Enviro-safe Buses

What ever happened to those green buses that were supposed to be crawling all over the city a while back?

11 Comments so far

1. barrister on January 26th, 2009 @ 9:22 am

Valid questions. Apparently, the combo of both transport mafia and federal government are responsible for the disaster.

Urban Transport Scheme through which these CNG buses were brought was a good idea but unfortunately got overshadowed.

How the Transport Mafia Owned by NON-KARACHI RESIDENTS works,

I) They forced the Transport Department :not to issue “new permit” for bus routes (anyone can check with the Sindh Government if they are giving out any new bus routes)
    II) They forced the Sindh Government to fix the price of the proposed CNG buses according to diesel prices astonishingly as opposed to CNG/LPG tariffs.
    III) The Green Buses, which were imported, were branded, made in India by Customs and were later released astonishingly only to be sold in Lahore.
    IV) In this specific case, one EDO was rightfully sacked.

This Transport Mafia has haunted us for the last 30-40 years. Just yesterday there was an accident much like Bushra Zaidi in front of Karachi University . Not only this; it is reported that 70% of accidents causing death in Karachi involved, Buses, Tankers and Dumpers.

The rickshaws (old one’s) are owned by 2 people in Karachi hailing from Mansera – cousins and are “loan sharks”.And Ofcourse, we remember how METRO BUS owner, a resident of Karachi was shot dead and his wife threatened to close down business by transport mafia.

And finally there’s price fixation and blackmailing. The people of Karachi are held hostage unfortunately and it’s about time the government do something about it or the people of Karachi will sort it out (themselves).

2. fareen on January 26th, 2009 @ 9:48 am

Whan an informative response – THANKS!
    So, what’s the possible (albeit, drop in the ocean)solution to this (these) problems?

A petition, won’t work.
    A letter to the presidnet, won’t work.
    A physical (yet peaceful) protest with signs and all, won’t work.
    Alternate means of intimidation (but this time with the tables turned, intimidation of the mafia), won’t work.

WHAT WILL?

3. kick on January 26th, 2009 @ 12:46 pm

True By Barrister, There is this good connection between the two.

The CNG buses once we saw on road were leased and bought buy a private organisation leased by a local commercial bank. the organisation did not pay the rentals and bank pulled the money back by taking over the buses.

i have been working closely with a friend from Dubai Government and an huge computer company which has a traffic management software , but when i saw the local conditions i took threw my work aside beleiving its not possible to make our government understand.

All hopes at Allah.

4. calyps on January 27th, 2009 @ 3:13 am

DUA will help

5. human01 on January 28th, 2009 @ 5:22 am

@calyps, DUA won’t be enough, It’s time for DAVA my friend….. we need a revolution to change the status quo in this country….this corrupt outdated system will keep us running in circles for ever……the whole thing needs to be overhauled from inside out. Its been ages since we are hearing about mass transit scheme, commuter trains, even they built the pillars accross lyari river (naddi, to be specific)but due to the same reasons that Barrister has mentioned, the whole scheme just died I believe.

6. barrister on January 28th, 2009 @ 9:06 am

Yaar lack of political will and nothing else. Sometimes, I laugh at this transport mafia as it reminds me of conspiracy theories and what not .

Phir sochta hoon kay yaar agar MQM yeh kaam nahi karwasaki last government mein tu kon karwayay ga abb? Yeh loog..? Then there is this whole ethnicity factor involved with the transport mafia or else it would have been sorted out in a day.

Solutions…? I think New Delhi is an example where transport mafia was sorted out within couple of months. There’s a need to modernize but yehan tu abhi kisss ke dari choti aur Debandi, Shia ka masla he hal nahi ho saka!!!!

7. barrister on January 28th, 2009 @ 2:10 pm

And then there’s another solution although it can not be discussed here….prorably you know what I am talking about..*wink*

8. kick on January 28th, 2009 @ 3:29 pm

hahaha barrister sahab.

Solutions are there but the mafia and the mafia ( govt ) dont want to implement it . plus the public is sleeping ..

revolutions take place to those who have the spark to grasp it . we as a nation are still sleeping it will take little time to wake up..

like i read in a sms : 50 years ago the nation was looking for a homeland and 50 year after the land is looking for a nation.

9. fareen on January 28th, 2009 @ 4:01 pm

I love this statement: 50 years ago the nation..

10. barrister on January 28th, 2009 @ 6:46 pm

@kick bhai..(i hate to place "bhai" with a kick but I do not know your name..LOL)…buhat set! …yeh bhagharat log hain but then there’s a friend who says that the system makes them bhegharat…..Until folks like Zee-Man is there and Nawaz stops his (pros-tit-ute (traslate it in urdu pls) crying …this nation will not progress!

11. srsierra on January 28th, 2009 @ 8:51 pm

Barrister sahab!! aee ki kh ditta jay tussi??

not,its not all people are baigairat!!
    why dont you ask your friend that why the hell he "praises" the system for the "faux pas" we make!
    we inculde me , you,fareen,kick and all of us….
    remember sir every coin has two sides!
    you are loking at the other!
    we amalgamat the system.we are the system for cryin out loud!!
    we elect those funky kick ass punks!!
    mehrbani hamari hoti hai janab!!

we can grasp the spark,contrary to that wht kick says.
    i am not baigairat,nor are you guys and gals.

barrister sahab i stand by the crowd ,not in the crowd!

mark my words" sehra tb panaptay hain jb shesawar martay hain"
    (desrts prosper when warriors die).

main baigairat nahi,main logon tk apna opininon phnchata hun and tht is what i think my role in the society!
    aik bnda hi impress hojayay kafi hai!:P :P :P

no hard feelingx people

SALMAN SIDDIQUI