Tortured & Terrorized but not silenced – Munir A Malik speaks

http://karachi.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/11/novmb/free-muneer-malik%5B1%5D-thumb.jpgMunir A Malik, most prominent lawyer from Karachi recently appeared after disappearing from scene for a while, most probably kidnapped by Intelligence agencies. He , unlike Kurd is quite soft spoken but that doesn’t mean his resolve is broken. We saw him appearing on media quite frequently after March 9. His respect elevated him to the president of Supreme Court Bar Association in 2006. He was also attacked by some unidentified (really ?) persons few months back. Here is the interview he gave to DAWN TV shared by TM.
[image : Teeth.com.pk]

66 Comments so far

1. fakhar (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 2:41 pm

Who made this poster?
    what are the sources??

2. fahim (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 3:29 pm

Give it a rest for cyring out loud. Enough govt bashing. Grow up or move out. Am getting sick and tired of all the anit-govt and negative posts here…esp from the tooth fairy and MB.

3. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 3:35 pm

jihadi terrorists have killed over a thousand army/law enforcement officers. yet this site has never done a single post about a person killed in the line of duty. i wonder why is that?

4. fahim (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 3:36 pm

Give it a rest for cyring out loud. Enough govt bashing. Grow up or move out. Am getting sick and tired of all the anit-govt and negative posts here…esp from the tooth fairy and MB.

5. Qasim (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 4:01 pm

Our hearts and minds and duaa’s are with you, Oh people of Pakistan, May Allah (SWT) help you to find your loved ones.

Please curse Musharaf after every Namaz, curse him that his children suffer the same faith, his children, his family should be hanged publically. This dictator is worst that Changez Khan and Halaqoo, as they were at least sincere with their own people. This cruel dictator is killing his own people.

Since we have seen the suffering of the innocent people, we can not sleep at night, my 13 years old son gets up at night and curses Musharaf, we curse this dictator on our dinner table, after our Namaz, Oh my beloved Nation, please do it regularly, this man is worst than Bush, at least he is sincere to his own people. May Allah (SWT) forgive mine and our Nation’s collective mistakes / sins and has His Mercy on us. Aameen.

It is our duty to fight for the rights of every single Pakistani, who has been put in prison by this tyrant. Those sisters, who have been dragged on road are our sisters, those brothers who have been brutally beaten up on roads are our brothers. Daughters of the Nation have suffered enough. It should not happen anymore. Get up my youngster and drag this tyrant from Presidency and drag him on road, as he has ordered to drag others, bring him to justice.

6. asa (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 4:04 pm

brave son of karachi ..as a nation we are going through worst of time still we proud of great person’s like munir malik,Justic wajihudin.

InshAllah justice will prevail one day .

7. Ahmed (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 4:14 pm

i dont have any words to condemn dictator , but i believe dictator will see power of the powerless and see end very soon…its tough for lawyers to fight with army who suck all resources of pakistan and fully control of every institution of pakistan but brave to all civil societies for fighthing.

8. asa (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 4:18 pm

Everything is going according to Dictator plan…..control judiciary,control media,rubber stamp parliament,all looters have passed the resolution to protect him… one last thing they want is the opposition participation in the elections to get legitimacy.

If opposition goes for elections then please please don’t say tomorrow that the elections were rigged……. even your own kids will laugh at you.

9. MKS (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 4:29 pm

@Qasim

Here goes the Indian again……

10. MKS (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 4:31 pm

Is he the same Munir A. Malik who said during CJ case that the Supreme Court will be burned if the verdict comes against us. (for which he said sorry to SC) Now he is becomming a hero. He should thanked the government that he is receiving the best medical treatment in PIMS Islamabad despite of his harsh speaches he gave against Musharraf and the Government.

Our nation does not waist time to make a hero out of no one and any one. How come he became a Hero of Civil Liberties? If he is reperesenting civil society, then who are the people who were in Assemblies? Is he elected by the 160 m poeple or he is just a self declared leader (in making). I am sick and tired of these lawyers (liers) and thier so called movement.

11. Qasim (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 5:02 pm

if exposing napak army kartoot is labeled as indian so my friend very few remain in pakistan the only ones supporting the army are the children of the top brass of the army and those who are getting monetary benefits from the army.everyone knows how morally or monetary corrupt is the army.

12. asa (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 5:08 pm

@Mks

Munir malik said that Supreme Court will be burned if the verdict comes against us. (for which he said sorry to SC) but Mushy literally burned the Supreme court when he thought verdict will come against us,house arrest all honorable judges who refuse to take Oath…Munir malik is punish such a way by saying this now you will decide how musharf will be be punished by doing this wat Munir malik said ?

13. MKS (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 5:16 pm

OK. We won, you lose. Better luck next time.

Kur lo Jo Kurna Hai

14. SELF (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 7:22 pm

MKS, at least Munir did not call Pakistan “the greatest blunder of all”….need I say more?

15. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 9:41 pm

SELF Pakistan was a blunder or not that is totally a different debate, I wonder if Jinnah was asked this question during his last days, what would have been his reply?. The fact is Pakistan even after 1971 is here to stay and we have to work for its future rather than triggering irrelevant debates, leave that to the historians.

As for Munir Malik he has my sympathies but not my support. For me the whole lawyers movement went way out of its scope, was dis-proportionate, mis-timed and was out of sync with the ground realities of this country. It weakened the govt., strengthened the radicals and gave opportunity to the corrupt politicians to sneak back in. They could have protested in a better way and still put pressure on the govt., in any case they should not have demanded regime change. Ironically, their stalwarts are ready to contest elections under the PCO, what crap.

As for hardships endured, we no longer hear tails of enduring torture of the worst kind in the CIA centres of this country. Yes, if you launch a movement in a third world country, you should expect to be slapped around by illiterate police constables and officials, but sustaining torture? I wonder where were these folks when a fortnight in Lahore fort could render you mentally damaged forever.

16. Concerned (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 9:52 pm

@Reality Check

very well said. Couldnt agree with you more.

These ppl are talking abt torture and civil liberties, lets see how they do under the so called democracy.

17. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 10:13 pm

actually, we dont have to imagine how things were in karachi when munir a malik’s friends aka ppp was running karachi.

my question is if ppp can hand out such treatment to its opponents, why should people like aitzaz ahsan and his buddies be treated differently when the shoe falls on the other foot? why do we have one law for english speaking folks an another for urdu medium types?

http://www.lib.virginia.edu/area-studies/SouthAsia/SAserials/Dawn/1995/01Je95.html

Tortured MQM men brought to court blindfolded

By Ghulam Hasnain

KARACHI, May 29: The premises housing the Special Court for the Suppression of Terrorist Activities resounded with the wails of women on Monday as a police armoured personnel carrier brought four
    blind-folded workers of the Mohajir Qaumi Movement and dragged them to the court when their injuries hampered their walk.

One of the four had a drilled left buttock, the other had a fractured right leg, the third had injured left leg and hips and the fourth had
    torture marks all over his body with infection in the eyes.

Their bodies were smeared with a thick layer of dirt with matted hair as during 25 days of detention they were not allowed to take bath.

…The four, in their 20s, were arrested on May 6 from their houses in the jurisdiction of New Karachi police station, but the police claimed they were arrested three days back, on May 27, after an encounter.

Police accused them of committing dacoities and claimed that they had seized an AK-47 rifle, two pistols, a revolver and bullets from their
    possession.

During the 25-day detention, the suspects were kept naked in the interrogation centres, tortured to get desired statements and were
    rarely provided meals.

Garment factory worker Mohammad Shahid was hung naked upside down, beaten up with sticks and when his left buttock’s skin ruptured,
    policemen expanded it with pointed sticks.

One of his ribs was also fractured while his body bore several marks of injuries….

18. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 28th, 2007 @ 11:59 pm

- with great regret – it is a DRAMA by Munir.

The NEXT PRIME MINISTER TO BE – CHUHDRY AITEZAZ AHSAN have promised him a THICK Port folio in coming Sindh Govt of PPP & MQM as compensation of losses he have suffered since March 2007 till date.

- –

(: anyone willing to BET with me ? – ! -

19. MS (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 2:01 am

@ KING_FAISAL

Thanks for sharing the link. Woow, that reminds me of the dark era of 90′s and makes me wonder what would the alliance of PPP and MQM bring to MQM this time around?

20. MS (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 2:03 am

@ JAMAL SHAMSI

No, atleast I am not willing to bet on that b/c that is exactly what is going to happen :)

21. MS (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 2:18 am

About PPP and its faggots, do you all still remember the case of Mir Hazar Khan Bijarani (quite a mouthful)?

http://www.dawn.com/2007/08/16/top2.htm
    http://thenews.jang.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=9919

He is the PPP MNA who lead the jirga over a dispute and is wanted in Pakistan for doing the same. He has been nominated by PPP to contest poll for the NA-209 Jacobabad-II !!!

http://www.dawn.com/2002/10/02/local27.htm

I don’t see any post anywhere about this including the blogs of MB, TM, and other people who keep bashing the government and pretend to fight for the “right”?

22. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 2:24 am

Wow. All hail King_Faisal and say thank you, for you’ve made my job so much easier :).

First off you say that nothing is being made of the dying servicemen.
    Then you go back to your usual self of crying “hum mazloomoun par zulm hua/ho raha hai”.

The servicemen and women battling our own is bad. Them getting killed is even worse.

What should be thought about is why? Why is it that the once peacefull Swat region is now a battle field? Why is it that innocent teenagers are being abducted from their houses, tourtured and told to confess crimes they did not commit?

Why is it that the Radical Mullah can roam around freely, even given gov pardons when civilains all over the country are targeted with things worse than death??

Why is it that more and more people are listening to all these radicals – in a country that has always been morderate??

& a personal question to you.

Why was it that w/e happened in the the 90′s happenend?

If you say that its prejudice or that mqm are innocent, then you sir are no different from the Talibans you claim to oppose.

You commit a sin, you get punished. Thats the rule of God not man.

-

@ Jamal: Hmmm….what makes you think A Ahsam is the pm in waiting?

According to the mans wife, BB has yet to congratulate him on the CJ victory, let alone call him in jail or even make a case for him.

I dont know much about Mr.Mailik so I cant say, but as a Pakistani and a human, you would not want this to happen to anyone. Would you?

23. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 3:07 am

RED_MUNK Teenagers are being abducted where? Who ordered the release of 60 odd hairline Terrorists in govt custody? Who was raising hue and cry before and after Lal Masjid operation? Whose government was there in Swat? Whose constituency is Swat? If something happens in Karachi, even torrential downpour MQM is put to task? Why didn’t paroah’s of insaaf asked their allies, what is happening in your constituency and what are you doing about it? Every body was pressurising the govt not to take action, they are our people. Apne hi logoun ko na maro, even when they attacked first and killed first and challenged the writ of the government.

The torture endured by teenagers in Karachi is beyond comparison, it happened before MQM retaliated against massacre of hundreds of innocent civilians at the hands of drug mafia. I have seen teenagers whisked away, probably for a curfew violation or accused of stone throwing. When they came back they were mentally damaged (subjected to even worse torture then mentioned above). They were the victims, who in turn did the same to others as it’s often the case with people who endured what they had to endure. Most importantly they were our kids (who bhee apne loag thay) who were treated like animals whatever their sins, and when people like you call that justice, just because they belonged to one party, then it surely makes me sick. I marvel at the hypocrisy of those fighting for the rule of Law.

But that’s in the past nothing like that, should be allowed to happen again. The youth of this city have been provided with opportunities, a sense of purpose and have been put to work. The battle for the future political control is being fought where it should be fought.

MS even BB now realizes that its not nineties, She has seen what has happened to her long march, I doubt very much that she will ever get the share of the pie that she dreamt of. People even in rural Sindh are wiser and know their leaders well.

24. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 3:08 am

RED_MUNK Teenagers are being abducted where? Who ordered the release of 60 odd hairline Terrorists in govt custody? Who was raising hue and cry before and after Lal Masjid operation? Whose government was there in Swat? Whose constituency is Swat? If something happens in Karachi, even torrential downpour MQM is put to task? Why didn’t paroah’s of insaaf asked their allies, what is happening in your constituency and what are you doing about it? Every body was pressurising the govt not to take action, they are our people. Apne hi logoun ko na maro, even when they attacked first and killed first and challenged the writ of the government.

25. Reality_check (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 3:14 am

The torture endured by teenagers in Karachi is beyond comparison, it happened before MQM retaliated against massacre of hundreds of innocent civilians at the hands of drug mafia. I have seen teenagers whisked away, probably for a curfew violation or accused of stone throwing. When they came back they were mentally damaged (subjected to even worse torture then mentioned above). They were the victims, who in turn did the same to others as it’s often the case with people who endured what they had to endure. Most importantly they were our kids (who bhee apne loag thay) who were treated like animals whatever their sins, and when people like you call that justice, just because they belonged to one party, then it surely makes me sick. I marvel at the hypocrisy of those fighting for the rule of Law.

26. STRIP-TEASE (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 4:12 am

whosoever designed this poster shud be dragged to the court for USING SOMEONE ELSE’s LINES, its a voilation of COPYRIGHT LAW.

Start creating/writing ur own stuff.

Roger water’s(Pink Floyd) lines are,

There is no pain, you are receding.
    A distant ships smoke on the horizon.
    You are only coming through in waves.
    Your lips move but I cant hear what youre sayin.
    When I was a child I had a fever.
    My hands felt just like two balloons.
    Now I got that feeling once again.
    I cant explain, you would not understand.
    This is not how I am.
    I have become comfortably numb.

27. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 4:33 am

red_munki,

suicide bombers might be your people but certainly not mine. i think suicide bombers and their patrons are jaanwers and there is only one way to deal with with them. and if pak army does not have the stomach for a fight, uncle sam with u.n. approval, will be happy to do the needful. jihadis are a threat to humanity and rest of the human race recognises this fact even if pakistanis dont.

on justification for torture of mqm kaarkun: fine. but since torture is not a conduct that is condoned under human rights covenents, its hypocritical to claim people like aitzaz ahsan are fighting for human rights instead of their own political gains. and since likes of aitzaz ahsan and munir maliks have no problems associating with parties who committ torture, i have no problems if they get a taste of their own medicine.

good for the geesee…yada yada yada

28. redsnapper (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 4:37 am

I blame the lawyers for the following atrocities:

The lawyers were supposed to go to Swat during the last six months to clean out the Taliban. They didn’t. They just stood by.

As part of their duty, the lawyers should have stopped Lal Masjid from terrorizing Islamabad. They didn’t. They just stood by.

We were getting such wonderful foreign exchange by selling our people (admirable without wasting time on any proofs) to US. The courts and the lawyers really hurt Pakistan’s economy by asking for proofs.

Waderas in interior Punjab and Sind were controlling population by kidnapping and murdering people (for the greater good, of course). The Supreme Court stopped that and look at what happenened. Roti is more expensive now.

People who are sad at what happened to lawyers and judges are so morally corrupt. Unbelievable.

29. jijijanab (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 4:51 am

Instead of cursing anyone, we should pray for the betterment of Pakistan. Yes we can do it after every namaz or dinner time (the time some of us are busy cursing Musharraf and his family).

And btw what do these lawyers want? DEMOCRACY HUH! Democracy my foot, democracy in Pakistan means Benazir/Nawaz/Altaf/Qazi etc which indicates the same old corrupt system with killing,
    murdering and torturing of innocent Pakistanis.

It’s about time we realize that we do not have any good option that can govern the country peacefully and with honesty, the only better option out there is ARMY, let’s face it knowing that the ARMY is corrupt too but ARMY is “bit” sincere to Pakistan.

And let’s be optimistic and pray to Allah, may Allah show the right path to our leaders. (Ameen)

30. openEyes (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 11:53 am

In this worst dictatorship era…

In this rule of NaPak Army Lionhearted Commanders…. brave enough to punish, torture inocent people of pakistan, journalist, media men/women, lawyers …..

Jahil aur Jat agencywala, policewala, Napak Armywala torture karta hey aik Taleemyafta, Parhalikha, MA/LLB qualified Pakistani ko ….

Yehi hota hey NAPAK ARMY key dur main ….

31. Fakhar (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 12:04 pm

The Plan To Topple Pakistan Military

By AHMED QURAISHI

This is not about Musharraf anymore. Thi s is about clipping the wings of a strong Pakistani military, denying space for China in Pakistan, squashing the ISI, stirring ethnic unrest, and neutralizing Pakistan’s nuclear program. The first shot in this plan was fired in Pakistan’s Balochistan province in 2004. The last bullet will be toppling Musharraf, sidelining the military and installing a pliant government in Islamabad. Musharraf shares the blame for letting things come this far. But he is also punching holes in Washington’s game plan. He needs to be supported.

ISLAMABAD, Pakistan — On the evening of Tuesday, 26 September, 2006, Pakistani strongman Pervez Musharraf walked into the studio of Comedy Central’s ‘Daily Show’ with Jon Stewart, the first sitting president anywhere to dare do this political satire show.

Stewart offered his guest some tea and cookies and played the perfect host by asking, “Is it good? ” before springing a surprise: “Where’s Osama bin Laden?”

“I don’t know,” Musharraf replied, as the audience enjoyed the rare sight of a strong leader apparently cornered. “You know where he is?” Musharraf snapped back, “You lead on, we’ll follow you.”

What Gen. Musharraf didn’t know then is that he really was being cornered. Some of the smiles that greeted him in Washington and back home gave no hint of the betrayal that awaited him.

As he completed the remaining part of his U.S. visit, his allies in Washington and elsewhere, as all evidence suggests now, were plotting his downfall. They had decided to take a page from the book of successful ‘color revolutions’ where western governments covertly used money, private media, student unions, NGOs and international pressure to stage coups, basically overthrowing individuals not fitting well with Washington’s agend a.

This recipe proved its success in former Yugoslavia, and more recently in Georgia, Ukraine and Kazakhstan.

In Pakistan, the target is a Pakistani president who refuses to play ball with the United States on Afghanistan, China, and Dr. A.Q. Khan.

To get rid of him, an impressive operation is underway:

A carefully crafted media blitzkrieg launched early this year assailing the Pakistani president from all sides, questioning his power, his role in Washington’s war on terror and predicting his downfall.
    Money pumped into the country to pay for organized dissent.
    Willing activists assigned to mobilize and organize accessible social groups.
    A campaign waged on Internet where tens of mailing lists and ‘news agencies’ have sprung up from nowhere, all demonizing Musharraf and the Pakistani military.
    European- and American-funded Pakistani NGOs taking a temporary leave from their real jobs to work as a makeshift anti-government mobilization machine.
    U.S. government agencies directly funding some private Pakistani television networks; the channels go into an open anti-government mode, cashing in on some manufactured and other real public grievances regarding inflation and corruption.
    Some of Musharraf’s shady and corrupt political allies feed this campaign, hoping to stay in power under a weake ned president.
    All this groundwork completed and chips in place when the judicial crisis breaks out in March 2007. Even Pakistani politicians surprised at a well-greased and well-organized lawyers campaign, complete with flyers, rented cars and buses, excellent event-management and media outreach.
    Currently, students are being recruited and organized into a street movement. The work is ongoing and urban Pakistani students are being cultivated, especially using popular Internet Web sites and ‘online hangouts’. The people behind this effort are mostly unknown and faceless, limiting themselves to org anizing sporadic, small student gatherings in Lahore and Islamabad, complete with banners, placards and little babies with arm bands for maximum media effect. No major student association has announced yet that it is behind these student protests, which is a very interesting fact glossed over by most journalists covering this story. Only a few students from affluent schools have responded so far and it’s not because the Pakistani government’s countermeasures are effective. They’re not. The reason is that social activism attracts people from affluent backgrounds, closely reflecting a uniquely Pakistani phenomenon where local NGOs are mostly founded and run by rich, westernized Pakistanis.
    All of this may appear to be spur-of-the-moment and Musharraf-specific. But it all really began almost three years ago, when, out of the blue and recycling old political arguments, Mr. Akbar Bugti launched an armed rebellion against the Pakistani state, surprising security analysts by using rockets and other military equipment that shouldn’t normally be available to a smalltime village thug. Since then, Islamabad sits on a pile of evidence that links Mr. Bugti’s campaign to money and ammunition and logistical support from Afghanistan, directly aided by the Indians and the Karzai administration, with the Americans turning a blind eye.

For reasons not clear to our analysts yet, Islamabad has kept quiet on Washington’s involvement with anti-Pakistan elements in Afghanistan. But Pakistan did send an indirect public message to the Americans recently.

“We have indications of Indian involvement with anti-state elements in Pakistan ,” declared the spokesman of the Pakistan Foreign Office in a regular briefing in October. The statement was terse and direct and the spokesman, Ms. Tasnim Aslam, quickly moved on to other issues.

This is how a Pakistani official explained Ms. Aslam’s statement: “What she was really saying is this: We know what the Indians are doing. They’ve sold the Americans on the idea that [the Indians] are an authority on Pakistan and can be helpful in Afghanistan. The Americans have bought the idea and are in on the plan, giving the Indians a free hand in Afghanistan. What the Americans don’t know is that we, too, know the Indians very well. Better still, we know Afghanistan very well. You can’t beat us at our own game.”

Mr. Bugti’s armed rebellion coincided with the Gwadar project entering its final stages. No coincidence here. Mr. Bugti’s real job was to scare the Chinese away and scuttle Chinese President Hu Jintao’s planned visit to Gwadar a few months later to formally launch the port city.

Gwadar is the pinnacle of Sino-Pakistani strategic cooperation. It’s a modern port city that is supposed to link Central Asia, western China, and Pakistan with markets in Mideast and Africa . It’s supposed to have roads stretching all the way to China. It’s no coincidence either that China has also earmarked millions of dollars to renovate t he Karakoram Highway linking northern Pakistan to western China.

Some reports in the American media, however, have accused Pakistan and China of building a naval base in the guise of a commercial seaport directly overlooking international oil shipping lanes. The Indians and some other regional actors are also not comfortable with this project because they see it as commercial competition.

What Mr. Bugti’s regional and international supporters never expected is Pakistan moving firmly and strongly to nip his rebellion in the bud. Even Mr. Bugti himself probably never expected the Pakistani state to react in the way it did to his betrayal of the homeland. He was killed in a military operation where scores of his mercenaries surrendered to Pakistan army soldiers.

U.S. intelligence and their Indian advisors could not cultivate an immediate replacement for Mr. Bugti. So they moved to Plan B. They supported Abdullah Mehsud, a Pakistani Taliban fighter held for five years in Guantanamo Bay, and then handed over back to the Afghan government, only to return to his homeland, Pakistan, to kidnap two Chinese engineers working in Balochistan, one of whom was eventually killed during a rescue operation by the Pakistani government.

Islamabad could not tolerate th is shadowy figure, who was creating a following among ordinary Pakistanis masquerading as a Taliban while in reality towing a vague agenda. He was rightly eliminated earlier this year by Pakistani security forces while secretly returning from Afghanistan after meeting his handlers there. Again, no surprises here.

SMELLING A RAT

This is where Pakistani political and military officials finally started smelling a rat. All of this was an indication of a bigger problem. There were growing indications that, ever since Islamabad joined Washington’s regional plans, Pakistan was gradually turning into a ‘besieged-nation’, heavily targeted by the American media while being subjected to strategic sabotage and espionage from Afghanistan.

Afghanistan, under America’s watch, has turned into a vast staging ground for sophisticated psychological and military operations to destabilize neighboring Pakistan.
    ! ;
    During the past three years, the heat has gradually been turned up against Pakistan and its military along Pakistan’s western regions:

A shadowy group called the BLA, a Cold War relic, rose from the dead to restart a separatist war in southwestern Pakistan.
    Bugti’s death was a blow to neo-BLA, but the shadowy group’s backers didn’t repent. His grandson, Brahmdagh Bugti, is currently enjoying a safe shelter in the Afghan capital, Kabul, where he continues to operate and remote-control his assets in Pakistan.
    Saboteurs trained in Afghanistan have been inserted into Pakistan to aggravate extremist passions here, especially after the Red Mosque operation.
    Chinese citizens continue to be targeted by individuals pretending to be Islamists, when no known Islamic group has claimed responsibility.
    A succession of ‘religious rebels’ with suspicious foreign links have suddenly emerged in Pakistan over the past months claiming to be ‘Pakistani Taliban’. Some of the names include Abdul Rashid Ghazi, Baitullah Mehsud, and now the Maulana of Swat. Some of them have used and are using encrypted communication equipment far superior to what Pakistani military owns.
    Money and weapons have been fed into the religious movements and al Qaeda remnants in the tribal areas.
    Exploiting the situation, assets within the Pakistani media started promoting the idea that the Pakistani military was killing its own people. The rest of the unsuspecting media quickly picked up this message. Some botched American and Pakistani military operations against Al Qaeda that caused civilian deaths accidentally fed this media campaign.

This was the perfect timing for the launch of Military, Inc.: Inside Pakistan’s Military Economy , a book authored by Dr. Ayesha Siddiqa Agha, a columnist for a Pakistani English-language paper and a correspondent for ‘Jane’s Defence Weekly’, a private intelligence service founded by experts close to the British intelligence.

TARGET: PAK MILITARY

The book was launched in Pakistan in early 2007 by Oxford Press. And, contrary to most reports, it is openly available in Islamabad’s biggest bookshops. The book portrays the Pakistani military as an institution that is eating up whatever little resources Pakistan has.

Pakistani military’s successful financial management, creating alternate financial sources to spend on a vast military machine and build a conventional and nuclear near-match with a neighboring adversary five times larger – an impressive record for any nation by any standard – was distorted in the book and reduced to a mere attempt by the military to control the nation’s economy in the same way it was controlling its politics.

The timing was interesting. After all, it was hard to defend a military in the eyes of its own proud people when the chief of the military is ruling the country, the army is fighting insurgents and extremists who claim to be defending Islam, grumpy politicians are out of business, and the military’s side businesses, meant to feed the nation’s military machine, are doing well compared to the shabby state of the nation’s ci vilian departments.

A closer look at Ms. Siddiqa, the author, revealed disturbing information to Pakistani officials. In the months before launching her book, she was a frequent visitor to India where, as a defense expert, she cultivated important contacts. On her return, she developed friendship with an Indian lady diplomat posted in Islamabad. Both of these activities – travel to India and ties to Indian diplomats – are not a crime in Pakistan and don’t raise interest anymore. Pakistanis are hospitable and friendly people and these qualities have been amply displayed to the Indians during the four-year-old peace process.

What is interesting is that Ms. Siddiqa left her car in the house of the said Indian diplomat during one of her recent trips to London. And, according to a report, she stayed in London at a place owned by an individual linked to the Indian lady diplomat friend in Islamabad .

The point here is this: Who assigned her to investigate the Pakistani Armed Forces and present a distorted image of a proud an efficient Pakistani institution?

From 1988 to 2001, Dr. Siddiqa worked in the Pakistan civil service, the Pakistani civil bureaucracy. Her responsibilities included dealing with Military Accounts, which come under the Pakistan Ministry of Defense. She had thirteen years of rich experience in dealing with the budgetary matters of the Pakistani military and people working in this area.

Dr. Siddiqa received a year-long fellowship to research and write a book in the United States . There are strong indications that some of her Indian contacts played a role in arranging financing for her book project through a paid fellowship. The final manuscript of her book was vetted at a publishing office in New Delhi.

All of these details are insignificant if detached from the real issue at hand. And the issue is the demonization of the Pakistani military as an integral part of the media siege around Pakistan, with the American media leading the way in this campaign.

Some of the juicy details of this campaign include:

The attempt by D r. Siddiqa to pitch junior officers against senior officers in Pakistan Armed Forces by alleging discrimination in the distribution of benefits. Apart from being malicious and unfounded, her argument was carefully designed to generate frustration and demoralize Pakistani soldiers.
    The American media insisting on handing over Dr. A. Q. Khan to the United States so that a final conviction against the Pakistani military can be secured.
    Mrs. Benazir Bhutto demanding after returning to Pakistan that the ISI be restructured; and in a press conference during her house arrest in Lahore in November she went as far as asking Pakistan army officers to revolt against the army chief, a damning attempt at destroying a professional army from within.

Some of this appears to be eerily similar to the campaign waged against the Pakistani military in 1999, when, in July that year, an unsigned full page advertisement appeared in major American newspapers with the following headline: “A Modern Rogue Army With Its Finger On The Nuclear Button.”

Till this day, it is not clear who exactly paid for such an expensive newspaper full-page advertisement. But one thing is clear: the agenda behind that advertisement is back in action.

Strangely, just a few days before Mrs. Bhutto’s statements about restructuring the ISI and her open call to army officers to stage a mutiny against their leadership, the American conservative magazine The Weekly Standard inter viewed an American security expert who offered similar ideas:

“A large number of ISI agents who are responsible for helping the Taliban and al Qaeda should be thrown in jail or killed. What I think we should do in Pakistan is a parallel version of what Iran has run against us in Iraq : giving money [and] empowering actors. Some of this will involve working with some shady characters, but the alternative–sending U.S. forces into Pakistan for a sustained bombing campaign–is worse.” Steve Schippert, Weekly Standard, Nov. 2007 .

In addition to these media attacks, which security experts call ‘psychological operations’, the American media and politicians have intensified over the past year their campaign to prepare the international public opinion to accept a western intervention in Pakistan along the lines of Iraq and Afghan istan:

Newsweek came up with an entire cover story with a single storyline: Pakistan is a more dangerous place than Iraq.
    Senior American politicians, Republican and Democrat, have argued that Pakistan is more dangerous than Iran and merits similar treatment. On 20 October, Senator Joe Biden told ABC News that Washington needs to put soldiers on the ground in Pakistan and invite the international community to join in. “We should be in there,” he said. “We should be supplying tens of millions of dollars to build new schools to compete with the madrassas. We should be in there building democratic institutions. We should be in there, and get the rest of the world in there, giving some structure to the emergence of, hopefully, the reemergence of a democratic process.”
    The International Crisis Group (ICG) has recommended gradual sanctions on Pakistan similar to those imposed on Iran, e.g. slapping travel bans on Pakistani military officers and seizing Pakistani military assets abroad.
    The process of painting Pakistan’s nuclear assets as pure evil lying around waiting for some do-gooder to come in and ‘secure’ them has reached unprecedented levels, with the U.S. media again depicting Pakistan as a nation incapable of protecting its nuclear installations. On 22 October, Jane Harman from the U.S. House Intelligence panel gave the following statement: “I think the U.S. would be wise – and I trust we are doing this – to have contingency plans [to seize Pakistan's nuclear ass! ets], es pecially because should [Musharraf] fall, there are nuclear weapons there.”
    The American media has now begun discussing the possibility of Pakistan breaking up and the possibility of new states of ‘Balochistan’ and ‘Pashtunistan’ being carved out of it. Interestingly, one of the first acts of the shady Maulana of Swat after capturing a few towns was to take down the Pakistani flag from the top of state buildings and replacing them with his own party flag.
    The ‘chatter’ about President Musharraf’s eminent fall has also increased dramatically in the mainly American media, which has been very generous in marketing theories about how Musharraf might “disappear” or be “removed” from the scene. According to some Pakistani analysts, this could be an attempt to prepare the public opinion for a possible assassination of the Pakistani president.
    Another worrying thing is how American officials are publicly signaling to the Pakistanis that Mrs. Benazir Bhutto has their backing as the next leader of the country. Such signals from Washington are not only a kiss of death for any public leader in Pakistan, but the Americans also know that their actions are inviting potential assassins to target Mrs. Bhutto. If she is killed in this way, there won’t be enough time to find the real culprit, but what’s certain is that unprecedented international pressure will be placed on Islamabad while everyone will use their local assets to create maximum internal chaos in the country. A dress rehearsal of this scenario has already taken place in October when no less than the U.N. Security Council itself intervened to ask the international community to “assist” in the investigations into the assassination attempt on Mrs. Bhutto on 18 October. This generous move was sponsored by the U.S. and, interestingly, had no input from Pakistan which did not ask for help in investigations in the first place.

Some Pakistani security analysts privately say that American ‘chatter’ about Musharraf or Bhutto getting killed is a serious matter that can’t be easily dismissed. Getting Bhutto killed can generate the kind of pressure that could result in permanently putting the Pakistani military on a back foot, giving Washington enough room to push for installing a new pliant leadership in Islamabad.&n bsp;

Having Musharraf killed isn’t a bad option either. The unknown Islamists can always be blamed and the military will not be able to put another soldier at the top, and circumstances will be created to ensure that either Mrs. Bhutto or someone like her is eased into power.

The Americans are very serious this time. They cannot let Pakistan get out of their hands. They have been kicked out of Uzbekistan last year, where they were maintaining bases. They are in trouble in Afghanistan and Iraq. Iran continues to be a mess for them and Russia and China are not making it any easier. Pakistan must be ‘secured’ at all costs. !

This is why most Pakistanis have never seen American diplomats in Pakistan active like this before. And it’s not just the current U.S. ambassador, who has added one more address to her other most-frequently-visited address in Karachi, Mrs. Bhutto’s house. The n ew address is the office of GEO, one of two news channels shut down by Islamabad for not signing the mandatory code-of-conduct. Thirty-eight other channels are operating and no one has censored the newspapers. But never mind this. The Americans have developed a ‘thing’ for GEO. No solace of course for ARY, the other banned channel.

Now there’s also one Bryan Hunt, the U.S. consul general in Lahore, who wears the national Pakistani dress, the long shirt and baggy trousers, and is moving around these days issuing tough warnings to Islamabad and to the Pakistani government and to President Musharraf to end emergency rule, res ign as army chief and give Mrs. Bhutto access to power.

PAKISTAN’S OPTIONS

So what should Pakistan do in the face of such a structured camp aign to bring Pakistan down on its knees and forcibly install a pro-Washington administration in Islamabad?

There is increasing talk in Islamabad these days about Pakistan’s new tough stand in the face of this malicious campaign.

As a starter, Islamabad blew the wind out of the visit of Mr. John Negroponte, the no. 2 man in the U.S. State Department, who came to Pakistan last week “to deliver a tough message” to the Pakistani president. Musharraf, to his credit, told him he won’t end emergency rule until all objectives are achieved.

These objectives include:

Cleaning up our northern and western parts of the country of all foreign operatives and their domestic pawns.
    Ensuring that Washington’s plan for regime-change doesn’t succeed.
    Purging the Pakistani media of all those elements that were willing or unwilling accomplices in the plan to destabilize the country.
    Musharraf has also told Washington publicly tha t “Pakistan is more important than democracy or the constitution.” This is a bold position. This kind of boldness would have served Musharraf a lot had it come a little earlier. But even now, his media management team is unable to make the most out of it.

Washington will not stand by watching as its plan for regime change in Islamabad goes down the drain. In case the Americans insist on interfering in Pakistani affairs, Islamabad, according to my sources, is looking at some tough measures:

Cutting off oil supplies to U.S. military in Afghanistan. Pakistani officials are already enraged at how Afghanistan has turned into a staging ground for sabotage in Pakistan. If Islamabad continues to see Washington acting as a bully, Pakistani officials are seriously considering an announcement where Pakistan, for the first time since October 2001, will deny the United States use of Pakistani soil and air space to transport fuel to Afghanistan.
    Reviewing Pakistan’s role in the war on terror. Islamabad needs to fight terrorists on its border with Afghanistan. But our methods need to be different to Washington’s when it comes to our domestic extremists. This is where Islamabad parts ways with Washington. Pakistani officials are considering the option of withdrawing from the war on terror while maintaining Pakistan’s own war against the terrorists along Afghanistan’s border.
    Talks with the Talib an. Pakistan has no quarrel with Afghanistan’s Taliban. They are Kabul’s internal problem. But if reaching out to Afghan Taliban’s Mullah Omar can have a positive impact on rebellious Pakistani extremists, then this step should be taken. The South Koreans can talk to the Taliban. Karzai has also called for talks with them. It is time that Islamabad does the same.
    The Americans have been telling everyone in the world that they have paid Pakistan $10 billion dollars over the past five years. They might think this gives them the right to decide Pakistan’s destiny. What they don’t tell the world is how Pakistan’s help secured for them their biggest footprint ever in energy-rich Central Asia.

If they forget, Islamabad can always remind them by giving them the same treatment that Uzbekistan did last year.

32. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 12:30 pm

Fakhar, it may bounce off from majority of this blog readers,. and you may be Painted as “army ka chamcha” etc etc

Though Ahmed quesrhi simply revealed the TIP of ICE BERG

A Nuclear Muslim State which is ONLY source of strenght to MUSLIM world is a THORN.

“ordering” Dubai to shut down non-sense, “walk-in” to King’s palace in Jeddah asking to keep leash-end of Shareefs with them -

- Bush changing the tone – Bush sirf Guzarish kar saktay hain – after visit of Iranian Defence Minister to Islamabad, –

That is international pulse PAKISTAN Command over muslim world.

- Local -

shareef brothers got tip about Aitezaz Ahsan as new PM, and they went to his house 27th Nov, gave an statment Aitzaz is our candidate as well as he is of PPP ; to video news

ALL is WELL that ends WELL – :) All is well which has ended WELL !

(: smile its Thursday today

33. OpenEyes (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 1:07 pm

@Shamsi
    People of Pakistan, Welcome and accept this Demoratic Rule & Musarraf Strategic Struggle IF … IF …. Musharraf should prove his insight by doing following:

Musharraf -> Civil President,
    Aitizaz -> PM,
    Iftikhar -> Cheif Justice
    Judiciary Judges -> Restored as of 3rd Nov
    Qadeer Khar -> Chairman Nuclear Strategic Counsel
    Media/Channel Freedom -> Restored

DadaGeeri of MQM -> Stopped/Eradicated
    Fincial/Stocks/Horders Mafai-> Stopped/Eradicated
    Fair (Without DadaGeeri/Agency) Election – Annoucment
    Fair Election Commission -> Annoucement

Civil Socity, Journalist, Lawyers and People of Pakistan -> Welcome and accept this Demoratic Rule

The Civil Society has more wisdom and courage and leadership as compared to our Armed Comanders

34. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 1:23 pm

@ Fahhar: Dude just link the story next time please. Its much easier to read.

What you say does make sense, not because I have faith in the sincerity of Mush’s actions, but because of the distrust for the American gov.

You cant deny the facts that Mush has put us in harms way more times than not.

Bringing us to the brink of war in 1999 when he went into battle without even consulting the pm. Got hundreds of jawaans killed and whatever little credibility the army had left along with them.

The way he came into power. Most of the moves he’s made to make sure he stays there.

If you really belive that he has the best interests in heart, why is it that he waited for over 2 years for the Lal Masjid fiasco to boil over? Just like Swat, common ppl were shouting to whoever would hear them that this thing would turn ugly.

Check the Dawn Archives for the letters to the editor.

Do not compare Pak with the Uzbeks. The gov there had natural gas to fall back on. Unlike us they listened to their ppl + they had a lot of pressure from Russia. Can you really see a Pakistani leader (civilian or military), telling the USA to take a hike??

For the sake of argument; Mush killed Bughti in national interest.

One of the reasons was that he had private prisons and would not let any development take place. Sure, but forget development projects – not even basic infrasturcure projects have been initiated in the area.

India’s messing around? Of course they are. They always do – just like we mess with them every single opp we get.

But what are the men in power doing about it??

If they were so smart, had fore-warnings and intelligence breifing, why is it that nothing was done?

-

@ R_C: All over the country really. Try speaking against the leadership in any way shape or form and they’ll come after you too :(.

And thats my point. Deal with suicide bombers as they wish to do to us, but the trouble is the gov is not.

(comparitively)Innocent ppl all over the country are being persecuted while these extremists are being negotiated with.

It blows our minds & were not even there.

Imagine the family whose loved ones have been targeted (@ most times, the bread winner of the house). Do you blame them if they join the radical who comes to console them & gives them some money – albeit to fuel his personal agenda?.

-

@ K_F: If you’re a Pakistani, everyone is your ‘people’. Gotta take the bad with the good :).

I agree with your feelings for these nut cases but if you think thats what the US/UN or NATO intends to do – or for that matter is capable to do, you’re clearly wet behind the ears.

Just have to look as far as Afghanistan and Iraq for the track record of the worlds greatest force!.

Pakistan is a soverign state last I checked and w/e happens here is our business. Not any of the neighbours, not the puppet UN and certainly not for the US of A to decide.

As for the third part; im not even gonna get into that argument as its gonna end as it always does. Flame war with one set of ppl presenting the facts while the other just ….. well, crying really.

-

@RedSnapper: Damn those $%#%$#. Im sure this sudden spate of chill is also their fault. They want everyone to wear their black coats….And March like Penguins! :P

35. HITMAN (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 4:02 pm

The report is definitely an eye opener and I don’t see a point as why can one reject even 10% of it because thats the way it is. American conspiracy theories are not something out of this world, they r a fact. However, we can’t really blame all foreign powers because its our weakness that has provided their strategies to succeed. As a Pakistani, I love army and those using terms as NaPak army are rally dancing on the tunes of those powers which the report highlights. True that most generals are corrupt etc but as an institution we must give army the respect which it truly deserves.

36. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 5:07 pm

OPEN EYES, you forgot the cabinet members, (:

37. Fakhar Ahmad (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 6:03 pm

I just hope sense prevail in our kids in the forum who take blind sides for freedom of speech and judiciary.
    These are important issues but at what cost – Pakistan – NO WAY
    Open your eyes and see the big picture!!!!!

38. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 10:25 pm

If PPP decides to go ahead with elections even then Aitezaz Ahsan has no chance of being a canidate for top slot.. bb would never let that happen..

39. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 10:47 pm

@FAKHAR AHMED – & many of you

either this generation or generation after them would ASK to RE-UNITE the subcontinent, the heat in blood is getting cold when it is about ETERNAL ENEMY of PAKISTAN. the generation of late 70′s & 80′s is already whispering why is that when we speak same language, we eat almost the same, the water source is same, we share same culture why is that we have borders, why is that when berlin wall can be demolished and Germany be ONE, and europe is now European union why can’t be subcontinent be united and supreme power of the region.

The smartness of these statments is the word Pakistan & India is never used it is termed a United Subcontinent. – am sure 90% of readers have frowned, raised eye brows and made faces on reading the whole article., because for them this might be a plot of a novel from some poltical IBN-SAFI, but thats what the TIP of ICE BERG is as ground reality is much sour and tough.

ONE THING basically WRONG with the Generation of 70′s & 80′s is that they do not know the word enemy in real terms., and or the spirit.

INDIA is OUR enemy – The Only enemy at our gate with whom we shall always be careful, so care-FULL that if needed we shall sleep with eyes wide open. INDIA can never be FRIEND of Pakistan, be it Imran hashmi’s soft porn movies or a cricket match, or the exchange of list of terrorist.

Pakistan being Islamic nuclear power and The strongest LINK of the Muslim Ummah is target of all those who smiled and said it is matter of 3 days before they come back to us and we will name united India as BHARAT a Hindu State with tolerence and acceptance for ALL (Jawahar lal nehru 21 august 1947 state dinner hosted in honor of Lord Mountbatten) – 60 years and the dream is still dream of followers of Chankya – and we are in ripple of their consipracies, demolishing ourselves and fighthing among ourselves, and as nation we are failures to GOVERN ourselves because we always look outward for Good Governance, we decline to accept our ugliness of being divided, over petty issues of medium of education, basic health, safe drinking water and moral rape of values which makes us human.

40. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 10:48 pm

MB release my comments. Please!

41. jijijanab (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 11:01 pm

@FAKHAR

The article is an eye opener, thankyou for sharing. Unfortunately, we Pakistanis got this habit of criticizing blindly. Take Munir Malik for example, why on earth is he criticizing the present govt. and raising his voice for humanity and rights today, where was he hiding in his pro PPP ruling days??? Some folks are so fake and mean… son of karachi, my foot, he’s son of the corrupt Pakistans People Party.

42. Balma (unregistered) on November 29th, 2007 @ 11:37 pm

Is Ahmed Quraishi an ex-Takbeer writer?

43. Balma (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 12:04 am

The asshole Hussain Haqqani has written another of his fucking articles for the Wall Street Journal today (29th Nov 2007). The guy who has no academic standing heads a think tank at Boston University. Sometimes you want to believe these takbeer style stories from Ahmad Quraishi.
    Abay oyae kameenay Hussain (Haqqani), why don’t you mention in your articles that you were an advisor to Navaz NoSharif as well…just telling the readers that you were an advisor to Budnazir (Benazir for search engines) and others is only half lie. Also, you idiot, Hussoo Hukkoo, tell your readers that Budnazir was fired for corruption and misrule , twice, too, not just your ex-advisee Navaz NoShareef.

I wonder why anyone will hire this non-Ph.D., non academic, bad-ass, half lier for a position at a fairly decent american university. Who is paying your salary, you Hussain chay kay Dhakkan?
    Enough is enough, Balma will have to write a letter to the editors at the WSJ.

44. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 12:22 am

Balmay :)

darhi monchian nikal ayeen, bachpana nahi gaya (:

45. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 2:29 am

red_munki,

foreign policy is decided by govt sitting in islamabad. and if the govt decides that pak cannot give shelter to degenrate arab organisations like al qaeedah, then i am afraid citizens dont have any other choice but to obey the govt. law enforcement agencies are well within their rights to target elements trying to implement independent foreign policy. moreover under u.n. resolution 1368, u.s. has been authorised by international community to go after al qaeedah. any govt that allows al qaeedah to take shelter will be at minimum subjected to international sanctions of the sort that bought oil rich iraq to its knees under saddam. along with sanctions, u.s. and intl community will also bomb those sites where intelligence indicates that al qaeedah is taking shelter. pak off course can fight back but given that pak has defence budget of around $5bn vs $600bn for the u.s, i know how that battle is going to turn out. ultimately, sovereignty of puny little countries like pak is completely dependent on the goodwill of big powers. anyone who thinks otherwise is a resident of cuckoo land.

balma,

i share your sentiments on hussain huqqani. he is prominent in the u.s. because u.s. media only shows one side when covering troublesome countries like pak. influential lobbies and pressure groups have strong connections in important institutions like academia and media. these connections are used to influence american public opnion. huqqani is part of this foodchain. more than likely, he is being sponsored by a combination of conservative groups and hindutva indians whose goal is to demonise pak army in the same manner that yehudis demonise palestinians. haqqani is nothing more than a rundee offering his services to the highest bidder. haqqani’s backers through their connection ensure that americans only get one viewpoint on pak and these groups are strong enough to ensure that dum ass media only talks to their poodle.

that btw from what i hear, haqqani’s wife has been offered a ticket by bb. will have to confirm this news.

46. Balma (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 3:29 am

King_Faisal, since you seem to be Haqqani specialist (after all you know about his wife), here are few questions.

Is Haqqani an ex-Jamati?

When Haqqani was at Karachi Univeristy, was he a member of the IJT?

Also, Was he (who else, the Haqqani chay) advisor to Budnazir during both of her terms, and to Navaz Sharif in his 2nd term.
    In other words, what was the sequence of his loTagardi.

Budnazir,NoShairf, Budnazir,NoSharif or NBN or BN the second time around. I mean how many times did he change sides.

The least I could do is to write to the relevant dean at Boston Univ on Haqqani chay’s intellectual dishonesty in his articles….assuming WSJ does not publish Balma’s letter.

P.S. Is his wife cute?

47. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 3:55 am

balma,

not a specialist on haqqani by any means. i do remember however that agencies picked him during the second stint of ctbt. cowasjee had something to say about haqqani:

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/cowas/990629.htm

“…During Nawaz I and Benazir II the most prominent weaver and damage-doer was Husain Haqqani. From 1988 to 1990, Husain was Punjab Chief Minister Nawaz Sharif’s special assistant, becoming his press assistant when Nawaz became prime minister in 1990, until in 1992 he was sent off to Sri Lanka as high commissioner. As soon as Nawaz was forced to step down, Husain joined Benazir’s camp and from 1993 to 1994 was Secretary to the ministry of information and broadcasting, until Benazir also shunted him out to head the House Building Finance Corporation.

….Brittle and paranoiac as it is, this government for some mad reason considers Haqqani to be a threat, possibly because it thinks he has armed himself with copies of compromising documents picked up during his days of officialdom. He is now tied to the rack. The government has not denied that its dirty-tricks brigade kidnapped him in the middle of the night, had him beaten up, kept in solitary confinement, initially incommunicado, but now under judicial custody in a safe house near the Rawal Lake. His cuts and bruises have been brought on record, his bail applications have been rejected. Ostensibly he has been charged with corruption, embezzlement, and the squandering of government wealth. Could he even remotely have squandered one-hundreth of what has been squandered by Benazir or Nawaz?…”

on his wife being a candidate for ppp, we have confirmation from the news. not sure about how she looks. she is an aunty so i would not get my hopes too high. and speaking of aunties, i was on flight with sherry rehman this october. you should have seen the way she was dressed. waisay i have to say for an aunty, she is pretty decent:

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=11406

…Hussain Haqqani, now a professor at Boston University, has also been in close contact with Benazir Bhutto and advising her, informally, on how to handle the State Department and US think tanks but since he himself is not interested in Pakistani politics, or may be not until Benazir actually forms another government, he has used his connections to get his wife a PPP ticket. Farah is already a member of the Benazir’s information team in Karachi.

48. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 4:04 am

btw i am very very sure that bb has the support of prominent yehudi groups as well as neo-cons. some prominent journalists such as rober novak have been singing praises about bb. i bet if she comes to power, we will see pak establishing dimplomatic relation with israel a couple of years later. i am also not surprised to see haqqani’s wife getting a ticket by bb. i bet neo-con groups had something to do with it as well.

49. MB (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 9:04 am

@Jamal , Reality, Others :
    Sorry i was away & could check comments yesterday & therefore delay in allowing few held-for-moderation comments.

50. HITMAN (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 10:51 am

JS, I salute u on ur observations & comment

51. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 1:50 pm

@ MB: So you DID moderate the comments??……. Really?

@ JS: Agreed. When ever India talks about reconciliation they talk about ‘Akhand Bharat’. Every Paki in love with the idea tends to forget that if not for a seperate country, they would have been sweepers in India.

52. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 2:34 pm

@ALL

The Generation of 70′s & 80′s is not reading history & civics which WAS part of our curriculam at schools till 1989.

how many here know the CORRECT verion of 1857 war of independence that was the seed which rooted and become a reality 90 years later in shape of Pakistan.

Non-biased history is in the archieves of British library in paper format, some of it is also in the US library of congress in paper format.

The e-format is distorted and been manipulated altogether at the whine & whim of enemy of Pakistan, & enemy of muslims.

53. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 5:15 pm

rather long but for those interested, the link provides very detailed information on how russia and kgb used groups inside pak to destabalise pak. also couple of years back, an intelligence website published an interview by couple of ex-kgb agents in which the agents talked about the rise in terrorism in baluchistan. essentially russians had created terrorism infrastructure which became dormant after russian withdrawl from afghanistan. over the last couple of years, that infrastructure is being revived.

note that wilson centre is an institution linked to u.s. govt:

http://www.wilsoncenter.org/index.cfm?topic_id=1409&fuseaction=va2.document&identifier=3FF29963-ABFA-30E0-344EE1596C121EDF&sort=Collection&item=Soviet%20Invasion%20of%20Afghanistan

…Through KGB SCD [Second Chief Directorate] assets, a warning is to be conveyed to the Pakistan Mission in Moscow to the effect that if a sensible line does not prevail in [Pakistani leader] Zia-ul Haq’s political course, and Pakistan agrees under pressure from the US and China to turn its territory into a base for permanent armed struggle against Afghanistan, the Oriental Studies Institute of the USSR Academy of Sciences will be instructed to study ways of exploiting the Baluchi(1) and Pushtun(2) movements in Pakistan, as well as internal opposition to the country’s military regime, in the interests of the security of the frontiers of the Democratic Republic of Afghanistan (DRA).

54. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 5:29 pm

another link from a respectable source. i remember reading another article few years back on kgb archives which indicated that lots of prominent “left-wing” pakistanis including journalists were on russian payroll.

http://www.washingtonpost.com/ac2/wp-dyn/A55522-2002Feb23?language=printer

“…They also sought to destabilize Pakistan. Mitrokhin documents — with names and dates — what had been long suspected: The KHAD supplied arms to Pakistani dissidents in Baluchistan and Sind who opposed their own government in Islamabad. The KGB and KHAD also linked up with Murtaza Bhutto, the brother of later Pakistan prime minister Benazir Bhutto. The KGB and KHAD worked directly with Murtaza Bhutto, a leftist terrorist, to organize and supervise the hijacking of a Pakistani civilian airliner in 1981, according to Mitrokhin…”

another very interesting link:

http://www.khaleejtimes.com/DisplayArticleNew.asp?col=&section=opinion&xfile=data/opinion/2007/July/opinion_July38.xml

…Murtaza’s men bombed the Sindh High Court, assassinated Zia cronies in the Punjab who had signed his father’s death warrant, used the terrorist Tipu (a Karachi Shipowners Collage gun freak!) to hijack a PIA airliner at Karachi to divert it to Kabul. Dr Salahuddin (Murtaza’s code name to his self-styled PPP revolutionaries) welcomed Tipu on the tarmac at Kabul airport with the KGB resident [chief of station to the Christians In Action (CIA!)] watching and listening to everything in the control tower. Women and children were released from the hijacked PIA plane and a triumphant Tipu spoke to Dr Babrak Kamal, the president of Afghanistan installed by the USSR after the invasion. Then came the dance of death.

An ADC to PM Bhutto who the paranoid Tipu thought was an ISI agent, Captain Tariq Rahim, was machine gunned, thrown to the tarmac to bleed to death.

55. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 6:01 pm

King_faisal – this would be hard to swallow for majority of people here. BUT These are facts and part of HISTORY and the Important Strategic geographical status Pakistan ENJOY., in Middle east and south Asia altogether.

In terms of country our fellow countrymen have very WEAK MEMORIES, and those who keep track of ALL, are ALWAYS painted BLACK.

shortly someone will post here – KGB is history and their leagcy have finished with USSR -

what many may not know & believe – the current RUSSIAN President Viladimir Putin is Former Head of KGB and he knows the tricks and tactics of clandestine OPS, he was part of Afghan war and THEY have not forgotten the Afghanistan. He still ask for update on Iraq & Afghanistan situation at weekly security brief in Kremlin.

They are taking the best smile and watching from distance plugging all holes in Iraq & Afghanistan from where the NATO is working hard to find a RESPECTABLE EXIT.

FSB – the new name of KGB has already brought the cold war to our door step, IRAN an Ally to Russia – Pakistan a Rowdy Child of USA, with Leash of Muslim Ummah in its hands. is tickling BOTH ON & OFF.

IF USA frown and decline supply of F-16s, Orions & Subhunters, SUKHOI, Grisha Class boats & Norsk class sub hunters are next on shopping list ready for delivery in 18 months from date of order to Pakistan. a hard lash was whipped on India’s ass for making noise on such prospective sale to PK in April 2007 when whole nation was busy in CJ circus.

LET Troika Lead the country out of turbulent waters, let us focus on grass roots and improve our own governance level then move up steadily for REAL Civilian rule – Government of People by the People for the People.

56. king_faisal (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 7:00 pm

jamal shamsi, i agree with your analysis. we need get our own house in order – make life better for the awam by offering them basic things like paani, bijlee, education and jobs. problem is that some elements within pakistan dont want to see progress. some people are just idiots who oppose progress because they dont know any better. others however have ulterior motives and actively work to destablise pak. these groups have to be dealt with because without peace and security, nothing can be achieved.

unfortunately our media is dominated by idiots who support groups working against the interest of pak. i used to believe in total freedom of speech until i saw how pak media played a role in helping the enemy. those of us who are aware of history and of the environment around us need to speak up and expose the design of external and internal groups working against the interest of pak.

57. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 30th, 2007 @ 11:35 pm

@TEETHO
    @MB
    @OPENEYE

Does this all by me & Shah faisal make sense to any of you – or is it just dushmani for dushmani because someone is managing things aganist the will of blind and inept? which is neither any of us who can read write and think with a perspetive and know the meaning and WORTH of freedom, and respect it.

58. HITMAN (unregistered) on December 1st, 2007 @ 1:44 pm

Jamal bhai, what do u think the reaction of Russia & China would be if US attacks Iran. Although I guess it is unlikely that US goes to war with Iran until Pakistan is submissive, mazeed i.e.

59. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on December 1st, 2007 @ 5:39 pm

@HITMAN – NO-ONE IS FRIEND OF MUSALMAN, If you keep this in mind, am sure there will be no such question from you anymore for rest of …LIFE.

and Jamal is Ok — Bhaie is not necessary, or else

60. Sheeda (unregistered) on December 2nd, 2007 @ 8:41 pm

I don’t know how you people can consider yourselves educated with the kind of dirty language you write. Looks like Balma, Jamal Shamsi and King Faisal grew up in Heera Mandi as they use the bazaari language.

Are your mothers, sisters and wives cute? Is that an appropriate question to ask in a political discussion?

On Professor Haqqani let me tell you something. In social sciences there are many non-Ph.D professors– Former ambasadors, government officials and ministers whose knowledge and experience determines their status as professors.

In Pakistan, you guys might think having wide experience makes someone a lota or some thing. In the rest of the world it is admired and respected. Professor David Gergen of Harvard University (no Ph. D–google him if you want) served as adviser to Richard Nixon, Ronald Reagan, Bill Clinto and George Bush I).

Unlike you all, the world respects knowledge and experience and does not think much of insult shouters and bullshitters like you.

Haqqani worked for Nawaz Sharif in 1988 and has been BB’s adviser since 1993 –one change. He was in IJT as a student in the 1970s but then Quaid-e-Azam was in Congress for 20 years.

His bio says he worked for Nawaz Sharif and he does not hide any aspect of his life. That is why American academia respects him:
    http://www.husainhaqqani.com

It is not just Boston University. Haqqani has been invited to lecture at several dozen universities in the US including Harvard, University of Michigan, SAIS, University of Texas, New York University and my college, George Washington University. Check out on google, again, and he has been a speaker (not a paid participant)at the World Economic Forum in Davos.

So, if you don’t like him or his opinions, fine. Stop this bazaari-pan about him. Or, for that matter, others you dislike. Act like educated people.

The introduction at the end of an article in a U.S. newspaper is written by them not the author. In some Wall Street Journal pieces they mention Nawaz Sharif as his advisee and in some they dont depending on the context. If you read his other articles he speaks of BB’s corruption charges, too. they are all on the website mentioned above.

Now, many of you and your relatives are successful in the U.S. and you all say that is on their merit but when someone whose political opinions do not match yours succeeeds in America, you see a conspiracy. You guys are so bogus you attack a public figure with the advantage of being nobodies. What greatness!!!

If Haqqani is an asshole, at least he has produced something (including a bestseller book–check it out on amazon.com). You guys are assholes who produce nothing but anger and gibberish on blogs that a few hundred people visit in their spare time.

In any case, a smart man should attack the argument. the very fact that you choose to attack the person shows how weak your minds are.

Shouldn’t the blog administrator stop vulgar language?

61. SELF (unregistered) on December 2nd, 2007 @ 9:19 pm

Adnan Siddiqui’s bros are now firmly in MQM’s camp.

http://www.express.com.pk/epaper/Article.aspx?newsID=1100309070&Date=20071202&Issue=NP_LHE

Looks like Mullahs have finally figured they can’t expect society to like them by being anti-social all the time and are willing to work with society now.

62. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) on December 3rd, 2007 @ 12:40 am

Jamal: Since you’ve raised a few points about national security Im guessing you find this article of use:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2007/12/01/AR2007120101618.html?referrer=emailarticle

& like i pointed earlier….where are the mods? Abusive language and degrading of humans is now permitted on kmb?

63. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on December 3rd, 2007 @ 1:29 pm

@RED_MUNK, Thank you.

Put that article and some posts here you will have a wide smile and a big sigh of relief :)

TROKIA IS INEVITABLE, isn’t it!

stay safe, peace !

64. Balma (unregistered) on December 3rd, 2007 @ 9:55 pm

Sheeda writes:

* Professor Haqqani.

Reminds me of jaali professors Prof Ghafoor and Prof ND Khan.
    ab Haqqanni bhee professor ho gayaa!
    The most respect one should show him is just call him Hussain Haqqani without the ‘Asshole’ prefix. He is no professor.

*It is not just Boston University. Haqqani has been invited to lecture at several dozen universities in the US including Harvard, University of Michigan, SAIS, University of Texas, New York University and my college, George Washington University. Check out on google, again, and he has been a speaker (not a paid participant)at the World Economic Forum in Davos.

Oh yeah! Budnazir gets invited to universities too. That shows you hardly have to be any smart for such activities these days. Big deal!

*The introduction at the end of an article in a U.S. newspaper is written by them not the author. In some Wall Street Journal pieces they mention Nawaz Sharif as his advisee and in some they dont depending on the context. If you read his other articles he speaks of BB’s corruption charges, too. they are all on the website mentioned above.

Really? hmmmm. Care to share URL or date of an article on or by Haqqani idiot in WSJ where he admits his loTapan (chaning sides for money)?

* If Haqqani is an asshole, at least he has produced something (including a bestseller book–check it out on amazon.com). You guys are assholes who produce nothing but anger and gibberish on blogs that a few hundred people visit in their spare time.

******* And, Sheeday or shady, you are “Dr. Livingstone, I presume?”
    Also, this is a broad generalization without knowing who some of us really are.

* Are your mothers, sisters and wives cute? Is that an appropriate question to ask in a political discussion?

***** And, finally, sheeday, why is your Islam her hussain haqqani kay baad zindah ho jaataa hae?
    What is the big deal in asking if she is cute.
    Chilax, Hussain Haqqani. I have cute women in the family and not ashamed of admitting this.

And for King Faisal: I think Sherry Rehman is great looking. Is she so in person too?
    She is beautiful, seems educated, and I don’t know of any corruption charges against her – yet -, why can’t she take over from stupid Budnazir, who is extremely unattractive, totally stupid, and amazingly corrupt?
    (Benazir – for search engines)

65. Ayman (unregistered) on December 4th, 2007 @ 8:57 am

I don’t know if there is a moderator here or not. If there is, you should remove the vulgar postings of Balma, Sheeda, King Faisal etc.

If you do not, I will run a campaign to boycott this blog among all my friends.

This blog should not be used to abuse anyone and to talk nonsense about women.

Just because Bneazir and Sherry Rahman are in public life does not give anyone license to abuse them and degrade them at will.

As someone pointed out above, we do not know who anyone is here. But quite obviously some of them are illiterate people who do not know how to behave.

66. Balma (unregistered) on December 4th, 2007 @ 8:29 pm

Ayman (man or woman?),
    Where did anyone degrade Sherry Rehman? I said she is cute and she should lead PPP. What is the degrading part? cute part or leading PPP part?
    If it is the PPP part, why doesn’t Budnazir stop degrading herself, quit PPP’s leadership, and disappear? haa’n?
    Just because you have arabic name does not mean you should start thinking like arabs that calling someone pretty is degrading her! This is one reason I am against naming aour kids Osama, Fahad, Ayman and other Arabic names recently adopted by Dubai crowd. It affects their thinking too.

And, yeah, Budnazir sucks so bad that I have no shame in degrading her. She is a psychopath bent upon destroying Paksitan.