Life goes on. Depressing yes… Hopeless no…
Jawwad Farid, CEO of Alchemy Associates writes about how saturday’s emergency declaration has affected the reality on ground here in Karachi. He paints a not-so-depressing picture of the situation for the financial and work fronts for citizens of Pakistan(to which i also agree). The internet is still on (as the posts and comments on this blog are testament to), mobile and SMS services are still on and our link to the outside world has not been severed.
Life in Karachi has not come to a standstill. While there is tension and apprehension in the air, life still goes on.
For us life goes on, this is not the first time we have gone through this experience. It is now a part of our national psyche. We have seen these so called national events of monumental significance all the way from 1953 to 1999. At least once every decade, sometimes even more.
Read more at Jawwads’ post - Emergency - a guide for our non-local friends, and our local friends who are no longer local…

sheep+people=sheeple
that is what we are…watch V for vandetta to get an idea…we will go through life like zombies living in a policed state…doing what is asked of us …slaves to the higher echelon of society….mindless bodies roaming the country…
I WANT MY CONSTITUTION BACK!!1
RESTORE THE REPUBLIC!!!
things certainly would stay normal, this coup was against supreme court and media while corrupt allied politician and terrorists(MQM) were not touched or affected.. similarly other parties like ppp and jui(fazalrehman) won’t make any hue n cry either coz they’re in talks with the dictator for their part of the cake in next setup.. normally things get out of hand when a sitting govt is deposed and its workers come out on the road to protest.. journalists and lawyers are protesting but brutal dictator might silent them as well
that is eactly what i’ve been tellign anyone who asks me why i’m pro-emergency! life for the common man continues without trouble. schools are open. kids are being educated. offices are open. people are going to work. labourers are still earning a daily wage. prices have not gone up. the only possile curtailment is that of news channels, which will be restored in a few days/weeks and which has been done to curb mass hysteria and eliminate sensationalism (of which these news channels are most certainly guilty of) and the KSE index is down which will also be fine once thngs are under cntrol.
so really stop complaining and whining about your rights being abused because they havent been. wake up and smell the constitution!
or would you all rather have a rally of journalists and/or lawyers convene on the road somewhere and burn a few effigies of musharraf, burn a bus and then burn some tyres? yes then you’d be able to say that pakistan was in turmoil because it wasnt safe to go out on the streets. thats what you want isnt it? for there to be chaos so that normal life would shut down. all those who are expressing such outrage at the emergency are nothing but proponents of a sham-democracy and abasement of law & order.
lol….i neva knew ppl cud be so naive like LLAMA….its stupid to even argue wid shahnawaz…..he is telling us to focus on the StarPlus Drama issues…n forget about the issues of pakistan…..discuss Saas Baho but dont discuss pakistan police beatin pakistanis…lol…When Parliment is run by hand picked, save my a** from NAB, kissup, and Judicary is overthrwon b/c president doesnt like what they will come out withwat a joke!!
its not 70’s or 80’s now common ppl understand the devil face of Napak army ..Mushy is reckless desperate medicore kinda dictator…..whose torturing n killin his own ppl….inflation is all time high just imagin life of person who is earning 4-5k…..n if u talk bout corruption….den lol….this guyz been dere for 8 yrs…n his army…..makin money left ryte n center…..so imagine the corruption!
Mush has screwed the country not the Media
LLAMA: when people like you don’t have any sense importance of judiciary then I find no option other than moaning on our education system which produced educated like you who don’t realize than when there’s no justice, you can’t run system at all. You gave the example of Schools. what if a school is shutdown by force and students and teachers are kicked out? this is something happened with Delhi School Karimabad. You gave example of office. Recently an office in Islamabad run by some guy Faisal Chohan was raid by police illegally. What if there’s no concept of justice?
The day you realized the importance of judiciary and real meaning of democracy, you would stop giving baseless lectures to your friends. Today if West is praised is because of proper functioning of every institute including judiciary. in UK, Blair could be questioned by an ordinary policeman here some land lord would not like to see face of policeman let alone some Prime Minister. So either stop comparing Pakistan with west or some mature and sensible cuontry or try to find out how developed country followed certain rules to declare them civilized.
s/moaning/mourning
dont worry i would never dare compare pakistan to any other country, west or east. you talk about the rights of the judiciary—how are you so sure that the judges removed/held are not corrupt themselves? how do you know they’re not really as bad as the govt says they are? why not give the benefit of the doubt to the govt since the important thing is that civil liberties of innocent people are not being jeopardised.
i do not claim to be an expert on politics or law but i dont condone with the (then) chief justice drawing support and rallies from the mass populace. Its not the job of judges to have supporters or detractors; they’re supposed to be neutral and just. I didnt like what i saw and that makes me think that all is not well with the judiciary. makes sense to me so far. and i will continue to think that untill i see or hear something to the contrary.
@LLAMA: can you give any authentic guarantee that you have not committed any sin on earth or nobody got hurt? can you give any proof that your Musharraf is more innocent than an angel and he never committed any corruption or sin on earth? why do I give benefit of doubt to Govt? This is not cricket match where one is puzzled about catch. it’s crystal clear that mush’s act is to attack on judiciary. It doesn’t happen in civilized world.
make some sense dude. No body said lawyers re innocent and I myself know corruption among them but then can you name one department which is NOT corrupt? Recently a govt scandal was find out in which they misused the money which is used for Hajj related purpose. Pls talk about ground realities and fact. If you are just here to sing praises of Mush just because you have to, spare me then. I wouldn’t like to participate further.
i already answered your question: why do I give benefit of doubt to Govt?
answer: because the important thing is that civil liberties of innocent people are not being jeopardised.
and anyways thats what this post is about. the fact that even under extraordinary circumstances, life in pakistan can stay normal, peaceful and healthy. no matter what you say, that has to be commended.
people, please be civil and discuss ‘issues’ rather than finger pointing towards fellow commenters.
thanks.
all comments with finger pointing will be completely deleted, whether they are relevant to the topic or not.
@Llama
You aint alone bro, I agree with you and so do quite a few ppl I know. In my entire existence I have never met a lawyer who was true to his word and did his job profesionally, whereas I have seen such people in all other professions.
I will never trust any Tehrik run by the lawyers.
As for the media, they do have a habit of sensationalising the news and unnecessarily depresss ppl,
Our country is strong and there is nothing going on right now, life is continuing as normal. So stop Bi*****g.
Okay, illam, I’ll take your argument. I’d like to think of my self as an “innocent” person (never been charged with a crime in an official court of law), and my “civil liberties” have been jeaoperdised. I can’t watch the news, I can’t say anything against the govt. and yes, I can go to work, come back, have food, and it hasn’t seriously disrupted my day to day life, but it has given me a whole lot of headache and frustration, it has even sickened me in fact to see the lengths to which one man go secure power.
About the original post, yes, I guess life may be going on as normal for many people in the city, but that isn’t in any way credit to the govt. That’s sad but true reflection of how Pakistani society is, perhaps frustrated with whatever is happening, but not motivated enough to bring change, or perhaps, we’re just way too cynical of ever seeing any change. This is a unfortunate consequence of the nature of the governance of successive regimes (both elected and dictatorships) in this country, not something that should be hailed as their achievement. Our indifference is partly the result why the men in charge dare to put them self above the law, because they realise, that most of us are too busy with our lives to think about revolting.
me too! im with Llama n everyone else pro-emergency…everyone in our country has a tendency to misuse watever, even minimal, authority they have, n that is exactly wat CJ was doing,taking sou motto action left rite & center…i mean hello, u’re the CJ of pak have some dignity….
honestly, atleast this way, for however long the emergency lasts v wont b having ne jalsas n no more blasts in khi…for once a common man’s life is not distirbed…
me too! im with Llama n everyone else pro-emergency…everyone in our country has a tendency to misuse watever, even minimal, authority they have, n that is exactly wat CJ was doing,taking sou motto action left rite & center…i mean hello, u’re the CJ of pak have some dignity….
honestly, atleast this way, for however long the emergency lasts v wont b having ne jalsas n no more blasts in khi…for once a common man’s life is not distirbed…
“one man go secure power” y cant v take as one man go secure the country! i mean speaking of democracy wat options do v have??? blood suckers like BB n Nawaz?! koowein se nikal k khayee mein gir jao…behtar yeh nahi k koowein mein hi bethe raho…esp that kuwan that gave you a constant 7% growth in the GDP for the last 3 years….
* Zainub Radvi writes:
my “civil liberties” have been jeaoperdised. I can’t watch the news, I can’t say anything against the govt.
Auntie Zainub Radvi, I find it very strange that you are complaining of this when your own kartoots on KMB (i.e. your kaat-chhaant of others comments and your dictatorial attitude on KMB) are nothing to write North Carolina about!
Now live with it, Auntie Zainub Radvi.
KMB per aa kar Tasvay bahaanay kee zaroorat nahi’n.
True there is emergency, but is there any emergency declared at the hospitals? No. Why should people come out and protest and with whom?
Let things settle down, go to your work places, though what is happening is wrong but there is no one in sight worth dying for or get beaten up for.
Judges are now politicians and politicians have turned into chicken. The constitutional stalwarts have made a mockery of the country and let the fate of the country hang in balance peshee after peshee.
Now the General has no excuse, if things don’t improve in a month’s time then he will lose all credibility, what is left of it.
Khamoshi Baray Toofan ka Pesh-khema hoti hey-This is something which I read so many times. I interact daily with common people, they are angry very angry but helpless because governments and specially this govt made situation so bad that one is rather busy to feed his family. Today a man from Nazimabad told me that there was 15+ hours loadsheding in some parts of Nazimabad. Pakistanis have been giving shocks for long time, they have tired now, both mentally and physically. The dictator’s govt first paralyzed this nation then started removing masks one after another. Some are still ignorants and they don’t see his real face. Such people will even expect serenity if US Godforbid attacks on attacks on Pakistan. Such people will say,”Ye konsi bari bat hay?”.
I don’t know whether this beyhis awam ever be able to come out of this Inertia or not- Only Allah knows but if this awam once consider its own Importance, they will just need no “naseehat”,no speech and no lecture to figure out different between white and black.
Reality: When Army men could be politicians or even Governors and the president then why can’t judges or lawyers do politicians. Hypocrisy! or as your Altaf bai always says, “meetha meetha Hap hap karwa karwa thoo”
and Mansoor, tumhey comment delete karna hey tu waise he karday? excuse kio deyraha hay?
people are not protesting not coz they love mush very much or they’re in favor of emergency but its coz the lower and middle class these days is really finding it hard to make both ends meet so they don’t really give a damn about politics and emergency while the rich and well to do are also not concerned as long as they’re making good money.. for example european union has threatened to impose ban on pakistani textile imports if mush doesn’t shed his uniform by 15th nov .. now if ban is imposed then these fat exporter will really make hue and cry and make their voices heard in corridor of power…
I am with the pro-emergency ones here. People of Pakistan are a self-destructive bunch. If it wasn’t for this emergency and the arrests there really would be some serious destruction of public property and probably much bloodshed too out on the street.
People of Pakistan are not used to democracy. They certainly dont know how to handle it and certainly are not ready for it. They have shown again and again that they will elect the worst of the worst as their leaders. They need to be eased into this democracy thing. I think Musharraf made the mistake of giving people too much freedom. They weren’t ready for it and made a mess of things.
The words of reality_check sums up whats wrong with our nation - this good for nothing general is raping and plundering the rights of the people of Pakistan and reality is asking why should we do anything - whats wrong - yeah - he is right - i guess he is overseas - and people in pakistan are getting food - albeit at higher prices - they can watch all the indian entertainment channels or any other channels - there are corrupt generals installed in the courts - but reality says not to worry about - doesnt he sound like the army’s paid ministers and governonrs?
everything is fine and dandy -the situation and the state of mind we are in - is not just depressing but rather pathetic. This shows the way we think - let someone else fix the problem - we are willing to take whatever “engineered truth” coming from the powers to be and principles dont matter to us anymore as a nation.
I was appaled by a comment in this thread that “dont care about the movement if its run by the lawyers” excuse me???? just cuz the movement run for the freedom of the judiciary and mdeia is led by the journalists and lawyers you are not going to support their principled state.
Allah doesnt change a nation’s state for the betterment until the nation itself start to spend some time thinking about the situation and getting off their butts to do something about it.
Listen Balam, in fact listen Talma Uncle (see I get mean too). You better keep my name out of this, okay? I hate my name being mis-spelled, intentionally or unintentionally. I expect my comment may be moderated in a while, but I’ll get some steam out before it does. First, you’re the not the only person who can get mean. I can get very, very mean if I want to (I’d give more examples but I don’t want to be wasting any more than 2 minutes in typing out this comment, why waste my precious energy replying to scatterbrains whose favorite past time is indulging in Internet Bullying).
But about what you said, this blog is NOT public domain. There’s terms of service you and I must agree to before commentating and if our comments violate those terms, authors are legally bound to trash out crap (like this comment I have made!). We tolerate you guys calling us names, cope up with your absurd whims, and bare with being told your entire politico social ideology in every post left, right and centre. The only instance where we’ve got stricter off late is when you guys resort to calling each names like I have in this comment (and I fully expect and think my comment should be deleted). Find me a high traffic blog, forum or message board which doesn’t have similar rules, and I’ll talk to you then.
In any case, how all of this is comparable to chief of army staff suspending the constitution (some thing he has no legal right of doing) and thereby ridding me of many of the rights and securities the constitution provided me (and that I am entitled to receive), is beyond my comprehension and is perhaps only something a mind like you can understand. It is my fundamental right to have access to information and to voice my opinions in the public domain. It is however, not my fundamental right in anyway to demand these same rights in areas which are not public domain (like this blog), and who have their own set of terms one has to abide by. If some people aren’t capable of making this distinction, that’s not my problem.
Sorry Mansoor, but I just had to get this off my chest once and for all.
True Adnan, the problem with our country is that nobody is doing his/her or her job, everybody is finding faults with what others are doing.
Judges have jumped into politics because politicians have left a big vacuum, but the problem is if judiciary becomes so politicized then who will be the judge, do we want to go towards military courts?
I am all for CJ taking a principled stand, but what I find hard to support is Jalsey Baazi and movement mongering. He has taken a stand that’s it, its upto the society to support or not to support it. He has done his job Period. He hasn’t failed the society but the society is failing him.
This emergency affords us the opportunity to sit back, and re-think our goals / aspirations. As a nation we must decide what our priorities are and where we want to go.
This is not about BB, Mush, Choudhri’s, Altaf, Qazi, Iftikhar and Fazlul rehman. Its about Me and You. If you feel that you should go out and record your protest, it’s perfectly ok /valid. For me and millions of others it’s not worth while until unless convinced otherwise.
I hope the day never comes when I post a comment on this blog saying that I protest, I am not rigid, this could happen just waiting for things to unfold. This is the last chance that I am willing to give Mushee.
Mr. Happy - people of Pakistan are not used to democracy since they have not had the real democracy - its their right - and its up to them if they want to abuse you - what you said sounds more like some “brown sahib” mimicking his “gora sahib” that people are not worthy of freedoms.
this is what the stupid military officers are taught in their academies (relics of the gora raj)
that the civilians (who are paying their salaries) are inferior to them - they make sure that they instill this thinking in the elite lota class that they developed in pakistan over the decades. Let pakistan be free of this good for nothing military!!!
Mr. Happy - people of Pakistan are not used to democracy since they have not had the real democracy - its their right - and its up to them if they want to abuse you - what you said sounds more like some “brown sahib” mimicking his “gora sahib” that people are not worthy of freedoms.
this is what the stupid military officers are taught in their academies (relics of the gora raj)
that the civilians (who are paying their salaries) are inferior to them - they make sure that they instill this thinking in the elite lota class that they developed in pakistan over the decades. Let pakistan be free of this good for nothing military!!!
apologies for tripple postings - my computer lost its mind
Auntie Zainub Radvi,
Cool down, I am not mispronouncing your name - especially if you think Wadu and Hadrat are the correct pronouncations. So which way do you want me to go, Ms. Radvi? Razvi, Wazu, and Hazrat OR Radvi, Wadu, and Hadrat?
Balma only wants to be consistent.
And, thanks for your big taqreer on freedom of speech on the net…we won’t get into that right now….you got very angry…work hard in your school and I will not call you auntie any more. OK?
if people of Pakistan are not used to of democracy then let them taste it now? abay bhai, ab bachpan me tum Farex(sp?) aur cerlelac(sp?) khatay rahay kio tum used to thay. ab tum jawan hon kad bhe yehi khao k tumhe adat kaise hogi bhai? how will you ‘Grow up’? ehhe
Sorry zainub,I do agree about comment policy on any website but I do disagree with the reasons given by you. The thing you mentioned is IDEAL SITUATION where Administration and commenters are treated equally. What’s done on KMB is mini example of Mush-ism. YOu might hate it because you are part of such administration but this is the fact. You accept it or reject it, its not going to change anyways.
Coming back to topic. Reality, protests are NOT made to convince opponents. Millions people protested against Iraq war. they didn’t do to convince but to express their feelings. When you do agree that everyone has RIGHT to express his concern then why does it irk someone if some TV channel doesn’t sing praise of Musharraf? Shaikh Rasheed was just whining on GEO that “Channels Musharraf k tareef karti he nahin!”- abay bhai, THe whole damn PTV network have been singing praises of Musharraf still he wants everyone on earth sing praises of Musharraf. As I said earlier, imposing useless bans were never fruitful at all. US media tried its best to hide casualties of US/Iraq war but truth can’t be hidden. So if Govt thinks that hiding and banning media can hide their activities then they are certainly just fooling themselves.
ADNAN again you are missing the point its not about a person or a channel, it’s the society as a whole. The question is, if there is so much misery and injustice then why is there so much apathy? Time and again I have said that Mush is the weakest / vulnerable dictator we ever had, so why is he still in power? How much un-popular or popular is he? Banning media is no hindrance, in the good old days people had BBC radio, the politicians used to announce a rally, rank and file was arrested but still people turned up in hundreds of thousands. Political opponents were routinely rounded up and were subjected to worse torture at CIA centres, but still people came, wave after wave. So why not now?
There must be something else than un-trusted leaders, may be the people don’t think that their lives have been sufficiently disturbed, yesterday I rang up five different families in different parts of Pakistan, none of those was overly concerned, infact, they are enjoying movies and wives are happy that there are no news channels. I don’t know it’s a good sign or not. Strangely, it’s the same trend that I see in developed societies and progressing countries, people don’t care about politics. So the question is, are we progressing? May be some sociologist can comment better.
may be the people don’t think that their lives have been sufficiently disturbed, yesterday I rang up five different families in different parts of Pakistan, none of those was overly concerned, infact, they are enjoying movies and wives are happy that there are no news channels.
and I clearly discussed this part in my last post. That’s the reason I get irritated when expats dare to talk about things which they ain’t facing themselves back in home. I would not like to get into circular arguments just to convince you which you will not.
and By the way, Pakistani wives were never happy with news channels. Yes they could be restless if Star Plus was banned or other entertainment Indian channels. It happened in past and i covered it in one of my very early post on blog almost 2 years back.
in the developed nations the people are apathetic since they are overall satisfied with the things that impact their day to day lives - they are not concerned about livelihood infact opportunities abound - education, health, justice, security, accountability, almost no corruption…the list goes on, hence the apathy as their lives are not impacted and their rights are not usurped - as soon as there are instances that their quality of life and rights are impacted they do protest - case in point the strikes and demos in the European countries.
I am amazed that we are equating the apathy of people of Pakistan with the apathy of the population in the western world and saying that we are somehow have progressed - I believe we haver regressed and we dont have to wait for the history or the sociologist need to tell us that :)
on a lighter note, just to bring some change. This evening I accidently watch the drama, “Kasuti Zindagi Ki” after year or so(no i was never regular but family is) and found out that Bajaj was found alive again 3rd time in entire series. Man is Immortal(in Ekta’s soaps) *shakes head*
@zainab:
you write: Okay, illam, I’ll take your argument. I’d like to think of my self as an “innocent” person (never been charged with a crime in an official court of law), and my “civil liberties” have been jeaoperdised. I can’t watch the news, I can’t say anything against the govt. and yes, I can go to work, come back, have food, and it hasn’t seriously disrupted my day to day life, but it has given me a whole lot of headache and frustration, it has even sickened me in fact to see the lengths to which one man go secure power.”
you can most certainly watch the news, not the sensationalized version perhaps, but nevertheless you can most definitely watch and read the news via internet and print media. and before you go on about not being able to watch the news please do recall the fact that all the private news channels to which you’ve gotten accustomed have been given licenses to broadcast AFTER musharraf came to power.
you have every right to feel frustrated/sad etc because whatever is happening is most certainly a big deal. but may i point out another angle: how about thinking that maybe emergency rule wouldn’t have been needed at all if things hadn’t gotten so bad in the first place and that this was the only way out to make sure pakistan does not crumble under the weight of politics/terrorists/etc. maybe this action will end up saving pakistan. and if some of your rights get affected temporarily for the greater good of the country, isnt that a sacrifice worth making?
@zainab:
you write: Okay, illam, I’ll take your argument. I’d like to think of my self as an “innocent” person (never been charged with a crime in an official court of law), and my “civil liberties” have been jeaoperdised. I can’t watch the news, I can’t say anything against the govt. and yes, I can go to work, come back, have food, and it hasn’t seriously disrupted my day to day life, but it has given me a whole lot of headache and frustration, it has even sickened me in fact to see the lengths to which one man go secure power.”
you can most certainly watch the news, not the sensationalized version perhaps, but nevertheless you can most definitely watch and read the news via internet and print media. and before you go on about not being able to watch the news please do recall the fact that all the private news channels to which you’ve gotten accustomed have been given licenses to broadcast AFTER musharraf came to power.
you can also say anything you like against the govt–go ahead, who’s stopping you?
you have every right to feel frustrated/sad etc because whatever is happening is most certainly a big deal. but may i point out another angle: how about thinking that maybe emergency rule wouldn’t have been needed at all if things hadn’t gotten so bad in the first place and that this was the only way out to make sure pakistan does not crumble under the weight of politics/terrorists/etc. maybe this action will end up saving pakistan. and if some of your rights get affected temporarily for the greater good of the country, isnt that a sacrifice worth making?
May be I was not clear enough, I was implying the same point as KARACHIITE that there is apathy towards politics in developed countries, but why in Pakistan?
It wasn’t the case not long before; we used to routinely burn tires outside the university in Zia’s time knowing very well that there will be hell to pay if we got caught. The first thing establishment use to do was close down the educational institutions for months during critical situations, but that’s not the case now. OK MQM is a factor in Karachi but what about the rest of the country? Have we become civilized? Is it good or bad?
Why the wives are ok with News channels off and Star plus On? Is it that they know that their husbands will go out and earn a living, if there husbands were out of work may be they will be more interested in the news? Who is responsible for such apathy, when our nation is more informed than ever? Are they too informed to care less? Or all this, that is unfolding has become just another form of entertainment?
*we used to routinely burn tires outside the university in Zia’s time
Hmmm, and so went the Pakistani education standards down the drain.
@reality_check - I am sorry if I misunderstood your post. I guess the reason for people being apathetic is that they are forced into this state by the political leaders(read demagogues). Time and again people have been duped by these leaders who inherited leaderships (benazir, fazalur rahman - in a way nawaz). People give up when instead of going forward we regress more and more towards the abyss - now at this stage people think since politicians have failed us we should let army take care of us - points to us becoming a lazy nation - and army having guns doesnt help anyones cause.
@llama - in your point about what brought emergency and we need to ponder about the reason -
so you are asking us why an army dictator raided the destroyed the constitution, pillaged the judiciary - trying to shut up the media. This logic is as absurd as questioning a rape victiims choice of clothes or blaming a person for leaving their house unlocked for it to get burgled. Yeah - blaming the victim is an age old excuse of the usurper - When are we going to get it!
No BALMA Standards were good ! but the closures really hurt us. The standards went down when Kalashnikov’s came into the picture and when ironically the elected students unions were banned giving way to open badmaashee. Universities played a key role in developing personality and character building, they use to dish out conscious humans and not robots. We use to debate and argue with each other, true sometimes things got out of hand but then we always use to compromise after a phadda and protest together when the need arose, ofcourse, we had to pass our exams.
Present day universities look too boring and too sanitized. As for the standards all my batchmates enjoy successful carriers both inside and outside Pakistan.
* Universities played a key role in developing personality and character building, they use to dish out conscious humans and not robots
**** Just last night I fell asleep reading Aligarh Alumni Association’s year book, which had an article by an alumni of Aligarh Univ on similar lines.
***** Promise, I have no access to the year book that you have read :)
*sigh*
man’s nature…na iss haal khush na uss haal. ppl go out burn tired v call them jahil, extremist n destructive…when they dont v call them indifferent,numb,apathetic…
i’d say our nation has had enough of the same rigmarole n they’ve simply gotten numb by now… u hurt for a while n then later on u get immune to the pain…
“and so went the Pakistani education standards down the drain.” … but this tyre-burner got a good job in a financial institution abroad :) Could this be an ingredient of the success-recipe?
Zaraa Niqaab uThaa saaqi, tyre bhee laa saaqi, abhee umr kuchh hae baaqi…blah blah blah :-)
Actually, I have a better one Bluemax. Perhaps, this reality_check guy became an expert on tyres and now covers Goodyear, BF Goodrich, and Pireli for some financial insitution. So, REality_check bhayya, which one is long and who is a shorting candidate among these. Fikar nah karo, you will get your 10% for any inside news!
Actually, worked as a security guard in a tyre company for a while, never told them I used to burn their merchandise.
BTW BlUEMAX beside tyre burning - add being always among the top 5% of the class (academically) to the recipe. Howevever, my another class mate who was the leader of NSF, never bothered to study just managed to pass is now the most succesful of the lot, runs a franchise of more than 100 outlets in North America. The leadership training he got never went to waste.
I second what reality_check is saying here - at least in the group of friends I have who were involved in student politics back in karachi - which was a varied bunch from ISO, DSF, NSF, IJT, BSO, PSF etc all are very successful in their careers….it was the decline in thinking of our nation collectively after the zia era that has resulted in the state of apathy that we are currently witnessing.
students were always at the forefront of all the political movements in pakistan as in any other country with a “ba-shaoor talib-e-ilm”….at least i was a witness to the deterioration after the AK47 culture introduced in the educational institution by the IJT and then later by MQM….
Reality_Check, 100 stores? That is some leadership skill. And, hard work on top of that.
BTW, does he donate money to Karachi University? Just curious….
I was at NED not KU and as for the 100 store guy he donates quite a lot, in fact he pays the rent for queit a few families in Karachi. He is one of those who work silently, I came to know about his philanthropy when he asked me to give money on his behalf while I was vsiting Karachi. Later on I came to know that there is a whole group of expat Karachiites who does that, they just pay peoples rent, amazing isnt it. As Ramla A said, ” There are those who demand change and there are those who bring it about”.
reality_check, i am an nedian too….good to hear that this ex-nedian is doing well and doing some good work for families back home.
those who re saying emergency didn’t make any change. Local traders have increased the price of severe essential goods like aata,daal etc. Again it will not make any difference to exPats who re busy in drawing room politics.
Adnan bhai, dont say that it doesnt impact the expat Pakistanis - our hearts, minds and families back home are directly impacted by these draconian measures and in fact we feel it more as most of us enjoy the real freedoms and feel secure outside the country and know what our brethren are going through.
Haai’n, Reality_Check, aap kee baato’n say bilkul nahi’n lagta keh tussi engineer ho!
You can actually write in complete sentences!
Haai’n, Reality_Check, aap kee baato’n say bilkul nahi’n lagta keh tussi engineer ho!
You can actually write in complete sentences!
That is why stereo typing is not good.