May 12: The “Judicial Circus” comes to town

The facts of the case:
May 12 is when the suspended chief justice of Pakistan (CJP), Justice Iftikhar Muhammad Chaudhry, is scheduled to visit Karachi. Preparations to “welcome him” are in full swing. Justice Chaudhry will speak at the Sindh High Court. Security is being worked on, and only lawyers and journalists will be allowed to enter the arena.

Apart from the lawyers, the opposition parties are all up and clamouring for attention as well, especially the Pakistan People’s Party (PPP), the Awami National Party (ANP) and the Pakistan Muslim League - Nawaz (PML - N). Meetings are being held left, right and centre, and preparations are on to “welcome to CJP” in Karachi.

The MQM jumps in:
The CJP’s scheduled visit to Karachi was announced earlier in the day on Tuesday. By around 11:00 p.m., the MQM had jumped into the fray as well. A press release was sent out from the MQM International Secretariat in London, saying that the party had organized a rally for May 12. What on earth for, you ask? Well, they have an answer! The MQM rally is “to support the judiciary and to speak out against the political jugglery in the name of the independence of the judiciary.”

Oh yes, let’s support the judiciary — by organizing a COUNTER-RALLY on the SAME day as theirs! Idiots.

Now while I *do* agree with the “political jugglery” bit, I don’t agree with the dirty politics that the MQM is trying to bring in here. Political jugglery there most certainly is — no bigwig who’s out there shouting and ranting is doing it for the CJP or even the judiciary; everyone has his/her own agenda, a major portion of which involves getting rid of President General Pervez Musharraf.

The MQM-waalahs, however, are taking this too far now. Do they really think people are believing this BS that they’re trying to pass off as truth? When will they learn to respect our intelligence? Idiot-savants most of us may be, but we’re not absolute morons, you know. Give us a BREAK!

May 12: Apocalypse?
Okay I admit, “apocalyse” is an exaggeration. But we really cannot expect things to run all smoothly on May 12. The MQM will try its damnedest to outdo the CJP rally. Media coverage will become a bone of contention again, as it did on Saturday, May 5.

What happened on May 5?
The CJP was visiting Lahore, and a massive rally was organized. A lot of media coverage had been planned out. In a bid to outdo this, the president organized a rally in Naukot, and being the government k pithoos that the MQM are being right now, an MQM rally was organized in Karachi. Now all of this is fine — everyone has the right to do whatever he or she wants to. This is a free country, after all. As usual, however, the MQM took things too far.

The took over the Karachi Press Club for their rally and press conference. Press Club members were asked for identification before being allowed entry into the premises. Who was asking them for identification? The overzealous MQM-waalahs. For journalists, this was akin to someone entering THEIR house and asking them to identify themselves before being allowed in — somewhat like journalists taking over Nine-Zero, and asking for identification before allowing MQM people in.

Also, while sitting at the press club, some sector incharges made phone calls all over everywhere and ordered Geo News, Aaj TV, AryOne World, AND CNN to be taken off air (there! NOW y’all know what happened!). WHY was this done? Because the MQM rally was not given much coverage. Well, no shit, einstein! :P

The MQM issued a press release later in the evening, saying that the party had no involvement in the transmission-blocking fiasco. Rather, they said, it was the “reaction of the people” to the fact that the MQM rally had not been given much coverage. HAHAHAHAHAHAH!!! Now stuff like this makes me wonder whether to laugh or to cry. Really. The problem with the MQM is that their lower-level goons get wayyy too zealous and mess up. I have a lot of respect for some MQM higher-ups, such as Dr Farooq Sattar. They’re good politicians. Stunts such as these, however, ruin it all.

Deja vu, anyone?
So yeah, the point of the entire rant was, be prepared for May 12. History just might repeat itself — with a vengeance.

Related posts:

1. The Circus comes to town
  2. Stop The War Coalition: protest rally today
  3. Demo outside Karachi press club at 03:00 p.m. tomorrow (December 18)
  4. Candle Light Vigil Today at 7pm Press Club
  5. Imran Khan evades arrest

117 Comments so far

1. MB (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 2:41 pm

The 12 May program by the KARACHI BAR was scheduled way earlier even before this judicial crisis started.

You didn’t mention this UZI

The CJP is not coming karachi due to this crisis. The Interior Sindh visit & the Karachi visits were already planned before this crisis started.

Dr Farooq Sattar is one decent guy in them ( apparently decent) who makes any sense in that gang. The MQM voters should demand the removal of all previous leaders & new leadership should emerge from it if they want people to believe in their peace & love motto.

2. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 2:44 pm

It WAS @ scheduled before March 9? Hain? Hold on, lemme confirm this..

3. HASSAN' (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 3:51 pm

@MB

Let me remind u bro that it is MQM not MQM Haqiqi wre u can change the leader. They are self selected and no one has any authority to just ask for elections for their own party.

4. Hussain (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 4:03 pm

Oh No!

I am flying in on 12th May morning from UK. Looks like it is going to be a chaos at the Airport because of that muppet CJ’s “Welcome”

Does anybody know that timing of CJ’s arrival in Karachi?

5. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 4:06 pm

“The problem with the MQM is that their lower-level goons get wayyy too zealous and mess up. I have a lot of respect for some MQM higher-ups, such as Dr Farooq Sattar”.

Umm, wow.

How organised are they that “lower-level goons” carry out such acts without any orders.

puhlees! the terrorist did the only thing they can……and got away with it.

Lets go to the MQM rally!. Free biryani!!.

Oops!. Im sorry. “Free milk, juice boxes & cold drink”.

:(. On second thought, lets just stay home & avoid the cross-fire. Waise bhi, yah to bijle nahi ho gi, ya toh ghunda’s will shut down the tv channels again.

Hooorah!

6. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 5:42 pm

govt just loves doing that… other day when CJ left from Islamabad to lahore.. Pujab’s CM organised a state sponsored rally in lahore while Sindh’s CM held a rally in Naukot Thar, while in karachi terrorists from MQM were let loose and they took over karachi press club and the adjoining roads and closed down tv channels..

this time Mush will be holding a rally in Islamabad , MQM will again be let loose in karachi.. and maybe in coming day we might see other diversion tactics by government..

7. Salman A. (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 7:36 pm

Another fiasco.
    I am curious to know what Musharraf’s boss i.e. the US Ambassador says about this whole thing or may be Mush has kept him busy with ‘Mujras’.. LOL

8. Salman A. (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 8:04 pm

US Ambassador: yo mush, whats up with this cj shit man? why dont you fu**in control ‘em?
    Mush: Dear Sir, Maii Baap, Mera Aaqa, You please daant worry. these are all Al Qaeda extremists. I know how to deal with them. Your Highness, a new team of chicks are on the way for you. They will make you forget the pleasure of Las Vegas and Bevely Hills. LOL

9. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 8:10 pm

^^^ Lame.

10. Neena (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 8:32 pm

Something is cooking up in Pakistan and see how CJP is becoming a hero. I hope everything works out in the favor of good and every party keeps their word one’s they accomplish their mission.

11. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 8:35 pm

“Good” is a relative term here. The CJP’s suspension was more of a case of the wadda chor (the honourable president) using his power against the chhota chor (the CJP).

12. Neena (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 8:36 pm

The MQM jumps in

MQM knows they couldn’t prevent CJP from coming to Karachi (their domain) so they are pretending to be the part of it. It’s a good political move and they should keep this practice up otherwise they’ll reamin a regional and ethnic party.

13. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 8:39 pm

uhhhh no? They’re NOT pretending to be a part of it. They’re having a SEPARATE rally to compete for support (and media coverage) with the CJP.

14. Concerned (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 9:09 pm

This whole CJP thing has gone too far. Its time for it to stop. The CJ should stick to fighting in the courts and should stop politicising the whole thing. And the lawyers should stick to their regular jobs instead of the one they have now adays as the dog “palto kutta” of every opposing party.

Good to know that MQM is continuing to fight with the CJ for support. In Khi no one wins over MQM.

15. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 9:19 pm

our selected PM responding to reporters question about how much taxpayers money would be spend on president’s 12th may rally..

“He was evasive when asked if the Islamabad rally would cost the exchequer as much as the president’s Liaquat Bagh meeting in Rawalpindi which, according to BBC, cost the government Rs320 million. “We trust and value writings of our own media more than foreigners’ because they are expected to keep their analysis within the limit of national interest,” the premier said.”

PM shortkut aziz is saying you better listen to our local media instead foreign media…(Mr PM first you had let loose terrorists from MQM on local media and now you don’t like to hear from foreign media as well?) hilarious isn’t it :P

http://dawn.com/2007/05/07/top2.htm

16. Salman A. (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 9:25 pm

I agree with CONCERNED. Lawyers should go back to work ‘cos thats what their senior most laywer (MA Jinnah) said, ‘kaam kaam and just kaam’. it has a world of meaning, no doubt… it can still put the country on the right track…

17. Concerned (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 9:46 pm

@Doctor

Why do keep calling MQM a terrorist organisation. It takes alot to bring a couple of middle class people into politics which is entirely ruled by Waderas and Chaudaris.

I agree they have done quite a few things in the past, but come on how can you trust a wadera tht is believed to be involved the murder of her own brother. And if you are not going to trust the wadera or MQM, who are you going to trust? Mullas! Mullahs who burn Pizza hut, KFC everytime they feel like it.

Lets see wht happens to this free media of yours once the army goes and the waderas and chaudaris come into power. I can guarantee MQM will be the least of their problems then.

18. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:02 pm

The terms “free media” and “Pakistan” cannot be used together in the same sentence unless separated by a negating word or phrase. :P

19. Salman A. (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:03 pm

That’s what I always ask myself. How can 16,000,000 people be dumb?

20. Salman A. (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:05 pm

That’s what I always ask myself. How can 16,000,000 people be dumb who support MQM?

21. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:06 pm

Qs: How can 16,000,000 people be dumb?
    Ans: General Ziaul Haq.

Qs: How can an entire chunk of our population be such wannabes?
    Ans: “Enlightened confusion,” courtesy: His Hole-iness President General Pervez Musharraf.

22. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:09 pm

how much did Arab Raheem’s rally in Thar costed = x millions
    how much MQM’s rallies in karachi costed = x millions

they’re spending millions of rupees of tax payers money and organizing state sponsored rallies transporting all government workers including city govt all govt banks, all water board workers and daily wages workers giving them food n drinks and free meals plus hefty daily wage.. and they do all this and complain that CJ is politicizing the issue?
    just tell one political statement CJ has given? just show one pic in which he is holding a political party’s flag?

23. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:10 pm

Qs: How can 16,000,000 people be dumb enough to support the MQM?
    Ans: Jahaalat (absolute illiterates + idiot savants), fanaticism, herd mentality, conformism, etc.

24. Salman A. (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:17 pm

but democracy tells you not to differentiate between a jahil and an educated person. they both have ONE vote. No? or you are trying to redefine its meaning?

25. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:17 pm

@Concerned i am not calling MQM’s supporters terrorist.. i do respect them .. i am just calling certain leaders in MQM as terrorist who continue to terrorize innocent people while acting all like saints in front of media and public… terrorists from MQM are as much a threat as Waderas and Chaudaris. in fact MQM’s terrorists are far more lethal,brutal and shadowy

26. ash (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:28 pm

At the risk of sounding repetative the qu. is why does every major political party in pakistan have to have so many thugs? Thats the qu.
    Why do people still support MQM? because in many senses it is the democratic ideal, ofcourse people respond to that by saying oh people are jahil. Really? MQM supporters are the most educated voters out there …maybe there is another reason.
    MQM is a small party (compared to every other major one) with great ideas which are imperfectly applied. They do have their thugs, should MQM start playing Mr Nice Guy it would immediately become a useless relic, because thats just not how anyone can retain power in Pakistan. For MQM to stop doing the more outlandish of its power hungry activiites would essentially be unilateral disarmament.
    I think you constantly miss some of the subtle points they make, and you can laugh (like me) or appreciate a good hand played …or you can miss the point entirely and assume its other people being Jahil.

27. ash (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:35 pm

So their point - for all the slow coaches, is that - “MQM is big on justice/judicary BUT THIS CJ CIRCUS IS NOT THE SAME THING AS SUPPORTING JUSTICE.”
    And that point is 100% valid. As Uzi says its the chota chor bara chor phenomena, not Satan vs Jesus.
    I hope that clarifies why 16 000 000 people will still vote for MQM tomorrow. However I do feel apprehesive about the way these rallies will work out, for all my defence of MQM they are certainly more trigger happy than I like. Stay safe you guys.

28. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:53 pm

@ Salman A.:

but democracy tells you not to differentiate between a jahil and an educated person. they both have ONE vote. No? or you are trying to redefine its meaning?

No, dude, YOU are! Literacy is one of the prerequisites for Democracy, hence each vote is equal. Without literacy, all you have is a twisted version of “poly-archy.” Exhibit-A here would be Pakistan. : )

29. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 10:57 pm

the US Ambassador says about this whole thing

Well, currently there is no US Ambassador in Islamabad, Mr. Ryan is currently busy in Iraq and learning Arabic so that he could join Iraqi defence force.

30. Salman A. (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 11:13 pm

ok so Pakistan is not ready for democracy becuase of its low literacy rate, first they need to take the pre-reqs and then try again.. you and the army think alike :))

31. ash (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 11:28 pm

I actually agree with what you are not saying. Democracy is weak and pointless when the masses are illiterate (pakistan) which is why we shouldnt bother rioting in the streets trying to re-instate it :) Instead we should be building schools and improving pakistani society at the micro level, and supproting the govt which despite all its flaws is better than any “democratically elected” govt pakistan has ever had.
    Somehow India was able to stay democratic and progress despite its illiteracy and poverty. Our jahils beat their jahils in jaihiliat clearly :)

32. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 11:30 pm

@ Salman A.:

That’s not what I said! Quote me not out of context, oay! What I said was, whatever we have in Pakistan (in the name of democracy), is not democracy at all — ’tis more of a twisted version of polyarchy. The concept of “each vote is equal,” therefore, does not hold true.

Tell me, is the vote of a Hari, forced to vote for his feudal lord, equal to that of free people who are “aware” and who vote according to their own rationalization? (Whether that rationalization is right or wrong is a different story altogether.)

So yeah, I wasn’t debating the readiness of Pakistan for democracy (or the lack thereof). THAT, my friend, is an absolutely separate debate, and cannot be carried out online. : )

PS: Please don’t insult me by comparing me to the army! :@

33. Salman A. (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 11:39 pm

chal jhooti, or jhoota or whatever..

i have no respect for a person who insults my fellow country men and women. this is what you just said:

Qs: How can 16,000,000 people be dumb enough to support the MQM?
    Ans: Jahaalat (absolute illiterates + idiot savants), fanaticism, herd mentality, conformism, etc.

Posted by: UZi at May 8, 2007 10:10 PM
    ““““““““““““

Good Night…

34. UZi (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 11:46 pm

You asked a question, and you got an answer, dude. Why ask if you can’t at least agree to disagree?

Adding to a previous comment of mine, “Exhibit-B” would be your response to my reasoning. I rest my case. G’nite! : )

35. BitterTruth (unregistered) May 8th, 2007 11:55 pm

MQM supporters or not..
    The surprising thing is some people are still favouring the removal of chief justice…what a pitty. Do we have to judge everything according to our political affinities?
    MQM can be wrong and by opposing CJP its clearly wrong…better strategy was to sideline as it did earlier by saying we were not consulted.
    MQM is against wadairas..as far as slogans are concened.. Arbab Rahim is the greatest wadaira of sindh..
    MQM is for women rights..yeah they recently showed it in city council session.

MQM policies are correct but they do not do what they say.

36. UZi (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 12:06 am

BitterTruth: I agree. The MQM was founded on impeccable ideologies, which were messed up in the process of implementation. But then again, what’s the point of formualating an “ideology” if the people who profess to adhere to it (party workers) cannot implement it or even follow it themselves?

I also know that of all the political parties that I’ve dealt with as a reporter, the most amount of respect accorded to me as a woman was by [some] MQM workers and leaders. Also, the most amount of attempted “dada-giri” was by [some other] MQM workers and leaders. Go figure! : )

37. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 12:37 am

@ASH “should MQM start playing Mr Nice Guy it would immediately become a useless relic,”

thats a very lame justification.. just imagine a terrorist gang leader, or a mafia don saying that “to stay influential i need to hire thugs and terrorists ….”
    that means Altaf bai is in same league with mafia don and terrorist leader..

38. zainub (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 1:59 am

My dad’s just made an announcement in the family that no one should go out on Saturday unless its a matter of life and death! I’m all of freedom of expression and everything, and I hope no one gets me wrong, but I seriously wish everyone figured out of a better way to express and propagate their opinions without bring my (and in many cases, the rest of the city’s life on a standstill)…rallies are such becoming such a turn off, or may be its just that anything that reminds me of how badly I have lost faith in the political parties and so-called leaders of our country is a natural turn off. If I close my eyes and pretended that non of these morons that we “elected” existed, would it make them go away? Sigh…

39. MQM Ka Darinda (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 2:48 am

tum sab saala badmaash log, MQM and Altaf Bai ki popularity se jalta hai!

UZI: PS: Please don’t insult me by comparing me to the army! :@ oh shaddddaaapppp! had you insulted generals, i would have understood but stop insulting pak army because of misdeeds of a bunch of greedy generals. Pak army jawans give their lives for pieces of sh@t like you and what you give in return? your filthy remarks? Have you ever considered what an ordinary jawan or a hawaldaar or non-afsar (who constitute 90% of what is pak army) gets for staying away from home, family, stays in miserable conditions when their afsars and mummy-dady like you are sitting in their drawing rooms? Be very careful when you open your bloody mouth and say bad things about Pak Army.

@UZI and Dangar Doctor: ab tum dono ko choro ga nai apun, Wasiq chor do ga tum dono pe! Bakwaas likhna band karo MQM ke khilaaf warna hamara pata hai na phir? Only Altaf bai (according to majority of women, the most beautiful and handsome guy in the world) can save the world. He is a hero and he will bring karachi’s pollution down to zero!

@Red_Munk/Surkh Bandar: you have most logical mind here, better than most of the bakwaas authors of KMB(like MB, UZI). Why don’t you join MQM?

@Wasiq: beta Chelsea are busted. Man Utd are champions again. Chal ab 5000 rupee nikaal de seedhi tarah! Apne ilaqe ke MQM unit incharge ke ghar puhancha de

ASH: Why don’t you learn what literacy is first? Its parhe likhe jahil like you who love to sh**t about things and oh the illiterate people here about things and when it comes to voting on elections day, they dont even bother to vote. Most of the times, its the illiterate people of Pakistan who come out on streets and protest against injustice whereas literate bloody hells just keep on talking or write stupid things like author here on forums like KMB. How many bloody KMB authors and readers and so called civil society ke thekedaar have ever protested on streets against an injustice? 10%, 15% and you guys talk like you are the only wise people on earth! Look at this example of mumy-dady kid Zainub. Even if she knows about some serious injustice, her daddy would never let her go out and do something to stop it. bloody hell!

PS: Where the hell is Badmaash Siddiqi?? I am missing his aucha pan!

40. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 2:56 am

was he trying to be funny? *yawns*

41. MQM Ka Darinda (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 3:23 am

@Dangar Doctor: it was 50/50. aur moon na khol, bu aa rahi hai kambakht!

42. ash (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 3:38 am

Doctor- i argee only because all politicians operate like the mafia in pakistan..either that or they are supremely unsuccessful (Imran). Then they join some other gunda’s (MMA) just to stay alive. Please drop the “terrorist” slurs i feel like i am watching fox news.
    People get the govts they deserve and we are no exception. A society that is based on social injustice mired in illiteracy will never have good leaders till they learn to correct themselves first.
    Everything else is just a total tamasha with people gauarding their own self interest and trying to seem holier than the next guy… except this very tough darinda character who just wants to be crazier than the next guy.

43. Tamed~. (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 4:22 am

I dont know about others but I can see
    a future prime minister in Justice Ifti.

44. MQM Ka Darinda (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 4:50 am

A society that is based on social injustice mired in illiteracy will never have good leaders till they learn to correct themselves first.

@ASH: you seem to be far more ignorant that i thought you would be. Had you even taken into consideration the post-partition era and the illiteracy situation then, you would never made such a childish comment based on an obsolete theory.

@TAMED: my friend, CJ is just being used by the old devils. Just forget for a sec how he was treated and everything that happened between March 09-14 and you will realize that ordinary people are still not out on streets in CJ’s support. Actually watching coverage of CJ’s lahore tour reminded me of how Imran Khan was welcomed by Lahoris during his SKMH funding campaign years ago the poor guy thought its his time in politics. Similar kinda media hype was created at that time too and how many voted he and his part got? :). People like Imran Khan and CJ have a chance in presidential form of democracy but not in parliamentary system like ours.

45. ash (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 5:09 am

MQM D - i honestly dont understand. Are you saying we have had good governance since the post partition era? Or are you saying we have high literacy rates?
    In either case i am not attacking people for being illiterate clearly you can be a good person and not be literate. I am saying that accountability is key to democracy and people need to at least understand the basics of who they are voting for and why. Otherwise a bunch of feudal bandits are basically going to run the country to the ground which is whats happened in Pakistan.
    There is no national democracy in Pakistan thats clear, i have said previously that the MQM may be the only example of democracy in Pakistan and case in point - their voters have the highest literacy rate. However because they are still part of a society that is still evolving the excesses done against them and by them will go unchecked by law and order which is also key to ensuring true democracy.

46. wasiq (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 5:20 am

211 Bar of Jurisdiction.
    The proceedings before the Council, its report to the President and the removal of a Judge under clause (6) of Article 209 shall not be called in question in any court

http://www.pakistani.org/pakistan/constitution/part7.ch4.html

47. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 10:24 am

@ Tamed: I said it the other day, Worst case scenario for the CJP = president in the next gov.

@ mqm ka darinda: nahi bhai, maafi. Kuch ghalat kiya to Wasiq chor do ge. :S. Oh & btw, wasnt he going around jumping up and down after the victory over Citeh??

@ Salman A: 16 Mill ppl support mqm!? :|. Wow, paki elections are REALLY fair huh?.

@ Uzi: Being a jornalist, do u need to be reminded the absurd accusations against the cjp on the basis of which Mush forwarded the motion?

Or do u need to be told about the how he was acting as a thorn in the govs policies. (Calling for an inquiry in the missing persons case. Stopping the Steel mill sale etc etc).

@ d0c: chorein doctor sahab, jo bhi bolein ge aap, yeh bache kaan mein ungli daal kar ” NA NA NA NA NA” chekthe rahain ge.

@ Ash/Concerened: Any rational comment will fly over your “simple” mind. (Maybe im being too bold here…make that “the hollow space in the skull”).

Ill just say this, take 10 ppl from different parts of our city or even run a poll here on KMB.

I garuntee you that 6+/10 would take the “wadera” over your pathetic terrorist organisation.

Just ask em about their views on mqm & the figure would jump to 8.

—-

Btw, can any sindhi bhai’s please set these muppets straight for their views on Bhutto?
    (u just have to have read a pak history course book to see that his pro’s outweighed his cons FOR THE WHOLE of PAKISTAN, not just sindh).
    —-

Have a wonderfull day folks. Hope its not 40+ again.

48. darthvader (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 11:35 am

it’s a cluster F*** ..to use the parlance of our times.

DV

49. TURAB (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 12:23 pm

just watch the PJMIR’s last episode on ary to get milk ka milk and water ka water………

50. UZi (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 1:16 pm

@ MQM ka Darinda:

Have you ever considered what an ordinary jawan or a hawaldaar or non-afsar (who constitute 90% of what is pak army) gets for staying away from home, family, stays in miserable conditions when their afsars and mummy-dady like you are sitting in their drawing rooms?

Yes I did consider that. In fact, I recently wrote a piece about the Tench Bhata Bazaar in Rawalpindi, jiss meiN I’d highlighted the living conditions of the lower officials. You can find the story here: http://www.dailytimes.com.pk/default.asp?page=2007%5C05%5C04%5Cstory_4-5-2007_pg11_10

Enjoy.

Moreover, I don’t think I need to ask you or anyone else before talking. : ) I know exactly what I’m talking about, and as a reporter, I’ve been trained to not bakwasofy until and unless I’m very VERY sure of my facts.

@ Red_Munk:

@ Uzi: Being a jornalist, do u need to be reminded the absurd accusations against the cjp on the basis of which Mush forwarded the motion?

Or do u need to be told about the how he was acting as a thorn in the govs policies. (Calling for an inquiry in the missing persons case. Stopping the Steel mill sale etc etc).

I said what I said because being a journalist, I think I know the backend of affairs (esp. in this case) more than most other people. Yes, the CJP did “go against” the govt in some cases, and that WAS one of the reasons why he was dealt with the way he was. Justice Chaudhry, however, is not “doodh ka dhula” himself.

Let me put it this way: I am not against the fact that he was brought to task and a reference was filed against him. I am, however, VERY against the WAY it was done. See the difference? Like I said, it was merely a case of a baraa chor khaaing a chhota chor, and as Cowasjee saheb once put it very “eloquently” (on national TV, no less): “Sab saala chor hai.”

51. SELF (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 7:18 pm

What is MQM doing? They should stop now. The nation is watching their every move.

کراچی کے علاقے کلفٹن میں واقع منیر اے ملک کے دفتر کو بدھ کی صبح کراچی ڈویلپمنٹ اتھارٹی کے حکام نے سیل کر دیا تھا۔

ہائی کورٹ میں دائر پٹیشن میں منیر اے ملک نے موقف اختیار کیا تھا کہ وہ گزشتہ چھ سال سے اس علاقے میں رہائش پذیر ہیں مگر اس کارروائی سے قبل انہیں کوئی نوٹس نہیں دیا گیا اور رات کو دو بجے کراچی بلڈنگ کنٹرول اتھارٹی کے حکام نے آ کر دفتر سِیل کردیا اور اس پر نوٹس لگا دیا۔

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/05/070509_malik_office_seal_zs.shtml

52. SELF (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 7:29 pm

رب جانے یا مشرف

پانچ اور چھ مئی کو چیف جسٹس افتخار محمد چوہدری کو اسلام آباد تا لاہور جی ٹی روڈ پر پچیس گھنٹے کے سفر میں جس انداز کی عوامی پذیرائی ملی اس کے نتیجے میں مشرف حکومت اور اتحادی جماعتوں بالخصوص مسلم لیگ اور ایم کیو ایم کو غالباً یہ فرض سونپا گیا ہے کہ وہ اب کھل کے سامنے آئیں اور چیف جسٹس کے حق میں امڈنے والی لہر کو روکنے کے لیے پوری طاقت اور وسائل بروئے کار لائیں۔

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/05/070509_analysis_cj_wusat_zs.shtml

53. ash (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 8:05 pm

red munk - i really expected a lot better from you. This was not an ethnic argument, everyone who dislikes feudalism does not dislike sindhi’s you just shittified the argument for no reason by dragging ethnicity into it.
    Secondly not all sindhi’s support feudalism and lastly MQM called itself muttahaida instead of mohajir for a reason, its supporters want to see it being ethnically progressive not ethnically restrictive.
    You could have other reasons for supporting feudalism/Bhutto why dont you just lay out your reasons instead of making this a petty sindi vs muhajir argument?

54. Salman A. (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 8:18 pm

going back to the 16 million dollar debate, i mean 16,000,000 people, Cowasjee, the famous Dawn guy, has been seen on TV saying that ’sub saala chor hai’.. the paan wala at the nukkar of my gali, who makes my favorite sounf khushboo, said the same thing and without using the word ’saala’. the question is what took that veteran reporter so long to figure it out?

Morale of the story:
    16 million can’t be wrong- lets face it.

Peace :)

55. Concerned (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 8:30 pm

@Redmunk

Dude, I never said Bhutto was bad, I genuinly liked the guy and I am sure BB as a person would not be bad either, but the fact is tht her hubby and her entire cabinet is made up of waderas who dont give a shit about any one else but them selves. the simple way to show this is to go to any city (if you can even call it tht) in sindh and see the position they are in, waderas have ruled for quite awhile in Paki history and every where in sindh (outside khi) looks like its going to fall apart.

As for BB doing something for Khi (from the other subject), dude wht hole did u have your head in, name one thing useful she did for khi, the only thing I can rem is the big monstrosity called Bilawal house, and tht aint useful.

56. UZi (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 8:44 pm

Speaking of statistics:

1) 16,000,000 people don’t vote, nor are all votes legitimate. If you actually went to the poll booths and voted, you’d know what I mean. “Poll-rigging” mean anything to you?

2) How many people vote for the lota waderas in interior Sindh? Yet, are those waderas (currently siding with the PML-Q) not in power right now too? Would you say x,000,000 Haris can’t be wrong?

3) How many Americans voted for George W. Bush to be reelected? Were all of them right?

57. ash (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 9:29 pm

i heart cowasjee!
    “gali gali main shor hai
    sub sala chor hai” :)

58. Salman A. (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 9:43 pm

Good Evening, kaisi ho aaj?
    listen, dont get too technical and learn to respect people’s opinion…

1) 16,000,000 people don’t vote, nor are all votes legitimate. If you actually went to the poll booths and voted, you’d know what I mean. “Poll-rigging” mean anything to you?
    Answer:
    All rigging aside, can you beat Zardari in Lyari? bring your entire army, you’ll still fail miserably..

2) How many people vote for the lota waderas in interior Sindh? Yet, are those waderas (currently siding with the PML-Q) not in power right now too? Would you say x,000,000 Haris can’t be wrong?
    Answer:
    No they are right.. They love Bhutto.. Army or the anti-Bhutto forces will have to go an extra million mile to change their perception.. the same is true for MQM..

3) How many Americans voted for George W. Bush to be reelected? Were all of them right?
    Ans:
    62 million popular vote.. they felt more secure under bush and we need to respect that too………

59. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 9:57 pm

Ash: Honestly speaking, from what ive read & seen, PPP, as corupt as they were, most of their ppl are educated & look @ the facts, in BB’s gov no one except mqm bitched. There was development nationwide.

I dint bring the wadera part in.

“but come on how can you trust a wadera tht is believed to be involved the murder of her own brother.”
    Ash: Honestly speaking, from what ive read & seen, PPP, as corupt as they were, most of their ppl are educated & look @ the facts, in BB’s gov no one except mqm bitched. There was development nationwide.

I dint bring the wadera part in.

“but come on how can you trust a wadera tht is believed to be involved the murder of her own brother.”

60. UZi (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 9:57 pm

No they are right.. They love Bhutto.. Army or the anti-Bhutto forces will have to go an extra million mile to change their perception.. the same is true for MQM

Oh? They love Bhutto? Is that why they ditched the PPP and joined the PML-Q? :P Those waderas are LOTAS.

As for the Haris, have you ever been to those areas and seen the situation for yourself? I have. It’s easy to sit in a cosy livingroom and type away at an internet-enabled computer, y’know — the ground realities, however, are very different — as different as Democracy is from the messed up system of governance in place in this country of ours.

Yes, this stuff pisses me off no end. The fact that these politicians try to take the awam on a ride pisses me off. Also annoying is the fact that more often than not, the awam actually DOES voluntarily get taken for a ride.

PS: Where in my posts have I insulted you or your opinions? You, on the other hand, HAVE tried to use a whole plethora of derogatory terms. “Practice what you preach”? : )

PS1: Good evening to you, too. MeiN theek thaak hooN, Allah ka shukar hai, aap sunaeiN? :P

61. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 10:05 pm

Uzi, how many sindhi’s joined Q-league?

Remember that Imtiaz Sheikh/Kawa/Liaqat Jatoi (well maybe not him to a certain extent), were NOTHING in previous admins.

& salman is right, go to gizri/ibrahim haidri/ lyari/ ranchor line/ chakiwara (i can go on)… & ask the ppl, screw that, just look at the poseters. Ull find that the pop vote goes to PPP.

Ure right abt the hari’s though, but again, what is being done? More importantly, what do u suggest? They themselves will tell u that life was better for them in the days gone by. (If we in the city find prices astronomical, imagine them poor souls), but why am i tellig u this.

You already know it :).

62. UZi (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 10:14 pm

@ Red_Munk:

I see what you’re saying about the Haris. And I agree. But there HAS to be a way out, dude. : ( There really HAS to be a way out!

Ima think about this — maybe I’ll be able to come up with something. In the meantime, suggestions are more than welcome! : )

63. Concerned (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 10:16 pm

@red munk

Dude wht economic policy of BB are you talking about,

1. The Power plant tht she built (HUBCO) was in the papers long after she was gone, things were so bad that most international investors would just look at HUBCO and stay away from Pak.
    2. She over loaded all public institutions with people, tht is how she beat unemployment. People were doing half the time for full salaries, tht is why most industries (namely PIA and SM) were run down.
    3. She did not set up any new industry.

As for MQM, I agree there havent been many industries set up either, I am not entirely sure abt this and correct me if I am wrong, but I heard about a few things coming up in the Qasim industrial area and some old industries being reopened in KEPZ (this one I am sure abt bec my cousin got his old job back, which he lost when his factory closed down in the 90s)

As for the ppl in interior sindh being happy, I have serious doubts, I have some land in interior sindh (yeah I am a MINI wadera), we get calls from the Haris over there every now and then and I have seen how they live, I wouldnt wish tht on my worst enemy.

Please tell me if your friendly waderas are so good how come interior sindh is still the way it is and why is Lyari still lyari. Yes they support their local wadera, but they do it because they dont have an option. I will not support someone who drives around his land in an air conditioned pajero while his ppl (haris) are burining their blood outside.

64. UZi (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 10:18 pm

@ Red_Munk:

About the Q-league: These past couple of days, ever since I decided that something absolutely HAS to be done about this circus, I’ve been trying to figure out the “Q-league phenomena” in Sindh. You seem to know about them. Help?

65. UZi (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 10:20 pm

LOL @ “mini” wadera. :D :P

66. Concerned (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 10:23 pm

@redmunk

Sorry forgot tht u agreed with me on the Hari bit. Got carried away.

67. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 11:03 pm

np’s.

First of, apart from hubco, industries were allowed to put up their own power plants + given a garunteed PPA. (Thats “Power purchase agreement btw). Present gov for all the licences they have issued, since 2 years cannot come up with a suitable PPA for new investors.

They want 9cents (last i heard they up’d it to 11c, but they are offering exsisting plants a variation of 13-17c). The investors want atleast 13c which is @ par & only fair of them to ask dont u think?

Point 2: Sure. That is considered one of the problems with Mr.Bhutto as well, but u have to create jobs, and imo its one of those necessary evils.
    Mush is filling up every department with his ppl as well, but thats ok imo. As long as the money they earn gets spent into the market, it helps stimulate the economy, leading to growth.

(It might not be the most solid of argument, but it is better than ppl starving dont u think?)

Point 3: She’s not an industrialist. She does not set em up, but her gov did provide business men with the most incentives & the bottom line is that despite the 10%, work did get done.

Nawaz dint do jack. Present gov, If ure lucky, ull only deal with Mush’s son/ father in law & might get away with paying only 25%, but there is absolutely no garuntee that ull get results.

& if u dont wanna talk about the corruption, look at the ecnomic policies. What incentives has the gov given?

They have imposed all the taxes they could think of. All the export markets have put quota’s on our products and the GOV has provided ZERO protection to the industires and even in the home market, everyone from Textile to Sugar to Cement to Rice is complaining regarding the excess tarrifs & non-cooperative policies.

KEPZ? I dont know about that. Please tell me more.

Thankfully, none of my friends suck their ppl dry. When ever one of them comes to power, they allot their ppl jobs/land/ resources for healthcare/edu & more imp in ways that they can earn money. i.e rozi roti. (Sugarcane/rice/wheat & cotton seeds at a cheaper price. Water supplies etc, but again as I said, they are also suffering due to Climatical changes) (Drying up of water, land becoming salty/parched. No crop rotation leading to less yield & the stupid gov importing products that are grown @ home) (eg: patato’s, rice, wheat etc).

Uzi, Q league are muppets. Thats all i can say.

Look at the compostion, they are all the uneducated scum who were yes-men in the previous govs.

Charte suraj ko salam.

Remember that a lot of ppl in sindh have not been in power since 10 years. “Desperate times call for desperate measures”

& more appropriately, “Sab sale chor hain”.

As Mush once said “Im a pakistani. Since even a peon is corrupt, how can you expect the leaders to be coruption free”.

68. Salman A. (unregistered) May 9th, 2007 11:32 pm

-We are not makers of history. We are made by history.
    -We have guided missiles and misguided men.

Martin Luther King said that before I could. Timing is important :)

69. SELF (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 12:02 am

Now MQ wants CJ to cancel his tour; http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2007-daily/09-05-2007/up66.gif

Why is MQM going this far to appease the biggest jaheerdaar of all General Mushi who considers the whole country his jageer?

I had expectations from MQM since Altaf Bhai had started dars on spirituality, equal rights and all that but now I am not sure.

70. CitizenofKhi (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 12:30 am

Guys I am not much into politics and I dont want to divert the debate either, I have no complaints about others calling Altaf Hussein as Altaf bhai but I was just wondering why dont ppl call Musharruf bhai ? or like Nawaz Shareef bhai or hhmmm like Benazir baji (They are not muslims ???)

Is it a respect or ppl are scared of him ? I cant understand if it is a respect as I am sure that ppl respects Edhi more then anybody as a role model but still they dont call him Edhi bhai. So then whats the reason ?

71. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 12:32 am

MQM is just playing the dirty game.. first its terrorist suspended tv channels transmission then they sealed of Supreme court Bar’s president Munir A Malik’s house .. now they want CJ to cancel his tour and they’re saying the the route on which CJ’s rally was to take place will be used by them from MQM’s rally…

72. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 12:36 am

@CitizenofKhi its not out of respect that we’re calling Altaf bai as bai its just that he and his goons love it that way.. they want Pir sahib to be addressed as Altaf bai..

73. SELF (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 12:40 am

انہوں نے کہا کہ ایم کیوایم ریلی نکال کر خود اپنی سیاست کی نفی کر رہی ہے۔ اعتزاز احسن کا کہنا تھا کہ ایم کیو ایم کے موجودہ موقف کی وجہ سے جماعت میں خاصا تناؤ ہے اور اس کے کارکن تذبذب کا شکار ہیں، تاہم بارہ مئی کو ایم کیوایم سے تعلق رکھنے والے افراد کراچی میں چیف جسٹس پاکستان کی تقریب میں شرکت کریں گے۔

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/05/070509_aitzaz_on_justcie_sq.shtml

74. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 12:40 am

MQM actually loves copying international gangsters and terrorist organization be it IRA(irish republican army) and Sinn F√©in or be it Dawood Ibrahim underworld don and Bhai of Mumbai.. MQM just closely studies them all and then tries to replicate their actions here…

75. Salman A. (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 1:12 am

and there are also many Munna Bhai MBBS in MQM :)

76. ash (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 3:12 am

red munk says “I dint bring the wadera part in.

If u wanna bring the “alleged” murder part into it, im sure we can fill up pages with the FIR’s/cases against MQM hirearchy.”

RM - i didnt say anything about BB’s dead bro so why did you address that to me?

77. ash (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 4:21 am

anyway i have plenty of sympathy for all the hari’s in pakistan and i am antifuedal because that is a self perpetuating caste system which thrives on inequality and it doesnt affect my life one bit (thank you MQM) but it is sucking the life out of the poor hari in sind punjab and you name it. BTW india abolished feudalism which is why democracy works in the poverty and illiteracy of India but not Pakistan.

78. wasiq (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 4:36 am

Darinda jee….aap ki taraf toh hum sirf salma agha jee ko jantey hain…5000Rs kay lian toh woh darwaza toh kya window khool kay kachra bhi nahein pheinkayn gee…..why don’t i buy a new mobile and stand in front of a halwai at hyderi market….

Some girls try and some girls lie but
    I don’t let them play
    Only girls who save their panties
    Make my rainy day, ’cause they are

(chorus)

Living in a material world [material]

79. SELF (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 5:36 am

Firing on CJ’s lawyer home in Clifton; http://www.jang.com.pk/jang/may2007-daily/10-05-2007/up03.gif

Someone is trying to scare CJ into not coming on 12th. Hmmm…who could have done this? Any guesses?

80. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 5:53 am

Dude, stop taking it personally. I dint target that toward you, sorry if you thought so.

I was quoting from Concerned ’s post.(around the 15th post).

There they go again. Urrrrgh, y are these idiots hell-bent on bringing life to a stand-still. Isnt there an isolated part of the city where these clowns can slug it out??

I have to go to the airport. Hopefully thats possible without problems.

Hopefully no one falls ill, but with the power crisis as they are, thats highly unlikely.

As usual in the end we the common ppl will suffer.
    Lets pray its to the minimum.

81. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 5:58 am

Self, it was done by anti-gov/foreign agencies/ RAW/MOSAD to destabilise the country and make the gov look bad.

…..seriously.

No really……Y wont u belive me!!?? :’{

82. Neena (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 9:00 am

uhhhh no? They’re NOT pretending to be a part of it. They’re having a SEPARATE rally to compete for support (and media coverage) with the CJP.

Uzi (Nice ID ;),

Sorry I jumped to the conclusion too soon. I thought MQM is putting their Act together. SIGH, I guess they’ll never learn.

I’m hearing Karachi tense ahead of May 12 rallies. Even Home Secretory asked Chief Justice to cancle his vist. Govt. should do their job instead using lame excuses to stop political parties showing their strength.

83. MQM Ka Darinda (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 1:17 pm

Bacho: Munir Malik ke ghar par attack ho gia hai. I was warning you guys not to cross your limits. Altaf Bai is now angry and unka ghusa tum sub saala logo ko haseen naagin banke das le ga! Run forest run!

@Wasiq: Chelsea 0 - 0 Man Utd
    My prediction for FA cup final: Chelsea 1 - 3 Man Utd. Chal shart lagaye.. 5000 ki?

@Dangar Doctor: Saale Tu buhat boolta hai. Tujhe boola tha moon band rakh, bu aati hai ya kam se kam subah brush kar lia kar! aa jaate hein pata nahi kahan kahan se

@Red_Munk/Surkh Bandar: The only hope this country has is a bloody revolution. I agree with Saala Sab Chor hein part but if somehow we are able to set a few examples, sab chor will automatically be farishte for a while. Examples have to be set from top though. For example article 6 of constitution has to be applied on a few bloody generals and there you go, army wont dare to interfere in politics again. Unfortunately I dont see any signs of even a mini revolution at the moment.

84. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 1:28 pm

MQM have arrested 12 haqiqi workers and accused them of planning to attack CJ’s rally with AK47s .. seems like MQM is just busy cooking some thing up.. why would haqiqi attack CJs rally when its own workers are also planning to take part in that rally and when its taking part in every opposition rally… MQM just is playing the dirty game.. latest news is that they’ve even asked their goons to go to airport
    and mess up things there too when CJ arrives…

85. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 1:38 pm

seems like MQM is just busy cooking some thing up

umm.. something like that?

tinyurl.com/2mur29

86. SELF (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 3:39 pm

I am surprised (ایم کیو ایم (مشرف کی مانو)have not blamed Awaam for this incident.

87. Abdullah (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 5:13 pm
  88. SELF (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 6:06 pm

Abdullah try to come up with your ideas/words sometimes.

Kashif is a typical hypocrite Mullah ….he doesn’t like to mention all those acts of terrorism committed by his fellow Mullahs all the time killing none other than their own fellow Muslims, one of the biggest sins in Islam there is …much bigger than naach gana. He also does not like to mention selling of Islam and Allah and Rasool’s name for personal gains…assembly seats, power and influence in society, monetary gains… again by his fellow Mullahs..and again one of the biggest sins there is and one reason for other nations to be declared maghzoob e alaihim. So what Allah and Rasool have declared as big sins are not significant for him and are ignored by him but other things that are threatening Mullah’s rule in the society are high on his list. Its quite obvious he is only worried about decline of Mullah rule in society, so what do you expect from a person like that?

89. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 6:09 pm

Chacha wardi londa kio nai- fowarded by Saad.

tinyurl.com/2vdbhz

Amazing!

90. UZi (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 6:10 pm

@ Self: *standing ovation*

91. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 7:14 pm

@ AS:. That video was disturbing :S.

Seems to have been made by the Lal Masjid folks.

IMO mush is better than those loonies anyday.

Btw, did anyone notice BB’s picture? (Pink suit)… WOW. How old is that? Early 90’s?

92. d0ct0r (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 7:23 pm

just imagine this conversation taking place between MQM’s sector incharge and governor house

Sector Incharge : Sir, firing at Munir Malik’s residence just compeleted..
    GovernorHouse : ok good! welldone!

now PA to governor calls up a press conference…

GovernorHouse : Altaf bai and governor Ishrat would like to condemn this incident of firing…
    Journalist : which firing?
    GovernorHouse : the one which took place at Munir Malik’s house just now…
    Journalists : oh! firing took place on munir maliks house?! (obviously reporters are shocked & unaware…. )

ever wondered how come Altaf bai is first one to condemn these types of terrorist incidents? well atleast now you know how….some times even media is late to break a news and Altaf bai condemns it even before news is broken..

93. Concerned (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 10:44 pm

@Doctor

You go to great lenghts to further your cause dont you. Good to see you are so committed.

94. KhiTorPit (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 10:47 pm

Hi KMB Authors, Can any one of you create a separate post for sat. 12th of May with any name like “Whats happening in Khi”, so that anybody can input their comments … like what they have seen with their naked eyes or if they have heard something strange, rumours will not be appreciated. As everybody would be anxious and curious to know whats happening in the city, KMB should be a good source of news and update.
    I hope everything will be alright and nothing will go wrong inshallah.

95. UZi (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 10:53 pm

I’ve been assigned to cover the Saturday waali rally — will post updates! This is going to be FUN!!!

96. Salman A. (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 11:08 pm

doctor sahab,
    do you get paid for this or just a personal grudge? let me know ‘cos i am also interested in making for some extra bucks :)

97. KhiTorPit (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 11:30 pm

@UZI, are you going to attend the rally by yourself ? but then which rally ? The CJ rally (Andha Qanoon) or the MQM rally (Multiple Murder of Qanoon) ??? which one ?

98. UZi (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 11:38 pm

I’m not “attending” any rally, dude — I’ve been assigned to cover the CJP’s rally for my newspaper… and yeah, I’ll be going by myself! Many-funs! :P

99. UZi (unregistered) May 10th, 2007 11:39 pm

So yeah, Saturday’s going to be a looooooooooooooooooooooooooong loooooooooooooooooooong day! *sigh*

100. Salman A. (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 12:19 am

Uzi,
    is this your fultime job? how much do they pay per month? 20 to 50K? or more or less? or it’s per project basis?

101. UZi (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 12:23 am

Salman: I’m a journalist. I work for Daily Times, Karachi. Yes, it IS my fulltime job. I’m a sub-editor and a reporter. Why do you have to know about my paycheque? O_o

102. Salman A. (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 12:28 am

just to get an idea if I should recommend this profession to anyone? and whats wrong with giving some clue about how much a journalist makes?

103. UZi (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 12:38 am

lol okay!

Yaar, journos ki pay is never fixed — as in, other people will not be getting what I’m getting, and vice versa. My paycheque is .. well, let’s just say it’a a tad more than 20k and a tad less than 30k. : ) Apart from this, my cellphone and transport are free.

This, however, is the “higher end” of the spectrum for someone at my level (beginner). I started off in August 2006 at 10k per month.

It depends on a person’s performance and all, so there really aren’t any set packages, as far as I know. And yes, DO recommend people — God knows this field needs tameez k people!

Hope that helped!

PS: If you know anyone who’d like to join, tell them to send me an email: urooj AT dailytimes DOT com DOT pk.

104. Salman A. (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 12:45 am

thanks for being so honest. i truly admire it. the situation is not good- journalists are definitely under paid. and that answers why there arent many tameez k log in this field. you being an exception though..

105. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 12:49 am

RedMunk, first of all it has not been made by Lal masjid people. How come you can say that it was made by them? I would like to know the wisdom you used to figure it out. Just because Mush is being targetted? Who is not targetting him? Should I call you a Lalmasjid supporter too becuase in few posts you had been targetting Musharraf?

Whatever things mentioned in the video actually happened and there is no wild imagination.

You sound confused to me. Not being able to decide what is good and what is NOT good. Anyway, it’s not my issue. May God give you enough wisdom to comprehend different things-ameen.

106. Salman A. (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 1:10 am

Uzi, write up something on this and make people aware of our real enemies instead of sunni Vs shias and muhajir Vs punjabi.. if i try to backtrack with my limited knowledge and capability and try to find out when and where our problems started, the murder of our last patriotic leader tells a lot..

this is where the ’satya naasi’ of our country began:
    http://www.arabnews.com/?page=9§ion=0&article=85526&d=18&m=7&y=2006

107. SELF (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 1:43 am

پولیس نے استقبالیہ کیمپ اکھاڑ دیے

چیف جسٹس آف پاکستان جسٹس افتخار محمد چودھری کی 12 مئی کو کراچی آمد کے سلسلے میں سیاسی جماعتوں کی طرف سے لگائے گئے استقبالیہ کیمپ پولیس نے اکھاڑ دیئے ہیں۔
    یہ کیمپ جماعت اسلامی، پاکستان پیپلز پارٹی اور لیبر پارٹی کی جانب سے لگائے گئے تھے۔

http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/05/070510_justice_prep_karachi_ns.shtml

Another action taken by “awaam”… :)

Very crude.

108. UZi (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 1:51 am

@ Salman: I agree @ satya naasi.

@ Self: I heard about this too. The ARD president (Qaim Ali Shah) and MMA leaders were ranting about it. Sad, sad state of affairs. “Crude” is the right word to use here. I wonder what’ll happen on May 12 — people should remain indoors until and unless it’s a matter of life and death.

Even if it is (a matter of life and death, that is), I think people will be much better off indoors, because with the circus going on all over everywhere, I don’t think anyone will be able to get to hospitals on time.

109. wasiq (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 2:27 am

what ? only one lunch box and one juice…..they are giving a lunch box with two juices and a bottle of water…..waisay with two lunch boxes one water bottle bhi chaley gaa…..7:00 o’clock tak final kar deyna bhai ko aur bhi kaam hain….!!!

WHEN THE GOING GETS TOUGH
    THE TOUGH GETS GOING….
    When the going gets tough
    The tough gets going

Yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah
    Wooh, yeah, yeah, yeah, yeah

110. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 8:03 am

Adnan, yes. Im confused.

Please, Help me :
    Adnan, yes. Im confused.

Please, Help me :

111. Adnan Siddiqi (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 10:49 am

RM, I expect you are not being sarcastic :-). Anyway, God is more nearer to you than me or anyone else. What stops you to getback to Him?

112. Red_Munk!! (unregistered) May 11th, 2007 1:02 pm

In case you missed it:

Muneer A Malik’s piece in todays DAWN.

http://www.dawn.com/2007/05/11/op.htm

also check out the ever-brilliant Ayaz Amir:

http://www.dawn.com/weekly/ayaz/ayaz.htm

113. Kashif (unregistered) May 12th, 2007 4:03 am

I have flight on 12th May 2007 of Dubai ! :( at 7 o clock PM. I am not sure I will be able to even see AIRPORT …
    It’s my 13th day of 14 days Visa Expiry , I can afford flight delay but not canceletion, If I won’t get seat in next flight My visa will be expired, Never hated Govt. before this incident.

114. Red_Munk!!