City to be de-flagged and de-bannered

Sometimes, you just gotta love CDGK.

No matter how many beautification projects it undertook, for me the city remained an eyesore owing to the flags and banners everywhere. Areas and towns all over the city were owned by political or religious parties by putting up their multi colored flags.

Below are but a few examples:

greennred 19012009001 16012009002 19012009006 200120090021

But according to the CDGK website:

City District Government Karachi has said to citizens especially religious and social organizations to remove the banners and flags installed in the city as they no more fulfill the purpose for which they had been installed or fixed by the concerned organization.

The announcement of City District Government Karachi said that banners and flags fixed in different areas of the city by various political, religious and social organizations and NGOs have now due to the dust and smoke changed into blackish cloths.

It is also mentioned in the announcement that if these banners and flags are not removed by the concerned organization than City Government would itself initiate action for their removal.

Maybe the CDGK can provide impetus to this initiative by removing the ruling party flags and banners first. I cant wait to see how clean and undivided Karachi would look after that.

13 Comments so far

1. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on May 29th, 2009 @ 8:26 pm

Will CDGK also be removing horrible pictures of Altaf Hussain?

2. mqpasta on May 29th, 2009 @ 8:32 pm

Thats good! but the point mentioned by adnansiddiqi is also worthy! :)

3. fasee on May 29th, 2009 @ 8:47 pm

Yeah….remove that kala middelage weirdo, and put some tantilizing katrina kafe poster on everywhere…and prove to the world we are not talibanz

4. zephyr on May 29th, 2009 @ 10:06 pm

@ Adnan, mqpasta, fasee

Are you people suffering from Altaf fobia, Because "Sign of mental health is to rejoice when others succeed, those who feel jealous inside are Mentally Sick."

why can’t you people digest the fact that Altaf Hussain is the greatest leader history has ever produced. It is his thought provoking ideology and teachings on which Haq Parast nazims and councilors are fast bond and serving the citizens of Karachi.

People of Karachi (minus you 3 & some other fanatic, Jealous people)admire and love Altaf Hussain. Even if CDGK or any one removes his picture from streets, it does’nt matter nor it provokes us. His picture is and will always be there glittering in our hearts and souls.

The more you hate our Quaid, the more we love our Quaid. You will loose, we will win. kuen kay fatah hamesha Haq ki hoti hay.

5. mqpasta on May 29th, 2009 @ 10:14 pm

@zephyr
    Probably you misunderstood the things! We believes all Quaids (and so including Mr. Ali Jinnah) are great people for their nations! But being a good nation and good Karachities we should put efforts in order to make our city beautiful.

We appreciate efforts of CDGK in this regard and this step too! Probably, you having opposite phobia :)

6. d0ct0r on May 30th, 2009 @ 2:42 am

Every other day coward NROfied absconding pir Altaf during his long distance sermons through his Polycom Speaker Phone in his typical demonic voice issues fatwa (religious decree) to put up flags of different colors on different occasions,and the irony is that the same CDGK trucks manned by MQMized goons are used to carry out the whole ‘beautification’ exercise.

Taliban is coming so put up black flags all across the city .

Imran is coming so spray paint abusive graffiti in every nook and cranny of the city.

Fake world 2nd best mayor claim and MQMized zealots go haywire and post large banners carrying picture of their Pir affectionately smooching the nazim like a homo.. and so on.

7. fasee on May 30th, 2009 @ 10:22 am

@ doctor,

Say whatever u like bout that bhatta khor MQM leader, but writing baseless crap bout mustapha kamal shows your capability or the lack of it to process and judge how much honest work a guy is doing for this city

8. bekararkhan on May 30th, 2009 @ 1:21 pm

MQM should be disbanded and their goons should be shot on the streets. I’d much rather live under the magistrate/administrator system with PPP at the helm. MQM ke kutoon sab maare jayenge! Mustafa Kamal recently showed how much he hates Pashtuns when he said that all of us are terrorists!

Whatever that imbecile has gotten built has been made of shit quality. All the underpasses are repaired, on an average, around once a week. Flyover design is crap. No thought has been put into merging of lanes or banking on edges. Sorry I don’t want to screw my car and fleet of buses by driving on such shit. Now where is that Muhajir’s family from? Bopal,India? They probably build better flyovers there.

9. d0ct0r on May 30th, 2009 @ 4:18 pm

@fasee

Say whatever u like bout that bhatta khor MQM leader, but writing baseless crap bout mustapha kamal

I am not sure what ticked you off,just be specific when you’re responding to one of my comments,I guess fake 2nd best mayor and being smooched and groped by MQM’s absconding psycho Pir made you upset..

Let me share with you something interesting,equally shocking and startling. A programme called "mulaqatain"(meetings) is aired
    on Samma tv each saturday night in which host Mehr Bukhari interviews famous personalities. On 16th may 09 she was in Karachi
    in connection with an event(samma live) so she also interviewed Mustafa Kamal in his office at civic center. During the interview she recalled that during that ‘fake world 2nd best mayor episode’ a foreign journalist was accompanying her to Samma karachi office situated off chundigar road and that foreign lady journalist saw those larger than life of British MQMized pir snuggling and smooching Mustafa Kamal and she got curious and inquired from Mehr,’do pakistani men really get that intimate with each other?’,Mehr laughed off and replied that she’ll ask about that whenever she met Mustafa Kamal. After hearing the
    whole thing, Mustafa Kamal says "of course I am willing to try it out with any one.." . Host is completely flabbergasted and shocked,she replies, Kamal Sahib do you understand what you are saying..? And Mustafa Kamal nods back. She then quickly tries to change the subject by saying "viewers there you have it from the man himself,we had nothing to do with all that.."

I won’t say anything else. draw your own conclusions..

10. Adnan Siddiqi (adnansiddiqi) on May 30th, 2009 @ 8:29 pm

No I am not suffering from any phobia. It;s just when I compare Atiqa Odho’s pic with Altaf, I am forced to vote Atiqa over Altaf though both are almost same in size and look horrible.

11. fasee on May 30th, 2009 @ 10:46 pm

"What ticked me off"

2nd mayor was definatly one of them…I mean comon yar, what kind of a pethetic loser this nation has become.

Fine he was not the 2nd best mayor, as the competition never happened….but atleast the buffons shud appriciate that kisi pakistani ko unhu na consider tu kiya….but just being the punjabi or patahan rascist like every one of them are, they are busy making it..ke je second tu nai aya.

And I say nai aya huga…per kaam tu ker raha hai….

Ur second point….although arguable….chalo man liya ..he is gay…kush….what’s in it for you or me…shadi kerni thi us say kiya..?

He is here to do a duty, and he is doing it much better than any punjabi pathan or mahajir all of them combined.

Now if he screw a girl or a boy or viseversa is his personal matter which I am not intrested in.

When critisizing others, deviating from subject to petty personal. Affairs is not ethical don’t you think..??

12. d0ct0r on May 31st, 2009 @ 1:22 am

In my initial comment i just mentioned Altaf’s love for this flag business. Obviously i thought ‘smooching’ must have made you sore but now its apparent that you don’t mind the smooches and everything and you’re actually pissed about me mentioning fake claim of 2nd best mayor . Well that drama have been extensively discussed by every one, so i guess its futile to argue bout that all over again..

13. fasee on May 31st, 2009 @ 3:17 am

@ docotor

Yaar, agree that this thingy is a dead horse by now, who has been beatn by every tom dick and harry….so let it be.

On similar lines, that bhatta khor, terrorist altaf, his background, his motives, and his fallings have been known to all….so isn’t it a dead horse already too.

Posting so much, at expense of othr new , current matters, adds to the boredom, don’t you agree…???

"Smoochiness"

Yaar I have grown above. Personal fallings of officials, and am mature enough to understand that what I need from my workers/ staff/ officials is WORK, ab what they DO besides work is there own business…but WORK is my business.

In west there are so many GAY officials…but what ticks them off is there non work or corruption…rest is therer own personal matters.

Hamray yahan ulta case hai.

Benazir ka shaheed hona ka rona peta jata hai..the REAL WORK done by that bitch, if any, is never discussed.

Isi liye tu kehta hoon…sali jahil qoum hai