bruv, please don’t blame Karachi if you are supporting Mush. I’m a Karachiite and I HATE musharaf and I know atleast 50 people myself who literally hate Musharaf
And those are the people that I know personally
So please
you can name yourself but can’t blame the whole Karachi for that sin
KU Student (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 6:12 pm
The difference between Karachi and Lahore is none other than MQM/APMSO
Concerned (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 6:38 pm
Dude I can name at least 50 ppl as well.
The point is no one can say khi is against Mushy. The reason I can say it is with Mushy is becuase only a handful have thought abt protesting the rest are happy with the way things are. And the handful that are protesting are prob from a political paarty or some human rights group.
Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:04 pm
Hahaha so funny, these 25-50 people are simply blocking road, can’t you see huge traffic jam. Put these protesters in jail. If you are doing protesting in front of Forum ,most probably that you belong to some NGO and would try to get money from European committees for democracy.
karrachiman (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:15 pm
who organized this and how can i find out about the next demo? i want to be a part of it
Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:17 pm
All of these should have been arrested for disturbance to general public and causing danger to public property.
Friday being holiday one night in Hawalat without a washroom would have shaken the virus outta their souls.
Losers….!…
Ramla A. (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:27 pm
Spot the motor-bike going the wrong way!
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:30 pm
Is it a protest by cars against bad driving practices?
Any way I will commend those who are protesting, it requires more courage to protest when the numbers are small, albeit rather late since the game is over.
The govt (for now) has achieved its goals viz a viz the emergency, elections have been announced, our lady ambassador from US has met the new CJ and the channels will be opened soon. Good thing is nobody got killed. Its time now to focus our energies on the elections, everybody should realize that’s the only effective way to bring about change, we are not an ideal society but we can hardly afford the chaos of any revolution simply because there is no unifying force and conflicting ideologies are working against each other. Its only through elections (no matter how much flawed) that we will learn to co-exist, if we don’t compromise on that we will eventually move forward one step at a time. There is no need to bring the house down.
CitizenofKhi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:31 pm
Since mqm is a big chamcha of Mush thats why ppl are scared of protesting bcoz of their goons, otherwise if mqm were not in govt. we would have loads of protest hangama and strikes and all.
Concerned (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:44 pm
You guys think ppl are not protesting becuase they are afraid of MQM. I am suprised you even live in khi.
Kharachites honestly dont care.
BALMA (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 7:59 pm
I am counting the number of people outside forum in this picture…..1, 2, 5…hmm 7….oh may be 8, perhaps nine….less than 15?
And the person asking for Karachi students to come out, phuleeze, we don’t want our students to waste time on any thing. They should stick to school and concentrate on their education.
Let Lahore and Islamabad and Peshavar and Quetta students take the lead. I have no problem.
Peace in Karachi => more business in Karachi => education in Karachi => peace in Karachi.
CitizenofKhi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 8:09 pm
@Concerned, Your question doesnt make sense as the whole world have seen what happened on may 12, so my friend, those ppl who doesnt belong to mqm who are peace loving and well educated and much cares about their family and their own life too and dont like whats happening in Pak. but couldnt do anything and cannot come out of their homes, doesnt mean that they are happy with whats happening. Mush knows how to stop ppl on May 12 and now using mqm’s goon.
Your nick should be NotConcerned.
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 8:12 pm
CITIZENOFKHI there are many forms of protest, there are impulsive protests that can break out any time, remember the Bushra Zaidi incident. A traffic accident triggered massive protests and riots because so much steam had built up, it eventually had to come out. There are protests in support of a cause behind led by strong leadership, but if both of these parameters are blurred, when the objective is not clear and the leadership is not there then you see what you are seeing now.
The lawyers have a clear objective but some how that doesn’t sync’s with the other segments of the society, despite such media coverage and exposure, so there has been a flaw both the way the lawyers have protested and also the way the rest of the society has responded.
As for the Karachiite they have been wise. In the past it is this city that has carried the burnt of protest load at the cost of enormous sacrifices all to no avail, because eventually somebody else benefited from their efforts and this city just rcvd the wrath of the rulers.
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 8:25 pm
BALMA right on buddy, the question is, what will protests give this city? Will the re-instatement of the CJ make any change in their lives? Or will the ouster of Mush land them in heaven?
It reminds me of a famous movie title “Sense & Sensibility” Indeed both of these parameters have prevailed in this city.
Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 8:26 pm
Balma :) good good very good
Faraz (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 8:27 pm
LOL at protest.. only 10 to 20 ppls.. Geo musharaaf.. this protest mean nothing.. we are with you musharaf.. yeh saab log parhey likhey jahil hai. i dont understand why they are doin all this stuff.
Kick out all those corrupted ppls from pakistan
Balma (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 8:45 pm
Oh, and of course, I like the spirit. People in Karachi should be politically active and protest like civilized people…and I like the people outside forum who are doing this…they are expressing their right to show their dislike….BUT, I think most people in Karachi, like me, trust mushee more than Budnazir (two time disgraced Prime Minister and wanted for money laundering in Spain and Switzerland – yes Benazir).
Also, kiss ahmeq nay kahaa thaa kay forum (and now I am getting scared of No_Need) kay saamnay juloos nikaalo. Laaloo Khet may kum-az-kum 200-300 loge to aa jaatay.
And of course, I want media to be free. This stupid emergency rule, I didn’t like. Mushee made a mistake here, I believe. Also, I rather see the khwaateen in short-short dresses doing their adaas on the fashion channel than people reading news on PTV. My humble opinion.
faraz (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 9:07 pm
yes Mushee is the best option we have .. and we are proud of our army. army ki waja se hum saab azaab hain aaj. GEO army and GEO mushee
i dont understand why ppls in lahore and isb hate him just because he is urdu speaking..
Geo musharaf!
kami (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 9:16 pm
@Balma,Faraz
I just have one question for you guys and the like. You are so pro-Musharraf and so anti-Budnazir..but Mush is dealing with Benazir and the most likely end result of this emergency will be will be that Benazir will be S-Elected PM (in free and fair elections), Mush will be Prez for lifetime, and Supreme Ct will go back to being the lame duck it was. NRO will stand, all the corruption & plot scandals will go away..and the media will be azad agian to show khwateen in mini dresses…and awam will just enjoy that..
no_need (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 9:35 pm
nikmay, bayhouda aur dhent admi ho tum Balma. khauf kay bawajoud phir angrazi aur urdu ko milaya. jahalat chor do, musharraf ka saat dayna chor do, gandi cheezain dakhna chor dou lakin agar tumharay ghar main mard hazaraat aur khawteen saab milkay aasi gri huwi cheezain dakhtay hain tou shaid tumharay liyie mushkil ho fahashi say bachna! sahih kaha na?!
Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 9:37 pm
I also have one question :-)
If tonight Altaf decides that he should go against Musharraf and asks all of his Haqparast goons to stage rally against Musharraf, what would be your point of view? Pro-Musharraf or Anti-Altaf?
Do answer me honestly :-)
Balma (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 9:38 pm
You got it Kami…this is scaring me a lot these day.
The cynical side of Balma thinks that Bushee is being pushee with Mushee to bring Budnazir (two time disgraced PM, wanted for money laundering and corruption in Spain and Switzerland- aka Benazir) and PCO is a noora kushti (WWF style fixed fight) to install Budnazir without even the joke of Pakistani style elections. Yes, this is my nightmare. Mushee has to be told to take advantage of this PCO, show some guts, and put Budnazir befind bars. Inshallah-ul-aziz.
In the mean time, mushee should immediately let at least fashion channel off the hook.
faraz (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 9:46 pm
I agree with you bro.. and i wish yeh benazir nikal jaye country se humari. and im not 100% agree with musharaf but this is the best option we have. because we all know tht mushee keh 8 years rule main life was good and kafi tareeki kari hai hum neh. look at the fact and figure of our country kuch change tu ara hai.. and rahee baat media ki.. media should not be free 100%. kuch control hona chaiye. we r muslim and we should act like a muslim. and rahee baat democracy ki we are corrupted nation and 75% awaam jahil hai so it wont work here in pakistan.
Balma (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 9:46 pm
Adnan, as I said in my second comment on Forum demo, people have the right to demonstrate for their feelings…lekin tameez kay sath and without the accompanied pathrao-ghairo. But, I prefer to have a permanent ban on these Drigh Road type long juloos (sorry, no_need). Lets stop this nonsense.
Regarding your question, I will stick with mushee over Altaf bhai. Right now, I think Altaf bhai and mushee and Budnazeer are all in it together with Bushee’s blessings (I was gonna use aasheerbaad, but got scared of no_need).
To me it seems like noora-kushtee. I guess I just don’t trust anyone in Pakistan, any more. Poor Balma. If disgraced Budnazir (aka Benazir) can be ‘made’ Pm of Pakistan irrespective of money laundering and corruption charges on her in Spain and Switzerland, then nothing is impossible in Pakistan.
faraz (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 9:56 pm
i know yeh sala america bohoot push kar raha hai but this is the time for mushee to prove himself tht hes not bushi pitto.
d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 10:01 pm
altaf bai’s supporter would definitely start cursing Mush minute he backs out from coalition govt or if any other serious dispute arises(like power sharing formula with BB).. they would then start cursing not only Mush but army as well..
d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 10:04 pm
Balma (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 10:08 pm
*** Doctor, right now actually Altaf Bhai and Budnazir galay mil rahay hai’n…. and that is the reason for my nightmares….that it is a done deal that Budnazir will be ‘installed’ as the PM.
Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 10:33 pm
doctor saab, let them reply :-)
Concerned (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 10:56 pm
My reply to Adnan’s question is I will be pro Musharraf even if it means anti MQM (Anti altaf I already am)
Citizenofkhi, alot has been said abt 12 may and I wont get into it anymore, dont have the time to argue with you. will just say that tali ek haath se nahi bajti.
but the fact of the matter is ppl would come out if Budnazir or NS did something I am sure because they know these ppl screw up the country. and ppl also know that Mushy has made a stupid stupid mistake with the emergency but he is still the only hope we have.
You guys are right, I shouldnt claim wht khi supports but I will say this me, my friend and family still support mushy and will continue to do so till the day i stop seeing sincerety in his speeches.
Imran (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:31 pm
WHERE was this “protest” ?
O you mean the CRIMINALS who kept coming infront of (my car) on the road and disrupting traffic?!!
I believed a protest is a collective affair, not a (one sided) nuisance by a few miscreants.
PROTEST! Talk about the blind leading the blind.
ALAM (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:33 pm
Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:37 pm
My reply to Adnan’s question is I will be pro Musharraf
will see :-)
it means anti MQM (Anti altaf I already am)
that shows how much you know about MQM. MQM is nothing without Altaf so by going anti-Altaf, you mean anti-MQM unless you are planning to establish another MQM Haqiqi. *grin*
BTW, that question was Not addressing you only. :-)
Afridi (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:42 pm
FORGET THE STUPID PROTEST
DID YOU SEE BOOM BOOM AFRIDI!!!!
Balma (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:44 pm
Jan-e-Alam,
I hope the site you introduced has videos showing more than 7 people. That was a pathetic performance outside the Forum mall.
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:47 pm
ADANAN In the scenario that you have painted I will be pro-Musharaf. Like BALMA I also blv that there is no need to create chaos and lose precious life and time in pursuit of senseless ideals. In todays world, look at China it has one of the worst records viz a viz civil liberties but it has put its people to work. Like wise if we continue the way we are we will eventually get there, we have always been more keen for democracy than Chinese. This is the time for re-building, I support Muttahida now because they are doing just that i.e. building something. Don’t you think that we have had enough mini-revolutions in our history with drastic results? Right now we have a guy on top who wants to take this nation ahead despite the Choudhry’s, Hameed Guls, BB’s, Qazi’s and Sharif’s. He is not an angel but he has brought fundamental change in our society, my point is don’t kill the goose that lays the golden egg, system will eventually change when the right ppl will become the part of it, and that will not take that long.
P.S. all the revolution theories have already failed in Pakistan.
Balma (unregistered) on November 8th, 2007 @ 11:49 pm
Actually, another thing positive about the protest outside forum was that it did not include the typical idiots who show at protests in Karachi these days. That is, the protest didn’t seem to have people with oonchi shalvaar, lambee qameez, lambee daaRhees, khoonkhwar shakals, khula garaybaan, gundee banyan types. And, I guess no one was buring US flags, so that is an improvement too.
Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 12:19 am
am watching BBC –
and the BB is whining that musharraf is under threat from fundos and people are after HIS (musshy) and MY (BB) life as we both have same agenda to fight and control extremism.
this sudden statment change is alarming, seems like something is on after burner.
Armitage have also given an statment This morning and repated on CNN that we are watching Pakistan closely and if we at any point feel that Musharraf is losing grip on situation and nuclear assests of Pakistan are close to be compromised our SPECIAL TASK Force is ready to take control of such assests and neutralise the threat we all face because of nuclear Pakistan.
– Time to workout and get ready for Guriella Training. — We are not that easy, Mukti Bahni was supported by India,
We WILL RESIST…. ! …
Extiinct (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 12:26 am
These are called Flash Protests or Flash Rallies. They last for only about 10 minutes and have between 10-30 people.
They brandish placards and banners, shout slogans, distribute pamphlets as means of raising awareness.
They are done within 10 minutes before the police can arrive.
For more info: pakistanmartiallaw.blogspot.com
SSG (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 12:29 am
Why the are protesting ??
Reason ??
Do they want media back so they can enjoy the Nudity – One sided news – Suside Blasts – Naked bodies laying down – Fake hard talks etc etc
ITS SO SIMPLE THAT WHY EMERGENCY IS IN PK SEE READ THIS :
PESHAWAR: Militants have seized more than two-thirds of a key tourist valley in northwest Pakistan, despite a state of emergency imposed to tackle extremism.
Dozens of paramilitary troops and police surrendered their weapons to militants and retreated from the mountain town of Kalam in the Swat Valley – dubbed Pakistan’s Switzerland – yesterday.
Announcements about the advance were made on a pirate FM radio station run by cleric Mullah Fazlullah, as militants hoisted their party flag on police stations and government buildings, and distributed sweets.
The militants’ advance into Swat was one of the key factors, indicating that rebels were branching out into new areas from their traditional base in the troubled tribal belt that borders Afghanistan.
The government moved 2,500 troops into Swat last week to counter Fazlullah, also known as “Mullah Radio”, and who calls for a holy war on authorities.
More than 150 militants have been killed in clashes with security forces in the past week. But the militants have hit back in recent days.
Before taking Kalam, they captured the town of Bahrain, a strategic town poised over the Swat river, having seized the Madyan town on Tuesday.
“There was no fighting, police had already vacated their post in Bahrain, and later retreated to Kalam when they came to know the militants were heading towards their police station,” police said.
But Fazlullah’s aide, Maulana Shah Dauran, said in a radio address that militants also took control of a paramilitary base in Kalam manned by a platoon.
More than 40 Frontier Corps soldiers had left the paramilitary base before the militants arrived.
Residents said 150 turbanned militants were roaming through Kalam, chanting Allah-o-Akbar (God is greatest) and hoisting their flags on key government buildings.
There was no comment from the administration in Mingora, the valley’s main town, and officials in Peshawar, the capital of North-West Frontier Province.
An official privately admitted the militants were in control of 70 per cent of the valley’s 94km stretch from Sangota to Kalam.
The government hold was confined to Mingora and the nearby town of Saidu Sharif
SO THINK AGAIN WHATS HAPPENING ??
WHOS PLANNING ALL THESE ??
Balma (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 12:38 am
Shamsi bhai, yeh budnazir sub dramay baazi kar rahee hae…kumbukht chorenee tebaarah PM bun-naa chahtee hae, aur kuchh nahi’n…….aur umreekaa oos ko PM bun-nanay per tulaa hua hae…by hook or by crook (sorry, no_need)…aur yeh hangaami haalaat sub dhakoslay hai’n. Umreekaha, yeh kaam mushee say hangaamee haalaat kee aaR may karvaanaa chaahtaa hae.
khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 12:38 am
@Concerned: I am from Karachi and a “real” mohajir, not banaspati like most of you. I do not support either Musharraf or Altaf bhai. I also do not support BB, NS, or the MMA. Let the people of Pakistan decide who they want to elect. Let there be an independent judiciary and let there be free media and freedom of expression to deal with the corrupt politicians in the courts.
Hahahahhah 5 people do not make a protest. This is what it always looks like outside The Forum. lol. Great post.
khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 12:40 am
@Concerned: I am from Karachi and a “real” mohajir, not banaspati like most of you. I do not support either Musharraf or Altaf bhai. I also do not support BB, NS, or the MMA. Let the people of Pakistan decide who they want to elect. Let there be an independent judiciary and let there be free media and freedom of expression to deal with the corrupt politicians in the courts.
Balma (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 1:01 am
* Khanabadosh writes:
Let the people of Pakistan decide who they want to elect. Let there be an independent judiciary and let there be free media and freedom of expression to deal with the corrupt politicians in the courts
How come this did not materialize in late 80s and all the way till late 90′s?
RockOnKarachi (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 1:15 am
These protesters are definitely not against Musharaff, all they want is the government to resume the satellite tv channels, so that they can waste their time watching ‘kyun kai saas bhi kabhi bahu thi’.
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 1:28 am
Guys, this emergency thing is almost over, as SSG has pointed out what is happening in Swat area and how our govt handles it is the big question.
For my part I want to see action on that front by the govt. I also want all the parties to take a clear stand also, not like the one during the Lal Masjid saga, that is, let the situation unfold and take political mileage out of it. If this is the biggest crisis we face then every body should come out with an open strategy to deal with it, they should come out and say what is needed to be done and can they play any part in the solution. otherwise, giving ambiguous statements and whining on TV is a sheer waste of time.
FAIZAn (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 1:31 am
LOL at protest.. only 10 to 20 ppls.. Geo musharaaf
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 1:32 am
EXTINCT before your post I said a few words of admiration for those protesting folks and now after your post, if they are what you say they are, then please rename them from Flash to Chicken Rallies. They will be extinct before they get the chance to evolve, you guys need some good ideas and on top of that some courage.
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 1:48 am
KHANABADOSH the irony is that 80% of our country is rural so no matter how much we fantacise the same people will get elected i.e. either one of these: Chaachaa, Mama, Babaa or Beta from any political party.
The good thing that Mushee has done is that he has given the control of the cities to the citizens, so whether its MQM or any body else, it will be always the elected people of the city that will have control not any Jaam or Shah who just wants to get expensive plots for cheap. For me that’s the greatest positive of Mush’s regime, he has certainly empowered the cities. This is a big big change in the political canvas of this country.
Ali (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:03 am
Well, the first the utmost thing every Pakistani can do is to stop discussing Anti- Musharraf thing. I admit he have done the worst thing for pakistan history but he did some good things about it!! He supports US which in return give Pakistan $1 Billion a year. Even though it risking 80% of the Pakistani population but do you thing that 80% of the pakistani can earn that much of money for pakistan? NO .. so continue our fight against emergency and in long term find a better solution by doing something good and big for the country!!!
There are people who are very much against US but wear Nike shirts have Nokia Mobile and have Computers, or microvawe in thier house (and all of them are somehow supporting US economy) so why not being a Muslim and a pakistani do something big and make such internationally recognized brand then work and fight as an extremist. (how can someone even call a terrorist a Muslim? – he can either be a muslim or be a terrorist)..
interesting (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:06 am
Ant & Grasshopper
Traditional Version
The Ant works hard in the withering heat all summer building its house and laying up supplies for the winter. The Grasshopper thinks the Ant is a fool and laughs & dances & plays the summer away.
Come winter, the Ant is warm and well fed. The Grasshopper has no food or shelter so he dies out in the cold.
Modern Version
The Ant works hard in the withering heat all summer building its house and laying up supplies for the winter. The Grasshopper thinks the Ant’s a fool andlaughs & dances & plays the summer away.
Come winter, the shivering Grasshopper calls a press conference and demands to know why the Ant should be allowed to be warm and well fed while others are coldand starving.
Geo TV, BBC, ARY, CNN show up to provide pictures of the shivering Grasshopper next to a video of the Ant in his comfortable home with a table filled with food.
The World is stunned by the sharp contrast. How can this be that this poor Grasshopper is allowed to suffer so?
Asma Jahangir stages a demonstration in front of the Ant’s house.
Imran Khan goes on a fast along with other Grasshoppers demanding that Grasshoppers be relocated to warmer climates during winter.
Amnesty International and Chief Justice Iftikhar criticizes the Pakistan Government for not upholding the fundamental rights of the Grasshopper.
The Internet is flooded with online petitions seeking support to the Grasshopper (many promising Heaven and Everlasting Peace for prompt support as against thewrath of God for non-compliance) .
Opposition MPs stage a walkout. Islamic parties call for ‘Hartal’ in Frontier and Baluchistan demanding a Judicial Enquiry.
MQM Coalition in Sindh immediately passes a law preventing Ants from working hard in the heat so as to bring about equality of poverty among Ants andGrasshoppers.
Sheikh Rasheed allocates one free coach to Grasshoppers on all Pakistan Railway Trains, aptly named as the ‘Grasshopper Shalimar’.
Finally, the President drafts an ordinance ‘Anti State Terrorism Against Grasshoppers Act’ [ASTAGA], with effect from the beginning of the winter.Mobilizes state agencies.
Punjab Govt. makes ‘Special Reservation’ for Grasshoppers in Educational Institutions & in
Government Services.
The Ant is fined for failing to comply with ASTAGA and having nothing left to pay his retroactive taxes, it’s home is confiscated by the NAB and handed over to the Grasshopper in a ceremony covered by PTV.
Nawaz Sharief calls it ‘ A Triumph of Justice ‘. Benazir calls it ‘ Democratic Justice ‘.
MQM calls it the ‘ Revolutionary Resurgence of the Downtrodden’ Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz invites the Grasshopper to address the National Assembly.
Many years later…
The Ants have since migrated to the US, Canada, UK and Middle East, have worked harder then they did before set up a multi-million dollar business.
1000s of Grasshoppers still die of starvation despite reservation somewhere in Pakistan.
As a result of loosing lot of hard working Ants and feeding the Grasshoppers, Pakistan is still a
developing country!!!
Sufi (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:12 am
Ali,
Even if 60 % of the population (around a 100 million) earns $ 10 a year, they would make $ 1 billion. What do you think Pakistan is ? Uganda?
Nokia is Finnish.
I am sorry I had to correct you cos it was a way stupid statistic.
Hassan Abbas (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:35 am
well who took these photos??? nicely taken
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:39 am
SUFI here is an another statistic. Pakistan reliance could end if we Tax agriculture and reduce the millitary by 50%. Who will do that?
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:49 am
KHANABADOSH if the courts had convicted the corrupt politicians in the past ten years, things would have been different.
The fact is that courts in Pakistan after hanging Z.A. Bhutto don’t have the guts to convict any politician, despite the evidenc, its just pehee after peshee.
That’s why BB is saying,” They cannot prove anything in 10 years”. This what also frustrated Mush – no conviction from the courts!!
Balma (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:10 am
Pakistani lawyers and most judges need to get real jobs. The profession is probably the most corrupt profession after Pakistani police…hmmm as corrupt as police or next to police. Bit confused, buy folks get the point.
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:11 am
My father is one of those guys who made that perilous journey in 1947, he is alive and supports Musharraf. He believes that Muslims of sub-continent were taken for a ride by the slogan mongers.
But that’s all history, Jamal is absolutely right, no use in running after vague goals and hypocrat leaders. What liberties have been taken away from you? If you are suffering from media withdrawal symptoms then relax you will receive your dose very soon, that will calm you down and you will be able to sit in front of the idiot box and Wah Wah the conspiracy theorists.
In the modern day and age the formula is to work hard, earn an honest living, attract investment, improve education, avoid chaos and everything else will follow.
Balma (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:15 am
In the modern day and age the formula is to work hard, earn an honest living, attract investment, improve education, avoid chaos and everything else will follow.
Hmmm, Am I writing as Reality_Check now?
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:21 am
Sorry the above comment got accidently posted here, it is related to another post in the same blog.
BALMA its the other way round …. I am becoming more and more you…..
Balma (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:34 am
But you are a better writer, Reality_Check.
Balma (sadar, anjuman-e-sitaaish-e-baahami)
bluemax (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:36 am
“Am I writing as Reality_Check now” … well … Balma it certainly looks so. We’ll know if you are the real Balma or not when you add the following to your “modern age formula”:
– dont marry your cousins
– spare the planet by not having more than one child
Zee (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:40 am
Bunch of looser who have nothing to do but cause a traffic jam and create problem, havoc and unrest amongst citizens of Karachi. Arrest them and put them away, far away in some 4×3 cell!
Zee (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 4:12 am
interesting: You took soooo much time writing all that crap that I didn’t even read in full. Seriously, you could have done something far much better than wasiting your time and energy on this crap!
zeeshan (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 4:13 am
no matter what i will always support mushy
because i saw the difference. i used to find jobs in dawn and jang few years back it used to be over one page now i can see at least more than three pages (even though I don’t need to look at now but its just and observation) big cities are given big budget no just promises… i am not supporter of any political party i only support and love Pakistan….and i think mushy is making the difference…do you think that any leader could have handled the pressure other than mushy during afghan crisis i bet no one…..
so buzz off and take it easy
Imran (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 9:17 am
EXTINCT, you wrote:
“These are called Flash Protests ….”.
Thankyou for enlightening us on the modus operandi of protests :) but many of us do know the how & why of protests.
I have personally witnessed a protest or two, of the violent kind at a Karachi state university, as well as a peaceful placard one, at a state university in USA.
Musharraf is a dictator, but we know that appearances can sometimes be misleading. Musharraf is not another Zia-ul-Fanatic-Haq. He has proven himself as the opposite of Zia.
One man wilfully introduced Mullaism & extremism (after) the defeat of Russia, almost brining Pakistan to the brink of Fanaticism!
The other is trying to REVERSE the effects of extreme islamism, jihad, fanatics, madrasas & whatever madness that exists in darkness ….. so plz be very (careful) in your analysis and decision making … our country’s future depends on it; The World is watching.
jfaraz (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 9:17 am
Geo Mushee
jfaraz (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 9:19 am
Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 10:44 am
A *sacred* was complaining on lahore metroblog that therr were PRO MUSH voices and they should also be heard.
yes many people supports Musharraf and I am thankful to him that he’s the reason to filter out ‘Intellectual Residue’ of our society who has been supporting him ignorantly and blindly. *geo musharraf* :-)
S.I. (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 12:02 pm
Excellent observation Ramla, that guy really is going the wrong way, lol, hadh ho gaye.
Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 1:06 pm
Someone said here said that History was available on Internet but it was not told why there is so much ignorance that history is not referred? :-)
Maybe we have equated that EASILY AVAILABLE history with The Holy Quran and Hadith which have everything mentioned from past to future yet we don’t bother to consult it. Irony *grin*
IRFan (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 1:54 pm
GEO MUSHARAF
Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:33 pm
Saad (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 2:56 pm
I am Alumni of FAST Lahore. We have created a website dedicated for centralizing discussions on emergency imposition by Musharraf. There is a Forum where we invite you to voice your opinions. The url is : http://www.musharrafsucks.com
Please let all your friends know about this. Together we can make a difference.
Thanks.
Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:07 pm
Money is draining OUT FAST from ‘PAKISTAN’
The proposed Mercedes diesel engine plant between Jehlum and Gujar Khan – 1200 acres of of land is placed for sale. The boundry was constructed only 7 months back. The board ‘Site for Mercedes diesel motors’ board is taken down since CJ fiasco.
US$ 400 million siphoned out since 18th till 23rd October,
- however it is time we shall all concentrate on being ‘United’ with the forces / parties who are willing to keep pakistan geographically INTACT. -
The statment of US State dept and UK Foreign office of great concern.
Seems like we shall prepare for ‘Resistance’ against any outside aggression / intervention
king_faisal (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:32 pm
china these days is well on its way to being a super power. twenty years ago however, situation was a little different. in 1989 in tianamen square beijing, there was a huge demonstration by cheenas against their govt. this is how the chinese govt dealt with the threat:
around the time of tianamen square incident, pakistanis were experiencing the joys of democratic rule under benazir bhutto. for the next 10 years while cheenas were working hard to turn their country into a world power, pakistani politicians were fighting kutta-billee style while driving the country into the ground as a result of their mismanagement and corruption.
twenty years ago, goras used lecture cheenas on how to run their country and even imposed sanctions. today, goras beg cheenas to weaken their currency so that goras can compete in world markets. bottomline, any country that has adapted gora nizam has achieved zilch. and pakistan will be no exception if we listen to the goras and give the likes of bb, ns, altaf hussain and the great khan complete freedom to do what they want. the best way to run pak is to keep the dunda over the politicians and their flunkies in the media.
the best way to take pak forward is to make pakistan a champion of trade and industry. none of the politicians can run the cornar paan shop much less help pak compete with countries like china or vietnam. its only under musharraf that things have turned around. his success is bothering people who dont want pak to succeed be it jihadis or india-lovers like asma jehangir. these groups have combined to create a crisis in pak. i salute musharraf for dealing with the enemies of pak in the manner they deserve.
king_faisal (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 3:43 pm
correction to my previous post, goras are begging china to strengthen chinese yuan and not weaken it as i wrote in my earlier post.
silver (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 4:01 pm
@interesting
Great story… do i have the permission to reprint it in my blog??
Civil Disobedience (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 4:39 pm
Can you waive copyright for the pic? BBC wants it.
Mail me to confirm pronto!
bluemax (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 5:00 pm
@Saad, “We have created a website dedicated for centralizing discussions on emergency imposition by Musharraf”. Looking at the domain name of this site, I wonder if the site creators really want to have “discussions” on it. Shouldn’t a forum stay neutral while ppl exchange their views.
khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 5:17 pm
@Reality_Check:
“For me that’s the greatest positive of Mush’s regime, he has certainly empowered the cities. This is a big big change in the political canvas of this country”.
Regardless of what Musharraf may or may not have done, it does not entitle him to cling to power through all sorts of despicable methods. Also, the citizens are not required to support any such crook simply because they share ethnicity with him. On that not, why not support principled mohajirs like Justices(r) Wajihuddin and Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui and Fakhrudin Ibrahim who stand for justice and well being of all Pakistanis?
The biggest damage that he is done is that he has destroyed an emerging independent judiciary. This is the institution which would have been the recourse of common man against unqualified and corrupt people, such as BB and NS or anyone else, in future. Without independent SC, there cannot be any hope for Pakistan.
k-man (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 5:30 pm
is that a protest??? hhaha seems like a routine trademark karachi traffic jam
K-man (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 5:31 pm
khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 5:31 pm
@Reality_Check:
“KHANABADOSH if the courts had convicted the corrupt politicians in the past ten years, things would have been different.
The fact is that courts in Pakistan after hanging Z.A. Bhutto don’t have the guts to convict any politician, despite the evidenc, its just pehee after peshee.
That’s why BB is saying,” They cannot prove anything in 10 years”. This what also frustrated Mush – no conviction from the courts!!”
This is not really the fault of the justice systm, in particular the SC. I also believe that BB is corrupt to the hilt and guilty. Unfortunately, courts cannot convict people based on your sentiment or mine.The are required to act according to the law, and that requires proper, legally accepted, evidence. In Pakistan most cases are filed to settle political scores without regard to the due legal diligence. The reason why BB is walking free is NS’s stupidity, not her innocence. But if his administration did not pay attention to meticulosuly collect the needed evidence, there is not much the court can do.
This is the same reason due to which the SC had to let the improperly arrested and imprisoned Lal masjid occupants go. Sentencing people because “I say so” is not how the law works in any country.
Please get a reality check.
khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 6:09 pm
@BALMA:
“How come this did not materialize in late 80s and all the way till late 90′s?”.
Frankly, I do not see the relevance of this argument. Are you saying that because the judiciary was the pits in 50′s thru 90′s, that it
should continue to remain subservient, and under the thumb of the govt?
khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 6:30 pm
@Reality_Check:
“SUFI here is an another statistic. Pakistan reliance could end if we Tax agriculture and reduce the millitary by 50%. Who will do that?”.
Musharraf, of course. Who else? He will reduce the defence budge by 50%.
khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 6:31 pm
@Reality_Check:
“SUFI here is an another statistic. Pakistan reliance could end if we Tax agriculture and reduce the millitary by 50%. Who will do that?”.
Who will do that? Why, Musharraf of course. Who else? don’t you believe that he will reduce the defence budget by 50%.
khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 6:47 pm
@Reality_Check:
Who will do that? Why, Musharraf of course. Who else? Don’t you believe that he will reduce the defence budget by 50%?
Salma Khan (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 7:24 pm
@Adnan Siddiqi
Pakistani(scared of reading “INSAAN”)kisi haal main khush nahein rehta:-)
Reality_check (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 8:20 pm
KHANABADOSH he would have if the Indians were not dragging their feet and Wajpai didn’t lose the elections.
As for taxing agriculture, I don’t see that happening in near future, because nobody has made it a issue after Mehboob-ul-Haque and Moin Qureshi.
Our politicians are also not keen on discussing issues that hold the key to our future.
Balma (unregistered) on November 9th, 2007 @ 10:11 pm
* Are you saying that because the judiciary was the pits in 50′s thru 90′s, that it
should continue to remain subservient, and under the thumb of the govt
****** Okay, I see… I kind of agree. But, there is no reason for Pakistani lawyers and judges to ack like mahatama Gandhi. They have been totally corrupt and are crooks, and should come out and appologize for their acts over the last sixty years, and then we can consider if to trust them in future.
Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 10th, 2007 @ 1:56 am
yes ,lawyers are corrupt otherwise entire nation consists of saints and angels *shakes head*
in pakistan, asking apology is stupidity and peak of lameness. AQ KHAN once asked apology, now leading a miserable life.
In pakistan, one is successful if he’s a rascal like Altaf,BB,NS ,Fazulrahman or dictators otherwise he’s just wasting time.
IMO, Lawyers are repenting by initiating all activities. Jab judges sahe nahi thay tab bhe tumhe masla tha aur jab wo sudhar rahey hain kio k ek banda ne stand lia tu ab bhe Rona macha huwa hay.
Khan sahiba said well, Pakistani kisi haal me kush nahi, use har waat khujli hoti hay.
bluemax (unregistered) on November 10th, 2007 @ 3:03 am
@Adnan “IMO, Lawyers are repenting by initiating all activities”.
If lawyers are sincere and are really repenting then they should first be honest with their clients. They should stop asking for money from both parties and stop requesting the judges for more time (read next PESHEE). And if there are only a few black sheeps in the lawyer community then the good ones should stand up against the bad ones. First fix yourself, then your community, then your rulers, and then the whole world. Not the other way round.
Balma (unregistered) on November 10th, 2007 @ 4:10 am
Legal profession in Pakistan is nothing but jhoot kaa pulandah. It is no more a profession taken up by educated and shurafa. Only society’s rejects go there.
The Faithful (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 12:35 pm
I think the whole martial law issue is well beyond discussion for any person even remotely aware of ground realities and pakistani dictatorship war-machines, the source of all evil! This is not the time to talk, but to act!
For those who intend to participate in peaceful protests at the risk of being convicted under the Revised Army Ordinance, pls send ur contact email to
“commanderofthefaithful@hotmail.com”
we are preparing a database of all volunteers for protests at short notices to avoid government crackdowns. and dont worry abt ur safety, cell fones and other contact details have been avoided on purpose to guard against any personal threat to volunteers.
Pls. make us strong against state terrorism against its own ppl, together we shall resist inshaAllah!
Photos
Recent Comments
Price hike in petroleum products chaprasi line may kharay log … patharay walo k liye buhut acha moqa hay business karney ka. I think Govt is... Bhoka Nanga inki team me koi shoaib akhtar hua aur pump per ja ke laga bouncer tu sari team bhag rai hu gi...
Security Alert Shamsi بلمہ نے حرامزدوں کی توھین کری ہے. حرامزدوں ک حرامی پن کا بھی ایک میعار ہوتا ہے یہ مذہب کے بھڑوے حرامزدوں کے... Bhoka Nanga balma jee aap ka sara zoor haramzadoon per hai ya sirf mazhabi honay per ya qaid kernay ke liye dono...
great works guys..u make every karachite proud.
we should arrange similar protest like LUMS & Fast lahore in our universities.
May Allah give us strength to fight against today’s firown(mushy).
5 ppl dont make a protest.
And the firown bit is a little too much, dont u think so?
abe is se zia da loog tu kisi ki janaze main aa jatai hain
IDIOT SON OF “JUDGES”
I dont care what ppl say, khi has and will continue to support Mushy.
agreed they are less in number but atleast they are raising their voice…if they are in hundreads, firown Army would beat them.
GEO is showing this:
http://watchgeotv.info/
@Concerned
bruv, please don’t blame Karachi if you are supporting Mush. I’m a Karachiite and I HATE musharaf and I know atleast 50 people myself who literally hate Musharaf
And those are the people that I know personally
So please
you can name yourself but can’t blame the whole Karachi for that sin
The difference between Karachi and Lahore is none other than MQM/APMSO
Dude I can name at least 50 ppl as well.
The point is no one can say khi is against Mushy. The reason I can say it is with Mushy is becuase only a handful have thought abt protesting the rest are happy with the way things are. And the handful that are protesting are prob from a political paarty or some human rights group.
Hahaha so funny, these 25-50 people are simply blocking road, can’t you see huge traffic jam. Put these protesters in jail. If you are doing protesting in front of Forum ,most probably that you belong to some NGO and would try to get money from European committees for democracy.
who organized this and how can i find out about the next demo? i want to be a part of it
All of these should have been arrested for disturbance to general public and causing danger to public property.
Friday being holiday one night in Hawalat without a washroom would have shaken the virus outta their souls.
Losers….!…
Spot the motor-bike going the wrong way!
Is it a protest by cars against bad driving practices?
Any way I will commend those who are protesting, it requires more courage to protest when the numbers are small, albeit rather late since the game is over.
The govt (for now) has achieved its goals viz a viz the emergency, elections have been announced, our lady ambassador from US has met the new CJ and the channels will be opened soon. Good thing is nobody got killed. Its time now to focus our energies on the elections, everybody should realize that’s the only effective way to bring about change, we are not an ideal society but we can hardly afford the chaos of any revolution simply because there is no unifying force and conflicting ideologies are working against each other. Its only through elections (no matter how much flawed) that we will learn to co-exist, if we don’t compromise on that we will eventually move forward one step at a time. There is no need to bring the house down.
Since mqm is a big chamcha of Mush thats why ppl are scared of protesting bcoz of their goons, otherwise if mqm were not in govt. we would have loads of protest hangama and strikes and all.
You guys think ppl are not protesting becuase they are afraid of MQM. I am suprised you even live in khi.
I am counting the number of people outside forum in this picture…..1, 2, 5…hmm 7….oh may be 8, perhaps nine….less than 15?
And the person asking for Karachi students to come out, phuleeze, we don’t want our students to waste time on any thing. They should stick to school and concentrate on their education.
Let Lahore and Islamabad and Peshavar and Quetta students take the lead. I have no problem.
Peace in Karachi => more business in Karachi => education in Karachi => peace in Karachi.
@Concerned, Your question doesnt make sense as the whole world have seen what happened on may 12, so my friend, those ppl who doesnt belong to mqm who are peace loving and well educated and much cares about their family and their own life too and dont like whats happening in Pak. but couldnt do anything and cannot come out of their homes, doesnt mean that they are happy with whats happening. Mush knows how to stop ppl on May 12 and now using mqm’s goon.
Your nick should be NotConcerned.
CITIZENOFKHI there are many forms of protest, there are impulsive protests that can break out any time, remember the Bushra Zaidi incident. A traffic accident triggered massive protests and riots because so much steam had built up, it eventually had to come out. There are protests in support of a cause behind led by strong leadership, but if both of these parameters are blurred, when the objective is not clear and the leadership is not there then you see what you are seeing now.
The lawyers have a clear objective but some how that doesn’t sync’s with the other segments of the society, despite such media coverage and exposure, so there has been a flaw both the way the lawyers have protested and also the way the rest of the society has responded.
As for the Karachiite they have been wise. In the past it is this city that has carried the burnt of protest load at the cost of enormous sacrifices all to no avail, because eventually somebody else benefited from their efforts and this city just rcvd the wrath of the rulers.
BALMA right on buddy, the question is, what will protests give this city? Will the re-instatement of the CJ make any change in their lives? Or will the ouster of Mush land them in heaven?
It reminds me of a famous movie title “Sense & Sensibility” Indeed both of these parameters have prevailed in this city.
Balma :) good good very good
LOL at protest.. only 10 to 20 ppls.. Geo musharaaf.. this protest mean nothing.. we are with you musharaf.. yeh saab log parhey likhey jahil hai. i dont understand why they are doin all this stuff.
Kick out all those corrupted ppls from pakistan
Oh, and of course, I like the spirit. People in Karachi should be politically active and protest like civilized people…and I like the people outside forum who are doing this…they are expressing their right to show their dislike….BUT, I think most people in Karachi, like me, trust mushee more than Budnazir (two time disgraced Prime Minister and wanted for money laundering in Spain and Switzerland – yes Benazir).
Also, kiss ahmeq nay kahaa thaa kay forum (and now I am getting scared of No_Need) kay saamnay juloos nikaalo. Laaloo Khet may kum-az-kum 200-300 loge to aa jaatay.
And of course, I want media to be free. This stupid emergency rule, I didn’t like. Mushee made a mistake here, I believe. Also, I rather see the khwaateen in short-short dresses doing their adaas on the fashion channel than people reading news on PTV. My humble opinion.
yes Mushee is the best option we have .. and we are proud of our army. army ki waja se hum saab azaab hain aaj. GEO army and GEO mushee
i dont understand why ppls in lahore and isb hate him just because he is urdu speaking..
Geo musharaf!
@Balma,Faraz
I just have one question for you guys and the like. You are so pro-Musharraf and so anti-Budnazir..but Mush is dealing with Benazir and the most likely end result of this emergency will be will be that Benazir will be S-Elected PM (in free and fair elections), Mush will be Prez for lifetime, and Supreme Ct will go back to being the lame duck it was. NRO will stand, all the corruption & plot scandals will go away..and the media will be azad agian to show khwateen in mini dresses…and awam will just enjoy that..
nikmay, bayhouda aur dhent admi ho tum Balma. khauf kay bawajoud phir angrazi aur urdu ko milaya. jahalat chor do, musharraf ka saat dayna chor do, gandi cheezain dakhna chor dou lakin agar tumharay ghar main mard hazaraat aur khawteen saab milkay aasi gri huwi cheezain dakhtay hain tou shaid tumharay liyie mushkil ho fahashi say bachna! sahih kaha na?!
I also have one question :-)
If tonight Altaf decides that he should go against Musharraf and asks all of his Haqparast goons to stage rally against Musharraf, what would be your point of view? Pro-Musharraf or Anti-Altaf?
Do answer me honestly :-)
You got it Kami…this is scaring me a lot these day.
The cynical side of Balma thinks that Bushee is being pushee with Mushee to bring Budnazir (two time disgraced PM, wanted for money laundering and corruption in Spain and Switzerland- aka Benazir) and PCO is a noora kushti (WWF style fixed fight) to install Budnazir without even the joke of Pakistani style elections. Yes, this is my nightmare. Mushee has to be told to take advantage of this PCO, show some guts, and put Budnazir befind bars. Inshallah-ul-aziz.
In the mean time, mushee should immediately let at least fashion channel off the hook.
I agree with you bro.. and i wish yeh benazir nikal jaye country se humari. and im not 100% agree with musharaf but this is the best option we have. because we all know tht mushee keh 8 years rule main life was good and kafi tareeki kari hai hum neh. look at the fact and figure of our country kuch change tu ara hai.. and rahee baat media ki.. media should not be free 100%. kuch control hona chaiye. we r muslim and we should act like a muslim. and rahee baat democracy ki we are corrupted nation and 75% awaam jahil hai so it wont work here in pakistan.
Adnan, as I said in my second comment on Forum demo, people have the right to demonstrate for their feelings…lekin tameez kay sath and without the accompanied pathrao-ghairo. But, I prefer to have a permanent ban on these Drigh Road type long juloos (sorry, no_need). Lets stop this nonsense.
Regarding your question, I will stick with mushee over Altaf bhai. Right now, I think Altaf bhai and mushee and Budnazeer are all in it together with Bushee’s blessings (I was gonna use aasheerbaad, but got scared of no_need).
To me it seems like noora-kushtee. I guess I just don’t trust anyone in Pakistan, any more. Poor Balma. If disgraced Budnazir (aka Benazir) can be ‘made’ Pm of Pakistan irrespective of money laundering and corruption charges on her in Spain and Switzerland, then nothing is impossible in Pakistan.
i know yeh sala america bohoot push kar raha hai but this is the time for mushee to prove himself tht hes not bushi pitto.
altaf bai’s supporter would definitely start cursing Mush minute he backs out from coalition govt or if any other serious dispute arises(like power sharing formula with BB).. they would then start cursing not only Mush but army as well..
worth reading :
جنرل مشرف انگلی ہلا ہلا کر صدر مشرف پر الزام لگا رہے ت
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/miscellaneous/story/2007/11/071105_hanif_impressions_sen.shtml
‘کہیں وائس چیف حق نہ مانگنے لگے’
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/miscellaneous/story/2007/11/071106_mush_aamir_analysis_zs.shtml
*** Doctor, right now actually Altaf Bhai and Budnazir galay mil rahay hai’n…. and that is the reason for my nightmares….that it is a done deal that Budnazir will be ‘installed’ as the PM.
doctor saab, let them reply :-)
My reply to Adnan’s question is I will be pro Musharraf even if it means anti MQM (Anti altaf I already am)
Citizenofkhi, alot has been said abt 12 may and I wont get into it anymore, dont have the time to argue with you. will just say that tali ek haath se nahi bajti.
but the fact of the matter is ppl would come out if Budnazir or NS did something I am sure because they know these ppl screw up the country. and ppl also know that Mushy has made a stupid stupid mistake with the emergency but he is still the only hope we have.
You guys are right, I shouldnt claim wht khi supports but I will say this me, my friend and family still support mushy and will continue to do so till the day i stop seeing sincerety in his speeches.
WHERE was this “protest” ?
O you mean the CRIMINALS who kept coming infront of (my car) on the road and disrupting traffic?!!
I believed a protest is a collective affair, not a (one sided) nuisance by a few miscreants.
PROTEST! Talk about the blind leading the blind.
post ur protest videos, etc here
http://thelede.blogs.nytimes.com/2007/11/07/a-call-for-eyewitness-photos-video-and-text-from-pakistan/index.html?ref=world
My reply to Adnan’s question is I will be pro Musharraf
will see :-)
it means anti MQM (Anti altaf I already am)
that shows how much you know about MQM. MQM is nothing without Altaf so by going anti-Altaf, you mean anti-MQM unless you are planning to establish another MQM Haqiqi. *grin*
BTW, that question was Not addressing you only. :-)
FORGET THE STUPID PROTEST
DID YOU SEE BOOM BOOM AFRIDI!!!!
Jan-e-Alam,
I hope the site you introduced has videos showing more than 7 people. That was a pathetic performance outside the Forum mall.
ADANAN In the scenario that you have painted I will be pro-Musharaf. Like BALMA I also blv that there is no need to create chaos and lose precious life and time in pursuit of senseless ideals. In todays world, look at China it has one of the worst records viz a viz civil liberties but it has put its people to work. Like wise if we continue the way we are we will eventually get there, we have always been more keen for democracy than Chinese. This is the time for re-building, I support Muttahida now because they are doing just that i.e. building something. Don’t you think that we have had enough mini-revolutions in our history with drastic results? Right now we have a guy on top who wants to take this nation ahead despite the Choudhry’s, Hameed Guls, BB’s, Qazi’s and Sharif’s. He is not an angel but he has brought fundamental change in our society, my point is don’t kill the goose that lays the golden egg, system will eventually change when the right ppl will become the part of it, and that will not take that long.
P.S. all the revolution theories have already failed in Pakistan.
Actually, another thing positive about the protest outside forum was that it did not include the typical idiots who show at protests in Karachi these days. That is, the protest didn’t seem to have people with oonchi shalvaar, lambee qameez, lambee daaRhees, khoonkhwar shakals, khula garaybaan, gundee banyan types. And, I guess no one was buring US flags, so that is an improvement too.
am watching BBC –
and the BB is whining that musharraf is under threat from fundos and people are after HIS (musshy) and MY (BB) life as we both have same agenda to fight and control extremism.
this sudden statment change is alarming, seems like something is on after burner.
Armitage have also given an statment This morning and repated on CNN that we are watching Pakistan closely and if we at any point feel that Musharraf is losing grip on situation and nuclear assests of Pakistan are close to be compromised our SPECIAL TASK Force is ready to take control of such assests and neutralise the threat we all face because of nuclear Pakistan.
– Time to workout and get ready for Guriella Training. — We are not that easy, Mukti Bahni was supported by India,
We WILL RESIST…. ! …
These are called Flash Protests or Flash Rallies. They last for only about 10 minutes and have between 10-30 people.
They brandish placards and banners, shout slogans, distribute pamphlets as means of raising awareness.
They are done within 10 minutes before the police can arrive.
For more info: pakistanmartiallaw.blogspot.com
Why the are protesting ??
Reason ??
Do they want media back so they can enjoy the Nudity – One sided news – Suside Blasts – Naked bodies laying down – Fake hard talks etc etc
ITS SO SIMPLE THAT WHY EMERGENCY IS IN PK SEE READ THIS :
PESHAWAR: Militants have seized more than two-thirds of a key tourist valley in northwest Pakistan, despite a state of emergency imposed to tackle extremism.
Dozens of paramilitary troops and police surrendered their weapons to militants and retreated from the mountain town of Kalam in the Swat Valley – dubbed Pakistan’s Switzerland – yesterday.
Announcements about the advance were made on a pirate FM radio station run by cleric Mullah Fazlullah, as militants hoisted their party flag on police stations and government buildings, and distributed sweets.
The militants’ advance into Swat was one of the key factors, indicating that rebels were branching out into new areas from their traditional base in the troubled tribal belt that borders Afghanistan.
The government moved 2,500 troops into Swat last week to counter Fazlullah, also known as “Mullah Radio”, and who calls for a holy war on authorities.
More than 150 militants have been killed in clashes with security forces in the past week. But the militants have hit back in recent days.
Before taking Kalam, they captured the town of Bahrain, a strategic town poised over the Swat river, having seized the Madyan town on Tuesday.
“There was no fighting, police had already vacated their post in Bahrain, and later retreated to Kalam when they came to know the militants were heading towards their police station,” police said.
But Fazlullah’s aide, Maulana Shah Dauran, said in a radio address that militants also took control of a paramilitary base in Kalam manned by a platoon.
More than 40 Frontier Corps soldiers had left the paramilitary base before the militants arrived.
Residents said 150 turbanned militants were roaming through Kalam, chanting Allah-o-Akbar (God is greatest) and hoisting their flags on key government buildings.
There was no comment from the administration in Mingora, the valley’s main town, and officials in Peshawar, the capital of North-West Frontier Province.
An official privately admitted the militants were in control of 70 per cent of the valley’s 94km stretch from Sangota to Kalam.
The government hold was confined to Mingora and the nearby town of Saidu Sharif
SO THINK AGAIN WHATS HAPPENING ??
WHOS PLANNING ALL THESE ??
Shamsi bhai, yeh budnazir sub dramay baazi kar rahee hae…kumbukht chorenee tebaarah PM bun-naa chahtee hae, aur kuchh nahi’n…….aur umreekaa oos ko PM bun-nanay per tulaa hua hae…by hook or by crook (sorry, no_need)…aur yeh hangaami haalaat sub dhakoslay hai’n. Umreekaha, yeh kaam mushee say hangaamee haalaat kee aaR may karvaanaa chaahtaa hae.
Hahahahhah 5 people do not make a protest. This is what it always looks like outside The Forum. lol. Great post.
* Khanabadosh writes:
Let the people of Pakistan decide who they want to elect. Let there be an independent judiciary and let there be free media and freedom of expression to deal with the corrupt politicians in the courts
How come this did not materialize in late 80s and all the way till late 90′s?
These protesters are definitely not against Musharaff, all they want is the government to resume the satellite tv channels, so that they can waste their time watching ‘kyun kai saas bhi kabhi bahu thi’.
Guys, this emergency thing is almost over, as SSG has pointed out what is happening in Swat area and how our govt handles it is the big question.
For my part I want to see action on that front by the govt. I also want all the parties to take a clear stand also, not like the one during the Lal Masjid saga, that is, let the situation unfold and take political mileage out of it. If this is the biggest crisis we face then every body should come out with an open strategy to deal with it, they should come out and say what is needed to be done and can they play any part in the solution. otherwise, giving ambiguous statements and whining on TV is a sheer waste of time.
LOL at protest.. only 10 to 20 ppls.. Geo musharaaf
EXTINCT before your post I said a few words of admiration for those protesting folks and now after your post, if they are what you say they are, then please rename them from Flash to Chicken Rallies. They will be extinct before they get the chance to evolve, you guys need some good ideas and on top of that some courage.
KHANABADOSH the irony is that 80% of our country is rural so no matter how much we fantacise the same people will get elected i.e. either one of these: Chaachaa, Mama, Babaa or Beta from any political party.
The good thing that Mushee has done is that he has given the control of the cities to the citizens, so whether its MQM or any body else, it will be always the elected people of the city that will have control not any Jaam or Shah who just wants to get expensive plots for cheap. For me that’s the greatest positive of Mush’s regime, he has certainly empowered the cities. This is a big big change in the political canvas of this country.
Well, the first the utmost thing every Pakistani can do is to stop discussing Anti- Musharraf thing. I admit he have done the worst thing for pakistan history but he did some good things about it!! He supports US which in return give Pakistan $1 Billion a year. Even though it risking 80% of the Pakistani population but do you thing that 80% of the pakistani can earn that much of money for pakistan? NO .. so continue our fight against emergency and in long term find a better solution by doing something good and big for the country!!!
There are people who are very much against US but wear Nike shirts have Nokia Mobile and have Computers, or microvawe in thier house (and all of them are somehow supporting US economy) so why not being a Muslim and a pakistani do something big and make such internationally recognized brand then work and fight as an extremist. (how can someone even call a terrorist a Muslim? – he can either be a muslim or be a terrorist)..
Ant & Grasshopper
Traditional Version
The Ant works hard in the withering heat all summer building its house and laying up supplies for the winter. The Grasshopper thinks the Ant is a fool and laughs & dances & plays the summer away.
Come winter, the Ant is warm and well fed. The Grasshopper has no food or shelter so he dies out in the cold.
Modern Version
The Ant works hard in the withering heat all summer building its house and laying up supplies for the winter. The Grasshopper thinks the Ant’s a fool andlaughs & dances & plays the summer away.
Come winter, the shivering Grasshopper calls a press conference and demands to know why the Ant should be allowed to be warm and well fed while others are coldand starving.
Geo TV, BBC, ARY, CNN show up to provide pictures of the shivering Grasshopper next to a video of the Ant in his comfortable home with a table filled with food.
The World is stunned by the sharp contrast. How can this be that this poor Grasshopper is allowed to suffer so?
Asma Jahangir stages a demonstration in front of the Ant’s house.
Imran Khan goes on a fast along with other Grasshoppers demanding that Grasshoppers be relocated to warmer climates during winter.
Amnesty International and Chief Justice Iftikhar criticizes the Pakistan Government for not upholding the fundamental rights of the Grasshopper.
The Internet is flooded with online petitions seeking support to the Grasshopper (many promising Heaven and Everlasting Peace for prompt support as against thewrath of God for non-compliance) .
Opposition MPs stage a walkout. Islamic parties call for ‘Hartal’ in Frontier and Baluchistan demanding a Judicial Enquiry.
MQM Coalition in Sindh immediately passes a law preventing Ants from working hard in the heat so as to bring about equality of poverty among Ants andGrasshoppers.
Sheikh Rasheed allocates one free coach to Grasshoppers on all Pakistan Railway Trains, aptly named as the ‘Grasshopper Shalimar’.
Finally, the President drafts an ordinance ‘Anti State Terrorism Against Grasshoppers Act’ [ASTAGA], with effect from the beginning of the winter.Mobilizes state agencies.
Punjab Govt. makes ‘Special Reservation’ for Grasshoppers in Educational Institutions & in
Government Services.
The Ant is fined for failing to comply with ASTAGA and having nothing left to pay his retroactive taxes, it’s home is confiscated by the NAB and handed over to the Grasshopper in a ceremony covered by PTV.
Nawaz Sharief calls it ‘ A Triumph of Justice ‘. Benazir calls it ‘ Democratic Justice ‘.
MQM calls it the ‘ Revolutionary Resurgence of the Downtrodden’ Prime Minister Shaukat Aziz invites the Grasshopper to address the National Assembly.
Many years later…
The Ants have since migrated to the US, Canada, UK and Middle East, have worked harder then they did before set up a multi-million dollar business.
1000s of Grasshoppers still die of starvation despite reservation somewhere in Pakistan.
As a result of loosing lot of hard working Ants and feeding the Grasshoppers, Pakistan is still a
developing country!!!
Ali,
Even if 60 % of the population (around a 100 million) earns $ 10 a year, they would make $ 1 billion. What do you think Pakistan is ? Uganda?
Nokia is Finnish.
I am sorry I had to correct you cos it was a way stupid statistic.
well who took these photos??? nicely taken
SUFI here is an another statistic. Pakistan reliance could end if we Tax agriculture and reduce the millitary by 50%. Who will do that?
KHANABADOSH if the courts had convicted the corrupt politicians in the past ten years, things would have been different.
That’s why BB is saying,” They cannot prove anything in 10 years”. This what also frustrated Mush – no conviction from the courts!!
Pakistani lawyers and most judges need to get real jobs. The profession is probably the most corrupt profession after Pakistani police…hmmm as corrupt as police or next to police. Bit confused, buy folks get the point.
My father is one of those guys who made that perilous journey in 1947, he is alive and supports Musharraf. He believes that Muslims of sub-continent were taken for a ride by the slogan mongers.
But that’s all history, Jamal is absolutely right, no use in running after vague goals and hypocrat leaders. What liberties have been taken away from you? If you are suffering from media withdrawal symptoms then relax you will receive your dose very soon, that will calm you down and you will be able to sit in front of the idiot box and Wah Wah the conspiracy theorists.
Hmmm, Am I writing as Reality_Check now?
Sorry the above comment got accidently posted here, it is related to another post in the same blog.
BALMA its the other way round …. I am becoming more and more you…..
But you are a better writer, Reality_Check.
Balma (sadar, anjuman-e-sitaaish-e-baahami)
“Am I writing as Reality_Check now” … well … Balma it certainly looks so. We’ll know if you are the real Balma or not when you add the following to your “modern age formula”:
– dont marry your cousins
– spare the planet by not having more than one child
Bunch of looser who have nothing to do but cause a traffic jam and create problem, havoc and unrest amongst citizens of Karachi. Arrest them and put them away, far away in some 4×3 cell!
interesting: You took soooo much time writing all that crap that I didn’t even read in full. Seriously, you could have done something far much better than wasiting your time and energy on this crap!
no matter what i will always support mushy
because i saw the difference. i used to find jobs in dawn and jang few years back it used to be over one page now i can see at least more than three pages (even though I don’t need to look at now but its just and observation) big cities are given big budget no just promises… i am not supporter of any political party i only support and love Pakistan….and i think mushy is making the difference…do you think that any leader could have handled the pressure other than mushy during afghan crisis i bet no one…..
so buzz off and take it easy
EXTINCT, you wrote:
“These are called Flash Protests ….”.
Thankyou for enlightening us on the modus operandi of protests :) but many of us do know the how & why of protests.
I have personally witnessed a protest or two, of the violent kind at a Karachi state university, as well as a peaceful placard one, at a state university in USA.
Musharraf is a dictator, but we know that appearances can sometimes be misleading. Musharraf is not another Zia-ul-Fanatic-Haq. He has proven himself as the opposite of Zia.
One man wilfully introduced Mullaism & extremism (after) the defeat of Russia, almost brining Pakistan to the brink of Fanaticism!
The other is trying to REVERSE the effects of extreme islamism, jihad, fanatics, madrasas & whatever madness that exists in darkness ….. so plz be very (careful) in your analysis and decision making … our country’s future depends on it; The World is watching.
Geo Mushee
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yge49VvOnSM
A *sacred* was complaining on lahore metroblog that therr were PRO MUSH voices and they should also be heard.
yes many people supports Musharraf and I am thankful to him that he’s the reason to filter out ‘Intellectual Residue’ of our society who has been supporting him ignorantly and blindly. *geo musharraf* :-)
Excellent observation Ramla, that guy really is going the wrong way, lol, hadh ho gaye.
Someone said here said that History was available on Internet but it was not told why there is so much ignorance that history is not referred? :-)
Maybe we have equated that EASILY AVAILABLE history with The Holy Quran and Hadith which have everything mentioned from past to future yet we don’t bother to consult it. Irony *grin*
GEO MUSHARAF
Yeah But Investors DO care
Overseas investors pull $235m from KSE
Clickety
I am Alumni of FAST Lahore. We have created a website dedicated for centralizing discussions on emergency imposition by Musharraf. There is a Forum where we invite you to voice your opinions. The url is : http://www.musharrafsucks.com
Please let all your friends know about this. Together we can make a difference.
Thanks.
Money is draining OUT FAST from ‘PAKISTAN’
The proposed Mercedes diesel engine plant between Jehlum and Gujar Khan – 1200 acres of of land is placed for sale. The boundry was constructed only 7 months back. The board ‘Site for Mercedes diesel motors’ board is taken down since CJ fiasco.
US$ 400 million siphoned out since 18th till 23rd October,
- however it is time we shall all concentrate on being ‘United’ with the forces / parties who are willing to keep pakistan geographically INTACT. -
The statment of US State dept and UK Foreign office of great concern.
Seems like we shall prepare for ‘Resistance’ against any outside aggression / intervention
china these days is well on its way to being a super power. twenty years ago however, situation was a little different. in 1989 in tianamen square beijing, there was a huge demonstration by cheenas against their govt. this is how the chinese govt dealt with the threat:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/onthisday/hi/dates/stories/june/4/newsid_2496000/2496277.stm
around the time of tianamen square incident, pakistanis were experiencing the joys of democratic rule under benazir bhutto. for the next 10 years while cheenas were working hard to turn their country into a world power, pakistani politicians were fighting kutta-billee style while driving the country into the ground as a result of their mismanagement and corruption.
twenty years ago, goras used lecture cheenas on how to run their country and even imposed sanctions. today, goras beg cheenas to weaken their currency so that goras can compete in world markets. bottomline, any country that has adapted gora nizam has achieved zilch. and pakistan will be no exception if we listen to the goras and give the likes of bb, ns, altaf hussain and the great khan complete freedom to do what they want. the best way to run pak is to keep the dunda over the politicians and their flunkies in the media.
the best way to take pak forward is to make pakistan a champion of trade and industry. none of the politicians can run the cornar paan shop much less help pak compete with countries like china or vietnam. its only under musharraf that things have turned around. his success is bothering people who dont want pak to succeed be it jihadis or india-lovers like asma jehangir. these groups have combined to create a crisis in pak. i salute musharraf for dealing with the enemies of pak in the manner they deserve.
correction to my previous post, goras are begging china to strengthen chinese yuan and not weaken it as i wrote in my earlier post.
@interesting
Great story… do i have the permission to reprint it in my blog??
Can you waive copyright for the pic? BBC wants it.
Mail me to confirm pronto!
@Saad, “We have created a website dedicated for centralizing discussions on emergency imposition by Musharraf”. Looking at the domain name of this site, I wonder if the site creators really want to have “discussions” on it. Shouldn’t a forum stay neutral while ppl exchange their views.
@Reality_Check:
“For me that’s the greatest positive of Mush’s regime, he has certainly empowered the cities. This is a big big change in the political canvas of this country”.
Regardless of what Musharraf may or may not have done, it does not entitle him to cling to power through all sorts of despicable methods. Also, the citizens are not required to support any such crook simply because they share ethnicity with him. On that not, why not support principled mohajirs like Justices(r) Wajihuddin and Saeeduzzaman Siddiqui and Fakhrudin Ibrahim who stand for justice and well being of all Pakistanis?
The biggest damage that he is done is that he has destroyed an emerging independent judiciary. This is the institution which would have been the recourse of common man against unqualified and corrupt people, such as BB and NS or anyone else, in future. Without independent SC, there cannot be any hope for Pakistan.
@Reality_Check:
“KHANABADOSH if the courts had convicted the corrupt politicians in the past ten years, things would have been different.
That’s why BB is saying,” They cannot prove anything in 10 years”. This what also frustrated Mush – no conviction from the courts!!”
This is not really the fault of the justice systm, in particular the SC. I also believe that BB is corrupt to the hilt and guilty. Unfortunately, courts cannot convict people based on your sentiment or mine.The are required to act according to the law, and that requires proper, legally accepted, evidence. In Pakistan most cases are filed to settle political scores without regard to the due legal diligence. The reason why BB is walking free is NS’s stupidity, not her innocence. But if his administration did not pay attention to meticulosuly collect the needed evidence, there is not much the court can do.
This is the same reason due to which the SC had to let the improperly arrested and imprisoned Lal masjid occupants go. Sentencing people because “I say so” is not how the law works in any country.
Please get a reality check.
@BALMA:
“How come this did not materialize in late 80s and all the way till late 90′s?”.
Frankly, I do not see the relevance of this argument. Are you saying that because the judiciary was the pits in 50′s thru 90′s, that it
should continue to remain subservient, and under the thumb of the govt?
@Reality_Check:
Musharraf, of course. Who else? He will reduce the defence budge by 50%.
@Reality_Check:
Who will do that? Why, Musharraf of course. Who else? don’t you believe that he will reduce the defence budget by 50%.
@Reality_Check:
Who will do that? Why, Musharraf of course. Who else? Don’t you believe that he will reduce the defence budget by 50%?
@Adnan Siddiqi
Pakistani(scared of reading “INSAAN”)kisi haal main khush nahein rehta:-)
KHANABADOSH he would have if the Indians were not dragging their feet and Wajpai didn’t lose the elections.
As for taxing agriculture, I don’t see that happening in near future, because nobody has made it a issue after Mehboob-ul-Haque and Moin Qureshi.
Our politicians are also not keen on discussing issues that hold the key to our future.
* Are you saying that because the judiciary was the pits in 50′s thru 90′s, that it
should continue to remain subservient, and under the thumb of the govt
****** Okay, I see… I kind of agree. But, there is no reason for Pakistani lawyers and judges to ack like mahatama Gandhi. They have been totally corrupt and are crooks, and should come out and appologize for their acts over the last sixty years, and then we can consider if to trust them in future.
yes ,lawyers are corrupt otherwise entire nation consists of saints and angels *shakes head*
in pakistan, asking apology is stupidity and peak of lameness. AQ KHAN once asked apology, now leading a miserable life.
In pakistan, one is successful if he’s a rascal like Altaf,BB,NS ,Fazulrahman or dictators otherwise he’s just wasting time.
IMO, Lawyers are repenting by initiating all activities. Jab judges sahe nahi thay tab bhe tumhe masla tha aur jab wo sudhar rahey hain kio k ek banda ne stand lia tu ab bhe Rona macha huwa hay.
Khan sahiba said well, Pakistani kisi haal me kush nahi, use har waat khujli hoti hay.
@Adnan “IMO, Lawyers are repenting by initiating all activities”.
If lawyers are sincere and are really repenting then they should first be honest with their clients. They should stop asking for money from both parties and stop requesting the judges for more time (read next PESHEE). And if there are only a few black sheeps in the lawyer community then the good ones should stand up against the bad ones. First fix yourself, then your community, then your rulers, and then the whole world. Not the other way round.
Legal profession in Pakistan is nothing but jhoot kaa pulandah. It is no more a profession taken up by educated and shurafa. Only society’s rejects go there.
I think the whole martial law issue is well beyond discussion for any person even remotely aware of ground realities and pakistani dictatorship war-machines, the source of all evil! This is not the time to talk, but to act!
For those who intend to participate in peaceful protests at the risk of being convicted under the Revised Army Ordinance, pls send ur contact email to
“commanderofthefaithful@hotmail.com”
we are preparing a database of all volunteers for protests at short notices to avoid government crackdowns. and dont worry abt ur safety, cell fones and other contact details have been avoided on purpose to guard against any personal threat to volunteers.
Pls. make us strong against state terrorism against its own ppl, together we shall resist inshaAllah!