We’ll bomb you to PTV

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/11/novmb/ptv-thumb.jpgWe’ll bomb you to Stone Age” is what the Americans said. How stupid they were. They didn’t know we already have the expertise at home. So today our government has finally recognized that actually the Talibans were right which is a kind of victory for the Conservatives. Not only they have successfully taken over our thinking capsule but hopefully, soon no one would accuse them of Less respect for women, forcing their will on others, No regard for Human rights & burning CDs or AUDIO/VIDEO shops & all that Elite-Club fancy slogans because our gov. decided that its actually the right direction to proceed. They were continuously saying that women can’t handle freedom so lets put em inside, TV is for fahashi , burn the TV shops & music wont be allowed at any cost but we ignored them, calling them retards. How wrong we were !!!.

Heard this around eve on GEO today. Unsatisfied with the clampdown on Human Rights & Media, it has now banned any import of Dish Antenna, D-Receivers, decoders & related equipment & no one has any doubts why. Well, so PTV, the stone age channel one would immediately ban for churning out false information, lies & propaganda for a particular thinking is still roaming around free. This is a (NOT A) free world indeed. Lets (not) pray that the next target be Internet. Miles to go before sleep . . . . Start searching some underground methods to access websites before its too late.

Related:- SFN Blog [Original Image: Tivo]

133 Comments so far

1. Imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 12:46 am

THE OTHER SIDE of the story (not being reported by media).

Thank goodness our thinking capsules are working well enough NOT to buy into the propaganda of Punjabistan.

2. Zee (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 12:54 am

Ah… good okay so that means a lot less people are going to suffer with high blood pressure and heart related problems thanks to abundance of tv channels like GEO, AAJ and ARY. GOOD WORK MUSHY :D

I have been watching GEO online and the kind of picture they are drawing, it’s totally opposite to what is actually happening. All the people who believe what GEO feeds is THE truth and only PTV lies, that’s all BULLSHIT! GEO, AAJ and ARY are all too biased jjuuussttt like PTV. They all have agendas. People, you have GOT to STOP relying on media so heavily and so blindly. Use your freakin’ brains a bit (if you got any).

3. asa (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 12:58 am

General seriously gone mad

sala aik general poori qaum ko hijra bana deta he

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G8MeU3Vnwz4

4. MB (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 12:59 am

@ZEE

” GEO, AAJ and ARY are all too biased jjuuussttt like PTV ”

So basically would you enlighten us on why the discrimination between the two if both are BIASED?

Either allow both or ban both, what you say ? lol

And whats wrong in having an AGENDA ? In Business thats called Policy.

Yes they do cross the line 5-10% of the time but what about PTV doing that 80% of the time. I can bet my life if it ever reported the whole truth.

5. Concerned (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:04 am

Agreed wht mushy did was wrong but have you guys heard Geo lately all they are doing is carrying on an anti Mushy campaign and taking cheap shots.

The other day renowned journalist, (i forgot his name) actually said that “freedom of media Mushy ke abba ke jagir nahi hai ke unhone ne hame daide”

Arey koi tameez hoti hai baat karnay ki, these ppl dont have that anymore.

You guys talk about moderation over here and block certain comments becuase they are beyond tameez ka dayra and that is wht mushy just did. Cant blame him for somehthing you are doing yourself. The level is different becuase on electronic media which is more widely watched then a blog, even the smallest batameezi can be considered wrong.

6. asa (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:10 am

UNDER MUSH CONSTITUITION

ANYONE WHO IS AGAINST DICTATOR RULE ARE A TRAITOR,SERVING FOREIGN INTERESTS, THEY ARE NOT PATRIOTIC PERSON, THEY ARE A TERRORIST AND WILL BE IN JAIL FOR INDEFINITE TIME. THEY WILL NOT BE ALLOWED TO BROUGHT IN FRONT OF INDEPENDENT COURT OF LAW. THEY WILL BE A MISSING PERSON FROM NOW ON.

EVERYONE MUST KNOW THAT UNDER MUSH CONSTITUITION YOU CANNOT SAY TRUTH AND YOU HAVE TO ABIDE BY THE LIES AND NOT “LAW”.

MUSH HIMSELF WILL HEAR YOUR CASE:
    MUSH WILL BE THE JUDGE.
    MUSH WILL BE PLAINTIFF.
    MUSH WILL BE EXECUTIONER.
    MUSH WILL BE RIGHT.
    MUSH IS THE MOST PATRIOTIC PERSON.

YOU WILL BE HANGED TO DEATH IF ANYONE BRAKE MUSH CONSTITUTION.

7. Imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:13 am

Good work MB,

for removing the link to MUSHARRAF SUPPORTERS website, from my comment :)

Atleast now you shouldn’t be complaining about censorship. lol

8. MB (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:18 am

@IMRAN
    Self advertisement not allowed my friend. The technical way to do it is to put it on your name in “URL” option. Those who want to, will check your URL. Thanks.

You can trust our freeness by brining out something substantial. I promise, you will see it appearing on KMB as a post.

This is not PTV my friend. Enjoy the stay !!

9. Concerned (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:53 am

Ah yes the high Morals of MB.

I guess it is ok for people to write about meeting up at KPC to protest AGAINST Mushy but godforbid if any thing is written FOR Mushy that is self advertisement.

Bravo boy bravo.

10. Imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:57 am

MB, you wrote
    “Self advertisement not allowed … This is not PTV.”

Slightly confused … since when did quoting a public website, in the message body, become self advertisment? :)

Do appreciate the tip on ‘the technical way’, which incidentally if you noticed, i adopted from day one, a long long time ago - and which is what distinguishes me from the OTHER IMRAN who has recently taken to posting under the same name. I wouldn’t know why though!

As for KMB not being PTV, I certainly do hope so!! :)

NB: To prevent confusion (un-intended or otherwise) it would be wonderful if KMB had a sign-in mechanism, so bloggers could not change their names (on frequent basis) which though evident to KMB authors thanks to logging of IP, is not always obvious to readers at first glance.

11. MB (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 2:01 am

Concern, you dont even know the issue. I asked him to use the URL box when typing his website. Please care to know before comment. Irrelevant comments also be deleted. So after a day or two i shall delete my own not-required comment. This is just for IMRAN so he knows howto comment & provide LINK.

12. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 2:07 am

This torture by PTV should make you realize what actually Mush has given to this Nation.
    This exploding Media, development in internet infrastructure, freedom of Press and all our liberties that we have been taking for granted, a decade ago no such thing existed. That doesn’t mean that all this should be taken away, for me it’s a time for re-alignment, the gears have been turning too fast and oil has been low. There will be overhauling and re-thinking of goals / objectives and co-existence between the various pillars will eventually occur. As one blogger has so nicely phrased and I quote;

We must also remember that there are certain elements in all circles; government, opposition parties, lawyers, media, students… everywhere, who are honest to their job and believe in what they are doing. At the same time there are certain elements in all these circles who are running a personal agenda, playing their cards one after the other, leading the country to hell.

Despite his good / bad acts there is nothing that warrants that we should be foul mouthed when we talk about Musharraf. He is given a lot more than what others before have taken and for that the Nation will always remain in his debt. With so many channels and 100 more in pipeline and free print media our people forgot what dictatorship is all about. What it was like under Zia, Bhutto’s and Nawaz Sharif. This is just a reminder of how dictatorship tastes like. Still nobody has been killed and normal life not disrupted everything is open. Elections will happen, channels will be on air again, politicians will come in hordes but you will need Mush at the top, otherwise, this country will be like a rabbit being torn apart by wolves.

URL LOGIC: As per your reply to IMRAN, please remove link by ASA too.

13. MB (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 2:17 am

Alright so there were few users who would paste their link in their comment. The solution to that is, if you want people to check your website, they will do by your URL. If there is a LINK within the site you are sure free to put it here.

@Reality:-

O please not that typical of MUSH rant.

YOUTUBE was not waiting MUSH to take over, Blogs were not waiting for him. Nor was media and any other thing. The mobile and telecom sector in the world was not waiting MUSH to come.

This is simple crap. With or without him, this was coming home. Just like DISH did & JUST like FM stations did.

NOKIA didn’t ask MUSH to approve their models. It was MUSH who required these channels to counter INDIAN media on KARGIL & PARLIAMENT attack. Unluckily, he never knew what the future hold.

Apart from that many things you said are right. On MUSH giving or taking away things for himself & his GHQ, a separate post is required. This one is on MEDIA. Lets stick to it.

Just a last note, The wolves are sitting in GHQ fellow. Come out of this sick slavery mentality of following individuals. Kal ko MUSH ki jaga Kiyani hoga toh you guys will rant the same lines………….. agar Kiyani na hua toh ye hoga…….wo hoga…… This is what has destroyed this nation.

Also, please read again about website & inner links. If ASA had his profile link, i would remove that too.

14. Balma (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 2:35 am

REality_check, hate to be a jerk, but would you clarify what you meant by Bhutto’s in your comments above.
    Did you mean Bhuttos, as in Z.A. Bhutto and Budnazir, together? This is important, so twenty somethings who haven’t seen abu-Benazir’s time would learn bit more about him. so, how long did his constitution survive? One year, one month, one day, or one hour? I don’t remember now.

15. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 3:17 am

MB , you are one of a retarded guy out there. It’s waste of time in arguing with you because you would not simply listen to any rationale arguments. The guy who believes that daily Awam circulation was One Crore in 90’s should be banned from posting here because he has a zero % liability of what he says/writes here.

Don’t censor my comment , yak KMB tumharay baap ki jagir nahi hay

16. wakeup (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 3:56 am

NEITHER PPP, JI, PMLQ OR PML (NAWAZ) AND MQM ARE INNOCENT. ALL POLITICIN AND GENERALS IN THE ARMY ARE VERY CORRUPT. THE BIG BUSINESS MAN IS CORRUPT. AWAM IS ALSO SOME WHAT CORRUPT.

IMRAN KHAN SOUNDS GOOD. BUT IS LIMITED TO INSAAF AND
    EDUCATION.

THERE ARE FEW THINGS WE NEED TO BE CLEAR ABOUT OUR COUNTRY AS A WHOLE.

THAT IS WHAT IS OUR PLACE IN THE WORLD OF NATIONS.

WE ARE AN AGRICULTURE STATE. WE NEED TO STAY THAT WAY. ANY FORCE OR VECTOR AGAINST AGRICULTURE WILL NOT WORK. ACTUALLY AGRICULTURE IS THE ONLY THING IN PAKISTAN THAT IS WORKING FOR ALL OF US PRETTY GOOD ALL THESE YEARS.

WHEN WE TALK ABOUT EDUCATION, I REALLY DONT UNDERSTAND PEOPLE WHERE THEY WANT US TO TAKE.

WE CANNOT SHOULD NOT AND NEVER TRY TO CONVERT OUR FROM AGRICULTURE TO SCIENCE AND TECHNOLOGY STATE.

WE JUST CANNOT ACHIEVE SUCH UNREALISTIC DREAMS.

WE NEED TO FOCUS ON HEALTH FIRST.
    SECONDLY JUSTICE IS A MUST.

IMRAN KHAN IS RIGHT ABOUT THESE TWO.

THIRD NEED TO GIVE CHEAP TRANSPORTATION AND CHEAP ENERGY TO ALL PAKISTANIS.

AND DO SOMETHING ABOUT THESE SO CALLED ABUSIVE MULTI NATIONAL COMPANIES, NESTLE , LEVER BROS, p&g ALL THESE FOREIGN BANKS THAT ARE PART OF THIS UNJUST ABUSIVE SYSTEM, WHO ARE TAKING A FREE RIDE ALONG WITH ALL THIS CORRUPT PEOPLE. AND ACTUALLY ENJOYING THE STATE IN WHICH PAKISTAN IS AND WANTS PAKISTAN TO STAY THAT WAY FOR EVER.

WITH DUTY OF USED CARS ABOUT 1000% THAT HELPS ALL THESE MADE IN PAKISTAN HONDA AND TOYOTAS AND SUZUKI.

DUTY ON PETROL AND CARS AND ALL THINGS USED IN A HOUSEHOLD NEEDS TO BE CLOSE TO 0%.

IMRAN KHAN DOES NOT TALK ABOUT OUR ORGANIC GROWERS FARMERS AND TO SAFEGUARD OUR WAY OF SUSTANANCE AND HAS VERY LIMITED VISION.

WHAT ABOUT RELATION WITH INDIA AND CHINA AND USA. AND RUSSIA AND EU. AND IRAN. AND WITH SAUDI ARABIA.

WE NEED TO EDUCATE OUR PEOPLE IS NO GOOD ENOUGH. LACKS VERY MUCH VISION.

WHAT ABOUT HEALTH SYSTEM ?
    ECONOMY?
    CHEAP FAST JUSTICE?
    POLICE, ARMY?
    FUTURE WARS?
    POWER GENERATION?

SIEMENS RIPPING OFF PAKISTAN?

WE DONT NEED GENERAL OK , BUT DO YOU KNOW WHAT EXACTLY YOU WANT IN RETURN , BENAZIR AND NAWAZ ARE OUT OF THE PICTURE FOR EVER, I HOPE.

THEY HA THEIR CHANCES AND FAILED EVERYONE AND HAVE NO SENSE OF DIRECTION RIGHT NOW AND ALL ARE LAUGHING ON HER. SHE BEIN THE INTERNATIONAL CLOWN FROM PAKISTAN. AND ESPECIALLY IN FRONT OF ARABS AND OTHER MUSLIM STATES. SHE IS WAY TO EMBARACING.

IMRAN KHAN NEEDS ADVISORS AND CO PARTNERS TO BE IN THE GAME. GOING TO UK AFTER ALTAF HUSSAIN IS ANOTHER STORY I DONT KNOW WHAT HE WILL ACHIEVE THERE, THIS BETTER BE GOOD.

SOME ONE TOLD ME 4 KINDS OF PEOPLE LIVE IN PAKISTAN.

1. YUPPIES, BURGER PARTY, WANNA BE’S.
    2. INDIAN MOVIE FOLLOWERS KIND WHO EVEN SPEAK HINDI WORDS IN THEIR LANGUAGE.
    3. TALIBANS
    4. true evil OR MAFIA STYLE.

WHO WANTS TO RULE THESWE PEOPLE ANDS WHY IS THE QUESTION.

17. (w)hole LOTA love (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 4:04 am

@MB

u wrote,
    Self advertisement not allowed

but i found your comment on ATP under the post, Martial, least of pakistan worries @ATP,

you comment there,

Just finished doing this

http://publicmb.wordpress.com/2007/11/13/pervez-hi tler/

isnt it self advertisement?????

HEIGHT OF HYPOCRICY,ISNT?

18. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 4:20 am

media industry is no different from banking or construction industry. govt regulates construction industry to prevent builders from putting up dangerous buildings and govt supervises banking sector to protect life savings of depositors. similarly its the government’s job to regulate the media to prevent media from acting in ways that puts the life, liberty and well-being of pakistanis at danger. media must be free to criticise government and expose its corruption but media cannot be allowed to spread anarchy by making “her baath ka batungurh”. no country can function if media 24×7 gives the impression that pakistan is falling apart when reality is very different.

problem particular to pak is that since there is no entertainment industry in pak, politics instead has emerged as a substitute. politicians act as retards to get public attention and media amplifies their antics and makes them more outrageous to get ratings. net result is that you have all tamasha all the time which creates sense of anarchy which damages the economy and puts investment and jobs at risk. even more scary was the manipulation of media by lal masjid jehadis who had perfect platform to spread their lies eventhough these people were committing crime in full view of the media. no country on earth gives terrorists access to the media. media essentially by equating actions of jehadis with that of the government was putting lives of citizens at stake. moreover media completely ignores the atrocities committed by jehadis which gives the impression that jehadis are victims and not villans.

in the end media had to be put back on the rails and i am glad musharraf took the difficult step.

19. JIBRAN (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 4:44 am

Nice picture.. yes, Mush is a clown. he never runs out of ideas as to how to make fun of Pakistan in front of the international community.

enough bezti ho gayee hamari .. ab jaan chore yaar..

Go Musharraf Go..

20. Zee (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 5:54 am

MB you are CLEARLY a retard. You along with most of the other authors here know JACK about blogging and what should be written and how.

@ZEE
    ” GEO, AAJ and ARY are all too biased jjuuussttt like PTV ”

So basically would you enlighten us on why the discrimination between the two if both are BIASED?

You are a total retard but er… I’ll still give it a shot just so to make sure that I do my best to at least help one of the retarded authors here and perhaps from my help, maybe, some sense will be hammered in your peanute sized brain. Oh btw, on a side note… do you happen to be a cousin of Adnan Siddiqi?

Either allow both or ban both, what you say ? lol

No, PTV is hopeless. Something that doesn’t really matter to me. Your frustration with the whole media banning thing clearly indicates how good Mushy did when it comes to liberalization. Did you EVER taste this before back in Nawaz or BB area? Or were you still in your diapers then? Please say yes so I could at least cut you some slack!

And whats wrong in having an AGENDA ? In Business thats called Policy.

THAT ALONE just tells you what an unstable and bachkana mind you have. This is not just some business you freaking’ moron! This is journalism and this should not have ANY AGENDA. You might wana talk to someone who is a masters in Mass Communication and perhaps he’ll tell you more in detail and waste his energies. I am going to keep this as short as possible.

Yes they do cross the line 5-10% of the time but what about PTV doing that 80% of the time. I can bet my life if it ever reported the whole truth.

You have GOT to be Adnan’s cousin. Only he used to come up with such crap! Have you been watching GEO lately? Do you even live in Karachi or are you some dagga who lifted the KMB admin’s te****cles just to write crap against Mushy?

I know you have deleted comments from other people and I know you’ll delete my comments too. If you truely stand for the rights of media STOP FUCKING DELETING OUR COMMENTS.

But if you do, STOP BLAMING MUSH FOR DOING EXACTLY WHAT YOU ARE DOING. Blogging on KMB is no less than journalism. Learn more about it and THEN come back here.

And oh about the whole “link controversy”. YOU ARE WRONG and Imran is right. So stop arguing you dumb twit!

21. Reality_Check (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 5:59 am

Yes BALMA talking about both Bhutto’s. One was the first civilian Martial Law Administrator, who violated his own constitution. He was something but the other one is nothing……

Ok CJ restored by the court, but why after 3 months the esteemed body didnt make the judgement public? there was nothing un-constitutional about the reference, so what the Supreme judicial council had to say about it? Who will do the accountability of the CJ? or he is free to meddle in politics & personal vandetta and press the self destruct button.

Why when Mush refused to doff the uniform no protests ensued but when he gave a firm date, all sorts of activism was let loose. People I guess forgot that he was still a millitary ruler and he could always switch mode. Then again who suffered? the process that was going on, like Turkey where millitary has successfully conducted the transition, and democracy is now established, it took time and there were frictions but the country moved forward, eventually the political forces have won.

A similar transition was going on here in which there was hope for the nation but now the people is forced to look up to those tried and tested failures who in their naivity expect the people to endure punishment on their behalf. Even if they manage to bring down Mush, the chaos that will ensue can be devastating.

22. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 6:00 am

You mean even ladies cant watch that
    Indian channel episodes? Thats barberic! :)

23. SELF (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 6:09 am

Its a waste of time coming to KMB these days….and watse of bandwidth.

24. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 6:45 am

here is an interesting article on zab by eqbal ahmad (marhoom). makes me kind of glad that i was not around then:

http://www.bitsonline.net/eqbal/articles_by_eqbal_view.asp?id=12&cid=3

Of democracy, Bhutto made a mockery by forcing out the elected state governments of the North-West Frontier Province and Baluchistan, jailing thousands of opponents, turning the Peoples Party and the state bureaucracy into instruments of personal power, greatly enlarging the security services and instituting extra-legal terror typical of police states. Finally, with the more progressive and popular of his opponents jailed (including the elected majority leaders of NWFP and Baluchistan) he announced the elections, ahead of schedule, giving his surprised opposition only two months to gather their wits.

25. S.I. (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 7:36 am

I personally am very disappointed with GEO. All they do is remain biased and take cheap shots at Musharraf. Media should be about just presenting what is actually happening out there, and not just the bad, everything! Instead of being there for the people, GEO just seems to have an agenda of their own. People should be allowed to form their own opinions about anything that is happening in our country. GEO seems to influence the opinions. I am beginning to dislike GEO very much. I dont think they realize that over time, GEO is going to lose a lot of their viewer base simply because of their biased attitude.

Very disappointing to see our Pakistani media, which had finally flourished after over 50 years of us coming into existence, during Musharraf’s time, going through such mediocre lack of decency. Leave it to our people to ruin everything. And then we talk about wanting our civil liberties back.

Sad. Very sad.

26. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 8:32 am

Today, while traveling in the train to work at one stop our train would not move. Then there was an announcement on the speakers.
    A loud female operators screaming voice “people if you keep interferring with the automatic doors, I would not move the train further or even reverse it back to the last station!”.

Some call it a “dictatorship”

I call it “following the rules for the safety of the people”

27. Reality_Check (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 9:13 am

SHAHIDNUSA wonderful use of Isteaara, and a brilliant post, you said it all in eight lines, you topped my resignation.

28. aaXz (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 9:19 am

Wasnt it just maybe 2 weeks back that there was a whole post, and reminders in followings posts on Metblogs reminding us to STICK TO CITY AFFAIRS.

This is just senseless, there are countless blogs for you people to discuss the issues of the emergency. Karachi metblog is meant to be news about the social and civic concerns of karachi, not rubbish politics of the country.

I’d plead you people to stay by your own strongly enforced codes of conduct.

If you dont, you wont be any better than the people who’ve been running this country since Jinnah died.

29. Reality_Check (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 9:25 am

AAXYZ dont worry let them promote their PTI agenda through KMB, and as they indulge more I see more detractors rather than supporters joining in.

30. aaXz (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 9:27 am

“”"
    @IMRAN
    Self advertisement not allowed my friend. The technical way to do it is to put it on your name in “URL” option. Those who want to, will check your URL. Thanks.

You can trust our freeness by brining out something substantial. I promise, you will see it appearing on KMB as a post.

This is not PTV my friend. Enjoy the stay !!

Posted by: MB at November 14, 2007 01:18 AM
    “”

@MB

If thats the case, why do you have your own wordpress blog written across that picture you put up? Not being so honest are you?

31. MB (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 10:11 am

@AAXZ
    Care to read all comments. I cannot go on repeating things for you.

32. FAS (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 10:14 am

Till six months back I was the keen viewer and fan of Geo News, but I am realy disappointed to see the baised and non professional coverage of Geo on the affairs of pakistan. Geo should change the name to Depression (Read “Marro TV”)TV. I am surprised to see that our great Kamran Khan (in Aaj Kamran Khan Ke Sath) takes the opinion of Indian (politicians and Journalist) about the internal situation of Pakistan. I have never seen Any Indian TV taking the views from Pakistan on their internal affairs. I realy feel shame on this practice of Geo. Its good the government banned these channels who were making Laywers, Judges, Jihadies, BB, Imran, Nawaz and Qazi heros and saviours of this country. They have just one agenda in common. Remove Musharraf and start playing the same dirty game of 90s.

33. FAS (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 10:14 am

Till six months back I was the keen viewer and fan of Geo News, but I am realy disappointed to see the baised and non professional coverage of Geo on the affairs of pakistan. Geo should change the name to Depression (Read “Marro TV”)TV. I am surprised to see that our great Kamran Khan (in Aaj Kamran Khan Ke Sath) takes the opinion of Indian (politicians and Journalist) about the internal situation of Pakistan. I have never seen Any Indian TV taking the views from Pakistan on their internal affairs. I realy feel shame on this practice of Geo. Its good the government banned these channels who were making Laywers, Judges, Jihadies, BB, Imran, Nawaz and Qazi heros and saviours of this country. They have just one agenda in common and that is Remove Musharraf and start playing the same dirty game of 90s.

34. aaXz (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 10:21 am

@ MB

I have, point me to one place where you argue for your self whoring.

Also if you think removing needless comments is important, i suggest you also remove this entire irrevelant post.

Follow your own rules buddy.

35. aaxz (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 10:25 am

relevant*

36. IUnknown (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 11:14 am

@MB.. where were u when there was propaganda against taliban???

Where were u when mush. decided that we shud give support to usa against afgh.?????

why didnt u ppl shout when such incidents occured?

this is the result of ur ignorance. Take the Mush. NOW

37. qasim ali (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 11:26 am

Every great nation has passed through hard times. The trait which bad them great was that people fought for there rights and principles.

we are a young nation. Now finally we are finding principles for our nation. Rule of law, free media , democracy…..

When in a country ,people even from privilaged classes, 60+ years of retired generals , bureaucrats start coming on roads for there country. Educated people like lawyers despite being beaten by police donnot give up. Journalists refuse to bow before dictators. Pakistanis living abroad are organzing protest in there adopted country for there country men .

Wawoo I feel proud of being part of that nation.

Husne mubark is ruling Egypts for years. Turkish army threatens turks on daily basis, Hussain family in Jorden and Al bashar family in Syria.

We have successfully removed three dictatros INshALlah 4th one is on its way out.. Signs are no General will dare to take over again.

I really feel proud of being a pakistani when I see people fighting for there freedom.

Time’s up, Mr Musharraf

38. IUnknown (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 11:30 am

its good to see that ppl are at least sensing that they have made the mistake. May this be the turning point?

I think GEO shud be banned as they always have given the oppertunity to world, to make fun pakistan.
    ]
    Have u ppl ever seen any indian channel, taking their news out like GEO does? They have more liberty than our channels mind u.

39. MB (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 12:51 pm

I was right here laughing at the drama , our ARMY fooling USA with people like Ejazul Haq talking & preaching enlightenment.

We gave birth to taliban & now pretending fighting em. Such an epic movie. Ahh!! i pray USA to stay in Afghanistan else the old ISI drama of interfering using extremists and buying Warlords will start.

I remember PTV talking so high of Talibans when they took over Kabul & all of sudden its trying to act in parallel with WEST now with guls allowed tight dress & some skin show.

Hip Hip hurry!! Dunia Goal hai

40. Imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 12:57 pm

Karachi People!!!!

Its natural to get excited in discussion - BUT PLZ LET’S NOT get abusive … that totally changes the topic and the whole point is lost :(

BE REFLECTIVE. NOT REACTIVE.

Note: In the end, we’re all in this together!

41. MB (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:15 pm

@IMRAN

Thanks for deleting my 3 comments from your blog
    http://musharrafsupporters.wordpress.com/2007/11/12/where-are-the-people/

I now very well understood why you are in MUSH camp.

42. Dictator (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:23 pm
  43. aaXz (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:33 pm

Ok thats it. Im filing a complaint against you MB.

44. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 1:57 pm

@MB

Your life is way too precious to SOME, - why betting it on such a nuisance.,

The video NEWS media be it locally aired or outta some hub, they all ENCASH their airtime with the right paymaster.

- Am asking - ALL who are reading -

Consider Musharraf is DONE, OUT - what dilemma we would be having.,

with EASE of mind and focusing on general situation of common people,

what choices WE as nation have to manage PAKISTAN domestically and abroad.

- we as nation are not even unified to VOTE for someone SINGULAR or a party nominee. - The loser party of Person will ‘CLAIM’ about rigging in election - as usual since 1971

Is it not a national dilemma that we all unify to topple and over throw dictator(s), corrupt PM(s), Biased President(s), BUT we fail to be united to CHOOSE who will lead as HEAD of STATE.

- think, thats all we can do without getting hurt or going behind bars,

45. aaxz (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 3:35 pm

Anyway, ive emailed the metblogs.com people, who owns this blog anyway?

I just think this is clear abuse of authority right here in this blog and it should be stopped.

46. xyz (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 3:52 pm

MB - today you’ve lost all credibility in my eyes. How can you delete a link from someone’s comment and justify it by saying that self advertising is not allowed? I’ve seen so many people posting websites, discussion forums, blog URLs, even orkut and facebook links to join groups for a particular purpose. And here you say self advertising is not allowed? Not allowed at your own convenience han? This is simple hypocricy! and then you have the nerves to call others as ignorant or hypocrit or dictator? Grow up buddy or post such crap on your own website. This blog represents Karachi and your post is completely irrelevant in that context. All you can do is bash government and Musharraf. Try doing something worthwile and constructive for once! Unite people for some other meaningful purpose, then you will do some good for this country.

47. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 4:22 pm

@MB - here i agree with the XYZ

– Quote from XYZ –

All you can do is bash government and Musharraf. Try doing something worthwile and constructive for once! Unite people for some other meaningful purpose, then you will do some good for this country.

– Unquote –

my input & observation

I never read any of your comments being happy with what you have, you always expressed unpleasentness about what you do not have and or ‘Others’ have suffered about.

48. Zee (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 4:47 pm

Like I said, MB is a looser and probably is KMB’s Admin’s lovers :D

KMB is not your bit**. POst all this crap on your personal blog, leave Karachi out of this!

49. asa (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 5:00 pm

im simply amazed all these mush lover criticize MB delete a link from someone comment (which might be true) but whole heartedly support dictator ban on private channels ,on rallies ..wow ..wat it may be called height of Hypocrisy?

50. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 5:16 pm

- Mush is Better at then the other vultures are around to debone what is left in (with) common people - what other choice we have

it is not about PRO - OR - ANTI Musharraf, it is about ‘WHO’ AFTER HIM,

all these years ‘everyone’ turns to ARMY when sufferings starts.

51. asa (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 5:36 pm

thats our national tragedy that we always turn Army,which itself is the most corrupt organization in pakistan ..whenever Army called it make things more worst like in Ayub era Pakistan is divided in 2 state,at that time east paksitan people had extreme hatred against Army..when zia era came All this jihadis were created ,honored them as heroes from which we are suffering after 20 years ..only God knows how much our country has been damaged from current dictator

52. Imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 5:53 pm

GEO should be banned forever, NewsPaper is enough for jahiL n iLLiterate society, its not about PTV govt is not stupid CNBS n other entertainment channels are available please watch them and stop critising Mushi’s Policies he simply rulz.

53. JAY (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 6:53 pm

Stupid post from a immature person. I stopped commenting on your blogs long back but sometimes you deserve a whack left and right.

54. bluemax (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 6:54 pm

MB, you have again proved that you are an hypocrate. I dont know why KMB’s captain (Umar) doesn’t act and kick this guy out of the author’s team. MB can blog his heart out on his lame site BUT We Want Our City (err Metro Blog) Back.

55. imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 7:08 pm

This is soooooo funny. MB your hero has been beaten by IJT in punjab university..:) HAHAHAHa..he was locked in the room for more than an hour..(WOOO A GREAT LEADER LOCKED IN THE ROOM BY IJT TERRORIST AND NOBODY CAME TO RESCUE HIM>>WHAT HAPPEND TO THE SUPPOTERS OF THIS GREAT LEADER) I cant stop laughing…hahahahahaha

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/11/071114_lahore_protests_update_si.shtml

56. Imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 7:12 pm

MB, you wrote:
    “Imran, Thanks for deleting my 3 comments from your blog ‘musharrafsupporters’.
    I now very well understood why you are in MUSH camp.”

I did not delete your comments from ‘musharrafsupporters’ because it is (not my blog).
    That should clear the misunderstanding on your part :)

57. Imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 7:26 pm

To the other Imran,

thats sad if he was beaten.
    But lets not laugh at his misfortune, because anyone and everyone can become a target of extremism and ignorance.

58. imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 7:46 pm

@IMRAN,

I agree with you my friend but the funny part is that he has been beaten by jamatiis, the ones he has been running this movement with, his buddies, his friends,,OH boy he was beaten by his friends>.:) i am just waiting to see what he says aboout that because there is no way he can involve MQM in this ::))
    Hum sai uljho gai to zamanai mai jeo gai kaisai
    Hum to tumko tumharai hi doostoun sai pitwain gai

HAHAHAHAH

59. ALIVEPAKISTAN.COM (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 7:52 pm

In every government, PTV is just a puppet of government and nothing else.

60. asa (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 8:17 pm

atleast imran khan is better than other leaders who shoe up not like other hide or run away to foreign lands like your beloved leader Altaf hussain,killed thousands of innocent Mohajirs,whole of karachi is suffering and he is sitting at UK shamelessly.

and at the above you said abt Punjabistan but MQM leaders join hands with punjab chaudries ..wow haha..do u think mohajirs are fool enough to still follow MQM .

61. imran (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 8:38 pm

@ASA,
    Hold your breath my friend. MOhajir will be supporting MQM and you will see that in the next elections soon..MAN I CANT STOP LAUGHING.> I HOPE you guys saw his face on Geo when he was captured by these Jamati terrorists..( A khisyaana face)..Did you guys hear that Imran called Jamaima and cried for her help?

62. IUnknown (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 9:00 pm

@imran… please stop spreadnig racism here.
    altaf has got constipation and he is silent thats why

63. insaan (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 9:26 pm

like any other thread, all i see, spammers and trolls.

anyway, use Tor Onion Router with Privoxy, to bypass any possible censorship.

64. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 10:46 pm

Imran Khan would have been OK if he had stayed away from Qazi and Gul.
    I guess people learn the hard way, Karachiites also learnt it during the eighties and threw these ideologs out, I guess the same fate awaits them in Lahore, good riddance.

I hope now Imran Khan will become a bit more wiser and work with everyone else to take this country forward, Jamatee’s have a very thick agenda book of which Pakistan is a tiny portion.

65. Pkhan (unregistered) on November 14th, 2007 @ 10:59 pm

Overall geo and Aaj are OK as far as their programming is concern but couple of their Shows Like Mera MutabiQ and Hamid Mir’s programme are not only biased but have very little to hear new from them, they have few so called analyst’s and they repeat same stuff over and over again in each sitting.In last 10 days they have not only lost the Pakistani viewers but internationally too.They are calling for INTERNATIONAL help over and Over again.WHERE is PAKISTAN? Does IT not come First or as some one said All Pakistani Qaum is HIJRA? We should not be calling for out side interferance from any one and if they interfare then EVERY one Knows the Consequences.

66. Imran (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:07 am

IUnknown, you wrote
    “stop spreading racism …”

I dont do that because racism is negative. My closest friends include punjabis. A person’s ethnic background is never a criteria for friendship, not in my eyes.

The term ‘Punjabistan’ is a reference for ‘establishment’ and can be found on the net, i have not created it.

67. Balma (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:20 am

I support and demand free media, and I also demand that Budnazir be arrested immediately and tried for corruption. She MUST return all the looted money.

68. SELF (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:37 am

“The term ‘Punjabistan’ is a reference for ‘establishment’ and can be found on the net, i have not created it.”

Funny that military dictator/president/chief of army staff is a bhayya from Karachi….and so are PM, federal ministers and administration of Sindh, still it is a Punjabi problem??? Seems, like any incompetent person, bhayyas like to blame it on everyone else except themselves. Bhayyas are doing an excellent job of ruining the country and Karachi. They don’t need any outside help, Punjabi or otherwise.

69. Balma (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:39 am

Self: khul kar saamnay aanay kaa shukriyah.

70. imran (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:40 am

Self why dont you take the next Chanap express and go where you belong CHPAYAI..

71. SELF (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:43 am

You don’t complain on Punjabistan. You are hardly in a position to give anyone lecture.

72. SELF (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:50 am

Imran Bhayya, dil ko lagi kiyya? Umma aap ko kis nay kaha tha panga lo? :P

…aray bhai ham tu yahan kay asal rehnay walay hain…muhajar to aap hain…ub wapis upnay watan ko pidhareeay…baree tawazeh karalee hamnay…

73. SELF (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:54 am

Balma: You don’t complain on Punjabistan. You are hardly in a position to give anyone lecture.

74. TURAB (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:57 am

as an overseas pakistani , being sick of geo propoganda , i have volunteerily returned to the news on PTV!

75. Balma (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:58 am

Self: Here is my comment on Panjabistan type comments: Shove it up guys.
    Now can I lecture?

Everyone stop this nonsense. All of us have to stop Budnazir from taking advantage of this situtation.

76. SELF (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:58 am

*incompetent and corrupt person

77. Well Wisher (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 12:59 am

It was 2002, round about the controversial referendum. I ran into a party worker of PTI at a social gathering. I was reading “The Big Test: The Secret History of American Meritocracy” about the founders of the ETS those days. In any case, I was excited at the possibility of getting something meaningful directly through to Mr. Khan, so I did. With a note inside the book saying how I have always hoped he would lead the nation.

A few weeks later, I got an email out of the blue from Mr. Khan sharing his thoughts on the book. The great Khan had not only read the book, he had also taken time to share his thoughts on it. I felt humbled and honored. I wrote back saying so. I also asked him whether it would be possible to meet him, pending his convenience. I was thrilled when he said yes.

My next trip to Pakistan, which was some months prior to the elections, I called his house in Islamabad. I told the operator my name and with giddy excitement waited for the next voice that would come on line. I heard such an unpretentious hello and it came so suddenly that I wasn’t sure whether it was hired help in the house that had picked up the phone. I inquired whether I could speak to Imran Khan Sahb, and was shocked to hear that it was the man himself. Nervous and giddy with excitement, I asked whether I could come see him. “When” he asked. “Whenever it is convenient for you” I responded. “How about right now?”

Next thing I know, I arrive at his house near Faisal Mosque. The intelligence sleuths were tagging me so prior to ringing the bell outside, I walked up to them and told them that I was here to see “a friend” and that they needn’t worry about it. They could go grab a meal or something and that I would meet them at the exact same spot in an hour or two. I rang the bell and a chokidaar led me to the front lawn. Out came the great Mr. Khan, in shalwar kameez and waistcoat, as real as light of day. I extended my hand uncomfortably in his direction. He was accompanied by his dog. The dog was not one of those pedigreed kind, it was one our very own local battle hardened breeds from the Pakistani hinterland.

We sat in the lawn and I began by saying how I can not believe that I was sitting with him. A man I had grown up to idolize for the pride and happiness he had given me. Mr. Khan was incredibly gracious and I was floored. We talked about the country and the people. He said how he felt hopes with my father but that folks like Tariq Aziz were ruining it for him by consorting with the Chaudhries before the elections. He said there was an opportunity to do it right for Pakistan whatever it takes (read: state patronage). I sat and listened to the great Khan speak and left feeling humbled by his openness and desire for change.

I conveyed Mr, Khan’s apprehensions to my father. My father said that as far as he was concerned, Imran was an outstanding individual and worthy of support. He told me that Imran (accompanied by Jemima) was the only political person that he hosted privately at home. However, his advisors had done their due diligence and determined that he does not enjoy the “ground swell” that he thinks he does. There had been incidents where was stone out of Karachi University’s campus, perhaps because of ethnic frictions ala MQM. Nonetheless, what my father recommended to Mr. Khan was to bite the bullet in the short run and enter an alliance with the party that is emerging which is willing to negotiate with the government. Once he has the experience, the exposure and the “ground swell” confirmed, he can do whatever he likes.

An alliance with the Chaudhries was unacceptable to Mr. Khan and he proceeded to break rank with my father and launch himself on a collision course with the establishment leading up to the elections. Whether PTI’s one seat in the NA would have been different if my father had openly supported Mr Khan’s nascent party instead of PML(Q) is anyone’s guess. I do believe that they did not create obstacles in his political campaign and the results are a reflection of where he actually stands in terms of grass roots politicking.

Ofcourse hind sight is 20/20 and it is difficult to look back today and be sure of how things would have played out differently. However, I do feel that if Mr Khan had been open to a PTI alliance with PML(Q), he could very well have been sitting in the PM’s office today. This is all the more tragic given what I will share with you next.

Soon after the GSB commencement in June this year, I visited Pakistan for two weeks. During my stay I went to a private gathering at the residence of Mr Humayun Gauhar. It was a small group of individuals present at that gathering, which also included Chaudhry Shujaat and Yousuf Salahuddin. This was my first time meeting both gentlemen. What struck me was not meeting them as much as meeting them together at the same gathering. Wasn’t the famous Yousuf Salli (of the Lahore Haveli) close buddies with Mr. Khan, I thought?

I couldn’t help it so the very next day, I sent a text message to Yousuf Sallahuddin requesting to meet him (I had taken his mobile number the night before). He was very welcoming and asked me to come to Chaudhry Shujaat’s residence in Islamabad. My curiosity had no limits now. I got the address and went through three barriers to get to the Chaudhry’s pad in Islamabad. Out came Yousuf Salli in shorts and a t-shirt. We went up to his “designated” abode on the very top of the Chaudhry residence.

After some very brief small talk (I couldn’t hold it any longer), I impulsively started a Q&A that was burning inside of me:

BM: “Aren’t you friends with Imran Khan?”
    YS: “Oh yes, we’re very close”

BM: “Please explain this to me because I was under the impression that Imran hates the Chaudhries. Wasn’t this the reason why he went against my father in the first place?”
    YS: “Oh that… yeah he was mistaken about them. I got the cleared up. You see Imran had never met the Chaudhries, and didn’t realize what kind of individual he was. All I did was take Chaudhry Sahb to Imran’s house one time, and he realized how non-threatening, “Biba” type person Chaudhry Sahb was.”

BM: “What!!! You mean to tell me that Imran is ok with the Chaudhries now?”
    YS: “Yeah, he doesn’t think they are that big of a deal.”

This exchange left me quite bent out of shape in the weeks to come. Before I parted that day, I told Mr. Salahuddin that if there was any way to make amends, so the two men that I hold in such high esteem could stand together on a platform for taking the reform agenda forward, I would do whatever I can in my personal capacity to make that happen. He promised to try. I never heard back.

In July I stopped for a few days in Pakistan on my way to doing an internship with the New Hope Group in Chengdu, China. I was in Karachi when I heard that my father had paid a surprise visit to Dubai that day to meet with BB. I was pleased, because I felt there was a need for him rise above the fray and not be bound to the Chaudhry’s politics. Just as I heard this breaking news I got a text message from Mr Salahuddin saying that Imran was thinking seriously about my offer and will get back. I never heard back.

On a separate note, I was talking to Laura Lauder, one of the founders of the Socrates Society at the Aspen Institute in July this year. After discussing the details on the seminar on “Globalization” that was taking place, she brought up Jemima out of the blue. She said that she was in UK and was at a gathering where Jemima was sitting at the same table and shared her experience in Pakistan. I told Laura that I felt Jemima is still respected in Pakistan and whatever happened between the two of them, my sympathies are with her because I find Mr. Khan a rigid person. She responded by saying that that is what she heard from Jemima as well and that she held my father in respect. We didn’t pursue the topic any further.

Whether Jemima’s nostalgia for Imran is perhaps going to lead to amends in their relationship, I can’t help thinking that somehow Pakistan and my father are not completely unrelated to what happened between them. From what my mother tells me, Jemima was very warm and affectionate towards them.

78. SELF (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 1:05 am

Balma: Very seriously..I was only kidding and my comments were only for idiots. I defend everyone and fight all bigotries, my comments are a testimony to that, that is after ignoring the very rare ones directed towards idiots like Imran. This is just my way to show that everyone needs to be fair to everyone else, as unfairness hurts others. I know bit harsh but sometimes nothing else seems to work in our society.

Anyways my apologies to you.

79. Balma (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 1:10 am

Oh bhai Well Wisher, apnay aboo ko bolyae keh Budnazir ko jail mae daalai’n aur oos chore aurat say billion plus dollars vaapis lai’n….yeh kyaa dubai may mulaqaatai’n ho rahi’n thee’n aur ab noora kushti ho rahee hae. Tell your aboo, Balma does not like Budnazir at all.

80. imran (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 1:19 am

Insider from PU reports that when Imran was taken in the room by jamati they did the Chamba parade and he was asked to say “sorry” for entering into PU. Imran was so scared and was affraid that they would harm him.

Before you guys jump in and say something just to let you know that I am just reporting something that has been reported by somebody who was in PU at that time.

81. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 1:29 am

Yes BALMA - SELF and I have been together on Lal Masjid issue and religous biggotry but differ on MQM/Feudals but our exchanges have always been objective, and never boiled over. i guess every body looses cool sometime.

A question to WELLWISHER. How come the great Khan got stuck with Hameed Gul and Qazi? Me and BALMA have a first hand experience of Hameed Gul, we know what it is like to listen to his rants, how come Khan got mesmerized by this crazy fellow?

82. Balma (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 1:44 am

What is Chamba parade? Inquiring minds would like to know!
    poor imran Khan. I think he should be let out immediately. He is no way as bad as Budnazir, NoSharif etc. He is arrogant, I agree. Bit stupid, I agree. But, he should be let out….made to do AQ Khan style confession of his beyvaqoofis, and then encouraged to build hospitals and universities in PK. He can do that much better than anyone else. Imran, kyoon siyasat may jaa kar apnee maTTee paleed karvaa raha hae. Sitaao’n say aagaay Jemimas aur bhee hai’n. Abhee ishq kay imitahaan aur bhee hai’n bhai. Lets see 5 more hospitals in PK.

83. S.I. (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 5:12 am

I thought MB was a girl…

84. khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 7:29 am

Pakistan needs independent judiciary, free media,and a vigilant public to keep moving to empower itself. “Who after Musharraf?” is a
    pointless question to ask. Granted that there is no saint available at the moment; the pressure of independent courts and assertive media will sooner or later force the politicians, no matter how corrupt, to be on the back foot. Cleansing a system as corrupt as ours will be a slow process.
    But without free courts and media, it has no hope of even getting started.

Wake up people. Musharraf has already blinked today. A little while longer, and he will be history.

There was a community of muslims long ago, which survived the departure of Muhammad(SAW). So don’t spread unnecessary gloom and doom. There will be life after Musharraf as sure as the sun is going to rise from the east tomorrow.

If we can’t survive without one man, we don’t deserve to.

85. Reality_Check (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 8:49 am

KHANABADOSH that community of Muslims did not started in-fighting the day the prophet left this earth till now. From Sahabi’s to ordinary Muslims we are all guilty of infighting throughout the ages.

Here I will like to quote Allama Iqbal who saw what was coming and advised the nation;

Musharraf key saath Rabtaa ustawaar rakh
    Pewasta rah shajar se umeed-e-bahaar rakh

:-)

86. Reality_Check (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 8:51 am

Oh…correction to the above, please remove “did not”

87. khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 11:27 am

@Reality_Check: Thanks for your “poetic” suggestion. I rather prefer to remain “paivasta” to my conscience.

Also, I have no wish to engage in sectarian arguments. If you are interested in shia-sunni polemics, please engage in them with someone else.

88. IUnknown (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 11:31 am

i dont know why imran went to PU

89. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 11:53 am

@WELL WISHER

With reference to your father, seems like I know who you are :)

- Guide me if your elaboration / narration does have any relativity to the topic.????

90. khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 11:55 am

“i dont know why imran went to PU”

Yes, bother. And what is worst, this happened in Lahore not in Karachi.

Dang!!! now some of us on KMB won’t be able to blame bhayyas and the MQM. What a shame :-(

91. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 1:34 pm

The supposedly “Peace among the masses of Karachi” is very deafening and noticed with great concern around PAKISTAN.

The international News Video & Radio media is also covering little of Karachi situation after emergency., and focusing on where the UNREST of Opportunist IS.

Thanks to PEMRA for blackout of Opportunist.

Way to GO Karachi - Stayin Alive !

92. Concerned (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 6:22 pm

MB

I might not know too much about the issue but I am quite aware of your double standards. Anything for Mushy will be rejected without a second thought and You will encourage any anti mushy link.

Grow up kid, its a big world and everything is not black or white (right or wrong). Learn to take others point of view.

Karachi doesnt care abt this whole scenario not bec of MQM but bec we like wht mushy has done. that is why no is protesting and ppl are going abt their lives. Learn to respect that and dont give stupid arguements

Geay Musharraf

93. Zee (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 6:29 pm

“Funny that military dictator/president/chief of army staff is a bhayya from Karachi….and so are PM, federal ministers and administration of Sindh, still it is a Punjabi problem??? Seems, like any incompetent person, bhayyas like to blame it on everyone else except themselves. Bhayyas are doing an excellent job of ruining the country and Karachi. They don’t need any outside help, Punjabi or otherwise.”

Dude, It was Nawaz Shareef and your precious Bich*NaZIR who won the seats and ran the country for a over a decade WITHOUT an investment and what we are facing today is because of your previous punjabi asswipes! Bhayyas from Karachi have been feeding this country ever since it was created. Working hard so YOU sit in YOUR HAVALIES and feed your miserable dagga children to grow up and loot the country further. We should stop giving taxes and see how long you survive without our support

94. Concerned (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 6:41 pm

Any idea who this well wisher dude is?? nice story though, dont know if its true.

And I guess Imi is prob sincere too, but like WW said he is too rigid. He wants evrything done his way.

I still say this, if Imi had joined even with MQM he could have been the PM now, but he was too rigid to compromise and that is wht is leading to his downfall.

95. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 7:16 pm

I guess this well wisher is Bilal Musharraf s/o Musharraf. He went to Stanford Business school and sent that email last week to his Stanford fellows. I thought it’s quite obvious who has written that email.

96. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 7:31 pm

KHANABADOSH chill out dude. As for answering to ones conscious, I am not being paid to defend Mush, in fact we all come here to share our opinions formed by our experiences and study. It’s perfectly natural to be on one side on another. Here I despise Jamal who is very clear headed, neutral and thus safe, whereas, I am obviously biased and prone to be proven wrong ( as I have been in the past), but that should not deter me or anyone else from choosing sides, this is what life is all about making choices. I sincerely wish that you are lucky with yours and good finally emerges from this mess.

JAMAL I will second your thoughts; Karachi escaping the lime light in all this so called turmoil makes me feel that level headedness is boring. My sympathies are with the traffic signals particularly in Liaquatabad, they must be saying, “how come nobody is coming after us, please give us a break.”

97. khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 10:52 pm

“KHANABADOSH chill out dude. As for answering to ones conscious, I am not being paid to defend Mush, in fact we all come here to share our opinions formed by our experiences and study”.

Certainly. I have no problem “chilling out”. You, Jamal and any number of others, and all pro-Mush Karachiites are entirely entitled to your opinions.

If you think your wishes will keep Musharraf in power, then more power to you. But there is a lot of difference between wishes, whims, and reality. Tomorrow, the general will be there no longer. I hope you have given some thought as to which orphanage you prefer to join.

Would going back to the 90’s be worth it?

98. Saima Nasir (unregistered) on November 15th, 2007 @ 11:33 pm

reality wrote:
    “This torture by PTV should make you realize what actually Mush has given to this Nation.
    This exploding Media, development in internet infrastructure, freedom of Press and all our liberties that we have been taking for granted, a decade ago no such thing existed.”

Why are you or anyone for that matter so apologetic and thankful for the above; these are our basic rights and not previliges that a dictator awarded us for being “good servants”….you talk of anti-feudalism and then behave like a loyal peasant….wake up!!! we as nation deserve more…they are not doing us any favours …infact they have been living of us for too long!

99. Saima Nasir (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 12:00 am

correction: off us

100. News Reader (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 12:18 am

another comic character “soomro” has been introduced in the play. let’s see, how long this drama keeps its suspense. LOLZ

101. Balma (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 12:47 am

Is Bilal musharraf really smart, or he got into Stanford Biz school due to his father’s name?
    AFter all, we know Budnazir getting into Harvard and hearing from her school class mates, she was not really that sharp! Sneaky and crook, yes….but not intelligent and intellectual. Chore hae saalee.

102. Concerned (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 1:10 am

See i dont think it either of mushys kids, its prob a joke.

103. Concerned (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 1:20 am

Ms Nasir,

It is good to see you still believe you live in the perfect world, where ppl get their rights. Do pay a visit to interior sindh and then we will talk abt rights. The poor hari earns barely enough to buy 2 rotis and the fuedal drives a Prado worth enough to feed the entire family of the Hari for generations.

Just answer me this, the rights you have talked about have existed for the past 50 years, how come we only got it over the last 8 years.

Madam, I agree its your right but appreciate the fact that you got them. And no one here is acting like a servant, I can say for my self that I genuinly like the guy and will honour his requests not because I have to but becuase I want to.

104. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 1:21 am

Balma, Bilal has been in US for 10-15 years and has worked for top accounting firms. I really don’t think that his dad has some thing to play in his career.

105. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 1:36 am

KHANABADOSH this veiled threat of going back to the 90’s is being hurled quite frequently in various forums. Jamal is a neutral guy but let me assure you, all the possibilities have been studied and worst case scenarios discussed, we are quite comfortable of what we have right now i.e. peace and can handle the worst i.e. war. In the meantime if there is a national calamity we will be there to lend our hand.

Pun aside in the last few years we have come to realize what enormous benefits are to be had when there is a set agenda for development, despite the load shedding and stormy weather we have seen all communities that comprise Karachi being put to work and contributing. Even a Pathan running the transport business does not wants to shut down his service for a strike call no matter who calls it. And that’s good for everyone, this means that common man is not listening to the politicians, what more a person could ask for? As Jamal has put so rightly, “My politics is limited to my MNA, MPA, Councillor being assessable to me and working to solve my problems” , Isn’t it what democracy is all about? Who cares what Altaf and anybody else says the bottom line is, the one whom I have given my vote works for me or not?

106. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 1:46 am

SAIMA nothing you say is wrong ….. But what can I say: Mein Reality kee chakkee mein piss key Reality_Check bana hoon and that’s my problem, work for ideals but live in reality.

107. D_AS_IN_DUMB (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 3:37 am

Let me say this with all due apologies that Pakistani kids are normally quite DUMB no matter what. The bright kids who go to top Pakistani schools or go abroad for furhter studies, have only one dream, and that is, live in some foreign country in Europe, Middle East, or North America, earn lots of money in foreign currency, and become rich. They CAN’T think beyond that.

Because of these stupid mnisconceptions and stereotypes, we haven’t been able to produce any leaders in 60 years of history.

Musharraf, Bhutto, Zia-ul-Haq, Nawaz Shareef, and many more infamous names, all their kids fall into the same category: “D as in DUMB”..

108. Pkhan (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 5:33 am

Saima Writes,”infact they have been living of us for too long!” Why did you not wake up when nothing was given to you, where were your rights in a SO CALLED CIVILIAN democracy of CORRUPT politicians.This Govt has guided the nation in the right Path now it is up to the nation and elite class like you to follow through other wise all of us will go back to STONE AGE if we let people play politics for the sake of politics and ladies from HERA MUNDI START POLITICAL CAMPAIGNs on the street of Lahore.

109. khanabadosh (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 7:22 am

@Reality_Check: In fact I agree with you. The local councillor, MPA, and MNA may very well matter far more. This is what I keep telling Jamal but there is no end to his lamenatations about “if not Musharraf, then who?”. Maybe you can tell him that Mush really doesn’t matter all that much.

Also, I am thrilled to know that you have all the contigencies figured out — be it peace or war in the coming days. I just want to be sure you have squared it all with Imran before he declares you an Indian agent.

110. Tariq (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 10:17 am

bilal musharraf is an Actuarian and actuarial science is a field of geniuses (man i hated to say that, but its reality unfortunately). very few actuarians in our country.

111. ali (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 10:29 am

i admire musharaf for wat he s doing.. keeping public out of politics for a time being and doin the cleanup is wat actually musharaf is focussing on.. if he lets media propagate each picture, there WILL be protests for sure.. no one seems to notice the other side of the picture.. let him do the job.. and lets have trust in him.. if we will keep protesting, we will only increase his problems.. let him focus on the right path and lets wait for the resusults… judiciary judiciary.. we dont want corrupt judiciary.. thats wat musharaf is trying to say… wat we need to develop is Trust… kissi per tu TRUST karo logo… revolution ke liye kuch safaya karna parta hai doston… there seeem to be good motives behind his actions.. i find conviction in his speeches… motive is not power but SAVING PAKISTAN .

112. Saima Nasir (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 10:33 am

I have lived and worked in some areas of interior Sindh and have travelled to some remote areas of Balauchstan also, along with smaller cities and towns of Punjab….The reason that Feudal goes around in a Pajero is because there is no accountability for him. He has the protection of the Civil or a milititary dictator through his connections in the establishment…..

some people in their own way have always raised voices against the dictators be it Ayub, Bhutto or Zia and now Musharraf…..so no one was sleeping during that time, people were struggling then…people are struggling now and same kind of reasons and logics were used for all the dictators in the past

you and I or anyone in Pakistan should be free to side with and like any person to be their leaders, be it Mush,BB,Nawaz or Chaudries for that matter. The point here is that no one should do it by force. Musharraf Should contest in an election through a platform of any party or as an independent candidate and let the peolple decide…..

Personalities should not be bigger than institutions!

113. Imran (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 11:51 am

Seeing pictures of Imran Khan in print & electronic media, being hurled around, brutalized and manhandled (at the hands of students of Jamat-e-Islami) at Punjab University … reminded me of a similar incident where i was traumatized by these psychopath terrorists. This is the first time im writing about it.

It happened some time ago while i was a student at a prominent state university of Karachi.

“My crime”, as i was later “told” by my abductors, was that i wrote an article that spoke about ‘the achievements of women in eastern societies’ (this is not the exact title). The article was written for the university’s quarterly magazine, as requested by the Head of the English Language Club, who was also a professor and editor of the magazine. She asked me to write objectively and that the article would be published as it is, without any bias or editing. I thought this was a rare opportunity where a professor asked you to write something that would be published. She kept her promise and the article was published. Little did i know it would generate so much attention. It first generated a lot of positive attention, the article was well received by certain members of the faculty … and some faculty members also criticized it negatively (in particular the Head of Religious Studies; he actually called & asked me which organisation or NGO i was working for!!! LOL). I thought that was funny … Can’t anybody write from their own mind, or is everyone “sponsored” by an agency with an agenda?. Personally i saw nothing controversial in the article, it spoke about the achievements of women in eastern society with real-world examples like Razia Sultan, Mohtarma Fatima Jinnah, Asma Jahangir & Benazir Bhutto. The magic moment was when 3 articles from the magazine (mine included) were approved & we were asked to read them aloud to all university students in the auditorium.

Then, the nightmare began. The next day i was picked up from the parking lot by 5 or 6 students of Jamaat-e-Islami (some f’d up name like shabab-e-milli or something). They dragged and hurled me to a desolate spot in the university (and ripped the magazine). They kicked me like a football and kept repeating “apologize for saying that women are equal to men. Are you a muslim?”. — Yes I did write men and women are equal and i dont that that Islam which is an egalitarian religion would degrade the status of women below men.

I’ll skip the part about the physical pain - because it’s really the thought of someone forcing their fanatic point of view on you, which is more disturbing. This act of terrorism, inside a university of repute, compelled me to tell the incident to the VC, and asked for his help. He told me to forget that the whole thing happened. He said, ‘Beta ye sirf 6 loag nahin hain jinhon ne puri university ko yarghamal bana rakha hai, inke pechay aur bohat loag hain. What do u expect me to do? Do u want more violence?’.

I remember that day, walking away feeling a changed and degraded human being. Was the VC right in saying that a few fanatics can hold an entire university hostage, who want to shove their narrow mindset on an entire nation- using religion at free will as their tool for emotional blackmail? WHO ARE THESE PEOPLE? AND HOW DID THEY GET THIS WAY? Has the Pakistani Society become so powerless that in cannot/ does not want to take decisive action against these fanatic elements in our society - who are quitefrankly destroying the fabric of a vibrant & free society.

I haven’t put pen to paper since that day, but if i ever do, i would like to document ‘the degradation of Pakistani Society at the hands of fanaticism & islamic extremism/fundamentalism.’

114. SELF (unregistered) on November 16th, 2007 @ 11:59 am