Do we really need more power?
Continuing in the vein of my previous post, I would like to express a similar thought related to the electricity crisis we are facing these days.
Analysts keep predicting that Karachi needs 500 more megawatts or 1000 more megawatts, whereas my belief is that what Karachi needs is a swift cleanup drive. KESC should put their act back together and get rid of all ‘kundas’ and ‘direct connections’. I know for a fact that quite a few of my neighbors are utilizing direct connections, as they have both their ACs’ on for almost 24 hours throughout the summer. And I am sure most Karachiites have seen those notorious ‘kundas’ (illegal connections) that plague the city. They are not only a safety hazard, but also result in the KESC not getting money, or worse, getting it from the wrong person.
Once all the illegal connections are gone, and people are really paying for what they are using, not only will the revenue of KESC increase, but people will be more careful of their electricity usage. Here’s to hoping that we are able to see a kunda-free Karachi in the near future!
Quit d0ct0r Quit.
"know for a fact that quite a few of my neighbors are utilizing direct connections" — Reveal and xpose thier names ..
r u trying to say, if all people start paying KESC so all this loadshedding will be over ??? i dont think so, its not the matter of account recievable for KESC …… its quite simple that KESC dont have enough supply for the city, and yes they must also control the leakage so they can run the corporation smoothly.
@zaash. If KESC puts Rupees 2 in its account receivable because it supplied 1 person electricity, If the person pays Rupees 2, there will be no account receivables left right? But if KESC puts rupees 2 in A/c Rec but the consumption is somehow rupees 4, and the respectable citizen keeps paying his 2 rupees. Do you think that there is any chance that the receivable of KESC could reduce? They are running on losses right now they have got to break even first only then they can think of profits and investing more in growing.
The author is right… They need to assign a "kunda petrol" in the city. I myself have once indulged myself with some so-called "mullahs" who were putting a kunda just in front of my house. and upon inquiry they said "Masjid ke liyay hai MASJID ke liyay". They were so proud and strong in making their point as they are doing the RIGHT MOST thing. After around 15 minutes of non-sense discussion i quit coz i felt like i was banging my head on the wall (an argument with the illiterate)
PS: All this come from the frustration of all night without light. (hey! doesn’t it rhyme! "All night without Light… oh yea yea yea…. :S"
Kabhi Kunda tu Kabhi GOvt. Kabhi Musharraf tu Kabhi Nazim. As if we Awam are angels and have done nothing wrong or have no responsibility.
I think we should quit attitude now. Fine Kunda wunda are the problem but is it not common that most of us abuse Power by keeping unnecessary lights on? Don’t we keep PC monitor on most of the time even when it’s not required?
Instead of expecting others to get fixed, if jahil awam start realizing their own responsibility then most of the problems will get fixed itself. Awam need to grow up!
our attitudes sure are different when it is about our nose. thats very true about saving energy.
I wonder weather am an ALIEN or my school was on MARS. Being civilised or acting civilised is not by choice. I believe it starts from Home and polished at the school.
Scratching groin, nose picking, spitting publicaly, foul language, farting without excusing, easing bladder on sidewalk, stealing from others, hurting crushing others, is something which we all take as NORMAL, and does not detest neither OBJECT about it. where as in my childhood it was considered a TABOO. Class monitors & School prefects were assigned to check the lights & fans of class rooms, and mark the ones which were found empty with light & fans on., class monitors were punished for it., I can talk long long long…………but for what?
Bygone is bygone, WE shall take & assume full responsibility to teach our coming generation what we believe-IN and how shall we live as SANE human.
I wish & truely do the effort to make the coming generation MUCH BETTER HUMAN THEN MYSELF
Main Khayaban Shamsheer House no Xvcx – is a officers mess of an ELITE agency 14 Split aircons starts when they all come back from duty at 3.30 afternoon and shut down at 5.30 in morning daily,
I noted down the meter number fixed at POLE – and downloaded the bill from KESC website. …. :)
monthly bill……………..Rs. 10,000.00 ~ 11,000.00 – at most.
where as my mom’s home, in worst of Summer she use one window a/c from 1.30 till 5.00 and then from 10PM till 5.30 am — average bill is 7000
house no. batao shamsi bhai .. .this is interesting and how did you managed to get the bill from KESC website?
the sad thing is that honest people who make up .5 percent of pakistan have to pay on the behalf of these damn theives who have open kundas everywhere. it really hurts me to pay these large sums when i see the whole society next to mine stealing kesc electricity and nothing is being done about it. now u tell me who would like to live in such a place where such things happen even if i want to be honest i cant be.