Karachi- A place/ not a place to live?
I have often read in comments, people inquisitive about the lifestyle in Karachi, the events that disturb and make them re-think about moving from abroad to their homeland.
And then I know people keen to move out of this city for a better life, the gleam of foreign currency blinding them. (Although money might not be the only reason)
During 1992-1995 when Karachi was a city where a dead body could be found anywhere in sacks or in the bushes and ladies used to be worried when the males went to pray in the mosques, many families opted to move to the US.
Still, life in Karachi is as unpredictable as the supply of electricity in the city. Anything can happen in the middle of nowhere and life might come to a halt.
May12th , October 18th and not to forget the very recent December 28th, when Karachi seemed a ghost town.
Under circumstances when the Karachiites (many of them) think of migrating to some land where at least security is ensured and when very recently the city has gained so much “fame” someone from USA shows interest in migrating to the city along with children. A single person might be adventurous to do so but moving with a family in a city like Karachi??
It came to me as a shock when someone, an American born and raised (and not a Pakistani born in America) showed interest in moving to Karachi, Pakistan.
Since I was asked for opinion, I felt speechless. I did not know where to start from? The insecurity, load shedding, law enforcement agencies and the fear that runs down the spine on feel of a gun pointed on your forehead! Or a bunch of stupid people who would destroy the city by breaking the signals, igniting buses, tires and what ever come their way or a hand full of people who love the city and want to have a peaceful and healthy environment.
I knew and I said so that these were the problems faced by any big metropolitan, where as deep inside I knew the situation was worst. America sure has a crime rate with no match but as I was gathering excuses for other reasons I felt myself stuck at the point of explaining how police responds to a mishap and how “comforting” they could be.
Frankly speaking, I did not have the courage to speak the truth and I did not have the guts to let someone who trusted me, let come in the city and later curse me for misguiding.
So this is what I came up with: Public decision. Many of the readers are from USA but have their roots in Pakistan. They might be able to help me out of this situation by sharing their views.
This is about someone with two daughters, a converted Muslim who wants to come and settle in Karachi along with the kids and let them grow up and study here. Now: “How’s Karachi as a city to settle down what are the good and bad?”
ask her to come and live at karachi . Just ask her to grow up their daughterrs properly. give them knowledge of islam. InshALLAh nothing will happen.
Despite of all such anarchy in pakistan, ppl are still living and living happily, but only those who try to live like a muslim
there is more hype on media than reality. Life is till peacefull in some parts of the city.
At least its lot better than usa , specially for daughters.
Now, some “religion less” ppl might try to spread the shit here but PLZ IGNORE THEM.
The events of May 12th, October 18th and December 27th/28th of 2007 were politically influenced and when I look at times prior to that nothing like that happenned (as far as I remember)since the years of middle 90s as referred by Unaiza. I hope that political uncertainty will settle down in six months time. For a family grown up in USA it will be tough for a while to understand how to deal with weak civic systmes though, City District Government is working reasonably well now a days. In my opinion, a family of four with a monthly income of at least US $ 3,000/3,500 can live comfortably. There are very good private schools & universities and access is avialable to good secondary and tertiary level health care as well. Drivers and domestic aids are readily available. There are many opportunities to socilaize and there is no doubt about the fact that people are very much helpful and friendly. Except for present political uncertainty with its associated evils and unruly traffic I have no major compliants from the City. Please keep it in mind that though the society in Karachi is generally progressive and moderate, the daugthers may not get the level of independence in day to day life as they take it for granted in USA. By the way, Islamabad seems to me a better place to live in comparison to Karachi if you can afford extra 25% in your cost of living.
why is he/she considering only Karachi .. she can move to Lahore or Islamabad … just my 2 cents … just suggesting it because I believe he/she wants to raise his/her daughters in a Islamic Society.
Pakistan is Pakistan, belive me. You miss it more when you are away from the country. Yes definately the thnigs have changed, but not the values. The same love and care is always there which is in our bloods which you can only find in the eastern culture. Now there is so much in Pakistan, in every terms either education or improvement in every sort of life, you will always like to stay here. We just need to be a bit patient when we see some disorganized things. We missed the planning in the earlier stages of Pakistan coupled with the political turmoils, but yes still it is manageable. When people come back to Pakistan they bring lot of new ideas and this is what we need. We have to have them. We dont want to be naive. We can always adopt new (positive) ideas. EDUCATED PEOPLE OWE THE NATION, IF THEY DONT GIVE, THE NATION WILL BECOME BANKRUPT. Please have education outside Pakistan (though now we have pretty decent and recognized institutions, but come back. Pakistanis are at their best in Pakistan.
Why even Pakistan? Why not Indonesia/Malaysia? Much better economy and a Muslim lifestyle at the same time. Why not Cairo or another Middle Eastern cosmopolitan city? They would feel a lot more comfortable in a place like UAE, where they would not be the odd ‘gora’ out.
You know of only one family? I’ll give you dozens. I personally used to live in the states and moved back to Karachi in 2005.
As to why I didnt move to Isloo or Lahore, mainly because this is the city I love and have many of my family here.
It’s true. Pakistan is Pakistan. I don’t regret my decision to move back. That being said, I am again on the move as I’m studying in the UK.
The worst part is not Karachi… but the racism that prevails here. The way white people are perceived here is not healthy. And its especially not secure for them – and it doesn’t matter if they’re muslim. We all know how many bombs go off in mosques.
That alone would be the reason I would advise them not to come here – especially with kids.
A small little town in southern France would be my choice. But hey, thats just me.
@Real Techie:
You missed the Original Poster’s point — this is a family which has no ties whatsoever to Pakistan — they are gora converts and they want to move to Karachi (of all the Muslim places). If they had family here, it would obviously be a no-brainer non-issue and would not even be worthy of a post.
Yes coz Pakistan has a unique place in the world and Karachi is jewel in Pakistan. They should move to Pakistan, any city they like, every city has its own characteristics (almost positive), and enjoy living in Pakistan. GORA is not a problem as long as they show adaptaility to the society and values. Gora are more welcomed by our people (history behind it).
Forget Karachi …..
Lahore Lahore Ey!
Karachi is the only Reasonable choice when it is about lifestyle standards and socially amiable atmosphere. elsewhere in Pakistan, it is more about materialistic non-sense which have no bearing for any person in right set of mind.
Many locals of semi-urban towns of Pakistan have settled in Karachi for the sake of their next of kin brought up., instead of single metropolis like Lahore, Islamabad, Multan, Faisalabad, Peshawer, Quetta.
The Only Megapolis is Karachi in Pakistan., with all Good & Bads combined.
:) no flames please…!
“Lahore Lahore Ey!”
yes. Dimond Market
Karachi is the only Reasonable choice when it is about lifestyle standards and socially amiable atmosphere. elsewhere in Pakistan, it is more about materialistic non-sense which have no bearing for any person in right set of mind.
Many locals of semi-urban towns of Pakistan have settled in Karachi for the sake of their next of kin brought up., instead of single metropolis like Lahore, Islamabad, Multan, Faisalabad, Peshawer, Quetta.
As the American parent is looking to raise her/his daughters in an Islamic environment, then what better place is than Saudi Arabia. If she must settle in Pakistan, Waziristan is the best Islamic model in the country, pardon a few bombs here and there.
@REEMA, why you guys always go for -ve, a**hole, what someone who is trying to relocate in Pk has to do with HERAMANDI(DIAMOND marke),
don’t forget Red light district of Karachi (Napier road)
biggest ever mandi of Pakistan.
sorry but guys like REEMA always ruine discussions here at KMB in flames of ethnicity,,
In the name of ISLAM –
Pakistan is worst of country in the name of ISLAM.
This GOD FORSAKEN country carry the name of ‘Islamic Republic of Pakistan’ but Islam does not exist in any form. The lowest degree of Islam is Hygiene and Tolerence which DOES NOT exist even in Places of Worship let alone anywhere else.
As said above by someone – Islam is best practiced in WEST in its true spirit, which gives people all the opportunity to make a CHOICE, between GOOD & BAD which is visible and available as a person wish
@asif…. it doesnt depend on the status of the person living here….NETHING can happen to ANYONE…
@ammar…. pakistan is not UNIQUE!…we are not so special u noe…. there are many more countries like us…..
@ jamal… you are wrong islam may be practised better in USA..but itz best in the arab world….. in paksitan when i got back. even my sisters 3rd grade Islmic studies teacher was teaching here stuff contradictory to the Quran!
as for me..i returned to pakistan from abroad on 2003….
since then i have had a gun in my face thrice for getting my mobile snatched.. which this guy will face definately when he comes here…
once i got a gun coz these guyz were saying thing to my sister at mcdonalds and i stood up against them… another time my car woz hit from behind by a motor cycle… the child driving it was 12 years old…i got hum to the hospital nearby and gave him proper car….and 15 minutes later his elder bro comes and sticks a gun to my head…
besides that ive had to shift from my old residence in defence because the landlord was unbearable and he breached contract many times but we couldnt do anything cause the law in the country was BULLSHIT…my uncle is high up in the army and he said this is routine here…. and he found us another place rather than get into a messy situation with that guy…
(continued)
at my new place i get water in the line once in 2 dayz… btw..i live in a posh locality….
on 2003 my sister got sick… doctors couldnt find out what was wrong wid her at all…. we went to AGA KHAN>PNS SHIFAat my new place i get water in the line once in 2 dayz… btw..i live in a posh locality….
on 2003 my sister got sick… doctors couldnt find out what was wrong wid her at all…. we went to AGA KHAN>PNS SHIFA<LIAQUAT national….
here health deteriorated til she slipped into a coma… v flew here abroad.. and guess what…she had diabetes…. pakistani doctors dont even test for sugar while even in AFRICA a 5year old child is tested when they come into a hospital…
this is just a jist of everythin that happened to me…. my friends who shifted with me have faired even WORSE!….
dont get me wrong.. i LOVE karachi .i still am here… even when i have a choice to leave…
i consider myself true karachiite blood…
but when someone asks me if they should shift here… i have to give the all the info… and let them decide…
Going out on a limb here but this request has the smell of a new Michael Moore movie project!Fahrenheit 9/11, Sicko and if he somehow manages to pull this one of, it would be aptly titled: ‘Fuzzy Logic’
Fuzzy Logic: A system of logic dealing with the concept of partial truth with values ranging between “completely true” and “completely false.
:)
It all depend How old are the daughters if they are under 10 years of age, its a good idea to shift and give them education there. Life is Tuff overseas compare to life in Pakistan or Karachi as long as you have sufficent earning to start with.As far as Islamic ways are concern it depends on you and only you. People who wants to adopt Islamic way of Life are doing all those things Overseas only , it all depend How you are trained and your company,some People in karachi looks and dress up and ACT worse then a GORA OR GORI.
Once you are settled in any Foreign country, its hard to move back unless you have lost all your hope.
College studies are cheap in Karachi compare to overseas.
As far as crime is concern its every where, and with time and people getting alerted we will overcome that problem.
Unaiza, I have a mighty feeling that your white buddy is being sarcastic. Of all things, Karachi? Tell him/her that if he/she likes dystopic societies, caved-in civic infrastructures, acert environmental degradation, and a degenerated law system, then head over here. Otherwise, for a good Islamic society, try Middle East or Malaysia.
They should move to Karachi only if they got enough money to live in Defence or Clifton….plus should be financially strong enough not to look for a job in Karachi (they just can’t survive pakistani office politics and culture).
Bottom line is MONEY…life is lived best in Karachi if you got more money, more money, more money.
I hope this couple does not come to Pakiitan. Anyone willing to quit home to go live somewhere else becuase they are muslims got to be a religeous fanatic. And, we have enough of them in Karachi. Long beards, short shalvars, fat bellies, out-of-shape bodies, we got enough of them. Burqua poshs, hijabans of all sorts, women running around with DanDaas, we got enough of them. Please don’t come to Karachi, my Muslim brother. We have enough allah vaalee chowrangees in Karachi, we got enough God’s 99 names on light poles everywhere. We don’t want anymore of this nonsense. Please, all right, we can’t afford any more of you. Catch a flight to Afghanistan, Iran, or Saudi land may be?
a converted Muslim …..
converted to what…?
We often discuss among friends (mostly living in Pakistan) that the Islamic Republic of Pakistan is anything but Islamic.
I have always been a Karachiwala and will always be living here, but I realize as times go by, it is getting harder to raise your family in Karachi respectfully. There are so many breaches of privacy & security, to put it in one statement.
Karachi ab shareefon ki jagah nahi rahi
And as I hear it from my friends, Lahore is not much different.
I am with BALMA. Pakistan is not Islam ka Qila or IslamPoora. Its not even IslamAdha. So plz have mercy on KHI, if not Pakistan, and do not come to this country for Islam.
And what is it about jawan larkian in Amerika? Last I heard girls r losing virginity in KHI, like there is no tomorrow. Its not like in KHI airport, they check for chastity belt, or force girls to wear them
Iraq sounds like a better choice, especially the Sunni neighbourhood
Having been lived outside Karachi for 6 years now i have decided several times to move back to karachi, but everytime the situation seems to get worst.My parents and my elder brother insist i must not return due to prevailing situation.Dont know when it would be safe to come back to my karachi.For me i am not worried about light, gas and inflation but my only concern is security for my children.Since i have the choice of living in a foreign country I have decided to wait a little longer, not that Karachi would develop and become as ultra modern city but just for the crime and security to normalise.
Zakir – goons & urchins exist everywhere. Even in Riyadh & Jeddah road side snatching is common but never reported in media. due to Censorship.
world is not enough.
Correct me if i’m wrong. you are brought up and raised in Karachi, aren’t you street smart to know your way around of left alone anywhere on globe.
Bring about your ‘Boys’ train them for good & bad, let them make a choice. For Girls, give them the best of available education at schools and for norms & values of your family, train them for street smartness, bring them up with confidence to be independent, and am sure everyone can sustain & survive.
Jamal Shamsi – Why differentiate between girls and boys? Should not we impart same values to our children irrespective of their gender?
Dear Karachi people,
I got a 6 month traineeship opportunity at Unilever. It is a great job, exactly what I was looking for. But I am a white young woman from Eastern-Europe and I am not sure if it is ok and how safe to live in Karachi,especially right now with the elections.
What do you think?
thanks a lot!!!!
@ Anna
Best company and good Place to live,and yhey must have Provided with the Lodging?It a Very BIG city, so Do not worry and go for your Training.
You are welcome Anna to Karachi. You will love to stay here. There is so much to enjoy. So much love and so much fun. Have a happy stay in Karachi..
Anna, u r welcome to stay with me. I will protect u from Al Qaeda and Jamaati thugs
@Anna, if you act normal and try to blend-in with the people you will be working, rest assured you will be at ease peace and without stress,. – The only caution, after sunset try and stay away from unknown.
Take it as if you are assigned to Harlem,
—
@Jay Jay – in our desi society girls are treated as 2nd grade, told to be looking for male support, you missed my line – about bringing up girls street smart and independent.
I’m more for Girl education and inculcating more confidence in them then boys as they are the ones who bring up our next generation. The more independent confident educated a mother, the more civilised next generation is.
A previliged but less edcuated mother is 2 steps below then an educated confident, less previliged Mother.
Arranged marriages r the main problem. Girls dont grow up in our society just because of it. Fo some reason, their marraiges become parents concern. That should be abolished. Women should go out and get their partners, and if they like them, marry them. Whats the big deal?
Jamal – Life already is very tough.Not necessary that children are brought up in Karachi to be street smart.They should be sincere and tough by learning through the process where they are secured and have confidence to face the world with best of everything.
U r correct, we have survived the toughest time in the early nineties when going to college was like a war zone.But I had no choice, my parents could not afford to send me abroad for study, if they had the resources they would have.Similarly, today with all the insecurity, I would rather prefer my children to stay in a foreign country rather than teaching them street smartness.
Alam Ara,
Cousin marriages are an equally big problem.
Regards
http://www.millat.com/interviews/index.shtml
http://www.millat.com/quranpak/hadithpak/?bn=muslim6
http://www.millat.com
BALMA,
If you are so allergic to names of God and Allahwala chorangis may I suggest you move to Gujrat India. They will treat you much better. Just become and hindu or anything elkse you want and leave Islam and Muslims alone. We are fine with our Allah. Idiot!
My suggestion is the same assomeone else wrote.Be smart and have enough money to live in DHA or Clifton and he/she will be just fine. Karachi is much better than America. At least your kids can hear the azan 5 times a day. He/She will will just have to ignore A** holes like BALMA! :)
dha, clifton, etc etc supposedly SAFE places will be in war zone when it starts about daily survival and rationing for fresh air as well, Epidemic of class divide has taken the city and 1st expression was on Dec 27. wait & see