140 shops looted in half an hour.

You’d think the dacoits were trying to set some kind of a record. Five men, on motorcycles, looted 140 shops in a shopping mall and scores of pedestrians and got away with millions of rupees, jewelery and cell phones. I’m wondering how they carried all that stuff. The robbery took between 30 to 45 minutes. Predictably, the police arrived half an hour after the robbers left. Really, why do they even bother?

43 Comments so far

1. BoZz (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 7:27 pm

What! They did not complete the 150 mark. Shame. Looks like they are slowing down.

Cheers

2. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 7:29 pm

they must have just robbed cash and mobiles.. or maybe they must have snatched a dumper truck on gun point.. :P …

140 shops! damn! nobody even dared to do something..~!

3. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 8:24 pm

Extinct – I can safely bet you have no idea about the area where it took place.

shanti nagar is behind Millenium Mall opposite southern air command and neighbors with KDA Officers’ society, on one end and Gulshan block 18 on the other side.

The area is slum and it is a hide out for crimnals and falls in PS Aziz Bhatti Jurisdiction.

Shopping MALL & 130 shops – :( amazing I have never seen a MALL in Shanti nagar.

I will recon again sometime if something have popped in last 21 days.

4. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 8:33 pm

just opposite the main entrance of southern air command on dalmia road there is a market maybe thats the one being refered to here…

5. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 8:37 pm

btw its not Extiinct.. the newsitem itself says “five armed bandits on a motorcycle came to Shanti Nagar and robbed a shopping plaza including 140 shops and a large number of pedestrians?

6. pkhan (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 8:43 pm

WOW! Where were all those MEN of the community?

7. MS (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 9:15 pm

Interesting.

I am just thinking how the hell on earth it is possible to rob 140 shops and “scores of pedestrians” in 30-45 minutes unless the victims were waiting in a line with their money/belongings in the bags to hand it over to the robbers!!! Can anyone explain that to me?

Looks like masala-tized news to me. Let’s see if any other news paper or media outlet published the similar news …

8. Neena (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 10:18 pm

I don’t know if it’s a reliable story but still Dacotis are not unheard or uncommon thing (“http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/12/local5.htm”). The appalling thing is a blind eye from law enforcement. A while ago my friend who is a school Principal got a call that come outside at the gate with certain amount. He called the police which told him to do what are they saying as they are helpless in this matter and cautioned him about the weapons usually criminals carries. He gave him the money to avoid the catastrophe. Good thing he had it with him on that day otherwise who knows what they did to the school kids.

Now why in the world we have to call a sector in charge when my cousin’s motor cycle was stolen? My Aunt’s family is out of few thousand rupees and MQM lost 10 votes.

Everyone claims things had changed and MQM has put their act together as they no longer demand monthly Bathas from shopkeepers and don’t kill them if they refused to teach a lesson to others. But on the ground; for a common man things are more or less same even worse. Quite few upscale markets shopkeepers send some monthly cash to powerful groups (mafia boss) in the area so they won’t be targeted.

It not worsening law and order its called organized crime.

Now there are rangers in the city but mostly they are posted near Lawyers and Journalists.

9. Kads (unregistered) on November 12th, 2007 @ 11:25 pm

In keeping with the norm, musharraf’s solution to this would be to lock up the judges in karachi and let the looters and terrorists raom free. And stop all reporting of the case too. This is the need of the hour as you all know and ofcourse is in the interest of pakistan.
    It is twisted logic, but then again, thats the solution according to musharraf. :)

10. asa (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 12:16 am

everyone in Karachi who travel in public bus,im 100% sure he must gone through mobile snatching expereince…All the friend i know about NED have gone through this trauma…street crimes is all time high in Karachi but no one cares.

Bas Allah rehm kare karachi pe.

11. Imran (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 12:20 am

The following incident happened to someone who had recently had his first child and gone with his wife & baby to Millennium Mall.

It was a late night in June, so the person left his car windows open, leaving his wife and child in the car & proceeded to the Mall to buy some things. While this person was inside paying for purchases via credit card, a man (hostage taker) approached him & informed him that his wife & child were held hostage in the car by an accomplice of the hostage taker. This was confirmed by a call made by the hostage taker to his accomplice who sat with the persons wife and child.

The hostage taker then took the person around and proceeded to make significant purchases on the his card, after which he warned him not to come out to the parking for some time else the family would be harmed; to which the person complied. When the person did come out he found his wife and child in the car, shaken by the experience.

12. Raja Islam (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 12:38 am

So they guys are also Enjoying emergency.

13. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 1:06 am

Un believable!
    No security guards.. No video cameras..asking for trouble

14. Hassan Abbas (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 2:47 am

my godness!

can’t believe on it.

15. Zee (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 5:45 am

Errrr… isn’t this just too amazing to be true!? I mean how can you do that in such a short span of time?

This is bullshit and not at all believeable! It takes the masjid guys longer to collect donations in each Jumma Prayers than what the looters have done here. It’s simple not possible and which shopping mall/area are we talking about? Was there ANY security there? This is crap!

Media is being an a$$ again!

16. (w)hole LOTA love (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 6:35 am

i read somewhere that GOOFY BIPEDS had been EXTINCT

then how come one of them wrote this post???

17. Fauzan (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 9:32 am

Is that a world record or something? Someone better check! :p

18. A for [pine]Apple (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 10:28 am

Apparently they were on bikes((five armed bandits on a motorcycle)). A WOW!!!

Report says they slipped away with millions of rupees, jewelery and cellphone. What technique they used to get away with all this amount, holding things above their heads or what?? None from KMB team managed to take a pic of five bandits on a bike??

I’m thinking & I’m inspired :-)

19. Sara (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 11:04 am

A-TOO-PERFECT-ROBBERY to be true, just another propaganda !

20. binary-zero (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 11:55 am

WAOoo – we can give this scenario to Holywood for a brilliant karachi job instead of Italian JOb ;)

21. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 11:59 am

AGAIN like 90s’

BEST BET Stay inside after sunset.

22. IUnknown (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 12:09 pm

must be police waley

i heard 4 persons on single bike, stole bike rite infront of my house, last nite, before i reached home( luckily)

23. Imran (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 12:41 pm

Some amazing responses here but the one that really took the cake :) was KAD who wrote:
    “In keeping with the norm musharraf’s solution (to this) would be to (lock up the judges, in karachi, and let the looters and terrorists roam free.)”

Logic and Reason:

1. What does Musharraf (or person XYZ) have to do with a random act of violence and looting? … or do we simply (want to) engage in Musharraf_bashing because the “national agenda” (of the Chaudhrys) is to overthrow Musharraf so that biggest portion of loot can return to Pujabistan?

2. Are there NO incidents of lawlessness when civilians are serving as leaders?

3. Are not Musharraf’s effort aimed at ELIMINATING fanaticism, violence & looting from within Pakistani Society? Evidenced of which are his hectic nation building efforts from cultural events to support for music & art, sports, healthcare (much delayed organ donor transplant law passed under Musharraf) etc.

Surely some of the following headlines must have paased your eye, unless your head is in the sand of fundamentalism:

a) Musharraf orders support & rehabilitation for artists like Roohi Bano.

b) Musharraf takes stern (and unpopular) action against terrorists of Lal Masjid.

c) Musharraf orders Army to take over comand of security forces in Swat.

d) Musharraf mobilizes Pakistan Art Council to accelerate formation of Art Galleries & Music Academies acros PAkistan.

e) Musharraf orders security for the Federation of International Football Associations’ technical consultant Monica Staak, who will train players of the Balochistan schoolgirls team in a special secure camp at the Balochistan Government Girls College. Monica Staak had received threats for training girls in sport.

f) Although yet unsuccessful, the promulgation for the abolition of ancient practices like jirga and Karo Kari were also initiated under Musharraf. Atleast the man tried.

g) Musharraf takes unflinching action agianst renegade forces, including the powerful Bugtis, for coming in way of Government projects of National importance eg. damages to oil & gas pipelines in Balochistan & Wana.

Ironically, the protests and call for stepping down are being organized for a leader who has the courage to abandon age old practices and customs which are keeping Pakistan in the Dark Ages, (and at present is the only leader on the scene) who is actually capable of ushering Pakistan into a Golden Age of a modern, progressive, free thinking Pakistan.

NOTE:
    I have no affinity for, or, affiliation with Musharraf. I envision a liberal, progressive and logical thinking Pakistan based on open economy … NOT a fanatic, ultra-conservative and superstitious nation serving as slaves in a oligarchy. Whether that liberalism is imparted to Pakistan from Musharraf, the Chinese or the spirit of Kmal Ataturk, its all good, as long as we see substantial results for the progress of the ordinary Pakistani boy and girl.

24. Samreen Iqbal (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 4:11 pm

I think there should be new authors here! We should be able to read the other side of the story too. ZEE, IMRAN, REALITY CHECK, SHAHIDNUSA should be given the status of Karachi Metblog authors. These guys MOSTLY make sense most of the time and I know that a silent majority love to read their comments. After any post, the next thing I look out for is to see what ZEE, Imran and some of the other guys have to say the particular post because they have some interesting and close to reality ideas and opinions.

I personally don’t know these guys, so please don’t think that I am supporting these guys due to any personal reason. I just think that new authors should be enrolled and given a try. Specially those who are regular KMB bloggers as the current ones are getting too biased and/or unoriginal.

25. Imran (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 4:49 pm

Samreen,

Thats really kind of you, and much appreciated.
    Though i can’t imagine myself being an author at KMB as i often find my views going against the mainstream :) and for the record i don’t do it deliberately, it’s just me. LOL.

On a personal note, i love reading posts from Mansoor and Bolshevik.

But anyways … author, writer or reader … we all know its a PLEASURE to come to KMB, because its like HOME on the Web. I know i will always keep coming. And guys, whether we agree or not, remember we’re one big FAMILY.

26. Neena (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 6:59 pm

I agree with you on it Imran it’s not Musharaff’s fault that criminal activities in Karachi is at it’s highest.

Robberies happpens everyday in every city of the world. But recently mobile snatching and looting is the most highest in Karachi. The responsibility goes to the local law enforcement agencies and whoever controlling them. I guess its under MQM. Remember MQM can still make city stand still as they did on May 12 when they didn’t let deposed CJ to come to Karachi. Politics is becoming Mafia game and people are suffering due to this attitude. Gundas are more powerful than police and since there are no consequences even police sides with mafia.

27. Neena (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 7:04 pm

Excuse the above rant but someone close to me been burnt by similar crime.

28. Imran (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 7:58 pm

Recently someone from UK bought a property in Malir. He came to Karachi himself to execute the deal but because the ‘transfer’ of name involves time (and bribery too), he was naive enough to request the seller to transfer the property in his name (for which he even gave the seller an additional Rs 4lac to do the needful (bribes included).

As of now the man (who is the rightful owner of the property having paid for it in millions) is sitting in UK and the seller is not answering his calls. The buyer wants to know when he’ll get the transfer of ownsership letter & what happened to the Rs4lac given to the seller for the purpose.

Should we blame this on Musharraf too?

29. Kads (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 9:09 pm

@Imran
    Well. If the law does not apply to musharraf and he can fire the judges hearing the validity of his election term, Why should the law apply to the looters????

Musharraf is setting a fine example by showing the middle finger to the law. And has thus lost all credibility to pursue the criminals. Criminals should now ask for the same solution that musharraf has applied to himself. Fire all the judges hearing their cases and appoint judges on their choosing. Whats good for the goose is good for the gander too.

30. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 10:18 pm

“140 shops looted in half an hour. ”

How nice to see that despite martial law, life really is ‘normal’ in Pakistan!. :-)

God bless our society and systems!

@ Imran (last post) if its Malir Cantt then yes. I’ve been facing a similar headache for the past 2 years regarding a plot in Malir Cantt.

Its under the Army & they are bigger crooks than most of the other housing authorities/departments.

….& what Kads said!

31. Imran (unregistered) on November 13th, 2007 @ 11:36 pm

KADS, you wrote
    “Why should the law apply to the looters????”

Why should the entire country belong to a few individuals from one province?
    Why should the judiciary be a slave to those few individuals?
    Why should the fate of an entire village/tribe rest in the hands of a feudal lord?

When there is an answer to all such questions, there will be no need for an Emergency.

32. Kads (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 12:10 am

@Imran

As usual, instead of asking the question of why musharaf is above the law, you have once again degraded the conversation into a ethnic and racial discussion. Didnt expect anything else from you.

They day that you start to see the world without racial and ethnic lenses is the day you will understand whats wrong with a predidant sacking the judges who are hearing his own case. Until then, you are welcome to live in the hate filled cess pit of ethnicity.

33. Asif Raza Khaskheli (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 12:10 am

oh , this is way too shocking 140 shops , it is far more fictionous then the English movie plots, man 140 is a big number.

34. Imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:02 am

KADS, you wrote
    The day that you start to see the world without racial and ethnic lenses is the day you will understand … ”

The last time i checked, 3 out of 4 provinces are waiting for that day. “SAB SE PEHLE PAKISTAN” … i understand that very well, and many (if not all) will agree :)

35. Kads (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:31 am

@Imran
    Snap out of the world of self deception. It will do you a world of good and help you see the world clearly without hate that has been pumped into you ad nauseam by those you have choosen to surround yourself with.
    Once you get out of that rut, you will begin to see the folly of musharaf sacking the judges who were to hear his case and the stupidity of appointing his own chosen cronies. The whole world is protesting this action of a despot. And rightly so.

36. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 2:40 pm

Ok, this is what I saw today while visited KMB.

Ridicilous KMB

How true! :-)

37. Syed Johny (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 4:41 pm

Its really pathetic whats happening all over Pakistan and particularity IN Karachi!

God save us !

By the Way ! looks like the KMBians have got a knack for bad news only !!!

Although i suggested a positive development about Karachi weeks ago ! no body did story on that !

The news was that The Supreme court (Before emergency) gave a decision that all the civilian Cantonment areas including DHA , parts of clifton , johar, malir etc should be abandoned by the military and handed over to the City Government !

One of the biggest NEws regarding Karachi ! in recent times ! & The KMBians choose to ignore it!

38. Neena (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 9:52 am

I don’t know why you all ridiculing KMB. Remember author linked a reputable Newspaper which is I guess started to following Urdu news papers.

39. HITMAN (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 11:14 am

What the hell is wrong with the said area & the area police????

http://www.jasarat.com/2007/11/15/nation/details/23.gif

Y dont they issue a shoot at site order for such criminals?

40. ALIVEPAKISTAN.COM (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 6:38 pm

Shocking news

41. Orkid (unregistered) on November 18th, 2007 @ 3:43 pm

Has anyone seen the Indian movie “DOOM” ?
    My word

42. Nadia Bajwa (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 11:48 am

mobile-snatching has of late become quite a menace..i went through a most traumatic experience recently while driving back from Clifton to Shahrah e Faisal..it was around 5 in the evening and concerned for my safety my mother had sent a driver with me too who was seated in the rear seat..i stopped for the signal when a young guy knocked on my window, thinking he was a beggar i lowered the glass only to be shown a gun..i at once surrendered my phone and wallet beause it is best not to resist in such circustances..the streets of khi even in broad daylight are no more safe for people like us anymore..

43. Saad ali (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 8:58 am

the present situation is really deplorable..there is no security out there for normal citizens like us..what are the police and armed forces taking their salaries for?