Port Grand Retail & Entertainment Complex

Yesterday I received an email from a friend about the most awaited food street of Karachi which is still under construction. If i recall correctly the place has been under construction since quite a few years under the Nati Jetty bridge. With this the curious I thought of investigating. I took the only clues that i had to further investigate (the email from a friend). On further investigation I found that Port grand a US based company is working on this project and it was expected to get completed in 2006 but for unknown reasons they are almost 3 years behind the project deadline.
I am fond of street mAAlish (Massage) so last month when I reached for mAAlish at Natty Jetty I found that all mAAlishiyas were gone and people were not allowed to stand on the bridge. Upon asking a ranger jawan who was standing alert at around 3AM in the morning he replied that the TPO(Town Police Officer) imposed this ban.
From the email and the investigation done, i guess it looks like we should expect an opening of Grand food street in the near future, or my gut feelings are incorrect and it is just another way of getting BATTHAs from poor mAAlishiyas.
Below is the link about project details
http://www.grandleisure.com/GrandLeisureCorporation/photos/photo8.html

Honestly I thank God that it did not even started…..otherwise I could be under so much pressure today just to have a tikka….waisey beachluxury kay hotey iss ki zaroorat samajh main nahein aate…sasta woh karein gay nahein kay public aaay….aur rich log itni dur without a reason aaein gay nahein….and than there is the port smell…open main toh mashallah…!
waisey main yeah nahein key raha kay nahein hona chahiyeah……hona chahiyeah….takay agar khuda na khawasta….US consul waley ghusay main bolaein toh wapsi main cool down karney ka lian kuch der rokney ki American place toh ho….!
kab nazar me.n aayegii bedaaG sabze kii bahaar
Khuun ke dhabbe dhule.nge kitanii barasaato.n ke baad
dil to chaahaa par shikast-e-dil ne mohalat hii na dii
kuchh gile-shikave bhii kar lete munaajaato.n ke baad
[munaajaato.n=prayers]
@ wasiq.
sir my guess is you havent been to place…hum say pochu na..apna tu baju wlai gali hai.
this resturant has one huge bridge runing over it…..i am surprised how it got passes thru health and saftey matters….as khuda na khuwasta if bridge colaspes it will be write on top of it…..me not gogin baba
@ Raja Islam
Sir, is it Nati Jetty or Native Jetty. Oh, to check don’t go back to the email. The email also called it Nati Jetty.
In my humble opinion it is Native Jetty—if you don’t mind.
@Kabirdas Thanks.
I know it is native jetty what’s new in it?
but people know it by name Nati Jetty.
Fasee,
The correct word is Allah-nakhwastah.
KabirDas,
I was in college before I realized it was Native Jetty, and not Naity Jaity!
I wonder if people committing suicide from the old naity jaity bridge will now land in someone’s haleem?
@balma
Lolz…. acually there is one more thing …. People if trying to commit sucide they can have there last great meal . I think there will be some discount offer for them "Aaa janay say pahlay kuch kahaas kha kay janay ka ;)
kahaas? yeh kyaa hae abay? koee bumbay kee dish hae?
the picture with the post says Rotary food court…does it has anything to do with the club..if so than I reserve my comments.
Yahudi bhai, dunyaa mae her cheez toom logo’n kee saazish nahi’n hotee!
@ balma
"I was in college before I realized it was Native Jetty, and not Naity Jaity!"
You are lucky. Your college education did you some good. I came to realize it was native jetty after I finished my college and went into a profession where I learned what a jetty was :-)
I had a friend who did his engineering from NED and then joined the Navy as an engineer. It was there that he learned for the first time that the all important ‘feechuk’ valve of the steam boiler he had been taught about in the college was in fact ‘Feed Check" valve :-)
I also feel that the vegetable which we call ‘Frasbeen’ is a distortion of ‘French Beans’ by the natives :-)
Though not particulary relevent to the subject under discussion I find it a good ocassion to mention that in villages in Punjab people often say ‘bay fazool batin mat karo’ instead of saying ‘fazool baitain mat karo’. The funny thing is what they say sounds correct to my ears :-)
I am just wondering wouldn’t it be a good idea if Kamal Mustafa before the implementation of this project seeks Maulana Soofi Muhammad’s fatwa through Muslim Khan if the said project is Islamic or not. It will save lot of expense and effort on this project if he finds it unislamic and decides to undo it when Taliban reach Karachi. This is what I call good advance planning.
@ balma.
will i be given a gift voucher of 72 nympho sex slaves if i kill this yahudi…:D:D
@ KD
"undo it when Taliban reach Karachi. This is what I call good advance planning."
sir all it needs a bunch of 14 year old horny chaps, who are promised 72 each nymphos to play with to there hearts content….and lo and behold……the hotel will be down the dust
KD,
Seems like you are enjoying the breeze ‘lub-e-daryaa kay kindaaray’?
@fasee sab…..will i be given a gift voucher of 72 nympho sex slaves if i kill this yahudi…:D:D
sir….koi zati dushmani hai ya sirf haram ka lalach…..? main ney sunna hai…othere doodh ka river ho ga….peney pelaney ka system khud invent karna ho ga….aur na maloom kya kya invent and construct karna perday….stop dreaming hell is better….every thing will be cooked and clean…..
btw…allah bhi wohi ho ga aur mulla bhi toh aap ney yeah kaisey imagine kar liya kay….jo cheez yehan nahein milli woh wahan aap ko mil sakti hai…..impossible….let it go!
@ Wasiq
" peney pelaney ka system khud invent karna ho ga…."
Sir, this is one thing about which KD felt concerned and did some research just in case he ends up in Jannat. To his delight he discovered that like parday kay maaqool intizam ki tarah here on earth wohan peenay pilanay ka maaqool intizam ho ga. You won’t have to invent it there. The booze available there is known as ‘ Shirab-e-Tahoora’:-) Prophet Muhammad pbuh apart from being a great reformer, statesman and general was also an expert in human psychology.
A bit of bad news for you sir. Being a lawyer you may have some difficulty in getting in the Jannat just like these Mullas. I am told a guy wanted to get married in Jannat. It took the incharge some months to find a Mulla in the jannat to solominize his Nikah. After some time he wanted a divorce. Again it took the incharge few months to find a lawyer in the jannat:-)
If you want to know anything else about jannat get in touch with KD. He also has a Nuskha for easy entry into jannat which he shares with his friends only so as to have them with him there.
@ balma
" Seems like you are enjoying the breeze ‘lub-e-daryaa kay kindaaray’?"
Well, they are only about 65 miles away now. Thinking of shifting to Karachi to enjoy the ‘Arabian sea kay summandar’ki breeze for a change :-)
@KD sarkar……peenay pilanay ka maaqool intizam ho ga. You won’t have to invent it there. The booze available there is known as ‘ Shirab-e-Tahoora’:-
Iam very sorry sir….you miss understood what I said….my comment was not about the availability of Booze there….lol
Jack and jill went up the hill
to fetch a pail of water
jack fell down and broke his crown
and jill said go to hell you lazy bastard….!
Well, KD, this time when you move to KHI, you will be a legit Muhajir.
Already Mahir Ali in Dawn has hinted upon people moving in large number to India to take refuge from the imminent Taliban onslaught of Pakistan.
So, you have choice….run East to India or south to Karachi.
I was too sad and thinking of future of Pakistan, and thought before it is too late, people should enjoy the freedoms one more time.
Guys and gals, make sure to stop by at Karachi Zoo and the Museum in Burns Gardens. Taleban fanatics think of this as bidat, so they won’t survive a day…will be looted….and sold in Dubai’s black market….Taleban don’t mind making profit from illegal things!
Here is the website for Karachi zoo….Pay you respects one last time to it by going there:
http://www.karachizoo.com.pk/index.html
@Balma jee….So, you have choice….run East to India or south to Karachi.
Sir I donot understand how do you think that anybody has these two choices….Karachi is already burning…..and the rulers of karachi are planning to stop the influx ….India on the other hand treats everybody from this side as the relative of ajmal kassab….I don’t think they would even allow their own citizens visiting pakistan to return…..everybody knows how the talebans brainwash people and make them do things…..I think for people trying to escape the talebans have only one choice….Iran….or maybe china.
The karachi zoo website you introduced is very nice….and interesting…its been ages since I’ve been there because every time I think of visiting its a not allowed day….their visiting days policy is unbelievable…..
Family Days.
Every Tuesday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Monday is observed family days, when only husbands accompanied by their wives and young daughters are allowed to visit the Karachi Zoo. No single male of female is permitted.
Her zulm tera yaad hai bhola toh nahein houn
Aay wada faramosh mein tujh sa toh nahein houn……
@ KD & Wasiq.
" Shirab-e-Tahoora"
( a white transparent liquore, upon drinking it wont affect the mind and wont give nasha )
hmmmm….it just made me remember….have you tried out the non-alocoholic white wine…??…its transparent it white, you drink a whole cask of it and can still walk ina straight line…..so does that mean…
@ wasiq. KD. Balma
i heard somalia ki crime rate pakistan say kum hu giya hai..fasee is trying to get a visiting visa or a resident visa to there.
any one who knows where its embassy in karachi is…??
@fasee sab….non-alcoholic white wine….I think its a scam….by the british ,for the british ,of the british…..its for the desperate housewives……
@wasiq.
are you implying that i am bristish
@fasee sab…..ok let’s ask mr lakhani….he knows a lot of french.
@ Fasee
" a white transparent liquore, upon drinking it wont affect the mind and wont give nasha "
You seem to be talking about some kind of non-alcoholic drink which may be meant for the residents of hell. It will make sure they feel the heat which they are meant to.
" have you tried out the non-alocoholic white wine…??"
I will try it over my dead body!
" you drink a whole cask of it and can still walk in a straight line….."
Exactly. So why drink it ?? If the object is to walk on the straight line then why not drink water which costs nothing.
Remember what W C Field said: Drown in a cold vat of whiskey? Death, where is thy sting?
@ Fasee
" any one who knows where its embassy in karachi is…??"
Sorry, sir. I don’t know any country,let alone Somalia, which has an embassy in Karachi—-at least not yet :-)
@ wasiq
" its for the desperate housewives……"
No it is dsigned for those who are torn between two different worlds. In other words those who perpetually are faced with the question of ‘to be or not to be’. In other words people like—-well forget it. I will not like to lose their friendship by naming them:-)
@KD sarkar….well forget it. I will not like to lose their friendship by naming them:-)
well played sir…!
believe it or not there are over a hundred embassies and consulates in karachi….and somalia is one of them…..countries that donot have even a consulate have a pan wala or chalia(beetlenut) wala as their Honorary counsel ..
@ KD.
"Exactly. So why drink it ?? "
sir are you implying that all thouse wine tasters shud resign and start making french soufflé…??
as every wine, beer,spirit has there own distinct tastes, and are loved or hated for that specific reason……agar nasha was the only reason then the world wud have been satisfied with ol Kuppie….50 rupay ki bottli…why waste a couple grand on the branded stuff.
"I will try it over my dead body!"
sir, i realise you are comparing the orignal wine to non-alocholic as real sex compared to a rubber doll excersie….is it…?? comon..it cant be that bad…??
"I don’t know any country,let alone Somalia, which has an embassy in Karachi—-"
araay nahee sahab..halat abhi itnay bhi buray nahee ( there is a further margin to it )…..there are still a lot of dysfunctional embassys trygin to work here…..abhi do mahinay pehlay i was kicked out of japeenses embassy ( figure of speech, not literrally)…..am anticipating same treatment in thaio embassy next month or so….
@ KD.
"well forget it. I will not like to lose their friendship by naming them:"
THEM….????…..THEM…!!!
and i thought i was just one of a kind….:D:D:D
( and relax sir, you must have known me that much that i dont mind any critisicm, unless it it targeted on my increasing tummy )
@ Wasiq
"there are over a hundred embassies and consulates in karachi…."
Sir, don’t want to argue with a constitutional lawyer but I reckon Consulates yes Embassies no. Embassies are only in my fair city Islamabad the beautiful.
@ Fasee
" i thought i was just one of a kind…."
No, you two are two of a kind as far as sin free drinks are concerned. If you don’t know who the other one is just look around. You will find him scrching his beard looking for a straw.
@ Fasee
" sir, i realise you are comparing the orignal wine to non-alocholic as real sex compared to a rubber doll excersie….is it…?? "
YES !!
" comon..it cant be that bad…??"
Assure you it is worse.
don’t want to argue with a constitutional lawyer but I reckon Consulates yes Embassies no. Embassies are only in my fair city Islamabad the beautiful.
@KD sarkar….sir I don’t like to be called a lawyer….I don’t think like a lawyer…..I consider my self as an expert..one of the best no doubt…taught by the best….and knowing all.
Ps:they called it pco,I would have called it standby…!
about the embassies…politically you are right….but technically a consulate is more useful and permanent. the us was the biggest in asia,now they are digging for a new even better….chinese is huge near the hockey stadium,Russians have five joints large ones…. iam sure you have seem their new place behind the gazishah clifton….saudi is very prominent in defence…..and the british …well they are everywhere except my bathroom…..on second thought there have been a lizard on my bathroom wall since friday evening….(pun intended)
@fasee sab…..I went to the japanese counsulate(embassy) once after opening the sliding doors went in to find this gorgeous young lady…she said *aasoo*
I immediately turned back and left….never to return.(of course Iam making this up…. she was really pretty….but I was playing the come undone game and had already chosen the Bitch,BC unfortunately i never regretted it to this very moment…)
Wow I thought of commenting, but there are already so many! Port Grand has already been erased from public memory
@ Wasiq
" taught by the best…."
KD, the best teacher, doesn’t remember to have taught you :-)
" politically you are right"
I was right, whether politically, technically, ethically or legally is a different matter. Size of a counsalate doesn’t raise its status to an Embassy. Now you are talking like a lawyer sir after having lost the argument:-) Now I woludn’t be surprised if you said that Karachi is the capital of Pakistan because it is bigger than Islamabd almost in all respect :-)
"(pun intended)"
Sorry didn’t get the pun.
KD, the best teacher, doesn’t remember to have taught you :-)
@KD sarkar……so that explains why you are still in pakistan and me not having a home in defence….although i do observe that few plots have been unconstitutionally preserved….there.
Size of a counsalate doesn’t raise its status to an Embassy.
obviously it does not…..but it does send a very clear message that"we mean business…"
Now you are talking like a lawyer sir after having lost the argument:-) Now I woludn’t be surprised if you said that Karachi is the capital of Pakistan because it is bigger than Islamabd almost in all respect :-)
no I wont be talking like a lawyer i would be talking like an opposition leader is I said that….because the capital of Pakistan is in reccession these days in all respect…where as karachi is facing both growth and influx….besides the burning and the looting….
Sorry didn’t get the pun.
sir you are wasting your time.lol
@ wasiq
" you are still in pakistan"
I am in Pakistan by choice, to fight my last battle with Taleban, to sing my swan song.
" karachi is facing both growth and influx….besides the burning and the looting…."
I love Karachi for its contradictions.
I am in Pakistan by choice
I have heard that song a million times before…..love it!
where would you like to go canada or taxas….?
@ wasiq
" where would you like to go canada or taxas….?"
Not me chief ! I will sing my swan song here in Pakistan where I belong.
@KD sarkar…..the swan song by the " within temptations" or by the "Led Zeppelin"….I believe nusrat had an album by that name…also
Btw,KD the best teacher’s favorite subject is….and the one he teaches his disciples is it the same….
Kashmir ki waadee kay woh pur kaif nazarey
uss ney bhi kaie bar apney baal sanwarey….
Wasiq you are a legend man, your first comment totally cracked me up.
@swerveut … Port Grand has already been erased from public memory
what do you mean from the ground or the KMB…..? Iam not sure If you are aware that most of the port activity has been shifted from the karachi port to Bin Qassim and Gwader….environmentally bad industries are closing down from near the karachi port area…..now all we need to do is sell the pakistan Navy to the banana republic of senegal and then I can enjoy my club sandwich and a glass of orange juice lying down as the sun sets in the sea….or do the deep sea fishing on a yacht….and also catch some crabs for my friend fasee sab…..
I for one can never forget something like this or to thank the people for showing us a dream….so good!
@Obi…..sir beauty lies in the eyes of the beholder….thanks anyways!
@ wasiq
" and a glass of orange juice lying down as the sun sets in the sea…."
Is it only a glass of orange juice that you can think of drinking as the sun sets in the sea?????? Sir, do you realize how you make KD laugh and then cry by your such ambitions in life. If laughing and crying all that is there to do for KD at KMB then he may as well move back to IMB. He had shifted from IMB to KMB thinking he will find some enlightened souls here.
@ Wasiq.
"and also catch some crabs for my friend fasee sab….."
@ wasiq.
"and also catch some crabs for my friend fasee sab"
sir when you had said there were no lobsters in karachi, i was taken a back a little, as my boss used to boast the number of lobsters that prick gobbels down in a week ( they say its mana for the libido, but cant confrim)……so fasee stand down till he saw the karachi lobsters with his own eyes…..i did two days ago ( during my leasiure time while being banned form KMB ).
"now all we need to do is sell the pakistan Navy to the banana republic of senegal "
naaaw…they are not intreasted in our vintage boats with water cannons and fire crackers
"Kashmir ki waadee kay woh pur kaif nazarey
uss ney bhi kaie bar apney baal sanwarey"
sir belive me, a woman’s hair are 3rd or 4th in priority list when he is "checking out " some lady ( or a whore ) as while "chekcing out"…like sir KD i have a simlar respcet of both of them…:):)
" went to the japanese counsulate(embassy) once after opening the sliding doors went in to find this gorgeous young lady"
sir, you lucky devil, as i was recevied by a pathan secuirty guard, and later after a series of doors, a old lady ( guess it was silly of me not to understand the feelers they were throwing at me, waqai shareef quom hai japanes bhi )
@ KD
"shifted from IMB to KMB thinking he will find some enlightened souls here"
then i wont be surprised to find you go to local masjid to find some supply of umm-e-khabais aswell…:D
@KD sarkar….sir I am astonished that here Iam dreaming beyond the imagination of not just myself but my whole clan….and you take my preference of a drink so seriously that you consider me unworthy of your delightful company even on a blog…..ok than you suggest what drink would go better with a club sandwich at the sunset….
@fasee sab…..I am very glad to hear this sir that you discovered lobsters in karachi…..are you sure they were caught from near karachi….and not brought from south africa….
yeah navy wali deal ho jai toh pher mein aap kay lian singapore sey singapore airline kay zariyeah garma garam cooked lobster manga doun ga aap apney boss kay samney baith kay aaisey aaisey kar kay khana….
you lucky devil, as i was recevied by a pathan secuirty guard
the security guards used to avoid me as much as possible….in those day….now they have begin to regret it….don’t know why…maybe because now I try to ignore them even more….
@ wasiq
"suggest what drink would go better with a club sandwich at the sunset…."
One beer before it. One with it and one after it. Thats the way my friend men in the north eat their snadwich. And if it happens to be a pork sandwich then double the quantity of the lubricant :-)
@KD sarkar…..so much beer with the sea breeze…may cause chill and cold….I ‘ll be sneezing by 4:00 am …are you sure sir…its the only option available…
@ Kd
"One beer before it. One with it and one after it. Thats the way my friend men in the north eat their snadwich"
and if you are out of sandwich , continue the drill, sandiwch can come laters……like when some body told the sikh football team, bout delay in match cause of unavailability of ball…." oohh jee shuru karrooo khaid…balain andi raiyaan gi"
dats the spirit bro ( pun intended )
@ wasiq
"are you sure they were caught from near karachi"
after seeign them live in a fish tank, fasee got out of his retrograde amneisa, and remembered, boss had close relations with those foreign trawlers that roam into our sea side and mop up all the exotic species and export them all….only a few get to to taste or even see what rare stuff we have like lobsters and king prans…..i havent seen them but my current boss was telling me bout a contact who supply that frsh at your door steps.
@ Fasee
"its the only option available…"
If you are so susceptical to the chill and cold you can try typical English bitter daft beer which is drunk at room temperature but that is not available in Pakistan. What you can do is if you get the chill take double dose of brandy to start off with and then single dose after every 4 hours till the chill goes away or the brandy finishes whichever happens later.
@ Wasiq
Sorry for wrongly addressing the above comments to Fasee.
For you there can be another option also. Lock yourself in a room and don’t sit in the sea breeze. The main thing is you should get your priorities right like W C Field who says:
When he read about the evils of drinking he gave up reading:-)
@ Fasee
" oohh jee shuru karrooo khaid…balain andi raiyaan gi"
Exactly. Now you are catching on to the ‘spirit’ of this game. Snadwich is just an excuse.
@KD sarkar…..Lock yourself in a room and don’t sit in the sea breeze. The main thing is you should get your priorities right
this would only make me a shershah suri the second….who build the GT road when he had no trucks….not even a suzuki pickup….lol
the brandy finishes whichever happens later.
so first I invent the chill and then I defrost myself….I have seen in movies what brandy can do in the freezing cold…..and doing so I may compromise on my club sandwich….and the cool breeze and the setting sun and let somebody else enjoy the labor of my love….wow! what a cool council you are proving your self to be……