Emergency Objectives achieved - President
Indeed !! Free media replaced by tamed media, no more Free Judiciary, apna bunda for TOP SLOT, “Care-Taker” government.. Recently few ordinances have been added that will successfully help our transition towards becoming Kingdom/Monarch. What crap democracy!!
![]()
This photo of a man on the street of Karachi probably explains overall situation better than any of us could.
[ Image : Abro]
Related posts:

haha a perfect picture which represent pakistan
The kingdom of Pakistan has issued a decree that GEN Musharraf’s decisions will not be challenged in any court of Pakistan.
Gen Mush is now the king of the Islamic Kingdom of Pakistan and carries immunity. Congratulations bros.
May Allah bless this nation
Real problem in Pakistan is that our corrupt army will never allow a true democracy to prevail so we will always be a slave nation. Army with puppets like BB, Altafu cartoon,Fake mullahs,Ganja and lota chaudries will always rule this country so please try to enjoy your personal lives and forget about this cursed country.
Ok now you guys will curse me for my pessimism but what else I am supposed to write when I see all these looters & terrorist are joining to ruin my country once again…..
Screw you all Mushraf is best give us other option if not mushraf? You people are ignorants who hate Mushraf. If it was not Army we won’t have Pakistan. Do not buy into enemy’s propaganda.
Mushraf Zinda bad
I think that we should now focus on our individual roles as citizens of Karachi and Nationals of Pakistan ,to serve and make our possible best efforts, to improve the state of our Land..our people,wether we are residents or living abroad…We have seen many dark eras of Pak Politics..so instead of sit and curse them,now we shud leave it in the hands of Govt to do its job,and we try to do ours…not just to enjoy our personal lives..but to do anything which we can, at least to excel in whichever field we are…and that too with a positive attitude..i know might sound naive…but this is what is required in presesnt circumstances..be patient.. go with the flow..Agitation and resistance,anger and protesting is only damaging the image of Pakistan abroad…and Pakistan is imerging as a sorry state only, with Chaos and confusion prevailing,where as we all know that on the life of an average Pakistani, these things doesnt have an effect..it is just taking away the limelight frm all the good things abt Pakistan..its really sad to watch on foriegn media, ordinary people,unaware of the actual stituation, but rhetortically blaming the govt. and the system and Army of everything bad in the country..why dont we fulfill our duties first and then blame anyone else???
Ayesha..i really agree..nice practical thoughts..wish we could all think like you.
Ayesha ! salutes,
another one from my league -
@Ayesha
Are you saying we should learn to live with rogue army???
Shall we prepare to watch our country being destroyed and torn apartt by the rogue army?
nation whose destiny is being written these days and you are saying we forget about all and concentrate on our life. I really feel sorry for you - nothing else
You are more worried about Agitation and resistance,anger and protesting is only damaging the image of Pakistan abroad but don’t care abt image which is destroyed by Napak army in last 60 years they destroyed every institution of pakistan..i think u teach this lesson to khaki ppls plz do your work which is suppose to protect border not conquer supreme court ,news channels,lal masjid etc…civilians know very well what we suppose to do.
I think that the average Pakistani is doing better than the average Indian, Bangladeshi, Mexican and various other nationalities…normal mazdoor of pakistan work more 18 hours of a day but he is unable to both ends…Pakistanis are very dynamic ppl when they go abroad they excel in every field but they fail in pakistan why coz system ,system & system.
The army must fulfill its role as defenders of our borders and nothing else. Today they have been reduced to nothing more than a mafia which is destroying pakistan.
on the lighter note
PAK ARMY NEW BUSINESS - they sell qurbani bakaras - see bbc report - shame on them.hahah
http://www.bbc.co.uk/urdu/pakistan/story/2007/12/071215_army_new_business_ra.shtml
MB.. donot agree to your comment on the pic.This photo of a man on the street of Karachi just showed a man earning his livelihood..Pls dont compare pakistani people with monkeys….
Thanks, Qasim and Jamal.
Well said Ms.Ayesha. However The picture does reflect the political situation of Pakistan.
the lawyers bandwagon would never understand…Did i Praise Musharraf or the Army???? thats exactly is wrong with u guys..
your ques no 1 and 2: tooo cliched to answer….!
Napaak army??? pls think Pakistan without Army…without the present situation in mind, before you could call them such names..’neways my comments were never “pro-musharraf”,pls remove the “Anti-Musharraf” AINAK and look at the world ..its certainly is a better place.
Yes,I am more worried about Agitation and resistance,anger and protesting,and so do all sensible pakistanis….its a waste of their youth, energy,abilities and time…n doing more harm than good.
at “civilians know very well what we suppose to do..” …sorry ASA, if that had been the case with our majority..things might have been different…some people really learn their lessons the hard way..(Latoon k bhoot waqai baatoon say nahi mantay..)
Army shud defend borders..right, but wat if the centre needs defence? wat is the priority..to save the inside first, strenghthen it and then defend the border!
at: I think that the average Pakistani is doing better than the average Indian…
i really want to agree..but u did so yourself in the last line of the same para…paki are dynamic..yes..:)
we are scared to hold ourselves accountable for the nuisance happening., and we always try to succesfully find somebody else to BLAME and feel ourselves clean.
how nicely Asma Jehangir have said on BBC world, elections are rigged and whole cabinet is already ‘SelecteD’ - and whole drama in January 2008 will be eyewash for public.
See we all know who is who and how much resourceful & connected everyone.
BTW - Aitezaz Ahsan revoked his papers.
Willingly or Unwillingly? *grin*
and you were saying that Aitezaz Ahsan is our next PM… it simply wasn’t possible.. Aitezaz didn’t wanted his face blackened like Kasuri …
http://islamabad.metblogs.com/archives/images/2007/09/black%20out.jpg
who hates Mushraf?
Al-Qaida and Talibans
They both on run and this is good news.
Now they have found a new way to go after Mushraf. And that is to use blogs like this one to spread anti Mushraf Propaganda.
For you who hate Mushraf. Usually In Pakistan people hate those people who are with some talent. Have you seen one post against BB here? Its because she stole money from Pakistan and will do it again if given chance. No one hates her on this board?
NS is useless no one hates him either.
This Mushraf showed leadership got billions from USA in return for services. Stole no money and he is honest with Pakistan. Now is this common in Pakistan to hate people with good reputation and with good decision power?
wake up and smell the coffee , Pakistani grew up with corruption and many things we are blaming on Mushraf. Pakistan did not grow up with extremists beheading our own army. This is real issue along with Ata , bird flue , Electricity in summer , etc.
If you are true Pakistani go after these issues.
politicians and rulers will always be corrupt.
One is trying to clean them created in 60 yrs do think this will be cleaned over night.
On other hand Dr.A.O.Clinic gets ready to make more mOney with the ashirward of Altaf Bai. He’s the provincial candidate from Hyderi area.
Death to extremism in Pakistan.
Shake hands with Israel.
Open borders with India.
These are the things needs to be done next.
Have issue with any of these ask me I will explain you why Pakistan needs to be run like a business. Do everything which will profit Pakistan and partner country.
Palestinians never accepted birth of Pakistan , These people look down at Pakistanis in Arab land.While we wish them best we must move on with our role in making Pakistan a friendly country in the world.
Mushraf Jeo Hazaroo Saaal , When Mushraf speaks truth shows on his face and when BB speaks her face blushes with the hope of robbing Pakistan again.
this is the difference between a true Pakistan servant and a looter.
this picture depicts the whole situation of pakistan, no doubt. Mushi favoring ppl shud get the MRI scan of their brain
Well Dad knows whats best for you :)
Uncle Musharaf does nt seem to trust many. I still think he is better than those two and Imran Khan.
Barrister Aitazaz Ahsan or Dr Farooq sattar would have been my choice but what do I know.
btw Monkeys seem over fed or have enlarged liver and I am not a veteranarian.
All of you who call Our President Mushi have some respect for a leaders who is servant of Pakistan.
Dr Shah of AO is already making loads of money, he is governor’s partner in several projects, loves imported cars and buys a new one every fortnight,definitely among the richest doctors in pakistan,loves cricket and maintains Asgher Ali Shah stadium in North Nazimabad, his second wife is also an Orthopaedic Surgeon
All of Mushraf Bashers remember one thing Allah will judge people based on their intentions not on their deeds. Now If Mushraf has good intentions even God is not going to go after him. So relax take a deep breath and if you are Muslim a true Muslim think hard since the birth of Pakistan which other leader brought in money rather than taking out? Trust your leader.Imagine Pakistan with out only one credible institute and that is our Army. This man loves clothes and food with good drinks thats all. He is not here to rob Pakistan like others did.
Mushraf Jeo Hazarooo Saaaal
I totally agree with Rizwan’s first post! We need to market our country. There has been poor or no marketing. We must take every step to ensure that economy of Pakistan sustains well.
Name me ONE person who is better than Musharraf in the current political both nation and international scnerio. We have GOT to stop bitching about Musharraf and open our eyes and like Aisha said, we shud first do OUR part and THEN blame others.
This ones for abro this picture does show it all but a very unbiased opinion on my part is that the same man has been around karachi for the last 20 odd years and has grown his fleet from a monkey to 4… isnt that progress in itself?
What is this a pro-complain about Pakistan blog? I use to really like this blog site, but lately it just seems so useless and LAME. This is exactly what’s wrong with our country: Complain, complain, and oh yea complain. In any country, the people work hard to make a difference, the government yes plays a role, but essentially the people become pro-active and work WITH the government for the benefit of their country. I really don’t appreciate our Pakistani brothers putting up pictures of monkeys to represent our country. That’s so sad, why can’t we just make best of whats going on and work from the inside and represent our country in a good light. Get over it already. Ok I’m done. I might just start my own blog site, with people who actually care about their country and post stories worthwhile, instead of this crap. See ya.
@hena, @rizwan and others:
in other countries, if ppl work hard, they get the reward but here , they do wat they did wta Dr.Qadeer khan.
Army is still good apart from few sold out generals including ashfaq kiyani etc etc. They have created the gap between army and ppl.
U r rite the we shud do every thing to boost the economy but human beings are more important than economy. We shud take care of our citizens first than boosting the economy. BTW, do u know the price flour these days????
There has been a lot of overhead bridges, parks etc . This is a good thing but ppl need basic necessities like roit kapra and makan rather than there over head brides. The necessities have become so so so hard to get. Thats y therre have been killings even for just a cell fone of 3000 Rs , roberies etc etc.
Had musharraf got good intentions, we must have liked him. When u do good deeds, ALLAH put ur love in heart of ppl. See how many ppl love him? :D
Pakistan is exactly in the same situation as spain was, in 1492. U shud know wat happened thereafter.
May ALLAH bless pakistan and islamic ummah.
No matter how many efforts one makes to prosper Pakistan, if there is no FREE JUDICIARY then nothing could be fruitful. This is a fact which ignorant Pakistanis should accept now before they themselves suffer.
@Rizwan:
At one side you say:
Death to extremism in Pakistan.
but then you say:
Shake hands with Israel.
Irony? *grin*
@AR technically speaking its just one monkey.. pic is photoshopped…
to all mush lovers.. this dictator hold a distinction of suspending and abrogating constitution not once but twice.. any one suspending constitution is liable to death penalty ,so had there been a free judiciary then it would have awarded him a double death penalty … but its a banana republic.. if you feel threatened by PM then arrest him, if you feel threatened by CJ then sack him and put him under house arrest..
Free “JUDICIARY”
YES!
FREE OF CORRUPT JUDGES AND BLOOD SUCKING LAWYERS
For prosperity in pakistan
We are heading towards an extrmist secularism, where whoever likes to worship Allah is termed as fanatic and should be killed or put in illegal detention or least should be made ashamed of worshipping Allah.
The dictator who once boasted to get rid of corruption is now part of it, instead he has now created another problem for Pakistan, which didn’t exist before him.
As if we had successfully got rid of corruption, injustice, ethnic discrimination (to list a few).
Our Generals wouldn’t mind renting out the poor soldiers as long as they and their families can live like kings and loot like thugs.
@Rizwan,
….Pakistan needs to be run like a business…
Dear, it has been run like a business. You don’t believe me, go check how our politicans and generals bank accounts.
as far as the arabs are concerned, don’t generalize any people, arabs, non-arabs etc. There are good and bad in every nation. Just like us. We have good people among us and bad too.
So stop spreading hate against Muslims because you want to sell your heart and sould for profit.
You all misunderstood me. Shaking hands with Israel has nothing to do with ending of extremism in Pakistan. Why not we be friendly country? Why not shake hands with Israel? What Israel has done to Pakistan? We want to tell the rest of world we are no threat to any nation on earth. We are only interested in bring Pakistan to prosperity.
By not having enemies in the world we will grow faster. Do the things which will make Pakistan more strong.
http://www.longlivepakistan.com
This is a strange paradox in Pakistan, when army’s rule was absolute the whole country complied, even when the court was raided by the charging MNA’s of Nawaz Sharif the whole lot of the angry lawyers just stood aside and did nothing. There is a very interesting comment in ISB metblogs by Sadia:
Anwar Saddat went to make a speech at “Cairo University” Students started shouting insults at him and cried “Long Live Jamal Abdul Nasir” He raised his voice and shouted “Every tongue that protests will be cut” There was pin drop silence, than Saddat said that is “How Nasir Ruled You” This is the language you understand, than softening his voice said, I would like to change the way Nasir ruled you. Mushraff made the same mistake, he should have ruled like “Zia” Laton kae bhoot baton sai nahin maantae.”
But Musharraf never wanted to rule like Zia or any of our corrupt leaders, all he was saying, “Give me another term, I’ll ensure that elections happen, you will have a new Prime Minister, a civil President, meantime the army will recede further, already there is visibly a much greater civilian role in running the country than it was in past 30 odd years. Mayors are running the cities, Police is under Nazims, provincial autonomy is on the cards, all major govt controlled corps are being privatized, media is flourishing, gradually all institutions are coming out of a 40 year slumber. So whats the hurry? Why invite in-stability? Why give crazy zealots a chance to exploit the situation? If mistakes have been made on the law & order front then pressurize the govt to correct that, rather then create new complex situations and wash our dirty laundry in front of the whole world. Yes the army stalwarts of the past share a major burden of responsibility for what has happened viz a viz Taliban / Osama, but its also a fact that we need this army more than ever to clean the mess, if they are sacrificing their lives then we better back them up. Furthermore, the current lot of politicians is not that competent or trustworthy, a watch dog is necessary until democracy matures, so have your elections and raise hue and cry afterwards.”
People like ASA have an agenda and that’s the Man with the long beard roams free and Pakistan once again becomes exporter of Islamic Revolution world wide, for that they will curse anybody. Hameed Gul does not care about Free judiciary, he wants Mush out so that the tribal areas remain a safe heaven. A safe heaven which he created.
The four monkeys seem better fed, better desciplined, more in synch with each other than most Pakistanis.
Their madari should be put in cleaner clothes and he can make lots of money at tourist spots and Sindbad type parks in Karachi. May be he already does!
Balma you say it in four lines, what I cant in 20. Hats off Man!
* Reality_Check wrote:
So whats the hurry? Why invite in-stability? Why give crazy zealots a chance to exploit the situation?
Exactly my point. Some khufyaa haath is creating all this mess with help from two-bit, third class society rejected laywers and other disgraced politicians to create chaos. Remember the chaos after Shah left Iran? There were lots of people who fought against Shah, but in the end Mullahs got the best deal. Do we want that in Pakistan? Do you guys want your mothers to be beaten up by morality police like Tahraan’s for having a strand of hair coming out of their burquas? Is this what you guys really want?
There was an article in 1999 or 2000 in NYT on see eye aye’s role in coup against Musadiq, on how shah was brought back by see eye aye’s agents distributing money and orchastrating fasaad in Tahraan and other cities. That bringing back of Shah also contributed to Mullah rule 20 years later. This manipulation and orchastrating of Budnazir kee vaapsi may also lead to such benefits for Mullahs in future.
May be Pakistanis do deserve Budnazir. May be Pakistanis do deserve Mullahs.
And nobody could imagine that Balma will quote something from Quran, but didn’t you guys read in Quran that when people become assholes like in Pakistan, even bigger assholes will be installed as their rulers? Is this you guys want?
Do you really want Budnazir, the ultimate ashole, back in power?
(Budnazir is Benazir - for friendly search engines)
* Reality_check wrote
Balma you say it in four lines, what I cant in 20.
Balma writes faseeh-o-baleegh English, and speaks mufaqhaa-mussajja Urdu:-)
hehehe
BALMA I am awed by your humility. :-)
Balma agree with you and I have been saying all along there are out sider trying to destabilize Pakistan. We grew up with these issues nothing new.What we have not grown up with is Extremism , beheading of our jawans by extremists and Shortage of Ata. Lets discuss this.
Humility toe mujh may kooT kooT kar bharee huee hae!
*Shortage of Ata
What? aaTaa nahi’n hae to cake khaao, double roTee khaao!
I heard even some hedge funds are now involved in commodity options trading etc. like rice and perhaps aataa which is leading to this world wide increase in prices of rice??? Any comments on this Reality_check sahib?
Pakistan, since it is on no hedge fund’s radar screen, thanks to Budnazir etc.’s corruption, is probably suffering from proverbial bad case of smuggling and bad planning.
I think we will see all kind of food shortage soon as soon farmers will only grow Corn which with me used for future cars as they are coming up with ethanol run cars.This is biggest concern that all farmers will shift to Corn only.
Why not shake hands with Israel? What Israel has done to Pakistan?
Qurban Jaoun is Saadgi pay. Israel might not have much issues with Palestine than Pakistan which posses an “Islamic” bomb.
Adnan Siddiqi
this is the exact point I have we need to let them know our nukes are not Islamic Bomb. We are peaceful and by shaking hands we can sign an agreement that Israel and Pakistan will never attack each others this way Pakistan will be seen as more civilized country than extremist run country.
*This is biggest concern that all farmers will shift to Corn only.
But, I thought we were talking about aaTaa shortages in Pakistan, and not some literate country. You think farmers in Pakistan know what ethanol is or what it could do. They don’t even know how to read a newspaper! With 20 percent literacy rate and rampant corruption, I don’t think it is ethanol that is causing high aaTaa prices in Pakistan. Oh, I get it….may be farmers in more educated countries are moving to corn, and so Pakistani aaTaa is being smuggled to meet foreign aaTaa demand….and so on…may be this is it!
Balma Bhai Jaan I was talking about future. In future we can see lots of shortages in many things farmers grow. If the demand for the Corn is high for the reason of ethanol run cars.
BALMA Sorry for the delayed response. Commodities and metals (precious and not so precious) are the hot investment options right now and new funds are popping up every day offerring previously unheard of options.
The agriculture sector world wide has remained depressed and under valued, far too long. The current green revolution will make every thing green expensive, whereas, the industrial produce will become cheaper and cheaper, thanks to China and India. My advice, invest in a farm near Gharo and dump some livestock as well. Tumhare Batchey duaain dein ge.
Mr Adnan,
How many jews have you met in your life time before you jumped on hate bandwagon?
Jews have as much right to their holy land as palestinians do. Have you ever looked at things from other angle without being selfish for a second.
What do you think how I feel when some close minded person considers all pakistanis terorists just because of the actions of few.
@SHAHIDNUSA,
Shahid if you meet John Doe on regular basis and ASSume every other person in Bubba_land is so simple and honest then you don’t need to worry about Pakistan. Musharraf is still in control and playing his cards right. Even if he looses, BB, NS are there to carry on the commandments.
BTW if you are so sincere with your brother joos, then you should pray that Allah may raise you among them in Akhriat.
ADNAN, SHAHIDNUSA and RIZWAN why drag Israel into this?
Pakistan is a sovereign nation. We are fully capable of destroying ourselves and don’t need any outside help in this regard.
Realit_Check,
So are you saying that tandoor kee roTee will soon be more expensive than a roll of toilet paper in Karachi w.r.t this manufacturing vs farming analysis of yours?
Reality_check,
Right, we have MUSH doing this job on rent-basis.
BALMA Abhee tak wahan hee atke huay ho! Iam not an agro-economist or an economist for that matter, maybe Bengali Sahib might have shed a light on this, ask MB.
In this day and age of free trade, more and more commodities will have an international price rather than a local one. This works both ways, if we have open trade with India prices of many food items will drastically come down.
The present wheat crises I blv is more mishandling / manoeuvring by Shaukat Aziz / Chaudhry’s than any thing else. This might be one of the scrtewed up reasons that Q-League is so confident of getting the Rural Punjab vote.
Who is responsible for Aataa crises? put them in Jail yes one can understand a mistake but if someone did this for political reasons or profit reasons they should be in jail for long time. Millions of poor are with out Roti.Joo bhi kar loo roti kay bagair kiya maza?
but take advantage of this crises and eat pasta,fish,vegetables,fruit and be healthy Pakistani people need healthy brain to understand our Great President Mushraf.
HENA: As long as we have people like MB, Teeh Mistress as authors here, there will be more of that. We need new authors and hopefully, they’ll be less biased!
Also, as far as I remember, I have been watching these guys since forever! Did they just erupt out of nowhere? I don’t think so!
Death Penality? Well, Mr. Iftikhar Chawdary took oath according to LFO and errr… when he did come to power, why didn’t he do that? Duh!
Stop all the anti-mush compaign please and put your miserable lives to something that will actually contribute and help our country grow strong and stable.
BTW… Someone PLEASE warn Bolshevik… oh no wait, she IS actually asking for a boob press action :D
Something is wrong with people in Pakistan its just not adding up. Many has the mission to go after Mushraf it almost feels like they are at job.They are getting funds from enemy or Al-Qaida
And yes its all timing that money came in Pakistan but at least Mushraf did not buy homes in London and Paris with that money.
Anti Mushraf propaganda funded by someone proves Pakistan media should be censored for the interest of Pakistan. Unless media is mature enough to judge people who write them.
Allah will look after Pakistan Insha Allah he sent Mushraf just for that. Hopefully BB and NS has learned few things while they slept in nice residences not in jails.
Once again we must kill extremism in Pakistan. Sufism is needed not extremism.
One has to understand how non Muslims feel about extremists. Look what they are doing to our Army Jawans.
I am very happy and I was hopping that Mushraf will smoke out extremists in Swat while Emergency was put in place. Smoke these cockroaches out of caves.Allah never wanted Islam to spread with beheading of innocents. Islam is better spread with examples.Muslim scholars need to come out and talk about this.
Allah Bless Pakistan
“And yes its all timing that money came in Pakistan but at least Mushraf did not buy homes in London and Paris with that money”
Who knows????? we will coem to know after his death ( i.e. departure from govt. )
@reality_check: U r rite abt wat u have said regarding a little bit of democracy appearing in pakistan like mayor rulinmg the city etc etc.
BUT my point is wat benefit im getting?>?> costly aata? Costly daal? i dont know where u live but if u live here in middle class, u will see wat im talking abt.
And due to these high cost, we are getting roberies and other killings in the city.
Mush. has signed a contract wid USA so cler up tribal areas SO AS TO PROVIDE SAFE BACK TO US ARMY IN AFGHANISTAN. also, there is a plan to tear a part pakistan into pieces. This cleanup might benefit that plan as well.
Those who are living outside the country are requested to keep their mouth shut abt out internal matters as they dont know the ground realities and they keep blaming mullas for every thing.
hawks in India would have never been more happier in their life.. pakistan army is up against pakistanis in all provinces and killing Pakistanis like pests..
in 1971 they pushed us into quagmire and west pakistan tragedy happened now even without loosing a single man they’re again working to destroy us…
@doctor: if these ppl cud understand this, there is no need to grief abt then.
They put every thing on mulla. Even if they have headache, they might think of putting that to mulla.
90 % of Mula’s should be disqualified to preach in Masjids. Every Mula should have some qualification before they can preach and Govt. should do back ground check on them. They are the problem in our society. Do not take me wrong yes very few Muslim scholars are there and they need to come out and speak out against extremism.
Remember best preacher is who has street experience and Quran knowledge at the same time. Most of the Mula’s in Pakistan only read Quran over and over ate Hulwa and who knows what.
DO not get offended think hard if these Mula’s were all that Muslims would not be humiliated all over the world today.
People in Pakistan are lost they have no direction no sense of life thanks to retarded Mula’s and politicians in Pakistan.
Just saw this on IMB and felt so proud to have such a HUMAN RIGHTs friendly government. Nothings escaping tyranny
http://islamabad.metblogs.com/archives/2007/12/insanity_at_its_peak.phtml
RIZWAN,
The Mulla you are talking about is FazlurRehman who supports MUSH.
So Sufism is the new SECT supported by our masters to have us sleep and accept the tyranny? GOOD to learn that.
Its strange , people want to promote Sufism, yet they are not ready to accept the ‘darwesheee’ life style, the sufis are known for. I guess they want ‘Capitalist Sufism’, where the love is not for Allah but for $$$.
Rizwan you should quit your job and start a Mazar, you probably would make more money and you can promote your idealogy too.
As someone said few posts ago, Pakistanis eat too much aataa and chaawal. Everyone is getting fucking fat assed, even the four monkeys look better fit than most Pakistanis. Stop this nonsense. Stop eating too much roti, chaaval..go for vegetables, fish, fruits, salads, and if you are dying for starch, eat fucking aaloo.
And, please don’t put tons of onions in every thing. Nobody reads hadees on this….Any hadees that has a hint of being useful is considered zaeef by the assholes running the show in Islam.
RIZWAN,
then you can invite ZEE, Reality_Check and others like you to play dhol, dhamal, suroor and offer them free pot.
May be BB, or MUSH will come visit your Mazar sometime to get(or give) Ashirwad too.
And, Mr. zee, what kind of language is that for Bolsh-what-ever. She is stupid sometimes, does not believe in freedom of expression yet wants people to join her for the protest, but the kind of dhamkee/warning you posted about her body part(s) is not fair.
RIZWAN,
then you can invite ZEE, Reality_Check and others like you to play dhol, dhamal, suroor and offer them free pot.
May be BB, or MUSH will come visit your Mazar sometime to get(or give) Ashirwad too.
or better yet, wait for demise of MUSH and then you would have a ‘filled’ mazar too of your PEER. You can then celebrate the ‘whatever’ you want and promote FREE POT too.
Lol, lol lol, thats it for today. I feel sorry for thep people who can’t buy live brain at local Walmart.
ZEE,
Shame on you. Would you talk to your sister like this if she didn’t agree with your views?
Helps me figure out why you support MUSH and Altaf.
I am lost I am not female I am Male. Data sahib was sufi. Thanks to him Islam was spread peacefully in South east Asia.
IUNKNOWN, SUNO and others welcome back. I guess you guys are coming out of an extended layoff after beating up Imran Khan.
Curse Mush as much as you can, maybe he is whatever you guys claim he is, but the other side also have set examples of how not to run / lead a movement.
The leadership is absent when it is needed, there are petty squabbles between PTI / JI. Either they merge or go your separate ways, this façade of two separate parties created by Hameed Gul will not last long. Hogging the blogs will not get them anywhere, watching the show from sidelines, while the leaders announce new movements via press conferences is the easiest thing to do. Here I will commend Bolshevik & Co., at least she has the guts to fight for what she believes in.
IUNKNOWN you have asked what the govt has done for you. This is exactly the problem in this country, the govt has been doing for too much, far too long, creating un-needed jobs in the public sector (for people like you) with too much allowances / perks for pure hud harami. What has changed is the work culture; there are opportunities for those who are willing to put in an effort. There are so many new avenues for employment for youth, which were un-heard of 10 years back. So if you are willing to grind your butt you will do all right. Just recall the days when BB and Nawaz used to go on their celebrated tours and people used to crowd around them with applications in their hands and they used to graciously pick one from the pile and beat the drum in the official media.
Also the Moulvi in Swat is Fazllulah not Fazlul Rehman, and both Qazi and Fazlu want him out. You don’t see Qazi raising much hue about this, because it’s his constituency and sooner or later Fazllulah would have sent him packing. But the real fight is in Waziristan which is inevitable. Since all the efforts to marginalize Mush have failed. The army is ready and willing to clean the mess that it helped create. Everybody is getting ready for it, including long time Waziri & AQ sympathisers.
REALITY_CHECK,
People did get jobs before MUSH came. There was KSE, KPT, Steel Mills and other businesses.
You are talking as if MUSH was responsible for the development of SITE, Korangi Industrial Area, Landhee Industrial Area, Hub Industrial Area, NooriAbad etc. You guys are blinded by his moronic claims.
I do admit though, we didn’t have the industry to export cheap Muslim blood.
What MUSH brought to Pakistan is the civil war, thats his ‘legacy’.
Friends on what base you demand from Mushraf? What Pakistan has? Loans? Pakistan owe money to many. Its going to be long way to recovery and now you people do not understand this.
From cricket to Pakistan as country you mula’s has only put blocks on the way to recovery. Only few true Muslim scholars all others need help. They do not even know but they are hurting Islam and this is the truth which you hulwa eating and emotional religious nuts can not take.
Allah is in your heart no need to show it , You want to preach Islam? Do it with examples. You religious nuts rotten in hell accept few. if you can not wizen up then go live in your so called heaven by getting killed in Swat.
Time has come that we go after religious nuts who are using name of Islam to beheading our army and destabelizng Pakistan.
SUNO not only people got jobs in KSE, KPT, Steel Mills, PIA, Customs, Banks and the list goes on. That artificial job creation brought those institutions to ground. Still PIA is finding hard to get rid of the excess baggage it has accumulated over the years.
What we need is less government and more enterprise, previously in order to be successful you were desperate to be a doctor or an engineer, but now you can make a more fruitful career in the arts thats a big leap. Governments job is to create an environment where private enterprise flourishes and not create an artificial employment bonanza.
SUNO you would have known what civil war and chaos is like if the Rupee was worthless and Sipah-e-Mohammed and Lashkar-e-Jhangvi were beaten up people in the streets of Karachi and Lahore. I don’t call this a civil war, it’s a clean up which should have been started earlier. I guess its very hard to create a mess that you create yourself.
Lol!….
REALTY_CHECK, you must be overseas or HIGH on POT. You have no clue what kind of bonanza is going on!!…
Samandar main utar kai dekho samandar kitnaa gahraa hai, door sai beth kar andazey mat lagaoo.
Our fauj is being rented out by our Generals Inc, running the fauj as their own enterprise.
If the elections are done fair, MUSh would commit suicide in 3 months. He can not take the grief of being dumped by his aaqa.
Ppl talking about civil war under Musharraf govt seems to have short memory (or should I say selective memory). In Ayub/Yahya days there was Bengal, in ZAB days it was Balochistan, with Zia came Sindh, with NS(1) and BB(2) we had Karachi. Now a similar trouble in tribal areas. I dont see any major difference. All the above issues were a by-product of govt policies.
Well Bolshevik does seem to have a problem with us commenting our stupid posts. She is for the freedom of press, freedom of judiciary and all that crap but she won’t let us comment on her God damn stupid posts!? What the heck is that?
Hey, I didn’t say anything about her body. Why would I? Duh, I only said she is asking for a boob press much like what they did with Sheeren Rehman (although I think she totally loved it and wanted more of it) (oh btw, did anyone see the her boob press in public video part 2?)
Balma: No, I am not ashamed of what I said. I wasn’t making fun of her body or wishing for a sexual abuse. Just wanted to say that… THAT’S where she is heading if she keeps up with the bloody morons who are going to waste their time at some stupid god damn demo.
I came to see “Bandar ka Tamasha” and LOOK what I got myself into.
And what is this fascination with the pot and suffiism? I cant STAND the smell of it.
HENA pot accentuates the state of Dhammal or Zikr, wajd whatever you are doing as a sufi, and you get a direct a line to whom you are calling. Mush, Qazi, BB, Nawaz, Bush, Blair and monkeys all become irrelevant.
This is not about Musharraf anymore. This is about clipping the wings of a strong Pakistani military, denying space for China in Pakistan, squashing the ISI, stirring ethnic unrest, and neutralizing Pakistan’s nuclear program. The first shot in this plan was fired in Pakistan’s Balochistan province in 2004. The last bullet will be toppling Musharraf, sidelining the military and installing a pliant government in Islamabad. Musharraf shares the blame for letting things come this far. But he is also punching holes in Washington’s game plan. He needs to be supported.
ISLAMABAD, Pakistan—On the evening of Tuesday, 26 September, 2006, Pakistani strongman Pervez Musharraf walked into the studio of Comedy Central’s ‘Daily Show’ with Jon Stewart, the first sitting president anywhere to dare do this political satire show.
Stewart offered his guest some tea and cookies and played the perfect host by asking, “Is it good?” before springing a surprise: “Where’s Osama bin Laden?”
“I don’t know,” Musharraf replied, as the audience enjoyed the rare sight of a strong leader apparently cornered. “You know where he is?” Musharraf snapped back, “You lead on, we’ll follow you.”
What Gen. Musharraf didn’t know then is that he really was being cornered. Some of the smiles that greeted him in Washington and back home gave no hint of the betrayal that awaited him.
As he completed the remaining part of his U.S. visit, his allies in Washington and elsewhere, as all evidence suggests now, were plotting his downfall. They had decided to take a page from the book of successful ‘color revolutions’ where western governments covertly used money, private media, student unions, NGOs and international pressure to stage coups, basically overthrowing individuals not fitting well with Washington’s agenda.
This recipe proved its success in former Yugoslavia, and more recently in Georgia, Ukraine and Kazakhstan.
In Pakistan, the target is a Pakistani president who refuses to play ball with the United States on Afghanistan, China, and Dr. A.Q. Khan.
To get rid of him, an impressive operation is underway:
• A carefully crafted media blitzkrieg launched early this year assailing the Pakistani president from all sides, questioning his power, his role in Washington’s war on terror and predicting his downfall.
• Money pumped into the country to pay for organized dissent.
• Willing activists assigned to mobilize and organize accessible social groups.
• A campaign waged on Internet where tens of mailing lists and ‘news agencies’ have sprung up from nowhere, all demonizing Musharraf and the Pakistani military.
• European- and American-funded Pakistani NGOs taking a temporary leave from their real jobs to work as a makeshift anti-government mobilization machine.
• U.S. government agencies directly funding some private Pakistani television networks; the channels go into an open anti-government mode, cashing in on some manufactured and other real public grievances regarding inflation and corruption.
• Some of Musharraf’s shady and corrupt political allies feed this campaign, hoping to stay in power under a weakened president.
• All this groundwork completed and chips in place when the judicial crisis breaks out in March 2007. Even Pakistani politicians surprised at a well-greased and well-organized lawyers campaign, complete with flyers, rented cars and buses, excellent event-management and media outreach.
• Currently, students are being recruited and organized into a street movement. The work is ongoing and urban Pakistani students are being cultivated, especially using popular Internet Web sites and ‘online hangouts’. The people behind this effort are mostly unknown and faceless, limiting themselves to organizing sporadic, small student gatherings in Lahore and Islamabad, complete with banners, placards and little babies with arm bands for maximum media effect. No major student association has announced yet that it is behind these student protests, which is a very interesting fact glossed over by most journalists covering this story. Only a few students from affluent schools have responded so far and it’s not because the Pakistani government’s countermeasures are effective. They’re not. The reason is that social activism attracts people from affluent backgrounds, closely reflecting a uniquely Pakistani phenomenon where local NGOs are mostly founded and run by rich, westernized Pakistanis.
All of this may appear to be spur-of-the-moment and Musharraf-specific. But it all really began almost three years ago, when, out of the blue and recycling old political arguments, Mr. Akbar Bugti launched an armed rebellion against the Pakistani state, surprising security analysts by using rockets and other military equipment that shouldn’t normally be available to a smalltime village thug. Since then, Islamabad sits on a pile of evidence that links Mr. Bugti’s campaign to money and ammunition and logistical support from Afghanistan, directly aided by the Indians and the Karzai administration, with the Americans turning a blind eye.
For reasons not clear to our analysts yet, Islamabad has kept quiet on Washington’s involvement with anti-Pakistan elements in Afghanistan. But Pakistan did send an indirect public message to the Americans recently.
“We have indications of Indian involvement with anti-state elements in Pakistan,” declared the spokesman of the Pakistan Foreign Office in a regular briefing in October. The statement was terse and direct and the spokesman, Ms. Tasnim Aslam, quickly moved on to other issues.
This is how a Pakistani official explained Ms. Aslam’s statement: “What she was really saying is this: We know what the Indians are doing. They’ve sold the Americans on the idea that [the Indians] are an authority on Pakistan and can be helpful in Afghanistan . The Americans have bought the idea and are in on the plan, giving the Indians a free hand in Afghanistan. What the Americans don’t know is that we, too, know the Indians very well. Better still, we know Afghanistan very well. You can’t beat us at our own game.”
Mr. Bugti’s armed rebellion coincided with the Gwadar project entering its final stages. No coincidence here. Mr. Bugti’s real job was to scare the Chinese away and scuttle Chinese President Hu Jintao’s planned visit to Gwadar a few months later to formally launch the port city.
Gwadar is the pinnacle of Sino-Pakistani strategic cooperation. It’s a modern port city that is supposed to link Central Asia, western China, and Pakistan with markets in Mideast and Africa. It’s supposed to have roads stretching all the way to China. It’s no coincidence either that China has also earmarked millions of dollars to renovate the Karakoram Highway linking northern Pakistan to western China.
Some reports in the American media, however, have accused Pakistan and China of building a naval base in the guise of a commercial seaport directly overlooking international oil shipping lanes. The Indians and some other regional actors are also not comfortable with this project because they see it as commercial competition.
What Mr. Bugti’s regional and international supporters never expected is Pakistan moving firmly and strongly to nip his rebellion in the bud. Even Mr. Bugti himself probably never expected the Pakistani state to react in the way it did to his betrayal of the homeland. He was killed in a military operation where scores of his mercenaries surrendered to Pakistan army soldiers.
U.S. intelligence and their Indian advisors could not cultivate an immediate replacement for Mr. Bugti. So they moved to Plan B. They supported Abdullah Mehsud, a Pakistani Taliban fighter held for five years in Guantanamo Bay, and then handed over back to the Afghan government, only to return to his homeland, Pakistan, to kidnap two Chinese engineers working in Balochistan, one of whom was eventually killed during a rescue operation by the Pakistani government.
Islamabad could not tolerate this shadowy figure, who was creating a following among ordinary Pakistanis masquerading as a Taliban while in reality towing a vague agenda. He was rightly eliminated earlier this year by Pakistani security forces while secretly returning from Afghanistan after meeting his handlers there. Again, no surprises here.
SMELLING A RAT
This is where Pakistani political and military officials finally started smelling a rat. All of this was an indication of a bigger problem. There were growing indications that, ever since Islamabad joined Washington’s regional plans, Pakistan was gradually turning into a ‘besieged-nation’, heavily targeted by the American media while being subjected to strategic sabotage and espionage from Afghanistan.
Afghanistan, under America’s watch, has turned into a vast staging ground for sophisticated psychological and military operations to destabilize neighboring Pakistan.
During the past three years, the heat has gradually been turned up against Pakistan and its military along Pakistan’s western regions:
• A shadowy group called the BLA, a Cold War relic, rose from the dead to restart a separatist war in southwestern Pakistan.
• Bugti’s death was a blow to neo-BLA, but the shadowy group’s backers didn’t repent. His grandson, Brahmdagh Bugti, is currently enjoying a safe shelter in the Afghan capital, Kabul, where he continues to operate and remote-control his assets in Pakistan.
• Saboteurs trained in Afghanistan have been inserted into Pakistan to aggravate extremist passions here, especially after the Red Mosque operation.
• Chinese citizens continue to be targeted by individuals pretending to be Islamists, when no known Islamic group has claimed responsibility.
• A succession of ‘religious rebels’ with suspicious foreign links have suddenly emerged in Pakistan over the past months claiming to be ‘Pakistani Taliban’. Some of the names include Abdul Rashid Ghazi, Baitullah Mehsud, and now the Maulana of Swat. Some of them have used and are using encrypted communication equipment far superior to what Pakistani military owns.
• Money and weapons have been fed into the religious movements and al Qaeda remnants in the tribal areas.
Exploiting the situation, assets within the Pakistani media started promoting the idea that the Pakistani military was killing its own people. The rest of the unsuspecting media quickly picked up this message. Some botched American and Pakistani military operations against Al Qaeda that caused civilian deaths accidentally fed this media campaign.
This was the perfect timing for the launch of Military, Inc.: Inside Pakistan’s Military Economy, a book authored by Dr. Ayesha Siddiqa Agha, a columnist for a Pakistani English-language paper and a correspondent for ‘Jane’s Defence Weekly’, a private intelligence service founded by experts close to the British intelligence.
TARGET: PAK MILITARY
The book was launched in Pakistan in early 2007 by Oxford Press. And, contrary to most reports, it is openly available in Islamabad’s biggest bookshops. The book portrays the Pakistani military as an institution that is eating up whatever little resources Pakistan has.
Pakistani military’s successful financial management, creating alternate financial sources to spend on a vast military machine and build a conventional and nuclear near-match with a neighboring adversary five times larger — an impressive record for any nation by any standard — was distorted in the book and reduced to a mere attempt by the military to control the nation’s economy in the same way it was controlling its politics.
The timing was interesting. After all, it was hard to defend a military in the eyes of its own proud people when the chief of the military is ruling the country, the army is fighting insurgents and extremists who claim to be defending Islam, grumpy politicians are out of business, and the military’s side businesses, meant to feed the nation’s military machine, are doing well compared to the shabby state of the nation’s civilian departments.
A closer look at Ms. Siddiqa, the author, revealed disturbing information to Pakistani officials. In the months before launching her book, she was a frequent visitor to India where, as a defense expert, she cultivated important contacts. On her return, she developed friendship with an Indian lady diplomat posted in Islamabad. Both of these activities — travel to India and ties to Indian diplomats — are not a crime in Pakistan and don’t raise interest anymore. Pakistanis are hospitable and friendly people and these qualities have been amply displayed to the Indians during the four-year-old peace process.
What is interesting is that Ms. Siddiqa left her car in the house of the said Indian diplomat during one of her recent trips to London. And, according to a report, she stayed in London at a place owned by an individual linked to the Indian lady diplomat friend in Islamabad.
The point here is this: Who assigned her to investigate the Pakistani Armed Forces and present a distorted image of a proud an efficient Pakistani institution?
From 1988 to 2001, Dr. Siddiqa worked in the Pakistan civil service, the Pakistani civil bureaucracy. Her responsibilities included dealing with Military Accounts, which come under the Pakistan Ministry of Defense. She had thirteen years of rich experience in dealing with the budgetary matters of the Pakistani military and people working in this area.
Dr. Siddiqa received a year-long fellowship to research and write a book in the United States. There are strong indications that some of her Indian contacts played a role in arranging financing for her book project through a paid fellowship. The final manuscript of her book was vetted at a publishing office in New Delhi.
All of these details are insignificant if detached from the real issue at hand. And the issue is the demonization of the Pakistani military as an integral part of the media siege around Pakistan, with the American media leading the way in this campaign.
Some of the juicy details of this campaign include:
• The attempt by Dr. Siddiqa to pitch junior officers against senior officers in Pakistan Armed Forces by alleging discrimination in the distribution of benefits. Apart from being malicious and unfounded, her argument was carefully designed to generate frustration and demoralize Pakistani soldiers.
• The American media insisting on handing over Dr. A. Q. Khan to the United States so that a final conviction against the Pakistani military can be secured.
• Mrs. Benazir Bhutto demanding after returning to Pakistan that the ISI be restructured; and in a press conference during her house arrest in Lahore in November she went as far as asking Pakistan army officers to revolt against the army chief, a damning attempt at destroying a professional army from within.
Some of this appears to be eerily similar to the campaign waged against the Pakistani military in 1999, when, in July that year, an unsigned full page advertisement appeared in major American newspapers with the following headline: “A Modern Rogue Army With Its Finger On The Nuclear Button.”
Till this day, it is not clear who exactly paid for such an expensive newspaper full-page advertisement. But one thing is clear: the agenda behind that advertisement is back in action.
Strangely, just a few days before Mrs. Bhutto’s statements about restructuring the ISI and her open call to army officers to stage a mutiny against their leadership, the American conservative magazine The Weekly Standard interviewed an American security expert who offered similar ideas:
“A large number of ISI agents who are responsible for helping the Taliban and al Qaeda should be thrown in jail or killed. What I think we should do in Pakistan is a parallel version of what Iran has run against us in Iraq: giving money [and] empowering actors. Some of this will involve working with some shady characters, but the alternative—sending U.S. forces into Pakistan for a sustained bombing campaign—is worse.” Steve Schippert, Weekly Standard, Nov. 2007.
In addition to these media attacks, which security experts call ‘psychological operations’, the American media and politicians have intensified over the past year their campaign to prepare the international public opinion to accept a western intervention in Pakistan along the lines of Iraq and Afghanistan:
• Newsweek came up with an entire cover story with a single storyline: Pakistan is a more dangerous place than Iraq.
• Senior American politicians, Republican and Democrat, have argued that Pakistan is more dangerous than Iran and merits similar treatment. On 20 October, senator Joe Biden told ABC News that Washington needs to put soldiers on the ground in Pakistan and invite the international community to join in. “We should be in there,” he said. “We should be supplying tens of millions of dollars to build new schools to compete with the madrassas. We should be in there building democratic institutions. We should be in there, and get the rest of the world in there, giving some structure to the emergence of, hopefully, the reemergence of a democratic process.”
• The International Crisis Group (ICG) has recommended gradual sanctions on Pakistan similar to those imposed on Iran, e.g. slapping travel bans on Pakistani military officers and seizing Pakistani military assets abroad.
• The process of painting Pakistan’s nuclear assets as pure evil lying around waiting for some do-gooder to come in and ’secure’ them has reached unprecedented levels, with the U.S. media again depicting Pakistan as a nation incapable of protecting its nuclear installations. On 22 October, Jane Harman from the U.S. House Intelligence panel gave the following statement: “I think the U.S. would be wise — and I trust we are doing this — to have contingency plans [to seize Pakistan’s nuclear assets], especially because should [Musharraf] fall, there are nuclear weapons there.”
• The American media has now begun discussing the possibility of Pakistan breaking up and the possibility of new states of ‘Balochistan’ and ‘Pashtunistan’ being carved out of it. Interestingly, one of the first acts of the shady Maulana of Swat after capturing a few towns was to take down the Pakistani flag from the top of state buildings and replacing them with his own party flag.
• The ‘chatter’ about President Musharraf’s eminent fall has also increased dramatically in the mainly American media, which has been very generous in marketing theories about how Musharraf might “disappear” or be “removed” from the scene. According to some Pakistani analysts, this could be an attempt to prepare the public opinion for a possible assassination of the Pakistani president.
• Another worrying thing is how American officials are publicly signaling to the Pakistanis that Mrs. Benazir Bhutto has their backing as the next leader of the country. Such signals from Washington are not only a kiss of death for any public leader in Pakistan , but the Americans also know that their actions are inviting potential assassins to target Mrs. Bhutto. If she is killed in this way, there won’t be enough time to find the real culprit, but what’s certain is that unprecedented international pressure will be placed on Islamabad while everyone will use their local assets to create maximum internal chaos in the country. A dress rehearsal of this scenario has already taken place in October when no less than the U.N. Security Council itself intervened to ask the international community to “assist” in the investigations into the assassination attempt on Mrs. Bhutto on 18 October. This generous move was sponsored by the U.S. and, interestingly, had no input from Pakistan which did not ask for help in investigations in the first place.
Some Pakistani security analysts privately say that American ‘chatter’ about Musharraf or Bhutto getting killed is a serious matter that can’t be easily dismissed. Getting Bhutto killed can generate the kind of pressure that could result in permanently putting the Pakistani military on a back foot, giving Washington enough room to push for installing a new pliant leadership in Islamabad.
Having Musharraf killed isn’t a bad option either. The unknown Islamists can always be blamed and the military will not be able to put another soldier at the top, and circumstances will be created to ensure that either Mrs. Bhutto or someone like her is eased into power.
The Americans are very serious this time. They cannot let Pakistan get out of their hands. They have been kicked out of Uzbekistan last year, where they were maintaining bases. They are in trouble in Afghanistan and Iraq. Iran continues to be a mess for them and Russia and China are not making it any easier. Pakistan must be ’secured’ at all costs.
This is why most Pakistanis have never seen American diplomats in Pakistan active like this before. And it’s not just the current U.S. ambassador, who has added one more address to her other most-frequently-visited address in Karachi, Mrs. Bhutto’s house. The new address is the office of GEO, one of two news channels shut down by Islamabad for not signing the mandatory code-of-conduct. Thirty-eight other channels are operating and no one has censored the newspapers. But never mind this. The Americans have developed a ‘thing’ for GEO. No solace of course for ARY, the other banned channel.
Now there’s also one Bryan Hunt, the U.S. consul general in Lahore, who wears the national Pakistani dress, the long shirt and baggy trousers, and is moving around these days issuing tough warnings to Islamabad and to the Pakistani government and to President Musharraf to end emergency rule, resign as army chief and give Mrs. Bhutto access to power.
PAKISTAN’S OPTIONS
So what should Pakistan do in the face of such a structured campaign to bring Pakistan down on its knees and forcibly install a pro-Washington administration in Islamabad ?
There is increasing talk in Islamabad these days about Pakistan’s new tough stand in the face of this malicious campaign.
As a starter, Islamabad blew the wind out of the visit of Mr. John Negroponte, the no. 2 man in the U.S. State Department, who came to Pakistan last week “to deliver a tough message” to the Pakistani president. Musharraf, to his credit, told him he won’t end emergency rule until all objectives are achieved.
These objectives include:
• Cleaning up our northern and western parts of the country of all foreign operatives and their domestic pawns.
• Ensuring that Washington’s plan for regime-change doesn’t succeed.
• Purging the Pakistani media of all those elements that were willing or unwilling accomplices in the plan to destabilize the country.
Musharraf has also told Washington publicly that “Pakistan is more important than democracy or the constitution.” This is a bold position. This kind of boldness would have served Musharraf a lot had it come a little earlier. But even now, his media management team is unable to make the most out of it.
Washington will not stand by watching as its plan for regime change in Islamabad goes down the drain. In case the Americans insist on interfering in Pakistani affairs, Islamabad , according to my sources, is looking at some tough measures:
• Cutting off oil supplies to U.S. military in Afghanistan. Pakistani officials are already enraged at how Afghanistan has turned into a staging ground for sabotage in Pakistan. If Islamabad continues to see Washington acting as a bully, Pakistani officials are seriously considering an announcement where Pakistan, for the first time since October 2001, will deny the United States use of Pakistani soil and air space to transport fuel to Afghanistan.
• Reviewing Pakistan’s role in the war on terror. Islamabad needs to fight terrorists on its border with Afghanistan. But our methods need to be different to Washington’s when it comes to our domestic extremists. This is where Islamabad parts ways with Washington. Pakistani officials are conisdering the option of withdrawing from the war on terror while maintining Pakistan’s own war against the terrorists along Afghanistan’s border.
• Talks with the Taliban. Pakistan has no quarrel with Afghanistan’s Taliban. They are Kabul’s internal problem. But if reaching out to Afghan Taliban’s Mullah Omar can have a positive impact on rebellious Pakistani extremists, then this step should be taken. The South Koreans can talk to the Taliban. Karzai has also called for talks with them. It is time that Islamabad does the same.
The Americans have been telling everyone in the world that they have paid Pakistan $10 billion dollars over the past five years. They might think this gives them the right to decide Pakistan’s destiny. What they don’t tell the world is how Pakistan’s help secured for them their biggest footprint ever in energy-rich Central Asia.
If they forget, Islamabad can always remind them by giving them the same treatment that Uzbekistan did last year.
By AHMED QURAISHI
Ahmed sahib nai to goya MUSH ko akhree tinkaa denay kee thaan lee.
MUSH zaleel hoga, apney kartooton sai. Achaa hai Zaleel ho. Bohton kaa khoon hai iskey hathon pr.
Aaqaa kai liey ghulam aur bohat, line lagee hoee hai.
Thanks ALi for great post.
“IUNKNOWN you have asked what the govt has done for you. This is exactly the problem in this country, the govt has been doing for too much, far too long, creating un-needed jobs in the public sector (for people like you) with too much allowances / perks for pure hud harami. What has changed is the work culture; there are opportunities for those who are willing to put in an effort. There are so many new avenues for employment for youth, which were un-heard of 10 years back. So if you are willing to grind your butt you will do all right. Just recall the days when BB and Nawaz used to go on their celebrated tours and people used to crowd around them with applications in their hands and they used to graciously pick one from the pile and beat the drum in the official media.
”
@reality_check: im too sorry to say that u dont know ANY THING AT ALL. u just see bridges being built and some words from (khacchar) shaukat aziz abt economy. U think every thing is going well.
All of ur comments are too lame this time.
I am workign in private sector and im well established (ALHUMDULLILAH) and have enough guts to create money on my own ( not by using pistol, source etc etc :D)
u shud turn ur name to virtuality_check instead of reality_check.
SUNO has given u enough i think
By the way, where did @bolsheivk came into play?
Also, had the comments been allowed, i wud ask why shud we join them as they never joined ne body weak
Rizwan, REALTY_CHECK and other overseas MUSH Supporters,
If you guys believe that Pakistan is on the way to progress and all the glory, I recommend you guys to quit your jobs and move back to Pakistan, at once.
Live up to your words
“My fellow Americans, ask not what your country can do for you: Ask what you can do for your country,”
John Kennedy
We are all boarded together in a single ship of Pakistan.
Yes we living in overseas are very frustrated for the love of Pakistan.I agree people who live in Pakistan they see better inside situation of Pakistan, but we who live overseas see better out side situation. First time ever Pakistan was discussed positive in business community worldwide.Rating by Wall street and other business organizations been upgraded.
Now this was seen as huge positive by overseas Pakistanis.
Inside Pakistan if this government was civilians and people were not happy like they are not happy with Mushraf. Many of you will be praying army take over. Problem this time is its army no other place to go.
Yes this is sad to see we have no credible leader after Mushraf leaves. This is sad and trust me our heart is with Pakistan.
We love all the people of Pakistan and we want to see you all happy. But it also hurts to see the some elements are emotional and do not show responsibility when country is micro scoped by international community.
Country is like a family try to resolve family problems with out making too much noise.And if next door neighbor hears anything they hear something which make sense and they say well this is same story in every home.Other wise neighbors are going to make Tamasha and fun of you and your family.
Lets discuss the solutions not that we are focused on complains and complains nothing else.
RIZWAN,
FAMILY!!! first be clear who is your family? The ones you like to please or the ones you like to oppress, because they are week.
Why didn’t the family notion come to your mind when the big brother kept on crushing the family members to please the far neighbors?
Dude you are confused. Be clear about your priorities. Otherwise this circus will go on forever and we will always be the acrobats and the enjoyment would be for the spectators. We would get bits of breads to survive for the next circus.
well again, my question wat the hell beneefit im getting if pakistan is being discussed in wall street journal etc etc
there has been no beenefit to an ordinary citizen. All a citizen need is roti , kapra and makaan, which this govt. was unabel to provide.
Instead roti has been priced higher than ever.
I respect your emotions but u dont know the reality rizwan. We all want pakistan to go forward, doesnt matter if mush, rules or not. But, he is taken some coward steps, for whom, we are bearing the consequences.
@Haider Rizvi “move back to Pakistan”, dear you just dont know ppl who have moved back (not because of Mush but bacause they found good opportunities here). Who knows one day Rizwan and Reatly will be here too. Even if they keep on living overseas, these guys can do a much needed service for Pakistan. Earn recognition and establish good reputation for their country by working hard and excelling in their profession.
Don’t worry Haider, I’ll be in Karachi very soon. There are a lot of expats who have thought up a lot of exciting projects for the city and the country. Look at Si3 a company setup by an expat, how well it is doing.
http://www.s-iii.com/
Its all upto you guys, if you choose to descend into chaos then nothing will materialize. Get out of this defeatist mentality. Of course there are a lot of problems in Pakistan but, you have a choice, become another one or work for the solution. The key is “work”
Suno
yes I agree i am so confuse but love of Pakistan is in my blood , I am not pleasing anyone, I am afraid that enemy will take advantage of the mess we are in right now. They are loving it and this hurts me.
Just think before we right on these boards , we keep the interest of Pakistan in mind and what enemy wants to see in mind too. All we have to rephrase our sentences with different wording. For example some one wrote:
Real problem in Pakistan is that our corrupt army will never allow a true democracy to prevail so we will always be a slave nation.
Something can be said:
Yes we do understand there are issues with army but in other hand we have not produced new leader after Jinnah. When we wanted BB to go we many of us prayed army intervention. What are seeing today is ripple effects of mix of many things. However all the people who take advantage of power should be help responsible.
Allah Bless Pakistan
Here is the good news for enemies of Pakistan.
New US conditions may cost Pakistan billions of dollars.
http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/artic le/2007/12/19/AR2007121902502.html?hpid=sec-world
Now all the propaganda Machine can calibrate their hard work paid off.
We can always ask Allah for hep he will give us money. Allah will take care of us. Allah will save us. Who needs this aid. Right?
Guess what you all played into enemies hand. Even TV channels.
Allah Bless Pakistan.