Oh Really???

Image092.jpg
Look whose talking. Have we forgotten the year 1995?? Dead bodies found in sacks? Torture cells? Or are we just too dumb to ignore the terrorism??
I remember, back in 1995, the holy month Ramzan, my aunt and her son (An engineering student) were slaughtered in Karachi, in the name of racism and politics. The other son went into trauma seeing blood flowing from the door of the room.
(Husband, who was working abroad when came to Karachi and due to life threats left the country forever along with the ailing son)
Ten years down, the poor boy is still in a sanitarium.

… And they talk of no-violence!
Ha, times may have changed but mentality remains the same.

85 Comments so far

1. MB (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 12:50 pm

Yeah Unaiza, this is REAL world. Pictures/posters/banners like these often make me laugh and then cry at times. And the perfect line to say then is the one you said: “Look who is talking”.

It’s ironic that since there is no concept of principles political, moral, religious or otherwise in our society people do become hero’s one day and corrupt the other. One of the culprits in that case is the people who make them such which includes 160 million souls, directly or indirectly contributing into it somehow, sometimes may be not knowing it and some times being a part of it.

A man, Mr. Altaf is preaching what he could never follow. A man, Mr. Musharraf does the same. Men like those up the slot and down to the rickshaw driver and the chokeedar, all do the same. Preaching what they cannot follow. Every society has it but we, unfortunately has it more. The religious ones have it in extreme.

And if you look outside your country, International relations have it too. USA preaches what it doesn’t follow. And so does all major powers. But they do it with others and seldom have they done it with their own people. We are unfortunate to be doing it more among ourselves then others.

Having said all this, it’s a good sign at least they have put the banner there. It would look more meaningful and practical had they asked Altaf bhai to quit as a sign of a man of actions than words. Again a man, Mr Yasir Arafat, once labeled as enemy was hailed as hero and peace maker, but when he denounced terror. Such is the complexity of international affairs but ours should be pretty easy. We know by now who is what. It would be better if Mr. Nawaz, Benazir-Zardari co, the religious ones & Altaf bhai rest and let a new blood come in. Otherwise you should never be surprised if you see the army pitched against the MQM again on the streets. Let’s hope and pray, which is the only thing at our hands right now.

2. Adnan Mansoor (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 1:18 pm

Hypocrisy, what else?

3. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 1:40 pm

Unaiza calm down yourself will you? I seriously belieeve you lack a lot in different issues.

The things between 92-95 was not ONLY due to MQM only. I think you would be older enough at that time that you can recall one name “Nasirullah Babar” that moron is still free and no case was filed against him, reason? well yet another Army guy. I spent a big part of my life in nazimabad and I knew how few of my mohalla guys were captured just because they were associated with MQM. That’s bullshit!

Next time when you make post then refrain making general statments. The incidents between 92-95 were main reasons I quit supporting MQM but It doesn’t mean I sound ignorant enough that I forget how Nawaz with Army made a split between Altaf and Amir and then started an operation in Karachi.

4. fAr stAr (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 2:18 pm

its all dirty politics…and the sufferers r always the common men. thats really a pity.

5. Hamid (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 2:48 pm

Unaiza,
    I complletely emphathise at the sad fate of your aunt and cousin. However, the era you refer to was a black chapter in the history of this city. The government had launched an iron fist type approach, believeing, that, voilence would stem voilence. Regretfully, it had the opposite effect!
    Today we live in a growing metroplis with many of it problems. However, I truly believe the local establishment (with all its shortcomings), is working towards a possitive goal. There are issues offcourse, a city of over 15 million people, different ethnic races, its a cultrual melting pot.
    Sadly, we’re very quick to bash this country, but painfully slow to volunteer our services in any for for its prosperty.These blogs are clearly indicative of the abundance of able people, yet the local volunteer organisations are unreflective of their existence.
    I believe john F. Kennedy said it best, ‘Ask not what ur country can do for you, but what u can do for your country’!!!

6. mahajir_pride (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 2:48 pm

shudda hell up…. ya dunno jack… go n find out bout 92-93 operation first n den talk bout 95!

7. mez (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 3:07 pm

cool down adnan …pakistan is made for Army generlas..why only 92 operation wat abt 71,74 baluchistan operation,82 zia sindh operation ,vanna,bajur list just goes on..our Pak Army is only capable enuf to kill his own ppl

8. Karachiite (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 3:25 pm

Unaiza, I sympathise with you but as Adnan pointed out we need to get the facts straight. The people in Karachi seem to want to avoid mentioning the whole affair out of politeness but I will say it frankly.

The Pakistan army attacked Karachi in 1992 to exterminate the biggest political party representing the people of Karachi. Karachi & MQM were victims of large scale slaughter that was perpetrated on the people of Karachi, mainly Muhajirs. Between 1992 and 1999 15-20,000 people were killed, mostly young men, not unlike to those who visit this blog. There are thousands of people in Karachi who lost loved ones.

In the process Karachi was systematically and deliberately destroyed. Pakistan’s economy was crippled and in 1999 Pakistan was a beggar country.

The blame for this outrage goes to those sitting in Rawalpindi. They are responsible for this civil war but no one will ever be held accountable and punished. These people have been responsible for killing Bengalis, Palestinians, Baluchis, Sindhis, Muhajirs, and now they’re killing Pathans. Only Punjab has been exempt. Our beloved Pakistan army has killed 10 times more Muslims than the Indian army.

So don’t blame the victim, blame the aggressor. Karachi is barely recovering from the hell it had to go through.

If anything, I commend the MQM and the people of Karachi for staying loyal to the country and coming back to normal despite what was done to them.

9. Faisal (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 3:46 pm

The MQM?

How anyone can side with this pathetic excuse for a political party is beyond me.

10. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 3:48 pm

Karachiite, yeah I still remember those nights when I used to hear azaans of people and striking rods with electric poles so that they don’t hear ugly voice of firing.

11. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 3:52 pm

Faisal: calm down bunty, noone is favoring MQM but rejecting MQM means saying any baseless things in the name of MQM then it’s pretty disgusting.

12. Truth (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 4:13 pm

Fuck the army. Fuck MQM.

We’ll all be relatively safer without both of them around.

13. MB (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 4:48 pm

mera kia kasoor hai Unaiza ? Held for moderation ?

14. Mona (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 5:55 pm

I was in primary back in those years, and yeah we had miss school lots. Was looking forward to being there - but pretty turned off now :@

15. Haseeb A (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 5:59 pm

Unaiza’s right. Karachitte, get your facts straight.
    Oh and btw, what happened to the majority of the police officers and other law enforecers who took part in the karachi operation? Zinda kon hay un may say abhi.. almost all have been killed!

And dont forget they killed Hakeem Saeed. How can a guy sitting in UK with their nationality, running away with murders, surviving on MI6’s aid and zabardasti ka ‘chanda’ from karachi be still LOYAL to Pakistan and its people?

Yeh to apnay hi bando ko marwa daita hay… suna nahi, “Quaid (Altaf) ka jo ghaddar hay, Moot (death) ka haqdar hay!!”. And they have proven this many a times!

16. Original-Anon (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 6:00 pm

Not ‘whose talking’ but ‘who is talking’ or ‘who’s talking’ if you must use a contraction.

17. Anathema (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 6:07 pm

Unaiza: ten years in this city right?

really. you DO need to get a lot of your background sorted.

i will not say more. except that most of the janaazas i remember were lifted in multiples from every house in azizabad. it wasnt teh only area. there were lots more. my friend’s son fell prey to a rocket: the highly criticised evet of boat basin.

why point fingers? i remember nasrullah babar. and his verbal defences.

missy. please. either dont post nonsense. or get ure facts in order.

its a sincere plea, request and advice to you. seriously. ure not gaining much request with ure posts here. and i for one, being an old metblog reader, am not biased at all. but u madamme are seriously not building any credibility for ureself.
    please. go back to the era of 1990-1996. read up papers and magazines everyday dated those six years. and come back

meanwhile. will someone be sane enough to delete this post? this post wont do anyone any good. and im im not pro MQM or any political aprty no matter what people may believe.

please mods/ umar. i know unaiza has written this but please: for this blog’s sake. delete this post. this one is seriously not coming through as very good a post.

18. K G (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 6:18 pm

@ unaiza.. dear i dont understand one thing why do u post about those political parties? i mean its like putting ur life in danger..and besides its not gonna get u anywhere ..so why bringing politics to this site?its my sincere request to u that plz donot put yourself in danger by writing about those ppl..you never know who is reading.just wite about the nice and postitve things ,as we live far away from khi.so definetely wud luv to hear something GOOD.

19. Karachiite (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 6:28 pm

The army killed Hakim Saeed in order to discredit the MQM. They were also going to kill Maulana Edhi but someone warned him so he escaped to London. In London Edhi held press conferences where he alleged that informers had told him that the army was going to kill him in order to blame the MQM.

The map of “Jinnahpour” was drawn by a brigadier. It disappeared as suddenly as it had appeared.

There was a long, long list of lies that were told to justify atrocities. Exactly the same methods are being used nowadays to demonize Muslims all over the world. No wonder. The people waging the “War on Terror” were the same people who trained the Pakistani agencies.

20. Imran (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 6:39 pm

We all sorry for your loss and everyone’s loss during 90’s. Life is a precious thing which we all forgotten. Lets make Karachi a better place to live away from those nasty politics so our children can live better life than we did. Forget PPP, MQM, PML, MMA & army be a human & true muslim first.

21. Uffam (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 7:06 pm

Unaiza Bibi……
    U cant deny that mqm speaks against landlords!
    U cant deny they speak in favor of moderation and against sectarian violence!
    U cant deny that they raised voice against provincial quotas in educational institues!
    U cant deny that they speak in favor provincial autonomy!……that they raised their voice agst karo-kari, and wre the first few to raise voice in favor of women rights bill…can you?
    As for the violence, enuf have already been said that ne one associated with the party was exterminated…….! step into other person’s shoes and empathize and then u might see a picture in an alltogether different perspective…BIBI!

22. Uffam (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 7:09 pm

Unaiza Bibi……

U cant deny that mqm speaks against landlords!

U cant deny they speak in favor of moderation and against sectarian violence!

U cant deny that they raised voice against provincial quotas in educational institues!

U cant deny that they speak in favor provincial autonomy!……that they raised their voice agst karo-kari, and wre the first few to raise voice in favor of women rights bill…can you?

As for the violence, enuf have already been said that ne one associated with the party was exterminated…….! step into other person’s shoes and empathize and then u might see a picture in an alltogether different perspective…BIBI!

23. Saqib (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 8:13 pm

Whose moderating here ?? Can we plz not have political discussion on this forum - post a sign which says “yahan siyasat aur mazhab pay baat karna mana hai”

24. Anathema (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 8:19 pm

not when she’s the owner’s betrothed =D

joke aside. unaiza: hope ure not too thick to understand we really are trying to save u here.

25. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 8:26 pm

KG, All I know that currently we Military bashers are more in danger than Unaiza herself, specially in presence of Ash and Mansoor[Army kids] and they could make a call within minutes to lift us from our homes[This has been happening tht army agencies kidnapping people from different part of karachi, BBC journalist just returned and I have a theory that some agency wanted him as a 'guest'].

The point is not about making political posts, the issue is that she has no idea what she’s talking about. Sorry unaiza but I really can’t take your side on this issue despite of knowing you off this forum as well. I have always appreciated your charity work and will do in future as well.

26. unaiza nasim (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 9:00 pm

@ Imran: That’s the comment of the post!
    Truly agree.
    Rest, My friend a CSS officer posted in Police, told me how MQM plans to make money for the upcoming elections and how police is supposed to (censor)…
    I am not against “any specific” political party but then why do only MQM have to come up with such ugly faces ???
    I call it “khulay aam ghunda gardi”
    Or I would say:
    “kitnay masoom hain is dor key qatil deikho
    Qatal ker key poochtay hain kafan kis kahay?”

BTW, where do torture cells fit in? And guys, please it’s about KARACHI. And I do not find any other political party so strong, in this city.

27. SWA (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 9:14 pm

Unaiza, you have my full support on this. Political posts that have SO much relation to this city SHOULD be talked about. How long should we keep silent about such issues? I know such massacres did take place and people need to get to the bottom of them.

The Army may have launched an operation on Karachi and the MQM may have split into two warring fractions, but in the end, it was Karachiites who lost lives and the Govt. of Benazir Bhutto who didnt do squat. I actually think she sponsored the terrorism as a form of an ethnic cleansing operation.

I also distinctly remember hearing firing sounds and bus burnings while I visited my grandparents in Nazimabad. I also remember pictures of torture cells being operated by some faction, being published in newspapers.

28. Moiz Kazmi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 9:16 pm

iam with Anathema !!
    plz delete this post !!
    Unaiza hold ur horses or face the consequences ! :)

29. SWA (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 9:26 pm

OH, and to help get to the bottom of this, read this report published by the UNHCR, a complete unbiased reading of what actually happened:

http://www.unhcr.org/cgi-bin/texis/vtx/home/opendoc.htm?tbl=RSDCOI&page=research&id=414fe5aa4

30. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 9:31 pm

MQM is and has been in past involved in terrorist activities its a universal truth that nobody can deny… BUT talking too much these terrorists on this blog isn’t a wise thing to do… this thug sitting in London did’nt even spared his own brother…. so better restrain from any mqm specific
    post in future… it just gives a bad taste to this wonderful blog…

31. unaiza nasim (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 9:32 pm

what consequences ???
    if something happens to me, it will (if anyone dare to write) be published @ KMB.
    I might be murdered, but then who cares! If this is how my dEath is written none can change it. Till when we keep our mouths shut. fight against injustice, at least speak, whether or whether not you get anything in return. raise awareness.

32. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 9:51 pm

i sincerely sugest that you should start using a pen name for your posts… its better to be safe then sorry.. majority of the public is aware of MQM and its wrong doings and seems to have accepted it as a bitter reality.. but keeping in mind that how violent and inhumane they are.. its wise to take precautions..

33. SWA (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 9:52 pm

Unaiza, you have my full support! The masses should reject scare-tactics and stand up for themselves! Nobody should be scared of speaking their mind!

34. K G (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 10:00 pm

@unaiza ..I THHOUGHT SOMONE WHO HAS SEEN THE MISERY OF THOSE PPL WHO LOST THIER LIVES IN EQ WUD KNOW THE BETTER IDEA HOW PRECIOUS LIFE IS..AND THAT IT SHUDNT BE WASTED FOR SOME POLITICS RATHER THAN SERVING PPL (THATS WHAT U WERE DOING)AND BTW IT DOESNT MAKE U SMART LIKE WHAT A BRAVE GIRL(SP NOW THAT UR GETTING MARRIED )..AND PLZZ TO ALL KHI PPL DO NOT DISCUSS POLITICS AND ALL THOSE TOPICS WHICH ALWAYZ END UP IN ARGUMENTS AND CURSING AND POINTLESS DISCUSSION.

35. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 10:25 pm

SWA: You totally missed the point. Nobody is praising MQM. Most of us actually criticizing on her lack of knowledge of this particular sensitive issue which Karachi has experienced in past. She heard things like ‘bori me lash’ etc and heard a couple of cases personally and she belived blindly that every shit happened in karachi back in 90s was because of MQM.

The UNHCR report you have mentioned, I have already read that report and that report also mentioned a para tht how fake police encounter drama was staged to kill MQM supporters. From your source:

The violence in Karachi and other cities began abating in 1996 as soldiers and police intensified their crackdowns on the MQM-A and other groups (Jane’s 14 Feb 2003). Pakistani forces resorted to staged “encounter killings” in which they would shoot MQM activists and then allege that the killings took place during encounters with militants (U.S. DOS Feb 1996).

Even if no such report was published then My eyes were enough to witness such fake counters in karachi when one of them happened in Nazimabad as well. It’s not sign of bravery at all. I could appreciate her post if she could have made a bit research about this damn issue rather just making a post because she just wanted to make another post.

Fact of the day: MQM regardless of its violence is a political party which is supported by masses of this city, that’s why they’re in office. If you guys abhore so much to MQM then give vote to your alternative favorite leaders to bring them in power. If you can’t and they win again then accept the reality that people still want them in power. That’s called democracy, deal with it!

36. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 11:34 pm

lemme quote from that United Nation’s report too

“The MQM-A has also frequently called strikes in Karachi and other cities in Sindh province and used killings and other violence to keep shops closed and people off the streets. During strikes, MQM-A activists have ransacked businesses that remained open and attacked motorists and pedestrians who ventured outside ”
    “The MQM-A allegedly raises funds through extortion, narcotics smuggling, and other criminal activities.”

now let me ask you all reader… if you would have been interior minister at the time what would you have done.. how would you have dealt with such a violent and brutal group?

37. Da-Man (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 11:41 pm

Unaiza:

Support your post 100%; but please use a “nom de plume.” You don’t know what kind of wacko’s visit this blog. I have seen several personal comments posted about you here.

38. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 22nd, 2006 @ 11:55 pm

now let me ask you all reader…

the para you quoted is irrelevent because noone here is pro-MQM at all.

If you praise prisoning everyone in jail just because he’s a urdu speaking person then I must doubt your political approach to solve an issue. Do you want to claim tht MQM is more violent and brutal than Irish terrorist group IRA or Srilankan Tamil Tigers? when their respective govts can initiate diologue with IRA & tamil tiger people and could solve problem poltically on table then why couldnt govt of that time failed to cope with the issue? It’s well known fact that Haqiqi was the group promoted by Army and govt of that time to reduce the hold of Altaf and the reason they all did because they had fear of Altaf’s power.

They all knew Importance of Krachi, they knew that If they didn’t control Altaf then Punjab & other provinces to stop relying on Karachi’s revenue and it could be a disaster for other provinces. That’s why they still didn’t getrid of quota system and MQM also failed to getrid of this system which was one of the core factors of their Manifesto.

Those who live in glass houses should not throw stones. Everyone know the politics played by parties of other provinces with Karachi.

And as I said above, mqm is a political party despite of how much you reject it. If karachi walay want to see them again then they will vote them and reelect them. When punjab can reelect nawaz shariif twice and still wait for him to comeback then what’s wrong with karachi people and their freedom of choice? Atleast we do talk against Altaf, I still wait to see some punjabi say a word against Nawaz sharif on public forum. You might not experience such thing in near future.

39. ash (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:13 am

Oh wow. This is too much emotion for one day. I have to say firstly unaiza that i am incredibly sorry for your loss and if you have a certain and strong opinion then ofcourse there is an understandable reason behind it.
    I know the MQM has done a lot of bad things. I also know the army has done a lot of bad things. I think however that they both are better than the powers that would succeed them , and i choose to be optimistic about the things they do which are good.
    The bad things they both do are universal. The good they do is the difference btw them and others.
    BTW fellow MQM apologizers, it was also the army that created MQM to fight the PPP. - We certainly have a crazy political history.

40. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:15 am

ok this is getting confusing… according to you all urdu speaking people are MQM supporters?
    secondly i never said anything about imprisoning any urdu speaking people.. i was just talking about brutal terrorists here … on one hand they keep on killing innocent people, on an average 2 dozen a day and you expect the government to sit on its butt?

41. ash (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:17 am

Oh God Adnan. I thought i already told you my parents were doctors in the army - a long time ago by the way. I certainly never supported the army politically through much of zia’s time (although something tells me you did). I do support the good things Mush does, not the bad. Anyway I have noone to call and would not call anyone anyway, please dont suggest that again.

42. ash (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:24 am

Out of context thats a great slogan. I’d love to see more banners like that.

43. turab (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:38 am

I am totally disgusted by the political infection that is eating this blog alive!

Kudos to the KMB team , Keep it up!!

44. SWA (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 1:08 am

I think what the MQM did was wrong, and then what the Govt. did was even more wrong because they encountered fake terrorists instead of real ones and then just used shoot-to-kill tactics. MQM no doubt is bad, but the govt. mishandled the whole situation which resulted in Benazir being dismissed by Leghari on human rights issues. A lot of international human rights concerns were registered in the way Benazir just asked the police and army to shoot and kill random people and project them as terrorists rather than apprehend actual criminals.

So part of the violence was MQM fighting with its rival factions and killing each other and maintaining brutal and bloody torture cells; and the other part was the army just going on a rampage in the city and killing innocent civilians and claiming to have killed terrorists.

Both of them need to be blamed for massacre of thousands in Karachi and the dusruption of civil life in the city.

45. SWA (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 1:11 am

also, not to forget the role of Sindhi nationalists who emboldened by the rise of their sister, Benazir, being in office, started their own ethnic cleansing operation in the city to clear Karachi of Mohajirs.

46. Karachiite (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 1:49 am

People,

This topic is a non-healed wound. There is so much to say that you can write a book on the issue. And maybe if I get the chance I will do that some day.

The story of events in Karachi will have to start from the creation of Pakistan and the struggle between the new arrivals and the ’sons of the soil’ for control of Pakistan.

Since I cannot write a long essay on this blog, suffice it to say that for healing to start we need to condemn all wrongs, irrespective of who committed them. Secondly I think that people need to stop saying that what happened was a Good Thing. It cannot be a good thing that 20,000 people died who were all Pakistanis and all Muslims.

47. Darthvader (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 2:07 am

If dip-shittery was a commodity traded on KSE Unaiza would be a very wealthy girl - hehehe

ahhhhhhhhhhh…good ole primary school education ..where have you gone ????

DV

48. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 4:55 am

Doctor: MQM was sent out in market by GHQ people with the slogan “Mohajir” who were mainly immigrants who used to speak ‘Urdu’ that’s they were accepted by majority of karachiites who are/were urdu speaking people in mid 80s. The other reaosns they were accepted by karachiites were because they were comitted ‘againt feudalism’,'removal of quota system’ ‘provincial autonomy’ etc etc. The other reason of their popularity was tht majority of MQM members at that time were not ‘jahil’ and ‘feudals’ but professional degree holders from middle class families and majority of karachiites who were killed in 90s were none other than doctors and engineers.

Point which was raised that govt and army of that time just not only captured culprits but they killed many[hundreds of] those guys as well who had no direct relation with MQM party. Infact real culprits re still alive like culprits of 71 war. Altaf,Naseerullah babar and Gen.Niazi of 71 war were never prisoned by any govt. The reason MQM failed later was Altaf’s ‘God father’ attitude. He had believed that He can’t be defeated and karachi was his property no matter whatever you do,people would give vote to MQM because they have no choice which was true. I think things are changing but very slowly and people of this city do want to bring someone else in power but it would take time.
    Right now if you exclude MQM from Sind politics then you see a big vacuum and no other party has enough credibility which could get attention of karachiites.

It would be good for authors of this forum to keep their political haterd aside and discuss things with an unbaised mind rather discussing one sided crap with limited knowledge. As someone said that such onesided posts doesn’t declare an author credible infront of readers of this blog who are ‘MAIN’ power of this site rather authors.

49. shobz (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 5:59 am

its really bad to see that people are either in denial or just playing the blame game over here. it is really bad to loose someone in such tragic circumstances. they say that those people who commit acts of evil get their just due. action is only taken when the circumstances demand it. what you sow is what you shall reap. It’s no use pointing fingers at anyone because both sides will deny everything. We know who was responsible for the state of Karachi back then. at least someone did something to make our lives easier.

50. Saqib (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 6:15 am

What do we see next here .. how about a religious discussion/argument/mud slinging.. can we plz not have all this here ?

51. UnholySaint (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 6:22 am

Oo I see, now even Pakistani have got the virus of being ‘politically correct’!

Adnan, here is what you posted:
    “The incidents between 92-95 were main reasons I quit supporting MQM but It doesn’t mean I sound ignorant enough that I forget how Nawaz with Army made a split between Altaf and Amir and then started an operation in Karachi.”

BS! This whole episode was Bhutto design. Although sad for the loss of innocent side but I love 2 politicians fighting each other to show their true colors to the general public! This b!tch has to audacity of come to Harvard to lecture here about Society and Political science! USA should send her ass to Gitmo! And about Pir Saab, SOB sound have been ‘liquidated’ there & then!

Stop taking politicians’ sides!

52. wasiq (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 7:03 am

She’ll only come out at night
    The lean and hungry type
    Nothing is new, I’ve seen her here before
    Watching and waiting
    Ooh, she’s sittin’ with you but her eyes are on the door

So many have paid to see
    What you think you’re gettin’ for free
    The woman is wild, a she-cat tamed by the purr of a Jaguar
    Money’s the matter
    If you’re in it for love, you ain’t gonna get too far

(Oh-oh, here she comes) Watch out boy she’ll chew you up
    (Oh-oh, here she comes) She’s a maneater

I wouldn’t if I were you
    I know what she can do
    She’s deadly man, she could really rip your world apart
    Mind over matter
    Ooh, the beauty is there but a beast is in the heart

Ooh,
    (Oh-oh, here she comes) Here she comes, Watch out boy she’ll chew you up
    (Whoa-oh, here she comes. Watch out) She’s a maneater
    (Oh-oh, here she comes. She’s a maneater) Ooh, she’ll chew you up
    (Oh-oh, here she comes) Here she comes, she’s a maneater
    (Oh-oh, here she comes. Watch out) She’ll only come out at night, ooh
    (Oh-oh, here she comes) Here she comes, she’s a maneater
    (Oh-oh, here she comes. She’s a maneater) The woman is wild, woo
    (Oh-oh, here she comes) Here she comes. Watch out boy, watch out boy
    (Oh-oh, here she comes) Oh, watch out, watch out, watch out, watch out
    (Oh-oh, here she comes) Yeah, yeah, she’s a maneater
    (Oh-oh, here she comes. She’s a maneater) She’s watching and waiting, ooh
    (Oh-oh, here she comes) Oh, she’s a maneater

Maneater
    by Hall & Oates

53. xia (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 11:57 am

Atleast MQM is saying something about the violence. Tell me which other political party has condemned violence at this scale in recent days? Altaf Husain, although I am not a big fan of pir sahib :-), have made several comments and speeches in recent days condemning violence on the basis of race and religion. Atleast that is what I have seen/read. This is really good that one of the major political party is not preaching hatred. Read more comments in dawn here
    http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&lr=&rls=GGLJ,GGLJ:2006-33,GGLJ:en&q=+site:www.dawn.com+dawn+altaf+mqm

Let’s talk about the early 90s. I was there and dodged several stray bullets at college. I guess I can say I had a fair share of early 90 violence. People who are old (and mature enough) know what bahadur ali was famous for. you talk about torture cell. Why don’t you talk about interrogation cells. how young guys were taken away from their homes and were put upside down from the ceiling and were given “mirchoon kee dhooni”? Ask those guys who have lost their MANHOOD due to illegal “cheeras” that were performed in front of their families? Do you forget how Azim Ahmed tariq was killed in front of his wife and kids? How about asking someone how he felt when he was given liquids to drink and then was forced not to go to bathroom by blocking/tieing up of certain part of the body? Why was all of that done to guys who were karachites and Pakistanis and mostly muslims? Where were all you pathetic losers or your ignorant rants? May be you were still too young to remember. Someone mentioned Naseeruallah Babar? Do you know during this time what was the hottest item that was imported? Power Drills. These were used to drill holes in people’s knees and knuckles.

And yes I know MQM side did similar things and worse in some cases. They were not saints either. Zani, qatil, thug, chor, you name it. You would have found them in the sector.

I sympathize with your loss and may Allah give you and your family with patience. And may Allah give Jannah to all those who were killed in these battles. May Allah give us muslims hidayah not to indulge in these ruthless acts against any living thing. May Allah unite us all so that we can concentrate on other things. I pray that we abandon these racial divides and become one ummah. May Allah guide us all inshaAllah..

54. xia (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:12 pm

Here is another quote by Altaf Husain.

Disclaimer: I am not a supporter and neither a hater of MQM. I am only quoting what pir bhai is saying lately….

KARACHI: MQM chief condemns preaching of hatred

KARACHI, Nov 14: Founder of Muttehida Qaumi Movement (MQM) Altaf Hussain has said that preaching hatred or attacking non-conformists, desecrating their holy places, mosques, imambargahs are satanic acts and totally against Islamic injunctions.

read more at : http://www.dawn.com/2006/11/15/local23.htm

My point… AT LEAST SOMEONE IS SAYING THESE THINGS AT THE NATIONAL LEVEL.

55. xia (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:16 pm

Here is another news report.

Disclaimer: I am not a supporter and neither a hater of MQM. I am only quoting what pir bhai is saying lately….

KARACHI: Altaf tells workers to improve character

KARACHI, Nov 12: Muttahida Qaumi Movement chief Altaf Hussain has emphasised the importance of good character in an ideological movement and called upon all MQM members to become ideologically strong and be prepared to improve their character and etiquettes in order to further the message of their movement and bring about a positive change in the country’s current medieval system.

read more at: http://www.dawn.com/2006/11/13/local15.htm

My Point: ATLEAST SOMEONE IS SAYING THIS TO PARTY WORKERS. I know you can find tonnsssss of material where he preached hate. That was past and yes it was disgusting. If someone is doing good, or atleast trying, give them a chance.

56. ash (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:32 pm

Thanks xia i loved those quotes. It doesnt matter whats happened in the past b/c its all bad. This is the stuff we must hear now and in the future.

57. masoom bachi (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 12:39 pm

araay mere piraree behnoo aur unke bhaio KHuDARA is discussion ko band kerdoo jisse kuch bhe nahee honewala..yeh batao kis kis ne UMRAO JANE AADA movie dekhi hae???

58. Anathema (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 1:03 pm

u have to excuse uniaza. she’s heard one side of it. unlike msot of us who are telling her she’s oblivious, he has not dodged bullets or seen victims of torture or janaazas in multiples from one house ona daily basis or…. a lot of things.

encounters is probably a word she’s heard. she clearly has not read papers, kartography, herald and newslines of the time. she clearly has not herd WHY the ATC was established (unaiza do u know what ATC was?!).

i am no supporter. but having seen those bullts, sacks, those janaazas, that mother (times hundred) who has lost all her sons to “encounters”.

unaiza is blinded by one incident. that maikes her say “oh really”.

u ahve to excuse her. she did not live through it. she did not read about it. she’s only …. uninformed

59. Faisal (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 3:19 pm

@Wasiq

What the hell does the song “maneater” have to do with this topic.

In a lighter vein, it did bring back memories of my teenage years and “lounge parties” at the Karachi American School.

60. unaiza nasim (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 4:42 pm

@Anathema: Not really.
    Another incident, Bufferzone, 5 janazas from one house. All five brothers from a Shia family.
    Want to know how I know them?? (I am certainly not disclosing the reason behind the murder, but what an educated mind can extract, Having known the family since childhood)
    We have a couple of houses on rent in that area. and one is adjacent to the victims family.
    I am not saying other parties do not do bad. This post is just in relevance to the banner.
    Please stay where the topic is.
    And yes, I have seen very closely, how it ruins the life of students, the very known “APMSO”.
    Adnan Siddiqi, I guess you know how I know. If you have not forgotten university days.

61. MB (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 8:06 pm

This comment was posted a day back but it was held so i am pasting it again.

Yeah Unaiza, this is REAL world. Pictures/posters/banners like these often make me laugh and then cry at times. And the perfect line to say then is the one you said: “Look who is talking”.

It’s ironic that since there is no concept of principles political, moral, religious or otherwise in our society people do become hero’s one day and corrupt the other. One of the culprits in that case is the people who make them such which includes 160 million souls, directly or indirectly contributing into it somehow, sometimes may be not knowing it and some times being a part of it.

A man, Mr. Altaf is preaching what he could never follow. A man, Mr. Musharraf does the same. Men like those up the slot and down to the rickshaw driver and the chokeedar, all do the same. Preaching what they cannot follow. Every society has it but we, unfortunately has it more. The religious ones have it in extreme.

And if you look outside your country, International relations have it too. USA preaches what it doesn’t follow. And so does all major powers. But they do it with others and seldom have they done it with their own people. We are unfortunate to be doing it more among ourselves then others.

Having said all this, it’s a good sign at least they have put the banner there. It would look more meaningful and practical had they asked Altaf bhai to quit as a sign of a man of actions than words. Again a man, Mr Yasir Arafat, once labeled as enemy was hailed as hero and peace maker, but when he denounced terror. Such is the complexity of international affairs but ours should be pretty easy. We know by now who is what. It would be better if Mr. Nawaz, Benazir-Zardari co, the religious ones & Altaf bhai rest and let a new blood come in. Otherwise you should never be surprised if you see the army pitched against the MQM again on the streets. Let’s hope and pray, which is the only thing at our hands right now.

62. Zami (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 8:13 pm

Sorry Unaiza but mostly Mohajir tortured and killings was done by Pak Army (Punjabi) High Command with whole heartily cooperation from BB & NS.

Mostly powerful Punjabis in power during late 80s/early 90s master minded the Karachi operation on the basis of Jinnahpur- i.e. WMD as in Iraq.

All mohajirs agree on that!! BB and NS would have liked to wipe out or subdue the enrite Mohajir population/generation from the city!! It was a plan done in Islamabad that back fired on them from the biginning otherwise Musharraf is not dump enough to bring MQM back into power. He looked at the root cause and knew exaclty treat mohajirs to fix their agony!

Try to first honestly find out who carried the extra judicial killings, throwing of Mohajir youths from building rooftops and leaving their dead bodies in jute bags for Edhi (Edhi had to run to England to save his life from the army), creating MQM-H as a front organization along with Rangers to terrorize entire mohajir neighborhoods !
    You know what ask any Muslim Bengali in BD (former E. Pak) how they were humiliated/supressed/killed before 71? and they would proudly tell you that was the exact reason they had to get BD!

63. Dee (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 8:38 pm

Hi all, Yes i do remember the horrific Late 80s and Mid 90s era.Mostly marked by strikes and curfews.God i remember one day due to electricity failure we were on the roof top and all of a sudden exchange of fire between rangers(ah how i hate them) and MQM supporters.We were leterally trapped up there as we can see and hear firing and too afraid to run down stairs and take cover.One of our room witnessed bullets quite a few times.
    I guess that was the reason we decided to migrate as situation was out of our hands.Selfish as it may sound but recalling those incidences i think it was a right choice.Now i hear and read about robberies and mobile phone snatchings and etc and looked back i see nothing changed, just faces.
    Dee.

64. Yahya (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 9:11 pm

@Unaiza:

Very sad to hear of your aunt and cousin. May Allah rest their souls and give you peace. One can only hope and pray that no one has to go through such an experience. If it is any consolation, the perpetrators will get their just “reward” in the end. Sad truth is we live in a society with little regards for individual rights and where violence is prevalent. We can not however revenge everything that comes in our way. One must at least try to forget if not forgive.

Coming to the point about MQM, it isn’t the first or the only organisation with track record of violence. Every party have their own fair share of violence and in turn their own complains and grudges. Just naming MQM in this way is out of context and one sided. Then asking everyone to stick to replying to this one sided topic is censorship. Where is respectability in this?

You know better than that.

65. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 11:41 pm

Unaiza bibi, nobody was refuting that particular case ,the thing which was unnacceptable for me atleast because I and several millions karachiites of areas like nazimabad, north nazd, Fb area,liqat/aziz[abad] can’t forget those days and nights so I actually don’t need to listen someone else to prove my point while I myself experienced manythings. I hate altaf politics, atleast I have guts to say this unlike followers of nawaz and bibi who hide their political affiliation and get ready to talk against MQM.

@unholy: dude, wasn’t nawa in power in 92 when mqm was splitted in two factions? yes that was benazir era[95] when another grand operation was started. Now I don’t know how bhutto contacted nawaz and handed him a plan[how you better elaborate it]. This is the thing which I heard very first time. Technically everyone who argues with other sound ‘politically correct’, I think you’re not aware of this ‘fact’ :-)

@Dee: which area? I was in nazimabad when I used to see rockets going from one place to another. A very different kind of fireworks.

@zami: you wana say that bb and NS used to dictate to our Army? you must be kidding. Infact army would have dictated them and they ,for sake of KURSI got agreed with them.

Shittiest Fact of the day: Same MQM is with a Foji and that Altaf is making all efforts to praise musharraf. *sigh*. Siyasat be kia kutta cheez hay, baray baroun ko kutta bana deti hey.

66. xia (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 11:41 pm

Like someone said, what happened in past is history. We can only learn from it and toughen ourselves not to make similar mistakes. When APMSO was formed in late 70’s (Early 80’s), it was a right decision at the right time. It was ironic that people of Karachi were not getting jobs in their own city. Major Thanas/Police Stations had Punjabi language as an official language. Major government offices had people from every where else but Karachi and the new job seekers from Karachi were not given a FAIR share in their own city. There were other reasons as we know for forming APMSO as we read in history where students were beaten and harassed because they came from a place called Karachi at Karachi University. If it wasn’t for MQM and APMSO (in the early days) punjabi and sindhi politicians would have kicked us all out of Karachi to some island.

You talk about APMSO and those days at Jamia Karachi. Do you know who brought most of the arms and ammo to student organizations? Jamiat. Ask any sane student of that time and he/she will tell you how much jamiat spent in arming up their students.

Just hating mohajirs for the sake of hating is not good enough. MQM represented us in a true way when it was badly needed. And yes it was the only choice we had. I do not know all the details of who started what and when, but I do know that it is MQM who brought us middle class karachites to the center stage.

Coming back to the subject, I urge you to read about the history of Karachi. You do not have to go back all the way to Mai Kulachi days. Just read about Karachi in last two decades. (hint, hint, read dawn) It is us, you and I, and definitely me before you, who have to change this ideology of hate that surrounds us in the form of nationalism, religious extremism, racism and sectarianism. If you see a banner, that at least condemns something that is bad, appreciate the effort. The hell with the political motives that it may have behind it. Appreciate that there is someone, who happens to have some power, is preaching a message of unity. If you find something that exposes him/her, by all means tell the world about it and back it up with authentic facts. Before criticizing a good thing, think. Think what you have done in last 24 hours that resembles what other has done. Do not do it for anyone else, but Allah. This will be a good start for everyone including me.

BTW, things are really bad in Karachi. Here is a dua that Rasool Allah Sallalh Alaehe wasalaam prescribed when a leaving home.

“Bismillahi, tawakkaltu ‘alallaahi, wa laa huwla wa laa quwwata ‘illaa billah”
    “in the name of Allah, I have placed my trust in Allah, there is no might and no power except Allah.”
    Abu dawud 4-325, at tirmithi 5-490

For Arabic version, visit http://www.makedua.com/display_dua.php?sectionid=10

67. unaiza is a post whore (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 11:44 pm

is it just me or Unaiza has become a post whore lately.

68. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 11:48 pm

jazakallah xia. Between if one doesn’t remember it can read Ayatkursi as well.

69. xia (unregistered) on November 23rd, 2006 @ 11:56 pm

jazakallah khair for the addition. May Allah guide us all. Ameen

70. d0ct0r (unregistered) on November 24th, 2006 @ 12:20 am

you mentioned names like SHO Bahadur Ali but you forgot to mention Rehan kana,Farooq Patni,Sajid Handel, Faheem Camando who made us all proud worldwide …. (i had personally seen this camando guy along with his thugs roaming around in different areas in a red suzuki alto to collect “bhatha”(extortion money)

71. xia (unregistered) on November 24th, 2006 @ 1:28 am

kia kia mention karain hum doctor sahib? Like i said they weren’t shareef either. it is my fault, i shouldn’t have mentioned bahadur ali by his name. i should have said “an SHO”. I have noted your point and inshaAllah i hope not to make the same mistake again. Thank you.

May Allah guide us all.

72. Atonement (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 12:40 am

How mature is our political system? Do we fund (legally, transparently) the parties we support?

73. Atonement (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 12:54 am

What happened during the 90’s was truly horrid. What was worse was that the citizens of the city were between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea. Choosing the axe by which to die is a limited option.

A more balanced understanding of the events of the days is needed. Political commentary on such a widely read website has to be more well thought-out. If we were to comment so lightly on the state of “hypocrisy,” by God, only my kitten would survive blame.

Those who have advised more restraint are well-wishing.

If, at all, commentary has to be, it has to go deeper than this.

74. Atonement (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 1:11 am

Personally, I believe that a lot of what’s happening in the city right now is non-political, and more psychotic. Recently read a story about a certain cop-killer (Kamran something - featured in Jang’s weekly crime round-up - a horrid section), who had been on a spree since his girlfriend left him because he was detained by police for a crime. Imagine!

Once outside the jail, he not only kept robbing, but managed to shoot and kill policemen when he chanced upon them. He had accomplices, too, who were not “internally motivated” llike him, but helped him in the chores nevertheless.

///// To talk about politics and violence on a public platform is not a small matter, Unaiza. With media, one has to be responsible with what they are saying and teaching. And a journalist/ blogger DOES educate/ shape/ bend the minds of the readers.

There is a Chinese saying: “If you save someone’s life once, their life becomes your responsibility.” On similar lines, if we teach or communicate something once, the words and their repurcussions become our responsibility.

I agree with the commentors who suggested that this post must not feature on this blog, for it jeopardizes the writer and the public. It is very unwise for the writer to present her life in vain and to involve readers too. What lesson does that give? Is life so unprecious?

Life must be protected, and given only for a greater cause, that too after protecting the life in the best possible manner. I have never heard of any great warrior, whether they were martyred or they survived, who may have fought the Goliath of their time, suggesting that they took their life casually. They fought to protect their interest and the lived of their people and the future generations. THAT is why people fight. To defend themselves, not to put their neck on the line.

You have been well-intentioned, Unaiza, and working for some causes. Keep at them, no need to go looking for trouble. If, at all, political commentary has to be made, then do research What Really Happened - and be balanced in your coverage. I.e. name all the sides.

I am sorry for your aunt and cousin’s loss. Such incidents tech us nothing but that life is precious, it is the most precious thing God made: the life and honor of a human. Don’t be flippant wiht your life. Respect it, cherish it, and put it to positive use.

God bless you, the souls of those who were slaughtered in those days, and our city!

75. Mariam (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 7:08 am

This article Testosterone for the sake of God brought back so many memories. Just change insert Karachi instead of Lahore ;).

76. Mariam (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 7:18 am

Unaiza,

I’m very sorry. Why have they killed your Aunt and cousin? I know lot of people was killed at that time but mostly were police men and MQM workers by each other.

The thing is, Karachi went through a gun culture and everyone is responsible for the situation. More blame goes to elected personals and law enforcement as when one is in power then they don’t need to resort to street fighting.

Can anyone tell me why MMA ladies are against any amendment in Hudood bill. Don’t they know how to read Quran?

77. ash (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 8:22 am

@mariam,

The MMA doesnt know and doesnt care whats actually written in the Quran. If they could pass a law saying all girls should be buried alive soon after birth they would pass that in a heartbeat.

78. Jamal Shamsi (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 1:24 pm

90s; was the sadest DECADE of Karachi. Every Opportunist ENCASHED it, be it religion, cast, community or trade.

The worst part is - Inbreed genetic HYPOCRACY is part of US, what shall we do about it????

honesty, tolerence, flexibility can be inculcated but cannot change the genetic structure.

What we see Good for US is bad for Others and vice versa, it happened, is happening and will continue

unless each individual ensure self accountibilty.

79. Atonement (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 1:51 pm

If the citizens choose to stay out of the political system, this is what will happen. The insitutions and the systems of any nation reflect the state of that nation.

Do we, the citizens, ever choose to be responsible?

I have often thought about the bhatta and the daaka system of “funding” political activity. And I am just curious that as an urban Karachiite I have never heard of a “legal” way to fund a party. We’d often want something to happen for us, without having to pay for it. E.g. most homes in my street refuse to pay to the watchman/ garbage collector and expect that the street is safe and clean. How on earth will that be possible? Only a few homes that are directly affected by the filth that gathers in a certain vacant plot pool in. Thank God for the mosquitoes which prompted the whole street to pool in - after years!

Somehow I feel that a lot of corruption in our economy/ country/ etc. is because we have not developed and funded perfectly legitimate needs.

They teach in spirituality, “There is no such thing as a vaccum; if there is no good in a place, there will be evil in that place.”

80. Dee (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 8:41 pm

@Atonement….> WEll said.
    Dee

81. MB (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 10:27 pm

Excellent one Shabana mir. I guess that “Testosterone for the sake of God ” does say it all.

Apart from that As Jamal shamsi puts it , “Inbreed genetic HYPOCRACY ” is the cancer we need to do a surgery about first. All other lectures are secondary practically.

82. MB (unregistered) on November 25th, 2006 @ 10:29 pm

Excellent one Shabana mir. I guess that “Testosterone for the sake of God ” does say it all.

Apart from that As Jamal shamsi puts it , “Inbreed genetic HYPOCRACY ” is the cancer we need to do a surgery about first. All other lectures are secondary practically.

83. unaiza nasim (unregistered) on November 26th, 2006 @ 2:48 pm

@Atonement: Who siad you cannot?
    Any one who wants to fund MQM can always go to “90″ and give in, what ever he/she has to offer.

84. Yahya (unregistered) on November 26th, 2006 @ 3:41 pm

@unaiza

I think *you* should spare us, go to 90 and do all your “bharaks” over there. Who knows it may help you in some way.

Everyone sympathises with you on your loss and no one is trying to undermine it but your loss seems to have effected your judgment. Its time to stop on this.

This is one of your lesser posts…crude…and bordering on mean. Can you not take a polite hint from so many commentators?

85. Atonement (unregistered) on November 28th, 2006 @ 8:30 pm

UN: The funding question was not directed at you, but the general audience. It’s “food for thought.” Don’t take it personal.

BTW, dropping a load of cash at someone’s place is not how political funding is done at all. Or rather, any kind of funding. Political funding, whether for MQM, PPP, etc., has to be institutional.

Enough said.

Terms of use | Privacy Policy | Content: Creative Commons | Site and Design © 2008 | Metroblogging ® and Metblogs ® are registered trademarks of Bode Media, Inc.