The Poet & The Pragmatist

Iqbal was a spiritual poet, Jinnah a secular lawyer. Iqbal studied the Quran and compared it to western philosophy, Jinnah studied constitutional law. Iqbal saw in a separate country the chance to re-imagine Islam, Jinnah saw it as a way to secure the rights of his Muslim nation from the tyranny of a democratic majority. Iqbal hoped to separate geography from nationality and help humanity rise to its united potential, Jinnah hoped to separate bigotry from the state and make all people equal before law.

Two men, one spirit. The spirit of human liberation from dogma, persecution & poverty. The spirit of a New World Order. An order based on tolerance, justice & human dignity.

There’s only one difference between them: Iqbal dreamed and Jinnah delivered.

We’re children of two men who imagined a different world. Will we make the most of this opportunity, this responsibility, this possibility?

Join in to see ten people explore the vision of Jinnah & Iqbal.

Speakers include: Ramla Akhtar, Khalid Mohammad, Mohammad Nawaz, Tahir Attarwala, Jamal Ashiqain, Imtiaz N. Mohammad, Imran Khan, Salaina Haroon

Date: Tuesday, January 27, 2009

Venue: The Second Floor (T2F), Kh-e-Ittehad, Phase 7, DHA

Time: 7:00pm – 8:30pm

136 Comments so far

1. barrister on January 27th, 2009 @ 2:46 am

jab watan tha, tu azaaadiyaan dongta tha;
    jab azaadi mili tu watan dhongta hoon

Jinnah Sahib accepted Cabinet Mission Plan in 1946 which actually meant United States of India and not Pakistan . Pakistan was only created when Nehru & Congress rejected the Cabinet Plan after initially accepting it. It was a shocker for Jinnah Sahib too. Pakistan was initially used as a tool to "blackmail, Congress" and nothing else.

Infact, I was reading M.J Akber’s (Asian Age) column the other day where he said something like, Pakistan was created at Jinnah(s) will and Mountbatten’s willingness .

After more then 60 years and as a 4th generation migrant, I see partition as an accident and a great blunder and nothing else. We were fooled and as Molana Azad said once, doostoo sub kahatam ho gaya . The partition divided us and nothing else.

I do not want to comment on Iqbal since I have serious reservations about him.

Anyhow, the damage has been done and there no ctrl-x key to undo what has happened and we have to live and die in Karachi, our new matarbhumi ; something we have to accept it and live with it.

Unfortunately, the only people who really gained post-partition are our Punjabi Pahen / Pais .

2. barrister on January 27th, 2009 @ 2:48 am

What the hell is going on? Why did Jamal deleted Balma(s) post? I think you are getting too big for your boots, mate. If you can not control KMB; get out!!!!

3. kaami on January 27th, 2009 @ 3:08 am

Jinnah wanted Pakistan to be a modermn democratic secular state modelled on the Turkish experiment. But it did not took long for the founder to become the dictator and set all the wrong precedences:

1/ When Jinnah choose to be first Governor General Of Pakistan (An office of much pomp and show) instead of Prime Minister, he was asked by Lord Mountbatten, "Why do you want to take the office of Governor General when its clear as per the interim constitution that the office of the Prime Minister wields more power?" Jinnah replied, "The Prime Minister of Pakistan will do as I tell him"

2/ One week after Independence, the elected government of NWFP was fired and un-democratic setup put in its place.

3/ In April 1948 the Chief Minister of Sindh Mr. Khuhroo was fired and pressure was put on Baluchis to join Pakistan.

4/ And Addressing Bengali’s in Bengal he declared that Urdu will be the only Official Language of the country and implied that Bengali was not even worth being the second language. That wound never healed.

The fact is that Mr. Jinnah played with fire and cannot escape the responsibility of death / displacement of millions Muslims / non-Muslims during the tragedy that was partition. That aside he ruled as an autocrat and set all the wrong precedences for his followers, who later played havoc with elected Asseblies and constitution.

4. kaami on January 27th, 2009 @ 3:15 am

I PROTEST TOO….THERE was nothing in BALMA’s post that justified censor.

TRUTH IS ALWAYS BITTER MY FRIEND, BUT IT HELPS US AND THE FUTURE GENERATIONS TO AVOID REPEATING THE SAME MISTAKES OVER & OVER AGAIN.

5. kaami on January 27th, 2009 @ 3:34 am

As for Iqbal, I keep his non fiction writing in great regard e.g. "The Reconstruction of Religious thought in Islam", a very apt critical analysis of Muslim societies, a retort to Maudoodism and setting a future course for enlightment.

That said I am not too sure about his dreams because replying to a letter from his teacher he was emphatic to declare, "Pakistan se mera koi tauluq nahein hey, yeh tou Cambridge ke chand sir phrey noujawanoun ke zehn kee ikhtira hey"

6. wasiq1 (wasiq) on January 27th, 2009 @ 9:10 am

Janne kaisey kab kahan iqrar ho giya
    Hum soonch tey hee reh gaay aur piyar ho giya….

(yeah faraz ka nahein hai..)

7. balma on January 27th, 2009 @ 11:09 am

Vakeel, you may be too young to remember but it used to be cntrl-alt-del to reset the system. Cntrl-X was used to kill a loop gone bad. But, ab to yeh sub aik khwaab maaloom hotaa hae!

We can neither press cntrl-alt-del, nor cntrl-X under the current circumstances. Best is to have two parallel processes with lots of resource sharing. hint hint.

Damn with computer architecture.

Oh, bhai Aashiq, mae nay kaun see ghalat baat keh dee jo qainchee chalaa dee?

Pehlay tou Balma samjhay keh unhoon nay koee khwaab dekhaa thaa jo aik message type kar rahay thay. Phir, vakeel aur Kaami kee posting say lagaa nahi’n voh aik sapnaa nahi’n balkay bhayaanak haqeeqat likhee thee hum nay jiss nay toom ko qainchee chalaanay per majboor kyaa.

And, what was so wrong about it? Indeed, Jinnah was a beopaari class person who had no sympathy with the thousand year history of Muslims in India. He didn’t care about our cultural heritage that was in India. He didn’t belong to it. He cared about territory. That is what his biggest sin is: Destruction of Indo-Muslim civilization.

Now we are linked with juhaalaa of Afghanistan. Obaamay nay bhee dono’n mulko’n kay liyaae aik he rep choonna hae. Balmaa kaa bhayaank khwaab ab haqeeqat ban gayaa hae. We are linked with the most stupid people on the face of this earth. Jahils!

Iqbal was a philosopher type. He was a poet type. He was not a practical person. Many young Muslims of 20s and 30′s were impressed by him. From Dehli to Lucknow. From Lahore to Bhopal. From Hyderabad (deccan) to Madras. But, the Muslim politicians should have realized the impracticality of his dream. But, two bit leaders like Khaliq-uz-zaman of UP and Liaquat Ali Khan of Hayana could not control the events. Well, if Jinnah was sincere…..and may be he was…he should have not accepted the Pakistan plan. Hindu fundamentalists like RSS check-mated him. They sid jaao, lo Pakistan. He shouldn’t have been manipulated by them.

Kids, actually, NAvab Ismail khan (road after him between Jamshed Road and Islamia College) and Maulana HAsrat Mohani in the end opted out of Pakistan. They refused to go along with Pakistan, after spending life time with Muslim League. Hasrat Mohani is burried in Lucknow and Ismail became VC of Aligarh.

Maulana Azad came to Aligarh, and said to scared and Daray-sehmay muslim students: ab bhugto! Though, later he did his best to safe guard Muslim rights in India. And, thanks to Nehru and Gandhi…vernah, tou Musalmaano’n kaa RSS vaalay aisaa tiyaa-paancha kartay keh aaj aik nah bachtaa. Actually, Nehru came to Humayu’n kaa Maqbiraa in Dehli and still tried to tell Muslims of Dehli who had taken refuge there to not go to Pakistan and live in Dehli. No wonder fanatic Hindus hate Nehru. They claim that he was a son of some Muslim vakeel of Lucknow:-)
    btw, I have heard that Nehru’s wedding invitation was printed in Urdu. His family was very Urdu-ized.

If Jinnah was using Pakistan as a trump card to blackmail RSS types (I think GAndhi’s grandson also claimed this in his book Seven Lives) in the end he should have changed his move. He should have said no, lets try again.

I need two coffees now:-)

Aur Aashiqain, ab agar toom nay meri post nikaaley tou screen say haath nikaal kar aisaa jhaanpeR raseed karoo’n gaa keh toomhaarey chaudah tabaq raushan ho jaai’n gae:-)

Regards,
    Kabhee hum khoobsoorat thay!

8. balma on January 27th, 2009 @ 11:11 am

oh, now my comments await moderation. ab inn aankho’n ko aur kyaa kyaa dekhnaa hae.

9. balma on January 27th, 2009 @ 11:19 am

And, Kaami, Iqbal is the one who invited Maududi to Pathankot in Panjab.
    Thats what they say.
    I think Maududi wasn’t that bad. It is how they hijacked his organization in Pakistan. Now they are a big problem.
    Maududi was born in Aurangabad (then in Hyderabad state, now in Maharashter), belonged to a Dehli family, ever wonder how he ended up in East Panjab. Iqbal saheb nay bulaayaa thaa!

10. see_it_as_it_is (knownow) on January 27th, 2009 @ 2:51 pm

It’s 27th Jan, 2009. Regret to inform that Pakistan has already been created and on its way to reformation. Almost everyone who participated in the affair of the creation of the country is dead. All we are left with are some words, from which we have the choice to learn and choose.

Welcome to the NOW!

11. see_it_as_it_is (knownow) on January 27th, 2009 @ 2:54 pm

The well-informed bitterness about a parallel world that could (not) have been is of no use to anyone. We have to be clear in our understanding that arriving in the present and thereafter moving forward is not an intellectual luxurious choice. It is a matter of survival.

12. masoodfaisal on January 27th, 2009 @ 3:17 pm

if there was no separation then many of us would have killed in gujrat like killings. Many of us, instead of commenting on blogs, would be doing some work in which our self-esteem would be murdered everyday.

I love Pakistan and hate all those who thinks that we (pak/india) are same.

13. kabirdas on January 27th, 2009 @ 7:43 pm

Thus Spake Kabir Das:

Agree with all the above with very little reservation. However, would like to add as follows:

In retrospect creation of Pakistan may look like a mistake. I wonder how non-creation of Pakistan might have looked in retrospect—-may be like a bigger mistake.
    What has been done can be undone but must not be undone. This will be the biggest mistake. We should make most of a bad situation.

14. kabirdas on January 27th, 2009 @ 10:36 pm

Comments on various comments:

@ barrister
    " do not want to comment on Iqbal since I have serious reservations about him."

KD: Same here but perhaps different reservations.

"Unfortunately, the only people who really gained post-partition are our Punjabi Pahen / Pais ."

KD: I reckon Mahajirs gained just as much if not more except their contribution and sacrifice for creation of Pakistan was perhaps greater.

@ kaami

Agree with everything that you have said. Would like to add that Jinnah used to preside over cabinet meetings as well.

@ balma

"Now we are linked with juhaalaa of Afghanistan."

KD: Rightly so. The difference between them and us is that they are uneducated Jahils and we are educated Jahils. They don’t know better. We knew better. They have not seen the light. We are turning away from light after having seen it. They are Jahils. We have become Abu Jahils. I can forgive them. I can’t forgive us.

@ knownow

KD: Agree with all your comments.

@ masoodfaisal

" and hate all those who thinks that we (pak/india) are same."

KD: Agree with all your comments barring this one.
    Never hate any one unless someone has committed some henious crime or sin.
    There is lot of truth in what ‘all those’ say. Also remember the words of Soviet dissident who said: " When truth becomes silence the silence is a lie."

15. kaami on January 28th, 2009 @ 12:49 am

@Kabirdas & see_it_as_it_is
    Agreed, but there is just a matter of principle i.e. getting the history right.
    True what has been done cannot be undone and there is no need to undo it. That’s why, whereever I travel I introduce myself as a Pakistani, because that’s my identity. I love my cities, my people, I can play a role in changing the future but not the past, however I cant live a lie either. So know your history and move forward.

@BALMA Jee you are right, as always, Iqbal did court Maudoodi but, their philosophies are worlds apart. At one time Iqbal was very impressed by Mirza Ghulam Ahmad too, does that make him a Qadiani? I guess not. You are right he was a philosopher and was against revival of Khilafat (thus against Khilafat Movement), rightly so. He was also very much impressed by Atta Turk and emergence of modern Turkey, he considered the British parliamentary democracy, a system desired by Islam, he was against theocratic Mullahism and last but not the least he faced the age old Muslim dilema so eloquently phrased by Tariq Fatah i.e. "whether to live in a state of Islam or striving for a Islamic State."

@see_it_as_it_is
    One danger of not knowing the past is that the lie eventually becomes the truth. Take for example how conveniently we have ignored our 5000 year old heritage. We dont teach our children about Ashok, Chandergupt Mauria or Buddha and now for majority of Pakistani’s these great men never existed and we are all descendents of some god forsaken Arabs, which in fact is living a lie. To Arabs we are still Mawali’s.

16. human01 on January 28th, 2009 @ 5:43 am

Wait a minute! That means all my "MASHARTEE ULOOM" was nothing but a fabricated story….I am confused now …more then ever……….I need my third cofee now!

17. barrister on January 28th, 2009 @ 8:40 am

I think the vary perception that “Mohajirs” gained post-partition financially is nothing but absurd .
    We were not opportunists if you dispassionately look at “migration” of Muslims from what is India now to what is Pakistan (today); a great majority of Mohajirs who migrated from India were middleclass, upper-middle class and rich mostly, civil servants and businessmen. The poor were unfortunately, left over(s) . The majority of Muslims stayed in India. The partition was not “perfect” ; blame it on IML and Congress.

Infact Kabirdas Bhai could actually check on the fares of “The Bombay-Karachi Ferry Service” back in 1947-1948 which most of the migrants from UP, MP, CP, Madras, AP, States, Assam etc…used primarily to land on the good soil of Karachi. In a book, I am writing and I do not want to give a lot away, the Bohra Community of Bombay charged with protection Rs.150-250/person for a trip from Delhi-Bombay-Karachi which was an amount during those days and people paid.

The pictures we see on television of migrants coming on donkey carts and bull carts are actually of Muslims of East Punjab coming on foot and not of us (the Central, Southern, Eastern Hindustanis) .

Another interesting story during my university days back in England was when a bearded aka dari-wala (jingoistic-religious type / Zahid Hamid type) came from Mardan, NWFP and was quite active in Pakistani Society; I made it a point to keep such types away as HT more suited them. In a function, he started History of Partition from the day Mohammad Bin Qasim much to our dismay and was beaten up afterwards LOL ; student days!!!!

18. barrister on January 28th, 2009 @ 9:46 am

masoodfaisal mian,
    We are of “Indian Origin” unless Alvis, Somroos, Badars are Arabs..!!!! grow up…

19. Tariq Khanani (tariqkhanani) on January 28th, 2009 @ 1:28 pm

Anyhow, the damage has been done and there no ctrl-x key to undo what has happened

Ctrl-X is for cut, to undo damage done, press Ctrl-Z. :p but be advised. you may not exist after undo as you are part of the damage

20. barrister on January 28th, 2009 @ 2:07 pm

@ TK, Thanks for the tweak, it is indeed ctrl-z (to undo)as for the rest of the post, I don’t know; I don’t know….

21. rockfella25 on January 28th, 2009 @ 4:44 pm

@ barrister…

Love Pakistan or LEAVE it.
    There are 20 million Muslims in India, i don’t suppose a couple more of you moving would make a difference to their population should you decide to undo the ‘mistake’ and decide to go back to the Bharat Mata.

Bon Voyage !

22. rockfella25 on January 28th, 2009 @ 5:58 pm

* 200 Million Muslims (not 20)

23. barrister on January 28th, 2009 @ 6:36 pm

wah, wah, aa gayay Pakistan kay thakaydar – LOL You

You should come down to Karachi University(s) International Relations, Political Sciences, Pakistan Studies and Centre for Regional Studies Department(s) and check how even the professors of those department(s) think about partition. You will be amazed mate!

Intrestingly, more then 1500 Keralite’s from Karachi has recently applied for Indian citizenship…but then a Keralite is always a Keralite since even the Indian’s I know would tell you that he’s a Keralite first and Indian afterwards… and as far as I am concerned, we already have a house in Fatehpur Sikri, India (just in case…)…

24. kaami on January 28th, 2009 @ 9:39 pm

@Human01 Yes balatant lies. This doctoring of history was started in mass scale after Zial-ul-Haque, whereby, history was removed as a subject and in came Pakistan Studies. Prior to that a fifth grade Pakistani history text book contained chapters in such progression:

The Dravadians, The Aryans, Buddha, Ashoka, Chundergupt Mauria, Taxila, Moen-jo-Daro, Elexander the Great / Raja Porus, Arab Invasion of Sindh, Tughlaq’s, Khilji’s, Slave Dynasty, Razia Sultana, ….the great Moghals, East India Company, Mutiny of 1957, Sir Syed, Muslim League, Khilafat Movement…Iqbal, Jinnah…Pakistan Movement and even a chapter on Gandhi with all the praises for the great man.

After Zial-ul-Haque it all became selective piece of crap.

25. rockfella25 on January 28th, 2009 @ 9:52 pm

@ Barrister

I am sure not a single soul would notice the ‘loss’ to this city should you wish to join the Keralites of KU in filing for Indian nationality.

Mr. Barrister, i am surprised you showed your true colors without me indulging in any verbal conflict. I had mistakenly thought you were sincere to Pakistan and maybe could collectively work for the betterment of the society rising above the ethinicities. But after all, you are what your leader preaches. At least he took up British nationally. You on the other hand want to migrate to Bharat Mata, while calling your own country a ‘mistake’ and a true re inspirational leader like Hazrat Allam Muhammad Iqbal you have ‘serious reservations’

I hope you leave Pakistan on the first flight to Fatehpur Sikri and everyone stays happy. One less terrorist Pakistan can live with, we already have a lot of them.

26. kabirdas on January 28th, 2009 @ 10:31 pm

@ kaami on January 28th, 2009 @ 9:39 pm

Couldn’t agree with you more!!!

By the way some time back I was looking at some school books at a book shop. By looking at the material of the books I couldn’t tell whether it was an Urdu book, a Pakistan Studies book or an Islamiat book without looking at its cover :-)

Last year or a year before that there was a hue and cry about a picture of a boy saying his prayers in a Frontier school book. The objection raised by some sect against this picture was that the boy had been shown standing with his hands folded or otherwise (I don’t remember now) when in Quayyam. It was ultimately decided to withdraw the book and print a new one without any such picture.

Kabir Das, as per his habit, cried when he read all about this issue. But then he laughed and laughed when he came to know that it was an Urdu book and not an Islamiat book :-)

27. balma on January 28th, 2009 @ 10:37 pm

Hazrat Balma kay aaj kaa jang paRh kar ronghTay khaRay ho ga-ae. In today’s Jang there is a picture of a book fair at Karachi University. All the woman are wearing burquaas or Arabic style Hijaabs. What happened to the romantic dupaTTaas and aanchaals and daamans….
    Stupid Mullahs.

I know that even before Zia, there was no mention of 1971 war…..but, Kaami dude, are you telling me that today there is no news on Ashoka and Chandra Mauriya Gupta etc in Pakistan studies in any class?
    Coffee time!

Interesting info on Malabaris. I myself was thinking of applying for NRI card. Fat chance even earlier, but now almost impossible that I can get it.

28. balma on January 28th, 2009 @ 10:38 pm

yup Kabir daas sahib,
    Urdu books now have chapters on Tajveed.

29. barrister on January 29th, 2009 @ 1:12 am

Rockfella, *checks his colors* If defecting from GoP(s) official version of history is treason; then I am guilty as charged. the official mathematics of Pakistan atleast till some time ago also used to equate 1 Muslim equals to 10 Hindu(s) and 1965 War as Victory for our army…what bullocks!

I do not have to attest my patriotism atleast from folks like you….

PS. As far as following my leader is concerned ; rest assured I am a humble servant of her majesty (it’s been years)…

30. kaami on January 29th, 2009 @ 8:39 am

@BALMA History after creation of Pakistan was never part of the course even before Zia, so no qualms about 1971.Lucky few find mention in Pakistan Studies, once I asked an official about it, and the reply was its Pakistan Studies not history, I was bemused. However, Mohammed Bin Qasim gets an extended mention as the savior of Sindh by conveniently ignoring the atrocities committed, the slave taking and not mentioning the unceremonious recall by the Caliph.

Lately, I saw a text book being taught to the children of a so called moderate Qadria Madrassah chain spread across 40 campuses. I cant help but hold my head in amazement, look at this question:

- Agar eik Musalamaan doosray Musalmaan ko Haraami kahe gaa tou uskee saza kya hey?

As per Hazrat Shahzaad Roy: "Allah hee tera Hafiz he"

31. balma on January 29th, 2009 @ 9:43 am

Maabadaulat, Hazrat Balma kaa khyaal hae keh most of the madarsaas should be closed immediately. Only the best one like DAr-ul-ulloom in Korangi should be allowed with strict rule to teach math and science to all in every class.

Who is Hazrat Shahzad Roy? koee naek insaan hae?

32. balma on January 29th, 2009 @ 9:51 am

yeh, salay mullaao’n nay madarsay franchise kar diyae hai’n kyaa?
    Chain? 40 campuses?

And, these bastards have cheepend the word jaamia! Jamiaa is for Jaamia Karachi or Jaamia Usmania or Jamiaa Panjab, or Jamiaa Millia (a private beautiful university in New Dehli) or a school by that name somewhere in Malir I believe. But, how come this term is now used for tiny shit madarsaas in gullee/ mohallas.

Well, i guess if every idiot can call himself Maulana in pakistan, then we can have a jamia in every gullee.

No wonder every one has a burqaa or daaRhee! I am a minority now.

We need kaalaa paani big time.
    Though lot of good guys from our historical perspective were sent there, but I hope people get my point here.

33. ambreenmirza on January 29th, 2009 @ 11:32 am

I REALLY MISSED BALMA’S POST, I WISH I COULD READ IF U PLEASE CAN SEND ME ON srehmat@robian.com.sa.
    CREATION OF PAKISTAN IS NOT A DREAM OR ANYTHING IT IS JUST A ACCIDENT & ACCIDENTS HAPPENS FOR WORST.

34. kabirdas on January 29th, 2009 @ 11:42 am

@ barrister

My dear barrister, it seems Omar Khyyam wrote the following rubbai just for you:

The Moving Finger writes and, having writ,
    Moves on: nor all your Piety nor Wit
    Shall lure it back to cancel half a Line,
    Nor all your Tears wash out a Word of it.

35. kabirdas on January 29th, 2009 @ 12:26 pm

@ barrister

Sorry, just in case you don’t understand the above mentioned rubbai (though there is no reason why a smart chap like you should have any difficulty to understand it) let me tell you Omar Khyyam is talking about the ‘fate’. Pakistan is your fate now; good or bad. Things will improve if you will love it rather than leave it. Let us try to understand where have we gone wrong and correct our course and set our sails accordingly to sail on and on.
    Long live Pakistan with rule of law !!

36. kabirdas on January 29th, 2009 @ 12:56 pm

@ barrister on January 29th.

When 65 war started I was in England doing my engineering. I was recalled for war duty. By the time I got back to Pakistan the war was over and cease fire had been announced. (I came to know about the cease fire at the Heathrow airport). In England I got the impression from media that we had lost the war. I felt terrible. I was so glad to be back in Pakistan. On arrival here I came to know that we had actually won the war. I felt much better after hearing this comfortable myth:-)

In 1965 I honestly and firmly believed that one Muslim was equal to 10 Hinus. I still belive this to be true though with a little qualification.
    One Muslim is indeed equal to 10 Hindus in stupidity :-)

37. kabirdas on January 29th, 2009 @ 2:47 pm

@ kaami on January 27th

Sir, doesn’t it show that lack of ‘rule of law’ has been the bane of Pakistan’s governace from day one and that now we have reached a stage whereby in ‘restoration of rule of law’ lies our salvation as believed by Kabir Das.

38. barrister on January 29th, 2009 @ 5:22 pm

Kabirdas Bhai, I have indeed moved on and prorably that is why I am back in Karachi but what is wrong in discussing partition (academically)? These Rockfella cannot come up with a rationale argument – they speak from emotions….( I respect there feelings, Ofcourse)

Anyhow, lets move to my reservations about Iqbal; why didn’t Iqbal Lahori (apparently, that’s how he’s known in Iran today) didn’t renounced his knighthood in 1919 (please correct the year) when Jhalyawala Massacre took place when Tagore gave it up in protest..? Secondly, I have read Iqbal and his son’s (Retd. Justice Javed Iqbal’s) biography of Iqbal who once claimed that Iqbal was religiously inspired but now interestingly claims that he was secular. How do you compare the writings of Khattak Baba in 1600’s with Iqbals…? It seems Iqbal took most of his work ; lacked creatively and was nothing much a plagiarist …And I do not want to point at Iqbal(s) father’s religious sect and how his grand father was forced to convert by the then Afghan Governor of Kashmir because I do not want to assassinate his character.

As for 1965, why manipulate history..? Did you read Gohar Ayub(s) book where he quoted diaries of his father, Ayub Khan who wrote – SSG Commandos were parachuted into Kashmir but the Kashmir’s didn’t helped …let’s not forget Pakistan started the war and although we did remarkably good in gaining air superiority in 1965 but we lost our objective and let’s not even try to measure the land occupied by India we got back. India learned from her mistakes in 1971 and we got thrashed ever since…

If the level of patriotism is determined because of your surname, ethnicity, political affiliation, religion, sect or gender then Sir, My City, Karachi is my Country; If you lot are ready to really end your bias attitude and racism you will see in us (Mohajirs), sons and daughters of people who sacrificed for the sake of Pakistan; people who made it happen; people who suffered monetary and physically because of partition ; people who after partition did not took wages from the state for years just to make this state function ….

39. barrister on January 29th, 2009 @ 5:36 pm

To move on 1500 miles to an unknown land; leaving everything you have for the sake of a dream accounts to patriotism…loosing your daughters, mothers, sisters, brothers, fathers, uncles, relatives and still seeking peace is real patriotism …. Remember, on thing and I will not say it again if we wanted India in 90(s) to come down to Karachi – there would have been no problem. We do not hate India but ….I do not want to take your lines and hit on cliché statements …..

I still know people whom your PUNJABI Rangers killed and whom you Punjabis called, “traitors and terrorists” but there only crime was that they were “NON-Punjabis” who have forgiven you…they are the real patriots not you, not your political gods, Nawaz Sharif(s), Imran Khan and Iftikhar Chaudry…

40. rockfella25 on January 29th, 2009 @ 7:37 pm

@ Barrister,

must suck to move to a land 1500 miles away only to be told you are not here either, eh ?

You say Iranis call Hazrat Allam Mohd Iqbal as Iqbal Lahori,so you will call him the same.

I know some people who call you Bhosrikar Ali ka Choosta, so i guess i will stick to that from now on.

Keep your filth where it belongs, if some Punjabi has taken yours inside out from all cavities in your body, so be it. Learn to take your place in society according to what this country has allocated for your immigrant ass, don’t try to get big for your shoes, or you always have your place in Poona Patna where you can go back where you came from.

41. rockfella25 on January 29th, 2009 @ 7:40 pm

@ Barrister,

must suck to move to a land 1500 miles away only to be told you are not here either, eh ?

You say Iranis call Hazrat Allam Mohd Iqbal as Iqbal Lahori,so you will call him the same.

I know some people who call you Bhosrikar Ali ka Choosta, so i guess i will stick to that from now on.

Keep your filth where it belongs, if some Punjabi has taken yours inside out from all cavities in your body, so be it. Learn to take your place in society according to what this country has allocated for your immigrant ass, don’t try to get big for your shoes, or you always have your place in Poona Patna where you can go back where you came from.

42. kabirdas on January 29th, 2009 @ 8:40 pm

@ barrister

To start off with it seems you have misunderstood the first two lines of the rubbai quoted by me. While talking of the moving finger that writes and having writ moves on Omar Khyyam is referring to the old man up in the heaven. It didn’t ask you to move on or something like that. It asked you only to accept fate as fait accompli. Does it clear the air and am I forgiven for having said that. If you still feel I have said something wrong I will withdraw my remarks and apologize for them.
    You once said (after your horrible discovery that I was a Punjabi)that there are good Punjabis and there are bad Punjabis. Sir, please allow me to say that it may be logical to assume that it may also be so in the case of every other community including perhaps Mohajirs as well. May I request you to go easy on Punjabis in the larger interest of the country. Instead of condemning them wholesale outrightly show them the right path by setting a good example and not by acting like them if indeed they acted the way they did as you say.
    I felt bit hurt to see you addressing me, the Kabir Das, as ‘you Punjabis’ but that doesn’t matter. If it makes you feel better so be it.
    I will rather not discuss Allama Iqbal right now. I certainly have a different opinion than is generally held about his philosphy and what he stood for. Still, I have lot of respect for him.
    Before I finish I will like to quote another of Omar Khyyam’s rubai (btw balma has privately set me on to Omar Khyyam these days) which I am sure you will understand and not take offence to:

Ah Love! could you and I with fate conspire
    To grasp the sorry Scheme of Things entire,
    Would not we shatter it to bits—and then
    Remould it nearer to the heart’s desire.

Now this calls for another beer and not another cup of coffee. Coffee clears the mind but beer cleans the heart:-)

Take care and take it easy. You will always find me as your well wisher.

43. kabirdas on January 29th, 2009 @ 8:57 pm

@ rockfella25 on January 29th.

Sir, you have certainly over reacted by calling names. Once you start doing that there will be no end to it. We are all very good at it. May I suggest you withdaw your remark calling Mohajirs what you called them before barrister reacts with equal if not with more ferocity.
    I will feel personally obliged to you if you did that.

44. rockfella25 on January 29th, 2009 @ 10:24 pm

@ kabirdas

Funny you were not offended in the 2 EARLIER comments on this same page where Barrister aka Bakwaaster badmouthed Punjabis, calling them killers.

Funnier even you did not find offensive the very first comment where Bakwaaster badmouthed Hazrat Allama Mohd Iqbal as Iqbal Lahori.

And you say i am overreacting…. pls feel free to serve the so called Barrister as it pleases you. I am not the one to take threats from fascist chauvinists.

45. balma on January 29th, 2009 @ 11:08 pm

haaa-ai’n! Is calling someone Lahori a gaali?

And you patharfella, abay gaali dai’nee hae, tou lazeez gaalia’n dae….. yeh, chichoray-pan kee gaaliya’n day kar sub ko bore nahi’n kar…

46. balma on January 29th, 2009 @ 11:18 pm

* REALLY MISSED BALMA’S POST, I WISH I COULD READ IF U PLEASE CAN

Unfortunately, I didn’t save it before posting it on KMB. I always write fil-badeeh on KMB, but in light of this censorship, may be I should save future postings on my hard drive for reposting and reposting and reposting…..baiTay jamash: toom kub tak balmaa kee baato’n ko jhooTlaao gae?

Basically, my thoughts are that Jinnah didn’t belong to the Muslim shurfaa of India and he screwd it up for all Muslims.

Anyway, Ambreen, there was not much in the first posting under this topic that I haven’t repeated in my later postings…..yehee censorship kaa nuqsaan hae keh hamaray jaisay bayghairat koee ghaa-eb thoRee ho jaa-ai’n gae….we will keep repeating it…

And the 2nd posting on Shareer Sharar is still there….

And, thank you for showing interest in what I wrote. I am humbled.

47. kabirdas on January 30th, 2009 @ 12:40 am

@ rockfella25 on January 29th.
    My fortune or misfortune is that I don’t easily get offended particulry when I feel the other party is perhaps in the wrong and may be guided to the truth. I am serving no one and will serve no one except my country and the nation you can be sure of that. If talking to barrister nicely despite any provocation from him I will do that if it serves my country. I am more a man of reason than emotions.
    And another thing which I will never do is to lower myself to the same level as that of my opponent’s. If you think the conduct of barrister was undesireable it will look more so if you had not exhibited same sort of conduct yourself.
    What Kabir Das is saying in a nut shell is: Gali ka jawab gali nahiN hota.
    The response to a provocative statement should not be more or equally provocative but more measured and such that it dulls and reverses the effect of the provocative statement on to itself.
    You think about it and try it sometime. You will find that there is lot of wisdom in what Kabir Das is saying.
    I have already requested barrister privately not to react to your Gali by another Gali (I have never met him. I just happened to have his tel no). I am sure he will listen to me. Should I expect that you will also listen to me and withdraw your Gali. Just the Gali part. The rest of your post is otherwise ok as I see it.
    By all means argue and argue aggresively and with full force but no Galis. Please no Galis. A Gali will not reflect on your opponent. It will however, reflect on you, on your community and on all of us as a nation.
    I will again request you to withdraw your Gali and make my day please. Don’t disappoint me. I am a great believer in the goodness of human nature provided it is nurtured properly.
    Take care and take it easy as I always keep saying.

48. kabirdas on January 30th, 2009 @ 12:53 am

@ balma on January 29th

Hey fella, never ever make the mistake of challanging a Punjabi in Gali competition. All he will have to do is to start speaking in Punjabi and you will lose the competition:-)

And you have to be extra careful if the Punjabi also happens to be an ex sailor and a stoker on top of it ( have you heard the phrases to swear like a sailor or to swear like a stoker—an engineer in naval terminology is called a stoker). You know who I mean. Yours truly:-)

49. barrister on January 30th, 2009 @ 1:06 am

LOL…ah, melodramtics!

Rockfella(s) abuse is true to his credentials; he(s) so PML-N, a political party which is primarily responsible for carrying out a Serb Style Genocide of 15,000 Mohajirs in 1990(s) until Mushraff Bhai stopped it or it would have continued… Why is speaking the truth and anything against Punjab is considered, blasphemy and treason …?.

I am here representing MOHAJIR POV and since when is Lahori considered a PG word……? LOL…

Wasay Mian Itna Dum Hai Tu Ghareeb Khanay Kay Darwazay Abhi Bhe Khulay Hain…. Ajaayey…

PS. My Brothers and Sisters, Listen to them; read and read it again; one, twice and thrice and remember; memorize; learn and tell your generations – what they think about us; what they want to do to us not all

50. khaled90 on January 30th, 2009 @ 1:12 am

Ahhh

Ya Allah yeh din bhi dekhana tha ?

LOL
    Punjabies are the sole traitors of Pakistan, Only Punjab was against the creation of Pakistan so we can’t find any punjabi leader in the Pakistan Movement, and now the reason why punjabies try to show their love for Pakistan because they are ruling Pakistan for the last 60 years, Punjab Killed Jinnah, killed his Sister, killed Liaquat Ali Khan , Hanged Bhutto killed Benazir, Only Punjab has Ifiti CHudgae as CJ 3 provinces have Dogar, Movement of Liers only running in Punjab , only 1000-1500 people came to received Ifti Chudgae in karachi, most of them PPI, PTI and PML N workers all are punjabies,

Don’t worry Barrister let these punjabies show their love for Pakistan, You know why Zardari raised the Slogan Pakistan Khapay ?

Because he knows that Punjab wants to break Pakistan and the blame should be put on Sindhis like 1971 blame was put on Bangalis.

You know why Altaf Hussain never raised slogan of Independence even after lifting more then 20,000 bodies ?

Because he knows that eventually punjab will break Pakistan when they are cornered and kick out from the corridors of power, now the punjab blue eye Nawaz is all set to be disqualified for ever, now he sees no future of Pakistan w/o Ifiti chudgae because only ifti the kana dajjal can nullify the decision of his disqualification.

So guyz be chill this time Pakistan will torn into pieces by the ever lasting enemy Punjab and Punjabies so no need to be worried, we have done our home work and when the time comes we are all set to kick these punjabi azzez from karachi like the Great Balochs are sending them back to their pinds in body bags on daily basis.

:o)

51. human01 on January 30th, 2009 @ 8:10 am

Surprisingly I did saw that coming. In fact I was quite impressed that KMB was doing pretty nice for last few months without any ethnic or racial debate until this post. I am not saying there is any thing wrong about Jamash’s post but it did opened up the Pandora’s box or (to Balma’s point) surfaced the “Skeleton” that we were hiding in our closets. For a moment I thought we were getting along good in spite of all the prejudices and biases we have among us. Indeed it takes a lot to face the truth, the reality or simply the courage to listen to the disagreement……and unfortunately for us as a nation, it will take a while (long while probably) to be mature enough (better say civilized enough) to know the etiquettes of dealing with the differences and the difference of opinions. Beating this dead horse won’t get us any where except further disintegration. I am sure our fore fathers who gave their lives to this God forsaken country in the name of “Islam” & “Two Nation Theory” would be crying out loud & cursing us seeing this ethnic division and injustice that causing it.

52. balma on January 30th, 2009 @ 10:38 am

Even though I haven’t even doore-doore kaa taaluq with Panjab or anything Panjabi – this Panjabis against Pakistan is not totally true.
    And, even for those Panjabis or Pathans or Sindhis who were against Pakistan, what did you expect them to do: go to Iran or shithole Afghanistan or post-partition India, because they were against Pakistan?

On the other hand, many people in Muslim minority provinces were against Pakistan too, but some of them did end up in Pakistan due to riots (esp in Dehli), lack of opportunities due to discrimination in post 47 India because of partition, or because all their kids moved to Pakistan, and so on.

So, Khaled boy, no use making such arguements about Panjabis. I am sick and tired of such arguements. Aur, gaali dainee hae, to gaali kay bhee aadaab hotay hai’n.
    gaali kaa bhee aik maeyaar honaa chahyae…gaali aisee ho jo dil ko lagay….
    bacho’n vaalee gaali dae kar bore mut karo.
    aglee dafa’a koee zabardast gaali dainaa….please.

Regards,
    gaalam-galoch kay maahir Balma.

53. rockfella25 on January 30th, 2009 @ 1:07 pm

@ Kabirdas,

Should anyone choose to badmouth Pakistan, its integrity and its founders, pls feel free to do so on rediff.com but here, you are going to have to face the music for doing so.

Should you choose to bring hatred, ethinicity and propogate traitorship to KMB, then please be ready to face the heat. I stand by what i said.

I would suggest you think before you speak, these words are going to be here burried here for ever.

There is no space for ethnic and linguistic garbage here and unlike some of you here who challenge the existence of Pakistan and its ideology, we sir are a proud and committed nation whatever the current circumstances may be.

So learn to love your country rather than to try to disintegrate it.

54. rockfella25 on January 30th, 2009 @ 1:11 pm

@ balma,

Feels odd, but this time i quite agree with you.

55. barrister on January 30th, 2009 @ 3:25 pm

Buhat Khoob Khalid Bhai

Human01 Bhai, What Two Nation Theory..why even remotely bother to even shake hands with our murderers..? who killed, destroyed, plundered and raped our women in 90(s)… and I am talking about PML-N types…

Unfortunately, Punjabis will be oppressors as long as Army is Punjabi; as long as Punjabi eats 70% of our resources; as long as Centre distributes our money according to population to Punjab (NFC Awards)….

I go to Mastung, Balochistan and I see one of the principals of a cadet college, a Punjabi man shot dead by our Baloch Brothers; then I move to Quetta; where I see most of my friends Baloch with BNP starting a campaign to ban Punjabis from Balochistan; Gawader is already banned for my Punjabi brothers and the feeling is stronger there..

The problem is not Punjabis but Punjabi-Approach in Problem Solving; they should behave ; I wish today, that an Army Operation takes place in Lahore, Faisalabad and in Chaks and the Army rape and kill

But that will never happen because Army is Punjab and Vice Versa…

I also feel at times bad to repeat but whatelse should I do..? meray doostoon aur bhaiyoon ko yaad dilana parta hai

It is equant to a kufar to forget those who died in a Serb Style Ethnic Cleansing of Mohajirs in 1990(s) and anyone who forgets it; be it me, you or Santa is a traitor to our forefathers and our cause .

We have genuine grievances and there’s no need for Mohajirs to be apologetic about it…As far as Pakistan is concerned; if India we could sought them out as well …but I am hopeful and after looking at our young, I know we are heading forwards a right direction

For those Mohajir(s) who support Punjabis – You are the biggest “Bha-gh-arat” on Earth!

56. khaled90 on January 30th, 2009 @ 3:58 pm

The people who are crying for ethnic and linguistic comments forgot the same is happening in Pakistan from last 60 years, and they(Punjabies) are the pioneers of this crap.

The Punjabies on 14 aug 1947 and after that were standing on lahore train stations with Gundasas and asking the Muslims coming from India PAKISTAN AGGAY YA.

Like Americans like Serbs everyone in Pakistan Hates Punjabies, 99% people arrested in Pakistan with links with RAW are punjabies

http://www.thenews.com.pk/top_story_detail.asp?Id=19974

but no Army operation in any city of Punjab, in MRD and Tehreek e Khatam e Nabuwat(S.A.W) punjabi army refused to fire on protesters in Punjab but willing killed many in Sindh.

The people here crying for this hatred should understand that they are Reaping What They Sow,

The people of 3 provinces are not blind the so called restoration of judiciary is supported sponsored by Punjabi Establishment and it is running only in Punjab not a single person from 3 other provinces are intrested in it, and all this is happening because Punjab is out from the corridors of power from last 10-12 years.

57. golgappay on January 30th, 2009 @ 6:33 pm

Here is the deleted post.

Author : balma

Amma yaar, khyaa moon’h kaa mazaa kirkiraa kar diyaa?

Do we have to go through this nonsense? Dr. Allama Iqbal nay aik khwab daikhaa thaa…..Balma bhee rozaanah khwab daikhtaa hae. Zaroori nahi’n keh her khwab ko porra kyaa jaa-ae. Khwab ideal hota hae. Haqeeqat kaRvee hotee hae.

I accept that Iqbal was a great poet. He captured the imagination of whole generation of Muslims (and, non-Muslims) in India. From Dehli to Hyderabad to Madras. I love his shikvah and javaab-shikvah.
    He was also a philosopher. He philosophised about many things. He was a thinker, and he thought about many things. Not every idea from even a smart man is worth implementing.

Enters MA Jinnah. A matric pass of Karachi and Bombay with no appreciation for the Muslim culture and no sympathy with the history of Indo-Muslim civilization. He didn’t belong to the old muslim class of India. Newly convert family with lots of ambition and narrow vision.
    Thanks to the stupid muslim leaders of UP (such as Chaudhry Khaliquzamaan) and Haryana (such as Liaquat Ali Khan) that a dictatorial Jinnah got to play havoc with the lives and futures of millions of Muslims of India and the damage is still being done.
    Bayvaqoofi mulaahiza farmiyaae: aakhri vaqt tak kisee ko yeh nahi’n maalom keh Lahore resolution may kyaa kahaa jaae gaa! And, then idiotic Muslims telling Jinaah, oh my baap, aap jo bhee deal kar lai’n…what? hai’n? what?

I suddenly feel terrible headache. Need coffee from T2F!

58. kaami on January 30th, 2009 @ 8:49 pm

@kabirdas
    Sorry, but I beg to pass on the Rule of Law debate and the way its being advocated, for now.
    All I know good things were happenning in Pakistan until we decided to commit hara kirri and wasted ourselves yet again in useless movements and causes. For which we are paying very dearly, with flight of capital / talent and it’s the middle class that is being made to suffer.

Untill today nothing has happened to make me change my mind about the lawyers movement and suo motto destabilization of the country. I might be proven wrong, I guess only time will tell.

59. kaami on January 31st, 2009 @ 12:28 am

@Balma Jee – Sambhal ke, your record is being kept…Wow Golgappay!

60. balma on January 31st, 2009 @ 2:14 am

Kaami: Mujh per Dur aur khauf say kapkapee taaree ho gayee hae:-)

golgappay, thank you.

61. barrister on January 31st, 2009 @ 3:25 am

jeepers, creepers! where did this come from..!!!! is this my friend from Virginia…..? :)

62. kaami on January 31st, 2009 @ 3:45 am

@Human01 Dont you think it was getting too boring at the KMB? Thanks to this post things have brighten up, and dont worry, Khaled90, Rockfella and Barrister will continue to slug it out.

By the way Two Nation Theory (one of the most screwd up theories in history), died the day when the majority of this countries population emphatically declared that they dont want it.

63. barrister on January 31st, 2009 @ 4:13 am

Kami, pls, don’t compare us to rockfella(s) ; call me a pig but not a Punjabi for heavens sake! I remember Nawaz Marri’s similar statement in Daily Times..

64. ambreenmirza on January 31st, 2009 @ 9:50 am

FOR BALMA. Hi, guys , I love Pakistan, but it is very unfortunate that handfull of maulanas or so called fundumantlist have hijacked the entire social system of Pakistan in the name of religion extremism, interestingly I have travelled & lived in various muslim counteries, even in Saudi arabia, there is no anything like this religious matters are strickly controlled & monitored by goverment mininsteries, Friday sermon is writing by the ministery & the person who is going to head the friday prayers, will not utter a single word against that note, I have seen on youtube,(U can also check this) what these maulanas are doing in masjids, ”MASJID MAIN AJEEB HARKATIAN”.I mean ok religion is a law which maintains a social system, but at a stage when religon is the only way for brain washing, poor people I have never seen any millionare is killed as a suicide bomber, the goverment & the people of pakistan should realize this before it is toooo late, ZANDIGAI SAY BANDAGI HAI, excess of everything is bad, they are killing school childrens, they are burning schools, our curriculum is manipulated, our generation is become ready to die for religion, in our country I have seen people are gone of jihad and his 10 childrens and multiple wives are begging & prosituting on the roads, what the hell is this, WAKE UP GUYS… ANY WAY BALMA U HAVE GREAT GRIP OVER SCRIPT & IMPRESSING KNOWLWDGE OF OUR HISTORY, I HAVE NOT READ ABOUT THOSE INDIAN NAMED CHARACTERS OF OUR HISTORY THEY WERE REMOVED TO BRIGHTEN OUR HISTORY, WE HAVE A SELF MADE TAILORED HISTORY, BULL SHIT. ANY WAYS BRAVO BALMA!

65. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on January 31st, 2009 @ 3:03 pm

So all wannabees at one place. That’s an achievement!

66. rockfella25 on January 31st, 2009 @ 3:55 pm

@ Barrister,

Now you are officially a self declared PIG, so won’t have to find newer names for you.
    I would rather converse with humans, and if i need to converse with animals, i prefer them halal.

Adnan,…. whats up bro, long time no see

67. barrister on January 31st, 2009 @ 4:15 pm

wow, someone’s got a “fan following..” yayyyy!!

68. khaled90 on January 31st, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

hey barrister
    i see people are crying so hard as they have nothing to prove and just waiting for the time to be sent back to their PINDS ;)

69. barrister on January 31st, 2009 @ 4:29 pm

Balma but I have a reservations about calling Mawdudi a good guy…. infact I recently wrote a piece on Poisonous Political Islam an ideology propagated by this experiment gone wrong, Mawdudi… His ideology was obviously taken up over by Qutb spiritual teacher of Aymen Al Zawari and Osama Bin Laden – the biggest fitnas on earth…….

70. wasiq1 (wasiq) on January 31st, 2009 @ 7:09 pm

@mohtarami wa mukarrami janab jamal ashqein almaroof jamash sab….please delete the the following comment..thankyou!

mein aap nojawano kasosan talib ilmaaon ko bataa deyna chahata houn…

@siddiqui sab…Aadab..!

@Ramla,girls….touche….!24hours….!

woh samajhtey hain kay masihaa ka hal achcha hai..

71. kaami on January 31st, 2009 @ 7:13 pm

@Barrister I dare not compare you with anyone, I was just referring to your slug fest with rockfella. You are unique "Man" bitter but sweet, you have got your history right and my word y0u can write. However, the anger in your writings is all too obvious, then again, somebody has to write with passion.

@rockfella: When talking about historical figures like Iqbal, Jinnah and even Sahaba, the first thing you do is remove the garb of Alqabaat like Quaid-e-Azam, Hazrat Allama, Madr-e-Millat,Fatah-e-this and Fatah-e-that. To understand Iqbal’s thinking, you have to read his prose, not the poems I praised his "Reconstruction of Religous Thought in Islam". But that praise should not cover the fact that he was a British loyalist, a Sir and a humble servant of the Viceroy, just read his letters. However, still a great man because nobody is perfect.

72. kaami on January 31st, 2009 @ 7:35 pm

@Barrister Damn right about Mawdoodi and Hasan Al-Banna, the interpretation of Islam by these two and their linking of survival of Islam to the formation of a Islamic State ( justifying killing of fellow muslims if they stand in the way). In simple words "Musalmanoon mein se ek jamaat uthey aur …." This philosophy has caused much harm and misery to the followers of the faith in the recent times.

Here is an weird interpretation of Quran by Mawdoodi outlining what should happen when a Muslim Army wins / occupies a non Muslim land:

1/ All the marriage contracts between male / female of the occupied stand null void.

2/ Consequently, all females become the property of the occupying Muslim govt.

3/ Soldiers of the Muslim army are required to submit to the govt any females or property in their possession.

4/ The occupying Muslim govt after collection, can re-distribute these females "fairly" among the soldiers as sex slaves.

Tragically, these principles were applied in 1971, in the then East Pakistan, when a section of Ulema declared Bengali’s Kafir, consequently, mass scale rape was justified and committed by the occupiers.

73. kaami on January 31st, 2009 @ 8:01 pm

Balma I dug up that Madressah text book again and guess what its not taught in 40 but 140 franchises and the franchise name is:

Madrasa-tul-Madina
    Mohalla Saudagaran,
    Sabzi Mandi, Karachi.

Here are some excerpts from the same "text" book:

Dont jerk (jhatak) your hands after Wuzu, if you do so your hand will become devil’s fan.

If you start a task without saying Bismillah then devil will join you in that task.

:-(

74. kabirdas on January 31st, 2009 @ 10:23 pm

@ kaami on January 31st, 2009

I find it hard to believe Mawdoodi would have said such things. Would you please let me know the ref of where he said these things. I will be grateful if you can let me know the name of the book and page nos of this book wherein he made such statements. I have not read Mawdoodi. This will be an eve opener for me.
    Thanks

75. kabirdas on January 31st, 2009 @ 10:29 pm

@ barrister

Hi brother barrister.
    No,I wont be so gracious as to call you a pig. Sir, I will call you my brother. That will make you a Punjabi and thus worse than a pig.
    Take care brother.

76. kabirdas on January 31st, 2009 @ 10:33 pm

Kaami
    In my comments addressed to you for ‘eve’ please read ‘eye’. It is a typo and not a pun of any kind.

77. kaami on February 1st, 2009 @ 1:10 am

@kabirdas

The reference:
    Tafhimul Quran , by Idara Tarjumanul Quran, Lahore Vol 1 Pg 340

The government must distribute the women war captives among Muslim soldiers and the soldiers should “use” them. This rule will apply to women regardless of whether they belong to the People of the Book, or any other religion.

I could not locate my copy of the book, can’t remember whom I loaned too. The above I got from another source. I will correct my self if the Volume and page number is in-accurate….but the quote is true, because I have read it.

And, there is much more but this is not the right forum to discuss that.

I found this link just now, but cannot vouch for reliability, however, there quite a few references which can be verified:

http://ourbeacon.com/index.php?p=11742

78. barrister on February 1st, 2009 @ 6:29 am

I’L come back to Mawdudi afterwards but lets watch a REAL PUNJABI FIRST http://awaz.tv/playvideo.asp?pageId=2111

79. human01 on February 1st, 2009 @ 10:19 am

Wow, that was really disturbing….seriously I am lost of words here….. Amazing to see the arrogance and pride of the pendu kid that he has no fear what so ever that he was confessing such a heinous crime in front of TV cameras……..I really feel sorry for the host…I don’t know what I would have done if I was there. Probably would’ve chopped off the troublesome part of the kid for the sake of his and others infinite peace.

80. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on February 1st, 2009 @ 1:26 pm

rockfella, yeah. either this place is quite boring now or I have changed my preferences.

Wasiq sahab(Damatohum Barkatohum), kaisey haain aap Hazrat? baray dino se aap ke e-Deedar nahi huwa? lagta hey recession ka zyda he asar leyliya hay. :-)

81. kabirdas on February 1st, 2009 @ 3:11 pm

@ Kaami
    Thanks for the info. I can get hold of Tafhimul Quran. I will find the ref.

82. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 1st, 2009 @ 6:06 pm

@ siddiqui sab….(kulo aam wa untum bakhair)…misley mouj ay rawaan…!
    sunney main aaya hai kay australia main aik aabi guzar gah hai jo down stream kay bajaay up stream chalti hai….log ussey yaara kay naam se jantey pehchan tey hain….
    jahan tak recession ka sawal hai…toh apni nan nihari chal rahi hai…chai pakordaa bhi chal raha hai….Burger sharger…kuch dino kay lian moqoof hai….toh woh bhi aap jaisey karam farmaoun ki duaoun se bahal ho hee jai ga…pheir toh

Moujaan hi moujaan…sham saweirey….!

83. balma on February 1st, 2009 @ 11:19 pm

Kabir Das sahib jub aap England may thay (1965) tou mae Elden Street, Glasgow peh thaa. asee ko baRee hairaanee hae, key towaadaa and mairaa kabhee Takraao nahi’n hua?:-)

Aaj kal mainoo "aag kaa daryaa" paRh rahaa hoo’n. sounaa hae keh taareekhi novel hae. Vakeelyaa nay bhee shaayed paRhaa hua hae?

ab mae vakeel ko sataanay keh liyae KMB per TooTi-phooTi Panjabi mae bhee likhoo’n gaa! hehehehe

84. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on February 2nd, 2009 @ 12:19 am

Hazrat Wasiq sahib(Damatohum Bakatohum), Qalb ko qarar agaya. ek Tashsafi se hogai ye sun kar ek aap ka Nan-Nihari chal raha hay. Afsos huwa k burger ka zaiqa chakhey huay arsa hogya. mian bail-out karaletay burger k liye. aj kal tu log saleem bhai se doodh leyne k liye bhe bail-out package k jugarh laga rahay hain.

aur koi baat nai agar burger nahi. aj kal "chutta" (CHANGE) ka zamana hay Riyasat-Hai-Mutahida Amerika may,log Pant me Belts k Jaga Naray[Naday] yani Izar band istimal kar rahay hain. suna hay apni Pakistani bhaio ka GDP barh gaya hay. aap zara roshni dalain kio yaha tu roshni hey hee nahin.

85. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on February 2nd, 2009 @ 12:27 am

Barrister Chudhary AK47 sahib,

No doubt the video was quite sick regardless of its authenticity that whether the guy was genuine or was another lame attempt in the name of reality show.

But my friend the thing I am going to show you happened in an Assembly and was covered by all news paper. Mulahiza Farmain MQM ki roshan khyali aur zara apna gariban(agar chaak nai) tu jhaan lijyee

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bjbb4EpLdF4

86. kabirdas on February 2nd, 2009 @ 12:37 am

Balma:
    Your effort at Punjabi is quite good . Learn a few swear words and you will be able to speak Punjabi fluently:-) I reckon if you had the option to be known as a pig or a Punjabi you will opt for Punjabi. I wonder what my brother barrister has found in pigs which Punjabis lack that he prefers to be known as a pig rather than a Punjabi:-)
    The problem with me is that when I try to speak Punjabi my Punjabi friends tell me not to speak Punjabi because I speak Punjabi in Urdu accent. And when I speak Urdu I get caught by Ahle Zuban for being a Punjabi. I think I have good reason to be called a pig than anything else. That will at least give my brother barrister some satisfaction. He would thus be the brother of a pig than a Punjabi which he wouldn’t mind as much:-)
    By the way one of these days (after mustering some Dutch courage which I have no problem to muster now and then) I am going to ask barrister how would he feel if Punjabis demand that Punjabi should be made the national language of Pakistan. And why not?? It is the language of the majority after all. I wonder what will be his answer to this?
    Anyway I wouldn’t like to cross barrister’s path. These days he seems to be in a pigish mood.
    I read Aag Ka Darya long time back when I was in DJ college. It is a great novel. It such a novel that if I had time I wouldn’t mind reading it again.

87. khaled90 on February 2nd, 2009 @ 1:49 am

@ kabirdas
    LOL

Are you sure majority of this nation speaks punjabi ?
    I guess you are wrong

Punjab or central punjab is not that much big , the whole JANOBI PUNJAB(Southern Punjab) or saraiki belt speaks Saraiki not Punjabi but as punjab wants to show their BIG POPULATION to get more from others they think they are in majority.

88. khaled90 on February 2nd, 2009 @ 1:51 am

@ Adnan
    The guy doing that is surely from MQM but sorry to say he is Baloch, Salman Baloch i guess when he sits with Mohajirs and MQM walas do learn how to give respect to women as in karachi no woman is paraded naked compare to Punjab.

89. balma on February 2nd, 2009 @ 4:06 am

KabirDas Sahib,

Upper Class and middle class Panjabis have been speaking Urdu for so long that your suggestions is just a khwaab. It will never happen. And, before this comes down to Urdu-Panjabi jhagRaa, here is Hazrat Balma’s peshingoee…both Urdu and Panjabi will disappear from Pakistan and India pretty soon along with variation of Urdu known as Hindi as well as othe desi languages. PErhaps in my life time.

I was watching an Indian movie ‘Fashion’ recently, and every sentence (I challege any maaee kaa laal to prove me wrong here) had at least one English word. Similarly, if you listen to any thing on any GEO channel, I am always confused if it is an English channel with bit of Urdu here and there! Never mind, TooTi pooThee English, but nevertheless, not Urdu.
    So this Urdu Panjabi jhagRaa is useless now. English willtake over in my life time. Kids in Karachi can’t speak simple things in Urdu. They can’t even count till twenty in Urdu. Urdu speakers are the biggest enemies of Urdu….as I always say.

One more thing… I think Panjabi is an old version of Urdu. Basically, to me, it is Urdu with lots of sanskirit words…and bit different accent. Deccani Urdu and Bihari Urdu are like Panjabi….variations of Urdu.

Oh, I did see man-o-salva recently, a production of HUM TV. I was totally shocked to notice that it does have full sentences in Urdu. Amazing.

Got to go. Istree garam ho rahee hae. yeh, kyaa saaraa din akhbaar or Internet lagaa rakhaa hae is the complain:-)

90. human01 on February 2nd, 2009 @ 5:46 am

Balma….I bet most of the people would be wondering about "Istree". You might have to explain every about the "LUGHVI MEANING" of Istree…damn!…you were right…ANGREZI KA TOTA lagana aadat ban gayee hai ham sab ki…..

91. human01 on February 2nd, 2009 @ 5:49 am

"every body" I mean …

92. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 2nd, 2009 @ 9:43 am

@siddiqui sab……bakhidmat janab….dilli dour ast..nahein..kabuli channa main obal hai…woh pant zebtan farmaein ya skirt…hum ko kya…abhi hal he main mujra-ay khas o aam live from washington DC dekhney ka ittefaq hua….masha allah…agar yeah aalam recession aur ghurbat ka hai toh unn ki ammarat kaise hote ho gi…wallah o alam.

huzoor mein yeah kya sunn raha houn aap aur hum roshni se mehroom aur dostoun ki istrian garam ho rahi hain bila waja…unniaay hai unniaaay hai…

@ jamash sab….i can’t seem to find the follow up of the event…on your blog or flickr….did ramla show up on time…?

@ Barrister sab….thank you sir, you are making us all very proud..I have recently seen veer zara and i believe the americans have seen it too….!

@ramla…halwa puri leyney giya toh 28 hours ho jain gay…aisa kon sa area hai ab karachi mein jahan free delivery nahien…? o han woh kunday waloon ka…ok no problem..?

93. golgappay on February 2nd, 2009 @ 2:12 pm

Dear all. The video shared above (Living on the edge – Pakistan tour) is pre-scripted, just like all other reality shows.

94. kabirdas on February 2nd, 2009 @ 3:12 pm

@ khaled90 on February 2nd

Agreed. Central Punjab where real Punjabi is spoke is indeed not all that big. Even the same Punjabi is not spoken in the Northern Punjab ie the Pothohar area. I come from Pothohar area and the type of Punjabi which is spoken in this area is very different from the Punjabi of central Punjab.
    Anyway my proposal for making Punjabi the national language was just to annoy my brother barrister a bit more to get all his hatered for Punjabis out of his system.
    BTW sometime I feel there is lot of wisdom in splitting Punjab into 3 provinces; Northern, Central and Southern Punjab. This may help to overcome the grievances of not only smaller provinces of Pakistan but also the grievances of Southeren and Northern Punjab vis a vis Central Punjab. Anyway let us not start this discussion right now. We can talk about it some other time when we don’t have much else to talk about.

95. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on February 2nd, 2009 @ 11:45 pm

Khalid90, your Bai’s ex wife was a Balochan too so don’t say bad to your ex-Bhabi’s Maika. The guy belonged to MQM. *nuff said*

96. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on February 2nd, 2009 @ 11:54 pm

Wasiq mian,DC tu humay Internet wala "DC"(DisConnect) yaad ajata hay. waise Pakistan aur Riysat-e-Hai-Mutahida Amerika k Taluqat kuch "DC" say he Rahtay hain.

sab Choro bhai..tumharay Jamshed Town mey dekho kia kuch nahi horaha.

http://www.jang.net/jm/2-2-2009/images/1048.gif

97. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 3rd, 2009 @ 12:50 am

@siddiqui sab…..banda ay aajiz…aap ki khimat main kya kya arz kar sakta hai…aap toh nadi ki teh tak puhach gaay…khair…technically dekhein toh chaklala bhi jamshedtown main hee aata aur jata hai….na uss ko anney sey koi rok sakta hai na janey sey…phir abas pereshan honey sey kya hasil…

jab bahar aaie toh sehrah ki taraf chal nikla….

98. khaled90 on February 3rd, 2009 @ 1:56 am

@ adnan
    Altaf Hussain wife is much better then Imran Khan wife who is out with hugh grant with out panties :0)

Imran khan and its supporters

99. balma on February 3rd, 2009 @ 9:57 am

Khaled,
    Why does it bother you if someone’s wife is running around without panties. Do you think most Pakistani women wear panties that you are objecting to someone running around with panties.

Oh, and this URL by Crazy Eddie.
    Something seems totally mysterious here.
    I don’t know about this guy in twenties, but this naacheez still will be quicker than the quickest man if proposed by three women at the same time.
    Abay, yeh tou her sehetmund aadmi kee aik fantasy hae bhai. Kyaa khyaal hae KabirDas sahib?

Either the guy is a psycho and a nut case who is making up this story or the women were totally totally ugly. What man will not drop his pants if three willing woman are available – bayek vaqt – mind you.

Aray, hum jub bun kabaab khaanay jaatay thae tou yeh kambakht horny aurtai’n kahaan thee’n?

If the story is correct, then I will say that horny Pakistani women have finally put Pakistan on the map. I am waiting for W o l f B l i t z e r types to narrate this story.

OK, I admit, I am being little bit stupid here. If the story as told by this waiter is correct, then I am sorry for him…. though, fantasies are still there.

100. kabirdas on February 3rd, 2009 @ 8:06 pm

V.S.NAIPAUL in his book AMONG THE BELIEVERS , AN ISLAMIC JOURNEY in a
    Chapter titled: Killing History talks about Pakistan as follows:

The military rule; political parties are banned. There is fifteen percent literacy, and fundamentalism stifles the universities. There is no industry, no science. The economy is a remittance economy; the emigrants, legal and illegal pour out. But in the Social Studies text book in the sixth class in English-language schools the child reads:

‘“Uncle,” said Salman, “I have read in my history book that in old times the caste system had a very firm hold in India. Every one had to adopt the occupation of his family. He could take no other work.”
    “Oh” said the uncle. “Conditions in India are much the same to this day. But we are a democratic country [Pakistan]. Here everyone is free to adopt the occupation of his choice. This is the secret of our progress.”

101. kabirdas on February 3rd, 2009 @ 8:14 pm

@ Kaami on February 1st, 2009

Today I went to my local library. I found there 5 volumes of Tafhimul Quran; Volumes 2 to 6. As always happens in such cases the volume 1 which I was looking for was on loan. Anyway I will see the volume 1 in some book shop now.

102. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 3rd, 2009 @ 9:54 pm

today at tea time i watched "partition" on starMovies….a canadian production….in place of shahrukh there is jimi mistry…as gayn…who sees a tragic end at the hands of ….mughalpura inc…

@ Balma jee…yeah toh apni apni kismat hai…but its not fair to out right reject the the story of the man….if there are signs of physical and sexual torture….lets not be gender biased just to show off .
    personally i don’t feel ashamed in anyway in saying that even when the number is just one or ten…a forced breakin and entry is out of the question….i’ll probably have my moustache shaved….iam no angel or a saint….so can I stand firm if there is motivation and inclination…well I don’t think I can answer that for sure….sometimes you don’t have to be under the influence of intoxicant to be turned on…and not even by the whole group…maybe by just one in the group….
    for further details you can see kamasutra animated on the web….

mein hosh main mast o bey khud
    woh masti main bhi hoshiar…

103. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on February 3rd, 2009 @ 10:13 pm

Khaled, Balma already replied about your fetishm about Panties so I better move on.

Just to say that rejecting MQM doesn’t mean embracing Zardari,Imran,Qazi Hussain etc etc. seesh.. grow up guys!

104. kabirdas on February 4th, 2009 @ 12:14 am

@ balma
    I have not been able to follow this particular issue. However, the comments of Kabir Das on your comments are as follows:

You say: " I don’t know about this guy in twenties, but this naacheez still will be quicker than the quickest man if proposed by three women at the same time."
    KD says: Will the naacheeze be quicker than the quickest person for a ‘fight or flight’ ‘that is the question?’ Sir, you sound like a hero of a Punjabi movie to me. As far as this bandae haqeer pur az taqseer is concerned he will take a flight if he doesn’t faint when proposed by three females at the same time.

You say:" Abay, yeh tou her sehetmund aadmi kee aik fantasy hae bhai. Kyaa khyaal hae KabirDas sahib?"
    KD says: To have a fantasy and to face that very fantasy if turned into a reality are two different things.

BaRa shore suntay thay pehloo maiN dil ka
    Jo cheera To ik katrae khooN na nikla

105. kabirdas on February 4th, 2009 @ 12:30 am

@ balma
    You guys seem to be still fussing about panties. For Christ sake man wake up. Get with it. It is 21st century. It is an age of ‘thongs’. Panties are old fashioned and relics of the past:-)

106. barrister on February 4th, 2009 @ 6:07 am

Ah, sorry had been away …so what did I miss…? Panties, Thongs..? Err…KD, App Say Tu Qisay Sunnay Parain Gay… waisay chotay mian tu chotay mian (Balma) baray mian tu subhan Allah……BTW, I have a fetish for thongs! absolutely brrrrrrrrrrrrr!!!!!

This Adnan.S beard should be forced to clean-shaved and hanged!

107. balma on February 4th, 2009 @ 8:42 am

aray vakeelya, itnaa ghussaa. Baaz daaRhee valay bhee bohut cute hotay hai’n. I don’t think this guy has a daaRhee.

Just looking at thongs makes me feel like ‘kuchh choub rahaa hae" mujhae….if you know what I mean. Ab balmaa ko tou aab sub jaantay hai’n: Mae nay khwateen say poochhaa keh bhaii yeh choubta tou nahi’n hae…kehtee hai’n nahi’n. But i don’t trust them. Yeh, kambakht mariyaa’n jub high heels pehen saktee hai’n, tou yeh thongs bhee pehen saktee hai’n. I think for real test, I will have to try one myself. Then I can write a PhD dissertation on thongs:-) hahahah

I am getting out of line here, I guess.. jamaliyaa mujhae censor kar dae!
    I won’t mind.

KabirDas sahib, you are right. Dreams and reality are two different things. Yes, I have seen a few Panjabi movies and I think Shahid etc are/were quite ghabroo javaans.

Urdu movies vaisay hee khatam ho gayee’n, aur Pakistan kee Pnjabi movies aikdum ghatyaa ho gaee’n. Kyaa ho gaa is qaum kaa?

108. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 4th, 2009 @ 1:02 pm

@Balma jee….aap censor ki baat kar rahey ho…woh toh media pakistan se seeday Romeo kay pechey nikal liay….aab toh khula khata hai…chahay toh Thong warna sirf boongh….nulli..mughaz…fry…apni plate apna paid…!lol
    chubney wali baat se toh mein bhi agree karooun ga…but maybe for some it’s not a sensitive area like most…of us.

Barrister sab ko ghussa bahut jaldi aagata hai…woh khetey hain nak pey rakha….his big brothers have no say in the affairs of pakistan/india never was….this is a sad reality…

109. khaled90 on February 4th, 2009 @ 1:20 pm

@ Adnan

Its a male instinct, let me guess about your instinct !!

hmmmmmmmm
    I got yah adnan!!!

You are the one caught red handed molesting a young male child in maderssah !!!!

as far as Imran khan ex wife is concern i can’t take my eye away from this lovely pose of hers.

http://img99.imageshack.us/img99/8783/jemjj9.jpg

110. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 4th, 2009 @ 1:59 pm

thank God I did not attend the meet ups…other wise all these poison dipped arrows would have been targetted at me…siddiqui sab…3 o’clock…ouch!

111. kabirdas on February 5th, 2009 @ 12:28 am

@ barrister on February 4th.

Don’t pay heed to what chotay miaN tells you. As I said earlier on he is just like a Punjabi film hero. Lot of hot air. If you want to learn something about panties and thongs listen to what baRay miaN has to tell about them:-)

BTW I believe to clear Karachi of Punjabis you are thinking of cutting down all the bushes in Karachi:-) A good idea. No more bushes, no more Punjabis hiding behind them:-)

112. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on February 5th, 2009 @ 12:29 am

@khaled: thanks for letting me know the MQM’s version of civilization on this blog. Greatly appreciated. Your Faiza Gabool Bhabi would be feelin proud of you.

@Chudhary AK47 sahib kia hogyaa? sab khair hay? why are you being so deprived? hain?

113. kabirdas on February 5th, 2009 @ 12:38 am

@ balma on February 4th.
    " Just looking at thongs makes me feel like ‘kuchh choub rahaa hae" mujhae….if you know what I mean."

No I don’t know what you mean. Thong pahna kissi aur nay ho aur chubhan aap ko ho rahi ho?? If the wearer of a thong doesn’t mind the pinch what goes of my father meaning maray baap ka kia jata hay.

114. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 5th, 2009 @ 1:16 am

@siddiqui sab…..apna Barrister sab aur party busy hoain gay…kaam main…warna apni sardak sal mein doh dafa nahein banti…?

@ balmaa jee…yeah karafilm waloon ney final screening on the last day jo film rakhi hai….woh with thong hai ya…

@Facebook waloon ko meri aur meri shrink ki janib se panchveen salgirah mubarak….

Happy birthday to you…

115. barrister on February 5th, 2009 @ 1:47 am

Milord, Itna Bara Ilzaam..? I never said Karachi should be cleaned off from Punjabis but yes, I have advocated against the brutality of Punjab; criminal silence of Punjabis and Institutional and Economic Discrimination of Punjab; sentiments of atleast 3 out of 4 provinces and 1 state (Kashmir)

I have nothing against Allahditas but yes, I am against Badar(s), Chaudry(s) (just an example) who loot and plunder our wealth; kill our people; consider themselves patriotic and other’s traitors…and now when we (MQM) put on table the 18th Resolution asking for “FULL PROVINCIAL AUTONOMY” as promised by Jinnah on 23rd March, 1940 and later promised in 1973 Constitution ; we are called “Munjeebs” …well Sir, this is an honor…

Thongs vs Panties : Point taken!

Khaled Bhai, Yeh iss Adnan Jamaati ka R.Rona Khatan Nahi Hoga! LOL

116. khaled90 on February 5th, 2009 @ 2:59 am

@ adnan
    i don’t know about Faiza Gabol but Imran Khan Ex wife is quite proud with hugh grant without clothes and even the, punjabi nationalist party PML(N) Jamat e Islami and Imran and his supporters are very proud to receive this lady in anti mush rally in and outside Pakistan.

http://www.thaindian.com/newsportal/south-asia/pro-anti-musharraf-demonstrations-as-he-arrives-at-british-pms-residence_10015020.html

117. khaled90 on February 5th, 2009 @ 3:02 am

@ Barrister and Kabirdas

There is a Fatwa (Religious Decree) i want you to read :D

Question:

Is praying salat after an Imam who has believes that Abu-Ala-Mawdudi, the leader of Jamat-e-Islami party in Pakistan, is great religious scholar & researcher, valid?

Answer 841

The Salaat behind such a person will be valid, but Makrooh (reprehensible).

And Allah Taãla Knows Best.

Was salaam

Mufti Ebrahim Desai
    FATWA DEP

http://www.islam.tc/ask-imam/questions/841.html

118. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 5th, 2009 @ 10:01 am

today is a holiday…..wow!subah se he chahal pehal hai….i am not sure what message should I send to the nation ,kashmiri’s and siddiqui sab…
    no matter what you politicians and journalists say about today….I won kashmir fair and square…still I am holding out for an American born kashmiri…who out wit me in all respects and is also capable.otherwise…God Bless America.

lets see how Barrister sab and the friends….react to pure insanity..!

119. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on February 5th, 2009 @ 2:15 pm

khaled if she rejected you for hugh grantt then why are you getting deprived? this is not good. Fine you didn’t see happiness in life but it doesnt mean you make a fuss of others lives. Treat others well..keep smiling. Allah will bless you then.. don’t get upset. InshaAllah u will also have a life partner. save your fantasies for her.

Chudhary Ak47: now I am jamati? first punjabi then Imran supporter and now Jamati. wow. you never miss a chance to entertain me with your ignorance.

120. balma on February 5th, 2009 @ 8:22 pm

KabirDas:
    Thong pahna kissi aur nay ho aur chubhan aap ko ho rahi ho??

Ussee may naazuk-mizaajee koot koot kar bharee huee hae! sirf soach kar jhourjhouree aa jaatee hae!

121. kabirdas on February 5th, 2009 @ 10:11 pm

@ balma

Wah! maza aa gaya yeh jawab soun kar. I always appreciate a good question and more than that a good reply.
    Strange though it may sound : Ab thongs ka souch kar mujhay be kuch chubhan see mahsoos honay lagi hay.

122. kabirdas on February 5th, 2009 @ 10:26 pm

@ barrister

Barrister bhai do take a ‘panga’ with Punjabis if you have to. There I may even be able to support you. But for God sake don’t take a ‘panga’ with these bearded guys particulary the ones having free flowing untrimmed beards. There I will denounce you. They consider their beards as a licence to kill any one in the name of Allah. I don’t know about you but I don’t like to be killed particulary by slitting of my throat:-)

123. kabirdas on February 5th, 2009 @ 10:47 pm

@ khaled90 on February 5th.

Thanks for the info. I know how these thekedars and alambardars of Islam have been passing such Fatwas against each other to build their own one and a half brick mosques. As a matter of fact it was a good thing that they remained busy pulling down each other like that and found no time to find faults with the faith of others. Now that they have started imposing their brand of religion on every one else I repudiate and denounce all of them.

124. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 6th, 2009 @ 6:12 am

thanks….there was chaos in the newsroom…i felt it…cannot further elaborate it here..it may seem like my personal blog..but it is not…unfortunately….so rest assured….do i look like i am holding on to anything..right now….holding out is more politically correct..for it.

@ balma jee….is any of the big names in pakistan fashion designing the Thongs….I like samar mehdi very much…wonder why she is not…?
    as far as the chuban is concerned and this may sound like re-tract from my previous comment….but i realized only last night that some fabrics and material are so soft that instead of the chubhan you feel relaxed….no i have not tried the thong…i only saying this from my experience of the socks….i have socks from Rs 20 to over 20 pounds and trust me there is huge difference….some you want to take off asap and others you never want to….maybe that is the case with the thongs as well….but pheir bhi narrdaay bandh kay chalna mushkil zaroor hota ho ga…

Rahee na taqaat ay per waaz per….

125. kabirdas on February 6th, 2009 @ 12:59 pm

Let me add to my above comments as follows:

This morning while buying chickens it just occured to me that these guys perhaps don’t say Takbeer either before slitting the throat which makes it worse than the sliting the throat of a chicken.

Few weeks back when they got hold of Shabana a local singer in Swat they took her to town square for the slaughter in full view of public. She made her last wish that she may be killed by a bullet and not by sliting of her throat. They showed some softness in their heart and obliged her by killing her by a bullet in her head.

When Kabir Das read this in the news papers (The News) he didn’t cry as usual. He couldn’t. He just felt so sick that he rushed to his bathroom and threw up.

126. khaled90 on February 6th, 2009 @ 1:22 pm

@ Adnan
    Jemima didn’t reject me , she kicked imran azz for Hugh Grant so please correct yourself.

127. balma on February 6th, 2009 @ 8:06 pm

I just can’t believe what is going on in Swat, Mr. KabirDas. Amazing. just amazing. Inn haraamiyo’n keh paas aslahaah kaha’n say aa rahaa hae?
    Amreeki, Roosi, PK army…who is providing them aslahaah.

BaiTay Wasiq, agar 20 pound kaa mozaa bhi dou unglio’n kay darmiyaan may phans jayae tou kaafi nagavaar lagtaa hae….unless, toum oos may bhee mazay laitay hou? hmmmm!

Enough is enough. I will have to ask couple of khwaateen saaf, saaf. Yeh, peechhay choubtaa hae yaa nahi’n? I will report in a week or so.

128. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 6th, 2009 @ 8:10 pm

@ Balma jee….from swat..?????;p

129. kabirdas on February 7th, 2009 @ 12:12 am

@ balma on February 6th.
    You are not the only one who finds it hard to believe what is going on in Swat these days. The question as to from where they are getting all the sophisticated arms and ammunition and state of the art communication equipment is being voiceferiously raised in the media these days. Please sometime find time to look at The Dawn or The News on the internet to know about what is going on in Swat.
    Right now these Talibans are in full control of Swat. Pakistan army has failed miserably there. Government of Pakistan has postponed the opening of whatever schools are left there till normalcy returns to the area which may not in near future. The two key demands of Swati Taliban are implementation of Shariah as they see it and banning of girls education altogether and only madrassa education for boys.
    I will stop at this and say no more lest I am accused of some kind of blesphemy and declared wajubul quatal by slitting of the throat without even saying a Takbeer.

130. kabirdas on February 7th, 2009 @ 12:30 am

@ balma
    "Enough is enough. I will have to ask couple of khwaateen saaf, saaf. Yeh, peechhay choubtaa hae yaa nahi’n? I will report in a week or so."

Take your time but when you are at it you may as well ask them about the chubbhan at the front as well because when looking at them I feel more chubbhan at the front than at the back. By the way I have reason to believe that these garments, if garments they may be called, are made of leather. I wonder how soft modern technology can make a leather piece.

I often wonder if the real pleasure of a thong lies in its taking off like the pleasure of a pinching shoe on its taking off !!

131. kabirdas on February 7th, 2009 @ 2:24 am

Food for thought:
    Kabir Das has suddenly decided to get away from it all and go to his sanctum in snow bound Murree hills for the weekend for some much needed contemplation. Before he does that he wants to leave (without his own comments) for his friends the following quote of Rainer Maria Rilke from his famous book The Notebooks of Malte Laurids Brigge as food for thought to chew and digest during their spare time over the weekend:

"Is it possible that nothing important or real has yet been seen or known or said? Is it possible that mankind has had thousands of years in which to observe, reflect, record but allowed this time to slip by, like the recess interval at school in which one eats a sandwich and an apple?
    Yes, it is possible.
    Is it possible that the whole history of the world has been misuuderstood? —-
    Yes, it is possible.
    Is it possible that these people know with perfect accuracy a past that has never existed? Is it possible that their life runs on, unconnected with anything, like a watch in an an empty room?
    Yes, it is possible—-
    But if all that is possible, then surely something must be done. The first comer— must begin to do some of the neglected things—there is no one at hand."

132. balma on February 7th, 2009 @ 3:03 am

Kabirdas sahib, while you are in Murree, please consider my solution for this ghundagardi in Pakistan:

Other than basic rights kind of things, such as universal education and right to work etc, if people in certain districts want certain rules, I think they should be allowed to do so.

I have a great difficulty in writing this, but people in swat want to live in the dark ages, I think they should be allowed. If Karachi local government wants to set up a university, they should be allowed. Similarly, if people in Swat want to live in a certain way…or the idiots elsewhere want to have certian laws locally, they should be allowed.

But, here is the catch: there should be elections for the local governments, and then the local governments can decide rules and regulations specific to their customs and region.

Of course, basic rights (education, work, right to shave, walking without burqua) should be part of the feneral law: i.e. each man 9or woman) is legally permitted to shave….etc

Besides that, let these swatis and stupidos screw themselves up by having the so-called shariat law.

133. balma on February 7th, 2009 @ 3:10 am

And, KabirDas, while you enjoy your weekend reading philosophical stuff, I will like to remind you that I never thought that thongs cause chubhan in front. They are pretty wide in front (step into some ladies undergarment shop in Murree if you can to have a more detailed look!), it is the string that comes from behind that I find deadly and that gives me jhurjhuree:-)

And,leather? Bhai jan, leather kay thongs izzat-daar aurtai’n nahi’n pehentee’n!
    Kahaa’n aanaa jaanaa hae, aaj kal?

134. kabirdas on February 9th, 2009 @ 12:04 am

@ Balma

Sir, always think twice before arguing with Kabir Das on such or any other matter:-) Please look at the latest designs of Thongs such as Brazilion thongs and then let me know why an ordinary mortal like Kabir Das wouldn’t feel Chubbhan at the front. Once you have had a look at the latest trend of Thongs please admit your ignorance of this subject here on KMB:-)
    I did spend two excellent days in solitude; hiking, reading and thinking about philosiphical stuff like why wear thongs at all when they reveal all and hide nothing:-)

135. kabirdas on February 9th, 2009 @ 12:22 am

@ Balma

Sir, once I did step in a ladies garment shop not in Murree but in Islamabd. I didn’t find any thongs there. I did find host of Hijabs/Nikabs of latest designs. Some of these designs were such that Kabir Das felt a strange jhurjhuree all over his body. He quickly got out of this show room blaming not the design of these Hijabs/Nikabs for this strange jhurjhuree which he felt but his tender age:-)

Balma bhai please remember that in all cases from Thongs to Nikab you will find:

Ishq ka zooke nizara muft maiN baDnam hay
    Husan khood baitab hay jalway dikhany kay liay

136. wasiq1 (wasiq) on February 9th, 2009 @ 2:04 am

apna cable guy toh seriously pressure main agiya hai….na maloom ab kis hotel ki aaiee…tamaam hotel malikan se guzarish hai kay woh overdue insurance premium jaldh ada kardein aur ziyada se ziyada homeless people ko khana khilaein…shukria.

Uss ney jab mujh se kiya ahhaad ay wafa aahista…