A gift to (some) Karachiites
The Sindh Chief Secretary (CS) Ejaz Qureshi has taken serious notice of the allotment of billions of rupees worth of land in the city at highly concessional rates to “favourites” during the last few days of the Sindh government and directed the authorities concerned to stop this illegal practice immediately.
Sources disclosed that the CS took action on Saturday after receiving reports that the Board of Revenue (BoR) and scrutiny committee have cleared 150 cases of illegal allotment of worthy city land in just one month on the directives of Sindh Chief Minister (CM) Dr Arbab Ghulam Rahim. (The News.)
The chief minister is part of the government set-up that the general has hailed as a success. It’s a good thing that this government wasn’t any more successful.
This news is correct as i heard something identical today from a very dear friend who is a government servant.
I was also told (rather sarcastically in sindhi) that during this month alone 350 jobs have gone to “bhai loag”.
Now i know my friend knows full well i have nothing to do with ‘bhai loag’ … but my attempts to sympathize went in vain. Guilty by association ?
caretaker CM is also from Q league..
Assalamu Alikum,
I know we have our own troubles, but I think its important that we show our solidarity with the people of Bangladesh as a disastrous cyclone has hit them and 1000s of people have lost their lives.
My heart goes for the people of Bangladesh, May Allah help them in their hour of need, Ameen.
ONE Pakistan, i agree.
I believe the toll has crossed 2000! :(
@Topic
Let us hope that care takers stay simple and HONEST.
Else we all know every opportunist encash the opportunity when it strikes.
— cyclone in B’desh – Almighty give them peace and harmony
No no we are all liers, Everyone is clean, sab acha hai. taraqqi ho rahi hai ,Media is lying, newspaper lie , damn it!!
I wonder such news are a daily routine in local papers, whats the amazement now ?
Corruption rose to WORST in HISTORY in Pakistan according to TRANSPARENCY INTERNATIONAL report.
(You tube had some videos on it too, search yourself)
And guess what , we use to curse NAWAZ and BB.
Aray bhai un fakeerun ki gov. mai paisey hee nai thay toh kia kertay wo.
Now we have DOLLARS coming in from LEFT RIGHT and CENTER. And most of it is going into pockets. BE it any organization.
Here we go
http://www.dawn.com/2007/11/19/top8.htm
I told you its NORMAL BUSINESS with this (as with all previous) governments. Just pick any day’s paper.
Wanna see yesterday’s ?
http://www.jang.net/jm/11-18-2007/pic.asp?picname=3627.gif
Those of you who are really interested in this topic may find this helpful.
http://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=pakistan+corruption&search=Search
(Its a search, check videos by your choice)
right
Sindh Chief Ministers have been notorious for their plot politics/ sell out of Karachi from Jam’s to Shah’s. This one was kept in check with some difficulty by his coalition partners, I guess in the end “Life wound a Way”. Since it’s the same setup, then its safe to assume that he obliged a few at the same time winked at the Chief Secretary, later on he can boast, ” Sain mein ne tou kaam karwa dya thaa, Meray baad CS Sahib ne roak diya, election ke baad phir karwa doon ga, but I will need your vote”. He is clever no doubt about that.
However, on the upside the biggest achievement of this CM was the way he handled agricultural water distribution, plugging the leakages / thefts and easing the longstanding tensions with Punjab on this issue. He has also said some very tough words to BB, bordering on insults, if he is an empty vessel then god help him in the future.
You stop short of saying “Go Musharaf Go”.
Come on, say it, I know you are dying to.
You guys get 5 guesses (you prob only need one) as to who my above comment was meant for.
Is this true?
http://dawn.com/2007/11/25/local3.htm
Is he transferred because of this?