Vigil at Geo

IMG00186.jpgThe candle light vigil which was announced at Geo offices in Karachi to basically condemn the shutting down of the two popular media channels was truly amazing. The vigil itself started off at around 7pm but I am told the crowd was present there well before the specified time, when I reached there it was truly an amazing sight in the entire lane you could only see candles lit with quite a few heavy speakers blarring the signature Geo song Jeenay Do.

There were approximately well over 1500 people present most honding some sort of placard denocning the martial law but practiclaly everyone had a candle and sang the song Jeenay Do. There were a number of large TV screens showing the live feed from Geo which was being streamed via the internet. The best part of the vigil was when the Geo Musharraf-lookalike took to the stage and had some fun with the crowd with some unique imitations of the dictator. It was good to see people coming out to raise their voice against the censorship of the media.

I am sure many of the readers here may not be in approval with GEO and its attitude of sensationalization but despite all the short comings its important still to have a free media, thats my personal opinion and many may disagree.

68 Comments so far

1. Kads (unregistered) on November 19th, 2007 @ 10:57 pm

Thanks for covering this Teeth Maestro and providing the news.

2. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 19th, 2007 @ 11:01 pm

sorry but freedom does not mean that press should have gutter standards or that press has the right to slander without khuda ka khauf. the jang group was involved in spreading crap about the judiciary and had to apologise two times after it goy hauled to court by judges themselves. the following news item published in the news itself pretty much indicates why the group was being taken to taks by the judiciary. leading reporters working for the group concoct their own stories and get them published without any fact checking or verification:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=8458

SC warns newsman, accepts apology

…”I, Muhammad Saleh Zaafir, do hereby tender an unconditional apology to the hon’ble court in relation to the contents of the story that appeared in daily The News/daily Jang on June 11, 2007.

“I have been directed by the hon’ble court to submit any proof in relations to the contents of the said items. I would humbly submit that I have no proof whatsoever in relation to the matter discussed in the said story….”

if judiciary can stop press from damaging court reputation through the use of malicious propoganda, then so can the executive. ideally the approach govt should adapt is to go to court. but since the supreme court justice was actively conniving with the press against govt, govt had no choice but to act.

i hope govt shows some spine and does not backdown from its spine. geo should be taught a lesson so that other organisations dont behave like geo did.

3. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 19th, 2007 @ 11:07 pm

i meant to write:

i hope govt shows some spine and does not backdown “from its stance” and “not its spine”.

4. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 19th, 2007 @ 11:32 pm

If the lawyers have protested like this in the first place, things wouldn’t have gone down the drain. Anyways the numbers are still small, but I wish them good luck! Hope something positive comes out of this.

All the parties involved should re-count / reassess where did they went wrong and come to a compromise, rigidity never pays.
    If the govt now feels that it is in a strong position and shouldn’t negotiate, then, that would be wrong too.

5. Atiq (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:02 am

its a long struggle because the people who are at helm of affairs would not let it go that easily – because it severely hurt their interests – teh army is enjoying financially a lot under Musharraf and they would not like to rock the boat – the present policy is to prolong all this as much as possible in a view that this movement would fizzle out due to movement fatigue.

But we have to keep up the pressure and not them live in peace for even a single day and this pressure should increase day by day.

Inshallah Allah would award the victory of right path.

6. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:05 am

Freedom of press also doesnt mean that you show dead, mutilated bodies and body parts “willy nilly” for the sake of ratings and sale.
    Hopefully Mr President Musharaf and his advisors will find in their heart to lift the ban with assurity (yakeen dihany) of a responsible journalism.
    Btw I liked that vigil very cute :)

7. YesOrNo (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:11 am

Good job ppl,

I bet the dictator can’t sleep these days and just tries to show-off that every thing is ok for him.

But he is successful in keeping the people ‘shutup’, by censoring the media.

But surprisingly, his gundas (Altaf bhi) are quiet too, guess can’t support tyranny for long.

8. YesOrNo (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:13 am

Good job ppl,

I bet the dictator can’t sleep these days and just tries to show-off that every thing is ok for him.

But surprisingly, his gundas (Altaf bhi) are quiet too, guess can’t support tyranny for long.

9. YesOrNo (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:14 am

Good job ppl,

10. Qasim (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:15 am

Inshaallah A day will come when all these generals will be hanged on trees outside Faisal Mosque. ‘Zulm jab barhta hai to mit jata hai’.

listen army dogs days are gone when Govt controlled media fool Pakistanis in 70′s or early 90′s Karachi operation..napak army days are numbered.

11. Pkhan (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:24 am

@ yesorno
    I hope that GEO should be kept OFF air for ever. They did not have courage to NAME Dubai who ask them to be OFF air, at that time they were blaming GOVT OF PAKISTAN.WHY, because they know the law of THAT land. NO matter how big you might be in DUBAI when it comes to follow the law they did but not in Pakistan. They have been spreading all kind of inflamatory remarks in their Broad cast media and print media that some one should have closed that newspaper and geo long time ago. IN their 60 years of existance they were not able to open any TV channels but in last FIVE years they become MEDIA giant HOW.Because of this govt’s liberal policies.

12. TURAB (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:26 am

Geo Musharraf aur jene do GEO NEWS

13. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:47 am

I see lot of people changing their nicks after their friends beat-up Imran Khan, but I can always recognize them by their cursing.

By the way has anybody seen any official statement from PTI on the way IK was man-handled? Is there still no love lost between PTI and JI at the top?
    Also who is No. 2 in PTI after Imran Khan, does any body know his / her name?

14. Musharraf (The Great Commando) (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:57 am

Oh Pakistanio, Tum sab merey ghulam ho. Mein ne tum sab chote chote keron ke qeemat de ker khreeda hai Pir Bush se. Tumharee okat kya hay ,you bloody civillians.I am a General and I have a status. NAPAK ARMY will rule Pakistan forever and there is nothing you can do about it. Koi Shak?

Aur mein darta warta kisi se nahi hoon! Mere saanp Altaf Bai aur paaltu Mithu (ghulam rahim) ke hote kaisa dar, bhaar mein jao tum sab do takke ke log!

Aur ye jo candles waste ki hein tum bloody idiots ne. yehi loadshedding ke dooraan istimaal karte bewaqoofo!

15. MS (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 2:05 am

@ REALITY_CHECK

Looks like Jamaima Khan is 2nd in PTI ;)

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/uk_news/7100762.stm

or may be Imran Khan is trying to use her charms to attract more crowd and media attention …

16. OmarK (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 2:14 am

teeth i couldnt agree more with ur last paragraph…
    i dont like the way geo presents the news, sensationalized and over the top but nonetheless there needs to be an independant media

17. Obi Wan Kenobi (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 2:22 am

These people never came on roads for any thing else. Karachi has seen the worse but now when it comes to their own agenda, these GEO has come on roads. I believe that Govt should also ban jang newspaper which is full of gross ads. 5 years ago when I was in Karachi, their sunday magazine will full of hakeem sahibs kushtay , kalay baba and amil/najomi ads.I bet the Sunday magazine is still like that.

18. Balma (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 2:45 am

http://www.latimes.com/news/opinion/la-oe-bhutto14nov14,0,2482408.story?coll=la-opinion-center

Jiss aurat kay liyae sub deevanay ho rahay hai’n, oos kee bhateejee kyaa kehtee hae? Please click on the URL above.

19. Darthvader (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 4:59 am

@Balma : Fatima has been writing and saying a lot lately ; she speaks well and writes well and went to Columbia and all that but you gotta remember that her feud with Benazir is a family feud. this is not to say that Benazir is a saint , i think she (benazir that is) should spent the rest of her life in a paksitani jail for perversion of authority and crimes against humnaity (karachiites in particualr) ..but thats a different discussion enitrely.

cheers
    DV

20. ghettophilosopher (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 5:26 am

If we look at the function of a media organization then GEO strictly abides that.
    Every organization has an agenda and an ideology and has to take into consideration the political economy. Every organization other than those state owned of course.
    I shall salute GEO and ARY for not signing the unconditional declaration with the govt, unlike the media channels that have gone on air. This really shows how adamant they are in their cause.
    The importance of a free media organization is most important during the time of election, in order to proclaim them as free and fair.
    Journalists are supposed to create a record of the promises that politicians make before the election and then present it when the time of their fulfillment comes.
    And one more thing I would like to add over here,
    “Either you have a right to lie or a right to be believed, but you can’t have both.” – Hence, the government has the right to lie and media of that to be believed.

21. wasiq (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 8:51 am

i watched GEO all day yesterday on the http://www….after that we had “kat a kat” which is recently been called “Tak a Tak” on most tv cooking shows…..

Merey Geo kay Din Kitney Achchey Thay Din
    Aaj Bethey Bethaay Keun Yaad Aa Gaay

HAPPY THANKSGIVING PAKISTAN…!

22. kads (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 9:02 am

@GhettoPhilosopher
    “”Either you have a right to lie or a right to be believed, but you can’t have both.” – Hence, the government has the right to lie and media of that to be believed”"

Salute to you my friend for putting it in such golden words. You speak the truth ma man, and nothing but the truth. All power to you!.

23. HITMAN (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 10:20 am

well I have only one thing to say for closure of Geo.

Khas kum, Jahan Pak.

24. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 10:49 am

Status of Fatima Bhutto today is no different than Altaf in late 70s when he got pissed at IJT after differences(I already mentioned this in one of my previous posts). Later Zia and Co used his hatred and form APMSO which later become MQM. Fatima is also mad at her Aunt due to her Dad’s murder and her emotional articles just being helpful enough for agencies again to bring her against BiBi. In short she’s being groomed these days and in 5 years or so, we might see another Bhutto in Pakistani politics Ghinwa Bhutto failed totally to become Pakistani SONIA GANDHI, that’s why everyone eyed on Fatima. Let’s see such haterd against Mrs.Zardari could be helpful enough for her to take revenge from his Phuppa Zardari.

25. FAS (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 11:00 am

I read this line some where

GEO, AB HAMAIN JEENE DO!!

(Heart patients Association of Pakistan)

26. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 11:26 am

you read somewhere and you don’t know. Maybe you read your own mind? :-)

anyway, What do you say about these patients?

http://tinyurl.com/3d95at

It was shared on my website.

27. syed ali (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 11:42 am

Listen you freaks….BUSHARRAF is a ugly monster general…he is a KUTTA…..
    he doesnt deserve to be called a human….

his days are numbered….he will be punished in this world and the world after as well…inshallah…he is the worst pakistani living in this earth…his innerself is reflected on his ugly face….he is coward…he will be hanged soon…dont worry you LOTAS……

28. Ali (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:18 pm

Shahid masood and the rest of his geo lost much their credibility and the general impression of the pak community in UAE atleast is that ……..geo deserved what it got!!

Feel sorry for Geo workers whose earnings were hampered by Shahid Massod n party!

The way Shahid was talking abt pak n musharaf…was simply deplorable……nobody is arguing that he shud not critisize but the way thing were carried out ……was questionable!!

how disappointing Shahid Masood turned out to be …a journalist who was quite hihgly regarded!

29. MKS (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:23 pm

Geo news is testing on following frequancy. Now uplinking from UK. Those how have dish can now watch Geo News on PAS10 at 68.5 degree east

Frequancy 4154
    SR 4410
    Polarity H
    FEC 3/4

30. qasim (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:47 pm

Even if busharraf some how manages to stay at power for next 5 years (which is extremely unlikely in the present situation) even then he has lost it…where is hitler ,missoulini (from italy ,he ruled italy by force for 23 years)no body remember them ,and whoever knows about them curse them…busharraf is going have same fate,, when he will leave he will be considered as one of the worst dictators world has ever witnessed….he will be remembered along with htiler and massoulini …

HE FAILS TO UNDERSTAND THAT ITS NOT POWER BUT THE LEGACY U LEAVE BEHIND IS WHAT YOU CHERISH FOR THE REST OF UR LIFE……AND BUSHARRAF WILL BE REMEMBERED LIKE HITLER….

31. azeem (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 1:50 pm

As long as the Corrupt, Land grabber and Drunkard army is in power, Pakistan will never be successful.

PAKISTAN KA MUTLAB KYA
    ARMY, CHAUDRY, MARTIAL LAW

32. Danish (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 2:33 pm

great link adnan

Imran you have won this, my next vote is for you.no more terrorist MQM, Hypocrite MMA ,Corrupt generals or feudal politicians.

33. Zee (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 8:43 pm

Why are you guys still so Naive?

Look, CNN, BBC and FOX news, they are all biased channels. It’s not like that they don’t have any agenda but the difference between western/indian media and our media is that our media does NOT take care of national interest while they all do. The whole 911 thing happened, hundreds of jumped from high rise buildings and fell down and died… did they show one single dead body?

Here, you see dead bodies, body parts like heads, legs, arms… what did GEO want to show to our younger generation?

I remember the dialog from the first spiderman movie “With great power comes great responsibility”

Would you want your nephews, your kids and your elderly parents to watch that stuff? Do you want to see biased reporting that Dr. Shahid Masood, Talat Hussain, Hamid Mir etc to go on like that? Do you want to believe in what they want you to believe? Can’t you see how they were minting money? Can’t you see how entertainment was pushed back and news was kept in front even on the so-called Entertainment channels?

That was to make sure that you stay concerned, alarmed and scared so you’d see news all the time and they could mint money out of all the juicy advertizers. PHULEZZZ… WAKE UP!

ALI: Dr. Shahid Masood was NOT a journalist. He is a doctor. He has NO education and/or background of journalism. It takes YEARS to become a journalist and not a program and or a TV channel to be called as journalist!

Hamid Mir was also biased like Shahid Masood but at least he is a journalist and so is Kamran Khan.

Shahid Masood was a drama, a fake story! He’s gone, I think their careers are no more as any channel hiring these people will have to face heavy pressure from not only the government but also advertizers and viewers too! Good ridance!

34. Zee (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 8:47 pm

ADNAN SIDDIQI: Read your post about Fatima Bhuttu. Hmmmm… So the rat finally came out of it’s hole! Your allegiance lie with the most corrupt people on this planet! Sheeshh, get a life!

35. Balma (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 9:34 pm

* In short she’s being groomed these days and in 5 years or so, we might see another Bhutto in Pakistani politics Ghinwa Bhutto failed totally to become Pakistani SONIA GANDHI,

Actually, Ghinwa is following exactly the foot steps of Sonia Gandhi. Just like Sonia is about to pass the baton from Rajiv to Rahul (or hsi siter), ghinwa will do the same.

From now on, Pakistanis should reject anyone who tries to capitalize on ZA Bhutto’s name. Enough of this garbage family.

36. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 20th, 2007 @ 11:32 pm

Zee, i think someone hit something hard on your upper chamber? what u talking about my friend? what did you understand about Fatima? i am sure you have no idea what u talking about.. calm down my friend

Here, you see dead bodies, body parts like heads, legs, arms… what did GEO want to show to our younger generation?

World saw 9/11 movie incident on CNN,FOX etc, not once but many times.

if Wasi Zafar is saying “Long Arm” on public TV then why do u want to hide the filth of your own people? Thanks to media we experienced people like Wasi zafar,Khursheed Kasoori,Sher Afgan and wasim akhter.

37. Pkhan (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 1:17 am

If GEO get compliments on its BLOGs they publish that blog, but if you CRITICIZE them , it will never get publish? TRY it, for them MEDIA KI AZADI.

38. Pkhan (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 1:25 am

@ ZEE
    Very well said ZEE, true like a PAKISTAN FIRST.

39. ALAM (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 1:28 am

I read our communist sister Urooj Zia was injured in demo

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/11/071120_journalist_arrested_as.shtml

Does any one know about her well being?

40. Zee (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 1:46 am

ADNAN SIDDIQI: I have nothing against that bit, the Wasi Zafar drama. That’s not against your national interest but the twist they wanted to give to every single god damn news was getting way too much. Ask your elders in your family, do they not feel better now? Are they not using their minds more rather than HEAVILY relying on what media is saying? Ask yourself, do you now not feel a bit better? Are you not thinking more than just believing in biased media. GEO, ARY, AAJ, they are all much biased… much like PTV the only difference is that at least PTV does not hurt your national interest and NO, I don’t like PTV but fact is fact.

41. Zee (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 1:54 am

If Urooj Zia did get injured than it’s only her fault and tells you her point of view on every little story and opinions she has posted so far (political stories, comments etc)

As a journalist, she SHOULD know what GEO and other channels were up to but since most of these guys have a retarded agenda, they are getting a handful of what they deserve. I have got no sympathy for her if she got injured because she was protesting.

42. SELF (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 2:18 am

At least Urooj has stood up for something. What have you stood up for Zee, you couch potato pseudo intellectual.

43. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 2:21 am

urooj is released so other journalists. teeth.com.pk/blog

Balma, sonia leads the Congress Party while Ghinwa failed to run her lil party. A big difference. Sonia stepped back because extremist Hindu threatened her due to her dual nationality. Rahul and Priyanka had received threats about their mom and they had no choice other than forcing her mom to step back otherwise Sonia was sure next PM rather MMS.

44. ALAM (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 2:26 am

I think with this protest and arrest, Urooj Zia has absolved herself of her past sins. I think in this case, atleast, Musharraf is the christ.

45. Balma (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 3:11 am

Well, Adnan, I think the whole idea of Ghinwa jumping into action after her terrorist husband’s tragic murder is ridiculous. Similarly, I thought of Congress Party’s appointment of Sonia to the top position as an insult to Indians… Yaa Eessaa, I am thinking like RSS now…..

But, as long as Ghinva and her daughter keep giving tough time to Budnazir, it is fine by me.
    All power to them.

I think all these Bhutto woman should be kicked out of politics, if you ask Balma…except in case of Budnazir, she should be kicked into a jail and be tried for terrorism (related to Al Zulfiqar terrorist organization in late 70s), corruption (1.5 biollion dollars that she looted), and murders (incl her brother’s). She is a sick woman.

Budnazir aka Benazir

46. Kamran (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 7:12 am

Shahid Masood should not be allowed to come on air. period.

I watched one of his shows with Imran Khan, and he was trying to grill him for no obvious reason. It was hosting at its very best. Its clear that what he wants are ratings.

Showing body parts etc. is not good reporting.

47. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 10:53 am

he was trying to grill him for no obvious reason.

and Who doesn’t do that? You might curse former host of BBC’s HARD TALK Tim Sabastian too because he makes life hell of his guest?

48. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 12:46 pm

دوسری جانب پولیس نےگرفتار کیے جانے والے صحافیوں کو مختلف تھانوں میں منتقل کردیا ہے۔ ڈاکس تھانے میں زیرِ حراست 37 صحافیوں میں 6 خواتین بھی شامل ہیں جن میں ڈان ٹی وی کی حسنہ علی، دی نیوز کی زرین، ڈیلی ٹائمز کی عروج ضیاء، جیو انگلش کی سبین آغا اور عذرا پاشا اور ایک فری لانس جرنلسٹ بلقیس جہاں شامل ہیں۔

49. redsnapper (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 1:01 pm

For those criticising Geo: Many at the Geo candlie light vigil at Geo said they were there for free speech and not necessarily there for a single channel.

And “freedom of expression” is the real issue here.

And channels that did not show gruesome scenes of scattered body parts have been equally hit by this ban.

50. Zee (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 4:23 pm

SELD: I’d rather stand up for a just cause. Urooj did not stand up for a just cause. Some people here and some journalists are now trying to promote the event as a vigil for freedom of speech. You might remember the whole Prophet Mohammad’s (PBUH) Danish Caricatures story. The guy was using his right of freedom of expression, should we have supported his act?

Should we allow our media, media from abroad, people within and outside to say absolutely any horsecrap they want to? I don’t think so!!!! And if you believe that standing up for such a cause is noble then instead of calling me names, you might wana go and join Urooj to make sure that you show the world which side you, you worthless piece of ****

51. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 5:15 pm

Former KMB blogger Huma Imtiaz was also arrested yesterday.

source: geo.tv

ournalists arrested from KPC released (Posted at 0500)
    KARACHI: All the journalists arrested from Karachi Press Club have been released after Governor Isharatul Ibad Khan ordered their release on Tuesday night.

According to Press Secretary to Governor Sindh Dr Ishratul Ibad, the Sindh Governor issued orders for the release of journalists.

Earlier today in the afternoon, police baton charged journalists protesting against ban on Geo Television Network and curbs on media outside the Karachi Press Club and arrested over 200 of them including five ladies journalists.

According to reports the representatives of media were going to the Governor House to talk with the authorities when police stopped them. Thereupon, the journalists staged a sit-in protest, but the police starting to arrest them. Chasing the journalists’ policemen entered in Karachi Press Club premises and started baton charge over the newsmen in the club wounding several of them.

Those arrested by the police included Geo News journalists Afzal Nadeem Doggar, Abdul Rahman, Tariq Abul Hassan, Tariq Moin, Fahim Siddiqui, Raja Kamran, Najeeb Ahmed, Akhtar Minhas, Faisal Shakeel, Waseem Ahmed, Faisal Aziz, Ghulam Mustafa, Nizam Siddiqui, Mujeed-ur-Rahman, Musa Kaleem, Raja Tariq, Fayyaz Mangi, Ovais Tohid, Muhammad Nazeer, Yaqub Haroon, Dodo Chandio, Asif Mehmood, Akhdar Awan, Ahmed Khan, Qazi Hassan, Naseem Rajpur, Junaid Mumtaz Awan, Amir Ahmed Khan, Shoaib Ahmed, Shoaib Khan Baloch, Javed Mehmend, Muhammad Nazeer, Faizan, Tanveer, Irfan-ul-Haq, Zarrar Khan, Mehboob Akhtar Rind, Bilquis Jehan, Shakeel Salawat, Lalarukh, President Karachi Press Club Sabeehuddin Ghausi, Secretary Imtiaz Faran, President KUJ Shamim-ur-Rahman, treasurer Amir Latif, A.H. Khanzada, Shakeel Khan, Arbab Chandio, Raza Hassan, Arif Kazmi, Hassan Rana, Muhammad Suleman, Khawar Khan, Nawab Ali Shah, Asif Alam, Liaquat Mughal, Shams Imran, Kashif Hussain, Asghar Umar, Ali Shah, Imtiaz Chandio, Zulfiqar Sanwal Shaikh, Yousuf Khan, Mukarram Kaleem, Huma Imtiaz, Faizan Lakhani, Idris Bakhtiar and other leaders of Karachi journalists.

52. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 21st, 2007 @ 7:11 pm

zee, well said.

the most popular newspaper in the uk, the sun, publishes a picture of topless women daily on page 3. in the u.s. the most popular news channel, fox news, overtly promotes a partisan agenda and shamelessly demonises arabs and muslims. question to ponder for us is that is it in the interest of pak to have our media go down the path taken by western media or is it better for us if our media remains unbiased and upholds the highest standards of journalism?

media credibility is very, very important because when media exposes real corruption and abuse in the society, its in the interest of the country to have such reports be taken seriously. otoh, if media hurls unsubstantiated allegations to score political points, then media loses its power and the society loses one of the most effective tools available to check abuse by powerful people. moreover good people will never want to associate with the government if media makes wild allegations against govt officials without proof. media must be made to pay if it can be proven that it acted with malicious intent.

in its early days, u.s. media played a very strong role in bringing about positive change. journalist like walter cronkite were held in the highest possible esteem and trust by american people. sadly instead of learning from the best examples of american journalism, our media has turned itself on cheap imitation of fox news.

53. wasiq (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 9:47 am

@FAS (Heart patients Association of Pakistan)…

Diloun kay rishtey aasmaano main nahein hotey ….you have to have a heart….not necessarily with a heartburn….

HAPPY THANKSGIVING KARACHI….!

54. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 10:10 am

I have got no sympathy for her if she got injured because she was protesting.

I might not agree with Urooj’s Ideology but this doesn’t mean I would like to see a lady get beaten just because I don’t accept her ideology and belief.

I am sure you belong to class of men who are used to beat their wives and even kill them in the name of Honor Killing. Thanks for showing class you retard!

On other hand, comparing a moronic dictator with a Prophet is only the class of future Musharraf Remnants. zia’s supporters used to do same in past. As I say, you pro mush morons are not less pathetic than pro Zias

55. TURAB (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 1:13 pm

adnan tujhe kisi karwat chain nahien aeyga samjha kya?

56. OpenEyes (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 1:33 pm

@ZEE, @MAKHAN

Mush and its supporters are defending NAPAK Army, Dictatorship’s Jungle rule.

All of those should left pakistan immediately in the best interest of this country and Pakistani Nation.

Please… Please… go to hell MUSH & MQM.

Note:
    Geo news is testing on following frequancy. Now
    uplinking from UK. Those how have dish can now watch Geo News on PAS10 at 68.5 degree east

Frequancy 4154
    SR 4410
    Polarity H
    FEC 3/4

57. Sarah Ibrahim (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 1:43 pm

it’s ok for media to show the reality but this freedom does not mean that these channels should start showing disturbing things like people dying or blood shreding everywhere just to increase viewers and their ratings.

58. Naveen Arif (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 2:10 pm

Media is known as the fastest form of information, it not only creates awareness but at times it spreads fear. The closure of a certain channel does not prove that people can be kept away from reality . Every media channel should be given boundry lines to follow by the government in accordance to certain situations that create fear and chaos. At the same time media should realise where to draw a line between what needs to be revealed and concealed. Apparently, both ends seems to be at fault, Geo should consider the fact that by disclosing visuals of mutliated bodies and severly injured people, they’re not being informative but are chanelling fear and disruption in the hearts of the people. Not only that , but by creating a hype about different incidents they are keeping the people from developing the nation and a certain percentage of the citizens of the country decide to migrate in order to avoid further confrontation.However, the media is not to be solely blamed for this , the government has an equal share in this promotion of hype and drama. The government should set up guidelines for every media news channel to keep a balance between information that is to be disclosed or not. But the fact of the matter is , that by shutting down the channel they cannot keep the reality hidden from the society because in the long run this secerecy might lead to further chaos. Therefore, a set of rules for each news channel should be standardised as to the level of information needed to be revealed , also a certain level of hype to be created and avoidance of unneccesary information. It is not fair for the people to be kept away for the surrounding situation. They deserve to know the truth!…

59. Fiza Afzal (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 2:34 pm

a very vague attempt as to keep people away from reality. shutting down Geo will not change the reality of chaos that has been taking place. people need to know their surroundings situations in order to find solutions for them. avoiding it or putting it in the back shelf will not resolve it. it’ll just help collect more dust.

60. Naveen Arif (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 2:46 pm

A better solution could have been thought of. One can not suppress the freedom of speech, eventually it does voice out.
    whats weird though, is that my friends abroad keep asking about how things are down here. the image that our media has potraited of us as a nation is that of a complete civil breakdown. some what like that which had once taken place in Sarajevo.
    this is the result of mixing reality with drama. but apparently, for us, living in pakistan, this breakdown is not so apparent. things are moving on an everyday schedule.

61. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 4:59 pm

Turab, bilkul “Chota” Altaf bhai lag rahay ho. typical “Bhai Log” Lingo ;)

62. Saima Nasir (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 10:16 pm

Until 1990s most of the news we got was through PTV and it said all positive things about the government and the country……Did we make any remarkable progress in science, education, Arts becuse of the positive reporting? Did the crime rate went down? Were there any less police actions against the innocent citizens? Did people stop migrating, especially the educated middle class? Were we proud of our country and its rulers after listening to all the positive things….as you call it (THE FOX NEWS STYLE)? Did you never turn on your radio for BBC and VOA coverage? Did your heart bleed as badly for the victims of bombing then, as it does now when you see the misery?

Western Media shows the hunger and disease ridden Africa …Did anyone ever say that their little children are traumatised by the scenes?….both depicts the apathy and cruelness of human beings…..Is it a better site than the bullet riddled and blown up bodies in Pakistan?
    you believe in raising a generation of kids who only listen about the bombing but would never know its impact on real people. Your kids can play violent video games and can kill aliens and vampires on screen without knowing what real death is all about? You really think that the disturbing images will traumatise them…?and still believe in telling them the story of KARBALA (full of torture, death, misery but a lot of fearlessness) in detail every year during Muharrum…or HAVE WE STOPPED TELLING SUCH TALES OF COURAGE TO OUR CHILDREN?

I am baffled at the absurdity of some arguments…..seriously have we really become such a hypocritical lot that we can’t denounce a dictator’s wrong action becuase it suits my interests? or Are some people making such comments because it is their idea of fun?

63. Saima Nasir (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2007 @ 10:21 pm

Corrections: …

Crime rate ‘go’
    suits ‘our’

64. Pkhan (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2007 @ 12:38 am

@ Saima Nasir,,,,,Wah wah On your comments about repeating the story of KARBALA? Are you referring this to Illitrate Jehadi’s who are killing their own Muslim Fellows? As far as HYPOCRITICAL argument EVERY one’s opinion can be different from one another that does not mean to get upset or crioticize their arguments and Please DO NOT compare WEST Media with a Illitrate Nations MEDIA.Illitrate people will need 100 more years to catch up with Western Media.

65. Saima Nasir (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2007 @ 5:50 am

@PKHAN

Kindly read my post again! please! Your comment on my post doesn’t even come close to the ‘context’ in which I mentioned ‘Karbala’. I asked if we have stop telling the details of Karbala to our children as it is full of blood, murder and torture….as some people on the forum think that such scenes and news covered by media are the cause of indigestion, heart disease and emotional trauma among children and adults of the country.
    Do you get it now, Sir?

66. wasiq (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2007 @ 9:20 am

pakistan main paisey waley ki koie izzat nahein aur agar yeah pata chal jai kay aap dubai sey ho toh allah he hafiz…..anyways its good to know that ARY is back again from……? Geo may or may not depending on the results of the dubai primary….no surprises are expected both in the head-count and the money-count….what they were really hoping for was the power to decide the successor to the guardian of the exchequer….you know the **foregin investor confidence syndrome**

I’m lov’in it! ta ta ta ta ta

67. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2007 @ 10:03 am

Illitrate people will need 100 more years to catch up with Western Media.

Quite right. As long as illetrate mentality exist in Pakistan who has been favoring Musharraf for fascism, we can’t progress at all.

68. iqbal (unregistered) on December 4th, 2007 @ 4:43 pm

is mulk ko fuji ameriat sa nijat delanay or her shoba e zandaghi ma azadi hasil karna ka lia tmam political parties ko election ka bycoot karna ho go