Chappals not allowed.
Now RR is a club for elite in Defence and no one with chappals (slippers) are allowed. If you want your drivers to eat at your party for which you have paid yourself, beware they will be asked NOT to enter by the management if they are wearing chappals; only formal shoes allowed. On this someone at the party which I attended said, rules are rules and I was like yeah how rude. Finally the hosts managed to get their drivers in but that left me thinking that it is so easy to humiliate others and create class divide. Quaid ka Pakistan – no unity, pride and indiscipline!
sick shit mentality of some upper class a***
thats what it is
to invent stupid ideas, in order to make them look from rest of society is a sick mentality that has been there for ages.
Our burgers been no different are of same “mentality”
ignore em
look different**
yoda cant find any reason for making an issue if some people want to have adress code applied, at it is in all classes n catagories
Middleclass-
office restrict shalwar kameez to jumma, and t shirts for sundays only
lower middle class
faizan-e-madina restrict attadee to wear green pagire, white kurta pajama, and abrown shawl, and two green jhandiz.
si i dont find any dress code restriction an issue, so plz dont label it as an upper class mentality issue
This law is not new at RR, me and my friends had a scuff with them regarding this issue couple of times in the past, since then we have stopped going there altogether. But i think its their club rule and i see no problem if they implement this for all.
Rules defines society and represents its values.
in yoda’s opinion RR is not a club for elite.
whenver yoda visits, it is crowded by middle classiyaz or upper middle class people.
havent seen any elite there…..its memebrship when i last checked if i properly remember was around 2.5 ya 3.5 something…but taht 1 yr back.
but it wud be hardly above 4 at any cost.
it has poethetic services, pethetic building and adjoining areas….there are way better clubs in this city available for people.
that amount will give me a two year tution for a degree. if it’s not elitist then what else. I don’t know about crowd’s mentalities but yes they surely have moolah.
@ RL
money is so cheap these days, even the cheapest of MBA universites whose degrees are not worth teh paper they are printed on…cost 2 lakh now a days.
nice clubs start anywhere above 5 lkh..and go to around 10 or higher…that elites roam around in….or maybe there wud be more priceir ones above 10 lk that i havent known or visited.
i have gone to some prettty humble clubs in around the city ( not defence or clifton) and they all asked me 2 lakh…munh phaqar ke…and it used to make me laugh…abay shakal dekho apnay club ki…2 lakh….my chappal…..2 lakh me koi side ka flat na lay loon to be used as a side love nest hidden form aal the radars
Yoda
Flat in 2 lakh?
@ doctor
sir if you remember, not in distant past, you could have bought easily a flat for 2 to 2.5 lakh, albiet of modest proportions.
reh gai current scenario…tu yaar pora na sahee…down payment dey ke posession tu lay hi saktay hain na…..dont you watch TV…booking sirf 50 hazar say, us ke baad sirf 5 hazar mahana..apna ghar banayain…
or else…for poepel with tighter budgets…there is always a concept of pooling…when 2-4 people with light purses but stronger hormoines,, pool tehre resources to rent a flat and use it on turn basis…maintence and rent are shared
@ Raheel: I think this has to do with rules of formality. People using the club should be properly dressed with close-toed shoes. Maybe I have too much of a firangi dhimaag, but I don’t see anything wrong with this rule. The club is a facility made for people who can pay to use it. And if they want to maintain some etiquette in their premises, what is wrong with it? Obviously, if this was a social service hotel or something which allowed everybody’s drivers and maids in, it would not remain a club now would it?
Call it elitist, however, this is the way capitalism works. Our only way to bridge the class divide is to try provide equal opportunity for education and health. Thats only how far it can go. Recreation will always remain segregated between the haves and the have-nots. Otherwise, you have communism.
If a person who paid for the service wants his drivers to have dinner on his own expense then what. Should that fellow remain hungry while waiting in parking just for the sake of etiquette, forget recreation.
@ raheel.
sir, now you are being unfair……in this scenario…when decent families are there eating or hanging out, some guy wants to let in his driver, with a hulya we all can imagine what he wud have….to sit in between and eat.
sir…if the guy was that much diyalo..he wud have given the driver a proper dress…that i see many who either give them a proper uniform or a pent shirt and boots….now a days only the ragtag types let there drivers keep the shalwar kameez, khula button, cigrate hath me and peshawri chapal.
so its better to kee such people out…
even when visitors vist any house…there is never these drivers are let in the house…they are all used to eat outside inteh car….isnt it…??
so i dont find anything serious in this…so lets not make it a class issue when its not…its an etiquete issue
it was a private get-together, not about bowling alley madness. why not let them be the way they are.
@ rahell.
so where wud you draw the line here…
why chappal…what if another one had a driver wearing a dhotti….or a phati purani kameez…or a shirt full of stains……….wud u let them in…??
or wud you stop them for being inapropriatly dressed…if so…then who have given u the authority to decide whats appropriate and whats not..??
offcourse we al have our own lines…and if the other guys line is shorter, he is ocnsidered conservative and elitist..and if the line is longer then he is considered too lieneitent or carefree
wearing chappals doesn’t count in inappropriate dressing. why do you then wear on eid or get a good pair for hang ten. shoes on kurtas is not appropriate dressing for me.
@ raheel.
well its a matter of relativity….u might not have any issue wid chapals…there are many who dont have an issue wid dhottiz….there is a neighbour some houses away….family is flithy rich..but there old father still loves to move aorund in dhoti and banyaan…such a scnce he makes..lol….
as for chappals..agreed we all wear them…but as u rightly said..on eid..right..
dats yoru answer…everythign is considered suitable when done at approtiate times and places.
i am very comfy in my night suit..or bathwrobe….but they have there own places and time when to use them….same goes for bermudas, cargoes, shorts etc etc…..ab night suit pehean ke ajaon club…aur behas karoion..ke is me kiay burani hai ..rooz raat ko bhi tu pehanta hon bedroom mai…??
what if someone comes in his undies..saying me tu yehi pehan ke ghomta hoon….dosron ko problem, hu tu hu..jahanum me gai rules, mujhay yehi pasnad hai.
sir, if her koi aponi pasand kerna lagay tu society jungle bun jati hai
No I wear sandals whenever I am wearing a kurta. Your imagination is quite high. You need some breathing.
First, I wear nice shoes with Kurta Pajama. Second, Fussy stop degrading our clothes, third most Pakistanis I won’t let them in any club I start. Whether they were waring shoes, chappals, or flippers.
Most Pakistanis are too budtameez, budtehzeeb, rude, impolite, chore and stupids.
Thanks,
Balma
whats wrong if there are certain rules to be followed.
people are noisy ill-mannered, higher the (monetary) status lowest the mannerism.
RL, stop bitching about their policy and buy your driver a nice pair of shoes, he can keep those shoes in car and use them when ever its required. same kind of dress code is applied in our assemblies where all of our beloved Bleep Bleep politicians wear shoes with shalwar kameez. enough with chapals guys we need to have dress codes in more places.
@ muzz.
aap woh keh gai jo marawat me hum na keh sakay
Good Lord! Karachi is one of the largest and one of the most important cities in the world right now, and look at what we’re talking about! There are a gazillion pakka Karachi issues that can be discussed here and we’re talking about your driver’s chappals. Disappointed. *tsk tsk tsk*
P.S. The only couple of times I have been there, I had my chappals on and they didn’t stop me. And ohoye, elitist? lol.. 3-4 middle-class laRkay hi hotay haiN wahaaN, terrible service, and not to forget the horrible background music.
@ booyaksha,
thats exactly what i said to them, RR is certainly NOT an eliteist club…its a middle class hang out….or an upper middle class at max…havent seen any elite there…..
and yes, the services is bad, building is pethetic, needs alot of maintencce…and shud drop there memebership charges if they waan attract some more middle classiye….coz they are not worth 2-3 petti of moolah
Some clarifications:
1. This post is not about whether the club is for elites or not, it is about the discriminatory rules of the club.
2. I am not a member at that club :p
3. I don’t have anything against someone being elite, but some mindsets do disturb me and they aren’t really limited to a particular classes. I am not an alien :D
I am just wonderig if this club would have let Gandhi Jee in with his usual attire :-)
Lakhani
hold your horses, calm yourself. A private club means certain bye-laws to be enforced.
which school you attended. assuming thats it was a private school, why was it that while PT shoes were mandatory on games day., why brown shoes had to be worn with a brown belt, why black laced shoes ?? why not slip ons.
try and go inside a mosque with your slippers on., what is masjid ? not a club ofcourse, a place where musalman gather to offer their prayers. Under defined rules of gathering,
It is just like playing cricket without groin shield :)
Grow up, making noise just because some rules are enforced at all levels, is only nuisance.
Like pee bubbles in urinal.
@ RL
1) RR being an elite club or not was implied.
2) as for rules being discreationray…nope…the rules are for everyone….if there was any diffrent set of rules for diffrent people..onyl THEN it wud qualify as discreationry
3) mindsets…so you are agsint the mindsets only..or the factors who generate such mindsets.
1. If you think it is implied then if you can afford a membership to any such club you are better than most of the Pakistanis, see the bigger picture.
2. They are discriminatory in their nature because they are blind.
3. Both.
@ RL
1) ironicly my friend, if there is a thing that we can afford, it becomes less of an elitist thing….jo cheez hasil hu jai wo qadar khoo deti hai…yes i see the 8mm picture
2) rules n laws being BLIND are the best n ideal case….rules when open one eye and close another causes the real probelms…
3) so can you point out some factors in here…:D:D
Don’t drag this lakhani, its a pity being Pakistani we never accept others opinion and keep bragging about our own thought.
In my office there’s a rule that you need to drop your shoes , chappal, sandal etc. on the door stand before you enter premises. Me, my staff and all visitor follow this rule….quiet simple!
So if they had certain rules over there then its important that people should follow them ( no matter how ridiculous they are ), else make your own club and rules…