Eating ‘out’ karachi

Few days ago, I went to an outlet of Nandos in Karachi to try their new offering Espeteda Rustica. I guess it is the best of what they have to offer. I had to eat it so I ordered it though I found it little out of budget. I then tried to calculate how much the whole big meal would have cost the restaurant, obviously much less.

The catch is that the best and most frequent entertainment for Karachites is eating out. Those who can afford to indulge themselves to high-end restaurant pay heaps of moolah without thinking that money can be utilized on better things or maybe for a cause like Karachite blogger Fariha mentioned sometime back. We need to bring in the awareness of civic responsibility, and not as a trend but as a habit. For that we also need better avenues of entertainment where we can have intellectual dinners.

With rate of physical and mental obesity getting at rise, one should start thinking Gluttony as a REAL sin. I have started it to acknowledge this finally or say trying to.

ps: Mom-ka-kahana-is-the-best!

37 Comments so far

1. bukhari on January 13th, 2010 @ 5:29 pm

you just made me drop my plans to go to Nandos by your post.. :)

2. balma on January 13th, 2010 @ 8:32 pm

Qaum jub McDonald aur KFC khaayae gee, tou moTee hee ho gee!
    Stay away from junk food chain and coke/pepsi etc.

Burger baradari: KFC and McDonald are junk food, not a status symbol! Idiots!

3. Kabir Das (unregistered) on January 13th, 2010 @ 9:45 pm

Balma Jee, aap kis dunia main rahatay hain? Iss baychari quom ko pahlay normal weight tau gain karnay do. Ous kay baad motay honay kay baray main sochain gay:-)

4. shamsi (unregistered) on January 13th, 2010 @ 11:27 pm

come any day there is going to be ADDITIONAL Tax on Foreign Food chains operating in Pakistan. YES in addition to the CED (19.25%).

Eating out be it road side BBQ outlet or fine dining in a resturant, an average per head check ranges from 250 to 1700.00 which is approx a labor’s day pay and or weekly allowance of contract labor in some factory.

I agree with R.L on the subject, spend on a greater cause, instead of stuffing & overloading the stomach.

do charity quietly for sake of forgiveness from supreme one, try & adopt a simpler easier life style.

5. balma on January 14th, 2010 @ 3:12 am

Kabir Das?
    Will the real Kabir Das please stand up?
    Maharaj, will you give us some indication that you are the true Kabir Das here?

6. Kabir Das (unregistered) on January 14th, 2010 @ 9:05 pm

@ Balma

Balma Jee: The ‘real’ Kabir Das died few centuries back amid the controversy whether he was a Hindu or a Muslim.
    This Kabir Das may not be able to stand up like before for reasons well known to you. Still he is willing to provide you the proof for his being the true Kabir Das. Now say what should be the nature of this proof???

7. balma on January 14th, 2010 @ 10:30 pm

Lakhani,
    If your mom is desi, her khaanaa is not necessarily the best. Desi food is not the best. It is mostly harmful to your health.

Kabir Das Sahib, please register by creating an account here so we take care of this confusion.

Mansoor

8. kabirdas on January 14th, 2010 @ 11:38 pm

@ Balma
    “Kabir Das Sahib, please register by creating an account here so we take care of this confusion.”

Is that ok now ???

9. balma on January 15th, 2010 @ 8:39 am

Bingo, KD Sahib!

10. Raheel Lakhani (raheel07) on January 15th, 2010 @ 10:30 am

Balma, my mom makes tasty food without ample amounts of fat so don’t worry. We have a two spoon of oil theory and moderate spices.

11. zapkid on January 15th, 2010 @ 10:47 am

@ Lakhani

Bhia jab ajj kal ke new Mom he yeh kaheen ke bahir chal ke khana khate hain to phir ham kia kar sakte hain :)

but i duly agree with you we(14) went to sajjad ( on highway ) last week and it costed 580 per head, week before that we had a get together locally that costed 400 per head , the food was hygienic, tasty well cooked and every one had their belly filled

12. kabirdas on January 15th, 2010 @ 5:19 pm

@ Zapkid
    How did you know the food was hygenic ?? Did you visit their kitchen or something??

13. kabirdas on January 15th, 2010 @ 5:27 pm

@ Raheel Lakhani

Mrs KD once employed a cook who left the job after couple of weeks on the ground that she was not letting him use enough oil to prepare tasty curry.
    The two spoon oil theory, therefore, in certain cases may be a difficult proposition.

14. balma on January 15th, 2010 @ 7:42 pm

I believe excessive use of piyaaz (onions) in desi cooking is the main culprit.

15. Shamsi (unregistered) on January 15th, 2010 @ 10:49 pm

Desi cooking always have onion and garlic, without which curry is never curry. Or else cook in coconut milk as in southindia, srilanka, burma,.

It is not about cooking it is about HOW MUCH MONEY WE SPEND EATING OUT.

In no way eating out is healthy neither physically nor financially.

diesel mixed filtered engine oil is used in cooking at hotels along highways. they sell dead poultry and sick lamb & cows paying the price half the price we pay when we buy live animal for slaughter.

KD & BALMAY you 2 alif noon are great topic driffters :) welcome back

16. Shamsi (unregistered) on January 15th, 2010 @ 10:53 pm

on other note – all 30+ readers who LOVE eating out (or i shall say deprieved of home cooked meal) can have there blood chemistry tested, if there is food reflux, acidity, heavyness in stomach, or feel heavy headed in under 1 hour of eating out.

17. firstofficer (unregistered) on January 16th, 2010 @ 5:53 am

@Shamsi saab i really liked the way you mention about petroleum products in food , i guess we must advise them to use ethonel mixed filtered oil because it’s natural and green for enviorment and i don’t think the word health can be used here ….

18. balma on January 17th, 2010 @ 1:45 am

Shamsi, I don’t meet the age criteria….so I guess I can eat out as much as like.

19. Shamsi (shamsi) on January 17th, 2010 @ 1:40 pm

Balmay

your youthful approach (to blog & real life may be) always expressed that you are still on Parent support program So enjoy as much before you get MARRIED and lose your support program Freedom,

I envy you dude :)

20. zapkid on January 17th, 2010 @ 9:31 pm

@kabirdas

it was home made :)

21. kabirdas on January 18th, 2010 @ 9:50 pm

Balma Jee likewise the age criteria doesn’t apply to KD. But unfortunately he still can’t out. He hasn’t been weaned yet.

22. kabirdas on January 18th, 2010 @ 9:56 pm

@ Zapkid
    Oh, I see. You mean the food was prepared by unprofessinal hands. How could then it be tasty ?

23. Shamsi (shamsi) on January 18th, 2010 @ 10:32 pm

zapkid wakeup, contradicccccctorrryyy statments :) Sajjad @ Highway & home made … u mean to say you 14 guys did the party at Sajjad by carrying homecooked food…. correct me please, KD & BALMAY tickle us please

24. zapkid (unregistered) on January 19th, 2010 @ 9:46 am

hold your horses ppl

lets revamp

@kabirdas the food was made at home by the respective mom’s of the families … i don’t think it would be “unprofessinal ”

@ Shamsi [contradicccccctorrryyy statments] hmmmmmm

“we(14) went to sajjad ( on highway ) last week and it costed 580 per head, week before that we had a get together locally that costed 400 per head”

i thought i said we went to sajjad and before that we had a get together

(repeating the lines ) lolz

25. kabirdas on January 19th, 2010 @ 5:36 pm

@ Zapkid
    “i don’t think it would be “unprofessinal ”
    Well in that case of course not uless they charged you Rs 400 each or made you wash the dishes after the meal in lieu:-)

26. kabirdas on January 19th, 2010 @ 5:40 pm

KD for some good reasons considers ‘home made tasty’ food as an oxymoron.

27. balma on January 19th, 2010 @ 8:08 pm

Shamsi, I am not your type. Perhaps KD is, and may be he can take care of your fancies for tickle!

28. Shamsi (shamsi) on January 19th, 2010 @ 10:18 pm

balma i hope u are feeling well. :) such a wise sober tone doesn’t suits u, I pray you get well and better soonest.

29. kabirdas on January 20th, 2010 @ 12:14 pm

@ Shamsi
    I take it as a compliment. However, I had not realized you will be so ticklish:-)

30. fasee (unregistered) on January 24th, 2010 @ 8:07 pm

my offical strae=tegy

i luv come cooked meals.
    i order those things when in hotel which i cant have ever in my won house
    i get shocked when people order biryani, daal, kabaab ya chicken karhai when outside

abay why dont you order such things that can not be made to such leveks inside your own home

like oven cooked pamfert, lobsters, steaks, flame grilled chiken, balochi sajji, dumbukht, soups, many kind of BBQs ( as bbq inside own house although wonderfull,m needs so much logistcial pains…its better buying from outside )

31. kabirdas on January 24th, 2010 @ 8:50 pm

@ Fasee
    Nice to see you back on KMB. Only today I enquired about you from Wasiq. I hope you are in good health and enjoying the exotic dishes mentioned by you. You do have a point in regard to eating out run of the mill dishes but what do you do if you can’t get even these dishes at home prepared at the same level as in a restaurant. This is the case with KD. He therefore goes out often to eat just daal and roti. Mrs KD says time spent in kitchen is time wasted.

32. fasee (unregistered) on January 24th, 2010 @ 9:00 pm

@ KD

sir, if u had asked for me earlier, i wud have been heree much earlier…as i said..i roam around…just dont comment..not even the board i dont mention here or anywhere…:):)

as for the rule, if you cant find it at home in decent levels you can buy or you shud buy form hotel…..

sir pls re-concider this rule…if applied by all…tu baat buhat door tak chali jai gi…

what if many people dont get a decent job inthe bedroom done to perfection by either side…wud any of the party order a sheeshkabab or a tuny sandwich form outside…??

or if kids dont find there parents upto there standards..can they kick em out and or leave to find some eligible couokles who can handle there tantrums…??

pls enlighten a perosn already sinking in ocean of dperession, chaos, depsair, anger and all other such owrds in the dictionary.

guess i am goging thru a burnt out phase….will recover soon…just need to get m,y mojo running back into my system

33. Shamsi (shamsi) on January 24th, 2010 @ 9:06 pm

Allah ap dono ko apni HIFZ-O-Aman mai rakhay, I wish and pray K ap loug apni iss Options eating at home or out ki desperation mai kisi G-hadi tanzeem ka hiss na baan jaayan. jo Ghar mai mil jai Allah ka shukar ada kar k kha leya karoo :) ! and one more thing, Brush your teeth before going to bed :)

34. Shamsi (shamsi) on January 24th, 2010 @ 9:08 pm

FASEE, ap ki is last 2 para situation ko parh kar mai dukhi ho gaya houn

35. Hamid (unregistered) on January 24th, 2010 @ 9:45 pm

Assalaam Alaikum,

One thing for sure, people were more very keen to make replies to taunts, avoid that and we might come to conculsion, 2 spoon oil theory rocks, I think we can cook good food without oil, and if we really want to see that it is working or not you have to give yourself at least 3 to 4 months to really get it right and make it tasting good coz we

36. Hamid (unregistered) on January 24th, 2010 @ 9:48 pm

***in continuation, sorry hit the submit button by mistake*****

are used to cooking with a lot of oil.

eating out is not bad if not done on regular basis, by the way i totally agree that, we can get all the goodies from the market and cook good at home, if you dont know how to cook it like the hotel, try googling it, you can find any sort of information on the net, belive me it is going to be worth it.

cheers…..

37. fasee (unregistered) on January 24th, 2010 @ 10:05 pm

@ shamsi…

sir thanks for the nice feelings..relax…they cant put me down for long…lol

@ hamid
    agreed….gogle is a god send…..i learnt to make excelletn french fries after googling it…oterhwsie i was making them for last 2 decades with no changes