Another contender for Karachi’s Tallest building?
According to this news item published in a reputed paper, the City Governement has signed a deal for a 47 storey building adjacent to Civic Centre.
The building complex will host 3 shopping malls, a 240 room five star hotel, a 12000-seat call centre, parking for over 2000 cars and will provide employment opportunities to over 50,000 people.
Seriously, great going if this happens, but a 5 star hotel near civic centre?? Do we not have enough “high security” zones thanks to these hotels and consulates?
http://www.reuters.com/article/newsOne/idUSISL30210920080226?sp=true
Although I do not support for MQM – and have never voted for them – I still believe that young city nazim and Farooq Sattar had done a lot of service to the city. One being the construction of roads, repair work on highways, fly-vers, and city parks. Though most of these plans were from previous Jamaat-e-Islami nazim (Naimatullah), they were implemented by MQM. This much credit is due to them whatever their flaws (terrorism, bhatta, un-necessary ethnicity problem, cutting down hundreds of trees, etc).
I hope center won’t stop Karachi from development as the development of this city means the prosperity for the entire country. We hope that Zardari, although a fairly immature politician, will make the right choice.
NN is a total retard, so everyone, just ignore his silly hate mongering comments.
Honestly, everyone can agree that the current city goverment is doing well, and I hope they stay.
As all of us are karachites, it makes sense that we all want the best for our city. As each day passes, I care less and less about our silly internal polticis and hate for different ethinic types.
In my group of friends, I have Sindhi, Punjabi, Mohajir friends and Pathan friends, and we all get along great.
Lets all stop trying to piss each other off, and try to stand together and work for our future.
I still dont get how ppl like their petty politics more than their country?
How can ppl love MQM/PPP/PML-N/Q more than Pakistan itself..its sad.
geo musharraf
MQM v/s PUNJABI/SINDHI/PUKHTOON ALLIANCE
This guy is a Jamatee. I can smell him from a distance.
MQM v/s PUNJABI/SINDHI/PUKHTOON ALLIANCE is a typical Jamatee. I can smell him from a distance.
BALMA jab Barrister Sahib jaisey log yahan per comment kartey hein tou zara waqeel baradari ka khiyaal rakhna parta hey.
By the way their long March is in doldrums, I guess PPP is getting ready to pull the plug.
Any idea what was Nawaz Sharif thinking, when he gave a press conference with Qazi Sahib, has he gone mad again? Or he likes being used?
He was talking about defining terrorism and avenging the ill treatment of Muslim League workers, surely he is not being pushed into another confrontation or is he?
OH! sorry about duplicate posts.
That said it does not serve any purpose to stay rooted in the past. Its important to fix things and that requires taking decisions that may not be popular but none the less right. Musharraf has taken quite a few of those and now PPP and others have to carry on the fight, the problem will not go away by merely covering it up, it’s the result of more than three decades of senseless war mongering / paranoia and will not easily go away.
Last i heard, Qazi Hussain Ahmed had boycotted the elections ==> no representative in the parliament. So what is Navaz NoSharif meeting him for? Navaz is too stupid. I would have used a stronger word if he was not a kashmiri nasal. I am biased.
If it wasn’t Pakistan, I would have actually enjoyed the show. I see what you are saying about lawyers….but I believe lawyers and judges, on the most part, are bigger criminals than police. It is lawyers and judges who have allowed the police to be such criminal.
Zardari is just after money, and perhaps hope of picking some new babe(s) soon, so he is more flexible than Navaz NoSharif, whose only issue is with Mushee. But they together can’t work for too long. Sooner or later, probably sooner – 3 months? –there is going to be a problem.
Navaz wants PPP to help remove the 2 limit condition. For what? The only person who could be effected by this limit on the PPP side has gifted us with her shahaadat (Thanks budnazir for dying). So why would PPP help Navaz Sharif in becoming PM for the third time?
Second, all this legal hulla gulla….why would Zardari support free adalyah? So that the adalyah could try him for three murders? (Murtuza and Justice Nizamuudin and his son)?
So, if these things are not going to happen, then Navaz Sharif is not going to keep supporting PPP:-)
Also, didn’t Navaz Sharif imprison Zardari and didn’t Zardari-Benazir arrest Abba-ji?
Nahin, yeh piyar-o-muhabbat zyaadah din tak nahi’n chalay gaa.
I think the best scenario for Pakistan in the long run is for PPP to get rid of Bhuttos, Zardari goes to jail for life for murders, Navaz Sharif retires, Muslim league combines, and MQM and ANP expand their influence out of Sindh and NWFP respectively, and we have a 4 party system. Two party system is boring. Of course, Jamat Islami and all other Islami taTToos like Fazlu will have to be banned. They can merge into PML.
So four parties:
PPP (halla-gulla party to keep Mullahs in check)
PML (moderate Mullahs with business interests in mind)
MQM (fights for lower-middle and middle class – the urban dudes of Pakistan)
ANP (Fights for the lower classes in the rural area)
Thats it. Ban kar dou kambakht doosri parties ko.
Pakistan can not have more than 4 parties.
Zardari must go to jail.
Sorry guys, i had promised to myself after 27th December that I will not call her Budnazir…because she is not alive to defend herself. But, old habbits die hard. I am so used to calling her Budnazir – 20 years and counting – that it is going to be a while when I start writing her name as Benazir by default.
I call this BALMA’s Alternative, a very Utopian scenario but achievable.
Dude you for got to mention Imran Khan. Where do you fit him in this Mosaic? Wouldn’t he make a fine Movie/Art Critic?
Translation of Sahih Muslim, Book 41-Number 6953:
Abu Huraira reported Allah’s Messenger (may peace be upon him) as saying: It would be an Abyssinian(black man) having two small shanks who would destroy the House ol Allah, the Exalted and Glorious.
This Hadith fits to obama.
@HADITH FOR YOU…
I don’t know what you are trying to prove but a little lesson of history would have gone a long way in helping clear up your mind.
History has proved the hadith wrong, not once but many times. And it did not take long after the Prophet’s death for the first occurrence. The Umayyad troops first attacked Kaaba not long after Ali’s death to crush a rebellion and a few years later Hajaj bin Yousaf carried out another attack against rebels which completely demolished the House of Al-Lah. The holy building had to be re-built twice within first 60 years of the Prophet’s death and many time later. Need I draw your attention to another occasion when the Black Stone (Hijra Aswad) was stolen by Karamtis and it stayed in their possessions for many years.
Don’t try to scare people with hoaxes.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/regional/story/2008/02/080227_turkey_islam_fz.shtml
i totally agree with JAYJAY. It is true that House of God was destroyed many tomes before.
The karamitis stole it and took it to bahrain only returned it , i think after a decade or so, after a huge ransom was paid.
the karamitis were a sect of shia’s but not mainstream.
everyone can google search about the details.
i totally agree with JAYJAY. It is true that House of God was destroyed many tomes before.
The karamitis stole it and took it to bahrain only returned it , i think after a decade or so, after a huge ransom was paid.
the karamitis were a sect of shia’s but not mainstream.
everyone can google search about the details.
OK, will every one please distinguish between Q and K here. Using traditional desi/Indian/Paksitani/Urdu standard, it would be Qaramitis or actually qaraamatis.
Again, it is Quran not Kuran, and Kursi, not Qursi. If you don’t know what I am talking about…don’t worry…just ignore this.
Imran Khan should join MQM.
JAYJAY & FAHMED, you rock dudes! These fear mongers are at it again, the other day during a social gathering a guy was spreading all sorts of nonsense and half truths and when I contradicted him it turned into a blah! blah! session. Its time to confront these guys with historical facts because they prey on ignorance and try to incite the weakest.
BALMA you are stretching your imagination too far, come back to REALITY! :-)
Only Mushi can put ths country on its rit direction! Geo Musharraf!!
ill just copy my earlier post. station the army/rangers in karachi. cut that black kanjars throat in london. wait. when the mqm goons come out, shoot them all. deport the rest from where they came from (ie UP, bihar) since they love india so much. arrest and hang the rest of the leaders who are involved in serious crimes. farooq sattar and ishratul ibad. short term will be bad but long term we will be be rid of this menace once and for all.
also again i respect Urdu speaking people but i cant stand mqm.
as for the nazim system, there is no doubt Karachi has seen a lot of development but things have been going down rapidly for the last 2 yrs. almost 70 percent of the funds are lost to corruption. shoddy roads, bridges collapsing and these nazims have become mega rich overnight. im all for abolishing this system.
flame on.
Mr. Your parents were literally feeding donkeys when urdu-gujrati speaking ppl came to this country. We build Karachi which was city of 300 thousand ppl to what it is now.
PIA, Habib banks everything is started by us. You guys need to behave if you want to live in Karachi otherwise go to smelly gobar towns from where you came from. We an hire you as gardner or gate keeper but dont think more then that.
Before us hindu sindhis were living in Karachi. We got all right on lands which were own by them. We have more right to this land then you have.
You guys adapter our language(urdu), our culture, our way of life, how come you guy can threaten us. Wyy retarted ppl needs quota system to save their jobs.
ha ha funny. Karachi was a tropical haven before we let u people come with open arms, our mistake. gujratis, parsis, christians, hindus muslims etc existed with harmony and did business. they still do and basically run karachi and even pakistans economy. now you talk about quadibad and altafnagar or whateevr you call it. and call that ugly thing from the back ally’s of bihar ‘pir sahab rahmatullah’ what gracious guests you are.
one of my urdu speaking friends said this when i was in the u.s. a few days after 9/11 when the muslim community there was under pressure. he said we didn’t live in india as indians, we didn’t live in pakistan as pakistanis and we dont live in america as americans.
live in pakistan as pakistanis or go back to india. lets see how u’ll like being gang raped and burnt by hindus ala gujrat, bombay.
altaf rahber.
JEAY ALTAF I hate to say this but since you have spewed such poison, just tell me who was there for rescue when the whole of the north was shell shocked by the quake, who said wake up and do something? who was sending lady doctors in areas where men dare not go? on the other hand who was diverting trucks and looting them during those dire time?. We might be labelled as Mohahjir’s or Urdu speaking or whatever, but fact is we are Pakistani’s and not going any where and over the period have learned to talk in a language that every body understands in this land of Martial races.. Also we refuse to be made scapegoats for many problems inflicting this country including suicidal terrorism, jihadi paranoia, killing of PM’s and shortage of wheat etc. My friend when Pakistan was created there was no Pakistan economy, there was no State Bank and no financicial institutions, and no government. Do you know how much of Nizam’s treasure was deposited in pakistan coffers? Yes, we didint do it alone but never the less played a major role.
Creation of Pakistan is the fulfillment of the vested interests of every community in this country including UP’ians, Punjabi’s, Pakhtoons, Balloach and Sindhis. We have thrown our vested interests i.e. the Nawabs out of the political fray and now it’s up to you guys to clean up your mess. Meantime MQM will continue to get stronger and reach out to every nook and corner of this country led by a young dedicated leadership who works tirelessly to serve its voters. That said, I admit that all are not angels but even the worst are far more effective than the useless hoards that occupy MNA / MPA hostels and turn them into brothels.
Arey tum log pagal ho gai ho.
Pakistan as enough problems we dont need this senseless hatred.
JeayAltaf, dont be so negative boy, baki politician bhi doodh ke dhulay nahi hain. No point spreading senseless hatred, kush reh yaar.
Star and RC, you will achive nothing by saying who built what, that is a stupid arguement, everyone contributed. support a party not becuase of ethicity but becuase of what their mandate is, this is where MQM lacks and if you keep fighting this Muhajir non muhajir fight neither you nor MQM will get anywhere.
CONCERNED I agree, but some times you do get provoked…..so the key is, "Never write in anger"
* Do you know how much of Nizam’s treasure was deposited in pakistan coffers?
I have heard that 20 Crore rupees were transferred to Pakistan so that first month’s salaray could be paid to PK govt employees.
20 Crore ruppes was a lot of money in 1947 August.
Remember, Patel bhai etc of India had disllowed transfer of Paksitan’s assets from Dehli to Karach (including Cash). Eventually, Gandhi shaheed forced Indian govt to allow the transfer of Pakistan’s cash to Pakistan. Mahatama Gandhi Shaheed gave his life for Paksitan. He was killed by a fanatic RRS Hindu for agreeing to Pakistan (as a last resort), saving Muslims from rioters in India, and for telling Indian govt to transefer Paksitan’s share of the pre-47 money.
I have also heard Nizam’s jewelry in soem London bank was transferred to Pakistan’s first ambassador to London. His grandson actually confirm that transfer to me. I wonder what happened to all those assets.
Also, I have read and been told that Habib Seth (of Habib Bank) offered to give a blank check to Jinnah in August 47 for Paksitan’s use.
the nizams jewlery was sold to the Indian govt., i think last year, by then nizams children who are living in australia.
it was never given to pakistan. everyone can google search it.
as for the help in the initial year, ofcourse they contributed.
but the sort of 3rd sate stuff said on this site does not warrant a response.
the racsist/facsists cannot hide their faces behind any cloak…
everyone always new their true colours and for the last many years they trumpted their new credentials but they wasted their time.
the zebra can claim to be a hippo but would fool only himself.
as for the earth quake relief…..every citizen of karachi contributed towards the relief effort but some kamzarf people later tried to use the issue to gather votes for themselves thus showing their true colours!
the zehar spewed above against non-muhajirs is the true colour/face of the MQM and everyone knew about it. But the MQM kept decieving only itself and not others that they include all pakistanis!
" Also, I have read and been told that Habib Seth (of Habib Bank) offered to give a blank check to Jinnah in August 47 for Paksitan’s use…."
Yah, right….aren’t his next generations still reaping it’s benifits and getting it back with sood.
the chors of Indus motors & Co fleeced the public for decades and are trillionaires now.
taking 100% of the value of the cars and delivering after 6-8 months while keeping peoples money in saving accounts earning billions in interest without raising a finger. not to count more then 100% mark-up on the cars and stage managing the On-Money themselves.
i don’t think it was a bad business deal!
"Meantime MQM will continue to get stronger and reach out to every nook and corner of this country led by a young dedicated leadership who works tirelessly to serve its voters…"
@Reality_check
i consider you amongthe more sensible and rationale people on this blogg.
do u really believe that teh MQM can peneterate every noon & corner of this country and win support???
do u think that people from Sind , punjab, NWFP,baluchistan..etc are bling and eaf and don’t know that teh MQM is racsist/facsist?? can u in your right mind deny that.
fascism is not a degenerating term per se and represents an ideology and what MQM, jeay sind, baloch nationalist,ANP…etc is fascism!!
MQM must learn from ANP. It only says / does represent pukhtoons and does not try to cloak itself or rebrand as an all inclusive party.
MQM should stop trumpting as Muteheda….electing some sindhi and other people from MQM strongholds does not mean that it has become inclusive.
it should stop this hypocricy as no one is buying it.
*the nizams jewlery was sold to the Indian govt., i think last year, by then nizams children who are living in australia.
**** Your suggestion to google may be good, but not every thing was on record. Nizams didn’t have two boundaas and one necklace. He happened to be the richest man of the world (or one of the) in 1930s/40s. The fact that his descendants sold something to the Indian govt in 2000s has nothing to do with what was transferred to the PK govt via PK’s first ambassador to the UK (after whom Karsas is named now).
anyway, i am not being a chamcha of Nizam here, after all what my father’s goes?
Also, a blank check from Habib seth has nothing to do with his sons/grandsons haraampai in PK….Stop making everything sound like a conspiracy theory.
I meant, fahmed, stop making every thing sound like a conspiracy.