KARA Film festival postponed

7th KARA Film festival which was to begun from November 15th, 2007 has been postponed due the recent killings in the bomb blast at the BB’s procession.

According to the officials the festival has been postponed “as a mark of respect for the over 130 people who lost their lives in an act of brutal terrorism in Karachi on Thursday night.”

“The rescheduled dates of the Festival will be announced after consultation with all those involved and once the political and security situation is clearer.

Source: KARA official website.

9 Comments so far

1. Umair H MIrza (unregistered) on October 22nd, 2007 @ 2:14 pm

saddest thing that happened . aagay agaay dekho . postpone aur hota hai kya.. pakistan fashion week in lahore is postponed too.:(

2. Sami Shah (unregistered) on October 22nd, 2007 @ 3:03 pm

I understand the desire to postpone an event of that size, but I am starting to think maybe it is not the best thing to do in Karachi.

This city has been marred by increasing violence for a while now, and it seems like the trend is just growing in intensity.

Maybe we need to go ahead with major events, etc. just to keep hope energy alive in the city.

It can be seen as insenitive yes, but then maybe it is a celebration of life more than anything else.

God knows the city needs it.

3. IUnknown (unregistered) on October 22nd, 2007 @ 4:23 pm

wow… ppl are being killed , Death is every where in khi and some ppl are willing to watch dance and sing songs..

If u want to do it, dont do it publicly. Jusst do it in wash room where no one can see/hear u.

Yeh muslaman hain jinhain diakh kay sharmaein hanood!!

4. Huzefa L (unregistered) on October 22nd, 2007 @ 5:11 pm

Obviously the organizers don’t believe in the saying, “The show must go on!”.

I felt that in the wake of all the horror, it was even more important to hold the festival. To show the terrorists and the political ‘leaders’ that we as a people are bigger than them.

5. umar (unregistered) on October 22nd, 2007 @ 5:41 pm

Iunknown: The event is cancelled, in case you are thinking otherwise

6. Visitor (unregistered) on October 22nd, 2007 @ 5:46 pm

I dunno wats rite n wats not nemore, shud v hold an event shud v not is not the concern after all, but yes Karachi loosing its image of a livley city every day surely is….our city now, is refered to as the city of voilence…

I’m not sure abt the credibilty of the website below but it surely paints a daunting picture of our city…

http://news.independent.co.uk/world/asia/article300074.ece

7. SR (unregistered) on October 22nd, 2007 @ 11:40 pm

They should just have the parties anyway. During the Lebanese Civil War and beyond, the Lebanese would always have parties in basements and shelters after a major bombing or strike to celebrate that they are still alive. We should learn from them, since Karachi may become like Beruit soon.

8. Reality_Chk (unregistered) on October 23rd, 2007 @ 1:11 am

I agree such events should be carried on as a Mark of Defiance to the terrorists. After 9/11 and London Bombings people moved on with life as a show of strength and solidarity.

9. wasiq (unregistered) on October 23rd, 2007 @ 5:20 am

i believe the organizers panic’d or maybe they were looking for a reason to postpone the event….karachi is back alive and kicking…..survived is not politically correct.. i had a tikka….at dinner.

@unaiza….

Mein fakat aik hee pyjama kahaan tak dekhoun
    jahan tak dekhey wahan tak dekh aagay sey wapsi ki kar