Geo tou Aisay!

Amid jubilation from a large number of pakistani households (mine included) Geo News has resumed transmissions across Pakistan from 6 PM on Monday, by the order of President Pervaiz Musharraf (their first words on the air, not mine).

The News says

A large number of people from different walks of life have termed it the restoration of democracy in the country. They said media freedom would play its role in ensuring free and fair general elections in the country

Now that the media (no blocked news channels) is ‘free’ again do you agree with the above statement?

68 Comments so far

1. pkhan (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 12:10 am

They should change their way of Broadcasting, every news is a Breaking news for them Even though other channels are already repoting on the same news items.There are other channels who are Balanced and nicer to watch then GEO?

2. MB (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 12:29 am

Dub ke marna chaiye es qoam ko jahan president ko aik channel block kerwaney or allow kerne ke ilava koi kaam hee nai.

Shame, utter shame

3. asa (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 12:44 am

it means Geo lost the war against criminal musharaf fauji.

mushy must not go unpunished. If we did not do our job of bringing this criminal to justice than our future generation is not going to forgive us. Tex book should be written about these criminals and their criminal activities, that includes Generals, Ayub, Yahya, Zia and Mush

4. Barrister Ali K.Chishti (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 12:48 am

I think Jang / Geo got the message – Long Live the President!!!!!

5. Lahore (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 12:52 am

Musharraf has deserves a cheer on this attempt. I hope things get better for Pakistan every passing day.

6. Dictator (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 1:00 am

I think that it was good that GEO was blocked/banned. This has been involved in giving false news, getting rumors. “A sound of Blast heard at XYZ”, “Earthquakes in Karachi”, and then after some times, that news disappears. That is how GEO is. Its not representing Pakistan anymore. How many of us live out life as shown by dramas on GEO?

Don’t take that I am against free media, as I strongly believe in free media and that it is required for a democratic country (though we are not among the list). But I am only against the acts that have been done by GEO in last few years. Living outside our country make u understand how do u feel when u hear a news about any tragic incident.

7. MB (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 1:18 am

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2SSpUL4ljNU
    I love his explanation about AMERICAN & our leaders.

8. RE (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 1:49 am

LOVE IS BLIND, CAN HATE SEE?
    Filed under: Future of Pakistan — admin @ 9:55 pm

HATE FOR MUSHARRAF HAS BLINDED MANY.

by:Rizwan Elahi

I am in shock to see many Pakistanis in Pakistan that has been blinded with the hate of Musharraf. Who is taking advantage of that ? Enemies of Pakistan and once again enemies of Pakistan. Many blogs worldwide are taken over by enemies of Pakistan and all they are doing is spreading hate among people of our nation. click here and see how this Pakistani community board is taken over by extremist hindu’s. And guess what many Pakistanis and even our media is playing into their hands. So sad. all because of hate?
    Now tell me Is Musharraf fellow Pakistani?
    Is Musharraf well educated ?
    Is Musharraf well discipline?
    Did Musharraf fought wars for Pakistan?
    Why do we hate him so much? What are our other options?
    Then what makes corrupt politicians better than him. Why hate a fellow Pakistani. Yes many things went bad in Pakistan lately and rules are broken but for the interest of Pakistan one has to lead and we need a leader who stands tough. If you all think all what is happening in Pakistan is done by Musharraf then you are dead wrong. Its the hate towards him is causing all the recent issues. This hate has blinded people like Nawaz Sharif along with many people and some Media of Pakistan.60 years of mess can not be fixed over night. Give Musharraf a chance to build the strong foundation for Pakistan. Trust him as he said, “He puts Pakistan first.” Say what you want to say and do what you want to do but keep the interest of Pakistan in your mind.

LOVE IS BLIND CAN HATE SEE ?
    It’s actually blind too, but just in different ways. Love will make us forget the fault of a person. Hate will make us create faults that aren’t there.
    Hate is. Rather, people can be blinded by hate because hate distorts.
    Hate sees the minutest thing and blows it out of proportion.
    Now you all tell me what do you all think, “Can hate see?”
    http://www.longlivepakistan.com

9. RE (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 1:53 am

Now GEO was like FOX in USA one sided i think they should be not only banned they should be held responsible for all the blinded propaganda caused pain to Pakistan.
    Free Media means neutral media and GEO was not neutral. They were blinded by the hate of Musharraf and acted in their personal views and personal ego. Forgetting interest of Pakistan. In USA many of my friends have canceled GEO.

10. RE (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 1:57 am

asa
    You are not aware of many things happening in this world could you give options if not Musharraf? You are blinded with the hate of Mushrraf.
    Ask not what your country can do for you; ask what you can do for your country
    Words from the inaugural address of President John F. Kennedy, delivered in 1961.

11. wasiq (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 2:05 am

@Re

you cannot compare our Geo with the fox….they not only show beautiful bare legs but also it seems there is a spring loose in their couch….lol

tu aggar mera nahein banta na bann apna toh bann…..PAKISTAN!

12. ali-en (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 2:26 am

Alright, Geo came back, so we can now see newscasters sporting the latest fashion trends in Pakistan and hyper-stylized dramas featuring bizarre make-up flaws and storylines from Neptune; now even the male members of Pakistani households are getting into this crap. And who can forget Geo’s trademark sensationalist propaganda (uh, I mean the news). Good for Geo, good for the people. No problem with that.

But this is what I don’t get: people take to the streets to celebrate this, while there are people dying a few feet away from them. I don’t get what’s the point of a free media that doesn’t take its priorities seriously. Now since Geo is back on air, I really wish that it will show more than politics.

13. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 2:45 am

The Crux of matter remains –

NO ONE can win with the Ruling / Sitting Govt. Be it khaki or civis.

State power is not to be messed with.

In a Cat N Mouse game, who loses in the end. ???

14. balma (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 3:00 am

* Is Musharraf well educated ?

He may be a nice guy, he is for sure, not well educated…at least no in the traditional degree / college sense.

Of course, I will take him 100 times over Benazir and other crooks who have graduated from foreign universities. Navaz Sharif is ok, if he tones down his bevaqoofi a bit.

btw, what about all the money that Benazir had looted? Anybody accounting for that? or, does Billoo get a free ride?

15. Teeth Maestro (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 3:33 am

Im no fan of Geo – but it irks me to hell that Musharraf chooses to play God – trying to teach everyone a lesson on morality and discipline – as if to say – I giveth when I feel like it and I taketh when I feel like it.

Don’t know what concept of Free and Fair elections you prescribe to, but when I know that any voice against the government will be silenced then I don’t think you can call any elections free and fair with a straight face.

Opposing views must be tolerated, no matter how harsh they may be, sensationalization or not – its an opinion.

That said, GEO resumed transmission WITHOUT Meray Mutabiq and Kamran Khan !!!

16. Gemma (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 5:43 am

Hi,
    How can I post stories on this website. I spent 20 years in Karachi and I can speak urdu…….. like you guys say…… Gori ki tarha.

Cheers
    Gemma

17. Darthvader (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 8:03 am

@MB : how about you follow through on your own advice and save us this melodramatic dip-shitery.

cheers
    DV

18. MB (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 8:03 am

@RE
    I forwarded a link to few fellows on KMB

I hope this should answer your question on why we hate MUSH

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/miscellaneous/story/2008/01/080120_wusat_bat_sey_bat_ra.shtml

Now read it and tell quote me one line where the writer has said anything wrong.

I hope now you know why we hate MUSH & i hope you stop your stupid gov. type propaganda or people like Ahmed Qureshi

19. sarah (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 9:27 am

no hamid mir, no kamran khan..

20. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 10:58 am

the ban on geo must not have been put off.
    they deserved that./ Now they will keep whole country on tension by showing breaking news every now and then and by showing live reports of blood shed etc.

Why us channels and indian channels never show such blood shed to their public being the most liberal media in the world?

GEO MUST BE BANNED

21. Raza (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 12:08 pm

I think GEO’s going to be real careful now over what “news” they choose to broadcast now. It’ll be interesting viewing for sure.

22. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 12:31 pm

Yes folks, its a lesson for both Musharraf and Geo. None of them should spread despondency among the nation. I agree, for Geo every news is a BREAKING NEWS. They should also show some professionalism and must not make every thing an adventure. For Musharraf, a lesson that we are not living in stone ages and every one has the right to see what they want.

23. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 2:10 pm

@Wasiq: They also show bare body parts on GEO but of Wasi Zafar and Shaikh Rasheed,

That said, GEO resumed transmission WITHOUT Meray Mutabiq and Kamran Khan

oh! then why GEO network has been doing drama bazy for last two days presenting themselves as HEROES?

24. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 3:01 pm

i would like to hear the terms n conditions of their restoration.. were they forced to sign the pemra rules?

25. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 3:51 pm

A man goes for fishing, catches a big fish.
    Comes home and asks his wife to cook the fish.
    Wife says she can not as there is NO gas, NO electricity, NO atta,
    NO cooking oil to fry it in.
    Man goes and put the fish back in the river. Fish comes up to the surface and shouts: geo musharraf

26. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 4:41 pm

*me chuckles* good one adnan! :P

27. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 4:52 pm

media is free again with their feathers clipped… they’re incapacitated by brutal dictator and can’t fly anymore..

28. D0CTOR (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 5:30 pm

This Dictator and Altaf are taking Karachi towards destruction …

I am seriously considering moving to Lahore …

Lahore wich Mojaan hi Mojaan…

29. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 5:38 pm

Yes please doctor move to any where you want and leave Karachi. Karachi is a place for people who are mature and kind. They dont like biased and people who spread hatred. So your plan is to move back to join your family in Lahore. Dont tell where they live, every one of us know. Your gene shows from where you are..

30. D0CTOR (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 6:04 pm

Lolz… Tapi Tapi , I can smell burning ..

why can’t ppl take constructive critisism .. beyond beleive ..

Cool down brother .. discuss your point of view , don’t take out your hate on me . Its well known fact that Karachi people cant take no critisism and loose tempoer just like you and your leader Altaf ..

31. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 6:34 pm

heavy fire in SITE factory

32. awam-ki-awaz (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 7:03 pm
  33. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 7:34 pm

Doctor if you are not from Karachi and down own Karachi, what is your value her. You are just adding frustrations dear. Be a positive member and bring some cool idea. Bring hope my dear, we all need it

34. imran (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 7:52 pm

@Dogtor,
    I am so glad to hear that Dogtor. You should have done this long time ago. Let me know when you planning to move out from karachi, i will buy you a ticket(not air ticket since they dont allow dogs sitting with humans, may be in chanap express where you will find your friends??) let me know your preferences and I will see what I can do.

35. D0CTOR (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 8:03 pm

Hey guys

Cant you read properly

Its not DOGTOR , its D0CTOR

Behave please …

36. D0CTOR (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 9:24 pm

@ Imran
    @ Ammar

Pan Chalia , bohat Khalia … Ab Joota Khaoo Mafad Parastoo…

U guys can’t take on me … u cheapsters , I am here to stay in Karachi forever , its my home and I love this city ,

I am here to defend this city from Altaf and his cronies …….

37. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 9:36 pm

Good to know that doctor has decided to live in Karachi. Live and Love. Karachi welcome you. Be constructive and add value to this great city. Long Live Karachi.

38. RE (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 9:55 pm

this is reply of my email to geo you can also see my email to them:
    Dear,

M 100% agree with your views but its all what people have observed regarding Killing of BB and every one knows that
    BB, Zardari and her clan’s activities,

GEO also screened what ever had happened in Pakistan after that incident and showing poems on her is just a part of business I hope you cud understand the situation GEO is facing.

It is really nice to see that there are a people like you who think this way which is very rare.

Thanks & Regards

Anood Paracha

Risk & Recovery Department,

Cooperate office,

Jang Group of News papers & Geo TV Networks

Now this was my email to them
    Cc:
    Subject: Re: FW: How and who killed Benazir?
    she was criminal and how about all the innocents who died?
    http://www.longlivepakistan.com/?p=27 on this link geo is on left side.

Also she is responsible for her death. She was careless.
    Let’s get angry and destroy our own cities over a shady politician. Good thinking. The entire Bhutto clan was as corrupt as they come-She was charged with illegally amassing properties and bank accounts worldwide while she was in power. She was also convicted of money laundering In Switzerland and ordered to pay 11 million USD back to the Pakistani Government. She has been thrown out of government office twice for both corruption and incompetence. She and her husband, Asif Ali Zardari , also known as ” Mr. 10% was facing eight counts including extortion and receiving 10’s of millions in illegal kick backs. Her self imposed exile ended only after Musharraf pardoned her of the charges. The couple also was having to contend with additional money laundering proceedings in Switzerland and Spain, and a civil case in London involving an expensive Surrey mansion procured through extorted kickbacks.

I will boycott GEO till they are fully working for the interest of Pakistan not PPP only. Pakistan was burning and you people were showing poems on BB not on the unity of Pakistan.

39. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 10:52 pm

Welcome to Capitalist world my friend.

40. Far (unregistered) on January 23rd, 2008 @ 11:24 pm

Hey Dogtor,

This is by far the most befitting title someone has bestowed upon you. Regarding your aspirations about being born in Karachi–have you heard the fable which goes, if a bitch gives birth to a puppy dog in a stable, it still cant be called a horse!!! So so much so for being born in Karachi.

41. Kabir Das (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 1:36 am

Ref: Post by Barrister Ali K.Chishti on January 23, 2008

You say: I think Jang / Geo got the message – Long Live the President!!!!!

I say: What was the message? Was it don’t tell the truth lest I may not live long ?

42. Kabir Das (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 1:48 am

Ref: Post by asa on January 23, 2008

You say: it means Geo lost the war against criminal musharaf fauji.

I say: No, it didn’t. Geo made a wise tactical retreat to fight another day.

43. K A R (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 2:07 am

Its unfortunate to be honest that GEO is back, I personally like Geo and its programmes but there are some lines that are never to be crossed, and thats what Geo tried to do I hope it learnt the lesson.
    And for President Musharraf, I think he is the best Pakistan can get !!!, with all the negative propoganda Geo and other Loosers did, he is still surviving and hope he does as long as he puts Pakistan first.

44. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 2:31 am

seems like MQM’sdesprate clowns have been hard at work here..

45. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 3:12 am

yes geo has taken a wise decision to be back on the field. Very strategic move, though they had to pay some price, like putting Hamid Mir and Shahid Masood, but in war taking one step backward doesn’t mean that you loose the war. Personally i never liked Shahid Masood, always spreading despondency, but yes Hamid Mir is a really good and thorough person. All the best to Hamid Mir, we love you.

46. darthvader (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 4:03 am

@FAR : now that was hillarious …LOLLLLLLLLL

peace all
    DV

47. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 4:07 am

in the eyes of international media Baitullah Mehsud’s word holds more credibility then dictator and his interior ministry brigadier

مشرف محسود: ایک لو سٹوری
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/interactivity/blog/story/2008/01/080115_hanif_blog_zs.shtml

48. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 4:32 am

Two things I like from Pakistan.

GEO News chanel and President Musharaf.
    They both know how to represent pakistan abroad with dignity and pride.

49. alam (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 5:06 am

everytime Musharraf opens his mouth, jahalat comes out:

one extreme example:

http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/audio/2005/09/23/AU2005092301278.html

50. zee (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 5:45 am

Sad news indeed. We were better off without GEO news. I could not find any single sane person who was missing geo. Geo sucks! Now that they have signed the papers, they should learn how to play nicely and not act like a barking mad dog.

51. wasiq (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 7:26 am

@Adnan Siddiqi

siddiqi sab mamoo(wc)killed the fox channel….i wont say another word about fashion Pakistan…

52. ShahidnUSA (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 7:43 am

@ Zee
    Sad? LOL!! Whyee ? You dont have to believe everything they tell you. Hey extra channel….whats wrong with that?
    Sad for those who are gullible and believe everything they hear without using their own head(personal analysis).
    Positive competition is good ,makes you grow.

53. TEE BEE (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 8:27 am
  54. FAS (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 4:38 pm

Geo is restored minus Hamid Mir (capital talk) and Shahid Masood (Qayamut Baba). These two should be banned for life to appear on the TV. Media is better with out them.

Hats off to Mush for taching a lesson to Geo and Jang that it can not destablise the government any more on the name of press freedome.

55. FAS (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 4:43 pm

Geo is restored minus Hamid Mir (capital talk) and Shahid Masood (Qayamut Baba). These two should be banned for life to appear on the TV. Media is better with out them.

Hats off to Mush for taching a lesson to Geo and Jang that it can not destablise the government any more on the name of press freedome.

56. FAS (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 5:00 pm

57. JMA (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 5:39 pm

Bhai MB Sahib, you mentioned all the Generals but forgot to mention all the other crooks like the Bhuttos and Nawaz who raped Pakistan for many years and yet we want them back, are we so blind to see the truth about these people…..

58. Reality_check (unregistered) on January 24th, 2008 @ 10:19 pm

KABIR DAS the message was, “Hold on buddy, lets take a breather, there is a war going on, there are strong forces who want to destabilize this country, don’t become a tool for them, don’t become a instrument to spread panic and conspiracy theories and don’t make heroes out of terrorists”

As for criticism of the President and the Government, I see it all the time on all the channels even on PTV, that never stopped and nobody is stopping it now.

59. hafsa (unregistered) on January 25th, 2008 @ 3:07 am

Life was so peaceful without geo. no sensationalism, no self-indulgent news, no country bashing, no neon-colour filled screens. sigh.

60. (unregistered) on January 25th, 2008 @ 8:45 am
  61. Unblock Facebook Unblock Myspace (unregistered) on January 26th, 2008 @ 12:31 am

Its good

62. wasiq (unregistered) on January 26th, 2008 @ 1:14 am

a very happy belated birthday to the envy of the town….!

Zammana inn sey nalaan hai
    koi inn sey nahein razi
    naa he razi naa she razi….

63. MB (unregistered) on January 26th, 2008 @ 3:55 pm

@JMA
    For how long you have been reading my posts/comments dude. You want me to list hundred of lines here so you can read how much (and equally) i spit out poison against politicians over internet??

I mentions generals specifically because we dont expect them to be BAD. They were suppose to be the defender of this nation & they are doing exactly opposite.

In any case, even if you dont find my -ve comment about politicians in my writings, assume it BY-DEFAULT.

64. RE (unregistered) on January 27th, 2008 @ 8:54 am

Please listen to this Mike Huckabee Concession speach.
    http://ohbabythatswhatilike.blogspot.com/2008/01/video-mike-huckabees-sc-concession.html

One day our leaders will be civilized too. Insha Allah

65. go figure (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 2:20 am

Oh man geo sucks. In the beginning they were really good but now its breaking news every millisecond. Anytime a hotshot politician sneezes, a breaking news pops up on geo. They even show what type of tissue is being used by the hotshot politician on the breaking new ticker.

66. Go figure (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 2:28 am

Oh man geo sucks. In the beginning they were really good but now its breaking news every millisecond. Anytime a hotshot politician sneezes, a breaking news pops up on geo. They even show what type of tissue is being used by the hotshot politician on the breaking new ticker.

67. babu (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 3:54 am

just got an sms, I would like to share,,,
    PPP, MMA, MQM, ANP, PML,N,F,Q etc., Kya aap samajhte hain k ye sub jamatain kisi tarha se aap k vote ki haqdaar hain?? Jabke LOOTMAAR, QATLOGHARAT, BHATTAKHORI, DEHSHATGARDI, STREETCRIME, Or najaane kiya kiya , Yehi sub kuch diya hai inho ne pakistan ko pichle 15-20 saalon me. VOTE ZAROOR DAIN, MAGAR KISI TANZEEM KO HARGIS NAHIN, baishak apne haath se cancel kar dain ya kisi azaad umeedwaar ko de dain, magar KHUDA KE LIYE IN TANZEEMO KO RUD KAR DAIN,. Fwd this to as many, for, Pakistan badly needs a change.

68. babu (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 3:59 am

just got an sms, I would like to share,,,
    PPP, MMA, MQM, ANP, PML,N,F,Q etc., Kya aap samajhte hain k ye sub jamatain kisi tarha se aap k vote ki haqdaar hain?? Jabke LOOTMAAR, QATLOGHARAT, BHATTAKHORI, DEHSHATGARDI, STREETCRIME, Or najaane kiya kiya , Yehi sub kuch diya hai inho ne pakistan ko pichle 15-20 saalon me. VOTE ZAROOR DAIN, MAGAR KISI TANZEEM KO HARGIS NAHIN, baishak apne haath se cancel kar dain ya kisi azaad umeedwaar ko de dain, magar KHUDA KE LIYE IN TANZEEMO KO RUD KAR DAIN,. Fwd this to as many, for, Pakistan badly needs a change.