Geo still off the airwaves, other’s slowly returning
This morning, while channel surfing, i found quite a few local TV channels were again on air. Notable news channels among them were
1. Dawn News
2. Aaj TV
3. TV One
4. Dhoom TV
5. Indus News
While local entertainment channels were also pretty much there. Geo, however, is still off the air.
Related posts:

They all came on last evening. The chanels have been re-opened or re-allowed to broadcast in preparation of the visit of the US deputy secretary of state.
In the same light they have lifted Benazir’s house arrest too.
As long as GEO continues to act the way that they have, I pray they dont make it back. Ever.
Freedom of speech doesnot only apply to all the bad, it applies to reality, which I know for a fact is not all bad.
Indus aur Tv one tou kaafi din pahle se hi open thay
Indus News didn’t go off air in Lahore’s WorldCall at all.
nor did dhoom tv, its an MQM propaganda channel with close government links, last night a women was praising government for emergency and all in a program on dhoom TV, i didn’t knew what was the reason, purpose or name of that program? It was so weird as if conducted on gun point!
We dont want GEO back. There are already way too many “Indian” channels on air.
… And they should (again) go off-air if they resort to BIASED, ONE SIDED, HALF TRUTH, OVER-EXAGGERATED, TWISTED journalsim with an agenda.
FREEDOM OF PRESS is a democratic fundamental right of a democratic society. Musharraf is a man who knows that, which is why he (did) give a free hand to press to report all this time, resulting in the press ABUSING the power vested to them which then had to be taken away seeing their irresponsible and biased journalism.
Journalism should address problems, NOT create CHAOS in Society. It should report, NOT decide for people and influence them. If journalism is un-biased THE PEOPEL WILL DEICDE FOR THEMSELVES.
Yes it is naive to think that no-one has an agenda or that there is a news channel out there that is not biased but GEO & others crossed the limit of one-sided reporting this time.
imran: i wholeheartedly agree. Hear hear!
live with talat hussain and bolta pakistan are closed till further notice….
take that freedom of expression!!!!
Geo should be banned forever, we don’t want chaos in the country.
geo will be back, cos at the end of the day this channel only cares about money and is the greediest of all,
they will do anything to be back.
Why don’t we ban everything that anyone disagrees with? That would solve a load of problems.
I THINK THERE SHUD BE ONE MORE CHANNEL GEOMUSH CHANNEL
ramzan: lol! that would solve a lot of problems for Geo networks :D
aaj tv back on, on condition that they dont air bolta pakistan and talat…soon Geo will be air without Dr shahid & hamid mir.
When money talks, objectivity takes a hike. Dictator rulz
Geo should not be back on air. specially, Dr. shahid masood, stupid guy (used be hot headed ppp worker)I dont know who watches his show. I tried to watch it couple of time but could not stand him more than 4 minutes. This guy should be taken off air or Geo should start SHAHID ON DEMAND(pay per view) for those who really dying to watch his show.
Mushrraf is allowing back channels that will not question his actions. That is no freedon of the press!!
Until Geo is back, the truth of musharraf the dictator is apparent for all to see. We need channels that have the guts to stand up to the rulers. Bring back GEO you tinpot dictator musharraf. You cant suppress truth forever.
Geo Zindabad!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Well, thank god all the channels are returning. Still waiting for Geo, though! :D
Talk of gossip mongering here is one article that will play nicely in the minds of Pakistanis
http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/world/asia/article2848490.ece#comments-form
The only channels returning are those that have signed papers saying they will not criticize musharraf or the steps he has taken against the judges. That is the conditions for return.
Geo has refused to sign this document. All power to GEO for standing up to this disgrace musharraf.
Jiway Jiway Geo!!!!
Geo is showing clips of the brave musharraf police beating up Imran Khans sisters in lahore and throwing them in Jail.
This is the truth the shameless dictator does not want you to see.
Bool kay lab aazaad hain tairey!!!!! Jiway GEO.
Geo to Shut Down
http://alirazashaikh.blogspot.com/2007/11/geo-to-shut-down.html
Truth can not be suppressed. If govt shuts Geo down, the truth will move to the web as long as there are those who can stand up for the truth. The brutal dictator musharraf is going down fast.
KARACHI: There are reports that the government of Pakistan is using its influence with a foreign country to get the Geo TV network closed down.
It should be noted that Geo news and its entire sister channels had been closed down across Pakistan after the imposition of emergency.
Earlier, the cable operators in Pakistan were forced to close all channels being operated by Geo Network and the Pakistani viewers were deprived of the great source of information.
The latest developments are that the government of Pakistan has gone to the limit of seeking the closure of Geo News network across the globe through a country.
well firstly its not that gov. is making all channels sign paper that will not critize them.
its called a code of conduct, which everyone has except pakistan.
fact is that, pakistan was the only country with a media running without a code of conduct, and all these channels were running and abusing there freedom.
geo are liers and dr shahid masood and hamid mir have always been spreading lies about the gov.
geo being shut down is another lie,which they probably made up.
Geo says its being forced to shutdown from dubai..
dictator showing its true colors
Well This is to inform you all guys , Geo TV network being closed . Reports are confirmed, Pakistan Govt is contacting Dubai Govt to shutdown the Geo Tv. And all dialogues are Finalized. It will be closed by tomorrow(November 18th 2007).
Ashar Ahmed
Geo Television Network ( Pakistan )
yaar kya jaldi thi….abhi aadhi DVD’s pardee thiein…ab kon dekhney dey gaa…?
ps:if it is true that geo is back on air in some parts of karachi on some of the more ultra advanced(not worldcall)cable networks then the ongiong deal about the jamshed town HaleemDine in takeaway and free delivery at the tariq road triple decker is off permanently….
But if is untrue than why blame me or my girls for it this over stay is definitely something of Ms gharib’s doing…Ha Ha…!i told you so….Have a nice day!
Jang facing similar situation like they faced during Nawaz govt. Shahid might join ARY again. :-)
Amir liaquat doing typical Dramay Bazi and have no guts to say anything against Altaf bai’s allies.
@Kads: you said right. The matter is that the dictator is reaching to the stage which every dictator faces one day. Two days back Mush was crying that West disappointed him. General has been feeling more and more insecure these days. So he is considering everyone his enemy. What a pitty condition I must say. This NewYork time articles says all:
tinyurl.com/3des4r
The GEO network is getting closed
http://islamabad.metblogs.com/
http://live.pakfiles.net/geo/
Ok, GEO surrendered too. All drama started by GEO people ended when they announced that only news channel is being closed not entertaining channel.
NO COUNTRY has a code of conduct that forbids the news channels from criticizing the dictator and his sacking of the supreme court judges and replacing them with his own lackeys. This is NOT a code of conduct. This is suppression of media and making sure they all sing songs praising musharraf.
Musharraf and his code of conduct can both go to hell!
entertaining channel help promoting enlightened moderation.. so they’re acceptable to dictator.. while news channel is a nightmare for him.. so naturally he wanted them off air..
*comment moderated*
Geo as usual created hype and tried to prove other channels surrendered but not them.
This is something which I really abhor about Jang network. They used to do similar thing with help of Awam and now GEO. They don’t confirm things and start whining. I saw how a lady was crying on phone. Geo MUST getrid of this crap as many of us know that Jang has always been part of ruling govt. This is how Mir Khalilur Rahman ran his empire.
@Adnan
Are you saying that Geo News is back on air and has signed musharraf’s “code of misconduct”? Because we are talking about independent and free news channels here and not entertainment channels.
First time in the history of Pakistan u can now even see Male police personnel manhandling WOMEN in pakistan. Unbelievable!!!!! Even dictators like ZIA, Yahya and ayub khan didn’t do this.
SHAME!!!!!
@Khan
You are correct. This is the dirty and rotten mentality of musharraf the dog that he has now started attacking the sisters and women of his opponents. This shows what a coward he is. What a disgrace to the whole nation this idiot is. He is not even fit to lead pack of wild dogs, let alone a nation as president.
MB…what are you doing in Pakistan? With your distasteful and disgraceful sex video idea (even if you were joking), you should be living in the States.
Perfect example of how the West has not only affected our way of life, but also how it has affected our thought processes and values. God save our future generations.
@ Ali Jafri,
Looks like your wish has come true; Geo is not only banned, it is also being forced to shutdown!!!
Yaar khuch aur he maang lia hota tum nay us waqt :)
GEO should be banned permanently! It’s not a channel, it’s pure evil :s
for those of you who are crying that musharraf banned them for critising him,
just turn your telly on and watch aaj tv and dawn, they have signed the CoC and are back and allready critising the gov.
geo which clearly has ego problems has failed to sign a CoC which has nothing to do with critizing the gov.
geo was biased, they were liers and had ego problems and got what they deserved.
and why did they object to CoC, did they even bother reading it i wonder, i dint find anything wrong with it, dawn didnt ajj didnt etc. geo have serious problems and just wanted to create a stir get cheap publicity and then they will probably go ahead and sign it
@SUH
Since you have read it, why dont you share the COC with us here on the web and what it asks for?
- Does it not ban the channel from criticizing musharraf?
- Does it not ban the channel from questioning the actions of the police (like beating women)?
- Does it not ban the criticism of the musharraf picked judges that he has put there himself?
If you see nothing wrong with the above, you need serious help and need to get your head examined!
The blackmailer goes. I hope it never comes back.
@Ashar Ahmed: I am glad that you guys are off air now! I hope that you guys NEVER return. You ruined the name of reporting and journalism!
Jhoot kay saath “MAT” geo :D
YAAYY! GEO IS GONE FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Next up… AAJ tv :D
@ KADS
its fools like you who dnt read things but go on to make assumptions.
it is just people like you who have deteriated pakistan.
and NO the CoC doesnt have any of the above in it
its fools like you who need to get there heads checked,
as for your stupid ignorant remarks, the CoC was in the business recorder, here it is posted below, read if you know how to or get your head check first if you need to.
Well done Mush. Please never lift a ban from Geo.
Too happy too soon ??? hahahaha lets play shall we ?
GEO is coming back my friends and I promise you that for sure…
you just watch :) …….
There are more than enough willing and able Patriotic Pakistanis around the world including me, ready to do whatever it takes rather than just be happy or frustrated.
Government of Dubai has dug its own grave, they will pay too :)
GEO MUSHARRAF aur GENAY DO GEO!
geo dil laga kae geo
geo mast hokar pio
geo shahid ki laffazi sae geo
geo Mir ki bharkiun kae sath geo
geo kamran kae karbalaee face kae sath geo
geo jhoot dikha kae geo
geo break……ing ….news kae sath geo
geo Dubai sae nikal kar geo
Sirf PTV dekh kar GEO ?
La ilm reh kar GEO ?
GEO…… KHUDA KE LIYE JENAY DO…. !!
http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/17/top5.htm
Geo and ARY transmission shutdown
GEO Logon ko Pagal kar ke Khud ki Dukan Chamka ke MAT JEO..!
Mush is going crazy, it is said that when a person start taking wrong steps, it eventually becomes a habbit and to that person it becomes a norm which in the end results in his/her catastrophe, i fear something similar with regards to Mush, eventually today or tomorrow he’ll fall badly, and this time no one is going to pick him up and he is surely going to register his name in the black books!
The power has blind-folded his eyes, but this will not take much longer to unfold.
Are you saying that Geo News is back on air and has signed musharraf’s “code of misconduct”?
There is a difference between GEO network and other banned channels like AAJ and ARY. I don’t know about ARY but AAJ was *realsed* after reaching to agreement that Talat’s “LIVE WITH TALAT” and Mushtaq Minhas’ “BOLTA PAKISTAN” would not go on air. Talat reacted and I read somewhere that he is ready to resign. Personally I consider more credible than Mir and Masood. The way he exposed fascism of MQM on 12th May is commendable.
Unlike AAJ and ARY, Geo has a separate news channel. Geo’s anchors Sana and Shahid created a hype that “Entire” Geo network which includes AAG, Super etc also being shutdown. A lady called and cried on phone. ajeeb drama sa thaa. Amir Liaquat as usual didn’t have guts to condemn Altaf bai’s allies and did typical drama bazi.
The truth which was revealed in later to Shahid was, only NEWS channel is closed. It means GEO management also surrendered to Govt and they have no right to criticize AAJ etc. It means they got agreed NOT to telecast any program of Hamid,Kamran and Masood becaue GEO news was all about these guys only. Even I feel that Ansar Abbasi has been banned. The guy used to do balanced reporting and it was always wonder to read his investigative reports
those who are favoring Banning of GEO and others channels are actually those kind of “Musharraf Remnants” who themselves have been busy in watching GEO and other channels online on Internet. eheh Hypocrites!
adnan — stop spreading disinformation– GEO hasnt ‘agreed’ to suspend its transmission — it has been ORDERED to do so by the UAE govt — there is a slight difference –
also ansar abbassi has not been banned — he has a story in the paper today — page 2 –
Those who LOVE Geo, they shouldn’t forget “hum lougoun ne hee mithaee baantin theen jub Musharraf ne 1999 mein martial law lagaya tha”. Those who are happy on shutting down Geo , “inn ko lug pata jaey ga ata cheeni ka bhao”
A msg from Our Boss:
Dear TeamGEO,
In another attempt to curb the philosophy of GEO Aur Jenay Do, a “media free zone” bowed down against the pressure of the Pakistani Government and suspended GEO News throughout the world. Already we were the only network whose entertainment based channels were banned in Pakistan through cable. This is a dark time for all of us at TeamGEO and also for Pakistan. We have nurtured these channels with your dedication and commitment to make a difference. Inshallah we will make every effort to keep them alive and strong.
This is the time for unity and great responsibility. We need to talk to each other and keep our morale high and spread our message to has many people as possible. YOU…. ARE….. GEO! You must dessiminate the message and our story.
This Group is known for being able to take pressures and does not give in to threats and intimidation.
We will jointly arrive at decisions as to our future course of action and Insahllah emerge from this crisis stronger and more united. Even now there will be a no underhand deals with the government without taking all stakholders in confidence.
Even during these tough and emotional times we must remember our core values and purpose. We are not for or against anyone….still. The single most important thing we have been fighting for and will continue to do so is….tolerance. Tolerance for ideas, questions, opinions, people, institutions, mistakes, intentions…
Remember our viwers will be with us and even the aggressors will realize our intentions and message….and they will be ashamed and…..we WILL be back.
Sir Utha Kay GEO!,
Mir
Mir Ibrahim Rahman (MIR) CEO, GEO TV
it is indeed sad news for most of us that one of the most
popular channel of karachi has been shut down…apart from the
Govt(s) policies i blame the marketing department of geo as
well the channel has been in trouble from the very beginning i
don’t know how many of you remember that geo is one of the very
few new channels that was not able to show its Test
transmission and the regular to most parts of the city for a
very long time due to their differences with the local cable
networks….and stealing the best hosts(nadia khan,doctor
shahid massod and others) was very unethical when the baby of
private channels was only crawling…BAD..BAD..GEO
anyways if there is anything i can do to save GEO(not
you)…..!
Bach bacha kay GEO…la la lala la…
ps:thanks for thee interactive reply….lol
http://musharrafsupporters.wordpress.com/
Hi to all of u.
plz visit this site. the site owner banned my commets as I commented against Musharaf and like Musharaf, the Musharaf supporters also dont want to listen truth
@ Hassan
I am a Musharaf supporter and I dont have any problem listening to you.I appologize that you feel this way. We are all in this together mentally if not physically.
You should never feel alone.
GEO News back on air in UAE!!!!!!
But i guess they won’t be doing their talkshows now:))
Beware Guys: Jang Group/GEO etc is a famous dramey-baaz entity :)
ofcourse i will miss that “aik din geo kay sath” guy and also the news anchor Tariq Mateen….none of the girls….and mahboob bhai is already everywhere so…
Sionara baby!catch you on the website…..
Jang group survived and flourished by constant chamchaageeri of the government of the day in Pakistan. One day they were praising President Yahya Khan, next day they thought ZA Bhutto was the greatest. Then suddenly, Zulmat-ul-Haq was their mard-e-momin. Before they act so nice and fair, they need to appologise over their past behavior during last many decades.