Bakra House

Bakra House @ Clifton

Talk about interesting things in Karachi! This house is in Clifton and as mentioned in this Flickr comment discussion, it seems to have gone thru a number of changes. Any idea of what is the intent here?

63 Comments so far

1. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 2:32 pm

maybe AKD displays his award winning Bakras here..

2. SS (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 2:39 pm

Could be an indication to mafia like people that this is the house where notorious malpractice is taking place. One should knock the door to find out what that all barka is all about?

3. BoZz (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 3:29 pm

In my opinion it could be the ‘freedom house of Pakistan’ (aka slaughter house), or that it could be the headquarters for the politicians. What do you say?

4. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 3:33 pm

bakras- made in pakistan ?

5. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 4:45 pm

ki jahan mai kamee nahee ghalib, aik dhoondo hazar milte hain

6. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 5:02 pm

maybe election office of Bakra Jamhori Party..

7. darogha-e-dozakh (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 5:36 pm

chopaya(four-footed animals)house.

– main hum nay kya paya
    chopaya, chopaya!

8. karachiite (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 5:39 pm

at first this house was painted green with pink polka dots, it has even gone through a stage of black and white zebra stripes, black and white cow print. seriously, what is it?

9. D0CTOR (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 6:34 pm

look closely , these are not Bakra’s …

The are black sheep of our society AKA MQM headquarter …

10. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 7:02 pm

MQM na bolo Dcotor, Muhajir bolo. Asal nafrat to Muhajiron kay khilaf hai jis ka izhar pichlay maheenay bhee dekha tha. Agar Mohajhir MQM ko vote nay dain to shaid woh bhee achay lagne lagain.
    Doctor sirf aap kay liye arz kia hai:

Har gali har deewar par apka name likha hai.
    Har khirki har darwaze per apka name likhe hai,
    Oper talash-e-gumshuda or
    Neeche zehni tawazun kharab likha hai

11. D0CTOR (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 7:39 pm

@ Ammar

Please cool down brother … I have never said any single words against our Urdu speaking brothers ..infact some of my best friends are Urdu speaking …

Instead of spreading racial / Ethnic hatered… you should write something positive .

12. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 7:51 pm

Okay Doctor, i take my words back. For me MQM is Mohajir and Mohajir is MQM. If you keep invloving MQM, i feel its insult for Mohajirs (they are the representatives), so better keep the discussion non political and you will never have such responses from me. More Later

13. D0CTOR (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 8:17 pm

@ Ammar

Dear Ammar .. thanx for your comment .. I fully understand your points and feelings .. and agree with you ….

14. balma (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 9:20 pm

I like this chummy hummy feeling on KMB, but just to clarify, MQM > Muhajir even if so far the majority of MQM supporters are Muhajris. Just a clarification. Please continue kisses and hugs to each other. Much better than galam galoch on KMB.

15. balma (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 9:21 pm

I meant MQM muhajir

16. balma (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 9:23 pm

Interesting. Math symbols don’t work here.
    I meant MQM is not equal to Muhajir.
    Amazing filters lagaayae huay hai’n saalo’n nay!

17. Kumail (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 9:35 pm

I am urdu speaking and I dont support MQM. The group is nothing more than a blemish on the sparkling contribution of urdu speaking people to the development of our nation.
    And I ask all of you claiming to be muhajirs, where exactly did you migrate from?

18. Kashif (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 10:14 pm

Intekhabi Nishan: Bakra

19. DB1 (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 10:28 pm

Why in the first place we are drifting from the topic , the house could be of a person who used to own a bakra mandi (market place for Bakra’s) and some how got rich and bought a house on the clifton road and as you know money can’t change a person’s mentality so the guy imprinted his background on his banglow what so ever!

20. verysmart (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 10:29 pm

Kumail.. u ruleeeeee dude..

me too am a urdu speaking and loathes the word MOHAJIR to be said for me. I am no f**king Mohajir, I am a Pakistani and I am pissed at people who still couldn’t mentally migrate from the freaking Hindustan. GET A LIFE

21. SirJee (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 11:06 pm

It looks like the guys living in house couldn’t cut ‘BLACK BAKRAZ’ to get rid of some ‘BLACK MAJIC’ so the cheap way would be to draw lots of ‘BLACK BAKRAZ’.

Kumail,
    Muhajir is now an identity, instead of in its literal meaning. I don’t support MQM either. May Allah cure the hearts of Muhajirs.

But then sometimes I’m reminded by our Sindhi brothers, who support the thugs of PPP just because they are Sindhi. Trust me, I have seen educated Sindhi people supporting PPP, just because the main leadership is Sindhi and I bet they would support Zardari too just because he is Sindhi. If Aitzaz Ahsan was chosen the leader of PPP, PPP would have lost its support in Sindh.

At the same time PPP uses Sindhi card all the time. They never did something really good for the Sindhis. May be because if PPP did actually accomplish something and did alleviate the suffering of Sindhis, they might not use the Sindh card again. All their Qaum Parastee is for their selfish benefits.

Sindhis keep complaining about the Panjabis, but they don’t look at their own people, what have they done for them. Their politicians are thugs, when they get into power they treat the poor sindhis as Nichlee Zaat, and the poor sindhis keep putting their heads in front of their leaders just to get a job. While the thugs keep acting like the Lords.

Even their Qaum Parast people who are in govt jobs, CSS OFFICERS, they steal from the money that was meant to be spent on their own people of Sindh.

If you consider the Muhajirs living in rural Sindh, they used to speak fluent Sindhi and we used to call ouselves Sindhis. But Sindhis didn’t accept this. They would come and ask to utter complex sindhi words like ‘Dhedr’, just to tell the Muhajirs its not worth trying to speak Sindhis.

Another Myth:Sindhis cliam the Zia-ul-Haq formed MQM to divide PPP votes. well Muhajirs never voted for PPP, they voted for Jamat-e-Islami. Why would Zia-ul-Haq make a party that would divide Jamat-e-Islami????

Why I don’t support MQM, generally speaking Muhajirs are not Qaum Parasts.

If I were an Ethnically Poisoned(Qaum Parast) person, what merit would I have to ask others to quit worshipping false ideologies.

22. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 11:55 pm

@AMMAR when you made up those etnic MQM comments using my nick, you could have atleast spiced it up abit.. knife touting terrorists from Bakra Qaumi Movement… (BQM) went on a killing frenzy and slaughtered 50+ innocent unsuspecting bakras

23. mana-ji (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 11:55 pm

BAKRA QISTOUN PEY

24. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 28th, 2008 @ 11:58 pm

*ethnic*

25. mana-ji (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 12:00 am

JAWAB-E-JAHILAAN
    KHAMOSHI BASHUD

PAKISTAN: 90% JAHIL
    7% EDUCATED( JAHIL)

26. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 12:06 am

atleast Ammar considers MQM black sheeps of our society, which is an encouraging sign …

27. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 12:18 am

Doctor, i can say a lot about your non-sense comments and behaviour, but this is not our teachings. We are proud to be from the most cultured class and we will not loose the patience. So No comments, cheers and be blessed..

28. SirJee (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 1:39 am

Ammar,

We are already very divided, so to claim that we are the *most cultured* class, wouldn’t get us any benfit.

No one should consider themselves as superior to others, seriously this is THE PROBLEM.

There are good and bad in every culture and society. We join the goods and discourage the bad, whoever it is.

29. SQ (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 2:08 am

Why is the torso of tha bakra so elongated? Is this home next to the Karachi Nuclear Power Plant (KANUPP)???

30. Concerned (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 2:25 am

Why does every topic includes MQM. Get a life guys.

31. pk_tun (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 2:37 am

because MQM is the worst nightmare of previliged class,

32. balma (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 3:20 am

While everyone is fighting here, I would like you all to check an article in January 28th issue of Wall Street Journal on Pakistan’s family based politics run by these asshole zamindars. Oh, btw, Abida Hussain’s comments on Mushee: he is a son of clerks….. his mother was just a typist…….
    this is why I think Pakistan will remian the phisadiesT country for a long time….so what if someone is son of clerk or a typist….

I believe that Abida Hussain Asshole is not against Mushee for anything else except that he is not a zamindar….
    I hope someone would have spanked her not-so-fat-ass when she was growing up. She sucks.

I am sure this article is already on some PK website, so a link to it will be good for people to see true color of Abida Hassan and other members of her family.

33. SirJee (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 3:22 am

PK TUN,

Now they have become previliged class themselves.
    Pahley auron kaa dar thaa, abb *apnon* sai dar hai.

Peer Sahib India jaker boltey hain kah Pakistan kaa bunna aik blunder thaa. Apney Aaqa-on ko khush karney kai liey woh yai bhee boldaingey kah ‘Hindustan kai logon kaa Islam qubool karnaa blunder thaa’. Koee baeeed nahee hai uss sai.

Andheron main, andha karon kaa raja

34. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 3:43 am

AMMAR i am already quite aware that you (MQM) are from the most cultured class…

http://img110.imageshack.us/img110/6955/mqmnazimbeatsladycouncimj1.gif

http://img520.imageshack.us/img520/803/mqmabusivewallchalkingalg5.jpg

http://img112.imageshack.us/img112/3918/4mqmabusiveslogansagaineq7.jpg

a bit short of time at the moment, will post rest of the vibrant cultural updates of MQM some times later..

35. mana-ji (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 10:47 am

LONG LIVE ABU-JAHAL

36. mana-ji (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 10:51 am

ZINDA HAI – ZINDA HAI
    ABU- JAHAL ZINDA HAI
    IS QAUM (JAHIL PAKISTANI’S)KI HAALAT DEKH KAR
    WOH BOHAT SHARMINDA HAI

37. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 11:55 am

@ammar : MQM is not for Mahajirs now. They dont say jiye mahajir even. They say jiye altaf, now.

Many Many urdu speaking ppl even hate mqm. They have turned now into a Mafia. They have lost their path and destination (if there was one).

therefore, Hating MQM doesnt mean hating our urdu speaking brothers who came from india, loosing their lives (due to which ALLAH has blessed our country till now when bay-deen persons have tried their best to ate it.)

Again, hating MQM doesnt mean hating Mahajir. MQM refers to the ghunda tanzeem only. They are fooling ppl in the name of Mahajir.

I hope u get my point. I do agree wid @doctor.

38. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 1:24 pm

Come on folks, who has been the representative of Mohajirs for the last two decades. Who is getting their votes. If MQM is wrong then Mohajirs are wrong because they are voting for MQM. Its all the agenda of the people to who have lost their credibitly in Urban Singh that they are maligning MQM. Be hopefull guys, MQM will boycott and you will be elected with 1% votes. Keep praying for that. Its no matter of how many are not supporting MQM, its who is the representative. PLEASE JUDGE YOURSELF. Waise slogans mai zuban bohat gandi hai (its the feeling and the hatred the have about Imran)laiken, by the way likha sab sach hai. Kia Imran Khan aisa nahee hai jo likha hai.

39. HITMAN (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 2:04 pm

@Ammar . Y do we ppl who r born in Sindh, Pakistan still consider ourselves to be Mahajir??? Its ok to call ourselves Urdu Speaking but Mahajir? By saying that MQM represents Mahajirs, u agree that MQM is not a political party but a linguistic one? Regarding IK, what he did back was definitely a haram thing and a gunah but atleast he is not a murderer, rapist, extortionist & terrorist like Altaf is.

Current face of IK is this and this

40. D0CTOR (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 2:20 pm

@ Ammar

Band ho gai…

Not even one person is supporting your cause mate ..

Everybody is supporting me …

Another moral victory !!!

41. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 2:22 pm

See your statement Hitman, you call the past doing of of Imran as haram and gunah and still says he is not a rapist, what a contradication. I dont complain about Shaukat Khanum Hospital, its state of the art hospital and there is no doubt that its a real welfare service. We are talking about his political face and his poiltical party. If he cannot give justice to his family (especially daughter of Sita White), how can he make a party with a name Justice Party.
    Regarding your other question of being calling as Mohajir, yes it has a clear identification and its better than MATARWA, MAKKAR and HINDUSTANI. We wished to be called Sindhi, but we were never and hence led to have a separate identification MOHAJIR. Mohajirs dont have urdu speaking only and their are other languages also.So Mohajir is a better word.

42. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 2:37 pm

@ammar: kon vote daita hay mqm ko u know??????

Aik banda mqm ka 18 18 vote dalta hay. then they win elections.

This is not any sazish to brainwash urdu speaking ppl and make their minds agianst mqm. Ppl already say it. they hate mqm. I think u shud meet some nuetral urdu speaking pplrather than ur mqm friends.

Imran khan nai aik baat ghalat harkat ki, he was caught and i think he has accepted it as well. Wat do u think of altaf? Living in Uk, with no wife till 50. ( or aa new wife every night)?

I have already told u that MQM has no more become the representative of mahajir. Ab "jiye mahajir" kay bajaye "jiye altaf" hota hay.

My colleage , who has his relatives far ahead in mqm, tells me all thee insights. do u Still think its all wrong?

43. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 3:03 pm

folks, agar aik gunah hota to theek tha laiken kia imran nay aik gunah kia hai. Agar accept kia hai (jo aap keh rahay ho then why not he own his daughter). Lets not discuss him. He is just a tanga party and he boyocotted the election coz he knew he will never win the election even from Mianwali. By the way you colleague who has relatives far ahead in mqm, told something else, i mean how this can be authenticated. MQM even won in the worst operations, he voted then. Come on guys accept the reality and the reality is that if MQM boycott the election people having vested interests will win with 1% votes. Sach Sach hai aur kabhi chup nahee sakta.

MQM is a reality my dear.

Jis tarah 1 machar ko marne se
    tum shikari nahin ban jao gey
    Theek usi tarah jhoot likhnay se
    tum likhari nahin ban jao gey

44. Jameel (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 3:16 pm

@ Ammar

Dear Ammar. stop wasting your time on these Jahils, these are the scum of our society , parhey Likhey Jahils whose parents forced them to study and complete their education, yet mentally they are still Jahil. what a waste .

The hate they have against MQM is unbeleiable, Open up your mind Jahiloon , MQM is a reality and is here to stay regardless of your poison . I dnt think much your propagenda of it anyway and so does Ammar .

45. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 3:17 pm

@ammar: ab app ager din ko raat kehnay per bazid ho tu we cant do any thing

46. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 3:32 pm

IUnknown and other friends, basically we are forced to reply. If we keep the discussion non-political, this will never come. Please understand, ham sab ka jeena marna saath hai, ham sab aik hain aur ham sab ko karachi ki behtri kay liye soochna chia. Political issues bring some bitterness but at the end of the day we have to be the same. The point i am making is that discuss constructive things which can be good for the city and are helpful to solve the problems

47. Jameel (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 3:39 pm

Its all because of that biggest scum DOCTOR , he mentions MQM in every post .

48. Concerned (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 4:13 pm

I would suggest that people refrain themselves, this started off as decent and funny post and it has turned into political bashing.

Doctor dude seriously what is your obsession with MQM. You are always the one to start this hatred.

As for others who think being called muhajir is wrong, guys in this country of ours everyone is either a punjabi or a sindhi, etc and I did call my self a pakistani for a long time but I was branded as urdu speaking (aka muhajir) by everyone else and damn it I am proud of being urdu speaking.

MQM has flaws and so does every party, but at least they care abt my city and at least they resent what I resent, ie zamidars, political maulvis etc. As long as they do this I support them.

IK could have done good for the country, Mushy gave him a good chance when he took power but IK as usual being the stubborn bacha that he is had a falling out with mushy. Now IK is sitting with the same people he was against when he started off extremist and chaudaries. He has no party policy and no brains. That is why he wont get my vote.

49. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 5:28 pm

@ammar: u r rite. Laiken ghalat logon ki himayat ab band ho jani chiah doesnt matter if they are sindhi, urdu, english , spanish etc

>>and at least they resent what I resent, ie zamidars, political maulvis etc. As long as they do this I support them."

MQM has just been left as "flaws-only" party now.
    I know the wadairas etc are really cruel on poor ppl in vaillages but wat do u think of those taking bhatta and sending the FUNDS to UK?

If wadairas do such thin in villages, MQM do it in heart of pakistan (karachi). And before 1992 operation MQM workers use to marry (by force) and after a while, they left those unfortunate girls. Yeh sub kia hay?????????

Think before u leap!

50. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 5:50 pm

Lets have the elections again and again and let the governments complete their tenures and things will be clear. Its the only filter. There is no other way.

51. Concerned (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 6:26 pm

dude I aint Ammar.

52. IUnknown (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 6:45 pm

@concerned: i know. i have posted a comment against ur comments

53. Concerned (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 6:46 pm

Iunknown

I agree with you on the Bhatta that existed at a point but doesnt happen any more. I agree they prob get kick backs on projects but hey as long as my city prospers I dont mind if they earn a little money. This is far better then wht bb and Mr 10% did to khi. Nothing moved in that period.

MK said it best when he said only people who have a stake in the city will genuinly help the city and MQM has a stake in the city.

As for the alleged force marrying is concerned, I honestly dont rem that. Where do you get your facts from. I agree there was alot of killings in those days but nothing like wht u said. On the contrary I can easily quote a number of Bhai Log (MQM), who actually make sure no one messes with the womanfolk in their area.

I have said it before and I will say it again, MQM is better then most, they show results.

54. SirJee (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 7:47 pm

AMMAR and others,

Don’t be emotionally blackmailed by your ethinic association with MQM. Thats the same thing we accuse others of doing.

If we are educated, then we should support whats right and should not make judgements based on our ethnic affiliations.

How can we accuse others of some sin and then make it justifiable for our own selves. Isn’t it hypocricy?

All I can do is pray that Allah cleanse the hearts of Muhajirs, Sindhis, Panjanbis, Pakhtoons, Baluchs, Siraikes, Bultistanis et etc, Ameeen

55. Concerned (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 7:55 pm

dont give me phylosophy, give me facts.

Who is making a decision based on ethnic association, My decision is based on my life in khi over the last 30 years and logically MQM is the best choice as I have only seen development and commitment in their time.

Think about it yar,

56. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 8:13 pm

Hmmm interesting. Its not ethnic association my dear SIRJEE. Atleast education doesn’t give you this. It will be the last thing one will do. If some one is voting for Shahbaz Sharif in Lahore, will that mean its the ethnic bias, not its the work he has done there. The same goes for Karachi. Only those who have done good here will have the votes. Its a global village and has immediate accountability. People will vote for those who have done good and who are better than others. Every one knows who is the best. First time they got the chance to serve for full five years and you can see the change and the change is positive. More will be come, have patience and lets tolerate each other

57. d0ct0r (unregistered) on January 29th, 2008 @ 11:46 pm

Ammar isn’t it all too obvious that the last comment was also posted by you using my nick,you really don’t expect me to be using Altaf bai’s cheap street lingo & ethnic comments.. you really need to do alot better then that..

58. Hisham (unregistered) on January 30th, 2008 @ 11:10 am

Actually, the house is next door to mine, and was my relative’s (A.R. Adamjee) house. The whole compound has been sold though only that portion has moved out.

its nothing to do with bakras at all–they keep painting it ridiculous colors to stir up buzz (like what is happening here) so when they do build something people will remember it. I dont know where all this political discussion has popped up from in a post about an oddly painted house…

59. AMMAR (unregistered) on January 30th, 2008 @ 4:26 pm

Thanks Hisham for finally jumping in. If you could have come earlier this non sense debate would not lasted so long.

60. Property in Tangier (unregistered) on January 31st, 2008 @ 1:57 pm

Hi to alls

It is a good and funny post in this site and what is a price of one BAKRA in your market.

61. karachiite (unregistered) on February 2nd, 2008 @ 4:32 pm

thanks hisham, really.
    good to see that not EVRYBODY who visit KMB likes to jump from a very simple, straight topic to a political one.

62. Ali Yaqoob (unregistered) on February 3rd, 2008 @ 2:15 am

This post tells us the actual reason of current situation in Pakistan!!!

"Logo to tang laranai ki addat hai and they just cant stick to topic"

63. Syed Ali Ahmed Shraeef (unregistered) on February 9th, 2008 @ 3:01 pm

MQM i s the best and BRAVE , stronger party in Sindh and will be of Pakistan

Imran khan is an Ugly man RAPER RAPER , Non MUSLIM

Imran khan is Fluttering girls in peshawar
    just look at his face uglyyyyyyyyyyyy