Foreign Policy clarifies the Mayor of the Moment issue

A few days back Dawn had reported from a press release issued by the Karachi City District Government that our 36-year old mayor was ranked as the 2nd Best Mayor in the world along with Berlin’s Klaus Wowereit, and Chongqing’s Wang Hongju.

But what has suddenly turned into an embarrassing situation for the CDGK, is when Joshua Keating an editor of Foriegn Policy Magazine revealed in a blog post that we never ranked him in any way. This entire mess could have been avoided with some very basic fact-checking and now in response the Karachi City Government has also scrambled to edit its own website to quietly amend its text to reflect the changed position

Joshua Keating writes on Foreign Policy Blog: At issue is a sidebar from FP’s recent Global Cities Index that names Kamal, Berlin’s Klaus Wowereit, and Chongqing’s Wang Hongju as “mayors of the moment” who have found innovative ways to globalize their cities. The mayors are not ranked, nor are we implying that they are objectively “better” than any other mayors, but that didn’t stop the Karachi city government from issuing a press release on its Web site (they’ve changed the text since being contacted by FP) congratulating Kamal for being the No. 2 mayor in the world. For the record, the three names are not listed in any particular order. Pakistan’s biggest English-language newspaper, Dawn, then printed a glorified transcription of the mayor’s press release by the government-controlled Associated Press of Pakistan as a front-page story without ever checking with us to see if it was accurate.

According to one reporter, who unlike Dawn contacted us for comment, “Karachi is riddled with banners by the local government, congratulating Mr. Kamal for being declared as second best mayor of the world by the Foreign Policy.”

We hate to rain on Kamal’s parade, and certainly intend him and his city no disrespect, but we simply never ranked him in any way. This entire mess could have been avoided with some very basic fact-checking.

Print this post

64 Comments so far

1. cyrenity on November 13th, 2008 @ 4:24 pm

if this is the fact, then which NO-2 is publicized all over the Karachi, btw, they are on truth this time. NUMBER-2 mayor of the world :-D

2. Afreen (afreen) on November 13th, 2008 @ 4:28 pm

Didn’t expect this kind of shoddy research by DAWN.

3. sniper on November 13th, 2008 @ 4:30 pm

SHAMEFUL ACT BY MQM…..

Thousands of Rupees spend to congratulate the Mayor…… that shows how much black money do MQM have……. ch ch ch….

4. binaryzero on November 13th, 2008 @ 4:32 pm

LMAO :D no disrespect to anyone but this is quite funny :D

5. seskey on November 13th, 2008 @ 4:41 pm

wow DAWN ke shamat a-gayee., Shame on you DAWN. We trusted you since childhood and DAWN HOODWINKED us with such nuisance SHAME on DAWN SHAME

6. seskey on November 13th, 2008 @ 4:43 pm

Sara harami pan DAWN ka hai, Ya tou DAWN nai MQM sai paisay leay hain ya MQM nai DAWN ko paisay dai kar print karwa ho ga, sara haramipun DAWN ke news sai shro hoya hai.

7. shalak on November 13th, 2008 @ 4:55 pm

Guys , whether he is no 2 or no 57 in the eyes of Media , for us Karachities he will always be number 1 .

Tundye Baad-e-Mukhalif se na Ghabra aye Auqab
    Yeh Tu chalti hai tujhe uncha uranay Kay liye…

8. shoaib on November 13th, 2008 @ 4:58 pm

What a shame…. I understand our most respectable English newspaper could not handle something to be admired of about Karachi’s Mayor. Before they would have published this report saying "Magazine denies declaring Kamal 2nd best mayor", some one should have atleast read the article. I wont be surprised to find the racial discrimination behind this. It is so unfortunate that during the times when the World is dramatically changing esp with gigantic victory of a black man in a white majority country. Our Pakistani newspaper is not wasting a second to disown something which our failing country was surprisingly admired about. I really want some one to please do a little investigation on 3 grounds:
    1-The main article clearly used Syed Mustafa Kamal’s name among "three of the world’s TOP mayors". Why on earth Ms Jina Hasan or the personal in Dawn news who wrote the news so proudly denounced the achievement of a very middle class background Mayor of relatively inexperienced to democracy Pakistan/Karachi, whose mere mentioning of name would have brought delight and sense of humble achievement.
    2-Please do the research about the racial/ethinic background of people including Ms Jina Hasan and Dawn news reporter. Not for profiling purposes but to initiate a dialogue, to allow people to live out side their own sleeves, to let them grow to be able to cherish success not just based on Zaat/ Braadri/ class/ or color but on nationality.
    3-Why and who chose the heading "Magazine denies declaring Kamal 2nd best mayor". This could have simply being explained by reading the article. It was not a criticism about some one that people had to come out and explain what the writer said or how wrongly it was percieved, surprisingly it was other way round. Link to the article is as follows:
    http://www.foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php?story_id=4509&page=3

and heading of that particular section was :
    The Mayors of the Moment

Again no body had written any thing bad about us rather it was a praise….. It also left a sense of feeling that our Mayor was among the top 3 in the World, who cares whether there was a Gallup survey or Haj Qurandazi or Ballot box etc etc the reason behind citing of Mustafa Kamal’s name there….. very very shameful act by reporter and Ms Jinna.

9. khaled on November 13th, 2008 @ 5:12 pm

LOL

hahah the anti MQM sleeping and wining over the Dawn report suddenly alive again.

No Matter what FP says one thing is clear the FP Magzine do recognize the work of MQM Nazim world wide.

dawn.com/2008/11/10/top11.htm

The report was not broke by MQM it was the leading English daily of Pakistan.

and the Title " Mayors of the Moment " definitely means something and i asked the bloggers here just to tell me what is the meaning of mayors of the moment ???

foreignpolicy.com/story/cms.php?story_id=4509&page=3

@ Teeth

One thing is quite clear and that is the Hate you have against Karachi and Urdu speaking people.

i hope you would clearify what Mayors of Moment meant .

10. khaled on November 13th, 2008 @ 5:15 pm

The clearification of FP is quite intresting, They didn’t said that MK is Second Best Nazim but they did say he is One of the MAYORS OF THE MOMENT In the Entire World.

The Mayors of the Moment

No city globalizes on its own. But with shrewd investments and smart urban planning, a mayor can help turn a regional player into a global powerhouse.Here’s how three of the world’s top mayors are climbing the ladder:

We are Happy that FP that MK is in the List of Worlds TOP MAYOR.

11. khaled on November 13th, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

Mk is not the Second Best.

Mustafa Kamal is the Worlds Top Mayor.

img515.imageshack.us/img515/7917/mkkn0.gif

Anti MQM and Anti Karachi people screw you.

12. Teeth Maestro (kar_teeth) on November 13th, 2008 @ 5:48 pm

@Khaled - I assure you I love Karachi and I am 100% Urdu speaking individual, I only prefer to vent my frustration against the local thug called MQM - its truly nothing but a simple military organization using politics for their own advantage. These days they are just disguised hiding their true image underneath - it wont take long for the militia to reemerge and make a mess out of Karachi - we saw that on April 9th and I fear that once the have a falling out with PPP [Read KKI foreign investment scam] - we might see the militia reemerge very soon.

13. cyrenity on November 13th, 2008 @ 6:05 pm

@teeth, omg i m amused to see the reaction of khalid and shoaib, waiting for barristerakc ;) hope he is in the same queue

14. Teeth Maestro (kar_teeth) on November 13th, 2008 @ 6:09 pm

@khaled - read #57 in front of MK’s name - whats up - with that - someone forgot their ‘ginti’ LOL

BTW i too nave to agree MK has done a good job - but MQM sucks

15. wkhang on November 13th, 2008 @ 8:00 pm

He is the best !!!!!!!!
    End of conversation.

16. amaymar on November 13th, 2008 @ 10:38 pm

I am still wondering why the correction news hasn’t made it to the mainstrem media as yet. I again smell something fishy.

Can media be paid to make noise or keep silent at will?…Or is it that they dont know as yet

17. amaymar on November 13th, 2008 @ 10:47 pm

I get it now

just saw the Geo TV video linked at CDGK website about the original news..

THEY ARE TOO EMBARRASSED TO ADMIT THIER STUPIDITY

18. kaami on November 13th, 2008 @ 11:43 pm

@TEETH MAESTRO, so DAWN as well as every body else screwed up. There was no ranking instead Mustafa Kamal is one of three “Mayors of the Moment in this whole damn world” So is it not something to cheer about?, or talk about or feel proud about? Especially in this period of doom and gloom brought about by nay sayer’s like you, who can just whine, criticise and follow good for nothing talk show politicians and terrorist sympathisers.

For me MK is not only the Mayor of the moment, he is “The Mayor of the Moment”. What he and his party has achieved in such trying circumstances is exemplary, despite the whole bunch of leg pullers like you, who have played their part in leading this country into an ambush by thieves, fanatics, lawyers and useless idealists.

Like I said in an earlier comment, “No certificate from any body else needed, It’s the people of this city who love and cherish him and that’s the one that counts. He is destined to achieve a lot more unless people like you have your way”

Not long ago MK was invited on Geo’s Nadia Khan show, surprisingly, he was the one who generated largest number of SMS’s and calls from Pakistani’s in the shows history, that too not only from Karachi, people from all corners of the country were calling in and wishing him well.

19. kaami on November 13th, 2008 @ 11:58 pm

@TEETH_MAESTRO As for your off-topic fears about the re-emergence of Militia. Let me refresh your memory, this is not a country of saints and not long ago this city was controlled by drug lords, transporters and later on it became the largest Al-Q base outside of Afghanistan and centre of sectarian killings plus consulate and hotel bombings. It’s the poor, middle class workers of MQM who fought for this city and emerging out of the turmoil of the 90’s set about building and cleaning it up. That required guts and enormous sacrifices from very ordinary people whom you conveniently call thugs.

20. d0ct0r on November 14th, 2008 @ 12:37 am

This is what we call embarrassment on an international scale.(With exception of 12 may and 9 April massacre) Last time MQM encountered embarrassment on an international scale was when dorks sitting at MQM’s terrorist headquarter Nine zero (90) faxed Hitlist of journalists to Amnesty International and International media organizations including BBC etc. These half brained MQM terrorists didn’t bothered to spend few Rupees of their own to send the fax from an unknown number,instead they faxed it from official number of Nine Zero MQM’s headquarter as its and Altaf’s London hideout’s bills are paid by extortion money(bathakhori) from karachiites so why bother spending your own money when you can fax it for free.But these friggin` terrorists didn’t realized that header on fax was set to MQM’s official name and number and they faxed to all news agencies worldwide from the same number the hitlist to murder these journalists in case they didn’t stopped exposing MQM.All those journalists also received bullet filled envelopes to intimidate them.

http://tinyurl.com/mqmthreatensjournalist
    http://www.reuters.com/article/latestCrisis/idUSISL186008

21. d0ct0r on November 14th, 2008 @ 12:39 am

MB can’t be blamed coz he simply quoted from Dawn Newspaper( which ironically was recently charged by MQMized Barrister to be infested by “reporters with vested interests against MQM who are of Punjabi/Pashtoon Origin” ). But Dawn is not at fault here either.. Dawn merely carried the press release issued by City Govt, in which it seems City Govt itself ranked Syed Mustafa Kamal as second best mayor in the world.

As i had noted in my comment on previous post Pakistani media including Dawn can’t be blamed much. The claim of Kamal being ranked world 2nd best mayor actually originated from MQM rather then the magazine it self and they issued a press release which pakistani media including dawn merely carried. Had Dawn or any of the Tv channel not have carried the news or questioned its authenticity then they would have been labelled anti muhajirs and would have had their premises ransacked or channels taken off air by MQM’s terrorist AKA awam ki awaz like they have been doing so in past.

22. d0ct0r on November 14th, 2008 @ 12:45 am

Clarification by Foreign Policy Magazine’s Editorial Assistant

The mayors are not ranked, nor are we implying that they are the "best" mayors in the world. This has been misreported in Pakistan.

http://img357.imageshack.us/img357/802/mayorcalarificationpb4.jpg

I guess this clarification via email and then clarification on their blog pretty much sums up that they never intended to rank them nor were their mention meant to declare them as ‘best mayors’.

23. barristerakc on November 14th, 2008 @ 12:52 am

The point is MK is acknowledged and endorsed as the top 3 mayors of the world although as I had previously mentioned in another discussion on KMB that the magazine has come short of ranking him number two….bhai dum idhar say pakro ya udhar say koye farq nahi parta! MK is an inspiration and an example for other politicians in the country and thanks to MQM for giving him a chance….Dr.Farooqe Sattar was another mayor who worked for Karachi…

Doctor’s raison d’être is as absurd as his previous statements – cheap, sordid and full of abhorrence – how could one even involve in an academic discussion with such a person? It’s such an ignominy that people would go as far as emailing a foreign magazine just to mock and minimize a political party’s / a deserving man’s accomplishment….just goes to show how full of hate the Passer-e-Zameen had become! Shame, Shame ….

24. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on November 14th, 2008 @ 1:27 am

ehhehe. Altaf Bai might like to send his goons to bring Joshua back in Bori(sack) :D

I am sure DAWN will not publish the correction neither Jang.

25. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on November 14th, 2008 @ 1:29 am

Chisti tum wohi apna 2 rupa ka rona ro rahay ho. Admit the fact that Dawn made a mistake. Why re you taking MQM and its associates as holy saints? try to be democratic and learn to admit facts. All are talking about Mag news rather achievements by Kamal(regardless of their authenticity)

26. Faisal.K (faisalk) on November 14th, 2008 @ 2:26 am

This is a bit of a lesson for all of us who consider Dawn to be the paragon of true journalistic spirit.

Mustufa Kamal may not be the man of the moment or whatever but as pointed out by so many people he has done a lot of work for us Karachites and should be appreciated by it.

Personally… MQM aside if we had any pride in this city we would all have a post up on our respective blogs saying "He may not be your # 2 but he is our #1"

27. kaami on November 14th, 2008 @ 6:20 am

@FAISAL you nailed it!

However, situations like these bring to the fore the extremely negative and sick minded approach of some of our bloggers working on a one point agenda. Sadly, their behaviour is synonymous to vultures, nothing more, nothing less.

28. human01 on November 14th, 2008 @ 9:42 am

Can’t agree you more Faisal….

29. Talha Aziz (aziztalha) on November 14th, 2008 @ 9:47 am

if karachi is #57 for now .. lets join hand together to make it #1 ..

its was not a ranking of the mayors .. it was ranking of the cities… but we hav to give credit to Mr. Kamal that he was mention as among the three best mayors of the world .. at least his work made him worth mentioning among the mayors of 60 other cities .. u gotta give him credit for that..

with that said .. achievements of an individual does not make up for the crime of many.

30. d0ct0r on November 14th, 2008 @ 11:11 am

Follow-up to the Karachi saga

A quick follow-up to yesterday’s post on the inaccurate reports in the Pakistani media claiming that FP had named Karachi’s mayor "the second best mayor in the world":

The Dawn newspaper, which gave prominent placement to the original inaccurate story, have now run a second story that quotes FP’s Media Coordinator Jina Hassan setting the record straight.

According to Dawn’s site, the story is the newspaper’s most read and most e-mailed item today, so hopefully this clarification should put an end to the whole mess. Although the amusing headline, "Magazine denies declaring Kamal 2nd best mayor," kind of makes it sound like this is a matter of opinion.

We invite anyone who’s still confused to just read the original piece.

http://blog.foreignpolicy.com/node/10295

31. d0ct0r on November 14th, 2008 @ 11:14 am

he was mention as among the three best mayors of the world

They specifically deny calling those three as ‘best mayors’ of the world

http://img357.imageshack.us/img357/802/mayorcalarificationpb4.jpg

32. MB (kar_munib) on November 14th, 2008 @ 7:47 pm

here we go
    http://www.worldmayor.com/contest_2008/world-mayor-2008-results.html#Anchor-The-11481

MUSTAFA KAMAL doesn’t even stand in the ASIAN mayor list

DAWN screwed us all , lol

33. balma on November 14th, 2008 @ 8:22 pm

Dawn and News and all other english newspapers and magazines in Paksitan should be banned. They neither can write anything which makes sense, nor they can comprehend someone else’s comments. Why not? Well, our education system sucks. And, English is not native to 99.99999 percent Pakistanis.
    Just pick up today’s DAWN. Totally, totally horrible English. Saalaay, khabees kee aulaads, apnaa mutlub tuk vaazeh nahi’n kar saktay….screw these guys. If you have to practice your English Skills, then New York Times and even lttle bit of Wall Street Journal are free online.

Kids: Stop buying Dawn and News. There is no need for 3rd rate English papers and magazines in English in Paksitan. What do these fuckers want to prove?
    Read newspapers in your native language(s).

34. khaled90 on November 14th, 2008 @ 8:34 pm

@ Teeth
    you turn out to be WORST then Dictator Musharraf??
    He slapped Pamra ordinance on freedom of speech and that time people like you were crying over it and now you banned me just because i am not only giving you tuf time but also showing the karachiities your real face ??

Where is your slogan of freedom of speech ??

You also have the same Feudal Mentality you don’t want anyone to speak infront of you, you are worst then any Army Dictator as you are not an Army General but when you have the power you are seizing the right of posting truth on this forum

Shame on you.

@ KMB

Mustafa Kamal is included in Worlds Top Three Mayors and you all who are posting against him are anti Karachi Anti Urdu speaking people.

If MK is not the Worlds Second Best according to FP, Then he is One of Three Worlds TOP Mayor when you people will accept that ????

35. khaled90 on November 14th, 2008 @ 8:36 pm

@ KMB

I am banned from this forum as i belong from urdu speaking family and supports MQM, i was born in karachi but i am barred from posting on Karachi Metblogs and the soo called worker of TEHREEK E INSAAF failed to do insaaaf as he is baised.

36. taha on November 14th, 2008 @ 8:37 pm

Even if we consider this a mistake there is no need to make a whole fuss about it. After all Pakistan did come on the "Right" side of news this time. At least FP considers Mustafa Kamal as someone vibrant in the otherwise doom and gloom Pakistan. THINK.

37. khaled90 on November 14th, 2008 @ 8:43 pm

@ Taha
    the only problem with Mustafa Kamal is he is from Karachi and from urdu Speaking Family and not PUNJABI.

The Punjabi media barkers are creating all this fuss as FP called Mustafa Kamal as one of worlds Top Three Mayors.

How can these people accept that who don’t even consider Mohajirs as Pakistanis ??

We are Proud of Mustafa Kamal as He is ONE OF THREE TOP MAYORS OF THIS WORLD and these biased anti karachi people who wrote soo much against MQM didn’t stop world renowned magazine to credit MQM Nazim as one of the worlds TOP MAYOR

38. khaled90 on November 14th, 2008 @ 8:49 pm

An Other proof of Punjabi Propaganda Machine( Teeth is part of it),
    Ahtaza Ahsan once cursed for giving Sikh Militants lists to Rajiv Gandhi now Hero for Punjabies accept that Punjabies are involved in Defaming Zardari.

kindly note that only mails against non punjabi leaders and sms are circulating all aroung the country and on internet, the leadership against Punjab Baladasti are eleminated one by one.

read Ahtazaz Ahsan views about who is doing all character assassination of non punjabi leaders.

img376.imageshack.us/img376/3787/punjabiqz9.jpg

39. wkhang on November 14th, 2008 @ 9:25 pm

Our Mother Language is URDU…
    I born in Punjab and living in Punjab, my half of relatives live in Karachi, some of live in Serhed and few in Bolichistan, so I am all over Pakistan. Each place of Pakistan is mine.

I am Pakistany, my grand dad came from India, my grand grand dad was born in Afghinistan.

Lets keep the Nation Positive : ).

TC
    http://me-swa.blogspot.com/
    http://pakteve.blogspot.com/

40. kaami on November 14th, 2008 @ 10:53 pm

Now this is really amuzing!

The horde of the usual suspects, desperate and frustrated pouncing on the opportunity to hit on Mustafa Kamal and MQM.
    Feeling proud of not feeling proud, being more negative than ever and of course being more confused than ever.

With words like, “I like Mustafa Kamal but MQM this and that…” Let me clear one thing Mustafa Kamal and many others like him are nothing without MQM. In his own words, with his background he would not have even dreamed of becoming the mayor of this #57 city of the world. It is the political party for which they have worked for, struggled for and fought for that has given them the opportunity to utilise their talents for the betterment of their people. Mk is not alone, he has got a wonderful team, who I am sure will continue the good work in the future. They are go getters who want to move forward, of course they are young, they have made mistakes and they will make mistakes but they have shown capacity to learn and do good for the people they represent.

As for the worth less computer jockeys sitting on their comfortable seats writing elaborate story lines and conspiracy theories there is no joy in doing anything practical. They just whine and criticise and have been (consciously or unconsciously) rather successful in helping to dent the morale of the nation dragging it away from the path of progress and guiding it towards a place full of despondency, useless ideals and impracticality.

41. d0ct0r on November 15th, 2008 @ 1:08 am

Before commenting any further on the topic at hand I notice that some of those clowns whose rants started off with hate filled ethnic incitement and ended with even more despising gibberish have been banished.

(Using MQM’s wicked logic) I would like to say all those banned were KMB sympathizer and well wishers and its conspiracy by establishment and kmb could even consider giving 2 lakh cyber rupees to the ‘victims’ or their families (Just like MQM do after burning or murdering people they hand over 2lakh rupee cheque to victims family to become ’sympathizer’ (and keep their mouth shut )

http://img66.imageshack.us/img66/2809/mqm9aprilculpritswc5.jpg

42. khaled90 on November 15th, 2008 @ 2:23 am

@ Doctor
    blah blah blah

The Punjab blue eyed Aitazaz Ahsan unveiled the face of Punjabi Propaganda Machine

Chill
    img376.imageshack.us/img376/3787/punjabiqz9.jpg

43. barristerakc on November 15th, 2008 @ 2:47 am

As I always say,

You can take Paindoo out of Punjab, but you can`t take Punjaibiat out of the Paindoo.

Piling books upon a khota does not make it an Einstein. :)

It’s very clear that the Punjabi interactors have almost all lined up in unison, with uniforms, to totally reject the our contributions to our city. They have taken a very jingoistic, “my side is always right“ attitude that leaves no room for compromise or reconciliation.

I see shades of Bangladesh. :(

Punjabis and Mohajirs are very different people - just like TNT. Our cultures, our languages, our food, and even the way we talk and joke around differ in a polarized manner. We should respect each other, but be allowed to go our separate ways.

From our side, Mohajir’s have always reacted…it’s a reaction……

For My Mohajir Brothers,

I agree with you all about the point that we need to unite under a single platform, regardless of the apparent or perceived flaws. We should never have an intra-Mohajir fratricide ever again - that is exactly what the racist Pisser-e-Zameen detractors want.

The best thing to do is to avoid the current struggle in Pakistani politics and concentrate on improving our own social, economic, and security-related deficiencies.

They the Passer-e-Zameen are all opportunists and we need to keep them away from our beloved cities of Karachi and Hyderabad. If we can find fair-minded Pakistanis among the Pisser-e-Zameen, we should welcome them to our struggle.I am not talking about exclusion. Instead I am invoking survival of the weak, the abandoned, and the victims.

Of course, Punjabis, Sindhis, Baluch, Pathans, Kashmiris, Ahmedis, Shias, Sunnis, Hindus, Sikhs, Christians, Jews, and any other people who want to live in peace with Mohajirs in Karachi and Hyderabad have every right to enjoy what our society can easily become - a secular, free, independent, fair, and egalitarian oasis for commerce, progress, peace, and education.

We Mohajirs (along with Sindhis, Baluchis, Pathans, Kashmiris, and of course the Bengalis) are the ones who have suffered from the hegemony and exclusivity of the Punjabis.

KMB Authors….

Obviously you guys are joining those who find it politically and ethnically convenient to blame the victims rather than the perpetrators. Your attitude is the exact reason why this Mohajir alientation will only increase. Please reconsider your bias using compassion, logic, and justice as your compass.

But I can help you with your abject homophobia. You can start by taking small steps - gets married, have children, and support a family. It`s really not that bad - women are great to live with and children are a lot of fun too. :) Try walking on the tame side once in a while.

44. tzaidi on November 15th, 2008 @ 12:48 pm

@Barrister: that is one hell of a post – bang right on spot ………… bulls eye!! . no wonder some people will never be able to see the reality. They are so blind in hating Mohajirs that at time they forget what this most literate community of Pakistan has done for this country. Am not saying that whatever hardship Mohajir have gone through to make Karachi an advanced metropolitan was a favour to this country, it was more of a duty which they have performed and performing, unlike many parasites who are just surviving on our achievements.

Now coming back to the topic of this post. @ Teeth / KMB / Dogtor, what difference will it make if FP’s chief editor is writing anything on the blog.
    - Is it really necessary to rate Mustafa Kamal’s work? When one can see & feel the development in the city.
    - Aren’t we all benefiting from the works planned, started and completed during his tenor as Mayor of our city?

If answer two both of my questions, above, is in “YES’, then I rest my case. If anyone differs then the floor is open for discussion.

45. shoaib on November 15th, 2008 @ 5:10 pm

Karachi is highlighted at the international media and this is due to the visionary leadership of Altaf Hussain and hard work of Mustafa Kamal and other. Important thing on part of acknowledgement of what is being done in Karachi in terms of development and relief to the general people.

46. khaled90 on November 15th, 2008 @ 9:04 pm

As i am saying from a long time that all this propaganda is planned, Against MQM against Much against BB Zardari Asfandyaar Baloch leadership, Now the Punjab blue eyed Aitazaz Ahsan revealed that this is purely Punjabi Propaganda as punjab is out President and PM House they are just licking their wounds, following the hitlers foot steps they are lieing with soo much intensity that the lie would turn into truth.

I wonder why and only why not a single leader from PUNJAB including MUSH Era Pujnabi leaders are never been targeted by suicide bombers ??

Few days back DOCTOR was lieing that Khaled Bin Walid Father died in 1994 was cursing MQM and Altaf Hussain after the murder of Khaled Bin Waleed in 2003.

So you people can understand how big liers they are.

Mustafa Kamal ideclared as one of Worlds Top Three Mayors by FP and if they accept the fact then what they are writing against MQM from soo long will go in vein and these people remain empty handed.

They are also afraid from the fact that it would take around 2 decades for a Mayor from ounjab to get such appreciation.

Karachiities specially Mohajirs are united and such barks by teeth doc and company can’t do anything .

Long Live MQM
    Long Live Our Great Leader Altaf Hussain

47. d0ct0r on November 15th, 2008 @ 9:51 pm

.. now back to the topic at hand

Up until now these MQM zealots were overjoyed by the false and exaggerated claim by MQM of world’s 2nd best mayor and despite pointing out the obvious to them that it was a flase claim, they chose to take the word of Dou Number Peer of London Town as true and resorted to same hate ethnically inciting crap against every one else who were just pointing out the obvious to them. Atleast i am not surprised with their attitude as it is the teaching of their Dou Number Peer to resort to hurling filthy racial and ethnic abuse and call it all a conspiracy against muhajir nation by "Establishment" if ever caught with pants down. It happened on 12 may when MQM butchered 52+ karachiites,at the end of the day MQM’s terrorist leadership came out wailing that it was a conspiracy by Establishment. Same thing happened again on 9 April Tahir Plaza arson in which MQM’s foot soldiers burnt Alive 6 people(including a woman) and killed 6 others and later called them all MQM’s sympathizers and tried to hush up their crime.As is obvious from this embarrassing episode that MQM’s terrorist headquarter NineZero(90) Azizabad have a very well organized Media cell (from there they issue death threats to individuals(for extortion/Bhatha), journalists and media outlets in order to intimidate and scare them .This terrorist cell is also used to instantly turn city’s walls into abusive graffiti board and other lame slogans like "Altaf nagar" and "sirf Altaf" . Apparently this same terrorist cell is used to put up thousands of banners and large billboard size posters all around karachi carrying the picture of MK and his demonic Dou Number peer prominently highlighting the false claim by MQM and on behalf of Ahllian-e-Karachi(aka MQM) congratulating Mustafa Kamal being declared worlds 2nd best mayor. Now every one can easily imagine that goons from this gang can’t even spend few rupees from their own pocket to fax death threats so its quite obvious that thousands of these banners and posters have been funded by extortion money and not from Altaf’s own pocket. This also exposes Altaf’s claim of enjoying support of educated karaciites. Had that been the case then definitely this intentional hoodwinking by Dou Number peer and his gang could have been avoided and saved us from this embarrassing episode.

Even though the magazine clarified its position on the issue, Dou Number peer and his gang continues to fool poor and mostly uneducated people, yesterday he was addressing a rally celebrating the ‘award being given to Mustafa Kamal’ (lol award?) . Magazine managed to get the false claim of 2nd best mayor removed from city government website but the website of MQM continues to fool its audience as it displays the false claim on its main page.(are MQM fanatics so easy to fool?)

And now some these clowns say we don’t need any certificates from others. Off course MQM doesn’t need any certificates from others,this embarrassing episode of MQM’s own doings is a certificate for MQM.

And even more funnier are those clowns who are still stuck with ‘top 3′ theory despite being embarrassed internationally on the issue. again with clown like these i have serious doubts about ‘most literate community of Pakistan’ standing behind the Dou Number peer of London Town.

Although the stunt of world 2nd best mayor by MQM have seriously gone bad and they had to face embarrassment,so for the time being i think MQM’s fanatics should cheer up and celebrate the title ( Dou Number peer ) bestowed Upon their Absconding Clown Altaf by none other then yours truly.

(Dou Number an urdu term meaning Fraud,Fake,Deceiver,Swindler)

http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/1866/mqmaltafmustafawv0.jpg

48. d0ct0r on November 15th, 2008 @ 10:56 pm

Ever since Altaf’s wife Faiza Gabol divorced Altaf " for his unbecoming attitude towards her, as she was insulted by him over the past six years " . It seems Altaf had been feeling lonely ever since and after eyeing the neighborhood chicks without much success it seems now finally he has found his perfect match.

http://img291.imageshack.us/img291/420/kamalaltaflo0.jpg

I feel Altaf bai’s militia will be celebrating his gay marriage soon with another spate of billboard size banner sprouting all around the city congratulating him on behalf of Ahl-e-Aan-A-Karachi(residents of of karachi).

49. d0ct0r on November 16th, 2008 @ 12:30 am

d0ct0r on November 15th, 2008 @ 9:51 pm

Just noticed some typos and words missing,nevertheless message i wanted to convey got across loud and clear.. Because of these clowns with their embarrassingly stupid stunts we the residents of karachi have become the laughing stock of the world.

50. tzaidi on November 16th, 2008 @ 1:29 am

@dogtor: tum aur tumhari kahanian!!!
    Have you ever tried not to hide ground realities!!!! You keep dirge aloud on this happened or that happened on 12th may or any other date. But you never ever mentioned what happened during the Punjoo Military’s operation in Karachi during whole 1990s decade or about Pakka Qilla Massacre in Hyderabad. Why? What’s the reason? That you always stick to the baseless / fictitious events, which you narrate in such a way that it shows that its always MQM or Mohajirs who are at fault.

Bhai sahib, I never read any of your posts mentioning about hundred of thousands of extra-judicial killings of Bengalies during 1971 partition, you never wrote about hundred of Mohajirs killed during PakkaQilla Massacre – But yes, you never leave any opportunity to malign MQM / Mohajirs’ name on 12th May events – which by the way are still disputed and if am not wrong, are still under investigation.

So why don’t you drop the ‘Jhoot ka chola’ which you are wearing and go back to the Punjoo land where you belong.

(‘Jhoot ka Chola’ an urdu term, which means a liar who in actual is a conspirator, fraudster, thug or in other word, DOGTOR)

51. khaled90 on November 16th, 2008 @ 4:39 am

hahaha
    dogtor is so furious as his lies are worthless here.
    He used to do propaganda filled with lies , Example propaganda about Khaled Bin Waleed Father.

Mustafa Kamal is one of three worlds Top Mayors according to FP.

Hey Dogtor the message is loud and clear and heard all over the world that an important think tank of US placed Mustafa Kamal in Worlds Top Three Mayors, If anybody is listening to what you are posting here and on other forums that shouldn’t be happened so please chill as nobody is listening to you :o)

52. d0ct0r on November 16th, 2008 @ 5:07 pm

There you go.. these comments just affirms what i had said earlier, absconding Clown Altaf will continue fooling these people and these people would continue raising stupid slogans like HamaiN manzil nahiN, Quaid chahiye like they just did at the ceremony held at MQM’s terrorist headquarter NineZero to celebrate the return of Mustafa Kamal from London after being declared ‘2nd best mayor of the world’

53. d0ct0r on November 16th, 2008 @ 5:14 pm
  54. barristerakc on November 16th, 2008 @ 6:29 pm

Somehow this reminds me of Persian saying,
    Eki Afghan, doyum Kamboh, soyum badzaat Kashmiri -

This is a Farsi saying attributed to Mughals for the three people they most mistrusted.

Pakistani Punjabi & Passer-e-Zameen’s reaction does not vary at all. It is uniform, jingoistic, “my side is always right,“ quite profane, very subjective, somewhat untruthful, and completely intolerant.

It demonstrates that any return to “democracy“ will be a repetition of Besharif I, Besharif II and eventually Zia II. :)

Regards.

55. khaled90 on November 17th, 2008 @ 2:00 am

@ Barrister

I wonder why these clowns are not reading the FP magazine that MK actually included in Worlds Top Three Mayors ??

56. barristerakc on November 17th, 2008 @ 6:19 am

Khaled Bhai,

Ubb Bhe Koye Shak-o-Shuba Baqi Hay?

Because they are blinded with hate. They will not appreciate us because in reality: the Passer-e-Zameen has never accepted us from their hearts….we are two different beings altogether – ideologically, politically, culturally …

.. just imagine how far they had gone in hating us that they emailed, phoned in unanimity to FP just to ridicule a fellow Pakistani’s achievement – leave aside his political affiliation – I questioned myself, if I would have done that even it would have been Nawaz Sharif who butchered Mohajirs? Answer was: NO -

…it’s a shame and should be an eye opener for all of us who advocated peace, harmony and alliances with Passer-e-Zameen – unfortunately they have not left an option for reconciliation …and believe me if another witch-hunt starts in Karachi these Passer-e-Zameen will point fingers at us and our mother, daughters, sisters will again be raped and our brother, fathers, cousins, friends: murdered…..

It’s sad because I will support for partition again (knowing that this will prorably not happen in near future will eventually happen – although not in my lifetime) and it’s unfortunate for someone like me who once advocated for unity, peace and Pakistaniat to say but all doors are closed as actions speaks louder then words…..

I miss / remember Raja of Mehmudabad greatly today who donated everything he had for Pakistan (Rs. 30 lacs alone to Muslim League in 1936); all his lands in UP as he was the biggest land-lord of UP and after Nizam of Hyderabad was the biggest contributor to Pakistan’s Exchequer with more then Rs.7.3cr –

Raja Sahab was not accepted in Pakistan and according to his son was ridiculed in Lahore and Faisalabad as a HINDU and out of disgust he left Pakistan because of the step motherly treatment by Punjabis and Pashtuns in 1967 migrated to London……..saying the famous words, “it was all a big mistake”…btw, he was the only politician (he was treasurer of the IML) whom Quaid used to call, “son” and Quaid hosted the biggest dinners of his house in honor of Raja Mahmudabad….Raja Sahib also (from my memory now) presented a diamond ring worth Rs.5,00,000 to Quaid (r.a.h) which he presented to his wife to be….

57. hamid on November 18th, 2008 @ 2:52 am

First of all I am not a MQM supporter not am I a political person. All I know is that this guy has done some handwork for the city of Karachi which shows. Whether, he is the second best mayor in the world or not it shouldn’t matter. Honestly, who cares? As long as he is done a decent job for the people of Karachi that is all matters. The second best mayor is kind of stretch considering mayors like Daley of Chicago, Atlanta, Tokyo, Paris etc etc who have endless resources and have done much better job. Still, Mustapha Kamal has done a good job as compare to Pakistan. We should appreciate it.

58. metro on November 18th, 2008 @ 10:21 pm
  59. abuali on November 19th, 2008 @ 1:01 am
  60. fmshah on November 23rd, 2008 @ 1:52 am

MQM’s is always busy in marketing/spreading lies, hypes, violence and hates. This thing is not an exception and it is not a surprise. Mustafa Kamal has always come across as a ‘Sales Man’. He spends more hours of the day giving interviews to print and electronic media than doing actual development work. At same Altaf Bhai will be delivering telephonic lectures on War on Terror and Talibanization. Karachi (1/10th of Pakistan) is under MQM’s siege (bunch of Idiots) and with the level of support MQM enjoys from Establishment goons any one can make marvels. Mustafa Kamal simply bulldozes any opposition and is a self indulging idiot who claims to ‘know-it-all’. Lately he has been busy spreading hate against poor Pashtun migrant workers in order to bambofying Pathans from every corner of Land of Pure Cartels from Tribal Areas to Karachi for pleasing his Masters in UK/US. Claiming that poor Pathan workers (mostly watch mans, taxi drivers etc) have a Master Plan to take over Karachi. As if Karachi (once a small Sindhi town i.e. Mai Kulachi, Lyari ) has not been taken over by outsiders/aliens already? He issue ethnic statements in USA about Karachi. If such statement would have been given by anyone else he would be declared Bugti and tried in this Land of Pure Cartels for challenging the writ of state and treason. Since 1947, Karachi a city of Sindh has gradually become Sindhi-less city, if compared with Lahore, Peshawar, Quetta.

Karachi has almost equal composition of all major ethnic group of Pakistan. Urdu, Punjabi, Pathan, Baluch, Sindhi each ethnics group has almost more than 2 million souls. However cultural, political, business and economically dominating class in Karachi are only those who are aliens, settled, migrated from other areas particularly Gujrat/India. The resistance against Gawader project from Baluch ethnic group is also based on fears of unfair practices done during past fifty years to Sindhis in Karachi.
    Lyari (Composing of Sindhis, Pathan and Baluch) which was actual Karachi will always remain slum, as if it is never ever part of Karachi. This all is result of colonial policy of state patronage of imposing minorities/aliens over majorities/locals and cultural homicide treatment to majority even after partition. Karachi explains exactly why Pakistan is taken over by Autocrats and Establishment. Pathan, Baluch and Sindhi will live with each other in peace in Interior Sindh, whereas in Karachi, there will be always violence and bloodshed of Sindhis and Pathans . The violence and TT culture, we see in Karachi, can’t be seen in other cities like Lahore, Queta, Pindi, and Peshawar. This sort of violence and TT cluture can also be observed in Indian Movies and Bombay.

I always wonder
    Why our Free Media never dare to discuss MQM fake claim of 2nd best mayor the way they discuss and create justification and support for ethnic cleansing of Pathans under the label of WOT and name of Taliabn/Alqaeda.

I always wonder
    After Army operation (spanning for couple months) against Boriband culture in Karachi Army Chief is poisoned to death, President along with Prime Minister are sent home whereas whole Govt is packed up. Why Army operations (spanning over years) against Bengalis (1970/71), Baluch (1974/75), Sindhis (1980s) and Pathans (WOT) is not followed by same consequences.

I always wonder
    MQM and Pathan both are aliens in Karachi. But why Pathans are taxi drivers, watch man and waiters whereas most of Clifton, DHA villas, Business Houses and Industrial Units on II Chundrigar Road, Site and Mall Road (Shahrah Faisal) are owned by migrants from Gujrat/India.

Punching Note
    Meritocracy is social science concept, which equates various educations streams and merits in various societies to cast system, where structured tests etc are used as merit tool to favor few and deprive majority from opening/opportunities for educational and work roles/occupations. Performance in these tests mostly depends on geographic location and social conditions in early life and childhood.

61. fmshah on November 23rd, 2008 @ 1:54 am

MQM Fake Claim : 2nd Best Mayor of the World
    MQM’s is always busy in marketing/spreading lies, hypes, violence and hates. This thing is not an exception and it is not a surprise. Mustafa Kamal has always come across as a ‘Sales Man’. He spends more hours of the day giving interviews to print and electronic media than doing actual development work. At same Altaf Bhai will be delivering telephonic lectures on War on Terror and Talibanization. Karachi (1/10th of Pakistan) is under MQM’s siege (bunch of Idiots) and with the level of support MQM enjoys from Establishment goons any one can make marvels. Mustafa Kamal simply bulldozes any opposition and is a self indulging idiot who claims to ‘know-it-all’. Lately he has been busy spreading hate against poor Pashtun migrant workers in order to bambofying Pathans from every corner of Land of Pure Cartels from Tribal Areas to Karachi for pleasing his Masters in UK/US. Claiming that poor Pathan workers (mostly watch mans, taxi drivers etc) have a Master Plan to take over Karachi. As if Karachi (once a small Sindhi town i.e. Mai Kulachi, Lyari ) has not been taken over by outsiders/aliens already? He issue ethnic statements in USA about Karachi. If such statement would have been given by anyone else he would be declared Bugti and tried in this Land of Pure Cartels for challenging the writ of state and treason. Since 1947, Karachi a city of Sindh has gradually become Sindhi-less city, if compared with Lahore, Peshawar, Quetta.

Karachi has almost equal composition of all major ethnic group of Pakistan. Urdu, Punjabi, Pathan, Baluch, Sindhi each ethnics group has almost more than 2 million souls. However cultural, political, business and economically dominating class in Karachi are only those who are aliens, settled, migrated from other areas particularly Gujrat/India. The resistance against Gawader project from Baluch ethnic group is also based on fears of unfair practices done during past fifty years to Sindhis in Karachi.
    Lyari (Composing of Sindhis, Pathan and Baluch) which was actual Karachi will always remain slum, as if it is never ever part of Karachi. This all is result of colonial policy of state patronage of imposing minorities/aliens over majorities/locals and cultural homicide treatment to majority even after partition. Karachi explains exactly why Pakistan is taken over by Autocrats and Establishment. Pathan, Baluch and Sindhi will live with each other in peace in Interior Sindh, whereas in Karachi, there will be always violence and bloodshed of Sindhis and Pathans . The violence and TT culture, we see in Karachi, can’t be seen in other cities like Lahore, Queta, Pindi, and Peshawar. This sort of violence and TT cluture can also be observed in Indian Movies and Bombay.

I always wonder
    Why our Free Media never dare to discuss MQM fake claim of 2nd best mayor the way they discuss and create justification and support for ethnic cleansing of Pathans under the label of WOT and name of Taliabn/Alqaeda.

I always wonder
    After Army operation (spanning for couple months) against Boriband culture in Karachi Army Chief is poisoned to death, President along with Prime Minister are sent home whereas whole Govt is packed up. Why Army operations (spanning over years) against Bengalis (1970/71), Baluch (1974/75), Sindhis (1980s) and Pathans (WOT) is not followed by same consequences.

I always wonder
    MQM and Pathan both are aliens in Karachi. But why Pathans are taxi drivers, watch man and waiters whereas most of Clifton, DHA villas, Business Houses and Industrial Units on II Chundrigar Road, Site and Mall Road (Shahrah Faisal) are owned by migrants from Gujrat/India.

Punching Note
    Meritocracy is social science concept, which equates various educations streams and merits in various societies to cast system, where structured tests etc are used as merit tool to favor few and deprive majority from opening/opportunities for educational and work roles/occupations. Performance in these tests mostly depends on geographic location and social conditions in early life and childhood.

62. fmshah on November 23rd, 2008 @ 1:56 am

MQM Fake Claim : 2nd Best Mayor of the World

I always wonder

Punching Note

63. Media & MQM Lied To Everyone! - GupShup Forums (pingback) on December 2nd, 2008 @ 1:31 am

[...] Salaam People. Media and MQM are spreading a 100% Fake news that Mustafa Kamal is World’s Mayor No.2. The Truth Is, Foreign Policy NEVER Rated mustafa kamal in any way. Link: Foreign Policy: The 2008 Global Cities Index It was just an Article that mentioned some names of mayors. Only Cities was rated, and Karachi was on Number 57th. To know the real Result of Winners Please see World Mayor: The 2008 results And Now, Foreign Policy CONFIRMED in their Blog "We hate to rain on Kamal’s parade, and certainly intend him and his city no disrespect, but we simply never ranked him in any way. This entire mess could have been avoided with some very basic fact-checking." Link is: Foreign Policy clarifies the Mayor of the Moment issue | Karachi Metblogs [...]

64. khaled90 on December 2nd, 2008 @ 6:25 pm

LOL

FP includes Mustaf Kamal in Worlds Top Three Mayors and this thing, from a long time causing digestion problem to Anti Mohajirs and Anti MQM people.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.