khori, thanks to BudNazeer (did she ever got a regular full time job like common ppl?)

3. jumana (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 9:25 am

Before she can even do anything good for the country, she has already started doing some serious damage.

Why do people accept such politicians??

4. Mehr (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 10:09 am

tell me about it. i wonder why the bomb wasnt in her car.

5. MB (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 11:06 am

I have these early morning pictures of SF, Clifton,Saddar,MA Jinnah:-

http://publicmb.wordpress.com/2007/10/19/the-dawn-after-death-destruction/

6. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 11:14 am

tell me about it. i wonder why the bomb wasn’t in her car.

because she wanted to give message to US that “I am brave and can deal with *extremist* more efficiently than Musharraf”. In past attacked was made on Musharraf and Shokat and they got escaped, why? because they were never targetted at all and they needed attention of D.C

Targeting her was not difficult while she was exposed publicly for 13 hours. Irony is that she went within protection only 10 mins before the blast.

Actually situation is not different than what’s shown in underworld mafia movies to gain power. Kill own people and earn sympathy. Now oponennents would be blamed, efforts will be made to get attention of US so that guys at DC could do something to put pressure on Musharraf to work with BiBi anyways, Musharraf who’s already not having good time due to opposition of Judiciary and PML-Q would have no choice other hugging B.B and share the power.

7. MB (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 11:14 am

The only one who now needs a chance is IMRAN
    http://youtube.com/watch?v=bar7pr-fuY4

8. BoZz (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 11:27 am

The daughter of evil brought this upon herself. Govt. request to shorten the route and or fly etc were all ignorned. All she wanted was to gain some political milage from her arrival.

Well she got what she asked for. Incidentally I am not sure if I can absolve her in the conspiracy as yet.

Although it was as usual the innocent who have suffered, I hope to God that this time around the jokers may have learnt a lesson from all this.

In the end, I for one will not hold my breath. This nation usually gets what it deserves.

9. A1234 (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 11:30 am

Deal or no deal, Benazir is a major politician of Pakistan. Electioneering rallies by PMLQ, PPPP, PM and President have only started a few months back.
    No blasts occured on this scale anywhere in Pakistan, until a public gathering of this magnitude was allowed to occur in Karachi, where politicians and lawyers were being prevented from holding public gatherings throughout recent months.
    There was a great chance of blasts here, but this close to the truck carrying Benazir is quite scary.
    Democratic involvements for Pakistani politicians are turning more serious and hazardous than you expect in any other country. If these politicians continue down this path it shows their commitment to political contirubtion in thier countries.
    What does need to be left out are blame statements on Intelligence agencies. That only creates an air of mistrust certainly not good amongst leaders of the state and its institutions.

10. Abdullah (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 12:02 pm

Yet another day wasted! Lets hope things stay in control in the upcoming days.

11. BoZz (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 12:11 pm

I like the above writers usage of the phrase “creates an air of mistrust”. I hope that he does not sincerly belive in that.

Mistrust is what we are best at. Mistrust is what is used and applied and created at every level in this country.

What could possibly the poor bloggers add to this “air of mistrust” that has not already been well fortified.

And guess what, let us question who gains the most from these incidents?

12. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 1:36 pm

@BOZZ

BB gained extra mile with who ?

LOSS – many are orphan & widow

GAIN –

somebody’s gain is somebody’s loss… thats a universally accepted FACT.

13. Zee (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 2:05 pm

She has started to create havoc hours after landing here. I saw her crying when after coming out of aircraft. She must have been crying and thanking whoever she worships that she has another chance of looting us and make billions of dollars.

If she gains power this time, we’ll only see more corruption, more mehngai and Karachi will become a shithole again. Things are not going well.

It’s obvious that the whole thing was planned. She refused to accept government’s plans, she wanted to travel a distance in 16-20 hours which you can travel in 15 minutes! This is insane!

They called upon people from allll over the country making sure that they leave Karachi vulnerable. It has be planned, kill many people, stay safe and get your ass on the PM chair, start looting and make haste as if you are being paid for it.

They have painted our city red, black and green. They have painted our city UGLY with all that welcome bitchnazir crap and now they have taken away the peace.

Today is NOT going to be a good day. As soon as bodies start coming back and funerals are taken to the graveyards, emotions will run high, blood will get hot and people are going to take out their frustation. I think Karachi will stay under the violence clouds for the next 3 days.

Since we have thousand of people coming in from Punjab, NWFP etc, they are going to make sure that before they return to their grounds, they give Karachi a good beating! This is all planned. Lets all sit depressed and frustrated till sunday, doing NOTHING at hour homes only to find that there is a “yom-e-soog” or whatever on Monday, followed by some messy PPP strike calls!

WELCOME BITCH, WELCOME!

14. Silver (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 2:39 pm

Wow! Some emotions Zee… lets channel it to good use… i suggest training some dengue assasin mosquitos.

Although the situation is serious, we should keep our calm and help find a solution

15. VL D:MON (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 3:01 pm

it was expected..

how cud BB talk bout poor people while sitting in a palace…

it was a same show..all the leaders are safe and sound…those who were killed were nobody to them bt a tool,,they were real people killed there for creepin out loud…its a big loss…

16. Hasan Zuberi (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 4:14 pm

@Khurram:

When I passed the blast site around 1:30pm still it was crowded with people and cars jamming the road (towards Airport), where as the other side (towards Baloch flyover) sweepers were clearing the debris and smashed glasses …. my window was open and there was a thick smell of burned flash … just by imagining that its the smell of human flash made me sick.

From Gulshan to Zamzama all the shops are closed and roads are nearly empty.

Its an unfortunate scene ….

May Allah save us from any further evil & blooodshed (Amen)

17. Zee (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 4:37 pm

SILVER: “**** ***” Now that should kill you, you little dengue mosquito! :)

(edited) Mr. Blah, please watch your language! (with apologies to SILVER)

18. llama (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 4:41 pm

i am not at all shocked at zze’s response. in face i am shocked at those who sit and preach everyone to be calm right now. hor dare you tell us citizens of karachi to be calm? my blood is boiling just listening and watching the horrific events unfold. how dare that woman come back here and subject us to all this? how dare the govt let this happen? but most of all shame on us, including me, for hiding out in our homes and quietly accepting it all; relishing an extra day off and sitting on our bums watching our city burn. I would have suggested that her entry into the city be blocked by peaceful demonstrators, but then that again would have been a focal point for the PPP idiots to bomb anyone stopping her return. what a mess.

and there can be no question about the fact that she was most definitely NOT a target of this bomb attack. please stop being immature and ignorant! a billion snipers had a billion chances to sit atop any number of building on sharah e faisal with the sole intent of assassinating her. yet the method chosen was a wide scale bomb blast which was guaranteed to maim and kill hundreds of lives—-that just goes to show that this whole attack was not targeted at benazir but rather targeted at creating panic, chaos, dread and instability in the city. and even an idiot can guess who’s going to benefit from this mess. and its certainly not the general public!

19. Zee (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 4:59 pm

Ahh so now they edit comments too. NICE! Lets see how many times do they edit the comments of those who call Urdu speakers names and stuff!

and there can be no question about the fact that she was most definitely NOT a target of this bomb attack. please stop being immature and ignorant! a billion snipers had a billion chances to sit atop any number of building on sharah e faisal with the sole intent of assassinating her. yet the method chosen was a wide scale bomb blast which was guaranteed to maim and kill hundreds of lives—-that just goes to show that this whole attack was not targeted at benazir but rather targeted at creating panic, chaos, dread and instability in the city. and even an idiot can guess who’s going to benefit from this mess. and its certainly not the general public!

Could not have agreed more!

20. Henna P (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 5:14 pm

I agree with zee and llama.
    How can you tell us to be calm, when you see vulnerable people dying. What do we do dig a big hole and hold a communal funeral?
    What do we do with a woman who appears to be the bravest political prodigy and has been ignorant about the burden she’s carrying of hundereds of murders?
    Why do we welcome her at all?
    Why is it, that education is synonymous with knowledge, sensibilty and morality, yet somehow it bypassed this brilliantly educated woman?
    This incident will be ultimately forgotten because perhaps, that is how we have learned to live.

21. Henna P (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 5:15 pm

I agree with zee and llama.
    How can you tell us to be calm, when you see vulnerable people dying. What do we do dig a big hole and hold a communal funeral?
    What do we do with a woman who appears to be the bravest political prodigy and has been ignorant about the burden she’s carrying of hundreds of murders?
    Why do we welcome her at all?
    Why is it, that education is synonymous with knowledge, sensibilty and morality, yet somehow it bypassed this brilliantly educated woman?
    This incident will be ultimately forgotten because perhaps, that is how we have learned to live.

22. Silver (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 5:21 pm

@Zee

Watch my language! what did I say, its you who is cursing. I only asked you to train some dengue assasins.

23. SIlver (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 5:32 pm

What can you do with all the rage on your heads?

WHat can you do with all this anger?

What have you done with all the anger on May 12?

Nothing! If you want a solution you have to calm down, think and act. Because its time, you acted and stoped talking.

24. Zee (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 5:32 pm

SILVER: Dude, I didn’t write that. It was the mod who edited it who wrote that!

25. Zee (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 5:34 pm

Whatever the heck happened to the freedom of speech? :s

26. Concerned (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 6:06 pm

Big words being said here, if you care tht much then show it.

ORGANISE yourself ppl, make a banner and meet at seaview on Sunday (NOON). Protest against BB’s stupidity, protest against the extremists, protest against wht ever you want but try to make yourself be heard.

typing on this blog will get you ppl nowhere.

I look forward to seeing people make a stand rather then bitching on this blog. And if people want media, I am sure most of you have the relevant contacts get them there.

Also the reason I said seaview was because it is an open area and incase of emergency lots of ways to run to. I would avoid doing this in a central crowded location. And seaview is not tht bad on sunday noon. the rush starts coming after that.

27. Aamir (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 9:28 pm

Did Benazir organize and conduct these suicide attacks? From the comments on this page folks are blaming Benazir for being a politician, I think you guys should blame the terrorists for being terrorists.

28. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 9:52 pm

I see people here are saying that INNOCENTS became victim again. Apart from Policemen and ARY Cameraman, I find none of PPP worker Innocent.

They are rather ignorant or “Ignocent” as Aitazaz Ahsan coined that term few months back during CJ crisis. They could be declared innocent if they were forced to attend the circus. They opted themselves to come on roads. Many on TV said that they would sacrifice their lives for Benazir. Even a squad was setup by name “Ja-nisaran-e-Bhutto”- Now Janisars have given life then what’s all fuss about? none of us forced them to visit the place? They got what they wished for so pretty lame that we make our time and life hell for them. When they are happy then who the hell are you guys crying for them. The sadist thing is that ignorance of few lakhs people made suffer millions of people in a city. The resources which are already not able to fulfill needs of residents of this city are being utilized for others.

Now kindly quit this lame marathon and pray rather for those idiot Pakistanis who have no brain at all and are getting prepared themselves to sacrifice their lives for some other retard politician in future.

29. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 9:55 pm

In short, Jahalat ka aysa he anjaam hota hay.

30. Concerned (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 9:56 pm

I never thought I would ever say this but, he is right.

Very well said Adnan. I agree with you

31. Rafi (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 10:14 pm

Abid on pakistaniat.com made a fitting reflection:

Ironically, what Benazir’s dad ZAB once said has an ironic ring of truth to it: “What is built on hypocrisy and deceit must finally crumble.”

As a generation of serfs and innocent fall
    For pir, waderas and the generals!
    Call it a sham! or whatever, but it is a shame!

Jhoot ehsaas ki qandeel ko booja deta hai …

32. llama (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 10:35 pm

@ concerned: sure go ahead and organize that meeting at seaview why dont you? writing about it on this blog wont get you anywhere.

just dont come back crying to us when your little meeting gets dispersed by a bomb or two.

brilliant idea i must say. you ppl never learn do you?

33. Zee (unregistered) on October 19th, 2007 @ 11:13 pm

I think Balma said something in some post here on KMB that with the death of so many people, there are lesses LESS IQ people in Pakistan. I am afraid, I agree with him on this.

I have said it before and i’ll say it again… those who died besides policemen and the camera man can not be innocent so, no, I have NO sympathies for the idiots!

34. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on October 20th, 2007 @ 12:09 am

Viqar Minai said pretty right on Pakistaniat. com about the attitude of site managers.

I think that, with every issue, the ATP moderators should either publish a list of acceptable opinions that we are allowed to express or, better yet, put out a standard message to express the reaction to the atrocity in Karachi yesterday.

All the rest of us can dutifully rubber stamp that approved statement and go home.

When Hypocrisy and biasness are at peak, it’s folly to raise voice.

The bold statement should be applicable on this and other forums as well.

35. Concerned (unregistered) on October 20th, 2007 @ 1:08 am

@Llama

I never said I was organising it, I would help if ppl wanted.

I said stop bitching and do something about it instead. Most ppl here are all talk. Its easy to talk from your comfy sofa in an air conditioned room.

Itna bura lagta hai tu kuch karo, warna chup raho. Most ppl here are full of shit. sara josh khatam ho jata hai jub kuch karnay ke baaray mein sochna parta hai.

Honestly speaking I didnt mind the blast and I would have actually loved it if the guy had actually reached BB before blowing himself up. stupid terrorist.

36. Concerned (unregistered) on October 20th, 2007 @ 1:27 am

Agar phatoo ho, tu moo ke fire bhi mat karo.

37. HB (unregistered) on October 20th, 2007 @ 3:24 am

I guess pre-poll rigging has already started. First by Mush and now BB for sympothy. I read this on bbc and I totally agree with it.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/10/071019_benazir_blast_wusat.shtml

38. Khurram Rana, Sweden (unregistered) on October 20th, 2007 @ 6:36 am

Come guys..i’m sickin tired all this attacks on each other….what ever you like her or not, it does not matter. You must NEVER ever use violence to gain your political goals. It’s a shame while other muslim countries are getting better and advanced like, Indonesia, Malasiya, Turkey, Morocco and Tunis, What’s happening in the this nation. You letting the mullah’s to decide the agenda of the day.I’m was born and raised in Sweden. However my blood and soul is pakistani. I dear love my country and want a Pakistan without extremists, Incomptent mullah’s and social injustice. First of start with cutting down the defense cost with 20% and spend the money on poverty and Education and on labour market and we will get a better country, “INSALLAH”
    Don’t blame each other instead ask what YOU can do for the country. 1./ pay your taxes. 2./ teeach the real message of Islam. “LOVE FOR ALL HATRED FOR NONE” 3./Start community meetings and watchdog for each neighbourhood. Finally take personal responsibility and be real pakistanis.

39. llama (unregistered) on October 20th, 2007 @ 12:34 pm

@concerned: the reason i asked you to go organize it because you are doing exactly what you are preaching the rest of us not to do, to use your own words: “I said stop bitching and do something about it instead. Most ppl here are all talk. Its easy to talk from your comfy sofa in an air conditioned room”

why dont you follow your own advice?

40. Concerned (unregistered) on October 20th, 2007 @ 10:26 pm

Because I dont have grievances, wht happened tht day was necessary and bound to happen.

I honestly dont care. all this will settle in a few days, maybe over the weekend.

41. llama (unregistered) on October 21st, 2007 @ 12:33 am

if you dont care then stop telling ppl what to do

42. Khurram Rana, Sweden (unregistered) on October 21st, 2007 @ 2:07 am

How about show each other solidarity!
    Ohave went from words to action..working with project to help and poor kids and families t ogive opportunity to get University edudation and jobs..atleast one step cloeser to a better society..
    In matter in fact I do no sit on my as and just complaining..Guys..solidarity!