Media Ban in Sindh High Court

With in 72 hours of Emergency, records are being made.According to an International report, the imposed emergency is said to create the nation’s biggest crisis since Musharraf took power in a 1999 coup. (Source: Bloomberg)

Stocks market affected, foreigners pulling out money from the local market, the international fund slowing down and then for the first time in the history of the country, a ban on media in Sindh High Court, Karachi which means the cases in court and the proceedings are no more public.

There were times (when the PM Nawaz Shariff was accused of hijacking the Colombo to Khi flight of PIA with Pervaiz Musharraf on board and on the hearing of the May 12 massacre cases) but never been a complete ban.

News Source :Daily Times

31 Comments so far

1. Lemon time (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 2:04 pm

Too bad the internet still works.

LIVE geo TV:

http://watchgeotv.info/

2. mana-ji (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 2:44 pm

Gold prices going down,sounds like a good news to me.

3. Umair H MIrza (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 3:16 pm

now this is tooo much.. abb hum referred on NEWYORK TIMES ASWELLLL!!!

http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/11/06/satellite-dishes-and-pakistans-media-blackout/

4. IUnknown (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 3:33 pm

FYI, the gold price has increased from 15K per tola to 17K per tola in just two days.

5. unaiza nasim (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 3:39 pm

it was 1520 and today it was 1510, teh gold rate

6. Ali Jafri (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 3:41 pm

Tell you what tock market didn’t collaped at that day and it came even -150 around 12:00 pm but it went down because of the stupid rumour that General Sahab has been house arrested after since it was confimed the stock market is reacting quite normal from last two days.

7. Abdul Sami (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 4:18 pm

Dawn reports an increase in Gold Prices in Karachi, can u cite some source?

8. unaiza nasim (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 4:22 pm

@ Abdul Sami: Gave the current rates after calling few renowned jewellers Almas & Harmain in Saddar.

9. unaiza nasim (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 4:33 pm

So the post is updated with no gold rates discussion:) I think it sounds better!
    Might help people who cannot mind their language.
    For gold rates you can check out where ever you want.

10. IUnknown (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 8:06 pm

hmmm suddenly rates went up and then came down. ajeeeb!!!

11. Reality_Check (unregistered) on November 7th, 2007 @ 8:17 pm

Oil & Gold prices are braking records world wide, our economy is not big enough to effect international markets. Gold has jumped from under $800 to more than $841 in a matter of days and oil is at a record high at $98 a barrel. So, chill out we are not big enough to trigger these spikes.

12. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:38 am

@ Ms Unaiza

When you say media, I think you are a small part of it as well.I could put this in the suggestion box but I wanted this to go as a record (unless you delete this)
    How about we individualizing these posts and focus only on an ordinary (average Saleem or Salma) karachiite/Pakistani life.
    His/her achievements (even with the hardships)in life or lack of achievements (stories that other citizens can relate with)) or dreams due to the hardships that person has faced in life.
    I know its hard to distract from the current situation.
    It might help to distract ourselves from a nonstop political/religious saga and involve ourselves in nonarguamental, respectful and healthy debate. (will not be easy in the begining)
    May be this way we will achieve something constructive.
    I hope I am making sense.
    Thank you
    An average Shahid

13. mansoor (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:00 am

coming back to topic, aka gold prices,

Gold Per 10gm 16,328.00

source: http://www.brecorder.com/

14. IUnknown (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:05 am

well said @shahid. i think we need this but we all are depressed enough to discuss that

15. libertarian (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:12 am

Admin I apologize for the long message …please this is for a good cause …I hope you agree…

this is what sumbul from lahore metroblogs has posted….I think this is the greatest idea…please stop
    bickering here …if you think your rights have been taken from you then read the following and spread the revolution…
    for the rest watch us ….

SEND FLOWERS FOR JUSTICE.

Individuals as well as organizations should arrange to have flowers delivered as soon as possible to the houses of individual heroes in this struggle. This proposal was initially sparked by the sight of anonymous well wishers trying to deliver flowers to Justice Khwaja Sharif in Lahore. One proposal was to set a date (Friday after juma prayers was suggested) at which time these deliveries would be scheduled, but I think we should leave it up to everyone to pick the time of their choosing. The intention is to flood the streets on which these people live with thousands of flowers. IF the police intercept the flowers, every effort should be made to publicly display their resistance and to leave flowers at the nearest convenient symbolic point.

Dr .Zafar at ANAA has committed one thousand dollars to this project and suggested to pick one person in each provincial capital and Islamabad and send 200 dollars worth of flowers to each recipient. One list of proposed candidates consists of:

1. Justice Rana Bhagwandas in Islamabad. (Justice Iftikhar Choudhry is the obvious choice and other organizations may wish to pick him, but we felt his stature is absolutely unassailable now and we wanted to highlight the important role played by Justice Bhagwandas. But all the other “rebel” judges are deserving of this too and it would be great if other organizations could pick people like Justice Javed Iqbal, Justice Sardar Raza, etc.)
    2. Justice Khwaja Shareef in Lahore. Justice Ramday is also in Lahore these days and is most deserving of support.
    3. Justice Sabeehuddin in Karachi (His address is as follows. Banglow # 44/2, 13 Street,Phase-V,DHA.Karachi. Ph: 5847582)
    4. Justice Tariq Pervaiz in Peshawar
    5. Unfortunately, all the judges of the BHC have become lotas. We are thinking that the most appropriate person in Quetta may be the president of the BHC bar association, who is under arrest.

Every person or organization should pick their own names and go ahead with their own timetable.

1. Take this in the spirit of a WIKI. This is not some kind of centralized top down campaign. Let each individual and organization take it in any direction and in any manner they wish. Spread the word. The most effective strategies will be the ones that evolve locally in Pakistan. I hope Sabahat Ashraf and others like him will help to spread the word.
    2. Online ordering of flowers is easy, but those companies may not cooperate to the end. Most flowers should ideally be delivered by volunteers in those cities. Student organizations are the best place to target for volunteers. publicity in the press, over the internet and by word of mouth will be the most important factor in the success or failure of this campaign. Please contact whoever you can and carry this forward. ANAA will use its own resources to arrange or attempt deliveries.
    3. Overseas Pakistanis can send cash to whatever person or entity they trust in order to financially support this effort.
    5. Media coverage is key.

SHOWER THEM WITH YOUR LOVE!!
    DEMAND YOUR CONSTITUTION BACK!!
    RESTORE THE REPUBLIC!!
    SPREAD THE WORD …SPREAD THE REVOLUTION!!

16. Inspirex (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:52 am

KSE in crisis?
    is Bloomberg sane?
    When Musharraf took over, the KSE was at the brink of destruction, trading at a mere 700 points.

And since the markets are mainly speculative, i dont think they can be depended on for this. For a fact, speak to the investors of Pakistan, or those that lost the chance. Was reading the statement of the CEO of Singapore telecom, that was interested in buying PTCL. They still believe the economy is dependable.

17. Inspirex (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 12:06 pm

oh and by the way, the media is never allowed inside the courts in Pakistan.

18. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 1:22 pm

Those who are saying that AWAM is happy after imposing ban on NEWS channels, they should visit the following link of IMB:

tinyurl.com/2z7znl

And DISH is getting expensive because demand is getting higher than supply. Govt imposed ban on selling satellite dishes because govt had fear that people are eager to know truth about things happening around.

So pls, quit drawing room politics from thousands of miles away from Pakistani soil.

19. Ramla A. (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:12 pm

Financial commentary requires technical know-how, even by a paper. Papers recruit either people good with the pen – or people graduated in a certain subject. Now these graduates, even in the top institutions of Pakistan, fake their researches. They have no idea of what they are writing or what stance are they taking. I have checked research papers that say, “For more information, click here.” This particular report was by an IBA MBA student on banking system – she graduated to join a bank.

I once was cornered by a KHI University student to fill out a questionnaire. I thought some of the questions were “leading.” So I brought up the matter with her and said, I can’t answer your question because it assumes a certain belief. Distracted from paying for her biryani in the canteen, she said, “Ugh? Haan? Hmm, ok, did you fill the questionnaire?” I repeated the questions are leading. She said, “Don’t worry – we’ve already made the report, we just need to fill the forms now.”

Lord have mercy!

Stock market crashes (in Pakistan) are more a result of imperfect information, and deliberate disinformation. The Pervez house arrest rumor, for instance, benefitted many who bought shares at a low price!

Which is not to say that the Emergency does not affect the socio-economic situation at all. If it affects morale, rightly or wrongly, then it certainly yields measurable impacts. They ought to be examined and actions must be based on those. But we just got to investigate it deeper than reporting what are technically “sweeping statements.” Secondly, economic activity and enterprise can find its way except in the most war-torn areas – so perhaps a national focus on eenterprise would be healthy.

Now there is a good old-fashioned rule about rumors: Did one see it happening – and does one know the truth behind what they saw? No? Good, then leave it aside unless confirmed by an authenticated source. (A relative saw 4 choppers landing in GHQ on saturday and thought it was proof of arrest – so even seeing is not reliable, what to speak of hearing!) It makes for a little desktop adventure, though, to do research of one’s own when one has both education and means. ;)

20. Ramla A. (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:21 pm

BTW, not to say that there are not enough knowledgeable people either in the media or in other fields. But people with technical know-how are in short supply in Pakistan, and despite media’s best retention effort, they tend to move on to the corporate sector.

Only the TV media, with its higher salaries and the promise of the fame of the face has been able to retain good talent. Geo made some of the initial strides in this area when GEO hired MBAs in Finance to cover stock markets, etc.

Yet generally, editorial the world over spends a great deal of time training recruited talent on focusing on specifics rather than sweeping, unvarifiable, vague statements. This ability is not a product of education per se, but learning about the art of journalism and analytical writing itself.

However the Pakistani linguitics are still more poetic than concrete (to put it broaly) This leads to misunderstanding and vague interpretation (in financial reporting). Many papers still don’t give a damn if they mistake a billion for a 10 million. TV in fact may have improved some papers’ reporting through competitive pressure.

21. Kads (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 8:25 pm

The dark policies of the government aimed at suppressing the voice of the people are spreading to this forum as well. Hence the gag on anything against musharraf on this forum too. But truth can not be suppressed and people can not be fooled.

So i say….down with musharraf the dictator!!! Throw his from the kursi he loves so much.

Long live the struggle to topple musharraf. Long live Benazir and Nawaz and Imran. Long live the lawyers. Dictator will be toppled!! And soon.

22. Balma (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 8:53 pm

Oh no, the author of this headline is not Mushee supporter. Yeh, meree bhee bohut saaree postings khaa gaee. yeh aurat dictator hae…..

23. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:36 am

KADS the situation on this Forum is other way round. In fact quite a few authors here are from PTI, it just so happens that there is much more support for Musharraf and others that you did not zindabaad in your post.

24. Kads (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:57 am

Reality: not sure what you are getting at. Are you saying there is great support for the “great unified glorious all-knowing and all-wise leader” musharraf?
    If so, then that is no news. All tyrants are afraid of the truth getting out and so curtail free media and free judiciary. Musharraf has just joined the ranks of Kim Il Jung as the “glorious all wise” leader. Do some people support him? Sure. There will always be those around.

But there will also be other that support free press and free judiciary that does not look towards the “great leader” in awe. And those are the ones i wish all success and God Speed.

25. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:32 am

No need to compare Musharraf with such Great Names. His track record is much worse than them. He actually gave free media to this country and actually appointed people on merit as institutional heads. Whatever, has happened in the past few weeks is unfortunate but he is not alone in this, he personally did not favour emergency and shunned that idea and the person ridicule that he has rcvd from the media is un-precedented.

He is certainly not a tyrant, you very well know what tyranny is all about. He will try to finish the job that he has taken upon himself, before he is no more, he doesnt expect to live long.

And relax you will get your dose of media very soon, that will calm your withdrawal symptoms.

26. Zee (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:44 am

The bitch deleted my comments again! Listen up bitch, I’ll keep posting and people will keep reading and you can keep on deleting all that you want. Doesn’t mean that others don’t think about you the way I do. BIATCH :D

SHAHID: Totally agree with you!

27. Kads (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:50 am

There is no restriction on media where i live. So no withdrawal symptoms of any sort whatsoever.

All tyrants start off as good leaders with the best of intentions. They become tyrants when they try to suppress the truth by killing free media and sacking the judges and replacing them with cronies. Musharaf has joined those ranks.

All good he has done in the past, he has thrown it down the drain by his actions againts the courts. He has no credibility left anymore. Here’s hoping the judges are restored and musharraf loses his kursi and is sent packing home on a gaddha. He deserves no better now.

28. Zee (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 4:14 am

KADS: Dude, seriously, open your eyes and stop supporting bigger terrorists that are BB and NAWAZ and coward Imran Khan who is hiding his ass somewhere and asking people to come out on the streets! Sheeshhh!!!

Adnan Siddiqi: Do you always have write things without covering ground realities?

29. Kads (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 9:13 pm

Zee: There is no worse leader then one who suppresses truth and sacks the courts cause he thinks he is above the law. That is the ultimate crime for a leader. I would rather have a dog running pakistan then musharaf the dictator. Musharraf is the biggest danger right now to the rule of law. One mans rule will never be accepted. As Ahmed Faraz has said:

Meri bustee say paray bhi meray dushmun hongay
    Per yahan kub koi aghyaar ka lushkar utra
    A’ashna haath hi aksur meri janab lupkay
    Meray seenay mein humaisha mera khunjar utra…

Musharaf has betrayed all of us who were his biggest supporters. He needs to resign and go home now. Nothing else will suffice.

30. Kads (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 9:21 pm

Zee: i just noticed your post above to the author. It shows bad form to address women the way you have and using the language that you have used. I would recommend you delete your own post or ask a mod to delete it for you.

31. Balma (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 10:14 pm

Yeh aurat dictator hae. She musharaf kee bhee baap hae! (just a muhavara, don’t take it literally). And then they want freedom of expression from mushee!