The day karachi showed what its made of
All through the day, i was glued to the TV screen, trying to make sense of what was going on. One thing was sure, it was not going to be pretty.
And so, i was not prepared for how it ended, and i have to say, never have i been prouder of being a karachiite than today. Today, Karachi stood up and showed to the country that it cannot be manipulated by hijacked political manuevers. The city stood up against threat to its peace, its stability and its well being. Everybody has different views on how the events played out, with the ‘mob mentality’ against MQM being the strongest of the opinions, yet this is not how i see it.
Today had all the trappings of being a disaster. In a city of 15 million people, with over 6 hours of firing in over 10 areas of the city, only 20 people lost their lives. Dont get me wrong, i do not condone the loss of any life, especially at the hands of violence, but you have to take things into perspective. Such a city-wide terror scheme could’ve taken the lives of hundreds of people today, yet the death toll was limited.
Think about it, a single shooter in a single university campus of Virginia Tech, USA managed to take out more people in a couple of hours than the ‘hundreds’ of mobsters out there in the city today.
The MQM is being blamed since the event started, i say give me proof that the killers were MQM. Find out who they were and then blame the party. Just because they were involved in such activities in the past does not give anyone free reign in blaming them for every shooting incident in the city. There are a lot of other ‘elements’ in the city which can accused but i dont see anyone even thinking about them. Many of the people killed belonged to Sunni Tehreek, PML(Q) and the PPP as well as MQM itself. Howcome it was only the MQM who was blamed? The MQM rally itself was as peaceful as a rally could get. Thousands of people were gathered at their rally and the procession was taken out on MA Jinnah Road, how many shooting incidents occurred there or around it?
The fact that police and rangers were not present at the scene was an extremely good strategic decision, otherwise the scenario right now would’ve been really different. It would’ve turned out to be a clash between the mob and the authorities and the death toll would’ve gone up drastically. A member of the govt. very rightly pointed out that even a law enforcement officers bullet can kill a person if done in response. Also, the peoples reaction gets really changed when they see men in police uniforms, and violence is usually the outcome of such a scenario.
As for the matter of the Chief Justice, the cause which today was hijacked by whoever wanted to turn my city into a battle ground was sent back. It was his visit here, which heightened the sensitiveness of the day, which was the root cause of today’s happenings. Take a look at how many other rallies have been taken out recently by MQM which were peaceful and you cannot just get up and blame MQM for this.
And lastly, if anyone who watched TV today would have seen, where were the leaders of the other political parties when everything was going to hell? The only people i saw on TV today were the MQM leaders, whether they be city govt. officials, provincial ministers and any other person in a position of power. They were on the roads today at the rally, amid bullets flying all over the city. This is a true test of leaders people! These are the people, who get out in the midst of the trouble and give sense to it all and lead their people. Today, i was impressed by the leadership of MQM, and today i truly understand why they own the city!
Related posts:

mansoor i dnt get it….why are you giving the example of how peaceful the MQM rally was? do u think they wud shoot on their own selves assuming that it was them causing the violence elsewhere? why wud they create panic in their OWN rally?
No Mansoor, i think this is the day Karachi lost.
Cy is right on this one, i think.
Perhaps…
Tee, lots of MQM workers gathered at a single place? think about it.
imran: its a point of view…
دوسری طرف عوامی نیشنل پارٹی کے مرکزی صدر اسفندیار ولی خان نے پشاور میں ایک پریس کانفرنس کے دوران پشاور ہائی کورٹ بار ایسوسی ایشن کی جانب سے اعلان کردہ ہڑتال کی حمایت کا اعلان کیا۔
انہوں نے کراچی میں ہونے والے ہنگاموں کی مذمت کرتے ہوئے الزام لگایا کہ ایم کیو ایم وزیراعظم شوکت عزیز کی جانب سے ملک میں ایمرجنسی نافذ کرنے کے بیان کو عملی جامہ پہنانے کی کوشش کر رہی ہے۔انہوں نے کہا کہ چیف جسٹس کے لاہور کے دورے کے موقع پر چھبیس گھنٹے کی مسافت طے کرنے کے باوجود ایک بھی پتھرنہیں پھینکا گیا جبکہ بقول ان کے ایم کیو ایم نے ایک منظم سازش کے تحت کراچی میں چیف جسٹس کے اترنے کے ساتھ ہی ہنگاموں کا سلسلہ شروع کردیا۔
BBC Urdu
Mansoor: I’M saying that the MQM was responsible for making my city bleed today. And yes, I have proof — I was there. Field reporting has it’s advantages — you get to watch crap unfold before your eyes.
You know what it feels like when you have to lift a dead body that no one’s touched for hours? You know what it feels like to see a person shot and bleeding right in front of you? You know what it feels like when you know your friends are trapped inside the Aaj TV building and no one’s willing to help them? Helplessness is what you feel then — and rage. Infinite rage.
And no, I’m not blaming the MQM just because I’m angry. I’m blaming them because I *saw* them doing it. I saw them point a TT at a colleague and tell him to stfu. I saw them roam around in cars chokful of ammunition. I saw them kill, pillage and plunder today. I saw them attacking my friends in the Aaj TV building.
They made my city bleed today, and for this, they will NEVER be forgiven.
mansoor: It’s interesting to see the contrast between your post and CY’s. I respect your right to your opinion, but I think CY’s right on this, not a doubt in my mind.
Karachi bled today, and so did every single karachiite, whether home or abroad…and… whether they realised it or not…
Mansoor,
my mate i am sorry but MQM is to be blamed squarly for all this.
These rallies were staged all over the country and not a single city showed such massive intolerrance to others.
The muttahida element has a ugly face and me being a Urdu speaking knows them from the inside.
A few of my distant relatives’ sons and friends have been (and my be still are) part of all these activities.
I think the way MQM has put it today will continue to hurt them for a long time to come, unless they shun voilence.
The scenes on AAJ TV were nothing but a sad reminder that we are not at all different from places like Rwanda, Congo and Darfur.
I think Waseeem Akhtar shall be sacked immediately from the office, this man is all words and no show.
Had the CJ circus went on as scheduled, it would not have made a difference to MQM’s support in the city, but this idiotic display of what we call in Karachi “BHARAM” has again showed that the MQM hierarchy is only made up of arrogant, unworthy, PAN CHEWING BHAYA group, which totaly lacks any sensibility and can not be trusted with power.
No matter how many mega projects you can launch, and what gigantic good deeds you perform over the past 20 years, no one is allowed to be swinging automatic weaponary, shoooting straight at people in offices. NEVER.
This is what happens when you appoint street dwellling, good for nothing, BCOMM failing 22 years old junk to be your UNIT INCHARGE. On their ability these guys dont even deserve to get a job as a peon and now they have power, they consider themselves strong.
What MQM has lost … is my “VOTE” forever, and maybe a few thousands more.
Finally an MQM or I say Army apologetic officially made the post :-). Mansoor pls dont give the reference of pics published on MQM’s website. Only an Idiot could believe in those pic in which some guy wearing ANP badge and firing on others.
Mansoor, you really have to out of your senses to say “only 20 people”. Just imagine it could be any one of us. Even a single innocent death should send ripples across the country, but we are so immune to these things, that its unbelievable. That Edhi driver who was shot and murdered by whoever doesn’t matter, it was like murdering the whole of humanity.
‘only 20 people lost their lives’, its disgusting of you to say that.
FUCK THE EX_CHIEF JUSTICE AND THE PPP AND ITS SUPPORTERS. THEY”RE TRYING TO DESTROY KARACHI. KILL THE PPP BASTARDS.
What MQM has lost … is my “VOTE” forever, and maybe a few thousands more.
Sir aap bholay hain. You think Ghundas care for your and my vote. The party who forces people to cast vote else their family would be in trouble, can do anything and when I say anything, it means anything. Today people who never experienced MQM in life are talking in favor of MQM. Less credible and less heard.
Softjoint, that is exactly what you guys tried to do today.
well said Adnan… do they really care about the vote? Last time when I went to cast my vote it was already casted and trust me it was in MQM favor. Firstly the area where i lived is hugely MQM dominated and not surprisingly MQM won from that area.
Mansoor you have made an excellent point which will be lost because today is a day for emotion and the death toll has left us all slightly hysterical.
I strongly condemn the violence done today by everyone but you are right we should admire the retstraint shown too.
Daring on your part to say something like that. Gotta applaud that. Just like you had the audacity to applaud what went in the city today. Apparently, THE DAY KARACHI SHOWED WHAT IT IS MADE OF, yes indeed. Made of Gun totting , good for nothing goons who can only harass people. Humiliate, insult, put fear, violate, abuse and unabashed use of force and violence and terror against the people of Karachi. and then audacious enough to call it the strength. Strength Indeed. I doubt anybody would want to protest or fight against a mob of 250 or more men holding the most sophisticated automatic weapons. So they decided to participate in the rally for the fear of their lives. Show of strength and support. Indeed.
I can go on and on about it, but please - dont give me the reason that its not only mqm who does it. others do it too, but mqm is the worse of the lot. they do it unashamedly - they have been doing since `93 … and yet their B******* of a leader sits in london, speaks to citizens for hours (and i am yet to find out who funds those hours long phone calls) and never has the guts to come to the city ? God … its infuriating to the point of blowing up. Salute to AAJ TV for doing what they did. Talat Hussain should be awarded highest civil award for his bravery and his undying attitude. I had friends who told me how talat refused to hear from his colleagues about shutting down the coverage, how he stood against the anarchy of mqm and showed what he saw. Salute to the entire team of exposing it. It might create alot of problems, it may not see the light of the day, itmay not be telecasted on tv again - yet all of us who were watching tv we saw who did what. and nobody can wipe our minds away, unless we want to. PEOPLE, ITS TIME TO KNOW WHO DID RIGHT, AND WHO WAS WRONG. MAKE A CHOICE.
as for other political party, dude lets not even go there for we all know WHY that happened. Isnt it obvious enough to understand that all the roads were blocked EXCEPT FOR THE ROUTE TAKEN BY MQM RALLY ?? is it that difficult to understand ?
Blah it.
Mansoor and MQM supporter here, you guys are illiterate and have no sense, you guys are bullshit. You guys did bleeding in karachi. I was born and brought up in karachi and i am mohajir too but day by day MQM is loosing my support and im sure MQM must be loosing support from lot of families in karachi and those who wanna live in peace. But MQM is the only political party and unfortunetly terrorist party.
@Adnan
There are still people who have faith in MQM. What happened today was bad and it could have been avoided if the CJ had shown some sense and taken the copter to his speech. There was no need to politicise this.
The difference between this CJ rally and the other ones is tht everyone wants a peice of Khi, you had JI, PPP, PML and half a dozen other parties on the street and all of them had weapons. There was no way this was going to go down peacefully.
MQM is to blame for today but so is everyone else.
Can any one tell me why MQM planned to have rally on same day when cheif justice planned to come karachi and other party supported to come karachi and they wanna come to airport to see cheif justice. Truth is that MQM wanted this they want to fight against other parties and judgs, they did what they want to do it.
MQM planned it and all bleeding today went on hands of MQM and their leaders.
as expected MQM says that it was the Karachi AWAM which resisted. I have studied at an institution which was infested by these guys and you cannot believe how retarded these guys are.
I am a doctor. I work at a tertiary care, govt run, large and very well known hospital in khi. Forgive the short hnd style of typing here. I am, and hav been here at work for more than 32 hrs, and am surfing/typing on my cellphone. I rode with my ambulance drivers, was in the hastily set up emergency room in our lobby, attended multiple gunshot wounds victims etc. but nothing struck down my soul more than what 9 fully armed workers of MQM alongwith 2 sector office bearers did. They tried to drag out the wounded and dying body of a Sunni Tehrik worker (we later learnt he was sunni tehrik) for presumably finishing him off. Whn my junior residents said we could not allow that, they slapped my junior, dragged us both by our legs to the back of the gurney alley and with shotguns, pistols and ak-47’s in hand, ran in to our lobby presumably attempting to search whr the man in question was being treated. I ran out to the rangers and police a.s.i. some distance frm our front gate who when approached by myself said, and i quote ‘jaante ho inn logoun ko phir bhi kyon larta ho…hamain upar se order hai ke inn ko 4 baje tak karne do jo karna hai. 4 baje ke baad kuch dekhainge’. I recognized the sector office bearers of the MQM, bcoz I have made the mistake of voting for the MQM in the past. I called a friend in Bohrapir, who is related to Farooq Sattar. 5 mins later the sector charges recieved a call on their cell, and they left, one with a bandana threatening me with ‘naam dekh liya hai tera. Koi shor sharaba karne ki zururat nahi hai baad main warna samajh ja kya hoga’. He also took my junior residnts mobile fone saying ‘chikna set hai’. The guy they had come looking for had been shot one more time in the head. The o.t dress we had dressed him in 10 mins earlier was freshly bloody. I curse myself for all times i hav defended these people in discussions with friends. Bcoz i like many othrs made up my mind based on hearsay and wht familial and traditional biases i grew up with, without being exposed to their reality. Dont misunderstand me. The JI, JUP, pml, ppp, Sunni this and Shia tht, all othr parties may b infinitely worse. I m just saying tht all of us need to understand tht an argument should take place for one reason alone. To compel or b compelled. Whn we hav the logic and conviction to do the former or the sense and courage for the latter, we will stop seeing wht we witnessed in our city today.
For Whole country:
Gali gali mein shoor hay,
Sab saala choar hay. (Cowasjee).
For Karachi:
Iss ghar ko aag lagi ghar kay charagh say
(Thanks to MQM).
I am an ex-voter of MQM, yay sab harami loag hain,
Farooq Sattar, the person I thought was reasonable, has proved himself to be as harami as the rest of bunch is, why it was important for them to hold rally on the same day, why did they
stop CJ entering the city, had they allowed CJ to hold his meeting peacefully, we never had to see 30 casualties today. Magar yay harami never care about the loss of precious life, few of their workers have been killed, but they dont care, infact their history is that they always try to ‘encash’ the loss of lives of their supporters,
some times they can kill their own men for the same reasons.
Hell with you Altaf Hussain, your fate won’t be different from any other dictator & will be the same as of Busharraf.
ÿߟä⁄© Ÿæÿß⁄©ÿ≥ÿ™ÿߟ܀å ⁄©Ÿàÿ¢ÿ¨ ⁄©ÿ±ÿß⁄Ü€å ŸÖŸä⁄∫ ÿ®€ÅŸÜ€í ŸàÿߟрíÿÆŸàŸÜ ⁄©ÿß ÿßÿ≥€å ÿØŸÜ ÿπŸÑŸÖ €ÅŸà⁄Ü⁄©ÿß ÿ™⁄æÿß ÿ¨ÿ≥ ÿ±Ÿàÿ≤ÿߟäŸÖ ⁄©ŸäŸàÿߟäŸÖ ŸÜ€í⁄ÜŸäŸÅ ÿ¨ÿ≥Ÿπÿ≥ ⁄©Ÿä ⁄©ÿ±ÿß⁄Ü€å ÿ¢ŸÖÿØ Ÿàÿߟрí ÿØŸÜ ÿߟæŸÜŸä ÿ±ŸäŸÑ€å ⁄©€íÿߟÜÿπŸÇÿßÿØ ⁄©ÿß ‘ÿ∑ÿ®ŸÑ’ ÿ®ÿ¨ÿßÿØŸäÿß ÿ™⁄æÿ߀î ÿߟäŸä€Å ÿ∑ÿ®ŸÑ ÿ≥Ÿäÿßÿ≥€å ÿ¨ŸÖÿßÿπÿ™Ÿà⁄∫ ÿߟàÿ± Ÿà⁄©ŸÑÿßÿ° ⁄©Ÿà ⁄à⁄æ⁄©€í ⁄Ü⁄æŸæ€íÿߟџÅÿßÿ∏ ŸÖŸä⁄∫’ÿߟџπŸä ŸÖŸäŸπŸÖ’ €Å€å ÿ™⁄æÿ߀î ÿߟäŸÖ ⁄©ŸäŸà ÿߟäŸÖ ⁄©Ÿà ÿπŸÑŸÖ ŸÜ€ÅŸä⁄∫ ⁄©€Å ÿ¢ÿ¨ ÿ™Ÿà ÿߟä⁄© ÿ®⁄܀Šÿ®⁄æŸä ÿØ⁄æŸàŸÜÿ≥ÿå ÿØ⁄æŸÖ⁄©Ÿäÿå ÿ¨ÿ®ÿ±ÿå ÿØ€Åÿ¥ÿ™ÿå ÿ®ŸÑŸä⁄© ŸÖŸäŸÑŸÜ⁄Øÿå ÿߟàÿ±ÿߟà⁄Ü⁄æ€í⁄æÿ™⁄©ŸÜ⁄àŸà⁄∫ ÿ≥€íÿߟæŸÜ€å ŸÖŸÜÿ™ÿÆÿ® ⁄©ÿ±ÿ؀Šÿ±ÿ߀Šÿ≥€í ŸæŸä⁄Ü⁄æ€íŸÜ€ÅŸä⁄∫ €ÅŸπ ÿ≥⁄©ÿ™ÿß ÿ¨ÿ®⁄©€Å Ÿä€Å ÿ™Ÿàÿߟä⁄© ÿÆÿߟÑÿµ ÿ≥Ÿäÿßÿ≥€å ÿ¨ŸÖÿßÿπÿ™Ÿà⁄∫ ÿߟàÿ±ÿ™ÿπŸÑŸäŸÖ ŸäÿߟÅÿ™€Å ÿ∑ÿ®ŸÇ€í Ÿà⁄©ŸÑÿßÿ° ⁄©ÿß ŸÖÿπÿߟ֟рЀŀí€î ÿ¢ÿ¨ ⁄©ÿ±ÿß⁄Ü€å ŸÖŸä⁄∫ ÿ®€ÅŸÜ€íŸàÿߟрíÿÆŸàŸÜ ⁄©€å ÿ∞ŸÖ€Å ÿØÿßÿ± ÿµÿ±ŸÅ ÿ߀å⁄© ÿ¨ŸÖÿßÿπÿ™ €Å€í€î
نجيب الرحمان سائکو, Lahore-Pakistan
BBC Urdu
I am a doctor. I work at a tertiary care, govt run, large and very well known hospital in khi. Forgive the short hnd style of typing here. I am, and hav been here at work for more than 32 hrs, and am surfing/typing on my cellphone. I rode with my ambulance drivers, was in the hastily set up emergency room in our lobby, attended multiple gunshot wounds victims etc. but nothing struck down my soul more than what 9 fully armed workers of MQM alongwith 2 sector office bearers did. They tried to drag out the wounded and dying body of a Sunni Tehrik worker (we later learnt he was sunni tehrik) for presumably finishing him off. Whn my junior residents said we could not allow that, they slapped my junior, dragged us both by our legs to the back of the gurney alley and with shotguns, pistols and ak-47’s in hand, ran in to our lobby presumably attempting to search whr the man in question was being treated. I ran out to the rangers and police a.s.i. some distance frm our front gate who when approached by myself said, and i quote ‘jaante ho inn logoun ko phir bhi kyon larta ho…hamain upar se order hai ke inn ko 4 baje tak karne do jo karna hai. 4 baje ke baad kuch dekhainge’. I recognized the sector office bearers of the MQM, bcoz I have made the mistake of voting for the MQM in the past. I called a friend in Bohrapir, who is related to Farooq Sattar. 5 mins later the sector charges recieved a call on their cell, and they left, one with a bandana threatening me with ‘naam dekh liya hai tera. Koi shor sharaba karne ki zururat nahi hai baad main warna samajh ja kya hoga’. He also took my junior residnts mobile fone saying ‘chikna set hai’. The guy they had come looking for had been shot one more time in the head. The o.t dress we had dressed him in 10 mins earlier was freshly bloody. I curse myself for all times i hav defended these people in discussions with friends. Bcoz i like many othrs made up my mind based on hearsay and wht familial and traditional biases i grew up with, without being exposed to their reality. Dont misunderstand me. The JI, JUP, pml, ppp, Sunni this and Shia tht, all othr parties may b infinitely worse. I m just saying tht all of us need to understand tht an argument should take place for one reason alone. To compel or b compelled. Whn we hav the logic and conviction to do the former or the sense and courage for the latter, we will stop seeing wht we witnessed in our city today.
AAh! Mansoor, come on.
They city bleeded, thousands of teh sensitive hearts cried silently.MQM, I wish I could burn them alive. How many times I felt helpless, came up blogged and went down to watch those scenes again.
I’m totally with UZ. I can’ttel you how I felt when I thought of a dead body lying on teh street and no one lifting it. I wished to do it but you know the coward me, didn’t even speak out.
I have always hated MQM. So manynames to mention people whom I have met in my teens, people who are governing, who were not allowed to come to PAkistan they are ruling…
And we are silent puppets.
MQM had a past..MQM repeated it today and it will do that whenever it feel likes.
They are not humans, they have never been.
I am 100% agreed with UNAIZA NASEEM. And that we saw in our universities, how MQM supporter fight around 30 mqm’s loonday kicking 1 innocent guy. Dont support MQM, it is clear that MQM did same thing in past and now they are still same, even after 1992 operation, most of them were killed but i donno how we still have same fighters, i think they are brought up again…..we need another operation against MQM. By the way I am Mohajir too. but i m against terrorism and MQM.
I’m sorry but what restraint are you guys talking about and so proud off? How can you say only 33 lives lost which is good instead of 500? Not one person should have lost his life, not one soul should have died today. Dying of 33 people is not restraint, restraint is when CJ had his rally peacufully and MQM had their rally peacefully without lost of a single life. MQM being a goverment party should have provided adequate security to both. It would have been great for Karachi if this day would have gone bloodless with both rallies ending peacfully. MQM does not deserve to be in power.
I am 100% agreed with UNAIZA NASEEM. And that we saw in our universities, how MQM supporter fight around 30 mqm’s loonday kicking 1 innocent guy. Dont support MQM, it is clear that MQM did same thing in past and now they are still same, even after 1992 operation, most of them were killed but i donno how we still have same fighters, i think they are brought up again…..we need another operation against MQM. By the way I am Mohajir too. but i m against terrorism and MQM.
Musharaf is Good but MQM is not with even Musharraf, MQM is doing what they used to do in past.
One question and I’d appreciate someone answering. Mansoor says MQM members were also among those killed today ( may God grant them Heaven). Does anyone have exact details regarding those killed? As in which parties they belonged to etc?
Look at clip at GEO TV, how childrens are requesting to nation of Pakistan to stop this killing.
I love that clip.
BUS KARDO BUS
I am young. I hope to see the day Atlaf dies and noone cares. Son of a bitch.
Mansoor himself may have answer.
its nice to see ppl realizing wat MQM is.
They have hijacked karachi for years.
Doctor, I salute u for ur cooperation to save a life infront of Ghundaas (im not in favor of Sunni Tehreek)
We have a guy died At Mufti Shamzai Chowrangi (formerly “GuruMander”), The bullet went across his ” haram maghaz ” and all of his face and eyes turned red. He was like 20-22 years of age
@Concerned, this whole thing was pre planned. Ishrat-ul-ibad (who is a murderer himself) allowed the dogs to do so. Had the reallly of mqm not been there today, i guarantee u that there would have been peacefull saturday.
manzoor
aap hain bharway. aap ko hero ban na hai MQM ki side lay kar. im sure you were one of those bandits. This is what KMB is, everyone agrees with something (your fellow bloggers)and then you have to come up with another explanation. you know what, shut the fuck up and admit it was MQM because you know it. sad fucking bastard.
I pray and hope that a JUST Government erases all the political parties especially which are led and fuelled by students all over karachi. MQM has infected karachi (the most vibrant city of Pakistan) like AIDS. May ALLAH unite all the Pakistani’s as one Nation not as people with different fake identities. All of these leaders especially Altaf Hussain, Pervaiz Musharaf may be held responsible for their inhuman actions against karachites.
Altaf Hussain, is still being funded by foolish people living all over pakistan and he is living in england…
I request the editorial Staff at ATP that they may form some kind of petition and forward it to all websites/blogs/newspapers so that people can sign to show that we don’t want Altaf Hussain and MQM in Pakistan.
May ALLAH give SABAR to the families of victims - AMEN
Mutahir
completely agree that MQM is to be blamed for wht happened in the city today! but also to be blamed our the leaders in Islamabad. We have a general as president who seem to be not able to maintain law and order in the country!
I’m a muhajir, born and raised in Karachi and I tell you MQM lost big time today. Lost a lot of support. I have been talking to people. Yes, as mcphisto said, somebody explain please how all the roads for the most sensible routes to high court were blocked but MQM’s rally path was clean as whistle? The Geo guy who interviewed Babar Ghouri was saying that at the rally the MQM supporters didn’t even know the situation in the rest of the city. This is typical MQM: to show the world they prop up dignified, tameezdaar, innocent-looking people while in the back they let loose their ghunday.
I know being a muhajir and living in Karachi and seeing the discrimination in 80’s-90’s makes people to support MQM forever. It might hurt, although it shouldn’t, but it’s time to stop any sort of support for MQM. What was a promising, mohazab tanzeem turned into a complete ghunda party very quickly—whatever the reasons might be, there is no excuse to be transformed into a ghunda. They ruined many lives—my second cousin spent years in exile in Tashkent, of all the places, and it completely destroyed his life. It was his fault too. And, there are thousands others that I don’t know about and even more who got killed, both by MQM and their enemies from the past (PPP, ML, Army).
I can recall young people (teenagers) warning others with whom they might have had a fight about their connections with MQM—mera bhai unit incharge ka dost hay!. Although most used to be bogus claims but it still shows what MQM was known to do. Remember the famous slogan, and it is surprising people didn’t find it too wrong in Karachi:
Jo quaid ka ghandaar hay
Wo mout ka haqdaar hay!
I think for many people of Karachi ignorant of MQM’s asleeyat or who decided to look the other way or cover their faces, today inshaAllah will be an eye-opener.
Concerend at May: if CJ is responsible then why didn’t violence occur in other cities?
What MQM and especially Altaf Hussain is doing here is preparing a whole new generation to fight and create war zone in Karachi, as it was 10yrs ago, Have people forgotten how Young Guys from different Universities, Colleges marched for this A**H****, and he ruled their MINDS. Now, that generation died or learnt their lessons, but all of these situations will create two types, one who hates MQM by ALL Hearts and one who loves them, so My Dear fellow Pakistanis, Just SAY NO - A BIG NO to MQM and any political Oranization in educational Institutions.
ALLAH Help Pakistan
@ SJ/the doctor, thanks for the post. It must have been painful typing all that on a cell phone, so thanks for sharing. Take care.
by teh way unaiza, i know where u have studied and whome u have seen :)
UNKNOWN…..i know this too…..big big uni.
Don’t be surprised that MQM workers have guns. All the political parties in Karachi are heavily armed. But only the workers of MQM were killed on a large scale by people from outside Karachi. 15-20,000 people of Karachi were willed. Which other party had thousands of workers killed by the army?
So it would be stupid for MQM workers not to have guns.
Today’s killings were done by all the parties so MQM is not solely to blame. PPP, Punjabi Pakhtoon Itehad, ANP (from NWFP), PML (from Punjab) they were all involved in massive firing.
And some idiots expect MQM to sit and be killed.
In the political game no one is going to sit back and let the idiot ex-Chief Justice run a political campaign on behalf of PPP. People think that the government should give an open field for the opposition to overthrow the government. It won’t happen.
The frustrated opposition is responsible for the massacre in Karachi. The ex-CJ should be shot in the head.
very unfortunate to see KMB hijacked by a bunch of ppl who had somehow been rubbed the wrong way by MQM.
However, i totally support u for saying this outright Mansoor. U have written any thing and every thing which i would have written. So-called journalists shudnt jump up n down on KMB yelling out that they saw this and that,,,, other ppl also have eyes n choose to views things in an UNBIASED perspective. The non-meddling decision by the law agencies was the right way to do things.
N yes, just like mansoor, i am in no way pro-MQM… hard to believe but this is wat is true. It was a horrible disgusting day and unfortunately KMB is too busy playing the blame game :) how unfortunate. KMB today lost all respect which i had for this blog. The Tv footage made me sick, the KMB coverage made me feel disgusted. Only today did i truly see the ugly side of citizen-journalism. Unfortuante indeed.
n BRAVO to mansoor for this post. thanx alot buddy i feel much better now :)
I SIT HERE, MOUTH AGAPE AND JAWS DROPPED, STARING AT MANSOOR’S WORDS, AND AM AT A LOSS FOR WORDS.
HOW, IN THE NAME OF ALL THAT IS GOOD, CAN ANYONE BE SO NAIVE AND BLIND? IT JUST BOGGLES THE MIND.
ABSOLUTELY UNFATHOMABLE! JUST DON’T KNOW HOW ELSE TO RESPOND.
MORE THAN TWENTY PEOPLE MURDERED IN COLD BLOOD; WHAT THE FRIKKIN’ HELL DOES HE CALL THAT IF NOT A DISASTER?
SHABASH BETA! YOU SAY YOU HAVE NEVER BEEN MORE PROUD? WEAR THAT FRIKKIN’ PRIDE ON YOUR SHOULDERS.
unaiza: i can see your still emotional.. please calm down yaar… it wont do you any good to get ur bp up for this..
doctor: Really sorry about your story. About the police not interfering on what the MQM sector incharge was doing and saying they have free reign till 4, believe me, it resulted in a lot less bloody bodies for you to stich up or bag.
inqilab: from what i remember from watching AAJ TV and Geo News today, they had a list running about the people who got killed today, one guy from Sunni Tehreek, two from PML(Q), one eidhi driver and three MQM workers.
iunknown & others: the way this saturday was being setup, there was going to be nothing peaceful about it. If MQM had not been there, there would’ve been others who would’ve continued the shootings. The CJ wasn’t going to be let into karachi, and he wasn’t. It was a political statement, part of a larger game in which today we gave the decisive move.
We forget to see the bigger picture, that things happening around us may actually be bigger than just those affecting us. We’re myopic in both our vision and our actions, and thus we’re still where we were 60 years ago.
Move on! Today what happened in khi was the culmination of a destabilizing movement which was sparked up when the CJ was sacked. His travelling thru out the country garnering support of the so-called swing vote was a move to destabalize the govt and our stability. The motive behind todays visit was hijacked way before by elements who want musharraf gone. The CJ is no longer seeking justice, he has become a political cause, which itself is a subversion of the judiciary.
Karachi single handedly destroyed that movement today.. standing up and refusing to let the CJ (and his hijacked cause) from even setting foot in the city.
You may cry and crib all you like, but keeping your head in the sand about whats happening around you and how is it affecting you will not just go away.
Today, most of us are emotional, we’ve seen blood, we’ve heard gunshots and we’ve been terrorized. For karachi, it is not a new thing, every day countless people are mugged/kidnapped/killed and no one gave a damn, today this happened and suddenly you are all flowing tears? Karachi gave a victory in a larger battle by our political manipulators for destabilizing what we have today, and all you can do is bitch about it?
We may not have the perfect government but its a damn hell lot better than what i’ve seen in the past, and a hell lot more democratic than pakistan has ever seen.
MQM workers may be gundas, they may be badmash and gun-toting cowboys, but they’ve got the city and they’re taking quite good care of it IMO. If you dont want them, vote them out.. DO SOMETHING apart from cowardly cribbing about it.
so when is the Chief Justice running for the elections?
One only has to read opinions here http://newsforums.bbc.co.uk/ws/thread.jspa?sortBy=2&threadID=6370&#paginator to know what MQM and Altaf did today. They lost big time.
Come On Mansoor,Where are You?Still Defending Mqm!
na janay hum sab ko kab akal ayee gee.
Why dont all residents of karachi come out from their homes holding a candle in hand and stand in fron t of these ghundaas, irrespective of which part they belong to ……… this sounds like a filmy scene, yeah !! I know.
But one has to do this, otherwise this will never end, this will happen again, people will die and our city will burn again. I havent visitied Karachi for two years now, but my heart cries whenever I| see these tv footage of riot.
Geo said it right……… Bus kero do BUS !!!!
Please read the following article & provide ur comments on MQM from following link
http://kashifhafeez.com/mazameen_large.php?path=2007-05-10&img=kh_articles/large/2007-05-10.gif
eh Mansoor says ,”Move On!”, Just because noone of Mansoor’s family suffered today . Easy to make statments but hell difficult to follow it.
@Zainuddin Zafar, bhai zaban par qaboo rakho. You used a very inappropiate term.
Others who are getting surprised at Mansoor’s statment about CJ, He belongs to an army point so is Ash :-). Do handle them accordingly :-)
Karachi lost today… badly. The culprit? MQM and other political parties.
I am surprised this has happened in a city, the people of which claim the highest literacy rate in Pakistan. If this is the result of such a high literacy rate, perhaps it’s time to go back to villages and to be proud when someone praises us by saying, “This fellow is aath-veen pass!!!” At least, that person won’t kill and loot other indiscriminately. He will have some morals, despite the lack of education.
I apologize if this offends you, but opening one’s eyes to reality is better done before such a devastating event occurs rather than after it.
May Allah give the [truly innocent] victims a place in Janat. Ameen.
Tanveer bhai Karachi is not part of europe where people come out with candle to register their protest. here if you try to come out with candle, you will get burnt by your own candle. The MQM goons will not let you register protest peacefully.
BTW, perhaps someone should write an article about this on Wikipedia just like Americans wrote about the VT massacre?
Agreed with Adnan Siddiqi.
This is not America or Europe, if you do something agains MQM, means you are dead, thats DAAAHSHAT OF MQM.
Here you only can cry on blog and die on you day….! this is Pakistan, nothin gonna happen, here innocent citizens will be bleeding so on.
I am very disappointed…..nobody is here to take care of Mohajirs.
Today MQM is in power again but soon they will see another operation like 1992, and again thousands on innocent will killed again.
This is how it is.
“Whom God wishes to destroy he first makes mad.”
Altaf bhai and MQM showed some true madness today.
the time will come soon when MMA kamikaze’s will blast themselves in MQM rallys on MA Jinnah road. Only then MQM shall enjoy the taste of their own medicine.
also, death to Altaf Hussain.
zubair: ur comment actually made me smile :p the way u put the last line as an afterthought
We donot have solution to resolve this issue.
MQM can’t go out of karachi and till karachi cant be in peace.
Mansoor, you talked about cowardly cribbing, you said you have been glued to tv whole day long. I call that cowardly.
Mansoor! it look like you are some very strong activist of MQM, do you have brainwashed.
????????????????????????????????
??????????? WHY ????????????????
????????????????????????????????
Everybody is bashing around here on MQM but nobody is addressing the root cause of today’s hooliganism. Why the hell that rogue & rightly sacked CJ had to come to Karachi in the first place? and if he had to address the bar members why & why did he decline to get there on helicopter along with his chicken escorts on govt request? It was their intent to dismantle the peace of the city. Chauhadry Aitazaz (so-called legal advisor of CJ & a main leader of PPP) is playing with CJ like Brazil’s Ronaldo plays with football on his feet. Masses know that opposition has no agenda but to get rid of Musharraf.. And they have been making a mountain of a molehill on each & every single issue but every time their cry was rendered nil for not having the public support. In the same manner they have politicize the issue of reference against the CJ. WHY can’t they wait for the decision of the Supreme Court? They won’t because their prime motive is to de-stabilize the country & create a negative hype among the masses. I strongly support the protest of MQM against politicizing the issue as if the opposition can hijacked the CJ & using him for their own political advantage… MQM & whosoever else has every right to condemn it. (For the record MQM was among the first parties to condemn the sacking & humiliations of CJ despite being on the govt. side, had he (CJ) not politicized the issue MQM would’ve been supporting him)
Coming back to the Karachi, I agree that MQM is also not so innocent; they were evenly involved in spreading the agitation… BUT BUT BUT…. we’ve witnessed it time and again that there are some elements who try to make out of each & every single oppertunity to ruin the peace & stability of this city we coined as “Mini Pakistan”. These are elements both from within & from outside, they try to cash every opportunity to de-stabilize the country. That was the reason that CJ & his rogue affiliates were told & warned NOT to play the drama in Karachi based on various reports, but why would they care? as at the end of the day this was all they wanted!
Mansoor, you pointed rightly.. This city is great; the people of Karachi are great!
May Allah bless us all.
hum nay toofanon ki agosh main jeena seekha
aaj kia shorish-e-toofan say dar jain gay?
tukray ho jay ga her bar hawadis ka jigar
wadi-e-maut say ham hans kay guzer jain gay
Agreed with asad asif’s idea about Wiki Entry. How about naming it as “5/12″ or Karachi Massacare?
Dr.teeth could be helpful to crete such entry.
There’s already an entry under “Karachi Riots”, for starters. Secondly, I read this entire post and all the comments, and remain completely stunned at the sheer, blind, idiocy displayed. Nobody fucking WON. There are 30+ “official” deaths, and probably dozens more incidental. How on earth can you say that the MQM is “taking care of Karachi”? In what way, shape or form? Are they installing generators to stop load-shedding? Are they building roads? Are they clearing out sewage lines? Or is killing people a means of caring for the city?
By getting involved in any sort of violent matter, this issue has already been politicised. And as for this garbage: “Why the hell that rogue & rightly sacked CJ had to come to Karachi in the first place?” — so if he’s sacked, he can’t travel, he can’t address the very people who are protesting his termination? News-flash GENIUS: I didn’t see him waving a gun and shooting. And where the hell do you get off, saying he was “rightly sacked”? Are you a legal expert? Or are you an opinionated ass? This is the sort of ridiculous zealotry that keeps Pakistan mired in the horseshit that you see on a daily basis.
Nobody’s interested in “de-stablizing the country”. We don’t MATTER ENOUGH, despite what you may all think. We’re just not that fucking important, get over it. Anything that causes instability is of our own making, and exists because we let political parties take over cities and create war-zones.
Grow up and get some perspective. Mansoor, you in particular; you have the right to say what you feel, but you most certainly don’t have the right to expect/force people into agreeing with you. I wish you had thought about what you were writing before you gave into emotional jingoism and foolish platitudes.
@Mansoor
MQM workers may be gundas, they may be badmash and gun-toting cowboys, but they’ve got the city and they’re taking quite good care of it IMO
I am speechless. Mansoor and MQM supporters are so ardent, the blood of people can not change their opinion, unless its the blood of somebody closed to them..
UZI and Unaiza reports and the report by SJ the doctor cant soften your heart..perhaps you are waiting for some of your relative in a condition which is mentioned by SJ..imagine a person being given medical treatment is dragged ..you must have a stone in place of heart to not to be convinced.
Shame on you ..the dark day of Karachi is in your word “never have i been prouder of being a karachiite than today”
Have you guys seen a clip on GEO..I guess that red flag is ANP falg not MQM and along with that there is a PPI flag..Thesebunch f crazy Jaahil PPP,PPI, and ANP workers are responsible for the killing. Actually PPP cleverly used ANP this time. Growing fair of MQM popularity in the Pakhtoons forced them to do it. AND DONT DARE TO DENY that clip with RED flags,,GEO has been playing to a while now…GEO aur GENAI DOOO
Salamalikum,
I agree with Sohail. Nobody to look after Muhajirs but Allah is there, inshaAllah. Karachi lost and Muhajirs lost. Although MQM is the worst, other parties are not far behind. When they come in power, MQM should expect another 92-like operation now. And, who will suffer? Most of the top leadership will again go undercover. So, people of Karachi in general and MQM’s arakaan and their families will be left to take the brunt of retaliation and zulm. That is what happened earlier.
The sorry fact is that every ethnicity is diverse in its political affiliation except the Muhajirs. Punjabis have N and Q representing different opposition and government, PPP has PPP and PPP-P and many other Sindhi movements against government, etc. But unfortunately all of Urdu-speaking Muhajirs are represented by one party MQM (haqiqi doesn’t count), and even if most Muhajirs want to show support to CJ, they can’t because there is no spokesman for them! That’s a great tragedy. People may ask why is that so? Because, Altaf’s ghaddaar deserves mout and Altaf has taken upon himself to represent all of Karachi’s Muhajirs! So, it’s not possible to say, for example, Punjabis are this or that or against/with government—rahter, it will be said PML-Q did this or that. But, Muhajirs will be lumped with MQM, and it will be said that Muhajirs did this instead of MQM. May Allah have mercy and save the people of Karachi from another brutal operation by the other ghundays, ameen.
A point of clarification: in no way am I solely blaming the MQM for what happened today. I think that the government, all levels of it: provincial, municipal and federal, they also bear part of the burden. So do the other thugs and barbarians who engaged in the violence and the rioting. No one’s really free from the taint of this.
ibrahim IJI has many/majority urdu speakers and they came out to support the CJ, many urdu speakers are in the PPP (fewer) its not true that urdu speakers only have the MQM.
WHAT A BUNCH OF CRAP.. First of all realize this
1) MQM, PPP, The CJ.. They all suck.. these Bloody assholes have no goal except to cling to their mindless psychotic ways which they call ‘ways to redeem our nation’,
My family itself came from India, yet i never considered the word Muhajir comfortable and always felt that a ‘Pakistani’ is some thing i want to be called, not a label that some ex Pharmacy student started and is now sitting in London, sucking the life force of our people.. Have you forgotten that sick asshole’s statements .. that the freedom for Pakistan was wrong and other such crap..
And the so called freaking CJ.. what the fuck does he think he is, total crap.. Trying to stir up his political career and clinging to the support of the uneducated population of our country.. We see the lawyers supporting him, yeah sure, the same lawyers who are busy freeing smugglers, rapists and hard criminals while putting innocent people in jail.
I agree with the doctor and unaiza.. Mansoor and all MQM supporters, Wake the hell up!
Perhaps you would feel more compassion for the people who died today, if perhaps one or more of them might have been your family members.. c’est possible non?.. how would u have reacted then.. ? i bet with the same support for MQM.. the Mustande Qoumi Movement..
I dont support ANY political parties.. they are all full of uneducated, sick minded a$$H$#@#$ who would like nothing more to destabilize our country rather than make a united stand..
GROW UP FOR GOD’s SAKE.. LOOK THE HELL AROUND YOU.. LOOK AT THE WORLD YOU ARE LIviNG IN.. u have blood thirsty rival countries at one side, Islamic extremists on the other end, the world calling Pakistan a safe heaven for terrorists and putting pressure on us.. our economy and peace conditions are nothing to say the least.. and what are we doing.. we are saying, oh. MQM good, CJ good, Musharaf bad/Good..
What does it matter, until and unless we dont stand and believe in ourselves, educated our people.. we will alwaaaaaaaayz and alwayzzzzz see the rest of the world looking at us and thinking that we are a bunch of animals that deserve nothing better..
I have alwayz tried to uphold a good image of my country abroad.. i have always stood my head up high proudly.. and then these things occur and we have no choice except to close our eyes.. and say a silent prayer for the future of our country..
Any comments???
Distraught: You forgot to mention opposition & CJ, they were the root cuase!
Distraught: You forgot to mention opposition & CJ, they were the root cause!
Tabraiz: That’s the sort of garbage I was referring to. There’s no “root cause”. There’s no one set of people or parties to blame. All the people involved share the guilt and the shame of this equally. It takes two to tango; there were other options available.
@Tabraiz: MQM is the root cause..can you give me single reason why they need to organize the rally on same day when the clash was likely?
Tabraiz, I know you BELIEVE IN MQM. You have right. The points you are making don’t hold water and I have been hearing this all the day by Imran Farooq and Farooq Sattar. Let’s talk something real and different:-)
@Others: Let Mansoor Speak!. I know he doesn;t agree with us and He can’t because He’s supporting His Army cabal who is part of his family. I know majority of users here[99.7%] who are particpiating here are against MQM’s violence but it doesn’t mean one shutup the voice of pro-MQM people. After all how else would I be able to read things like:
1. As for the matter of the Chief Justice, the cause which today was hijacked by whoever wanted to turn my city into a battle ground was sent back
2.They were on the roads today at the rally, amid bullets flying all over the city. This is a true test of leaders people! These are the people, who get out in the midst of the trouble and give sense to it all and lead their people
3.Today, i was impressed by the leadership of MQM, and today i truly understand why they own the city
I would just ask Mansoor about point #3 that, could he make similar statment about MQM between 92-95 when Army was killing MQM workers in entire city and Altaf ran away after the killings of his own people? Could you make similar statment at that time? You might not like to answer but I know at that time the same MQM could be your worst enemy and you would have remembered them as “Terrorists” ,Traitors or what not.
I can feel your pain bro. After watching heavy opposition of AWAM right here on forum, you ain’t feelin good. Hota hay! but my friend, time has changed. It’s not old era anymore. Learn to accept it and try ti compromise with situation. Being a Mohajir myself rather a Army person like you, I know it was hell painful to learn about reality of MQM but then It was good that I[we]realized soon. It’s better you also learn soon about the filth being spreaded by your own army and then his chamchays like MQM or PML-Q etc. Otherwise, Tumhari Dastaan bhe na hogi Dastanoun mey.
Salamalikum,
Ash, you are right. I didn’t clarify what I was saying. I’m talking about people’s perception. If you say Punjabi, people think Nawaz and Choudhries and even PPP, but you say Muhajirs and most non-Muhajirs only think MQM. Of course, most of JI in Karachi is Urdu-speaking Muhajir. Altaf hates Prof. Ghafoor and he’s definitely Muhajir and MQM really hates Mirajul Huda and he’s Muhajir too, I think. But, first impression is always Muhajirs=”MQM only” while that’s not the case with other parties and ethnicities.
For All of you:
Usi nai hak pai jeena sikhaya
Usi pai humko naaz
Gali Gali ab Gounj Rahee hai uski hi awaz
MAZLOOMOUN KA NAARA HAI
ALTAF HUSSAIN ALTAF HUSSAIN>…..Chill oUT guys..get a life
Aurora: SO KMB made you disgusted and TV footages made you sick. Sara malba in dono per gira diya.Zabardast :-)
Distraught/Adnan: Your points taken… but my question is why the opposition has hijacked a legal matter & politisizing it in the first place? Why CJ is posing to act like a national hero? Going places and thus directly effecting the reference against himself. Is this what justice demands? can’t they wait for the supreme court to decide? See we are on the same wavelenghts if you condemn this too. Don’t just present & roar on one side of the picture.
Here comes a story from a mqm’s ass licker. I cant believe he calls himself a karachite and licks Altaf’s sorry ass.
If there’s one person I want to see dead, with his dick stuck in his mouth, and his legs shoved up his arse, he would be none other than mansoor’s buddy altaf(Read-Son of a Bitch).
I cant fucking believe youre ‘proud’ of 20 killings only. Asshole, can you even imagine in your wildest or you wettest dream losing a someone close to you? for a split of a sec, think about the families ruined by this tragedy? how many children lost their fathers? who lost their one and only son? who lost a brother? was it you? no, i dont think so, you sad fuck. You’d never be able to imagine that cos people like you and altaf sit and watch while your poor workers die. Why dont you see? whats gotten into your eyes? altaf’s cock? Open your bloody eyes and SEE!!!!
Reality check. What does mqm do? kill its own people and blame it on others. just to gain the sympathies of cowards like you and ofcourse, youre so intelligent. That’s the game mr.altaf has and his party been playing since 20 years.
As far as your ’strategic decision’ is concerned, ofcourse, your dad altaf had refrained any law-enforcing agency to interfere unless they were ordered. Really good strategy, genius, i must say. let people die, noone cares. appreciated.
‘ As for the matter of the Chief Justice, the cause which today was hijacked by whoever wanted to turn my city into a battle ground was sent back. It was his visit here, which heightened the sensitiveness of the day, which was the root cause of today’s happenings. Take a look at how many other rallies have been taken out recently by MQM which were peaceful and you cannot just get up and blame MQM for this’.
And with this, youve been nominated as the undisputed champion of all Twats. many many congratulations.
leadership? where has your leadership been? hiding ? when did your beloved come back to pak? wait? did he or did he not? oh, i am sorry, he didnt. how long has he been there? probably all his life? well, almsot. PRICK!!!
By no means, i am favouring or belong to anyother political party. be it ppp, pml(n), mma, tehrik-e-insaaf or kflsflfksld(a),(b),(c). They are not even fair to themselves how would be to to others?
I am just a guy in my 22, a student and have my own thinking unlike someone here.
I am glad u wrote what u wrote mansoor, since the only point it proves is that even the people contributing to this somewhat reputable source of information can have a difference in opinion. You on one hand and CY on the other. That in itself is the essence of what freedom of speech is all about. I dont think either of you would be going for each others neck.
At the same time your point of view is, at the most, extremely immature. The only point that was proved to today is that Musharaf and gun totting goons can wreck havoc and bring a the nation to a stand a still. Excuse me for my choice of expletives but its fucked up for a free country to be run like this. We arent Rwanda, we arent Somalia and we arent in 20th century. The people of Karachi, the city itself and our nation have all lost today. CJ or not MQM or not Musharaf or not - the people themselves are burning the city in which they live. Even a dog knows better than that. You sit, are terribly and utterly mistaken in your opinion might suggest talking to someone who can further elucidate on the involvement of MQM in the events of this tragic day.
walaikum salam ibrahim,
i think that urdu speakers have diveristy just like you clarified. Every second post here says “i am a muhajir but i hate the MQM”. It should be that way. People should have diversity of thought and not vote just out of ethnicity. Although truth be told MQM has dropped “muhajir” to make that point (nonethnic) and many other parties do hold ethniicty as their ideology which sucks big time in my opinion.
Tabraiz Mian, As someone said today on TV that Judiciary and Politics can’t be kept seprate. Don’t you remember Mr.Jinnah also belonged to Law profession and He and other lawyers DID politics to get Pakistan.
Now your point why opposiiton jumped into the middle and made situation politisized. Well, my friend the situation got politicized the moment when Shaukat Aziz was used by Govt to send the reference so don’t blame opposition if they are taking advantage of the situation. Govt itself opened the door and invited them by saying “Aa bail mujhe maar”. CJ and judiciary are not being political. If Aitazaz running his case then Govt’s political lawyers also favoring Musharraf. No difference. In current era, nobody could be said politically neutral so the lawyers are. I think lawyers are going to play another role after partition because I see them united only. Politicians have demonstrated their impotency. If one runs behind Mush then others run behind Iftikhar. IMO, It’s battle between two chiefs and Tat Punjiye like MQM,PPP,PML-Q are being used here as they have NO leadership at all. I am just waiting to see the outcome of battle between two chiefs. I dont care what PPP says or what MQM preaches as these elements are worthless and Hukam k Ghulaam.
Mansoor, for the record, you’re a desperate fucking moron, man.
First you say there’s no “proof” that the MQM was responsible. Then you say even MQM people were killed, so why ONLY blame MQM. See the inconsistency?
And while I’m at it, let me drill into your thick fucked up head WHY we should blame your shithole organization for the riots today: They motherfucking started it. The facts state this, precedent states this, the very character of the MQM thug states this and of course, thousands of people we’re witness to this.
But I digress. You might just be blinded by your almost homo-erotic love for Altaf bhai. I suggest the following to open your eyes: Go watch the footage on Aaj TV of crazy MQM d**ks holding a your shit flag in one hand and an AK-47 in the other, firing merrily. Or the stuff showed by Geo and many other channels.
But I know none of this will be enough to satisfy you. Thats because cockroaches like you don’t really listen to logic, do they. They just want to keep believing that which they HOPE is true. I hope for your sake your Altaf bhai delivers for you one day whatever he has promised for a lifetime of you sucking his c**k.
Oh, and I belong to a Mohajir family. But we’re too educated to identify with your thugs, sorry. Just for the record.
i am from karachi and been involved with mqm and from my experiance i can tell what ever is happened today is not new to me knowing mqm from inside .its again a purpose to destroy the peace in the city for their political purpose and my immediate family member who is senior ranked police officer in karachi told me that death toll is higher than 40 and it should be proved by the end of tommorow and everything was done intentionally by the authorities in karachi . why there were road blocks why there was no access to emergency services .it was one hell of a bogus security plan thats all i can say and the kalashnikov culture that was brought by mqm is back again so welcome to karachi .
JIYE MUHAJIR , HAATH MAIN MOOLI GAAND MAIN GAJAR.
FUCK U ALTAAF HUSSAIN U SON OF A BITCH U DIRTY SCUM BAG U PEACE OF SHIT U FUCKING FAGGOT WHO IS SITTING OUTSIDE AND TELLING PEOPLE TO FIGHT U DIRTY COWARD SON OF A BITCH WHY DON’T YOU COME BACK AND FIGHT FOR YOUR PEOPLE U FUCKING ASSHOLE COWARD MOTHER FUCKER SITTING THERE AND FUCKING EVERYTHING HERE ALL YOU DOING ALTAAF BHAI ALTAAF BHAI WAKE UP AND REALIZE THAT HIS VENOM IS DEADLY THAN COBRA SO WAKE UP AND KICK HIS ASSSSSS. I DONT UNDER STAD WHEN PEOPLE OF KARACHI WILL REALIZE THAT THIS GUYS IS A COMPLETE MORON AND PLAYING WITH PEOPLES LIVES IN KARACHI . I DON’T BLAME MUHAJIRS CAUSE THEY ARE VICTIMS OF LIES TOLD BY ALTAF .HE IS THEY ONE GAY ASSS MOTHER FUCKING SON OF A WHORE .
Government celebrates while Karachi burns!! Thank you Musharraf!! Mushy supporters look at this!!
BBC report:
چھ بج کر تیس منٹ، اعجاز مہر، اسلام آباد
پارلیمان کے سامنے پی ٹی وی کی جانب سےاسلام آباد میں حکومتی جلسے کے شرکاء کو محظوظ کرنے کے لیے میوزیکل شو منعقد کیا ہے جس میں عارف لوہار سمیت کئی فنکار اپنے فن کا مظاہرہ کر رہے ہیں۔
کراچی میں ڈیڑھ درجن کے قریب افراد کی ہلاکت کے بعد وہاں شہر میں سوگ اور خوف کا منظر ہے لیکن اسلام آباد میں مسلم لیگ کے جلسے میں ہر طرف ڈھول اور شہنائیوں پر بھنگڑے ڈالے جارہے ہیں
Short English Translation:
6:30PM Islamabad: In front of Parliament house to entertain the participants of government rally, a musical show is being in progress where artist are showing their performance.
On the other hand, more than 1.5 dozen people are killed in Karachi. Islamabad celebrates when Karachi burns
We’re thiking of you all in Portland. Great reporting. Take care of youselves and stay safe.
Portland Metblogs.
where do we see this ending?
can anyone bring up solutions?
Lets move the masses through our intellect , not just talk big..
lets bring the change..a “revolution”?
It seems like a fantasy right now , but i still believe in the youth..not the one that landed in the streets to kill today, but a moderate more enlightened youth..
DO not i beg of you people , DO not turn this into an ethnic issue..it scares me real bad..
We do not want to see or experience what we once did..
Latifabad , Qasimabad , Karachi , Malir ,sindhi muhajir , punjabi , balochi , pathan?
where is this going to end?
What in the world are you talking about mansoor. C’mon these people(MQM) rule this city. They control every thing here now, and if - lets say they for any reason were not involved or they did’nt want it then why did’nt they stop it.
I see banners all over the place sayin’ “Say no to extremisim” well define this.
And why not, I say CJ should’ve had a rally coz its his right to, and the oppositions as well. I’m not a supporter of any political party infact i say cus on all ov em. However I’m a big fan of justice and we all are right. After all that is democracy- the reason why we have parties like MQM or any other. Why cant CJ take out a rally when MQM has the right to block the streets for any thing they want. Just a few months back i had to wait for over 15 minutes just coz this MQM was having something coz Mr. quaid whatever, became a daddiyo. C’mon people let justice prevail and i believe that this is the reason why we are here, right?
Dnt know who was to blame but I cried as I watched the senseless violence, the immense damage to property and life, what a waste. I spent the whole day here in the UK watching events unfold on Geo and ARY, my hat off to these guys. I was planning a visit to Karachi to expand business but now what? What a waste when there is so much talent in the City.
May be a silly question but when I saw blokes openly firing guns as seen by TV cameramen, where was the police????? Why was no one videoing the culprits as evidence??? I continue to pray for this great City…
where was the police????? Why was no one videoing the culprits as evidence??? I continue to pray for this great City…
shows , how badly has every instution, every law enforcing agency been crushed into a pathetic state..what needs to be understood is , had the Leaders of the state wanted to stop it , there were millions of ways to do it.The lack of urgency to take an action after six hours of brutality , is a question every one should be asking now..
we want answers , and we want to know what is our fate?
the young children who saw that on telly today..what kind of people are they going to grow up into?
At one point , i literally had to turn the telly off , din want younger sister to see it..
what are we turning our younger generation into?
Kids who are scared in their houses , who know that mommy tells them to stay in, teen agers asked not to go to the mosques , mothers trying hard to keep the kids away from extremist maulvis..
all i ask is , is there hope?
SHOCKING
What a shameful blog from Mansoor. This same political partyis responsible for the destruction of our city. I am 100% sure this was done at the behest of the leadership of this political party. ONLY THEY could be so cruel. Long live pakistan. Long live Karachi.
And yes. Mind you when you say “they own the city”. Only WE THE PEOPLE OF KARACHI OWN THIS CITY.
why’re my comments being held back?
The day karachi showed what its made of
Thank you for commenting.
Your comment has been received and held for approval by the blog owner.
@Bittertruth and others
Just to clarify, the reason the MQM rally was on the same day as the CJP one was becuase it was an over all govt plan to show govt strenght and opposition strenght on the same day, I am sure u must have seen the one in islamabad and figured tht part out.
The reason it went bad was because every god damn party picked up a weapon and came out on the street. That is why the CJP was told to avoid the city. The intention was never to go on a killing spree. Think about this with a cool head and without emotions.
If our city or our country goes off the track we would try to bring it back on track wont we? Well MQM represents wht every one (atleast I think so) here wants, its just doesnt do it the way we want. Should we try and improve it (somehow) or should we keep on going abt our own selfish lives and complain on this blog everytime they do something u dont approve of.
Either learn to live with it or DO SOMETHING ABT IT! (more emphasis on doing something abt it, incase ppl didnt get the meaning of the Caps)
Dear Mansoor,
Its realy disappointing for me that you are happy that “only 20″ people died. And how on earth you have the odocity to compare V. tech with what happend in karachi. Right after the incident of V. tech whole american goovernment including the President put their whole attention to the incidents, sent their condolonces ect., while our president was holding a night of bhangra and dhool tamasha. Cool.
I think MQM was asked to return the favour by president for the 4 years in government. By their stance on Balochistan , Hafsa ect I had thought may be they are going in right direction and not ready to support the establishment at any cost, but today the destroyed all their good will, and destroyed their chances of any kind of compromise with other liberal parties like PPP , ANP, BNP ect. Who else could be their ally ? It shows they are not a genuine political party.
Infact , I am still amazed as how could they do all this to support the army they once so hated, and the one which is now hated by every body in pakistan?
And why did they planned a rally on the day chief justice had already announced his plans to address the bar. And shame on the government who already knew what was gonna happen, and instead of stopping their allies from having the rally, they just told the chief justice “mera zimma tosh posh”.